Find all School-related info fast with the new School-Specific MBA Forum

It is currently 24 May 2016, 11:02
GMAT Club Tests

Close

GMAT Club Daily Prep

Thank you for using the timer - this advanced tool can estimate your performance and suggest more practice questions. We have subscribed you to Daily Prep Questions via email.

Customized
for You

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Track
Your Progress

every week, we’ll send you an estimated GMAT score based on your performance

Practice
Pays

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Not interested in getting valuable practice questions and articles delivered to your email? No problem, unsubscribe here.

Events & Promotions

Events & Promotions in June
Open Detailed Calendar

680 (q50, v31) : should I retake ?

  new topic post reply Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  
Author Message
TAGS:

Hide Tags

Current Student
avatar
Joined: 19 Dec 2011
Posts: 55
Concentration: Strategy, Technology
Schools: Kellogg '16 (M)
GMAT 1: 760 Q V
GPA: 3.48
WE: Other (Consumer Electronics)
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 9 [0], given: 8

GMAT ToolKit User
680 (q50, v31) : should I retake ? [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 27 Jan 2012, 04:11
Hi,

I took my GMAT today and scored 680 (q50, v31). I am very disappointed as during my MGMATs and GMATPrep tests I was averaging around 730-740 (Highest 760 and lowest 710)

Can someone please advice me if this score is good enough or should I write the GMAT again ?

The B-schools I am aiming for in order of preference are Sloan, Kellogg, Booth, Berkeley, INSEAD, Yale and LBS

As far as my profile goes:
1. Standing today, I have 20 months of Work experience.
2. I Have worked as a business analyst for a world renowned semiconductor industry. Currently Working as a Program Manager (youngest in the organization) for a renowned High Technology/ Semiconductor Industry.
3. I am a CFA Level 3 candidate (will be appearing for the Level 3 exam in June 2012. I have cleared CFA Level 1 and 2)
4. Undergrad from a top Indian University : GPA of 8.49/10
5. I have authored 2 papers in renowned International Journals
6. I have held several positions of responsibilities and have led several clubs during under-graduation.

During the exam I got stuck on a RC and lost some valuable time, lost focus and had to rush through the last 2-3 questions possibly leading to a low verbal score.

I will be deeply obliged if someone can guide me on this. I would prefer not to write GMAT again but if need be then I can write it again after June as I will be busy until June preparing for CFA Level 3.

Thanks in advance

-r2k
Manager
Manager
avatar
Joined: 08 Jul 2008
Posts: 148
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 3 [0], given: 1

Re: 680 (q50, v31) : should I retake ? [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 27 Jan 2012, 13:32
You have impressive stats. However, as you are from India, then expect to see tough competition from your fellow countryman, especially if you're aiming for top schools. I think it would be better for you to put this thread in the profile evaluation section so somebody can chime in their opinion about your chance. Best of luck!
Current Student
avatar
Joined: 19 Dec 2011
Posts: 55
Concentration: Strategy, Technology
Schools: Kellogg '16 (M)
GMAT 1: 760 Q V
GPA: 3.48
WE: Other (Consumer Electronics)
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 9 [0], given: 8

GMAT ToolKit User
Re: 680 (q50, v31) : should I retake ? [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 28 Jan 2012, 07:18
Thanks StrangeWind for the quick reply.

I will post my profile on the profile evaluation section thread.

Regards,
r2k
Senior Manager
Senior Manager
avatar
Joined: 12 Mar 2010
Posts: 384
Concentration: Marketing, Entrepreneurship
GMAT 1: 680 Q49 V34
Followers: 2

Kudos [?]: 114 [0], given: 87

Re: 680 (q50, v31) : should I retake ? [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 29 Jan 2012, 00:18
Could you let us know about your scores in other practice GMAT tests, if any?
Current Student
avatar
Joined: 19 Dec 2011
Posts: 55
Concentration: Strategy, Technology
Schools: Kellogg '16 (M)
GMAT 1: 760 Q V
GPA: 3.48
WE: Other (Consumer Electronics)
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 9 [0], given: 8

GMAT ToolKit User
Re: 680 (q50, v31) : should I retake ? [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 29 Jan 2012, 00:40
Hi,

My mock tests scores are as follows in the order I took them

MGMAT test 1 : 680 (Q46, V36)
GMAT Prep test 1 : 710 (Q49, V33)
MGMAT test 2 : 760 (Q51, V41)
MGMAT test 3 : 740 (Q50, V41)
MGMAT test 4 : 740 (Q51, V40)
GMAT prep test 2 : 730 (Q50, V35)

During the Actual GMAT I got stuck in a RC and then had to rush through the last 3-4 questions. While I was stuck, I started losing focus and the exam pressure took over.

Thanks,
r2k
Senior Manager
Senior Manager
avatar
Joined: 12 Mar 2010
Posts: 384
Concentration: Marketing, Entrepreneurship
GMAT 1: 680 Q49 V34
Followers: 2

Kudos [?]: 114 [0], given: 87

Re: 680 (q50, v31) : should I retake ? [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 29 Jan 2012, 01:16
Could you recollect anything as a surprise in the test or anything you felt you should've prepared better?

I am giving my exam in a few days. Could you give me some advice please?
Current Student
avatar
Joined: 19 Dec 2011
Posts: 55
Concentration: Strategy, Technology
Schools: Kellogg '16 (M)
GMAT 1: 760 Q V
GPA: 3.48
WE: Other (Consumer Electronics)
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 9 [0], given: 8

GMAT ToolKit User
Re: 680 (q50, v31) : should I retake ? [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 29 Jan 2012, 01:21
Hi,

Nothing was a surprise. The test was very similar (both look and quality wise) to GMAT Prep.

I found the sentence corrections on the tougher side but that can be just me.

I got stuck on a standard RC and then lost focus. Got irritated that my monitor brightness is very low, the exam room is very stuffy as the AC was switched off and other stupid reasons. As a result I lost some time and then again had to rush for the last 3-4 questions.

I would advise just stay mentally calm and collective especially during the end and do not let anxiety get the better of you.

-r2k
Senior Manager
Senior Manager
avatar
Joined: 12 Mar 2010
Posts: 384
Concentration: Marketing, Entrepreneurship
GMAT 1: 680 Q49 V34
Followers: 2

Kudos [?]: 114 [0], given: 87

Re: 680 (q50, v31) : should I retake ? [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 29 Jan 2012, 01:47
What did u feel difficult in SC in the exam?
Manager
Manager
avatar
Joined: 22 Sep 2011
Posts: 214
GMAT 1: 720 Q49 V40
GMAT 2: Q V
Followers: 1

Kudos [?]: 33 [0], given: 3

Re: 680 (q50, v31) : should I retake ? [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 29 Jan 2012, 09:23
If you're scoring that high on practice tests, it certainly couldn't hurt to take it again. Schools will, after all, only consider your top score.
Manager
Manager
avatar
Joined: 26 Jun 2011
Posts: 249
Location: India
GMAT 1: 760 Q51 V41
Followers: 12

Kudos [?]: 59 [0], given: 26

Re: 680 (q50, v31) : should I retake ? [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 29 Jan 2012, 11:04
Going by your practice scores, v31 can certainly be improved upon. And in most probabilities, the one time stuck-with-RC will not happen again. Retake looks good in your case.
_________________

The chase begins ...

Expert Post
GMAT Pill Representative
User avatar
Joined: 14 Apr 2009
Posts: 1968
Location: New York, NY
Followers: 363

Kudos [?]: 1127 [0], given: 8

Re: 680 (q50, v31) : should I retake ? [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 30 Jan 2012, 14:41
Expert's post
I agree with a retake in this situation. A bit of an imbalance and it seems you are capable of doing better. Focus on the verbal. I'd say it doesn't even matter what your overall becomes - as long as Q is greater than roughly 46-ish. Try to get Verbal to 34 or higher and you're good to compete against the big boys.
Current Student
avatar
Joined: 19 Dec 2011
Posts: 55
Concentration: Strategy, Technology
Schools: Kellogg '16 (M)
GMAT 1: 760 Q V
GPA: 3.48
WE: Other (Consumer Electronics)
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 9 [0], given: 8

GMAT ToolKit User
Re: 680 (q50, v31) : should I retake ? [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 21 Apr 2013, 20:41
Thanks for the encouragement - I retook the test and scored 760.

Cheers,
R2K
VP
VP
avatar
Joined: 23 Mar 2011
Posts: 1111
Concentration: Healthcare, Strategy
Schools: Duke '16 (M)
Followers: 77

Kudos [?]: 479 [0], given: 461

Premium Member CAT Tests
Re: 680 (q50, v31) : should I retake ? [#permalink]

Show Tags

New post 22 Apr 2013, 01:44
r2k wrote:
Thanks for the encouragement - I retook the test and scored 760.

Cheers,
R2K


Impressive! congratulations and good luck with the apps.
Re: 680 (q50, v31) : should I retake ?   [#permalink] 22 Apr 2013, 01:44
    Similar topics Author Replies Last post
Similar
Topics:
680 (Q50 - V31) BammaBullet 2 31 Jan 2013, 11:44
1 Scored 680 (Q50 V31) yesterday. I need advice on Verbal!! aramisLab 1 07 Aug 2012, 18:22
2 From 680(Q50, V31) to...680(Q50, V32), Please help on Verbal noboru 4 04 Aug 2010, 15:22
680 (Q50, V31) noboru 13 16 Aug 2009, 14:02
680- quite disappointed Q:50 V: 31 Amardeep Sharma 8 13 Dec 2007, 02:18
Display posts from previous: Sort by

680 (q50, v31) : should I retake ?

  new topic post reply Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  


GMAT Club MBA Forum Home| About| Terms and Conditions| GMAT Club Rules| Contact| Sitemap

Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group and phpBB SEO

Kindly note that the GMAT® test is a registered trademark of the Graduate Management Admission Council®, and this site has neither been reviewed nor endorsed by GMAC®.