Find all School-related info fast with the new School-Specific MBA Forum

It is currently 25 Oct 2014, 16:18

Close

GMAT Club Daily Prep

Thank you for using the timer - this advanced tool can estimate your performance and suggest more practice questions. We have subscribed you to Daily Prep Questions via email.

Customized
for You

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Track
Your Progress

every week, we’ll send you an estimated GMAT score based on your performance

Practice
Pays

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Not interested in getting valuable practice questions and articles delivered to your email? No problem, unsubscribe here.

Events & Promotions

Events & Promotions in June
Open Detailed Calendar

A code signal uses digit-letter-digit combinations but 0 and

  Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  
Author Message
TAGS:
Expert Post
BSchool Forum Moderator
avatar
Joined: 27 Aug 2012
Posts: 1118
Followers: 87

Kudos [?]: 570 [0], given: 107

Premium Member CAT Tests
A code signal uses digit-letter-digit combinations but 0 and [#permalink] New post 03 Feb 2013, 06:27
Expert's post
00:00
A
B
C
D
E

Difficulty:

(N/A)

Question Stats:

0% (00:00) correct 0% (00:00) wrong based on 2 sessions
A code signal uses digit-letter-digit combinations but 0 and 1 are not used for either digits or letters.How many code signals are possible ?

(A) 1536
(B) 1456
(C) 1024
(D) 1628
(E) 856

Bunuel- can you please explain in detail ?
_________________

UPDATED : e-GMAT SC Resources-Consolidated || ALL RC Resources-Consolidated || ALL SC Resources-Consolidated || UPDATED : AWA compilations-109 Analysis of Argument Essays || NEW !!! GMAC's IR Prep Tool

GMAT Club guide - OG 11-12-13 || Veritas Blog || Manhattan GMAT Blog


KUDOS please, if you like the post or if it helps :-)

Director
Director
avatar
Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 508
Schools: Harvard, Columbia, Stern, Booth, LSB,
Followers: 9

Kudos [?]: 397 [0], given: 241

Re: A code signal uses digit-letter-digit combinations but 0 and [#permalink] New post 03 Feb 2013, 09:10
debayan222 wrote:
1. A code signal uses digit-letter-digit combinations but 0 and 1 are not used for either digits or letters.How many code signals are possible ?
(A) 1536
(B) 1456
(C) 1024
(D) 1628
(E) 856

Bunuel- can you please explain in detail ?


Places need to be filled (or the number of ways to form a 3 digit number if Digits or letters can be repeated) = D L D
Only 8 digits can be used to make a signal as 2 digits (0 & 1) are not allowed
Letters that can be used to make a signal = 26

Letter or digits can be used repeatedly as we have to form a code (3A3 is different from 3A1)
First place can be filled in = 8 ways
2nd place can be filled in = 26 ways
3rd place can be filled in = 8 ways

Total no of ways to form a code = 8 x 28 x 8 = 1664

I really doubt the language of this question. If the above options are correct, then question must state explicitly that DIGITS can be used only ONCE. In that case, answer would be 8 x 26 x 7=1456

Hope it helps.
_________________

If you like my Question/Explanation or the contribution, Kindly appreciate by pressing KUDOS.
Kudos always maximizes GMATCLUB worth
-Game Theory

If you have any question regarding my post, kindly pm me or else I won't be able to reply


Last edited by fameatop on 03 Feb 2013, 09:36, edited 1 time in total.
Current Student
User avatar
Status: Done with formalities.. and back..
Joined: 15 Sep 2012
Posts: 648
Location: India
Concentration: Strategy, General Management
Schools: Olin - Wash U - Class of 2015
WE: Information Technology (Computer Software)
Followers: 35

Kudos [?]: 369 [0], given: 23

GMAT ToolKit User Premium Member
Re: A code signal uses digit-letter-digit combinations but 0 and [#permalink] New post 03 Feb 2013, 09:15
debayan222 wrote:
1. A code signal uses digit-letter-digit combinations but 0 and 1 are not used for either digits or letters.How many code signals are possible ?

(A) 1536
(B) 1456
(C) 1024
(D) 1628
(E) 856

Bunuel- can you please explain in detail ?

What is the source of the question? How could 0 or 1 be used for letter anyway? Bad question..

Also, none of the answer choices is correct for the given question. Ans must be 8*26*8=1664

To top that, there is no OA.. Probably you should refer to posting rules...
_________________

Lets Kudos!!! ;-)
Black Friday Debrief

Expert Post
BSchool Forum Moderator
avatar
Joined: 27 Aug 2012
Posts: 1118
Followers: 87

Kudos [?]: 570 [0], given: 107

Premium Member CAT Tests
Re: A code signal uses digit-letter-digit combinations but 0 and [#permalink] New post 03 Feb 2013, 09:48
Expert's post
fameatop-See my comments below in red...

fameatop wrote:
debayan222 wrote:
1. A code signal uses digit-letter-digit combinations but 0 and 1 are not used for either digits or letters.How many code signals are possible ?
(A) 1536
(B) 1456
(C) 1024
(D) 1628
(E) 856

Bunuel- can you please explain in detail ?


Places need to be filled (or the number of ways to form a 3 digit number if Digits or letters can be repeated) = D L D
Only 8 digits can be used to make a signal as 2 digits (0 & 1) are not allowed
Letters that can be used to make a signal = 26

Letter or digits can be used repeatedly as we have to form a code (3A3 is different from 3A1)
First place can be filled in = 8 ways
2nd place can be filled in = 26 ways
3rd place can be filled in = 8 ways

Total no of ways to form a code = 8 x 26 x 8 = 1664

Yup..!if you're to consider repetition then it's the answer...but it doesn't say that explicitly..

I really doubt the language of this question. If the above options are correct, then question must state explicitly that DIGITS can be used only ONCE. In this case, answer will be 8 x 26 x 7=1456

You've very rightly said that the question is indeed ambiguous...Even I've had the this answer..

Hope it helps.

_________________

UPDATED : e-GMAT SC Resources-Consolidated || ALL RC Resources-Consolidated || ALL SC Resources-Consolidated || UPDATED : AWA compilations-109 Analysis of Argument Essays || NEW !!! GMAC's IR Prep Tool

GMAT Club guide - OG 11-12-13 || Veritas Blog || Manhattan GMAT Blog


KUDOS please, if you like the post or if it helps :-)


Last edited by bagdbmba on 03 Feb 2013, 09:49, edited 1 time in total.
Expert Post
BSchool Forum Moderator
avatar
Joined: 27 Aug 2012
Posts: 1118
Followers: 87

Kudos [?]: 570 [0], given: 107

Premium Member CAT Tests
Re: A code signal uses digit-letter-digit combinations but 0 and [#permalink] New post 03 Feb 2013, 09:49
Expert's post
Vips0000 wrote:
debayan222 wrote:
1. A code signal uses digit-letter-digit combinations but 0 and 1 are not used for either digits or letters.How many code signals are possible ?

(A) 1536
(B) 1456
(C) 1024
(D) 1628
(E) 856

Bunuel- can you please explain in detail ?

What is the source of the question? How could 0 or 1 be used for letter anyway? Bad question..

Also, none of the answer choices is correct for the given question. Ans must be 8*26*8=1664

To top that, there is no OA.. Probably you should refer to posting rules...


Vips0000,
Question is indeed ambiguous..that's why I posted it here to get it clarified by 'the Master' himself-bunuel.

But,how can you be so sure that "Ans must be 8*26*8=1664" ?There is nothing mentioned about the repetition anywhere EXPLICITLY...

However,if there's any repetition then it's surely 1664.
_________________

UPDATED : e-GMAT SC Resources-Consolidated || ALL RC Resources-Consolidated || ALL SC Resources-Consolidated || UPDATED : AWA compilations-109 Analysis of Argument Essays || NEW !!! GMAC's IR Prep Tool

GMAT Club guide - OG 11-12-13 || Veritas Blog || Manhattan GMAT Blog


KUDOS please, if you like the post or if it helps :-)

Re: A code signal uses digit-letter-digit combinations but 0 and   [#permalink] 03 Feb 2013, 09:49
    Similar topics Author Replies Last post
Similar
Topics:
A three-digit code for certain logs uses the digits 0, 1, 2, gorden 3 14 Nov 2008, 20:52
A three-digit code for certain logs uses the digits 0, 1, 2, haichao 1 14 Nov 2008, 15:57
1 A three digit code for certain logs uses the digits 0, TheBigCheese 3 05 Jul 2008, 11:45
A three-digit code for certain logs uses the digits 0, 1, 2, goalsnr 4 01 Jun 2008, 08:15
A three-digit code for certain logs uses the digits 0, 1, 2, mymba99 2 28 Apr 2008, 12:26
Display posts from previous: Sort by

A code signal uses digit-letter-digit combinations but 0 and

  Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  


GMAT Club MBA Forum Home| About| Privacy Policy| Terms and Conditions| GMAT Club Rules| Contact| Sitemap

Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group and phpBB SEO

Kindly note that the GMAT® test is a registered trademark of the Graduate Management Admission Council®, and this site has neither been reviewed nor endorsed by GMAC®.