Find all School-related info fast with the new School-Specific MBA Forum

It is currently 28 Aug 2014, 03:37

Close

GMAT Club Daily Prep

Thank you for using the timer - this advanced tool can estimate your performance and suggest more practice questions. We have subscribed you to Daily Prep Questions via email.

Customized
for You

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Track
Your Progress

every week, we’ll send you an estimated GMAT score based on your performance

Practice
Pays

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Not interested in getting valuable practice questions and articles delivered to your email? No problem, unsubscribe here.

Events & Promotions

Events & Promotions in June
Open Detailed Calendar

Error while accessing the GMATPrep software

  Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  
Author Message
Intern
Intern
avatar
Joined: 24 May 2008
Posts: 32
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 1 [0], given: 0

Error while accessing the GMATPrep software [#permalink] New post 30 May 2008, 21:11
I have downloaded the GMAT Prep software and while accessing the practice test (Test2), it showed me some error saying that " Application error has occurred. Th e Application will exit now". I am not facing any issues with Test1.

Did any one faced this issues ? Your help is much appreciated!

Please find attached the snapshot of the error and could you please do the needful? Thanks!

Here is error log
----------------
2008-05-31 10.26.58.031:ERROR:...caused by java.io.InvalidClassException: vue.exam.driver.Driver$ExecuteAt; local class incompatible: stream classdesc serialVersionUID = -4396989021877987336, local class serialVersionUID = 8231308875583236293
Method ------ initNonProxy
Stack trace--
java.io.ObjectStreamClass.initNonProxy(Unknown Source)
java.io.ObjectInputStream.readNonProxyDesc(Unknown Source)
java.io.ObjectInputStream.readClassDesc(Unknown Source)
java.io.ObjectInputStream.readOrdinaryObject(Unknown Source)
java.io.ObjectInputStream.readObject0(Unknown Source)
java.io.ObjectInputStream.readObject(Unknown Source)
vue.exam.core.persistence.e.e(e.java:335)
vue.exam.driver.f.u(f.java:821)
vue.exam.driver.f.a(f.java:615)
vue.exam.client.gmac.gmatprep.b.f(b.java:176)
vue.exam.client.gmac.gmatprep.j.run(j.java:39)
java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
2008-05-31 10.26.58.046:INFO :Display Message: An application error has occurred. The application will now exit. <new line> <new line> Error Description: <new line> Error reading transaction log "C:\Program Files\GMATPrep\exams\Practice Test 2.xact" <new line> (vue.exam.core.state.a) <new line> <new line> For more information, please refer to the following log file: <new line> C:\Program Files\GMATPrep\exams\Practice Test 2.log


Regards,
Mahesh
Attachments

GMAT_Prep_Test2_Error.JPG
GMAT_Prep_Test2_Error.JPG [ 26.69 KiB | Viewed 3687 times ]


_________________

Regards,
Mahesh Vollala

Kaplan Promo CodeKnewton GMAT Discount CodesVeritas Prep GMAT Discount Codes
Manager
Manager
User avatar
Joined: 24 Apr 2008
Posts: 162
Followers: 1

Kudos [?]: 35 [0], given: 0

Re: Error while accessing the GMATPrep software [#permalink] New post 31 May 2008, 02:02
Uninstall and reinstall it - that should work!!
Intern
Intern
avatar
Joined: 24 May 2008
Posts: 32
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 1 [0], given: 0

Re: Error while accessing the GMATPrep software [#permalink] New post 31 May 2008, 06:50
Actually i have tried uninstalling and re-installing this software several times but every time i got the same error!

Now i have re-installed the software at in a different directory and it did work :-)

Thanks for the support!

Regards,
Mahesh
_________________

Regards,
Mahesh Vollala

Intern
Intern
avatar
Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 2
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 0 [0], given: 0

Re: Error while accessing the GMATPrep software [#permalink] New post 19 May 2009, 14:48
i have a similar error, but with practice test 1.

here is the error:

An application error has occurred. The application will now exit.
-------------------------------------------------------------
Error Description:
Error reading transaction log "c:\program files\GMATPrep\exams\Practice Test 1.xact"
(vue.exam.core.persistence.c)

for more information, please refer to the following log file:
c\Program Files\GMATPrep\exams\Practice Test 1.log
-------------------------------------------------------------

i called the phone support and sent them the log file, they said this a rare error and that my work is lost. Took me about 3 hrs and my exam is fast approaching - would really like to know where i stand before writing the actual exam..

hope someone can help!
Thanks in advance to anyone with some good ideas
Expert Post
Founder
Founder
User avatar
Affiliations: UA-1K, SPG-G, HH-D
Joined: 04 Dec 2002
Posts: 12080
Location: United States (WA)
GMAT 1: 750 Q49 V42
GPA: 3.5
WE: Information Technology (Hospitality and Tourism)
Followers: 2231

Kudos [?]: 8352 [0], given: 3645

GMAT ToolKit User Premium Member CAT Tests
Re: Error while accessing the GMATPrep software [#permalink] New post 19 May 2009, 15:27
Expert's post
needhelpwitherror wrote:
i have a similar error, but with practice test 1.

here is the error:

An application error has occurred. The application will now exit.
-------------------------------------------------------------
Error Description:
Error reading transaction log "c:\program files\GMATPrep\exams\Practice Test 1.xact"
(vue.exam.core.persistence.c)

for more information, please refer to the following log file:
c\Program Files\GMATPrep\exams\Practice Test 1.log
-------------------------------------------------------------

i called the phone support and sent them the log file, they said this a rare error and that my work is lost. Took me about 3 hrs and my exam is fast approaching - would really like to know where i stand before writing the actual exam..

hope someone can help!
Thanks in advance to anyone with some good ideas


When did the error happen? End of test/middle, certain screen?
Did tech support have any ideas/suggestions? They mentioned Rare - does that mean it won't happen again or that your PC is not compatible?

If nothing else works, get PowerPrep - that's the predecessor of GMAT Prep (retired a few years ago, but we still have it). See this thread for download link: gmatprep-gmat-prep-powerprep-power-prep-free-tests-77548.html

The results should be close enough.
Also, there is NO question overlap between the two.
_________________

Founder of GMAT Club

Just starting out with GMAT? Start here... | Want to know your GMAT Score? Try GMAT Score Estimator
Need GMAT Book Recommendations? Best GMAT Books

Co-author of the GMAT Club tests

Have a blog? Feature it on GMAT Club!

Get the best GMAT Prep Resources with GMAT Club Premium Membership

Intern
Intern
avatar
Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 2
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 0 [0], given: 0

Re: Error while accessing the GMATPrep software [#permalink] New post 20 May 2009, 09:54
thank you very much for responding!
The error happend close to the the test. I paused the program, then when continuing the test, it went back to question 10 and then the error came up. I followed the prompts to save the test and attempt to restart where i left off, but keep getting this error.

They mentioned it was rare as it very seldom happens, but when it does, there is no going back, was just hoping that someone on this forum had a fix for this.

they did not mention anything related to my PC not being compatible.

What i really would like to do is not redo the test, but see if i can continue where i left off. - woudl PowerPrep be able to load my xact file that GMATPrep uses?

thanks again for your help!
Retired Moderator
User avatar
Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 997
Followers: 8

Kudos [?]: 66 [0], given: 5

GMAT Tests User
More Issues with GMAT Prep Software [#permalink] New post 04 Jun 2009, 09:03
Just took a Practice test 2 yesterday, and wanted to spend sometime reviewing my wrong answers today.

however, when I try to review it, I get this lovely error.

Attachment:
error.JPG
error.JPG [ 24.18 KiB | Viewed 3465 times ]


I desperately need to review the wrong answers today. Can anyone help?
Expert Post
Founder
Founder
User avatar
Affiliations: UA-1K, SPG-G, HH-D
Joined: 04 Dec 2002
Posts: 12080
Location: United States (WA)
GMAT 1: 750 Q49 V42
GPA: 3.5
WE: Information Technology (Hospitality and Tourism)
Followers: 2231

Kudos [?]: 8352 [0], given: 3645

GMAT ToolKit User Premium Member CAT Tests
Re: Error while accessing the GMATPrep software [#permalink] New post 04 Jun 2009, 10:01
Expert's post
Posts Merged - seems like there is no clear solution to this error - at least nobody found one.

See this post for how to analyze the GMATPrep Logs: gmatprep-gmat-prep-powerprep-power-prep-free-tests-77548.html
_________________

Founder of GMAT Club

Just starting out with GMAT? Start here... | Want to know your GMAT Score? Try GMAT Score Estimator
Need GMAT Book Recommendations? Best GMAT Books

Co-author of the GMAT Club tests

Have a blog? Feature it on GMAT Club!

Get the best GMAT Prep Resources with GMAT Club Premium Membership

CEO
CEO
User avatar
Status: Nothing comes easy: neither do I want.
Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 2793
Location: Malaysia
Concentration: Technology, Entrepreneurship
Schools: ISB '15 (M)
GMAT 1: 670 Q49 V31
GMAT 2: 710 Q50 V35
Followers: 178

Kudos [?]: 928 [0], given: 235

GMAT Tests User Reviews Badge
Re: Error while accessing the GMATPrep software [#permalink] New post 12 Oct 2010, 09:30
:cry: got the same error. I have reviewed my quant section, but verbal is left...
_________________

Fight for your dreams :For all those who fear from Verbal- lets give it a fight

Money Saved is the Money Earned :)

Jo Bole So Nihaal , Sat Shri Akaal

:thanks Support GMAT Club by putting a GMAT Club badge on your blog/Facebook :thanks

Get the best GMAT Prep Resources with GMAT Club Premium Membership

Gmat test review :
670-to-710-a-long-journey-without-destination-still-happy-141642.html

Senior Manager
Senior Manager
User avatar
Joined: 05 Jul 2010
Posts: 359
Followers: 15

Kudos [?]: 41 [0], given: 17

GMAT ToolKit User GMAT Tests User
Re: Error while accessing the GMATPrep software [#permalink] New post 24 Jul 2011, 09:35
I got the same error after my GMAT Prep 1. Now I can't review my test :(. Any idea? This sucks!
Intern
Intern
avatar
Joined: 09 Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 0 [0], given: 3

Re: Error while accessing the GMATPrep software [#permalink] New post 09 Jan 2013, 21:23
Hello Guys,

for this error I got a "Pakka" solution :)
but you need to do it everytime you want to access application.

go to path-> C:\Documents and Settings\(your comp name)\Application Data\GMATPrep

and SHIFT+DELETE "GMATPrep" from there and then try opening .. it will work 100%


Thanks,
:) :)
Re: Error while accessing the GMATPrep software   [#permalink] 09 Jan 2013, 21:23
    Similar topics Author Replies Last post
Similar
Topics:
1 New GMATPrep Software Error Ohjung 13 05 Apr 2012, 00:13
3 Analysis of new GMATPrep software, errors found mmapplebeck 0 04 Apr 2012, 12:35
Gmatprep Software Errors? CfaMiami 2 03 Jun 2006, 18:27
GmatPrep software error automan 10 24 Nov 2005, 06:12
SC - GmatPrep... Software Error? nero44 1 11 Nov 2005, 07:28
Display posts from previous: Sort by

Error while accessing the GMATPrep software

  Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  

Moderators: bagdbmba, WaterFlowsUp



cron

GMAT Club MBA Forum Home| About| Privacy Policy| Terms and Conditions| GMAT Club Rules| Contact| Sitemap

Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group and phpBB SEO

Kindly note that the GMAT® test is a registered trademark of the Graduate Management Admission Council®, and this site has neither been reviewed nor endorsed by GMAC®.