Find all School-related info fast with the new School-Specific MBA Forum

It is currently 16 Sep 2014, 05:29

Close

GMAT Club Daily Prep

Thank you for using the timer - this advanced tool can estimate your performance and suggest more practice questions. We have subscribed you to Daily Prep Questions via email.

Customized
for You

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Track
Your Progress

every week, we’ll send you an estimated GMAT score based on your performance

Practice
Pays

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Not interested in getting valuable practice questions and articles delivered to your email? No problem, unsubscribe here.

Events & Promotions

Events & Promotions in June
Open Detailed Calendar

gmat club virus

  Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  
Author Message
TAGS:
Intern
Intern
avatar
Joined: 05 Nov 2006
Posts: 18
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 0 [0], given: 0

gmat club virus [#permalink] New post 22 Mar 2007, 07:33
Updates by Praetorian:
1) This looks like a browser exploit
2) Switch to Firefox
3) Use the full name of the website to log on use http://www.gmatclub.com
4) Download and run Spybot Search and Destroy:
http://www.spybot.info/en/mirrors/index.html


I was trying to log into gmatclub.com - and a virus was actually installed on my computer yesterday evening (March 21 around 6-7pm) - Did anyone else have this problem?

was the website down because someone hacked into it?
Kaplan GMAT Prep Discount CodesKnewton GMAT Discount CodesGMAT Pill GMAT Discount Codes
GMAT Club Legend
GMAT Club Legend
avatar
Affiliations: HHonors Diamond, BGS Honor Society
Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Posts: 5925
Schools: Chicago (Booth) - Class of 2009
GMAT 1: 730 Q45 V45
WE: Business Development (Consumer Products)
Followers: 255

Kudos [?]: 1540 [0], given: 7

GMAT Tests User Premium Member
Re: gmat club virus [#permalink] New post 22 Mar 2007, 07:35
gmat4us wrote:
I was trying to log into gmatclub.com - and a virus was actually installed on my computer yesterday evening (March 21 around 6-7pm) - Did anyone else have this problem?

was the website down because someone hacked into it?


I doubt it came from here... You sure you went to the right address?
Senior Manager
Senior Manager
User avatar
Joined: 31 Jul 2006
Posts: 440
Followers: 3

Kudos [?]: 9 [0], given: 0

GMAT Tests User
Re: gmat club virus [#permalink] New post 22 Mar 2007, 07:42
rhyme wrote:
gmat4us wrote:
I was trying to log into gmatclub.com - and a virus was actually installed on my computer yesterday evening (March 21 around 6-7pm) - Did anyone else have this problem?

was the website down because someone hacked into it?


I doubt it came from here... You sure you went to the right address?


You know, same thing happened to me 5 days ago! My AV picked up a virus when gmatclub.com was loading. I look up the history when I get home. I believe, initially I had misspelled the address like http://gmtclub.com, it went to one of those domains for sale sites, can't replicate it now.

Also one time when gmatclub.com was loading, on the bottom status bar I saw something to that extent, instead of the regular address. I think there is something fishy. Maybe my hosts file got screwed up, I'll check it out tonight.
Director
Director
User avatar
Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 958
Followers: 1

Kudos [?]: 71 [0], given: 0

GMAT Tests User
 [#permalink] New post 22 Mar 2007, 08:30
That happens to me a lot, when I get to the main page my Norton Antivirus will pop up a window saying a virus was just detected. Also I am sometimes redirected from the main gmatclub.com page before I have a chance to click on "forums."
GMAT Club Legend
GMAT Club Legend
avatar
Affiliations: HHonors Diamond, BGS Honor Society
Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Posts: 5925
Schools: Chicago (Booth) - Class of 2009
GMAT 1: 730 Q45 V45
WE: Business Development (Consumer Products)
Followers: 255

Kudos [?]: 1540 [0], given: 7

GMAT Tests User Premium Member
 [#permalink] New post 22 Mar 2007, 08:35
johnnyx9 wrote:
That happens to me a lot, when I get to the main page my Norton Antivirus will pop up a window saying a virus was just detected. Also I am sometimes redirected from the main gmatclub.com page before I have a chance to click on "forums."


Wierd... Could it be an ad?
SVP
SVP
User avatar
Joined: 24 Aug 2006
Posts: 2135
Followers: 3

Kudos [?]: 86 [0], given: 0

GMAT Tests User
 [#permalink] New post 22 Mar 2007, 08:37
I'm on here all day/all night and no virus for me.

[EDIT] - firefox user here.

Last edited by kidderek on 22 Mar 2007, 11:02, edited 1 time in total.
Intern
Intern
avatar
Joined: 05 Nov 2006
Posts: 18
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 0 [0], given: 0

 [#permalink] New post 22 Mar 2007, 08:40
Yes - exactly Rhyme - When I loaded http://www.gmatclub.com (i tried to twice last night since I wasn't paying attention the first time and figured I had typed the address wrong) -- but even when I made sure the address was correct something got loaded on my computer.

at the bottom left of the browser it shows two or three files being loaded onto my PC -- then the whole browser shut down -- suddenly my Firewall picked up some file called lsass.exe trying to access the internet --

My antivirus did not pick up the file, but upon further research it seems that the trojan is placed into my C:\windows\ directory -- and is given the same file name as a real windows file that should be located in the C:\windows\system32 directory --

A quick way to see if your computer was infected would be to "CTRL+ALT+DEL"" and look at your system processes running -- there should only be ONE lsass.exe file running - if there are more than one, then you have the spyware/trojan on your computer.
Director
Director
User avatar
Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 958
Followers: 1

Kudos [?]: 71 [0], given: 0

GMAT Tests User
 [#permalink] New post 22 Mar 2007, 08:41
It redirects to random portal pages that link to ten trillion different things,

I also get these pop-up windows:
Attachments

GMAT_Virus2.gif
GMAT_Virus2.gif [ 38.38 KiB | Viewed 556 times ]

GMAT_Virus2.gif
GMAT_Virus2.gif [ 38.38 KiB | Viewed 556 times ]

GMAT Club Legend
GMAT Club Legend
avatar
Affiliations: HHonors Diamond, BGS Honor Society
Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Posts: 5925
Schools: Chicago (Booth) - Class of 2009
GMAT 1: 730 Q45 V45
WE: Business Development (Consumer Products)
Followers: 255

Kudos [?]: 1540 [0], given: 7

GMAT Tests User Premium Member
 [#permalink] New post 22 Mar 2007, 09:04
Looks like its an IE exploit. I wonder if it loads when I go there in firefox.

/me tries...
CEO
CEO
avatar
Joined: 15 Aug 2003
Posts: 3470
Followers: 60

Kudos [?]: 668 [0], given: 781

 [#permalink] New post 22 Mar 2007, 09:22
Please download and install Spybot Search and Destroy 1.5 . It will detect and allow you to clean any trojans/malware installed.

http://www.spybot.info/en/mirrors/index.html

Run an update on the software to make sure you have the most current version.


Johnnyx9, does this happen when you type the full http://www.gmatclub.com instead of http://gmatclub.com ?
Director
Director
User avatar
Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 958
Followers: 1

Kudos [?]: 71 [0], given: 0

GMAT Tests User
 [#permalink] New post 22 Mar 2007, 09:36
Praetorian - It didn't give me that pop-up when I tried typing in the full URL.

I'll try installing that program, thanks for the info!
GMAT Club Legend
GMAT Club Legend
avatar
Affiliations: HHonors Diamond, BGS Honor Society
Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Posts: 5925
Schools: Chicago (Booth) - Class of 2009
GMAT 1: 730 Q45 V45
WE: Business Development (Consumer Products)
Followers: 255

Kudos [?]: 1540 [0], given: 7

GMAT Tests User Premium Member
 [#permalink] New post 22 Mar 2007, 09:45
johnnyx9 wrote:
Praetorian - It didn't give me that pop-up when I tried typing in the full URL.

I'll try installing that program, thanks for the info!


I wonder if you didnt have something before - cause I've looked at the source and I cant find anything in there that would explain it. Praet, does this site have any connection with a russian hosting facility? That I did find, and that was wierd.
GMAT Club Legend
GMAT Club Legend
avatar
Affiliations: HHonors Diamond, BGS Honor Society
Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Posts: 5925
Schools: Chicago (Booth) - Class of 2009
GMAT 1: 730 Q45 V45
WE: Business Development (Consumer Products)
Followers: 255

Kudos [?]: 1540 [0], given: 7

GMAT Tests User Premium Member
 [#permalink] New post 22 Mar 2007, 09:45
johnnyx9 wrote:
Praetorian - It didn't give me that pop-up when I tried typing in the full URL.

I'll try installing that program, thanks for the info!


I wonder if you didnt have something before - cause I've looked at the source and I cant find anything in there that would explain it.
CEO
CEO
avatar
Joined: 15 Aug 2003
Posts: 3470
Followers: 60

Kudos [?]: 668 [0], given: 781

 [#permalink] New post 22 Mar 2007, 09:48
rhyme wrote:
johnnyx9 wrote:
Praetorian - It didn't give me that pop-up when I tried typing in the full URL.

I'll try installing that program, thanks for the info!


I wonder if you didnt have something before - cause I've looked at the source and I cant find anything in there that would explain it. Praet, does this site have any connection with a russian hosting facility? That I did find, and that was wierd.


Strange. Can you PM me the details? Do you have a name for the host?

This looked like a browser exploit to me.
GMAT Club Legend
GMAT Club Legend
avatar
Affiliations: HHonors Diamond, BGS Honor Society
Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Posts: 5925
Schools: Chicago (Booth) - Class of 2009
GMAT 1: 730 Q45 V45
WE: Business Development (Consumer Products)
Followers: 255

Kudos [?]: 1540 [0], given: 7

GMAT Tests User Premium Member
 [#permalink] New post 22 Mar 2007, 09:53
Praetorian wrote:
rhyme wrote:
johnnyx9 wrote:
Praetorian - It didn't give me that pop-up when I tried typing in the full URL.

I'll try installing that program, thanks for the info!


I wonder if you didnt have something before - cause I've looked at the source and I cant find anything in there that would explain it. Praet, does this site have any connection with a russian hosting facility? That I did find, and that was wierd.


Strange. Can you PM me the details? Do you have a name for the host?

This looked like a browser exploit to me.


Its a browser exploit yea... I cant seem to find any links to the russian site anymore, maybe it came through as part of a google ad last time.

I cant seem to find anything at all in teh soruce that could explain it. My best guess is that people were previously infected and it randomly pops up ...
Current Student
User avatar
Joined: 25 Jun 2006
Posts: 110
Followers: 1

Kudos [?]: 5 [0], given: 0

 [#permalink] New post 22 Mar 2007, 09:57
The same thing happened to me yesterday and a pop up came up asking if I wanted to install active x controls immediately I logged on the page. I killed the webpage since there was no option for NO. When I tried from home, I notice the weird page redirection also.
SVP
SVP
User avatar
Joined: 31 Jul 2006
Posts: 2308
Schools: Darden
Followers: 41

Kudos [?]: 423 [0], given: 0

GMAT Tests User
 [#permalink] New post 22 Mar 2007, 10:13
Would the people experiencing problems indicate which browser they are using?

I'm using firefox and I haven't seen any errors, however I want to be sure that it isn't because firefox hasn't been able to detect the problems.

For virus protection I use Windows Live Onecare - which sucks actually. I'm going to use something different when I have the chance.
Current Student
User avatar
Joined: 25 Jun 2006
Posts: 110
Followers: 1

Kudos [?]: 5 [0], given: 0

 [#permalink] New post 22 Mar 2007, 10:57
I was using IE
GMAT Club Legend
GMAT Club Legend
avatar
Affiliations: HHonors Diamond, BGS Honor Society
Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Posts: 5925
Schools: Chicago (Booth) - Class of 2009
GMAT 1: 730 Q45 V45
WE: Business Development (Consumer Products)
Followers: 255

Kudos [?]: 1540 [0], given: 7

GMAT Tests User Premium Member
 [#permalink] New post 22 Mar 2007, 11:05
pelihu wrote:
Would the people experiencing problems indicate which browser they are using?

I'm using firefox and I haven't seen any errors, however I want to be sure that it isn't because firefox hasn't been able to detect the problems.

For virus protection I use Windows Live Onecare - which sucks actually. I'm going to use something different when I have the chance.


Its an IE exploit, so if you use firefox, nothing would happen.
GMAT Club Legend
GMAT Club Legend
avatar
Joined: 15 Dec 2003
Posts: 4318
Followers: 22

Kudos [?]: 163 [0], given: 0

GMAT Tests User
 [#permalink] New post 22 Mar 2007, 11:35
Indeed I had the same virus block message from IE...
_________________

Best Regards,

Paul

  [#permalink] 22 Mar 2007, 11:35
    Similar topics Author Replies Last post
Similar
Topics:
Experts publish their posts in the topic Admissions consulting club with in GMAT Club icandy 1 14 Aug 2010, 15:21
Virus or Bug nick_sun 2 05 May 2008, 06:07
Challenges by Gmat-Club ! christoph 2 27 Dec 2004, 04:23
Courses on Gmat club Subbu 1 25 Sep 2004, 12:37
Display posts from previous: Sort by

gmat club virus

  Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  

Go to page    1   2    Next  [ 23 posts ] 



GMAT Club MBA Forum Home| About| Privacy Policy| Terms and Conditions| GMAT Club Rules| Contact| Sitemap

Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group and phpBB SEO

Kindly note that the GMAT® test is a registered trademark of the Graduate Management Admission Council®, and this site has neither been reviewed nor endorsed by GMAC®.