Find all School-related info fast with the new School-Specific MBA Forum

It is currently 13 Jul 2014, 16:43

Close

GMAT Club Daily Prep

Thank you for using the timer - this advanced tool can estimate your performance and suggest more practice questions. We have subscribed you to Daily Prep Questions via email.

Customized
for You

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Track
Your Progress

every week, we’ll send you an estimated GMAT score based on your performance

Practice
Pays

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Not interested in getting valuable practice questions and articles delivered to your email? No problem, unsubscribe here.

Events & Promotions

Events & Promotions in June
Open Detailed Calendar

Is the point (x,y) in the fourth quadrant?

  Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  
Author Message
TAGS:
3 KUDOS received
Intern
Intern
User avatar
Joined: 05 Oct 2009
Posts: 33
Location: Hamamatsu, Japan
Schools: Attending IE Nov 2010
WE 1: 11 years int'l work experience
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 10 [3] , given: 14

Is the point (x,y) in the fourth quadrant? [#permalink] New post 06 Oct 2009, 18:26
3
This post received
KUDOS
00:00
A
B
C
D
E

Difficulty:

  35% (medium)

Question Stats:

50% (01:05) correct 50% (00:25) wrong based on 18 sessions
I recently took a practice test with my iPhone software (GMAT Math ver 1.1) and got a question I don't altogether agree with. Can someone help me out here?

DS Question:
Is the point (x,y) in the fourth quadrant)?
1) xy >0
2) y > 0

The software says 1 alone is sufficient, but I think you need both.
My reasoning is that x could be -2 and y=-2, in that case, xy = 4 > 0. That would put the point in the 3rd quadrant while 2,2 would also fulfill that and put it in the 1st quad. Therefore 1 alone shouldn't be enough to be conclusive.

thanks for any insights...
[Reveal] Spoiler: OA

Last edited by Bunuel on 02 Feb 2012, 22:36, edited 2 times in total.
Added the OA
Kaplan GMAT Prep Discount CodesKnewton GMAT Discount CodesManhattan GMAT Discount Codes
Expert Post
1 KUDOS received
Math Expert
User avatar
Joined: 02 Sep 2009
Posts: 18523
Followers: 3197

Kudos [?]: 21427 [1] , given: 2547

Re: an error in my iphone software? Or just an oversight... [#permalink] New post 06 Oct 2009, 18:41
1
This post received
KUDOS
Expert's post
Jones105 wrote:
I recently took a practice test with my iPhone software (GMAT Math ver 1.1) and got a question I don't altogether agree with. Can someone help me out here?

DS Question:
Is the point (x,y) in the fourth quadrant)?
1) xy >0
2) y > 0

The software says 1 alone is sufficient, but I think you need both.
My reasoning is that x could be -2 and y=-2, in that case, xy = 4 > 0. That would put the point in the 3rd quadrant while 2,2 would also fulfill that and put it in the 1st quad. Therefore 1 alone shouldn't be enough to be conclusive.

thanks for any insights...


This is yes/no DS problem:

(1) xy>0 --> x an y have same signs --> the point is either in I or III in quadrant, so you can answer the question "Is the point (x,y) in the fourth quadrant" - NO. Sufficient

(2) y>0 --> the point is either in I or in II quadrant. Again Sufficient to answer the question: No it's not in 4th quadrant. Sufficient

D.

In the 4th quadrant y is negative x is positive and xy<o

Does your software say the answer is A? If so it's not right. Answer is D each alone is sufficient.
_________________

NEW TO MATH FORUM? PLEASE READ THIS: ALL YOU NEED FOR QUANT!!!

PLEASE READ AND FOLLOW: 11 Rules for Posting!!!

RESOURCES: [GMAT MATH BOOK]; 1. Triangles; 2. Polygons; 3. Coordinate Geometry; 4. Factorials; 5. Circles; 6. Number Theory; 7. Remainders; 8. Overlapping Sets; 9. PDF of Math Book; 10. Remainders; 11. GMAT Prep Software Analysis NEW!!!; 12. SEVEN SAMURAI OF 2012 (BEST DISCUSSIONS) NEW!!!; 12. Tricky questions from previous years. NEW!!!;

COLLECTION OF QUESTIONS:
PS: 1. Tough and Tricky questions; 2. Hard questions; 3. Hard questions part 2; 4. Standard deviation; 5. Tough Problem Solving Questions With Solutions; 6. Probability and Combinations Questions With Solutions; 7 Tough and tricky exponents and roots questions; 8 12 Easy Pieces (or not?); 9 Bakers' Dozen; 10 Algebra set. ,11 Mixed Questions, 12 Fresh Meat

DS: 1. DS tough questions; 2. DS tough questions part 2; 3. DS tough questions part 3; 4. DS Standard deviation; 5. Inequalities; 6. 700+ GMAT Data Sufficiency Questions With Explanations; 7 Tough and tricky exponents and roots questions; 8 The Discreet Charm of the DS ; 9 Devil's Dozen!!!; 10 Number Properties set., 11 New DS set.


What are GMAT Club Tests?
25 extra-hard Quant Tests

Get the best GMAT Prep Resources with GMAT Club Premium Membership

Senior Manager
Senior Manager
avatar
Joined: 18 Aug 2009
Posts: 333
Followers: 7

Kudos [?]: 153 [0], given: 13

GMAT Tests User
Re: an error in my iphone software? Or just an oversight... [#permalink] New post 06 Oct 2009, 18:49
D.

1) x and y, both either negative or positive. Sufficient.
2) y is positive, that means, (x,y) either can be in first or second quadrant. Sufficient.

If answer is A, then it is WRONG!
Intern
Intern
User avatar
Joined: 05 Oct 2009
Posts: 33
Location: Hamamatsu, Japan
Schools: Attending IE Nov 2010
WE 1: 11 years int'l work experience
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 10 [0], given: 14

Re: an error in my iphone software? Or just an oversight... [#permalink] New post 06 Oct 2009, 19:37
Ahh, I missed the trees for the forest.

You're right, being in 1 or 3 would in fact negate the possibility of being in 4. I was thinking in terms of, is it sufficient to determine what quadrant it's in.

Muchas Gracias!
Intern
Intern
User avatar
Joined: 05 Oct 2009
Posts: 33
Location: Hamamatsu, Japan
Schools: Attending IE Nov 2010
WE 1: 11 years int'l work experience
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 10 [0], given: 14

Re: an error in my iphone software? Or just an oversight... [#permalink] New post 06 Oct 2009, 19:45
Yes, the software says 1 alone is sufficient. So it does appear to be wrong.

However, this brings up another question. What happens when x or y = 0? What quadrant does that put it in? Both? Neither?
Expert Post
Founder
Founder
User avatar
Affiliations: UA-1K, SPG-G, HH-D
Joined: 04 Dec 2002
Posts: 11999
Location: United States (WA)
GMAT 1: 750 Q49 V42
GPA: 3.5
WE: Information Technology (Hospitality and Tourism)
Followers: 2137

Kudos [?]: 7338 [0], given: 3619

GMAT ToolKit User Premium Member CAT Tests
Re: an error in my iphone software? Or just an oversight... [#permalink] New post 06 Oct 2009, 19:49
Expert's post
Thanks! Let me look into this.
_________________

Founder of GMAT Club

Just starting out with GMAT? Start here... | Want to know your GMAT Score? Try GMAT Score Estimator
Need GMAT Book Recommendations? Best GMAT Books

Co-author of the GMAT Club tests

Have a blog? Feature it on GMAT Club!

Get the best GMAT Prep Resources with GMAT Club Premium Membership

Senior Manager
Senior Manager
avatar
Joined: 18 Aug 2009
Posts: 333
Followers: 7

Kudos [?]: 153 [0], given: 13

GMAT Tests User
Re: an error in my iphone software? Or just an oversight... [#permalink] New post 06 Oct 2009, 20:12
Jones105 wrote:
Muchas Gracias!

De nada!
Jones105 wrote:
However, this brings up another question. What happens when x or y = 0? What quadrant does that put it in? Both? Neither?

Neither, it is 'Origin' and not lie in any quadrant, but lies on the X and Y axis itself.
CIO
CIO
avatar
Joined: 02 Oct 2007
Posts: 1218
Followers: 87

Kudos [?]: 625 [0], given: 334

GMAT ToolKit User GMAT Tests User
Re: an error in my iphone software? Or just an oversight... [#permalink] New post 07 Oct 2009, 00:48
Yes, there is an error. I guess we'll have to change S2 to
2) y \lt 0
We won't have the problem then. What do you guys think? Sorry about the error.
_________________

Welcome to GMAT Club! :)
Facebook TwitterGoogle+LinkedIn
Want to solve GMAT questions on the go? GMAT Club iPhone app will help.
Please read this before posting in GMAT Club Tests forum
Result correlation between real GMAT and GMAT Club Tests
Are GMAT Club Test sets ordered in any way?

Take 15 free tests with questions from GMAT Club, Knewton, Manhattan GMAT, and Veritas.

Get the best GMAT Prep Resources with GMAT Club Premium Membership

Intern
Intern
User avatar
Joined: 05 Oct 2009
Posts: 33
Location: Hamamatsu, Japan
Schools: Attending IE Nov 2010
WE 1: 11 years int'l work experience
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 10 [0], given: 14

Re: an error in my iphone software? Or just an oversight... [#permalink] New post 07 Oct 2009, 05:25
Ahh, so the developers of the software hang out at gmatclub, eh?

Surely, I'll be receiving some major kudos for spotting a bug in the software... :wink:
CIO
CIO
avatar
Joined: 02 Oct 2007
Posts: 1218
Followers: 87

Kudos [?]: 625 [0], given: 334

GMAT ToolKit User GMAT Tests User
Re: an error in my iphone software? Or just an oversight... [#permalink] New post 07 Oct 2009, 05:45
Thank you for spotting it. You got a Kudos from me. +1.
Jones105 wrote:
Ahh, so the developers of the software hang out at gmatclub, eh?

Surely, I'll be receiving some major kudos for spotting a bug in the software... :wink:

_________________

Welcome to GMAT Club! :)
Facebook TwitterGoogle+LinkedIn
Want to solve GMAT questions on the go? GMAT Club iPhone app will help.
Please read this before posting in GMAT Club Tests forum
Result correlation between real GMAT and GMAT Club Tests
Are GMAT Club Test sets ordered in any way?

Take 15 free tests with questions from GMAT Club, Knewton, Manhattan GMAT, and Veritas.

Get the best GMAT Prep Resources with GMAT Club Premium Membership

Intern
Intern
User avatar
Joined: 05 Oct 2009
Posts: 33
Location: Hamamatsu, Japan
Schools: Attending IE Nov 2010
WE 1: 11 years int'l work experience
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 10 [0], given: 14

Re: an error in my iphone software? Or just an oversight... [#permalink] New post 07 Oct 2009, 06:13
Thanks!
If I have any other questions as I use the software, should I PM you, or start a new thread somewhere? I'm sure most of the time it will just be my oversights.
CIO
CIO
avatar
Joined: 02 Oct 2007
Posts: 1218
Followers: 87

Kudos [?]: 625 [0], given: 334

GMAT ToolKit User GMAT Tests User
Re: an error in my iphone software? Or just an oversight... [#permalink] New post 07 Oct 2009, 06:24
Feel free to PM me or BB regarding this software. Thank you.
Jones105 wrote:
Thanks!
If I have any other questions as I use the software, should I PM you, or start a new thread somewhere? I'm sure most of the time it will just be my oversights.

_________________

Welcome to GMAT Club! :)
Facebook TwitterGoogle+LinkedIn
Want to solve GMAT questions on the go? GMAT Club iPhone app will help.
Please read this before posting in GMAT Club Tests forum
Result correlation between real GMAT and GMAT Club Tests
Are GMAT Club Test sets ordered in any way?

Take 15 free tests with questions from GMAT Club, Knewton, Manhattan GMAT, and Veritas.

Get the best GMAT Prep Resources with GMAT Club Premium Membership

Expert Post
CEO
CEO
User avatar
Joined: 17 Nov 2007
Posts: 3597
Concentration: Entrepreneurship, Other
Schools: Chicago (Booth) - Class of 2011
GMAT 1: 750 Q50 V40
Followers: 346

Kudos [?]: 1663 [0], given: 354

GMAT ToolKit User GMAT Tests User Premium Member
Re: an error in my iphone software? Or just an oversight... [#permalink] New post 07 Oct 2009, 08:10
Expert's post
+1 from me also ;)
_________________

NEW! GMAT ToolKit 2 (iOS) / GMAT ToolKit (Android) - The must have GMAT prep app | PrepGame

Expert Post
Founder
Founder
User avatar
Affiliations: UA-1K, SPG-G, HH-D
Joined: 04 Dec 2002
Posts: 11999
Location: United States (WA)
GMAT 1: 750 Q49 V42
GPA: 3.5
WE: Information Technology (Hospitality and Tourism)
Followers: 2137

Kudos [?]: 7338 [0], given: 3619

GMAT ToolKit User Premium Member CAT Tests
Re: an error in my iphone software? Or just an oversight... [#permalink] New post 07 Oct 2009, 19:15
Expert's post
Jones105 wrote:
I recently took a practice test with my iPhone software (GMAT Math ver 1.1) and got a question I don't altogether agree with. Can someone help me out here?

DS Question:
Is the point (x,y) in the fourth quadrant)?
1) xy >0
2) y > 0

The software says 1 alone is sufficient, but I think you need both.
My reasoning is that x could be -2 and y=-2, in that case, xy = 4 > 0. That would put the point in the 3rd quadrant while 2,2 would also fulfill that and put it in the 1st quad. Therefore 1 alone shouldn't be enough to be conclusive.

thanks for any insights...


Jones - can you tell me the question number in the GMAT Club App?
I am not able to locate this question - are you sure it is from our Application?
_________________

Founder of GMAT Club

Just starting out with GMAT? Start here... | Want to know your GMAT Score? Try GMAT Score Estimator
Need GMAT Book Recommendations? Best GMAT Books

Co-author of the GMAT Club tests

Have a blog? Feature it on GMAT Club!

Get the best GMAT Prep Resources with GMAT Club Premium Membership

Expert Post
Founder
Founder
User avatar
Affiliations: UA-1K, SPG-G, HH-D
Joined: 04 Dec 2002
Posts: 11999
Location: United States (WA)
GMAT 1: 750 Q49 V42
GPA: 3.5
WE: Information Technology (Hospitality and Tourism)
Followers: 2137

Kudos [?]: 7338 [0], given: 3619

GMAT ToolKit User Premium Member CAT Tests
Re: an error in my iphone software? Or just an oversight... [#permalink] New post 07 Oct 2009, 22:51
Expert's post
I also looked through the Veritas app - can't find it there either...
_________________

Founder of GMAT Club

Just starting out with GMAT? Start here... | Want to know your GMAT Score? Try GMAT Score Estimator
Need GMAT Book Recommendations? Best GMAT Books

Co-author of the GMAT Club tests

Have a blog? Feature it on GMAT Club!

Get the best GMAT Prep Resources with GMAT Club Premium Membership

Intern
Intern
User avatar
Joined: 05 Oct 2009
Posts: 33
Location: Hamamatsu, Japan
Schools: Attending IE Nov 2010
WE 1: 11 years int'l work experience
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 10 [0], given: 14

Re: an error in my iphone software? Or just an oversight... [#permalink] New post 08 Oct 2009, 00:01
Hah,
I guess before we all get carried away, we should probably make sure we're talking about the same software, eh? :lol:

As I said above, I'm using GMAT MATH version 1.1 by Indriam Inc.

I just searched the app Store (I'm in Japan using a US account) for "gmat math" and it was the second result, labeled as GMAT Math Review for $2.99 by Indriam Inc.

I took the mini Test (19 questions) and it was question number 17 in that test, but I'm guessing it's different each time?

So, are talking about the same software?
Expert Post
Founder
Founder
User avatar
Affiliations: UA-1K, SPG-G, HH-D
Joined: 04 Dec 2002
Posts: 11999
Location: United States (WA)
GMAT 1: 750 Q49 V42
GPA: 3.5
WE: Information Technology (Hospitality and Tourism)
Followers: 2137

Kudos [?]: 7338 [0], given: 3619

GMAT ToolKit User Premium Member CAT Tests
Re: an error in my iphone software? Or just an oversight... [#permalink] New post 08 Oct 2009, 00:02
Expert's post
Jones105 wrote:
Hah,
I guess before we all get carried away, we should probably make sure we're talking about the same software, eh? :lol:

As I said above, I'm using GMAT MATH version 1.1 by Indriam Inc.

I just searched the app Store (I'm in Japan using a US account) for "gmat math" and it was the second result, labeled as GMAT Math Review for $2.99 by Indriam Inc.

I took the mini Test (19 questions) and it was question number 17 in that test, but I'm guessing it's different each time?

So, are talking about the same software?


I guess not :)
Too funny - we have a gmat club app (not sure if it is available for sale in japan)
gmat-club-apple-app-for-ipod-iphone-81492.html

I assumed this was a reference to the GMAT Club app, though you never really stated that it was. My bad
_________________

Founder of GMAT Club

Just starting out with GMAT? Start here... | Want to know your GMAT Score? Try GMAT Score Estimator
Need GMAT Book Recommendations? Best GMAT Books

Co-author of the GMAT Club tests

Have a blog? Feature it on GMAT Club!

Get the best GMAT Prep Resources with GMAT Club Premium Membership

Intern
Intern
User avatar
Joined: 05 Oct 2009
Posts: 33
Location: Hamamatsu, Japan
Schools: Attending IE Nov 2010
WE 1: 11 years int'l work experience
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 10 [0], given: 14

Re: an error in my iphone software? Or just an oversight... [#permalink] New post 08 Oct 2009, 00:06
Jones105 wrote:
I recently took a practice test with my iPhone software (GMAT Math ver 1.1) and got a question I don't altogether agree with. Can someone help me out here?

...

thanks for any insights...


Hmm, your above posts got me intrigued and I've done some more research. I did find the GMAT Club software on the app store (and just purchased it) but my post was never intended to reference that app. Perhaps "GMAT Math" software on the iphone is too generic a term.

Sorry for any trouble!
Expert Post
Founder
Founder
User avatar
Affiliations: UA-1K, SPG-G, HH-D
Joined: 04 Dec 2002
Posts: 11999
Location: United States (WA)
GMAT 1: 750 Q49 V42
GPA: 3.5
WE: Information Technology (Hospitality and Tourism)
Followers: 2137

Kudos [?]: 7338 [0], given: 3619

GMAT ToolKit User Premium Member CAT Tests
Re: an error in my iphone software? Or just an oversight... [#permalink] New post 08 Oct 2009, 00:16
Expert's post
Jones105 wrote:
Jones105 wrote:
I recently took a practice test with my iPhone software (GMAT Math ver 1.1) and got a question I don't altogether agree with. Can someone help me out here?

...

thanks for any insights...


Hmm, your above posts got me intrigued and I've done some more research. I did find the GMAT Club software on the app store (and just purchased it) but my post was never intended to reference that app. Perhaps "GMAT Math" software on the iphone is too generic a term.

Sorry for any trouble!


No worries at all - any feedback about the app is welcome!
_________________

Founder of GMAT Club

Just starting out with GMAT? Start here... | Want to know your GMAT Score? Try GMAT Score Estimator
Need GMAT Book Recommendations? Best GMAT Books

Co-author of the GMAT Club tests

Have a blog? Feature it on GMAT Club!

Get the best GMAT Prep Resources with GMAT Club Premium Membership

Current Student
avatar
Joined: 04 Jun 2011
Posts: 16
Concentration: Finance
GMAT 1: 710 Q50 V36
GPA: 3.37
WE: Analyst (Mutual Funds and Brokerage)
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 8 [0], given: 5

GMAT Tests User
Re: I recently took a practice test with my iPhone software [#permalink] New post 02 Feb 2012, 21:59
I know this is an old post but is anyone still having issues with this app?
Re: I recently took a practice test with my iPhone software   [#permalink] 02 Feb 2012, 21:59
    Similar topics Author Replies Last post
Similar
Topics:
12 Experts publish their posts in the topic Point (x,y) is a point within the triangle. What is the saikarthikreddy 19 23 Sep 2012, 04:16
14 Experts publish their posts in the topic In which quadrant of the coordinate plane does the point Bunuel 16 12 Nov 2009, 11:11
1 Experts publish their posts in the topic In which quadrant of the coordinate plane does the point Wengen 4 14 Jul 2009, 06:22
Area of Quadrants? Liquid 6 06 Apr 2008, 17:05
Point (m,n) fall in which of the four quadrants? 1). apollo168 2 20 Aug 2006, 02:37
Display posts from previous: Sort by

Is the point (x,y) in the fourth quadrant?

  Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  

Go to page    1   2    Next  [ 22 posts ] 



GMAT Club MBA Forum Home| About| Privacy Policy| Terms and Conditions| GMAT Club Rules| Contact| Sitemap

Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group and phpBB SEO

Kindly note that the GMAT® test is a registered trademark of the Graduate Management Admission Council®, and this site has neither been reviewed nor endorsed by GMAC®.