Find all School-related info fast with the new School-Specific MBA Forum

It is currently 16 Sep 2014, 23:47

Close

GMAT Club Daily Prep

Thank you for using the timer - this advanced tool can estimate your performance and suggest more practice questions. We have subscribed you to Daily Prep Questions via email.

Customized
for You

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Track
Your Progress

every week, we’ll send you an estimated GMAT score based on your performance

Practice
Pays

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Not interested in getting valuable practice questions and articles delivered to your email? No problem, unsubscribe here.

Events & Promotions

Events & Promotions in June
Open Detailed Calendar

Issues with GMAT Prep software

  Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  
Author Message
Manager
Manager
avatar
Joined: 10 May 2009
Posts: 68
Followers: 1

Kudos [?]: 9 [0], given: 11

Issues with GMAT Prep software [#permalink] New post 04 Jun 2009, 08:02
1
This post was
BOOKMARKED
I am facing a strange issue.

I had installed GMAT Prep software earlier and attempted 1st test.

Now when I uninstalled the GMATPrep s/w fully and re-installed I am finding the first test to be marked as attempted. Due to this I am unable attempt the first test again.

Please suggest
Kaplan GMAT Prep Discount CodesKnewton GMAT Discount CodesVeritas Prep GMAT Discount Codes
Expert Post
1 KUDOS received
Founder
Founder
User avatar
Affiliations: UA-1K, SPG-G, HH-D
Joined: 04 Dec 2002
Posts: 12187
Location: United States (WA)
GMAT 1: 750 Q49 V42
GPA: 3.5
WE: Information Technology (Hospitality and Tourism)
Followers: 2273

Kudos [?]: 8784 [1] , given: 3666

GMAT ToolKit User Premium Member CAT Tests
Re: Issues with GMAT Prep software [#permalink] New post 04 Jun 2009, 08:04
1
This post received
KUDOS
Expert's post
You need to wipe out some files from the HDD.
There are files in the C:/Program Files/GMATPrep folder.

1. Uninstall again
2. Wipe out the folder
3. Re-install
_________________

Founder of GMAT Club

Just starting out with GMAT? Start here... | Want to know your GMAT Score? Try GMAT Score Estimator
Need GMAT Book Recommendations? Best GMAT Books

Co-author of the GMAT Club tests

Have a blog? Feature it on GMAT Club!

Get the best GMAT Prep Resources with GMAT Club Premium Membership

Director
Director
User avatar
Joined: 27 Jun 2008
Posts: 549
WE 1: Investment Banking - 6yrs
Followers: 1

Kudos [?]: 45 [0], given: 92

GMAT Tests User
Re: Issues with GMAT Prep software [#permalink] New post 04 Jun 2009, 09:23
bb wrote:
You need to wipe out some files from the HDD.
There are files in the C:/Program Files/GMATPrep folder.

1. Uninstall again
2. Wipe out the folder
3. Re-install


bb, what files do you need to wipe out? I've been uninstalling and re-installing GMATPrep, but I still see the same issue that prinits mentioned.

Should I delete ".DAT" and "text" files (i find this - C:/Program Files/GMATPrep folder/exams)
Expert Post
Founder
Founder
User avatar
Affiliations: UA-1K, SPG-G, HH-D
Joined: 04 Dec 2002
Posts: 12187
Location: United States (WA)
GMAT 1: 750 Q49 V42
GPA: 3.5
WE: Information Technology (Hospitality and Tourism)
Followers: 2273

Kudos [?]: 8784 [0], given: 3666

GMAT ToolKit User Premium Member CAT Tests
Re: Issues with GMAT Prep software [#permalink] New post 04 Jun 2009, 09:30
Expert's post
Quote:
bb, what files do you need to wipe out? I've been uninstalling and re-installing GMATPrep, but I still see the same issue that prinits mentioned.

Should I delete ".DAT" and "text" files (i find this - C:/Program Files/GMATPrep folder/exams)


Just delete the entire GMATPrep folder. That used to be the key to reinstalling.
_________________

Founder of GMAT Club

Just starting out with GMAT? Start here... | Want to know your GMAT Score? Try GMAT Score Estimator
Need GMAT Book Recommendations? Best GMAT Books

Co-author of the GMAT Club tests

Have a blog? Feature it on GMAT Club!

Get the best GMAT Prep Resources with GMAT Club Premium Membership

Manager
Manager
avatar
Joined: 10 May 2009
Posts: 68
Followers: 1

Kudos [?]: 9 [0], given: 11

Re: Issues with GMAT Prep software [#permalink] New post 05 Jun 2009, 05:14
Yes deleting the entire folder solves the issue

bb wrote:
Quote:
bb, what files do you need to wipe out? I've been uninstalling and re-installing GMATPrep, but I still see the same issue that prinits mentioned.

Should I delete ".DAT" and "text" files (i find this - C:/Program Files/GMATPrep folder/exams)


Just delete the entire GMATPrep folder. That used to be the key to reinstalling.
Director
Director
User avatar
Joined: 27 Jun 2008
Posts: 549
WE 1: Investment Banking - 6yrs
Followers: 1

Kudos [?]: 45 [0], given: 92

GMAT Tests User
Re: Issues with GMAT Prep software [#permalink] New post 05 Jun 2009, 07:17
Will try the next time, thanks!
Manager
Manager
avatar
Joined: 13 Apr 2009
Posts: 130
Followers: 1

Kudos [?]: 5 [0], given: 1

Re: Issues with GMAT Prep software [#permalink] New post 10 Jun 2009, 09:18
Something confuses me...when you wipe out the first attempts at the 2 CATS, then re-install...next time you take a test..is it the same questions? I am confused how you can use it again as an accurate gauge, if you are familiar with the questions.
Expert Post
1 KUDOS received
Founder
Founder
User avatar
Affiliations: UA-1K, SPG-G, HH-D
Joined: 04 Dec 2002
Posts: 12187
Location: United States (WA)
GMAT 1: 750 Q49 V42
GPA: 3.5
WE: Information Technology (Hospitality and Tourism)
Followers: 2273

Kudos [?]: 8784 [1] , given: 3666

GMAT ToolKit User Premium Member CAT Tests
Re: Issues with GMAT Prep software [#permalink] New post 10 Jun 2009, 11:24
1
This post received
KUDOS
Expert's post
phoenix09 wrote:
Something confuses me...when you wipe out the first attempts at the 2 CATS, then re-install...next time you take a test..is it the same questions? I am confused how you can use it again as an accurate gauge, if you are familiar with the questions.


Not all - there are 750 questions in the GMAT Prep, so they last for quite a while - usually 4 tests are possible, sometimes 6 with only a few overlapping questions
_________________

Founder of GMAT Club

Just starting out with GMAT? Start here... | Want to know your GMAT Score? Try GMAT Score Estimator
Need GMAT Book Recommendations? Best GMAT Books

Co-author of the GMAT Club tests

Have a blog? Feature it on GMAT Club!

Get the best GMAT Prep Resources with GMAT Club Premium Membership

Intern
Intern
avatar
Joined: 30 Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 0 [0], given: 0

Re: Issues with GMAT Prep software [#permalink] New post 08 Jul 2009, 21:18
Hihi

I followed the method suggested but it is not working. Uninstalling GMATprep, deleting the entire GMATprep folder (including the Practice Test 1/2.dat files) and reinstalling GMATprep.
I still get back the same 2 unfinished tests.
Pls help. Thanks.
2 KUDOS received
Director
Director
User avatar
Joined: 03 Jun 2009
Posts: 805
Location: New Delhi
WE 1: 5.5 yrs in IT
Followers: 63

Kudos [?]: 395 [2] , given: 56

GMAT Tests User
Re: Issues with GMAT Prep software [#permalink] New post 12 Jul 2009, 00:44
2
This post received
KUDOS
For those using Windows Vista
I just discovered that GMATPrep creates a folder and log file at following location:

C:\Users\{user_name}\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files\GMATPrep\exams

{user_name} will vary from system to system. Otherwise, you can directly open your user folder from desktop and navigate to \AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files\GMATPrep\exams

*Make sure you have hidden files visible
_________________

ISB 2011-12 thread | Ask ISB Alumni @ ThinkISB
All information related to Indian candidates and B-schools | Indian B-schools accepting GMAT scores
Self evaluation for Why MBA?

Manager
Manager
User avatar
Affiliations: The Earth organization, India
Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 194
WE 1: SAP consultant-IT 2 years
WE 2: Entrepreneur-family business 2 years
Followers: 4

Kudos [?]: 10 [0], given: 12

GMAT Tests User
Re: Issues with GMAT Prep software [#permalink] New post 05 Jun 2011, 04:22
i am using windows 7.
1>Wiped out the folder from c drive after uninstall.
2>Reinstalled.
3>started. All was fresh and un attempted.
4>The moment I close the software and reopen it. The entire history(including the tests) which I took in January(6 months back) come up, and all is same as it was before the uninstall. There is a hidden file somewhere which is causing this.

Any idea guys. Maybe in the users folder ?


Although its been 6 months since i used these tests. I stil wana ensure the best score prediction.

I've heard that attempting the test again from this point causes a lot of repeats, whereas if I am able to refresh this then I will see fewer repeats. But how to refresh ? :?:
_________________

Cheers !!

Quant 47-Striving for 50
Verbal 34-Striving for 40

GMAT Forum Moderator
avatar
Status: Accepting donations for the mohater MBA fund
Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 1860
Location: United States
Concentration: Healthcare, Economics
Schools: Ross '14 (M)
GMAT 1: 710 Q48 V38
GMAT 2: Q V
GPA: 3.54
WE: Accounting (Manufacturing)
Followers: 54

Kudos [?]: 398 [0], given: 234

GMAT ToolKit User GMAT Tests User Premium Member Reviews Badge
Re: Issues with GMAT Prep software [#permalink] New post 05 Jun 2011, 09:49
Why are you posting the same question in multiple threads?

Did you check for hidden files and folders? Did you check the multiple locations?

You've obviously missed something.
_________________

Strategy Discussion Thread | Strategy Master | GMAT Debrief| Please discuss strategies in discussion thread. Master thread will be updated accordingly. | GC Member Write Ups

Get the best GMAT Prep Resources with GMAT Club Premium Membership

Manager
Manager
User avatar
Affiliations: The Earth organization, India
Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 194
WE 1: SAP consultant-IT 2 years
WE 2: Entrepreneur-family business 2 years
Followers: 4

Kudos [?]: 10 [0], given: 12

GMAT Tests User
Re: Issues with GMAT Prep software [#permalink] New post 05 Jun 2011, 10:02
mohater wrote:
Why are you posting the same question in multiple threads?

Did you check for hidden files and folders? Did you check the multiple locations?

You've obviously missed something.



SORRY ABOUT posting in multiple threads,


I have checked all files on C drive. In fact after deleting the entire GMATPrep folder its strange how the past test files come back in the EXAM folder again,
_________________

Cheers !!

Quant 47-Striving for 50
Verbal 34-Striving for 40

GMAT Forum Moderator
avatar
Status: Accepting donations for the mohater MBA fund
Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 1860
Location: United States
Concentration: Healthcare, Economics
Schools: Ross '14 (M)
GMAT 1: 710 Q48 V38
GMAT 2: Q V
GPA: 3.54
WE: Accounting (Manufacturing)
Followers: 54

Kudos [?]: 398 [0], given: 234

GMAT ToolKit User GMAT Tests User Premium Member Reviews Badge
Re: Issues with GMAT Prep software [#permalink] New post 05 Jun 2011, 10:11
Did you check your user account folders?

C:\users\(the rest to the GMATPrep user folder)
_________________

Strategy Discussion Thread | Strategy Master | GMAT Debrief| Please discuss strategies in discussion thread. Master thread will be updated accordingly. | GC Member Write Ups

Get the best GMAT Prep Resources with GMAT Club Premium Membership

Manager
Manager
User avatar
Affiliations: The Earth organization, India
Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 194
WE 1: SAP consultant-IT 2 years
WE 2: Entrepreneur-family business 2 years
Followers: 4

Kudos [?]: 10 [0], given: 12

GMAT Tests User
Re: Issues with GMAT Prep software [#permalink] New post 05 Jun 2011, 10:29
windows 7 has only 2 folders in C:/users/.....

Admin and public- most of the data is desktop related in these folders.


I dont think i'll find anything here. Forget it. I guess I'll just restart the test. Anyways its been 6 months since I last used them. Unlikely that i remember more than 1-2 questions.
_________________

Cheers !!

Quant 47-Striving for 50
Verbal 34-Striving for 40

GMAT Forum Moderator
avatar
Status: Accepting donations for the mohater MBA fund
Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 1860
Location: United States
Concentration: Healthcare, Economics
Schools: Ross '14 (M)
GMAT 1: 710 Q48 V38
GMAT 2: Q V
GPA: 3.54
WE: Accounting (Manufacturing)
Followers: 54

Kudos [?]: 398 [0], given: 234

GMAT ToolKit User GMAT Tests User Premium Member Reviews Badge
Re: Issues with GMAT Prep software [#permalink] New post 05 Jun 2011, 10:31
bblast wrote:
windows 7 has only 2 folders in C:/users/.....

Admin and public- most of the data is desktop related in these folders.


I dont think i'll find anything here. Forget it. I guess I'll just restart the test. Anyways its been 6 months since I last used them. Unlikely that i remember more than 1-2 questions.


You don't have the setting set to view hidden folders and files:

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/wind ... dden-files

Please read replies/posts in the future. This information was previously covered and you have glanced over it many times.

You will still have a chance of seeing repeat questions even if you reset everything.
_________________

Strategy Discussion Thread | Strategy Master | GMAT Debrief| Please discuss strategies in discussion thread. Master thread will be updated accordingly. | GC Member Write Ups

Get the best GMAT Prep Resources with GMAT Club Premium Membership

Manager
Manager
User avatar
Affiliations: The Earth organization, India
Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 194
WE 1: SAP consultant-IT 2 years
WE 2: Entrepreneur-family business 2 years
Followers: 4

Kudos [?]: 10 [0], given: 12

GMAT Tests User
Re: Issues with GMAT Prep software [#permalink] New post 06 Jun 2011, 00:59
thanks for ur support, finally fixed the bug,

actually recycler and a few other viruses do not allow us to display hidden files. The only fix for this is to format the C drive. I did not want to format my laptop now. So i was in a fix.

So I came with a workaround. I used nero to view the hidden files and deleted them from C drive. Nero/roxio/any burning software would work.


Takeaway->The gmatprep folder in C drive itself hides all the test files even after deleting the folder(this may sound weird). We always need to delete all hidden files for refreshing the entire software.
The thing that shocks me that I had shift deleted the gmat prep folder previously. But after re-install the hidden files reappeared. Only when I manually deleted the hidden files today did I actually succeed in refreshing.
_________________

Cheers !!

Quant 47-Striving for 50
Verbal 34-Striving for 40

Manager
Manager
avatar
Joined: 04 Oct 2010
Posts: 80
Schools: Kellogg
WE 1: Project Engineer (1yr)
WE 2: Analyst(3 yrs)
Followers: 1

Kudos [?]: 0 [0], given: 0

Re: Issues with GMAT Prep software [#permalink] New post 06 Jun 2011, 19:53
finish the 2nd one and then i think you can choose to restart both test again, try it!!
Manager
Manager
avatar
Status: I will not stop until i realise my goal which is my dream too
Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 235
Schools: Johnson '15
Followers: 2

Kudos [?]: 23 [0], given: 16

GMAT Tests User
Re: Issues with GMAT Prep software [#permalink] New post 26 Jun 2011, 10:13
bb...i got what you said...now i can see that tests are appearing as attempted...Will the questions change now if i take the test or will the same questions reappear?
_________________

Regards,
Harsha

Note: Give me kudos if my approach is right , else help me understand where i am missing.. I want to bell the GMAT Cat ;)

Satyameva Jayate - Truth alone triumphs

Senior Manager
Senior Manager
User avatar
Joined: 23 Oct 2010
Posts: 384
Location: Azerbaijan
Concentration: Finance
Schools: HEC '15 (A)
GMAT 1: 690 Q47 V38
Followers: 12

Kudos [?]: 135 [0], given: 73

GMAT ToolKit User
Re: Issues with GMAT Prep software [#permalink] New post 26 Jul 2011, 07:56
I hava Windows 7

after downloading this prog, I click on it twice, and get the following error- Microsoft Visual C+++ Runtime Library -Program C/users/Downloads/Gmatprepsetup(1).exe abnormal program termination

could u please advise me what to do? :oops:
_________________

Happy are those who dream dreams and are ready to pay the price to make them come true

Re: Issues with GMAT Prep software   [#permalink] 26 Jul 2011, 07:56
    Similar topics Author Replies Last post
Similar
Topics:
Experts publish their posts in the topic Gmat software prep mrland1 2 31 Dec 2010, 09:17
Experts publish their posts in the topic gmat prep software lovgreca 5 17 Jun 2010, 07:39
Gmat prep software error pavan1984 0 20 Nov 2007, 17:30
GMAT Test Prep Software ajluberto 1 21 May 2007, 09:08
GmatPrep software error automan 10 24 Nov 2005, 06:12
Display posts from previous: Sort by

Issues with GMAT Prep software

  Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  

Go to page    1   2    Next  [ 23 posts ] 

Moderators: bagdbmba, WaterFlowsUp



GMAT Club MBA Forum Home| About| Privacy Policy| Terms and Conditions| GMAT Club Rules| Contact| Sitemap

Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group and phpBB SEO

Kindly note that the GMAT® test is a registered trademark of the Graduate Management Admission Council®, and this site has neither been reviewed nor endorsed by GMAC®.