Find all School-related info fast with the new School-Specific MBA Forum

It is currently 21 Oct 2014, 09:00

Close

GMAT Club Daily Prep

Thank you for using the timer - this advanced tool can estimate your performance and suggest more practice questions. We have subscribed you to Daily Prep Questions via email.

Customized
for You

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Track
Your Progress

every week, we’ll send you an estimated GMAT score based on your performance

Practice
Pays

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Not interested in getting valuable practice questions and articles delivered to your email? No problem, unsubscribe here.

Events & Promotions

Events & Promotions in June
Open Detailed Calendar

One puts two towers—white and black—on a

  Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  
Author Message
TAGS:
SVP
SVP
User avatar
Joined: 03 Feb 2003
Posts: 1613
Followers: 6

Kudos [?]: 53 [0], given: 0

One puts two towers—white and black—on a [#permalink] New post 08 Aug 2003, 07:55
One puts two towers—white and black—on a chessboard. In how many ways can one put them, given that the towers do not kill each other?
SVP
SVP
User avatar
Joined: 03 Feb 2003
Posts: 1613
Followers: 6

Kudos [?]: 53 [0], given: 0

 [#permalink] New post 08 Aug 2003, 11:23
Let us wait for other people
Manager
Manager
User avatar
Joined: 25 Apr 2003
Posts: 228
Followers: 3

Kudos [?]: 40 [0], given: 0

 [#permalink] New post 08 Aug 2003, 22:34
Sorry for trouble. How exactly does a tower move ?straight or diagonally ? Not much of a chess enthusiast ! notations for pieces are different you see !
SVP
SVP
User avatar
Joined: 30 Oct 2003
Posts: 1798
Location: NewJersey USA
Followers: 4

Kudos [?]: 36 [0], given: 0

 [#permalink] New post 21 Jan 2004, 19:28
There 64 positions for one tower to be placed. For each postion other tower can occupy (8-1) * (8-1) postions

Total = 64*49
Senior Manager
Senior Manager
avatar
Joined: 11 Nov 2003
Posts: 356
Location: Illinois
Followers: 1

Kudos [?]: 0 [0], given: 0

 [#permalink] New post 26 Jan 2004, 09:05
anandnk wrote:
There 64 positions for one tower to be placed. For each postion other tower can occupy (8-1) * (8-1) postions

Total = 64*49


Hey Anand,

Are you and stolyar assuming that the two towers can be arranged only in straight lines and not diagonally?

I did this way

Number of selecting two positions on a chess board = 64C2

For each of this selection, we can arrange the two towers in 2 ways.

So the total number of ways = 64C2 * 2 = 64 X 63

What am I doing wrong? Thanks
SVP
SVP
User avatar
Joined: 30 Oct 2003
Posts: 1798
Location: NewJersey USA
Followers: 4

Kudos [?]: 36 [0], given: 0

 [#permalink] New post 26 Jan 2004, 16:41
Select any position for the tower to be placed. Once you place the tower you cannot place another tower in any row or column that contains the postion you have chosen. So only 7 rows and 7 columns are left for you to position another tower.
Basically you lost 16 postions out of 64.
For each postion another tower can occupy 49 other postions.
so for 64 postions you have 64*49 postions.
Tower can traverse either the row or column entirely to kill another tower.
Senior Manager
Senior Manager
avatar
Joined: 11 Nov 2003
Posts: 356
Location: Illinois
Followers: 1

Kudos [?]: 0 [0], given: 0

 [#permalink] New post 26 Jan 2004, 17:50
anandnk wrote:
Select any position for the tower to be placed. Once you place the tower you cannot place another tower in any row or column that contains the postion you have chosen. So only 7 rows and 7 columns are left for you to position another tower.
Basically you lost 16 postions out of 64.
For each postion another tower can occupy 49 other postions.
so for 64 postions you have 64*49 postions.
Tower can traverse either the row or column entirely to kill another tower.


I am not sure why we have to assume the bold part in your message. It is not given in the problem. Is it the rule in chess or what? I am not really very familiar with chess.
SVP
SVP
User avatar
Joined: 30 Oct 2003
Posts: 1798
Location: NewJersey USA
Followers: 4

Kudos [?]: 36 [0], given: 0

 [#permalink] New post 26 Jan 2004, 18:16
Yes sir it is the rule of chess.

Good to know that there is someone who does not know chess. I dont know how to play cards. So I dont even attempt problems with deck of cards. I am just kidding :lol:
  [#permalink] 26 Jan 2004, 18:16
    Similar topics Author Replies Last post
Similar
Topics:
10 Two types of earthworm, one black and one red-brown, inhabit srabani88 4 05 Jun 2013, 01:31
71 Experts publish their posts in the topic Two types of earthworm, one black and one red-brown, inhabit TGC 28 19 Jan 2013, 22:16
A diagram has exactly two black dots and one green dot for jallenmorris 7 15 May 2008, 14:11
Two keys are to be put on a circular key chain that already HongHu 14 24 Jan 2005, 21:33
One black, one red, one blue and two white pearls are oxon 9 07 Nov 2004, 14:14
Display posts from previous: Sort by

One puts two towers—white and black—on a

  Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  


GMAT Club MBA Forum Home| About| Privacy Policy| Terms and Conditions| GMAT Club Rules| Contact| Sitemap

Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group and phpBB SEO

Kindly note that the GMAT® test is a registered trademark of the Graduate Management Admission Council®, and this site has neither been reviewed nor endorsed by GMAC®.