Find all School-related info fast with the new School-Specific MBA Forum

It is currently 12 Jul 2014, 20:53

Close

GMAT Club Daily Prep

Thank you for using the timer - this advanced tool can estimate your performance and suggest more practice questions. We have subscribed you to Daily Prep Questions via email.

Customized
for You

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Track
Your Progress

every week, we’ll send you an estimated GMAT score based on your performance

Practice
Pays

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Not interested in getting valuable practice questions and articles delivered to your email? No problem, unsubscribe here.

Events & Promotions

Events & Promotions in June
Open Detailed Calendar

Perhaps silly questions... But I need to make anyway.

  Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  
Author Message
TAGS:
VP
VP
User avatar
Joined: 09 Jan 2007
Posts: 1045
Location: New York, NY
Schools: Chicago Booth Class of 2010
Followers: 10

Kudos [?]: 156 [0], given: 3

GMAT Tests User
Perhaps silly questions... But I need to make anyway. [#permalink] New post 02 Oct 2007, 02:14
I was filling up some forms and for the employment history part the schools ask: How Many employees, earnings, and revenues of the company.

First problem is that my first job was in a Bank which was took over and now is bigger bank, should I input the data for today's figures or during the time I was there?

For earning and revenues, should I put in USD?

Thanks in advance!
VP
VP
User avatar
Joined: 24 Sep 2006
Posts: 1360
Followers: 10

Kudos [?]: 182 [0], given: 0

GMAT Tests User
Re: Perhaps silly questions... But I need to make anyway. [#permalink] New post 02 Oct 2007, 17:34
kwam wrote:
I was filling up some forms and for the employment history part the schools ask: How Many employees, earnings, and revenues of the company.

First problem is that my first job was in a Bank which was took over and now is bigger bank, should I input the data for today's figures or during the time I was there?

For earning and revenues, should I put in USD?

Thanks in advance!


My company did some acquisitions along the years I worked there and I put the same data (the latest data) in every single place. I don't know whether it's the best way, all I can say is that it didn't keep me out.

L.
GMAT Club Legend
GMAT Club Legend
User avatar
Status: Um... what do you want to know?
Joined: 03 Jun 2007
Posts: 5464
Location: SF, CA, USA
Schools: UC Berkeley Haas School of Business MBA 2010
WE 1: Social Gaming
Followers: 62

Kudos [?]: 326 [0], given: 14

GMAT Tests User
 [#permalink] New post 02 Oct 2007, 18:41
i would say just use the latest data.
Director
Director
User avatar
Joined: 16 May 2007
Posts: 549
Followers: 3

Kudos [?]: 13 [0], given: 0

GMAT Tests User
 [#permalink] New post 02 Oct 2007, 22:15
yes go with the latest
Director
Director
User avatar
Joined: 14 Sep 2007
Posts: 908
Schools: Kellogg '10
Followers: 6

Kudos [?]: 87 [0], given: 15

GMAT Tests User
 [#permalink] New post 03 Oct 2007, 13:25
I'm not applying until next year but this question has me concerned. I work in development-stage biotech. Our revenues small and our earnings astronomically NEGATIVE.

Do they usually have a spot where you give a description of the company?
GMAT Club Legend
GMAT Club Legend
User avatar
Joined: 10 Apr 2007
Posts: 4320
Location: Back in Chicago, IL
Schools: Kellogg Alum: Class of 2010
Followers: 77

Kudos [?]: 691 [0], given: 5

GMAT Tests User
 [#permalink] New post 03 Oct 2007, 13:37
I haven't seen a question like this in any application. Which is good because where I work there are no revenues or profits or really anything like that.
Director
Director
avatar
Joined: 09 Jan 2007
Posts: 707
Followers: 1

Kudos [?]: 12 [0], given: 0

GMAT Tests User
 [#permalink] New post 03 Oct 2007, 14:00
When I applied last year, I left that item blank in the schools that asked for that item. They didn't ask for that information in any follow-up meetings. I did interview with 2 of the 3 schools.

There should also be a spot for number of employees and that should be a good indicator of the scale of the company.

Also, when I went snooping around for the revenue of my companies, I didn't really get far.
  [#permalink] 03 Oct 2007, 14:00
    Similar topics Author Replies Last post
Similar
Topics:
Silly Questions ? vaggar4 2 01 Jun 2014, 10:32
easy one .. just to make sure I did not make silly mistake rao 3 03 Aug 2008, 06:38
Silly questions sweet_deals 5 08 Jan 2007, 07:13
Silly But important question venky1979 2 27 Nov 2006, 08:56
A silly question fastidious 1 27 Apr 2006, 09:46
Display posts from previous: Sort by

Perhaps silly questions... But I need to make anyway.

  Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  


cron

GMAT Club MBA Forum Home| About| Privacy Policy| Terms and Conditions| GMAT Club Rules| Contact| Sitemap

Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group and phpBB SEO

Kindly note that the GMAT® test is a registered trademark of the Graduate Management Admission Council®, and this site has neither been reviewed nor endorsed by GMAC®.