Find all School-related info fast with the new School-Specific MBA Forum

It is currently 13 Jul 2014, 09:33

Close

GMAT Club Daily Prep

Thank you for using the timer - this advanced tool can estimate your performance and suggest more practice questions. We have subscribed you to Daily Prep Questions via email.

Customized
for You

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Track
Your Progress

every week, we’ll send you an estimated GMAT score based on your performance

Practice
Pays

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Not interested in getting valuable practice questions and articles delivered to your email? No problem, unsubscribe here.

Events & Promotions

Events & Promotions in June
Open Detailed Calendar

Re-using GMATPrep Software? Can it be done?

  Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  
Author Message
GMAT Club Legend
GMAT Club Legend
avatar
Affiliations: HHonors Diamond, BGS Honor Society
Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Posts: 5925
Schools: Chicago (Booth) - Class of 2009
GMAT 1: 730 Q45 V45
WE: Business Development (Consumer Products)
Followers: 247

Kudos [?]: 1510 [0], given: 7

GMAT Tests User Premium Member
Re-using GMATPrep Software? Can it be done? [#permalink] New post 06 Apr 2006, 12:57
Is there a way to "reset" the GMATPrep software so that it gives you new questions? I heard that re-installing it does this, but I don't want to do it unless it works (or else I loose the ability to review my mistakes).

I just took the second exam and I'm shocked at my score:

http://img387.imageshack.us/img387/4331/wow6vf.jpg

(in a good way).

I scored 640 on the real thing, so this is VERY encouraging. I was happy with a 640, but a 720 would BLOW my mind. It was all verbal improvement - scored a 44 there.
Kaplan Promo CodeKnewton GMAT Discount CodesVeritas Prep GMAT Discount Codes
Manager
Manager
avatar
Joined: 25 Mar 2006
Posts: 132
Location: Stonybrook Univ
Followers: 1

Kudos [?]: 1 [0], given: 0

 [#permalink] New post 06 Apr 2006, 14:54
WOW great verbal score !!!

if you reinstall it you will get a new set of questions ... however the bank of questions used is still the same thus you might see repeated questions
Manager
Manager
User avatar
Joined: 09 Feb 2006
Posts: 129
Location: New York, NY
Followers: 1

Kudos [?]: 1 [0], given: 0

 [#permalink] New post 07 Apr 2006, 07:26
So this is GUARANTEED? You've done this for sure? I'm down to 1 more test, and a little over a week to go. I'd like my remaining tests to be as close as possible. So it would be nice if I had real Power Prep tests.
GMAT Club Legend
GMAT Club Legend
avatar
Affiliations: HHonors Diamond, BGS Honor Society
Joined: 05 Apr 2006
Posts: 5925
Schools: Chicago (Booth) - Class of 2009
GMAT 1: 730 Q45 V45
WE: Business Development (Consumer Products)
Followers: 247

Kudos [?]: 1510 [0], given: 7

GMAT Tests User Premium Member
 [#permalink] New post 07 Apr 2006, 08:09
Can someone tell me if PowerPrep = GmatPrep ? Cause I see people say things like "PP 640, GmatPrep 690" or whatever....

I'm down to a week as well and I'm out of practice tests.
Manager
Manager
avatar
Joined: 25 Mar 2006
Posts: 132
Location: Stonybrook Univ
Followers: 1

Kudos [?]: 1 [0], given: 0

 [#permalink] New post 07 Apr 2006, 08:36
Jc ... yes i have done this ... but i only took 1 pp test im saving the last one for the day before my exam
Manager
Manager
User avatar
Joined: 09 Feb 2006
Posts: 129
Location: New York, NY
Followers: 1

Kudos [?]: 1 [0], given: 0

 [#permalink] New post 07 Apr 2006, 08:53
I think PowerPrep was the predecessor to GMATPrep - same idea, but old version. I (incorrectly, probably) use them interchangably.

NT -- So you've seen different questions after doing this?
Manager
Manager
User avatar
Joined: 09 Feb 2006
Posts: 129
Location: New York, NY
Followers: 1

Kudos [?]: 1 [0], given: 0

 [#permalink] New post 07 Apr 2006, 09:01
You know, while we're discussing it, what have people found to be the MOST accurate predictor of their score on the real thing? I've been thinking it would be PowerPrep/GMATPrep, but just want to see what other people think. Not enough people have put their information into the "score predictor" tool for me to have any idea.

FWIW, I got a 750 on GMAT Prep Test 1, 730 on the Princeton Review online exam, a 680 and 730 on two of the Manhattan GMAT tests, and a 750 and 700 on two of the old paper exams.
Manager
Manager
avatar
Joined: 25 Mar 2006
Posts: 132
Location: Stonybrook Univ
Followers: 1

Kudos [?]: 1 [0], given: 0

 [#permalink] New post 07 Apr 2006, 09:20
yes i have seen dif questions after reinstalling

from what i have been reading the CAT tests from mba.com are the best thing
Intern
Intern
avatar
Joined: 02 Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Location: UK
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 0 [0], given: 0

 [#permalink] New post 13 Apr 2006, 00:28
Hi reinstalled gmatprep thrice, but it takes me back to my old review..it doesnt show the tests as 'not attempted'.

Can you tell me exact procedure that you used to reinstall.

What i did was, uninstall from control panel>add/remove programs; restart my pc; download gmatprep again. And bingo, its the old screen again!

HELP!!
Manager
Manager
avatar
Joined: 23 Jan 2006
Posts: 193
Followers: 1

Kudos [?]: 2 [0], given: 0

GMAT Tests User
 [#permalink] New post 13 Apr 2006, 05:18
You may not have to uninstall - I took PowerPrep Test 1 twice - and got completely different questions. Then again - I had practiced a lot in between - maybe i was getting different questions because I was at a higher level...
Manager
Manager
avatar
Joined: 17 Feb 2006
Posts: 94
Followers: 1

Kudos [?]: 0 [0], given: 0

 [#permalink] New post 13 Apr 2006, 20:04
Even if you reinstall it IS the same question bank so you likely will see repeats. Have you taken other tests as well? There are 4 on the PR CD, dunno how many on Kaplan, and if you can find the old Powerprep tests, there's two more. Better than retaking ones you've already done.

To the other poster...Powerprep tests were the official ones when ETS was administering the test, but Pearson Vue took over January 1, so now the official practice tests are called GMATPrep. They are different so look for the link in this forum to the old Powerprep ones.
Manager
Manager
avatar
Joined: 23 Jan 2006
Posts: 137
Location: Sunnyvale, California
Followers: 1

Kudos [?]: 1 [0], given: 0

GMAT Tests User
 [#permalink] New post 20 Apr 2006, 09:27
I have the same experience. I didn't reinstall and 90% of the questions were new.
Director
Director
User avatar
Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 928
Followers: 1

Kudos [?]: 12 [0], given: 0

GMAT Tests User
 [#permalink] New post 01 May 2006, 21:54
you have to manually delete the c:\program files\gmatprep folder to make sure that when you reinstall it you dont see the old exams again!
  [#permalink] 01 May 2006, 21:54
    Similar topics Author Replies Last post
Similar
Topics:
Can i Reuse my prev template ??? krishireddy 3 10 Dec 2010, 19:30
GMATPrep Software joemama142000 14 07 Dec 2005, 07:45
New GMATPrep software? coffeeloverfreak 3 06 Sep 2005, 19:16
Kaplan CAT can be reused dozens of times? tinyseal 2 18 Jun 2005, 17:07
Kaplan FT tests can be reused? 790-goal 0 29 Dec 2004, 11:39
Display posts from previous: Sort by

Re-using GMATPrep Software? Can it be done?

  Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  

Moderators: bagdbmba, WaterFlowsUp



GMAT Club MBA Forum Home| About| Privacy Policy| Terms and Conditions| GMAT Club Rules| Contact| Sitemap

Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group and phpBB SEO

Kindly note that the GMAT® test is a registered trademark of the Graduate Management Admission Council®, and this site has neither been reviewed nor endorsed by GMAC®.