Find all School-related info fast with the new School-Specific MBA Forum

It is currently 19 Apr 2014, 07:30

Close

GMAT Club Daily Prep

Thank you for using the timer - this advanced tool can estimate your performance and suggest more practice questions. We have subscribed you to Daily Prep Questions via email.

Customized
for You

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Track
Your Progress

every week, we’ll send you an estimated GMAT score based on your performance

Practice
Pays

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Not interested in getting valuable practice questions and articles delivered to your email? No problem, unsubscribe here.

Events & Promotions

Events & Promotions in June
Open Detailed Calendar

Retake: Do I need to retake all sections?

  Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  
Author Message
Intern
Intern
Joined: 18 Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 0 [0], given: 1

Retake: Do I need to retake all sections? [#permalink] New post 29 Apr 2012, 00:58
Hi, everybody.
I took my first GMAT last month. I am happy with my AWA score, but not with Verbal and Quantitative.
I am retaking GMAT next month. I really don't want to retake AWA section because I could get lower AWA score than the last time. Please advise if it matters to retake all sections, or I can skip AWA section and retake only Verbal and Quantitative sections?

I look for your advice and comment...Thank you
Kaplan Promo CodeKnewton GMAT Discount CodesGMAT Pill GMAT Discount Codes
Manager
Manager
User avatar
Joined: 26 Feb 2012
Posts: 206
Concentration: Finance, Technology
GPA: 3.3
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 18 [0], given: 11

GMAT Tests User
Re: Retake: Do I need to retake all sections? [#permalink] New post 29 Apr 2012, 04:48
There has been a lot of debate over this. Apparently, you need to take all the sections!
Manager
Manager
Joined: 16 Mar 2010
Posts: 59
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 5 [0], given: 4

Re: Retake: Do I need to retake all sections? [#permalink] New post 29 Apr 2012, 07:49
Its better to retake the AWA and get a lower score than not taking the AWA at all.. Train yourself to stick it out for the extra hour and get at least 4.5 - 5 on AWA. Adcoms may consider skipping a section as the signs of a slacker..
Intern
Intern
Joined: 29 Apr 2012
Posts: 8
Location: United States
Concentration: Accounting, Operations
GMAT 1: Q V
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 5 [0], given: 0

Re: Retake: Do I need to retake all sections? [#permalink] New post 30 Apr 2012, 00:48
As the other posters have said...If you retake the GMAT, you must complete all sections over again. (They don't give the option to cherry-pick what sections you want to skip).

With that being said, if you're dissatisfied with your Quan & Verbal scores...study more on these sections because there is greater value placed on the Quant & Verbal than the AWA - at least, from a b-school perspective. (This is not to say that writing competence is unimportant, but b-schools typically use a candidate's aggregate score as a barometer for admission into their program...whereas, a candidate's AWA score is used as a minimum qualifier (i.e. at least a 4 or 5, etc).
GMAT Forum Moderator
Joined: 13 Sep 2011
Posts: 282
Followers: 3

Kudos [?]: 26 [0], given: 0

GMAT ToolKit User Premium Member
Re: Retake: Do I need to retake all sections? [#permalink] New post 30 Apr 2012, 04:54
Yes you should take all sections . Don't waste too much time on awa though , just follow the chineseburbed awa template and you should easily get a 4.5/5. The essays place more emphasis on structure rather than content

Image Posted from GMAT ToolKit
Senior Manager
Senior Manager
Status: schools I listed were for the evening programs, not FT
Joined: 16 Aug 2011
Posts: 391
Location: United States (VA)
GMAT 1: 640 Q47 V32
GMAT 2: 640 Q43 V34
GMAT 3: 660 Q43 V38
GPA: 3.1
WE: Research (Other)
Followers: 3

Kudos [?]: 46 [0], given: 50

GMAT Tests User
Re: Retake: Do I need to retake all sections? [#permalink] New post 30 Apr 2012, 07:23
Yes, you have to retake everything. Verbal and Quant count the most because they create your score out of 800.
Intern
Intern
Joined: 18 Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 0 [0], given: 1

Re: Retake: Do I need to retake all sections? [#permalink] New post 30 Apr 2012, 21:56
Thank you guys for your prompt response and precious time. I will retake all sections on May 12.
I've been studying for GMAT after my full time work and weekend.
With your advice and support, I feel like I could get better scores this time:)

Thanks again.
Re: Retake: Do I need to retake all sections?   [#permalink] 30 Apr 2012, 21:56
    Similar topics Author Replies Last post
Similar
Topics:
New posts Experts publish their posts in the topic Do I need to retake the TOEFL examination? venky1979 1 04 Apr 2007, 02:18
New posts Please help. Do I need a retake? twilliams9 2 29 Jul 2008, 12:48
Popular new posts Do I need to retake the AWA part?? oziozzie 10 03 Sep 2008, 13:24
Moved topic I just received my score report. I got 740 (Q49, V41) and utgirl826 19 11 Jun 2008, 06:53
New posts 1 Experts publish their posts in the topic Do I need to retake GMAT for UCLA FEMBA dddmba2012 6 06 Jan 2012, 16:36
Display posts from previous: Sort by

Retake: Do I need to retake all sections?

  Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  

Moderators: WaterFlowsUp, bagdbmba



GMAT Club MBA Forum Home| About| Privacy Policy| Terms and Conditions| GMAT Club Rules| Contact| Sitemap

Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group and phpBB SEO

Kindly note that the GMAT® test is a registered trademark of the Graduate Management Admission Council®, and this site has neither been reviewed nor endorsed by GMAC®.