Find all School-related info fast with the new School-Specific MBA Forum

It is currently 22 Jul 2014, 13:46

Close

GMAT Club Daily Prep

Thank you for using the timer - this advanced tool can estimate your performance and suggest more practice questions. We have subscribed you to Daily Prep Questions via email.

Customized
for You

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Track
Your Progress

every week, we’ll send you an estimated GMAT score based on your performance

Practice
Pays

we will pick new questions that match your level based on your Timer History

Not interested in getting valuable practice questions and articles delivered to your email? No problem, unsubscribe here.

Events & Promotions

Events & Promotions in June
Open Detailed Calendar

Switching GMAT Prep from PC to Mac?

  Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  
Author Message
Intern
Intern
avatar
Joined: 02 Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 0 [0], given: 1

Switching GMAT Prep from PC to Mac? [#permalink] New post 24 Jan 2013, 16:27
I have a student who took a practice test on the GMAT Prep software on a PC, and now wants to take the second test on a Mac. Am I correct in telling him that if he does so he'll likely have repeat questions from his first administration of the test? Or does the online access of the new software prevent this, even though he's taking the test from a second install?

Also, he said that after he took the first test, he saw his score and closed out the application, but now when he reopens it (on the same computer), he's able to see his score but isn't able to review the individual questions. Is this correct, or is he missing something?

Thanks for any help you can offer.

Last edited by andrewsix on 24 Jan 2013, 16:46, edited 1 time in total.
Kaplan GMAT Prep Discount CodesKnewton GMAT Discount CodesManhattan GMAT Discount Codes
Expert Post
Founder
Founder
User avatar
Affiliations: UA-1K, SPG-G, HH-D
Joined: 04 Dec 2002
Posts: 12008
Location: United States (WA)
GMAT 1: 750 Q49 V42
GPA: 3.5
WE: Information Technology (Hospitality and Tourism)
Followers: 2156

Kudos [?]: 7563 [0], given: 3623

GMAT ToolKit User Premium Member CAT Tests
Re: Switching GMAT Prep from PC to Mac? [#permalink] New post 24 Jan 2013, 16:30
Expert's post
andrewsix wrote:
I have a student who took a practice test on the GMAT Prep software on a PC, and now wants to take the second test on a Mac. Am I correct in telling him that if he does so he'll likely have repeat questions from his first administration of the test? Or does the online access of the new software prevent this, even though he's taking the test from a second install? I'm not super familiar with the software and don't know if there's a user name and password associated with it.

Yes, most likely they would see 1-2 repeats. GMAT Prep has close to 900 questions hidden inside (total between verbal and quant), so the chances of repeats are not huge but it is likely to happen. Ideally he/she would not do it this way or take the test on the same PC.

Quote:
Also, he said that after he took the first test, he saw his score and closed out the application, but now when he reopens it (on the same computer), he's able to see his score but isn't able to review the individual questions. Is this correct, or is he missing something? I took the test two years ago and recall being able to review my questions on the previous software.

Thanks for any help you can offer.

Yes, he is no longer able to review his questions (not sure why but that's how it is done)

_________________

Founder of GMAT Club

Just starting out with GMAT? Start here... | Want to know your GMAT Score? Try GMAT Score Estimator
Need GMAT Book Recommendations? Best GMAT Books

Co-author of the GMAT Club tests

Have a blog? Feature it on GMAT Club!

Get the best GMAT Prep Resources with GMAT Club Premium Membership

Intern
Intern
avatar
Joined: 02 Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Followers: 0

Kudos [?]: 0 [0], given: 1

Re: Switching GMAT Prep from PC to Mac? [#permalink] New post 24 Jan 2013, 16:45
bb wrote:
Yes, he is no longer able to review his questions (not sure why but that's how it is done)


Thanks for the prompt response!
Re: Switching GMAT Prep from PC to Mac?   [#permalink] 24 Jan 2013, 16:45
    Similar topics Author Replies Last post
Similar
Topics:
GMAT Prep from mba.com for Mac OS X 10.5.8?? squaye 0 14 Aug 2012, 16:45
GMAT Prep Test for Mac Users seoulite 4 02 May 2011, 08:03
Experts publish their posts in the topic mba.com official GMAT prep software for Mac? hcb 2 27 May 2010, 08:57
GMAT Prep Tests-Mac computer... lanter1 1 04 Jul 2007, 08:06
Using a Mac with the PC user friendly Kaplan GMAT CD silentell 0 07 Sep 2005, 12:16
Display posts from previous: Sort by

Switching GMAT Prep from PC to Mac?

  Question banks Downloads My Bookmarks Reviews Important topics  

Moderators: bagdbmba, WaterFlowsUp



GMAT Club MBA Forum Home| About| Privacy Policy| Terms and Conditions| GMAT Club Rules| Contact| Sitemap

Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group and phpBB SEO

Kindly note that the GMAT® test is a registered trademark of the Graduate Management Admission Council®, and this site has neither been reviewed nor endorsed by GMAC®.