Admissionado (formerly Precision Essay) Admissions Consulting Reviews
    Number of reviews [56]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Packages
    
    
    
    
    
Admissionado (formerly Precision Essay) is a boutique essay editing and MBA admissions consulting firm.
  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
These guys are worth it!
March 17 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 17, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  ** Junior Deluxe   Consultant:  Phillip Herring
I’m highly recommending Admissionado to all the MBA hopefuls out there. I’ll add that they were also recommended to me. That should speak volumes to you. These guys make you so happy you want to pass it along.

When I began my MBA journey I couldn't imagine using a consultant. I even bristled at first at the idea. That’s when a very good friend of mine at a top three program explained in detail the value of a consultant and of Admissionado in particular.

From first contact I was impressed by the team’s energy, responsiveness and sheer desire to help me achieve my goals. But the experience I’ll take with me was working with my consultant Phillip. He did more than just help me develop a game plan to tackle the application process. He really helped me figure out who I was, what I wanted and how to put it all on paper. This forced self-examination was at times painful, frustrating and confusing but it was well worth it. I emerged a better candidate and probably a better person for having rediscovered myself and with clearly defined goals.

Now that I’m at the end of my journey with my golden admit ticket in hand, they continue to be among my biggest cheerleaders and I theirs. They are a hip, smart group who are really serious about their work and getting you where you need to be. If you trust them and work hard, the sky’s the limit.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Re-Applicant found a good fit
February 10 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 1, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  ** Junior Deluxe   Consultant:  Mark Lellouch
I am a re-applicant and used a different consulting firm the first time I applied. The first time I thought the essays were very well polished, but I think what I wanted from an MBA and what I had to offer wasn’t as clear. The second time around, I had a better idea of what I wanted out of an MBA and wanted to get a different perspective on the MBA process. I talked with several consulting firms and Admissionado seemed to be able to relate to my background the most. Additionally, since I already applied once, I didn’t need a full package from a consultant. I only needed help on essay editing and picking the correct topics to build the proper story. In this sense, I needed a more flexible program and Claudia at Admissionado was quickly able to tailor a program for me as a re-applicant. This allowed me to save money while still getting the support I needed.

Claudia was also able to match me up with a consultant, Mark Lellouch, who could really mold my background, engineering, into what adcoms are looking for.

Mark was quick to respond to any questions I had, no matter how dumb they sounded, and gave me good feedback on my essays, which topics I should write about, and prioritize what I should include in my application (hobbies, extracurriculars, etc).

On the first round application, I received interviews from every school I applied to. I received acceptances from all except one, which I got waitlisted. I am still waiting for my second round results.

After all my experiences applying to business schools, I think Adcoms are always looking for someone who is different and adds new insight/perspectives to the class, so the key to applying is to build a story about your background that sets you apart and would help diversify your class. Mark at Admissionado really understands how to build that story and to get the right messages across to the Adcoms.

I would highly recommend Admissionado and Mark at Admissionado to help you to get to your dream school.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Admissionado Services
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Impressive all-round MBA consultant
February 05 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By TopDogMBA joined: April 14, 2014 | 125 | 57 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  ** Junior Deluxe   Consultant:  Uyen Tang
Read more at: http://topdogmba.com/2015/01/01/fixing-a-hole-admissionado-review/

I am a re-applicant so writing this from the perspective of someone who has been through the pain once before and didn't want to make the same mistakes the second time around.

I first learned about Admissionado as their founder, Jon Frank, hosted a free webinar about 'Dealing with a Ding'. I was one of the lucky few chosen to be critiqued in the webinar and, while not a pleasant experience, I really appreciated the straight talking, no nonsense approach employed by Jon.

This is not a service for those of you wanting someone to praise you constantly and tell you what a good job you're doing - this is tough love! My consultant was a former Admissions Fellow at my top choice b school. We had a great free Skype session which overran the allotted time, but I just had a lot of questions and she was in no hurry and did not rush me.

After the call, I tried to imagine finding time to not only figure out my strategy, but also to write my resume, essays, manage my recommenders, all while having to check my own work and try to find friends who would help me out and review it. I decided I wanted a paid consultant, someone I could jump straight in and start discussing my stories with, someone who was always available and would push me to do more and better.

The Junior Deluxe package was great for this, it wasn't cheap but in line with other leading consulting firms. Best of all, I could bolt on additional services like Skype calls and urgent reviews of my essays (sadly, I did have to resort to this once or twice!), all in a very transparent way.

If I had any negative comments to make, I'd say that it took several days to get comments back on essays. This is because not only my consultant was reviewing them, but also an editor who added a lot of comments on how to improve the writing style, what else I could talk about, how to build the story more effectively etc. It was only a problem because I was busy for weeks at a time (with non-MBA stuff) and when I was free I liked to focus in on my essays for days at a time. If you're like me, then just make sure you spread the essays out - one school on Monday, another on Tuesday etc. - once I figured this out it was easy to adjust my schedule. Like I said, this is really not a major issue but I struggle to think of anything bad about Admissionado.

And, now for the results: well, I applied to three schools and got three interview invites. One is converted into an offer(!) and the other two I'm still waiting to hear from. Could I have got the same result on my own? Possibly, but why take that risk for the sake of 1-2% of the cost of your MBA programme!?

Thanks to Admissionado I am going to be doing my MBA next year, no matter what.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Admitted into Dream School with weaker profile
February 02 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By logfra22 joined: February 16, 2011 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  ** Junior Deluxe   Consultant:  Shawn Falkner
Long story short, I got a 710, solid GPA, but weaker than avg experience. IT Proj Mgr in biotech with some exposure to strategy, but nothing like consulting or i-banking.

Shawn and the team tailored a story and strategy around the fact that I couldn't compete based on raw strength or quant ability against others looking to get into a Top 20 school. There's no way I would have got into my dream school if they hadn't helped me form and completely revise my strategy. I'll be honest, I had a "good" story before, but they pushed me to make sure everything aligned: my past exp, why I want an MBA, and my future goals. It sounds basic, but it needs to be immaculate.

Once I got my big interview, I felt super confident about my entire story, because it truly did all add up. I was able to tell it very naturally, because each piece lined up, all the way to my 20 year plan. And I didn't even use them for interview prep!

The whole team was very laid-back (not a bad thing), and it allowed me to really divulge every piece of information about myself. Some of which I would not have told many people, but that ultimately became an important part of my story. Also, I got a late start (began in mid-Aug for Oct 1 deadline), and the editors turned my drafts around literally every 3-4 days.

Can't say enough great things about Admissionado, would highly recommend for anyone looking to get into a Top 20 school. If it looks expensive, well...you're about to invest $150-200k. Do you want to spend that getting in a "mediocre" program, or would you rather be in your dream school and freakin' stoked on where you're spending the next 2 years, and WHO you're spending them with. I can't even explain how excited I am for the school I got into, such a great feeling compared to "settling" for a backup school and attending because, "well, now is the time" and "I don't want to go through that process again".

If anyone has questions about my experience, I'd love to answer, because I seriously owe it to Admissionado for the milestone that I've reached.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Admissionado Services
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Amazing Admissionado!
December 24 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 4, 2013 | 4 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  ** Junior Deluxe  
I was referred to Admissionado by a friend, who said that I couldn't go wrong with them. As an Indian applicant, applying for a second MBA, I knew that I would have to create incredibly convincing applications to be able to make it to a top-5 school.

Even before I signed up, I was bowled over by the team’s professionalism. Claudia (Director of Operations) was easily accessible over mail and took out time to answer all my questions. Her advice has always been genuine, frank and upfront – for instance she told me in no uncertain terms that I would have to dig deep and evaluate reasons as to why I wanted a second MBA, without which my entire story would fall through.

I signed up for a 3-school Junior Deluxe package and CV review. The process started off with my filling out a detailed questionnaire and doing a deep-dive Skype call with my consultant, Julie. Julie then shared an Action Plan with me, which I used to start drafting my essays and resume. Julie was always just an e-mail away, and even before I submitted any drafts to her, I could just send in an e-mail with any queries or clarifications I needed. If I were to look over the first and final drafts of my essays, I would truthfully say that the ideas and intent that I wished to convey to the AdCom were all mine. However, by asking the right questions and challenging me to dig deeper, Julie was able to make my essays shine!

I submitted applications to 2 schools in R1 and was invited to interview at both. It was an obvious choice to sign up for the Interview Prep package as well. I opted for the Premium Package, which gave me the advantage of using the feedback (and audio recording) from the first mock interview to make improvements before the second.

Just last week, I received my R1 decisions. I’ve been accepted at one school (Wharton) and am on a waitlist at the other. I wouldn’t have come this far without Admissionado and specifically, Julie! If I had to highlight what I loved about Admissionado’s services, it would be their professionalism, quick (super-quick actually) turnaround time, really sharp editing and most importantly a genuine, heartfelt interest in ‘me’ as an applicant. All of these qualities can be immensely supportive during the gruelling application process, and I’d strongly recommend Admissionado for precisely these reasons!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Admissionado is the best!
December 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  ** Junior Deluxe   Consultant:  Phillip Herring
I decided to use a consulting service after speaking with various friends who told me that it would pay off. They were right! Last week I got the call from admissions telling me I was accepted at Columbia! After doing a bit of online research and speaking with the team, I decided to work with Admissionado. From the get go, my consultant Phillip was extremely helpful and very good about keeping me on track. Phillip was very detailed in his edits of all of my essays and really helped me create a cohesive and interesting story for the adcom. He went above and beyond and even helped me with editing my resume and provided some advice on the interview process. I really feel that I would not have experienced such positive results without Phillip's help. I highly recommend Admissionado if you are considering working with a consultant!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Admissionado Services
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Awesomeness
July 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By mauryamodi joined: July 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  N/A
This review is for:  A La Carte Services   Consultant:  Lauren Herskovic
I contacted admissionado (Claudia and Lauren)when I was waitlisted at UT-Austin in April 2014 to chalk out the waitlist strategy. To start with, Claudia and Lauren were blazing fast and awesome in responding to my emails and queries. I remember Claudia spending over 30 mins on the phone with me to understand my situation. After that, once we knew that McCombs was not accepting any material from waitlist applicants, Claudia and Lauren did not push me to pay and sign up for their services (may people would take advantage of your vulnerable emotional state in a situation like this). They continued to follow up with me for 12 weeks without asking me to sign up for any kind of services. After being on the waitlist for 12 weeks, I almost gave up and I contacted them back to get my ding review done so that I can work on the gaps in my profile, before I reapply. Again, both were super prompt, we exchanged about 50 emails in 2-3 days, Lauren spent another 30 mins on the phone with me without me yet signing up for any services. During the telecon with Lauren, I decided to sign up for the ding review and Lauren sent me an invoice, and then I asked them that I would wait for a few days before paying the invoice since I need a break from the MBA stuff, to be able to think fresh. They completely understood this and supported my decision. During the waiting period, I got admitted to McCombs and I emailed Lauren and Claudia and I could picture them jumping with joy with me for the admit. All of this for a unknown person who did not sign up for any services says a lot about Claudia, Lauren and Admissionado.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Admissionado! True professionals
April 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By akshayN joined: August 3, 2011 | 2 | 7 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Only my safety schools
This review is for:  *** Deluxe   Consultant:  Kyn Chaturvedi
I enrolled into the 4-school deluxe package with Admissionado and I'm thoroughly delighted with the exceptional service that the Admissionado team (Lauren, Emily, Claudia and Kyn) have provided me over the past 8-9 months. I truly lovvveeeddd working with Kyn, who is a professional through and through, and whose expertise and skills truly helped me get admitted off the wait list to one of the schools that I applied to.

My first interaction with Kyn was during an essay writing workshop and I was so impressed with his insightful essay-writing tips and comments that I immediately set up an initial profile evaluation with him and signed up for four schools. The entire admissions process right from writing the GMAT all the way until landing an admit is an extremely exhaustive and tiring process but Kyn made sure that we didn't lose steam one bit during the process and ensured that we submitted the best application we could to all our schools. Also, Admissionado has invaluable resources (resume tips, school guides and interviewing tips) that helped me maneuver through the maze. I found Kyn's (and Admissionado's) services extremely useful, far exceeding the expectations I'd initially set. Their entire team is extraordinarily dedicated, professional, courteous and prompt (I observed this during some of the free workshops I attended).

PROS :- To me the biggest gain was gaining insight into the AdCom's decision making process, rationale behind wait listing, and, most importantly, tips to make an impression during an interview in spite of belonging to an oversubscribed pool of applicants. I was able to successfully be admitted off the wait list ONLY because Kyn helped me understand what would work and what wouldn't when wait listed. The comments and feedback on all my edits were extremely helpful, precise and positive through critical.

CONS :- I initially found it difficult to adjust to the 3-day turnaround time for every edit but, I eventually realized that it was to be fair to other applicants.

To summarize, if you're fine with the 3-day turnaround time (i.e. you plan and strategize your applications well), I'd highly recommend Admissionado and Kyn to everyone applying.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Admissionado Services
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
kudos to Admissionado team
April 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By shyam6uc joined: September 12, 2013 | 4 | 3 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  A La Carte Services  
Alison from Admissionado team did a fab job in compiling my essays , spent hours/days reasoning every line of what I wrote and got the best essays for my applications to Stanford and Haas.

The essays were so good that I was actually called for interviews at both Stanford and Haas. Though I could not convert Stanford I am quite happy to be admitted to Haas. If you have too much content and don't know how to best present the essays please do yourself a favor and use Admissionado. I felt La Carte services are worth every penny and gave me exactly what I wanted with out shelling lot of money.

Once again Kudos to you Alison, you are just too good :-)please keep up the good work.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Gratitude to Admissionado team for helping me nail it!
March 28 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By mskrichard joined: January 6, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  ** Junior Deluxe  
I am still so thrilled that I can get into my dream school Ross. Thanks to the team from admissionado and especially thanks to Ben who guided me through the whole process with a lot of care and patience. I was really touched. For the entire process, I felt like being treated like a family member or a dear friend. Ben helped me find my strengths and let them shine. The revised version of my essays was a total overhaul. He also had faith in me and gave me a lot of confidence when I had self-doubt during the process. Money well spent!! Can't imagine if I did not go to Admissionado. Thanks so much! Wish the team help more people achieve the first big step to their dreams.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount on Admissionado Services
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Special Discount on Admissionado Consulting
"Rigorous application consulting service for dedicated candidates"
See the Admissionado Discount