Amerasia Admissions Consulting Reviews
    Number of reviews [41]      Average Rating:       (5.0/5)
Packages
    
    
 
Amerasia Discount
Speak with a consultant without any financial obligation.  This free diagnostic of your MBA candidacy is meant to provide you with a snapshot of where you stand with respect to a targeted program. Engaging the right admissions consulting firm is one of the most critical decisions you will make in the MBA application process. Save $$$ when you sign up through GMAT Club
 
  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Nicole (and by extension, Amerasia) is amazing!!
February 04 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By mgmtmike joined: August 4, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Complete School Package  
This post is my first on gmatclub, and I think only the second or third post I’ve ever made anywhere (in general I’m not an online-posting or radio-show-calling kind of person). I primarily used this site for GMAT tips, but I most recently used it in my admissions consultant search.

I had focused so much on acing the GMAT that I almost totally neglected the application process. It was one month before the R1 deadline, and I was just starting my essays. I asked a friend of mine, who had recently graduated from a top 3 bschool, to review the essays. Since time was so short, he suggested that I find an admissions consultant who could devote more time to helping me with the application.

After scouring the web for admissions consultants, I ended up down-selecting to 5 or so companies who seemed to have a solid presence in the field. I then did some deeper research on the gmatclub discussion boards, finding out what warts existed for each company. It seemed that most of the companies suffered from one or more fatal flaws: poor responsiveness, generic/easily-recognizable essay style, rudeness/unprofessionalism, or defensiveness/lack of contrition when faced with substantiated bad reviews. Amerasia fit the bill. However, I specifically wanted to work with Adam since I had read that Paul was not responsive enough (although, based on recent reviews, he has completely turned that around). Unfortunately, Adam was fully booked for R1, but he referred me to Nicole (he said they intentionally staggered their assignments so that Nicole could help late R1 applicants).

Nicole exceeded my every expectation, and I now feel that she was actually the perfect fit for me (given my background, career aspirations, and general disposition). I signed up for the 2-school package, and in the 24 days between our initial conversation and the application deadlines, we went through 12 revisions of the essays (and 4 revisions of the online application entries). Not only was Nicole super responsive (1-2 day turnaround time per revision), she offered detailed, constructive (and candid) reviews. It felt as if one of my close friends was helping me. And once I got selected for interviews, she prepped me to the point that I was able to pounce on all the curve balls the interviewers threw my way. I got into 2 of the best business schools in the world (my top 2 choices) and could not be happier with the investment I made with Amerasia/Nicole. Thanks Nicole!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Got into a reach school through Amerasia!
April 02 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 6, 2011 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Complete School Package   Consultant:  Adam Hoff
Adam's insider expertise on the MBA admissions and application process was invaluable and timely. Out of all the admission advisory companies out there, I ultimately decided to go with Amerasia and Adam because he made me feel the most comfortable. Never did I once feel forced or pressured into signing up for his services. At the same time, he was helpful and realistic with what he could help me with. Our initial consultation forced me to rethink my strategy (I had a sub 650 GMAT score), and he advised me to retake the test, and thank goodness I did. Lets just say I retook the test and received a score between 650-700.

Adam's strength is in the brainstorming process, where he'll help you draw upon your experiences and background to craft the most compelling and cohesive stories. Without Adam's help, my essays would not have flowed as seamlessly and presented me as holistically as they did.

I appreciate Adam for his insightful feedback from the very beginning to the very end, he was positive, professional and knowledgeable about how best to assist me. More than anything, he was patient with fielding my million questions and he always made an effort to turnaround my questions and essays in a timely manner. His feedback was spot-on, and he even helped me prepare and gave me the confidence I needed to go into my interviews and perform well.

What I appreciated most about Adam is his customized, catered and personal approach. When you're working with Adam, you'll certainly feel taken care of, as opposed to the one-size fits all approach of many of the larger companies out there.

In the end, I was accepted into a top-5 program, Northwestern-Kellogg with a sub-700 GMAT score!

I had an excellent experience working with Adam and would certainly recommend him without reservations.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Amerasia Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Highly recommend Drew from Amerasia
May 09 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 5, 2012 | 11 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Essays, Resume and Letters of Recommendation   Consultant:  Drew Hoff
My experience working with Drew was a great one. When I first started the MBA application process, I was a bit stressed out worrying that I wouldn’t be able to pull all the pieces together on time before the application deadline. Drew worked closely with me to streamline the application preparation process. With his guidance, I was able to gather my life stories and tell them in a well structured and clear manner. All of the advices I got from Drew (essay, CV and mock interview) were extremely valuable and really show his deep understanding about the school and program. Drew is outstanding mentor and I really appreciate his responsiveness, professionalism and kindness throughout the exhausting process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Strong recommend for Adam Hoff - Got in my dream school
June 19 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 19, 2013 | 1 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Complete School Package   Consultant:  Adam Hoff
Background:

I’m posting under a new id to keep my real identity under wraps and will work with the moderator to verify my information.

This post will be lengthy since I know when I started this journey, I wanted lots and lots of details and liked the lengthy posts.

I work as an IT consultant and thought I had a pretty good work experience and personal life story. However, I have an average GMAT score and I didn’t climb Everest during a stop-over to my summer hobby of saving starving children in Africa. In other words, didn’t think I had a special story to tell to get me into a top ten school.

However, after doing my own research and attending info sessions, I felt encouraged enough to go all out and give it a good fight. As a result, I was armed with tons of questions when I interviewed the admin consultants. Amerasia was the last on my list to call, and I almost didn’t do it since I had felt so strongly about my previous meeting with another company. Adam’s incisive questions and perspective on my goals were so unique that I knew I wanted more of such insights for the rest of my application process. What I also really appreciated was his low key attitude in not pushing for a sale, and he would’ve been fine if I took his ideas and went off with another consultant. He recognized that it’s just not about ideas, but about finding a person who matches your personality to work with you in the weeks/months ahead on the application.

Working Style:

Adam’s primary mode of interaction with me was via email, so you have to be comfortable about the idea that you will not be having regular phone meetings. However, he was always willing to take a call if I needed it. In some ways, the emails work much better as I have them as notes to refer back on.

Adam always kept to the schedule we agreed upon, but his laid-back demeanor helped me keep a cool head as I was debating various issues (strategy on retaking GMAT, which story to tell for my essays, etc) while facing pressure of deadlines.

Also, I had a ton of questions throughout the process, but Adam was always patient and thorough in answering them. Sometimes even re-answering as I would say, “I know we already talked about this but now I have a different angle, would you still think…”

All in all, I felt I received the support I needed and was actively cheered on throughout the process.


Application:

During my initial conversations with Adam, we discussed my three target school in terms of both fit for my goals and what are my realistic chances. His insights were valuable to me in that he knew the school cultures so that he confirmed that I made good choices for schools that can help me achieve my goals. Also, Adam helped me navigate through my perceived pros and cons for the schools in the lucky event that I got multiple acceptances.

Regarding chances for an admit, Adam was always upfront and never gave me false promises (besides, I wouldn’t have believed him!). Given that Adam has worked with many candidates, it’s great to hear what I thought was a mundane background was actually unique. I don’t think Adam was giving me BS either since we were pretty candid about GMAT score or other areas that can be dinged.

Resume: This was an added bonus for me since I thought I had a strong resume, but Adam’s critique really brought it up another notch.

Interview: Adam brought in an outside expert to run the prep interview with me which really helped shake out some nerves as well as get another perspective on how I tell my story. A mock interview with Adam would not have been the same since I had a comfortable relationship with him by then, and having to talk to a total stranger was closer to the real deal.

Essays:

Working with Adam on the essays was great since it’s been a long time since I had written something for school, and didn’t realize how much business jargon and banalities crept into my writing. Since Adam was knowledgeable about the school culture of the programs I was interested in, he was also able to help me tailor the side of my personality and goals that would best appeal to each school. I still was being true to myself, but Adam helped me put my best foot forward.

While working on the essays, Adam typically responds within the day for questions, and within a few days for essay edits. I always got responses earlier than what I expected when I was facing deadlines and tried to crunch in more changes. In fact, Adam dug changes out of me even when I started getting sick of writing essays (doing several of them in a row will really get to you after a while!!). He also helped me turnover ideas when I was stuck… one method we used is for me to send key points for the essay so I won’t waste time writing the whole thing and have to do major revisions.

When I look back at what I started with, and then compare the drafts with the final versions, I’m amazed at the difference!

Results:

Got in two Top 5 schools and dinged in a Top 3 school (GMAT was the culprit, but I believe Adam’s help gave me a fighting chance).

In summary, only you can decide whether to work with an admin consultant and who to go with. You have to be honest with yourself about your chances and then do your homework in asking all the right questions during the free consultation. For me, it was a good experience in more ways than one, and I’m glad I went with Adam and Amerasia. I may question at what my outcome would’ve been had I done it alone, but I don’t question that having Adam there made the journey much easier in dealing with the stress and uncertainty, and the experience more enriching in terms of insights about myself and my goals.

One final thought: I knew I had decent chances, but I wanted to improve the odds in my favor. Besides, last thing I wanted to do was to look back and regret that I didn’t do everything possible to make my dream come true.

Best wishes with your application!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Amerasia Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Fantastic Experience!
June 23 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 29, 2012 | 99 | 18 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Complete School Package   Consultant:  Drew Hoff
I worked with Drew on 4 schools - Duke, Michigan, Kellogg, and Booth. I came to him because I had extremely low GMAT scores (sub 660). I had a good background with fairly high grades from undergrad, but I was so worried that my GMAT would prevent me from getting into schools that I enlisted Drew's help. He was fantastic throughout the process. He was quick and extremely insightful. He really helped me understand what the schools were looking for in the essays, and guided me in the right direction. He was able to help me condense many of my essays that ended up being too long, but kept them clear and meaningful at the same time. In the end, I got into a couple of my "dream" schools, Booth and Michigan, and got interviewed and waitlisted at the others. Not too shabby! I would highly recommend this service.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Highly Recommend!
October 09 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By big4vanilla joined: October 15, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Complete School Package   Consultant:  Drew Hoff
I want to pass on a BIG 'thank you' to the Amerasia team, specifically to Drew Hoff, for the amazing, unique guidance I received throughout the application process.

I had previously applied to 5 top-20 programs and was rejected without an interview in all except one, where I was wait-listed and eventually rejected. While working with Drew, I reapplied to my dream school (top 5 school), and was accepted within a month.

Drew had a very detailed and well-planned process for me to follow. He showed me that I, in fact, had all the necessary tools to put my application together, but helped me package them in a very concise and presentable format that allowed me to re-convince the MBA program of my candidacy. He even helped me do a little soul-searching to confirm whether an MBA fits into my short and long-term goals.

Drew was also great at managing my expectations in terms of turnaround times, and requirements for each step of the way. I really cannot stress enough the importance of Drew's role in my successful application.

For benchmarking purposes, please see my stats below:

GMAT: 700
Undergraduate GPA: 5.6 from a top-50 American University
4 years of work experience with a big 4 consulting firm
above average extracurricular experience
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Amerasia Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent Help On My Reapplication
October 27 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By chains1910 joined: May 28, 2012 | 130 | 45 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Complete School Package   Consultant:  Drew Hoff
After a poor experience with another consultant last year, I really wasn't planning to go any further than the free consultation with any company. Nonetheless, after my consultation with Drew, Amerasia's school DNA approach really resonated with me and I signed up for the single-school package to help with my Columbia reapplication.

One thing to know up front with Amerasia (at least in my experience) is that the majority of your contact with your consultant is via email. That worked great for me, but others might want more phone contact. We did have a very productive strategy call to start, though, which was followed up by a Columbia-specific “Strategy Memo.” The strategy memo is a very useful doc that breaks down the essay questions and weaves in lots of school-specific info about the idiosyncrasies of that school’s application process and preferences.

I knew that in my last application I had done a poor job connecting my accomplishments to transferable skills that would help accomplish my goals. However, Drew helped me realize that my short-term goal itself was a hindrance on my app. At my last consultant’s advice, I had gone with a VERY specific immediate post-MBA goal that would require a lot of networking outside of the standard MBA recruitment processes. At Drew’s advice, I switched this to a more traditional MBA recruitment job that was an equally logical progression towards my long-term goal. In addition, he was extremely helpful at making sure I made the connections between accomplishments and skills, often asking for 2 or 3 rounds of edits on a single story just to be sure that connection was made.

Finally, a great benefit of Amerasia is the included interview strategy prep. Once I was invited for an interview, Drew and I had a prep call in which we went over some frequent questions and practiced responses/stories that would stay within my overall app strategy.

All in all, it was a very positive experience that ultimately had the right outcome, as I was admitted to CBS.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
1 accepted out of 1 school applied!
November 10 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 30, 2013 | 6 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Complete School Package  
I applied to 9 top MBA schools by myself (bad idea, I know) last season in all 3 rounds and was just not very well-prepared. I got no interview. To avoid making the same mistakes, I reached out to various consulting companies, hoping to find things to improve on (so basically a "ding analysis"). I took advantage of the various "free consultations," but ended up with Amerasia who actually did not do one with me.

This was what happened:
Adam Hoff responded to my email request for a consultation session by saying that at this stage (3 weeks away from Columbia J-Term deadline), I should not be hung up on past applications. Rather than paying for a ding analysis, I should focus on my current applications instead. Adam quickly reviewed one of my past applications (for free), and provided insights and resources on possible areas of improvement. Because Adam was so willing to work with me on my profile and available packages/pricing, I decided to go with Amerasia.

The Columbia expert assigned to me was Anjali Shah. She's a Columbia graduate and knew the school well. The area I needed help the most was probably my resume. Anjali was very patient with me and went through multiple edits to greatly improve my resume.

Given my short timeline, what impressed me the most was how Anjali was always able to make time for me. She is very responsive through email - sometimes I get replies in minutes. She was always ahead of the schedule that we had put together. Anjali was professional and patient, answered all my questions, and provided moral support. Her mock interview was also very useful.

Anyway, I no longer need to do my re-apps for Round 2 (that was the original plan). I applied to one school with Amerasia, and got in. :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Amerasia Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Highly Recommend
December 30 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 26, 2013 | 2 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Complete School Package   Consultant:  Adam Hoff
I worked with Adam for 5 top-10 schools. As an international applicant (one of the largest pool), I'm looking for a big career switch.

School selection (this part is the main reason I chose Adam over than consultants):

I had a lot of consultation sessions, but ONLY Adam thought the situation in my shoes. My list includes 12 top schools at the beginning. Adam helped me analyze each of them, including my chance, each program's pros and cons. Especially, he crossed out some schools that the job placement for international students are not desirable, although I thought they were strong in my target career field!

When I did the consultation sessions with other consultants, they all recommended me to apply top 20 (someone even recommended me to apply top 30) schools. I think the knowledge that Adam possesses about each school allows him to be confident and assist me to get in a top 10 program.

Resume and essay edit

The most valuable part of the service. Adam sent me a lot reading materials related to my short-term and long-term career goals, which I was overwhelmed at the beginning. But it turned out that these homework worked perfectly in my later essay writings. These materials brought me deeper knowledge about my target industry and function, as well as indicated the skills I may already have or I need to develop/improve during the MBA program. The two areas Adam focused on my essays were wording (since my native language is not English) and structure.

Turnaround Time and Price

The turnaround was usually 2 to 3 days for essays (I think this is FAST considering the quality of his feedback), and within 24 hours for general questions. The price is reasonable and considering the quality, especially the result, I couldn't expect cheaper.

I finally got 3 interviews, in one of the top 5 programs and another top 10 program. I am satisfied with the result!

At the end, I want to say that consulting service is not magic. You can't expect consultants could turn a rock into a gold. However, a excellent consultant, such as Adam, could fully support you, and work with him, you will leave no regret to yourself.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Nicole Lai is the BEST Coach!
February 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 13, 2011 | 0 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Complete School Package  
Working with Nicole Lai from Amerasia was the BEST decision I could've made! With Nicole's help, I am headed to my dream school (think H/S/W).

I interviewed multiple firms (Stacy Blackman, MBA Missions, Tyler Cromney, and Amerasia). The application process is extremely personal, and I wanted a coach I could trust. I shared a personal story with everyone I interviewed; while some consultants I spoke to did not even acknowledge the story, Nicole not only gave me advice on how to potentially frame that for business school, but also shared her own experience and advice. She really took an interest in understanding my experiences and helping me showcase who I am. Because of that, selecting Nicole was an easy choice!

Here are some of my favorite things about working with Nicole:

She is very responsive. I can't stress how important this is, especially when I was cutting uncomfortably close to a few deadlines and needed very speedy feedback to move forward. Nicole was really aware of that and made sure I received the all updates and feedback I needed.

She really pushed me to develop MY OWN story. From the beginning, she was most interested in finding out who I am as a person and tailored her advice towards my experiences and goals. We went through multiple brainstorming sessions to talk about what mattered to me, my goals, my experience, etc. These discussions not only helped me find the right message for applications, but also enable me to better understand myself.

Also, she always pushed me to challenge myself and elevate my application package. Multiple times, when I thought my essays were done, Nicole came back with extra ideas and feedback on how to further clarify my message and make me stand out. When we were done, the final products were exponentially better than the initial ones!

She is extremely knowledgeable about schools. At first, I did not realize how much this matters, but more and more I realized that each school does have its own DNA. Nicole helped me navigate the top MBA programs and tailor my responses to each school.

She is a FANTASTIC coach and did MUCH MORE than just editing essays to help me succeed. The application process is very nerve -racking. Nicole took the time to keep me confident during even the toughest parts of the application process/her busiest times. Through coaching me, Nicole became one of my biggest advocates/supporters.

Overall, working with Nicole was an EXCELLENT experience and I HIGHLY RECOEMMEND her to anyone considering a consultant!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Amerasia Consulting
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Amerasia Admissions Consulting Discounts!
10% off a customized,
one-on-one boutique experience!
See the Amerasia Discount