e-GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1081]
    Average Rating:       (4.7/5)
Courses
Find by:  
e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep [454]
    
e-GMAT Quant Live Prep [116]
    
e-GMAT Verbal Online [511]
    
 
e-GMAT Course Reviews
World's first prep course designed to help non-natives level the playing field and score higher on GMAT Verbal. e-GMAT's methods and strategies help non-natives improve 5+ points on GMAT Verbal.  Includes Basic & Advanced Concepts – 30+ hrs of audio visual content, Proprietary framework for non-natives, 24-hr Expert Personalized support, Largest Question Bank (200+) and GMAT Strategy Live Sessions (6 hrs). Get a great deal on e-GMAT courses with GMAT Club

GMAT Course Review
24 out of 24 people found the following review helpful
     By mahesh280887 3 7
Self-reported Score:

700

Q49

V36

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Rajat Sadana

I wrote my GMAT exam on 10th Nov 2011 and got 700 (Q-49 & V-36). I would like to thank each and every one of you who shared their GMAT experiences on this forum and helped people like me to achieve the dream score. This forum was very useful to me during my GMAT preparation and its even useful now in my applications. I would also like to thank Payal and Rajat of E-gmat team for helping me improve my verbal score from 27 to 36. The e-gmat course proved to be very effective in improving my verbal score.

Just 2 weeks before the test, i found few people recommending e-gmat for verbal on beatthegmat and gmatclub forums. I registered for SC course of E-GMAT. I completed the concepts in 5 days time and then worked on advanced questions and UGE files. The advantage in E-GMAT is that the course starts with basic level and moves to advanced level once you gain proficiency in the basic level. The topics are classified accordingly to the level of difficulty. Another major advantage that i found useful was that audio visual files in the e-gmat course give you a clear picture of the concept and the concept directly sits in your mind whereas in MGMAT strategy guides, all the areas are on the same level and the concepts are not supported by enough examples as most of the examples seem to be pretty easy and not actual GMAT like questions. I strictly followed the e-gmat process for getting maximum results out of the course.

Use the following method to gain effective results:
1. Review a concept
2. Practice few OG questions related to the concept
3. Review your mistakes and make a error log (Preparing an error log is a time taking activity but its worth the effort)
4. Review the concept in which you made mistakes
5. Practice more problems in the areas that you made mistakes in
6. Once you are confident, move on to the next concept
7. Repeat steps 2 to 5

Within 3 days, i was able to observe a drastic change in my way of approach to SC questions. As GMAT SC questions now deal with meaning issues, we have to get a clear idea on what the sentence conveys before approaching the problem and the e-gmat approach for solving SC problems does just this.
1. Understand the meaning of the sentence
2. Identify the errors in the original sentence
3. Eliminate answer choices

Using this approach, i was able to solve most of the SC questions within a minute. I used the excess time for solving CR and RC passages. For CR, i referred powerscore CR bible but it was not that useful though. i referred to few concepts in CR bible, few in MGMAT CR strategy guide and i also enrolled for e-gmat CR course. Though i could not review all the concept files in e-gmat CR course, it helped me a lot in eliminating wrong answer choices and identifying the correct answers.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
14 out of 15 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By Anonymous 3 6
Self-reported Score:

760

Q51

V41

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Shraddha Jaiswal

I signed up e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep in June 2013. The main reason that I chose it was because of very positive reviews. "Best course for non-native speakers", "Huge improvement in verbal scores" etc. These advertisements and reviews really attracted my attention. I'm a non-native English speaker and I want to improve my verbal score. So I decided to buy the course. Having tried the course, taken the GMAT and later tried another source (MGMAT Verbal Prep Set), I feel I have to offer another side of story amid so many positive reviews here. Let's talk about the Pros and Cons:

Pros:
1. Provides a very well structured study plan with concepts and quizzes for each section. (This may be useful for anyone who lacks discipline)
2. Comes with free mock exams that can generate performance analytical reports. (However, the timer doesn't work well, leading to wrong timings of your response time)
3. The e-GMAT time was kind enough to extend my course when I couldn't finish it in time. (The login was valid for about 6 months and they extended it for 2 months)

Cons:
1. Repetition in both contents and methods. I completed the whole course and took notes diligently. At the end I found some similar notes appeared multiple times--some contents were repeated here and there. The few e-GMAT methods used to solve Verbal questions were heavily repeated.

2. Methods don't work. In theory they sound good. But after studying the course for 8 months, I found these methods very time consuming and mentally draining in practice. They just don't work well in mock/real GMAT exams.

3. The course is very inflexible. This inflexibility, coupled with the fact that the course is extremely content heavy, makes it very time consuming to finish the whole course. It took me 8 months to finish (I work full time). I can't control my pace. Some contents are easy for me and repeated too much. The repetition plus sheer volume of contents buries the important areas which I may be weak at. It feels as if you read a whole library of books within 8 months. At the end, your mind goes blank. Maybe you remember a little here and there but nothing stands out. ROI is just so low: you spent so much time reaping so little improvement in your verbal skills.

4. The online lectures are a COMPLETE waste of time (and money). This was very obvious. In a 2 hour lecture, the instructors would spend the first ~30 minutes advertising their course. Because there are many attendees, the instructor can sometimes spend half an hour just to explain one question and answer all the questions. I may have just one doubt on a question and managed to get a few minutes of the instructor's time to answer it. Often, I'm still confused after he/she answers it. Then the rest of the time was wasted on listening to him/her explaining things that I have already known. After 1 or 2 lectures, I decided to just watch the recording and found myself frequently fast-forward the videos. In a 2 hour lecture, maybe only 15 minutes was useful.

In mock exams, I could score between 690 and 730. After 6 months of running the e-GMAT marathon, my course was going to expire. e-GMAT team was kind enough to extend it by another 2 moths. I finally made my first attempt at GMAT and only scored 700 (Q50, V33, AWA 5.5, IR 8). It was a huge disappointment. e-GMAT team's kindness to extend my course may have only backfired: I felt I wasted another 2 months on a course with near zero ROI. I spent so much time (8 months) on e-GMAT yet I didn't feel my verbal improved at all.

After that I decided to try MGMAT Verbal Prep set. I had very good discipline and took just 1.5 months to finish the whole set. Took GMAT again and scored 760 (Q51, V41, AWA 6.0, IR 8). I was even surprised by myself that I could improve so much with MGMAT. I also have to credit MGMAT for its Quant. My quant was pretty solid and I didn't spend too much time on it. However, the "Advanced GMAT Quant" by MGMAT was really good on methods & tricks for the more difficult quant questions. That did help keep my quant score high.

So in summary I feel e-GMAT is a course that costs an enormous amount of time to complete and only gives you negative to marginal positive improvements on your verbal score.


Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [1]
1 Commented by 3274K on May 01, 2015
Thanks! Im a non-native speaker, have given GMAT twice, stuck in the 700-710 range (Q49, V34-38). I want to cross the 740+ barrier? I've already covered the MGMAT SC, CR and RC books. I was thinking of e-gmat now but am wary looking at your review. Any suggestions on what would work best to improve my verbal?
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By judeskool 0 0
Self-reported Score:

620

Q48

V27

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

During 1st attempt,I have used Manhattan, Kaplan and Official guides for exam preparation.I couldn't perform well in the exam and my weaknesses were exposed especially in the Verbal section. Later, I've taken a long break without considering a next try for couple of years.However, I have been considering for a while to take GMAT again and finally decided at the end of 2015.

I was looking for Verbal courses and read reviews on GMATCLUB for each course provider. Without any hesitation, I signed up for e-GMAT Verbal course and they organized very well with the better content, at end of each topic testing the acquired skills, abilitiy quizzes and detailed explanation presented for all the questions on the platform. One best thing about the course, it comes with a better testing platform that features moderate to complex questions and explanations. I believe this course is a very valuable especially for those who are non-native English speakers and also weak in verbal section.

- SC course is designed structurally, nice approach used to tackle SC Questions by understanding the meaning of the sentence and eliminating wrong choices very easily. Concepts are taught at right pace in detail, provided better explanation and testing the skills with the help of Quizzes.If any concepts/explanations aren't clear, experts clear the doubts that are posted on the forum.

- CR course is very good with better explanations how to pre-think assumptions, understanding the nuances of argument and apply necessary skills to tackle variety of CR Questions.Quizzing platform is amazing with a mixture very hard to moderate questions and explanation for each question is awesome.

- RC course is alright with the lectures and ability tests.
- IR course is exhaustive and covered all possible types of Questions that may appear in official GMAT exam.Now, I've mastered this area with the help of e-GMAT Verbal course.Live sessions are amazing with better Q&A sessions and good interaction with the experts.

As per my experience with e-GMAT course, I've learnt detailed concepts, solid understanding of each section and equipped with the skills/tricks to perform well in the exam. I recommend this course for the aspirants who might be considering to take GMAT and also aiming for a best score.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
You ought to have it!
May 23 | 2016
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By kgaurav1001 0 0
Self-reported Score:

640

Q49

V27

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Rajat Sadana

If you are a non-native and dream to be in the Elite club of 700+ GMAT you are certainly Hands down in the right place.

Let me give you a brief background on my profile before I move on with my story. I am a non-native working full-time as an Design Engineer at one of the fortune 500 companies in the Bay area. With the market going side ways in the technical domain and the stress of carving a successful career moving on required me to have some new and different skills added to my profile in order to attain my career goals, I decided to go for my MBA. As we all know GMAT is the 1st step in the process for doing so. Highly motivated and with an aim to beat the GMAT, I started my Gmat journey with just official sources. I booked the date and started preparing with the OG. Being a Math fanatic I was feeling OK with Maths and that's what reflected on my real GMAT as well where I got a 49 with less than a week of review of Maths just from OG (If Aiming 700+, I personally feel we should target 50/51). I did a lot of mistakes in my plan of action when I wrote the test for the very 1st time in April 2013. I knew from the get go that Verbal is my problem and what I did was I tried too hard and didn't followed a well laid out plan to attack my weakest link. After 3 weeks into the preparation I came across e-gmat on the GMATCLUB and I signed up for their free trial and I was very upset that why I didn't signed up for such a great tool from DAY 1. I will put the details of the course in the later paragraphs but let me tell you this course is the key in your GMAT preparation along with a disciplined schedule.
I reviewed the SC in the 3 weeks I had and some portion of CR and RC and wrote the test. I got a 640, which I know is not something that one should be proud of. But I can totally say that in such a small time and with just 1 thorough review of SC from their curriculum boosted my score to 50 points as in my mocks I was on the borderline for 600. So e-gmat definitely helped.

After my 1st GMAT attempt I was certainly disappointed and wanted to score better but life had something else planned for me. I was forced to relocate at a different location with more responsibilities added to my profile at work. So GMAT took a backseat. I tried to prepare on an ON/OFF basis but never took it very seriously. As I work in such an environment where we work based off deadlines, I decided to book a date for my 2nd attempt end of June 2016 and get back on with my preparation with a timeline and a plan to get a score of 730+.

I did tried other companies but by far e-gmat is hands down the best. E-gmat language is simple and easy to understand and retain. I recently reviewed some concepts from another company and believe me I was able to retain what I reviewed in 2013 regarding the same concepts and not the ones that I reviewed less than a week ago. So I have decided to get back with e-gmat and just the official guides and That's it!

With 6 weeks to GMAT and this plan I believe I will be able to attain the dream score I want.

Why e-gmat is the Best?

1- SC is well laid out. they have a method that you need to hard wire to your brain. just as with formulas in Maths, it should come natural with an SC question that you need to understand the meaning of sentence - identify pharses/clauses review errors and the follow the Process of Elimination. It's hard in the beginning to force yourself follow the process but it works. mastery is the Key to success. The explanations of every single OG question is detailed and help students see clearly why each answer choice is right or wrong. If you think 2 answers are very close and can both be correct, e-gmat would show you why one of them is *obviously* the wrong choice. For e-gmat, there is NO guessing involved.

2 - CR and RC courses are great. I think CR defines the different buckets of questions and helps you understand every question type and the plan of attack for the same. As I didn't had much time to spent with e-gmat during my first GMAT preparation in 2013, I did took a couple of things from both CR and RC that helped me get a better understanding of different CR and RC question. Most important one being PRE-THINKING! I really look forward to work with CR/RC thoroughly in the next attempt.

3-Quant - I didn't opted for the course but I did used the trial version and it looks very thorough. Again Practice, Practice and more Practice!

4- Overall layout/customer Service - I like the way the is course set up with the concepts, quizzes, lectures, apply to GMAT questions, and OG questions list. It prepares you mentally and force to bring a certain habit in practice. GMAT is a test of consistency. when you are running out of time which you will then you don't want to experiment with a new way to answer question. its good to have a strategy to deal with questions when you don't have time which you will master through diligent practice and discipline.

E-gmat customer service is killer! I never waited more than 24 hours to have my questions answered. They are out there trying to help you attain your goal and they know how important it is in such a time sensitive game.

I will definitely recommend every GMAT aspirant to sign up for e-gmat and really put your best effort in your preparation. Everything is planned for you all you have to do is just follow what's there in their curriculum and study plans and you will definitely Succeed!

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
e-GMAT VLP & QLP
May 22 | 2016
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By ashtitude 4 0
Self-reported Score:

680

Q48

V37

Improvement:

80 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online

I'm a non-native speaker and English was my third language until higher secondary, although it was the medium of instruction through out. I'm a retaker and first appeared for GMAT in January 2011. My quant score was decent enough (Q48), but verbal was a absolute shocker (v25). Inadequate practice tests, time management, test taking ability, fatigue - all played a role . I knew something was wrong even with my verbal concepts/prep.
I wanted to retake exam in a month or so, but let's just say life happened and I found happiness in a new job, cricket world cup and the likes. Fast forward to June 2014, I started researching on various forums for the right prep material and ordered a bunch of books - MGMAT SC, PowerScore CR & MGMAT RC. Over the next two months or so, I completed reviewing all three books. This task was overwhelming to say the least, considering the fact that the content in these books is too dense with little emphasis on application beyond theory.

So I decided to try something different and after reading so many reviews, I was convinced that if I were to join a course, it'd to be e-GMAT one. I joined e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep course and never looked back or doubted my decision. Every single day I'd learn something new and would be amazed at so many elements of e-GMAT. Their SC course is a gold mine and pretty much covers all aspects of GMAT SC. I found a new meaning for 'meaning' (e-GMATers would relate with me here). CR course promotes 'pre-thinking', which became fundamental in how I approach CR and for that matter even RC. e-GMAT's process is methodical and although it may seem a li'l lengthier, with practice one would see continuous results.

So impressed I was with Verbal live prep that when e-GMAT launched Quant live prep, I quickly jumped on it. It made perfect sense since I got Q48 last time and their quant course provides 2 point guarantee for Q48. e-GMAT's instructors are top notch and are very passionate in making student's successful in their prep. Special mention about e-GMAT support team whose response is always quick, thorough and super helpful. Overall, I'm completely satisfied with both the courses and I hope to return here with my success story.

Update 5/22/16:
I've scored 680 and a 37 on my verbal. Since then I've been working on my Executive MBA applications at top b-schools and got accepted into Kellogg, Booth, Haas to name a few. I'll be joining Booth next month :-) None of this would have been possible without this course and the awesome team at e-gmat!!

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By san750 0 0
Verified Score:

750

Q49

V42

Improvement:

70 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Online
Location: Online

I first attempted the GMAT in 2012 and scored a 680 (Quant:49, Verbal: 34). After 4 years of sitting on that score, I decided to retake the GMAT and my target score was 750. To achieve this score, I knew I had to significantly improve my performance on the verbal section. Before I joined a paid prep-course, I wanted to spend sometime preparing on my own and seeing how it goes.After 2 weeks of flying solo, I realized my efforts lack direction and it is better to join a properly structured course. Classroom courses make sense to a lot of people, although in my experience they are only as good as the instructor taking your class. As I am living in a small town, I knew that the trainers available even at the renowned chain test-prep companies would not be too good. At this point I was fairly certain that I need to enroll myself in an online prep course. After a lot of apprehensions, I decided to give e-GMAT a try.
It was the best decision I made in my test prep. Let me just say that e-GMAT has decoded the mystery that GMAT verbal is for most non-natives. If you do their Sentence Correction module properly, you are set. I have become such a big fan of e-GMAT that I recommend the course to every aspirant I know. Though there is no magic pill to ace the GMAT, you can ensure the best possible returns from your effort if you take this course.
I reached my target score of 750 in a little over 2 months .

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by post count
     By iliavko 124 3
Self-reported Score:

600

Q44

V27

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Online
Location: Online

When I first did GMAT I barely looked at verbal, I was concerned with Quant. So I had 540 (Q35 V29). After this I was decided to improve my score and of course I had to drastically improve my Verbal. After some 2months and 200+ hours of Verbal preparation with eGmat, guess what I had? (Q44 V27)
How is this possible? I studied all their lessons applied the techniques did dozens and dozens of official questions and I get 2 points less? This is absolutely absurd and the only reason I see for such a disaster is that eGmat and their method are completely useless.

As it appears there is no way to study Verbal the "easy" way. So stay away from this "preparation" and take a serious course (that will probably cost you serious money too...)

And I find it very strange that they have a 4.7 stars ranking. Perhaps 90% of those who had good score never needed preparation in first place. And I bet that those who get bad scores as I did, don't bother to come here to give their review. Only those who had the score they wanted speak out.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By thedetermined 0 0
Verified Score:

650

Q45

V34

Improvement:

60 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online

When I started preparing for GMAT, I thought completing Official guide would be sufficient for getting a decent score. However I was proved wrong when I scored a meagre V28 on the GMAT. I have always felt confident in quant but being a non native, Verbal on GMAT has always been my Achilles heel. I was contemplating on taking up formal online coaching and that is when one of my friend directed me to e-gmat. I immediately enrolled into the Verbal Live course and it helped me immensely. I improved from V28 to V34 after I took e-gmat Verbal Live prep course. I have not yet got my desired score and would be writing the GMAT again. I am now using the e-gmat Verbal Live course as a refresher for my revisions and I hope that I can get within the periphery of my target score when I write the GMAT again.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
e-GMAT
May 16 | 2016
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By saraninder 0 0
Improvement:

N/A

Quant:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Quant Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Harsh Bhardwaj

As an engineer, I was quite confident about quant. But, later realised that it isn’t that simple.
e-GMAT provided a complete refresher of all the concepts along with the various different types of examples
The Quant course offered by eGMAT is very comprehensive and goes into detail on every top that is tested on GMAT Quant. The quizzes and the multitude of questions at the end of each topic are very helpful in understanding how the concepts are tested.

the instructors are very prompt if you address any query. The general quizzes, the test scores are very apt to the GMAT score and to understand your score level and the loop holes while attempting the tests
I would definitely recommend e-GMAT's to everyone

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
e-GMAT
May 16 | 2016
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By saraninder 0 0
Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Shraddha Jaiswal

e-GMAT's Verbal definitely the best verbal prep course I've taken. The analytical approach to verbal questions. e-GMAT's 3 step process is a must, and the videos sessions make it easier for you to learn and remember the concepts. It provides the complete coverage of questions.

The forum is also very useful, any questions are answered within a day and the explanation is very clear and easy to understand

For those of you who are weak in verbal, e-GMAT provides a logical approach which is easy to understand and remember.

I would definitely recommend e-GMAT's course to anyone who wants to ace GMAT verbal

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]


e-GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
71 points
International Student Score Improvement
71 points
Verbal
97%
Quant
91%
Most Reviewed e-GMAT GMAT Instructors
Payal Tandon [151]
    
Rajat Sadana [150]
    
Shraddha Jaiswal [67]
    
Krishna Chaitanya [59]
    
Japinder Kaur [33]
    
Save Up To $450
Best e-GMAT Discounts
+$200 coupon code discount
+$250 bonus offer
Get e-GMAT Promo Code