e-GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [282]      Average Rating:       (4.7/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
 
e-GMAT Course Reviews
World's first prep course designed to help non-natives level the playing field and score higher on GMAT Verbal. e-GMAT's methods and strategies help non-natives improve 5+ points on GMAT Verbal.  Includes Basic & Advanced Concepts – 30+ hrs of audio visual content, Proprietary framework for non-natives, 24-hr Expert Personalized support, Largest Question Bank (200+) and GMAT Strategy Live Sessions (6 hrs). Get a great deal on e-GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
e-GMAT -- Thanks for helping me improve my verbal score from 27 to 36
January 24 | 2012

11 out of 11 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By mahesh280887 joined: August 9, 2011 | 3 | 7 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online |
I wrote my GMAT exam on 10th Nov 2011 and got 700 (Q-49 & V-36). I would like to thank each and every one of you who shared their GMAT experiences on this forum and helped people like me to achieve the dream score. This forum was very useful to me during my GMAT preparation and its even useful now in my applications. I would also like to thank Payal and Rajat of E-gmat team for helping me improve my verbal score from 27 to 36. The e-gmat course proved to be very effective in improving my verbal score.

Just 2 weeks before the test, i found few people recommending e-gmat for verbal on beatthegmat and gmatclub forums. I registered for SC course of E-GMAT. I completed the concepts in 5 days time and then worked on advanced questions and UGE files. The advantage in E-GMAT is that the course starts with basic level and moves to advanced level once you gain proficiency in the basic level. The topics are classified accordingly to the level of difficulty. Another major advantage that i found useful was that audio visual files in the e-gmat course give you a clear picture of the concept and the concept directly sits in your mind whereas in MGMAT strategy guides, all the areas are on the same level and the concepts are not supported by enough examples as most of the examples seem to be pretty easy and not actual GMAT like questions. I strictly followed the e-gmat process for getting maximum results out of the course.

Use the following method to gain effective results:
1. Review a concept
2. Practice few OG questions related to the concept
3. Review your mistakes and make a error log (Preparing an error log is a time taking activity but its worth the effort)
4. Review the concept in which you made mistakes
5. Practice more problems in the areas that you made mistakes in
6. Once you are confident, move on to the next concept
7. Repeat steps 2 to 5

Within 3 days, i was able to observe a drastic change in my way of approach to SC questions. As GMAT SC questions now deal with meaning issues, we have to get a clear idea on what the sentence conveys before approaching the problem and the e-gmat approach for solving SC problems does just this.
1. Understand the meaning of the sentence
2. Identify the errors in the original sentence
3. Eliminate answer choices

Using this approach, i was able to solve most of the SC questions within a minute. I used the excess time for solving CR and RC passages. For CR, i referred powerscore CR bible but it was not that useful though. i referred to few concepts in CR bible, few in MGMAT CR strategy guide and i also enrolled for e-gmat CR course. Though i could not review all the concept files in e-gmat CR course, it helped me a lot in eliminating wrong answer choices and identifying the correct answers.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Helped me improve from V32 to V41
February 11 | 2012

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By ketavgupte joined: December 13, 2011 | 9 | 16 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online |
I could not improve my Verbal Score beyond 32 using MGMAT and Powerscore. It was clear to me in October that I needed a change. I thought of taking a prep course but was not sure if it was worth it. I tried a small company that was highly recommended on this forum but that did not help either. Finally, in December, I tried e-GMAT. I started with their sentence correction course. I had thought that I knew all there was to know in SC, but after doing a few concepts, I realized that I was mistaken. I knew the concepts all right but I still had not learned how to apply them. For example, I had not realized the ways in which Verb-ing modifiers could be used till I went through the concept in the course. I then looked into MGMAT and I could find that the same thing was covered in MGMAT as well but somehow I did not understand it the same way. I felt the same as I went through Verb tenses and parallel structures etc. I felt that the eGMAT course was a lot easier to comprehend than MGMAT SC. 10 days later I upgraded to the Verbal Live Complete. I found the CR course to be equally good. The Prethinking approach is just awesome – makes CR questions very enjoyable. Their coverage on evaluate (I did get a few questions) is probably the most comprehensive that I have found in any book. The live sessions were excellent but they cover only the more challenging problems. One other thing that I liked about their live sessions was that the community is quite interactive. In addition to learning from the instructors, you also learn from their community members. Overall, I would attribute my improvement from 32 to 41 to egmat.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
E-GMAT Review
August 20 | 2012

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 11, 2011 | 49 | 12 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
I signed up for the sentence correction and critical reasoning sections. It cost $119 for both. I would recommend this course for a non-native speaker but if you are a native speaker of English then I would not recommend it.

E-GMAT can be useful because after each lesson there are quizzes to complete. The quizzes re-enforces the lessons. I am a native speaker and I thought the course would be useful but after using E-GMAT I purchased Aristotle Grail, which was more useful. I did not use the critical reasoning section because I used Powerscores Critical Reasoning book.

Strengths:

• Covers key areas in sentence correction for the GMAT
• Re-enforces the lesson with quizzes
• Can use at your own pace
• Different levels to complete before moving to next one

Weaknesses:

• Fairly new company
• Found too many errors with the software
• Probably more helpful for non-native speakers (not necessarily a weakness)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
It's great!
February 17 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By fthian joined: October 27, 2011 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online |
I registered for the e-gmat course in January'12 after completing the GMAT in Dec'11. I was not happy with my score, and decided to sign up. Prior to this, I went with the Knewton course. I see a difference between e-gmat and Knewton. Personally, I feel that e-gmat is more detailed in teaching both SC and CR. It teaches you the application, not just the rules. I can't comment on RC yet, as I just missed the session on RC. The live sessions are great. Payal does a great job answering questions and going through the content. I am glad I found the course. I'm already seeing an improvement in my verbal accuracy. Thanks to e-gmat! My next GMAT exam is three weeks away, I'll continue to spend time going through their content!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Amazing for Sentence Correction
July 02 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By shawndx joined: October 13, 2011 | 17 | 6 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
I had a lot of trouble with sentence correction, and I am a native speaker. Certain nuances always escaped me for some reason under the pressure of time constraints. I read the Manhattan Gmat Sentence Correction book, and found it very useful, but did not have a bricks to wall approach.

e-gmat is an excellent course because it precisely has a bricks to wall approach. I recommend anyone having any issues with Sentence Correction to first do e-gmat. If more advanced topics are needed, then go use manhattan gmat sentence correction book, as you would have already acquired a solid foundation to tackle the advanced topics.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Superb SC and CR course
December 10 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By coolb12345 joined: May 29, 2012 | 22 | 10 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 60 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I am non-native speaker of english and indeed ,till my higher secondary ,the medium of instruction was Hindi. So, in GMAT world my weakest area was verbal. I prepared with standard study material such as manhattan GMAT sentence correction and power score CR and even taken a local coaching to improve my verbal score. But I had a lot of doubt which remained as doubt.

Then,I attempted GMAT on 25th April 2013 and got 660 ( Q49,V31,AWA 4.0,IR7). After my 1st attempt I realized that to cross 700,I have to get good understanding of the SC followed by CR and RC. In July 2013, I attended a strategy session of e-gmat conducted by Rajat and went through the free trials of e-gmat.Then, I joined Verbal online as was convinced that Verbal online will be suitable to my work schedule and my laziness.

Frankly till 12th November 2013, I did not utilize the course properly and was just going through files of SC,CR and RC intermittently. From 13th November 2013, I started seriously preparing for GMAT as I had decided to give GMAT a final shot ( Now or never). In ten days I went through all the files of SC,CR ,and RC and then I read all the articles of e-gmat on Gmat club. All the concept i revised in my mind several times.

After this, I got opportunity to attend Verbal workshop on 24th November.In the workshop, I performed poorly. In the analysis of the workshop, as told by e-gmat, I noted down the reasons for my falter ( they were five in number) and then made a plan to overcome from all those reasons.I devoted one day for each reason and then gave Gmatclub verbal test, Kaplan online test ( 3 tests) and manhattan online test ( free test) . My scored improved considerably as I scored V 38 Gmatclub verbal test, below 81,83and 95 percentile in Kaplan online test and V44 in Manhattan free online test ( This I gave second time. First time I gave this test in March2013). As less than a day left for my test, I went through AWA and some quants question, but did not prepare for IR. Finally, On 3rd December I gave the GMAT and scored 700 ( Q49,V35,AWA 5.0,IR4.0).

During my 20 days preparation, I realized how good the verbal online course is. Special mention for SC, because I think this is the best course which anybody can take and become comfortable with nuances of SC- sentence structure,meaning and spotting the errors.SC is structured in very easy to understand mode . Moreover, the articles written for SC is superb.In CR, Structure and pre-thinking steps gives a solid understanding of the argument. In RC, solution technique for Inference question was best.But the best part is verbal workshop. I recommend everyone to attend it,because it gives you the points where you have to focus (even you have studied full and getting a good score in mocks).

Finally, Thanks to e-gmat. I recommend Verbal online course to anyone who have problem in verbal, especially in SC and CR and who wants to give the test in very short duration.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Boost for Verbal
June 09 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 3, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 170 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
e-GMAT is an excellent source for Verbal. All the concepts tested on the GMAT exam are covered. The SC and CR are the best with explanations to simple as well as complex concept. This couse if done throughly will ensure that you atelast get 38 on Verbal. I really hope that the e-GMAT team also start with the QUANT section so that the students or the candidates do score well and the overall score shoots up to atleast 700. I will rcommend this course to everyone not just Non Native speakers since we cannot go wrong in the final exam. So All the Best everyone.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good course but needs a few improvements
January 24 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By munnathegmat joined: November 26, 2011 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
I purchased the e-gmat SC, CR +Grockit course. At 109$ (with GMAT club discount course). This course is a decent bargain, I have had the opportunity to sit in on a couple Live sessions, these e-gmat folks are quite generous about letting you try the live course as well.
I am almost done with the course, the SC part is excellent. In my humble opinion a tad better than the CR course. There are few typos with both SC and CR modules and the software is a bit buggy at times, so I took one star off for each issue. Additionally, some of the CR passages and SC questions are not very "GMAT like".
I have purchased MGMAT in the past, I feel the e-gmat SC and CR strategy is bit different from MGMAT. You can buy both products if you may, but MGMAT for quant and e-gmat for verbal should be the way to go for non-natives.
Was this review helpful to you?
   
[1]
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
improved from verbal=20; overall 580 to verbal =35, overall 710
February 10 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By joinashish joined: April 23, 2011 | 35 | 6 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
I was very week in verbal which you can easily gauge by my first attempt GMAT score (V=20). I already completed the official guides and Manhattan verbal but verbal was still pathetic for me. There were a lot of moments when I thought to give up and to concentrate on my job. I like to mention that I am an engineer so I was good in quant but verbal was not my cup of tea. Through some sites I came to know about e-gmat and grockit. And, guys, I want to give the whole credit for my 700+ mark to both the sites.

E-gmat helped me to attack the SC and then I subscribed to their official guide verbal review solutions and their approach to attack the SC really helped me a lot. I must say this is a nice package for the ones who struggle in SC. I also want to thank Payal (e-gmat administrator) for her help and support rendered to me.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT CR and SC concepts provide unique structured approach
March 25 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By rg1 joined: May 25, 2010 | 322 | 46 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
After going through MGMAT books, I was still trying to deconstruct CR and SC questions. There's too much theory in books that makes otherwise excellent MGMAT books a bit boring. On the other hand, e-GMAT provides audio-visual content which clearly explains the concepts, beautifully deconstructs ALL types of CR/SC questions and demonstrates how to apply the same concepts to a real GMAT like problem. This course will make you think in a way you should be thinking to answer GMAT questions correctly.

Pros:

- SC: Clear explanation of SC concepts with post-assessment quiz. Attempting quiz online gives more test like experience than working through the book.

- SC: Detailed explanations of all the questions. Individual questions are also answered promptly.

- CR: Critical Reasoning concept files are really awesome and corrected my thought process.

- CR & SC- Appropriate summaries created for each concept file.

- Question bank- This course came with premium membership of Grockit, which supplements the course with big question bank.

Cons:

- Timing Strategy: There are no concept files for timing strategy which becomes more important after gaining the knowledge for all GMAT sections.

- Needs more flexible and smooth integration of the forum with the concept files.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


e-GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
73 points
International Student Score Improvement
75 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
80%
Save $546
Best e-GMAT Discounts
+$296 coupon code discount
+$250 bonus offer
Get e-GMAT Promo Code