e-GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [698]      Average Rating:       (4.7/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
 
e-GMAT Course Reviews
World's first prep course designed to help non-natives level the playing field and score higher on GMAT Verbal. e-GMAT's methods and strategies help non-natives improve 5+ points on GMAT Verbal.  Includes Basic & Advanced Concepts – 30+ hrs of audio visual content, Proprietary framework for non-natives, 24-hr Expert Personalized support, Largest Question Bank (200+) and GMAT Strategy Live Sessions (6 hrs). Get a great deal on e-GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
e-GMAT -- Thanks for helping me improve my verbal score from 27 to 36
January 24 | 2012

16 out of 16 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By mahesh280887 joined: August 9, 2011 | 3 | 7 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
I wrote my GMAT exam on 10th Nov 2011 and got 700 (Q-49 & V-36). I would like to thank each and every one of you who shared their GMAT experiences on this forum and helped people like me to achieve the dream score. This forum was very useful to me during my GMAT preparation and its even useful now in my applications. I would also like to thank Payal and Rajat of E-gmat team for helping me improve my verbal score from 27 to 36. The e-gmat course proved to be very effective in improving my verbal score.

Just 2 weeks before the test, i found few people recommending e-gmat for verbal on beatthegmat and gmatclub forums. I registered for SC course of E-GMAT. I completed the concepts in 5 days time and then worked on advanced questions and UGE files. The advantage in E-GMAT is that the course starts with basic level and moves to advanced level once you gain proficiency in the basic level. The topics are classified accordingly to the level of difficulty. Another major advantage that i found useful was that audio visual files in the e-gmat course give you a clear picture of the concept and the concept directly sits in your mind whereas in MGMAT strategy guides, all the areas are on the same level and the concepts are not supported by enough examples as most of the examples seem to be pretty easy and not actual GMAT like questions. I strictly followed the e-gmat process for getting maximum results out of the course.

Use the following method to gain effective results:
1. Review a concept
2. Practice few OG questions related to the concept
3. Review your mistakes and make a error log (Preparing an error log is a time taking activity but its worth the effort)
4. Review the concept in which you made mistakes
5. Practice more problems in the areas that you made mistakes in
6. Once you are confident, move on to the next concept
7. Repeat steps 2 to 5

Within 3 days, i was able to observe a drastic change in my way of approach to SC questions. As GMAT SC questions now deal with meaning issues, we have to get a clear idea on what the sentence conveys before approaching the problem and the e-gmat approach for solving SC problems does just this.
1. Understand the meaning of the sentence
2. Identify the errors in the original sentence
3. Eliminate answer choices

Using this approach, i was able to solve most of the SC questions within a minute. I used the excess time for solving CR and RC passages. For CR, i referred powerscore CR bible but it was not that useful though. i referred to few concepts in CR bible, few in MGMAT CR strategy guide and i also enrolled for e-gmat CR course. Though i could not review all the concept files in e-gmat CR course, it helped me a lot in eliminating wrong answer choices and identifying the correct answers.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Helped me improve from V32 to V41
February 11 | 2012

7 out of 7 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By ketavgupte joined: December 13, 2011 | 9 | 16 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
I could not improve my Verbal Score beyond 32 using MGMAT and Powerscore. It was clear to me in October that I needed a change. I thought of taking a prep course but was not sure if it was worth it. I tried a small company that was highly recommended on this forum but that did not help either. Finally, in December, I tried e-GMAT. I started with their sentence correction course. I had thought that I knew all there was to know in SC, but after doing a few concepts, I realized that I was mistaken. I knew the concepts all right but I still had not learned how to apply them. For example, I had not realized the ways in which Verb-ing modifiers could be used till I went through the concept in the course. I then looked into MGMAT and I could find that the same thing was covered in MGMAT as well but somehow I did not understand it the same way. I felt the same as I went through Verb tenses and parallel structures etc. I felt that the eGMAT course was a lot easier to comprehend than MGMAT SC. 10 days later I upgraded to the Verbal Live Complete. I found the CR course to be equally good. The Prethinking approach is just awesome – makes CR questions very enjoyable. Their coverage on evaluate (I did get a few questions) is probably the most comprehensive that I have found in any book. The live sessions were excellent but they cover only the more challenging problems. One other thing that I liked about their live sessions was that the community is quite interactive. In addition to learning from the instructors, you also learn from their community members. Overall, I would attribute my improvement from 32 to 41 to egmat.
Was this review helpful to you?
   
1 Commented by 3274K on May 01, 2015
Thanks Ketav! I'm a non-native speaker, have given GMAT twice, stuck in the 700-710 range (Q49, V34-38). Do you think the e-gmat course covers advanced concepts/problems that can help me cross the 740+ barrier? Also any reason why you close the live prep vs. the online prep?
 
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Superb SC and CR course
December 10 | 2013

6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By coolb12345 joined: May 29, 2012 | 22 | 13 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 60 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
I am non-native speaker of english and indeed ,till my higher secondary ,the medium of instruction was Hindi. So, in GMAT world my weakest area was verbal. I prepared with standard study material such as manhattan GMAT sentence correction and power score CR and even taken a local coaching to improve my verbal score. But I had a lot of doubt which remained as doubt.

Then,I attempted GMAT on 25th April 2013 and got 660 ( Q49,V31,AWA 4.0,IR7). After my 1st attempt I realized that to cross 700,I have to get good understanding of the SC followed by CR and RC. In July 2013, I attended a strategy session of e-gmat conducted by Rajat and went through the free trials of e-gmat.Then, I joined Verbal online as was convinced that Verbal online will be suitable to my work schedule and my laziness.

Frankly till 12th November 2013, I did not utilize the course properly and was just going through files of SC,CR and RC intermittently. From 13th November 2013, I started seriously preparing for GMAT as I had decided to give GMAT a final shot ( Now or never). In ten days I went through all the files of SC,CR ,and RC and then I read all the articles of e-gmat on Gmat club. All the concept i revised in my mind several times.

After this, I got opportunity to attend Verbal workshop on 24th November.In the workshop, I performed poorly. In the analysis of the workshop, as told by e-gmat, I noted down the reasons for my falter ( they were five in number) and then made a plan to overcome from all those reasons.I devoted one day for each reason and then gave Gmatclub verbal test, Kaplan online test ( 3 tests) and manhattan online test ( free test) . My scored improved considerably as I scored V 38 Gmatclub verbal test, below 81,83and 95 percentile in Kaplan online test and V44 in Manhattan free online test ( This I gave second time. First time I gave this test in March2013). As less than a day left for my test, I went through AWA and some quants question, but did not prepare for IR. Finally, On 3rd December I gave the GMAT and scored 700 ( Q49,V35,AWA 5.0,IR4.0).

During my 20 days preparation, I realized how good the verbal online course is. Special mention for SC, because I think this is the best course which anybody can take and become comfortable with nuances of SC- sentence structure,meaning and spotting the errors.SC is structured in very easy to understand mode . Moreover, the articles written for SC is superb.In CR, Structure and pre-thinking steps gives a solid understanding of the argument. In RC, solution technique for Inference question was best.But the best part is verbal workshop. I recommend everyone to attend it,because it gives you the points where you have to focus (even you have studied full and getting a good score in mocks).

Finally, Thanks to e-gmat. I recommend Verbal online course to anyone who have problem in verbal, especially in SC and CR and who wants to give the test in very short duration.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
It's great!
February 17 | 2012

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By fthian joined: October 27, 2011 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
I registered for the e-gmat course in January'12 after completing the GMAT in Dec'11. I was not happy with my score, and decided to sign up. Prior to this, I went with the Knewton course. I see a difference between e-gmat and Knewton. Personally, I feel that e-gmat is more detailed in teaching both SC and CR. It teaches you the application, not just the rules. I can't comment on RC yet, as I just missed the session on RC. The live sessions are great. Payal does a great job answering questions and going through the content. I am glad I found the course. I'm already seeing an improvement in my verbal accuracy. Thanks to e-gmat! My next GMAT exam is three weeks away, I'll continue to spend time going through their content!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
E-GMAT Review
August 20 | 2012

5 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 11, 2011 | 49 | 17 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
I signed up for the sentence correction and critical reasoning sections. It cost $119 for both. I would recommend this course for a non-native speaker but if you are a native speaker of English then I would not recommend it.

E-GMAT can be useful because after each lesson there are quizzes to complete. The quizzes re-enforces the lessons. I am a native speaker and I thought the course would be useful but after using E-GMAT I purchased Aristotle Grail, which was more useful. I did not use the critical reasoning section because I used Powerscores Critical Reasoning book.

Strengths:

• Covers key areas in sentence correction for the GMAT
• Re-enforces the lesson with quizzes
• Can use at your own pace
• Different levels to complete before moving to next one

Weaknesses:

• Fairly new company
• Found too many errors with the software
• Probably more helpful for non-native speakers (not necessarily a weakness)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Amazing for Sentence Correction
July 02 | 2012

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By shawndx joined: October 13, 2011 | 17 | 10 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
I had a lot of trouble with sentence correction, and I am a native speaker. Certain nuances always escaped me for some reason under the pressure of time constraints. I read the Manhattan Gmat Sentence Correction book, and found it very useful, but did not have a bricks to wall approach.

e-gmat is an excellent course because it precisely has a bricks to wall approach. I recommend anyone having any issues with Sentence Correction to first do e-gmat. If more advanced topics are needed, then go use manhattan gmat sentence correction book, as you would have already acquired a solid foundation to tackle the advanced topics.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
An amazing course!! Go for it without second thought!
April 02 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Abhyank joined: September 22, 2013 | 28 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
Well I started my GMAT preparation journey by going through the Manhattan GMAT guides and the 3 OG's , though they definitely helped me improve my baseline and work on my weaknesses, I felt that to build up on my vocab score I needed something better. Something that was more in depth and user friendly. My sentence correction was especially bad and I was not getting much help from the guide books, so I tried to find an alternative online. Here I came across E-GMAT which had some very good reviews applauding it, so I thought about giving its SC course a try. Earlier I was quite apprehensive of the whole online tutoring format but surprisingly I found e-gmat to be very user friendly and structured. It was neatly sub-divided into groups topic wise ranging in difficulty and had very good quizzes to test your concepts. I found the support team to be very enthusiastic in giving quick replies and clearing all doubts in depth. Needless to say I was very happy with the investment I made to join this course and built my whole SC base on the tips and tricks provided by this SC course. I am happy to report I got a 690 score on my first try and I owe a great deal of it to E-GMAT. I also got so impressed by the SC course that I also subscribed to its IR course, and benefited immensely by it.
E-GMAT verbal is a great course, and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking to boost up his verbal by a high margin.
Was this review helpful to you?
   
1 Commented by cabel on September 22, 2014
HI, I too am looking for a SC specific course. But wanted to know if the Online course would be as beneficial as the Live course.. Which one did you go in for
 
Great Boost for Verbal
December 09 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 3, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 170 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
e-GMAT is an excellent source for Verbal. All the concepts tested on the GMAT exam are covered. The SC and CR are the best with explanations to simple as well as complex concept. This couse if done throughly will ensure that you atelast get 38 on Verbal. I really hope that the e-GMAT team also start with the QUANT section so that the students or the candidates do score well and the overall score shoots up to atleast 700. I will rcommend this course to everyone not just Non Native speakers since we cannot go wrong in the final exam. So All the Best everyone.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Low or negative ROI in improving Verbal score
August 05 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 12, 2013 | 3 | 6 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Shraddha Jaiswal
I signed up e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep in June 2013. The main reason that I chose it was because of very positive reviews. "Best course for non-native speakers", "Huge improvement in verbal scores" etc. These advertisements and reviews really attracted my attention. I'm a non-native English speaker and I want to improve my verbal score. So I decided to buy the course. Having tried the course, taken the GMAT and later tried another source (MGMAT Verbal Prep Set), I feel I have to offer another side of story amid so many positive reviews here. Let's talk about the Pros and Cons:

Pros:
1. Provides a very well structured study plan with concepts and quizzes for each section. (This may be useful for anyone who lacks discipline)
2. Comes with free mock exams that can generate performance analytical reports. (However, the timer doesn't work well, leading to wrong timings of your response time)
3. The e-GMAT time was kind enough to extend my course when I couldn't finish it in time. (The login was valid for about 6 months and they extended it for 2 months)

Cons:
1. Repetition in both contents and methods. I completed the whole course and took notes diligently. At the end I found some similar notes appeared multiple times--some contents were repeated here and there. The few e-GMAT methods used to solve Verbal questions were heavily repeated.

2. Methods don't work. In theory they sound good. But after studying the course for 8 months, I found these methods very time consuming and mentally draining in practice. They just don't work well in mock/real GMAT exams.

3. The course is very inflexible. This inflexibility, coupled with the fact that the course is extremely content heavy, makes it very time consuming to finish the whole course. It took me 8 months to finish (I work full time). I can't control my pace. Some contents are easy for me and repeated too much. The repetition plus sheer volume of contents buries the important areas which I may be weak at. It feels as if you read a whole library of books within 8 months. At the end, your mind goes blank. Maybe you remember a little here and there but nothing stands out. ROI is just so low: you spent so much time reaping so little improvement in your verbal skills.

4. The online lectures are a COMPLETE waste of time (and money). This was very obvious. In a 2 hour lecture, the instructors would spend the first ~30 minutes advertising their course. Because there are many attendees, the instructor can sometimes spend half an hour just to explain one question and answer all the questions. I may have just one doubt on a question and managed to get a few minutes of the instructor's time to answer it. Often, I'm still confused after he/she answers it. Then the rest of the time was wasted on listening to him/her explaining things that I have already known. After 1 or 2 lectures, I decided to just watch the recording and found myself frequently fast-forward the videos. In a 2 hour lecture, maybe only 15 minutes was useful.

In mock exams, I could score between 690 and 730. After 6 months of running the e-GMAT marathon, my course was going to expire. e-GMAT team was kind enough to extend it by another 2 moths. I finally made my first attempt at GMAT and only scored 700 (Q50, V33, AWA 5.5, IR 8). It was a huge disappointment. e-GMAT team's kindness to extend my course may have only backfired: I felt I wasted another 2 months on a course with near zero ROI. I spent so much time (8 months) on e-GMAT yet I didn't feel my verbal improved at all.

After that I decided to try MGMAT Verbal Prep set. I had very good discipline and took just 1.5 months to finish the whole set. Took GMAT again and scored 760 (Q51, V41, AWA 6.0, IR 8). I was even surprised by myself that I could improve so much with MGMAT. I also have to credit MGMAT for its Quant. My quant was pretty solid and I didn't spend too much time on it. However, the "Advanced GMAT Quant" by MGMAT was really good on methods & tricks for the more difficult quant questions. That did help keep my quant score high.

So in summary I feel e-GMAT is a course that costs an enormous amount of time to complete and only gives you negative to marginal positive improvements on your verbal score.


Was this review helpful to you?
   
1 Commented by 3274K on May 01, 2015
Thanks! Im a non-native speaker, have given GMAT twice, stuck in the 700-710 range (Q49, V34-38). I want to cross the 740+ barrier? I've already covered the MGMAT SC, CR and RC books. I was thinking of e-gmat now but am wary looking at your review. Any suggestions on what would work best to improve my verbal?
 
Good course but needs a few improvements
January 24 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By munnathegmat joined: November 26, 2011 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
I purchased the e-gmat SC, CR +Grockit course. At 109$ (with GMAT club discount course). This course is a decent bargain, I have had the opportunity to sit in on a couple Live sessions, these e-gmat folks are quite generous about letting you try the live course as well.
I am almost done with the course, the SC part is excellent. In my humble opinion a tad better than the CR course. There are few typos with both SC and CR modules and the software is a bit buggy at times, so I took one star off for each issue. Additionally, some of the CR passages and SC questions are not very "GMAT like".
I have purchased MGMAT in the past, I feel the e-gmat SC and CR strategy is bit different from MGMAT. You can buy both products if you may, but MGMAT for quant and e-gmat for verbal should be the way to go for non-natives.
Was this review helpful to you?
   
1 Commented by stunn3r on July 03, 2013
Hi .. I also want to take SC and CR with Grockit practice course ... but I think its expensive for me. The price you mentioned here is affordable to me but I am not able to find any such coupon on GMATclub or on e-gmat. Please share the code you used ...
 
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


e-GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
70 points
International Student Score Improvement
71 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
80%
Save $546
Best e-GMAT Discounts
+$296 coupon code discount
+$250 bonus offer
Get e-GMAT Promo Code