e-GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [361]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
 
e-GMAT Course Reviews
World's first prep course designed to help non-natives level the playing field and score higher on GMAT Verbal. e-GMAT's methods and strategies help non-natives improve 5+ points on GMAT Verbal.  Includes Basic & Advanced Concepts – 30+ hrs of audio visual content, Proprietary framework for non-natives, 24-hr Expert Personalized support, Largest Question Bank (200+) and GMAT Strategy Live Sessions (6 hrs). Get a great deal on e-GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
e-GMAT CR and SC concepts provide unique structured approach
March 25 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By rg1 joined: May 25, 2010 | 321 | 47 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
After going through MGMAT books, I was still trying to deconstruct CR and SC questions. There's too much theory in books that makes otherwise excellent MGMAT books a bit boring. On the other hand, e-GMAT provides audio-visual content which clearly explains the concepts, beautifully deconstructs ALL types of CR/SC questions and demonstrates how to apply the same concepts to a real GMAT like problem. This course will make you think in a way you should be thinking to answer GMAT questions correctly.

Pros:

- SC: Clear explanation of SC concepts with post-assessment quiz. Attempting quiz online gives more test like experience than working through the book.

- SC: Detailed explanations of all the questions. Individual questions are also answered promptly.

- CR: Critical Reasoning concept files are really awesome and corrected my thought process.

- CR & SC- Appropriate summaries created for each concept file.

- Question bank- This course came with premium membership of Grockit, which supplements the course with big question bank.

Cons:

- Timing Strategy: There are no concept files for timing strategy which becomes more important after gaining the knowledge for all GMAT sections.

- Needs more flexible and smooth integration of the forum with the concept files.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-gmat RC - equally important as SC
September 05 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By santu71182 joined: May 13, 2010 | 33 | 13 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
I bumped into e-gmat (through some posts in GC) very late in my preparation cycle. I had only 1 month left for the actual GMAT and my verbal was stuck at 32-33 even after months of studying. I had completed MGMAT SC and improved my accuracy to 75% in SC but that was not sufficient. I realized that most of the times the main killer of my verbal score was RC. Sometimes I scored as pathetic as 25%. e-gmat was about to start the beta trial of their RC course and I thought there could be nothing better than trying this out. I had already tried other courses such as Kaplan, MGMAT for RC and found them a bit unsuitable for my style of study since I am not a voracious reader and hence always struggled to comprehend a long or unfamiliar passage.

Thus I went ahead and volunteered for the beta trial. The kick off session was interesting as Rajat mentioned about the pedagogy of the course and how it has been split into Concept files, Application files, Practice files. I found that quite interesting as it resembled the structure of some tutorial companies in India who conduct courses for Engineering and medical entrance exams. Belonging to a typical Engineering aspirant (common in India), I had already experienced this format and hence was comfortable in following the RC course of e-gmat.

I could see the improvement after the first week itself. RC passage was no longer scary to me and my accuracy started to improve. By the time of reaching last week before my actual test, I was confidently scoring 70-80% in RC and my verbal score in mock CATs ranged from 35-41. On the actual test I managed to score 38 in verbal and was really comfortable even in answering the last RC passage (by the time you reach there you are almost dry of energy and the anxiety to view the score dominates the senses).

Few interesting points I found about this course are:

1. Illustrative and well paced narration: The course flows smoothly and is divided into several sub topics such as: Reading Strategies, Main point, Inference, Detail Concept, and Structure Concept which eventually covers all kinds of questions possible in RC. So targeted focus on each area helps in understanding how to tackle all types of RC questions.

2. Audio Visual tutorial: As I mentioned already, I found reading through hundreds of pages on how to answer RC questions or how to read RC passage was not my cup of tea. Rather the audio visual aid used in e-gmat had a lasting impact on me till the test day and I was able to remember how should I tackle the RC passage and question.

3. Generating interest in the passage: The course focuses more on generating an interest on the topic of the passage by setting short goals of summarizing a small paragraph or few lines after you read through, predict what the author could write next etc. This helps in getting involved in the passage and no topic would appear dry afterwards.

4. Lots of practice material: I found e-gmat contains a decent number of practice passages from every walk of life (after OG 12 edition of course) and the passage analysis of each of these passages certainly wires the brain on how to read the passage in the actual test.

5. Short tutorials: All the files in this course was relatively short, lasting to a maximum of 20-30 minutes. This ensures you are not yawning midway and are able to follow what you are studying.

Since the course is still in its inception and will be released soon, I see more improvement coming into the course and thus would recommend the non-native and not voracious readers to gain most from this course, which makes reading a passage more fun than a struggle.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
GMAT CR Logic Demystified
April 21 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By ankurmgr joined: March 20, 2011 | 18 | 13 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I was really not able to completely grasp the logic behind the CR Questions. I had already referred few other recommended sources but they really did not help me in improving my CR accuracy rate significantly.It was then that I came across e-gmat course. I found many reviews for e-gmat's SC course but there was virtually none for e-gmat CR course.The most important thing about e-gmat is that: they claim their course is designed for non-natives. This fact drew my attention. I finally took the e-gmat CR course. The interface is very clean; topics are well arranged. The interface tracks your progress. The explanation to each question is explained very methodologically. I really appreciate their efforts in building this excellent platform.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very Helpful to improve my accuracy
May 28 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By kdraj joined: August 3, 2011 | 55 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Thanks to e-GMAT, I was able to tremendously improve my score from 640 (q47 v31) to 710 (q49 to v38) - a 7 point improvement in my verbal score from my previous attempt.

I had problems with Sentence correction when I started preparing for my GMAT. I used the manhattan SC guide, but my score did not improve much, even after going through the guide twice. I was not following a systematic approach in solving the problems. But the approach I learnt from the course, in addition to the OG Verbal Review Videos, helped me approach even the tougher problems with confidence. My accuracy was more than 90% in SC in my GMAT Prep tests.

Being from a background in which much of my school education was taught in Tamil, I was able to improve tremendously from the approach and depth the e-GMAT course had to offer. I can surely say that the improvement in score wouldn't have happened without e-GMAT.

I would highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to improve their SC skills in a systematic manner.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Amazing course!
July 18 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By willigetmylifeback joined: November 7, 2010 | 188 | 13 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online |
I am using this course from almost 3 weeks and I can surely tell you that it is the one of the best course for non-natives for improving the Verbal score. Course starts from the very basic and goes to the higher level, covering all the important topics of tested on the real GMAT. Here are the few of the features worth mentioning -

- The course teaches you logical procedure to approach the SC, CR and RC questions

- They stress the importance of meaning. The meaning first approach is crucial especially when you are tackling high-level (hard) questions

- It is e-learning course and that makes it even more effective.

- You can customize the course based on your level. There is a quiz before and after a concept. So it allows you to gauge and skip a concept if you are good in it.

- The live sessions are very interactive.

- Their customer service is excellent. I get my problems resolved with few hours.

- Most importantly this course is a value for money!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
From V21 to V35
August 11 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Sanjay76 joined: January 9, 2011 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
Hi All
I scored poor 610 (Q49,V21) in my first attempt. I analyzed and realized that its SC which has done damage for me. I came across e-gmat and joined its SC aong Grockit bundle.I would not say that its the best course but its definately value for money.

E-gmat pragmatic approach of discarding wrong options helped me to improve my score.
Equipped with rigorous prepartion through Grockit ,E-gmat and othere resources I attempted GMAT again and i scored 700 (Q50,V35) .

Grockit has good quant question bank but lacks in RC and SC.E-gmat has good fundamental overbiew but lacks on question bank. If they improve their question bank it could be more beneficial for other students.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
I've already improved!
September 02 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By nwakobe86 joined: March 27, 2012 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
I have been struggling with my verbal, especially Reading Comp. I have looked all over GC for tips and strategies. But nothing seem to help. It was becoming really frustrating.

So reluctantly decided that maybe I should buy a GMATPill for RC. But after I saw the prices for the single RC pill, I decided to "shop around." I saw that many people were recommending e-gmat. I looked up the reviews, looked at their prices (1 GMAT Pill apprx to the Verbal section on e-gmat online), went to their website and signed up for a trial for the Verbal section.

I have spent a good portion of today going through the Verbal e-gmat course. I have already seen an improvement in my understanding and practice questions both on e-gmat and in the OG. Tomorrow I will be officially purchasing the Verbal section.
Was this review helpful to you?
   
[2]
Verbal improvement by 12 points - All thanks to E-gmat
September 10 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 14, 2010 | 9 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online |
E-gmat course really helped me improved my Verbal score drastically. In my first attempt I got a score of 580( Q 47 , V23 ) and I then started e-gmat score. I gave my GMAT on August 9th and got 660 ( Q47, V35) . I totally give e-gmat credit for this drastic verbal improvement.

Their Sentence correction and Critical reasoning stuff is really good and it breaks down all the complex topics into easy stuff. Also their live sessions on weekend were very helpful as they try to understand the concepts of a topic and help participants understand how to handle a question. I personally feel if u have a weak verbal and want to improve your score, then go for e-gmat.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
E-gmat- a game changer for verbal
December 06 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By SOURH7WK joined: June 15, 2010 | 363 | 180 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
A truly Game Changer course in verbal for non-natives. After exhausting all available resources, I finally subscribed to this course. I saw a few reviews in GC forums and attended two free live class with Rajat on GMAT strategy & Pre-thinking. I was totally satisfied with the content & I knew I will definitely learn some new strategy to tackle my poor verbal score V23.

After taking the course I pulled up my verbal score to a respectable V40 (90%ile). I just turned my weakness into my strength now. My total score is 710 (Q49,V40)

As I progressed with the course I realized my shortfalls in concept as well as in attacking strategy. The Verbal live course is quite different from the verbal online course. I have clarified almost all queries on the spot during the class (that kind of luxury was there). The important thing that helped me most to improve on verbal is to understand the underlying thought process of the instructors while they approach/attach a particular question. For SC course Payal did a wonderful job there. In fact I asked her in one classroom to describe her thought process elaborately - how she approach a particular SC. And that key thing has changed my SC accuracy a lot.

Similarly Rajat's Strategy of pre-thinking is the key for CR. And not but the least- my weakest link RC in verbal has improved a lot after the course. My accuracy just went above 85% from 60-65% level. I always struggled with non-familiar topics in RC. At last Ron (one of e-gmat instructor) has rescued me from this big shortfall. After i completed the course I realized my improvements through Mocks & i was able to improve my timing on SC/CR/RC without sacrificing accuracy.

I am very happy with my decision to invest in e-gmat verbal live and doing so really rewarded me a 90%ile V score.

The concept files cover every single grammatical rules within the scope of GMAT. The practice questions, quizzes, assessment tests are very carefully crafted keeping the standards of Official GMAT questions.

A ton of thanks to e-gmat & group.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very Good Verbal Course
April 10 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By nishants joined: November 7, 2012 | 5 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
Well, I always believed in self study instead of tutor, classes and all. After taking some MGMAT mocks, I realized that verbal score was not improving, and it was always dancing between 29-31. My GMAT was around 2 weeks away, and I thought of taking a GMAT prep test. It was a real bummer and scored 28 on verbal. I knew that I could not change 28 to 38 in 2 weeks time, but did not want to change the exam date either, so talked to Rajat Sadana and explained my situation. Rajat suggested to me to take SC course only. I purchased just that and finished it in 10 days.

The Course was awesome. Concepts were explained like teaching kids at elementary level, so they are hard coded in your memory. Their approach to tackle questions was really strong, if practiced religiously you will overcome timing issues. Their approach digs the question really deep and there is a very little room left for errors.

Not only the SC course, but I also got some free videos on their website for CR and RC course. I worked on their CR bold faced questions approach and figured that my accuracy in OG increased surprisingly using their strategies.

If I would have come to know about their course earlier then I would have turned my 28 verbal to 38+ by doing all 3 sections from their course. Anyways I did good on my test day and was able to score 34 in verbal. I believe e-GMAT course came really handy for this improvement in my score. Not to mention, if you have any doubts or concerns just post it on their website, and you will get reply really fast that is useful for people who get anxious if they have a question while studying.

I believe that if one seriously studies all 3 sections from their course and practices really well using those techniques for all OG and Verbal Review questions, then one can easily improve by 7-8 points in verbal.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


e-GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
74 points
International Student Score Improvement
75 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
80%
Save $546
Best e-GMAT Discounts
+$296 coupon code discount
+$250 bonus offer
Get e-GMAT Promo Code