e-GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [278]      Average Rating:       (4.7/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
 
e-GMAT Course Reviews
World's first prep course designed to help non-natives level the playing field and score higher on GMAT Verbal. e-GMAT's methods and strategies help non-natives improve 5+ points on GMAT Verbal.  Includes Basic & Advanced Concepts – 30+ hrs of audio visual content, Proprietary framework for non-natives, 24-hr Expert Personalized support, Largest Question Bank (200+) and GMAT Strategy Live Sessions (6 hrs). Get a great deal on e-GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
e-gmat RC - equally important as SC
September 05 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By santu71182 joined: May 13, 2010 | 33 | 13 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
I bumped into e-gmat (through some posts in GC) very late in my preparation cycle. I had only 1 month left for the actual GMAT and my verbal was stuck at 32-33 even after months of studying. I had completed MGMAT SC and improved my accuracy to 75% in SC but that was not sufficient. I realized that most of the times the main killer of my verbal score was RC. Sometimes I scored as pathetic as 25%. e-gmat was about to start the beta trial of their RC course and I thought there could be nothing better than trying this out. I had already tried other courses such as Kaplan, MGMAT for RC and found them a bit unsuitable for my style of study since I am not a voracious reader and hence always struggled to comprehend a long or unfamiliar passage.

Thus I went ahead and volunteered for the beta trial. The kick off session was interesting as Rajat mentioned about the pedagogy of the course and how it has been split into Concept files, Application files, Practice files. I found that quite interesting as it resembled the structure of some tutorial companies in India who conduct courses for Engineering and medical entrance exams. Belonging to a typical Engineering aspirant (common in India), I had already experienced this format and hence was comfortable in following the RC course of e-gmat.

I could see the improvement after the first week itself. RC passage was no longer scary to me and my accuracy started to improve. By the time of reaching last week before my actual test, I was confidently scoring 70-80% in RC and my verbal score in mock CATs ranged from 35-41. On the actual test I managed to score 38 in verbal and was really comfortable even in answering the last RC passage (by the time you reach there you are almost dry of energy and the anxiety to view the score dominates the senses).

Few interesting points I found about this course are:

1. Illustrative and well paced narration: The course flows smoothly and is divided into several sub topics such as: Reading Strategies, Main point, Inference, Detail Concept, and Structure Concept which eventually covers all kinds of questions possible in RC. So targeted focus on each area helps in understanding how to tackle all types of RC questions.

2. Audio Visual tutorial: As I mentioned already, I found reading through hundreds of pages on how to answer RC questions or how to read RC passage was not my cup of tea. Rather the audio visual aid used in e-gmat had a lasting impact on me till the test day and I was able to remember how should I tackle the RC passage and question.

3. Generating interest in the passage: The course focuses more on generating an interest on the topic of the passage by setting short goals of summarizing a small paragraph or few lines after you read through, predict what the author could write next etc. This helps in getting involved in the passage and no topic would appear dry afterwards.

4. Lots of practice material: I found e-gmat contains a decent number of practice passages from every walk of life (after OG 12 edition of course) and the passage analysis of each of these passages certainly wires the brain on how to read the passage in the actual test.

5. Short tutorials: All the files in this course was relatively short, lasting to a maximum of 20-30 minutes. This ensures you are not yawning midway and are able to follow what you are studying.

Since the course is still in its inception and will be released soon, I see more improvement coming into the course and thus would recommend the non-native and not voracious readers to gain most from this course, which makes reading a passage more fun than a struggle.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT CR Logic Demystified
April 21 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By ankurmgr joined: March 20, 2011 | 18 | 13 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I was really not able to completely grasp the logic behind the CR Questions. I had already referred few other recommended sources but they really did not help me in improving my CR accuracy rate significantly.It was then that I came across e-gmat course. I found many reviews for e-gmat's SC course but there was virtually none for e-gmat CR course.The most important thing about e-gmat is that: they claim their course is designed for non-natives. This fact drew my attention. I finally took the e-gmat CR course. The interface is very clean; topics are well arranged. The interface tracks your progress. The explanation to each question is explained very methodologically. I really appreciate their efforts in building this excellent platform.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Very Helpful to improve my accuracy
May 28 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By kdraj joined: August 3, 2011 | 55 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Thanks to e-GMAT, I was able to tremendously improve my score from 640 (q47 v31) to 710 (q49 to v38) - a 7 point improvement in my verbal score from my previous attempt.

I had problems with Sentence correction when I started preparing for my GMAT. I used the manhattan SC guide, but my score did not improve much, even after going through the guide twice. I was not following a systematic approach in solving the problems. But the approach I learnt from the course, in addition to the OG Verbal Review Videos, helped me approach even the tougher problems with confidence. My accuracy was more than 90% in SC in my GMAT Prep tests.

Being from a background in which much of my school education was taught in Tamil, I was able to improve tremendously from the approach and depth the e-GMAT course had to offer. I can surely say that the improvement in score wouldn't have happened without e-GMAT.

I would highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to improve their SC skills in a systematic manner.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Amazing course!
July 18 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By willigetmylifeback joined: November 7, 2010 | 186 | 13 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online |
I am using this course from almost 3 weeks and I can surely tell you that it is the one of the best course for non-natives for improving the Verbal score. Course starts from the very basic and goes to the higher level, covering all the important topics of tested on the real GMAT. Here are the few of the features worth mentioning -

- The course teaches you logical procedure to approach the SC, CR and RC questions

- They stress the importance of meaning. The meaning first approach is crucial especially when you are tackling high-level (hard) questions

- It is e-learning course and that makes it even more effective.

- You can customize the course based on your level. There is a quiz before and after a concept. So it allows you to gauge and skip a concept if you are good in it.

- The live sessions are very interactive.

- Their customer service is excellent. I get my problems resolved with few hours.

- Most importantly this course is a value for money!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
From V21 to V35
August 11 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Sanjay76 joined: January 9, 2011 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
Hi All
I scored poor 610 (Q49,V21) in my first attempt. I analyzed and realized that its SC which has done damage for me. I came across e-gmat and joined its SC aong Grockit bundle.I would not say that its the best course but its definately value for money.

E-gmat pragmatic approach of discarding wrong options helped me to improve my score.
Equipped with rigorous prepartion through Grockit ,E-gmat and othere resources I attempted GMAT again and i scored 700 (Q50,V35) .

Grockit has good quant question bank but lacks in RC and SC.E-gmat has good fundamental overbiew but lacks on question bank. If they improve their question bank it could be more beneficial for other students.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
I've already improved!
September 02 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By nwakobe86 joined: March 27, 2012 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
I have been struggling with my verbal, especially Reading Comp. I have looked all over GC for tips and strategies. But nothing seem to help. It was becoming really frustrating.

So reluctantly decided that maybe I should buy a GMATPill for RC. But after I saw the prices for the single RC pill, I decided to "shop around." I saw that many people were recommending e-gmat. I looked up the reviews, looked at their prices (1 GMAT Pill apprx to the Verbal section on e-gmat online), went to their website and signed up for a trial for the Verbal section.

I have spent a good portion of today going through the Verbal e-gmat course. I have already seen an improvement in my understanding and practice questions both on e-gmat and in the OG. Tomorrow I will be officially purchasing the Verbal section.
Was this review helpful to you?
   
[2]
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Very Good Verbal Course
April 10 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By nishants joined: November 7, 2012 | 5 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
Well, I always believed in self study instead of tutor, classes and all. After taking some MGMAT mocks, I realized that verbal score was not improving, and it was always dancing between 29-31. My GMAT was around 2 weeks away, and I thought of taking a GMAT prep test. It was a real bummer and scored 28 on verbal. I knew that I could not change 28 to 38 in 2 weeks time, but did not want to change the exam date either, so talked to Rajat Sadana and explained my situation. Rajat suggested to me to take SC course only. I purchased just that and finished it in 10 days.

The Course was awesome. Concepts were explained like teaching kids at elementary level, so they are hard coded in your memory. Their approach to tackle questions was really strong, if practiced religiously you will overcome timing issues. Their approach digs the question really deep and there is a very little room left for errors.

Not only the SC course, but I also got some free videos on their website for CR and RC course. I worked on their CR bold faced questions approach and figured that my accuracy in OG increased surprisingly using their strategies.

If I would have come to know about their course earlier then I would have turned my 28 verbal to 38+ by doing all 3 sections from their course. Anyways I did good on my test day and was able to score 34 in verbal. I believe e-GMAT course came really handy for this improvement in my score. Not to mention, if you have any doubts or concerns just post it on their website, and you will get reply really fast that is useful for people who get anxious if they have a question while studying.

I believe that if one seriously studies all 3 sections from their course and practices really well using those techniques for all OG and Verbal Review questions, then one can easily improve by 7-8 points in verbal.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT and 750(Q51, V39)
April 23 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By vinayakagarwal joined: March 28, 2013 | 3 | 13 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
I used the e-GMAT course and was able to score 750 (Q51, V39) after scoring 640 in the first mock test. I took e-GMAT’s Verbal Online course. The e-GMAT course, especially the SC section was extremely helpful to move my score a notch higher. I found their SC content to be very specific, precise and applicable. Their material is very specific as it provides a clear set of tools and strategy to attack an SC problem of any level. Evidently, my consistency in SC section improved drastically, and more importantly I became much more confident with this section, which helped me further refine my strategy.

Also, one of the founders of e-GMAT, Rajat Sadana was very helpful in guiding me through my GMAT preparation, especially when my exam date was closing by. I really liked having someone much more experienced guide me by specifically looking at my previous CAT performances and helping me design an optimum strategy for the actual exam.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
e-Gmat Live Prep
April 24 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By gurpreetsingh joined: October 12, 2009 | 2793 | 922 | native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online |
I took e-GMAT’s Verbal Live course and was able to score 710 (Q50, V35) after scoring 670 (Q49, V31). I found it very useful. I saw improvement in verbal after e-GMAT course. I would like to thank Rajat, Payal, and Shraddha. The live sessions of RAJAT on strategy and CR were awesome. Payal and Shraddha are no less than Stacy and Ron of MGMAT. No doubt no one knows more than these two experts of Mgmat, but sometimes I used to find their replies too technical to grasp. On the other hand - the live sessions of Payal and Shraddha were very easy to grasp. Their articles and replies on the questions are fabulous. REALLY something that helps you to learn the concepts. I would highly recommend e-GMAT for non natives, not only the course but also the replies and articles of its representatives.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
An average Joe's gateway to 700
May 03 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By pjolie joined: June 11, 2012 | 12 | 74 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online |
I am thrilled to report that I scored 740 (Q48, V42). I am your average Joe (Jolie) and I believe that, if I can score 700+, then most people can.

At the beginning, the exam seemed to be very difficult. I scored a sore 530 on my first mock – Kaplan free test. The worst part was I scored a mere 23 on verbal. I used to think that with my convent education and a degree in economics, verbal would be my strength but the test told me otherwise. At this time, all I could hope for was to get close to 700. 740 seemed out of question.

Preparation - books and materials
I started off my preparation with the MGMAT books. I read the Number properties, Equations & Inequalities and word translations for quant and the SC, CR & RC books for Verbal. On Verbal, the SC book was quite good but I found the CR and RC books to be average. 2 months into my prep, I was already hitting 630s on the MGMAT exams.

At this time, I decided that I needed a prep course to boost my verbal. After considering Vertias, MGMAT and Kaplan, I decided on e-GMAT’s live course because of its focus on verbal. This course took my preparation to the next level. The SC concepts that I learned through MGMAT were crystal clear after going through this course. Two other things helped me a lot on SC. Firstly the fact that the course is very heavy on application. There are these application files that don’t teach you anything but to apply what you have learned. Secondly, they have this OG solutions video course that is awesome. The downside is that such solutions are only available for SC and not for CR.

The CR course when combined with live sessions is really good too. It helped me weave through the logic of arguments and provided me an approach for most CR questions types. My accuracy just shot up. I would definitely recommend this course if you need help on verbal. This course played a major role in improving my verbal from 30 to 42.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


e-GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
73 points
International Student Score Improvement
75 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
80%
Save $546
Best e-GMAT Discounts
+$296 coupon code discount
+$250 bonus offer
Get e-GMAT Promo Code