e-GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [303]      Average Rating:       (4.7/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
 
e-GMAT Course Reviews
World's first prep course designed to help non-natives level the playing field and score higher on GMAT Verbal. e-GMAT's methods and strategies help non-natives improve 5+ points on GMAT Verbal.  Includes Basic & Advanced Concepts – 30+ hrs of audio visual content, Proprietary framework for non-natives, 24-hr Expert Personalized support, Largest Question Bank (200+) and GMAT Strategy Live Sessions (6 hrs). Get a great deal on e-GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
e-Gmat Live Prep
April 24 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By gurpreetsingh joined: October 12, 2009 | 2793 | 949 | native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online |
I took e-GMAT’s Verbal Live course and was able to score 710 (Q50, V35) after scoring 670 (Q49, V31). I found it very useful. I saw improvement in verbal after e-GMAT course. I would like to thank Rajat, Payal, and Shraddha. The live sessions of RAJAT on strategy and CR were awesome. Payal and Shraddha are no less than Stacy and Ron of MGMAT. No doubt no one knows more than these two experts of Mgmat, but sometimes I used to find their replies too technical to grasp. On the other hand - the live sessions of Payal and Shraddha were very easy to grasp. Their articles and replies on the questions are fabulous. REALLY something that helps you to learn the concepts. I would highly recommend e-GMAT for non natives, not only the course but also the replies and articles of its representatives.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
An average Joe's gateway to 700
May 03 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By pjolie joined: June 11, 2012 | 12 | 76 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online |
I am thrilled to report that I scored 740 (Q48, V42). I am your average Joe (Jolie) and I believe that, if I can score 700+, then most people can.

At the beginning, the exam seemed to be very difficult. I scored a sore 530 on my first mock – Kaplan free test. The worst part was I scored a mere 23 on verbal. I used to think that with my convent education and a degree in economics, verbal would be my strength but the test told me otherwise. At this time, all I could hope for was to get close to 700. 740 seemed out of question.

Preparation - books and materials
I started off my preparation with the MGMAT books. I read the Number properties, Equations & Inequalities and word translations for quant and the SC, CR & RC books for Verbal. On Verbal, the SC book was quite good but I found the CR and RC books to be average. 2 months into my prep, I was already hitting 630s on the MGMAT exams.

At this time, I decided that I needed a prep course to boost my verbal. After considering Vertias, MGMAT and Kaplan, I decided on e-GMAT’s live course because of its focus on verbal. This course took my preparation to the next level. The SC concepts that I learned through MGMAT were crystal clear after going through this course. Two other things helped me a lot on SC. Firstly the fact that the course is very heavy on application. There are these application files that don’t teach you anything but to apply what you have learned. Secondly, they have this OG solutions video course that is awesome. The downside is that such solutions are only available for SC and not for CR.

The CR course when combined with live sessions is really good too. It helped me weave through the logic of arguments and provided me an approach for most CR questions types. My accuracy just shot up. I would definitely recommend this course if you need help on verbal. This course played a major role in improving my verbal from 30 to 42.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
e-Gmat Verbal Online review
July 15 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By stoy4o joined: September 20, 2008 | 71 | 15 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
After being a member on gmatclub for a while, I started looking for a course that was comparable in price and quality. I had seen a number of great posts from e-gmat and after doing the course math it was almost a no brainer to go ahead and purchase their verbal online course.

I was particularly interested in the SC and CR sections of their course. As a non-native I used to make a number of silly SC mistakes that woud drive me nuts. In a short amount of time, I was able to go through a number of the SC videos in the course and those were just as great as the gmatclub posts from the e-gmat gurus. There are a variaty of SC concepts, some of which I thought I had an above average understanding and a chance of getting answers correctly. Well, after seeing the videos I definitely could see why I used to make a number of careless mistakes. The concepts and explanations in the course, although I felt at times were meant for 1st graders, definitely solidified my understanding and boosted my confidence.

The great part about the course was that it also allowed me to use grockit for practice. This is where I was able to benchmark knowledge gained from the e-gmat tutorials vs. timed accuracy. Jokes aside, but I'm willing to admit that after some serious and focused practice I was like a hound dog sniffing through the sentences and was quickly and easily able to spot patterns and mistakes (I was scared :) ).

I was only able to go through limited RC, CR and IR because I got preoccupied with work but some of the videos I saw were great, as well. Definitely, the major and even a number of miscellaneous concepts are covered in the course and have I had more spare time on my shoulders I would have loved to go through all the material in the course.

My only negative memories are with some of the web site navigation. I found it a bit confusing at first with the way the Dashboard was represented. Anyways, once you get the hang of it, it is not of any negative impact for the skills you gain for what you paid.

Overall, it's a great bang for the buck and the people from e-gmat have definitely put a great amount of effort for the great concepts, material and explanations provided in the course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
E-GMAT Verbal Course Review
July 28 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Om123 joined: October 15, 2012 | 2 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I was so impressed by the amount of effort the e-GMAT team put up with throughout my GMAT preparation. Every month I would find one or more new articles from e-GMAT about improving my preparation level in verbal. The most difficult topics in verbal are so easily explained in e-GMAT that one would never feel unprepared in any aspect of GMAT verbal. I have yet to complete all the modules given in the e-GMAT verbal course but since I have started preparing, I feel a real change in my approach and accuracy while handling verbal questions.

Thanks e-GMAT Team !
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Rock solid SC strategy
August 28 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 20, 2010 | 9 | 7 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 170 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I signed up for e-GMAT SC online course after trying MGMAT SC and GMATPill. After spending US$350 on GMATPill 6 pill combo and getting frustrated with Zeke's approach to SC questions, I thought, "Why not try e-GMAT?" This was the best decision I made during my prep.

When I started e-GMAT SC, my SC accuracy was roughly around 50%. After finishing the module in 2 weeks, my accuracy rose to around 70%. This was enough to get my verbal from 33 on GMATPrep mocks to 36 on the real GMAT!

I'll not give 5 stars just due to the UGE (user generated exercise). Come on, reading several sentences about the cricket stuff (bats, etc) might be interesting for some cultures, but not for every non-native.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT course - Pros and Cons
September 30 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 24, 2011 | 221 | 26 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online |
After getting a 660 (Q50, V29) in Nov 2011 (It was all self-preparation, solving only the OG and taking the practice tests from MGMAT. I also bought the MGMAT SC book), I decided to make it 700+ and apply for Fall 2014 (Due to pressure in my job and some other issues, I had to skip my plan to apply for Fall 2012 and Fall 2013)
In Oct 2012, when I resumed my GMAT preparation, I started searching for a comprehensive course for Verbal, which could boost my score. I came across e-GMAT, and after going through the trial videos, I got impressed and decided to enroll for Verbal Online.
I started the course, and then realized that I should have enrolled a long time back. It gave me a very solid framework, based on which I can look for patterns in the GMAT verbal questions. All its rules and the method of teaching impressed me a lot. Especially the RC pack helped me the maximum.
Then I thought to upgrade my account to Verbal Live-Prep. To me the SC and RC sessions helped a lot. All credit goes to Shraddha! She is an excellent teacher. Somehow the CR sessions were not that impressive to me. I know Shraddha could have done a better job if she could have taken those as well.

Pros :
1. Great course for non-natives. It makes all the concepts needed for GMAT crystal clear. Worth Buying.
2. The audio- visuals are more effective than buying books such as MGMAT SC


Cons :

1. Offline support of the team is very weak. If you send an email to them for help, there is no guarantee that someone will respond. After you change the subject of emails, I used to get reply that my email had reached their junk folder, and hence I had to send reminders for reply
2. All the faculties (except Shraddha and Payal) are not that friendly,predictable and to some extent, may be professional. I remember that initially one of the faculties was very friendly and was really helping me a lot related to my doubts. But one fine day he JUST STOPPED responding to my emails (Please note that in those emails I was just asking for help. No fight. No abuse.) I sent repeated reminders but it seemed as if he simply started ignoring my emails. Am still to figure out what exactly went wrong. After all, I paid for the service. Also, this behavior looked a bit unprofessional and unpredictable to me.
3. I ended up getting a 690 (Q49, V34). I still believe that as per my preparation with e-GMAT, I could have easily cracked 720+. What I think pulled my scores down was my test taking strategies. e-GMAT still don’t have its own practice tests. May be they should add that. Grockit might not be that helpful to people.


But in conclusion, despite whatever experience I had, I would still recommend the non-natives to buy at least the Verbal Online course. It simply is too good to make up your foundation for GMAT verbal.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Superb starter for GMAT prep online
December 19 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By goverdhan joined: December 21, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I’m writing this review to thank the e-gmat team for their great effort. I chose e-GMAT at an early stage of preparation and I am glad I did so. When I have planned to prepare for gmat, I was just in dilemma which online course to choose but when I have gone through the free course videos I decide to go for e-gmat online courses for SC,CR,IR and RC.

What I like about the course is that it keeps things simple and there is no need to memorize rules. It was worth every penny.

I could feel the difference in my preparation, could feel the clarity coming in my mind. The 3-step process for SC is a sure shot way to get questions correct. The most important point which i would like to mention is that you guys made the difficult terms look so easy to understand (such as verb-ed modifiers, verb-ing modifiers, noun+noun modifiers etc). Once I got used to the format, it was very interesting to learn the essential concepts in SC, RC and CR sections of their course.

CR tutorials train to analyze the argument meticulously and consider various possible assumptions, thereby minimizing the chances of errors.

I never really understood why I was selecting a right answer. But after going through e-gmat sessions, I started to understand why right answer is right and wrong is wrong. The other attractive thing about e-gmat process is that it does not follow any shortcuts to arrive at right answers. The course rather follows an excellent systematic process. Answering questions using this process is truly enjoyable.

To sum up I owe a lot to e-GMAT and really happy to be part of the e-gmat community.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
VLP - A Verbal Savior
January 28 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By gmatmarathon joined: November 25, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I took the GMAT on December 2, 2012, and scored 610(44Q, 30V). I realized that if I were going to retake the GMAT, I would need to boost my quant score but would have to work very hard on verbal. During my preparation before taking the GMAT, I was stuck between V28-V30 and didn't know how to improve my verbal score. I did my research online and after reviewing trial files I came to the conclusion that e-GMAT's VLP was the best course available. Contents in VLP have been classified and prepared very meticulously.

SC:
Initially, I didn't get my desired results from e-GMAT's 3-step process on SC questions but persisted for a while and I started to improve my accuracy. After level 2, my accuracy was 70% and after level 3 my accuracy is 85%. This is an amazing improvement for me - a real confidence booster. You can revisit the concepts and quizzes as many times as you want.

CR:
Before coming to e-GMAT, I didn't follow a process to attack a CR question and hence couldn't improve CR much. After e-GMAT's CR course, my accuracy has increased to 70% from 50%. I would like to mention that their Inference and Prethinking sessions are wonderful. Both the sessions help you to align your thinking on the right path for your further CR journey.
Improvement: VLP's CR live sessions are not as elaborate as SC sessions are. E.g. In CR-Inference session, instructors should answer math-based questions more thoroughly as many students don't get how to relate equations/calculations with the stimulus.

RC:
I have attended e-GMAT's RC live sessions and started attempting OG-13 RCs. I can see my accuracy is increasing after every 8-10 passages. If I get inference question incorrect in 4-5 passages, I revisit the concept and session recordings. This approach has helped me to improve my accuracy to 65% from 50%.

If one is diligent and can use e-GMAT's solutions, recordings, forums, and quizzes judiciously, he/she will definitely improve the verbal score to a desired level. I will definitely recommend VLP course to all non-natives.

I have surely gained confidence in verbal and am going to take the GMAT in a month. Wish me luck. :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
SC is very Helpful
March 05 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 31, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I wanted to write a quick review of the e-GMAT VL course.

I am taking the GMAT on 22-March and will see how it goes. I stumbled upon e-GMAT while browsing on the GMAT Club forum. Being a non-native speaker I knew verbal was my weak area. After reading reviews I decided to go with e-GMAT since its course is marketed for the non-natives.

I did find the SC course extremely useful it made me look at SC from a completely different perspective than what I used earlier. I do not totally follow the methodology preached by e-GMAT on CR but I do find the strategy quite helpful if you can make it a habit to follow the process.

The workshops that e-GMAT conducts are also pretty helpful in simulating the test conditions and seeing how one respond to the pressure of answering the questions when the clock is ticking. It also helps you evaluate where you stand in your preparation for the actual GMAT.

Overall I would recommend the course especially the SC and CR. Not commenting on the RC course because I have not used it much and I think you have to come up with your own strategy that works best for you. There is not one strategy that fits all options in this section.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
July 08 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By RajanGanti joined: January 27, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I took this course sometime in Jan, 2014. Was very skeptical about an online course. But e-GMAT course proved otherwise. It is very useful for all non native speakers. Even though I haven't given my exam yet, I can see a tremendous improvement of 8-10 points in Verbal.

Software used for the training is pretty fluid. Instructors are knowledgeable. Approach is very structured.
The best part that I liked about e-GMAT is that for any given question, instructors not only explain why a given answer choice is right but also explain why a given answer choice is not right.

It is very important to know why an answer choice is incorrect.


I would suggest e-GMAT for all non native speakers especially SENTENCE CORRECTION.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


e-GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
73 points
International Student Score Improvement
75 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
80%
Save $546
Best e-GMAT Discounts
+$296 coupon code discount
+$250 bonus offer
Get e-GMAT Promo Code