e-GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1127]
    Average Rating:       (4.7/5)
Courses
Find by:  
e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep [461]
    
e-GMAT Quant Live Prep [121]
    
e-GMAT Verbal Online [545]
    
 
e-GMAT Course Reviews
World's first prep course designed to help non-natives level the playing field and score higher on GMAT Verbal. e-GMAT's methods and strategies help non-natives improve 5+ points on GMAT Verbal.  Includes Basic & Advanced Concepts – 30+ hrs of audio visual content, Proprietary framework for non-natives, 24-hr Expert Personalized support, Largest Question Bank (200+) and GMAT Strategy Live Sessions (6 hrs). Get a great deal on e-GMAT courses with GMAT Club

GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By san750 0 0
Verified Score:

750

Q49

V42

Improvement:

70 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Online
Location: Online

I first attempted the GMAT in 2012 and scored a 680 (Quant:49, Verbal: 34). After 4 years of sitting on that score, I decided to retake the GMAT and my target score was 750. To achieve this score, I knew I had to significantly improve my performance on the verbal section. Before I joined a paid prep-course, I wanted to spend sometime preparing on my own and seeing how it goes.After 2 weeks of flying solo, I realized my efforts lack direction and it is better to join a properly structured course. Classroom courses make sense to a lot of people, although in my experience they are only as good as the instructor taking your class. As I am living in a small town, I knew that the trainers available even at the renowned chain test-prep companies would not be too good. At this point I was fairly certain that I need to enroll myself in an online prep course. After a lot of apprehensions, I decided to give e-GMAT a try.
It was the best decision I made in my test prep. Let me just say that e-GMAT has decoded the mystery that GMAT verbal is for most non-natives. If you do their Sentence Correction module properly, you are set. I have become such a big fan of e-GMAT that I recommend the course to every aspirant I know. Though there is no magic pill to ace the GMAT, you can ensure the best possible returns from your effort if you take this course.
I reached my target score of 750 in a little over 2 months .

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by post count
     By iliavko 170 4
Self-reported Score:

600

Q44

V27

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Online
Location: Online

When I first did GMAT I barely looked at verbal, I was concerned with Quant. So I had 540 (Q35 V29). After this I was decided to improve my score and of course I had to drastically improve my Verbal. After some 2months and 200+ hours of Verbal preparation with eGmat, guess what I had? (Q44 V27)
How is this possible? I studied all their lessons applied the techniques did dozens and dozens of official questions and I get 2 points less? This is absolutely absurd and the only reason I see for such a disaster is that eGmat and their method are completely useless.

As it appears there is no way to study Verbal the "easy" way. So stay away from this "preparation" and take a serious course (that will probably cost you serious money too...)

And I find it very strange that they have a 4.7 stars ranking. Perhaps 90% of those who had good score never needed preparation in first place. And I bet that those who get bad scores as I did, don't bother to come here to give their review. Only those who had the score they wanted speak out.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [10]
1 Commented by egmat on June 08, 2016
Dear Ilia,

I am sorry that you have not done well on the test. However, the claims in your review are not based on facts. You mentioned that you completed the course, did everything that was offered, and spent over 200 hours on the course. None of these claims is true based on the data that we unearthed. Our course contains three components - learning, in place quizzes accompanying the learning content, and full length assessments in
Scholaranium. Overall, you have completed about 30% of all the content, cumulatively. I have mentioned the same to you in an email but I did not get a response. Hence, I had to paste my response here. Please read below for hard facts:

1. Learning Content: You have done about 50% of all the learning content. You have completed 76% of the Sentence Correction course, 66% of the Critical Reasoning course, and a mere 30% of the Reading Comprehension course.

2. Quizzes accompanying the learning content: Out of the 58 quizzes in the Verbal course, you have merely attempted 18. Out of these 18, you have scored less than 80% in 13. Hence, you have only performed satisfactorily on 8% (eight percent) of the concept quizzes.

3. Full length assessments in Scholaranium: You have completed less than 10% of the full length assessments.

The above is hard data that clearly shows that you were not as diligent as you should have been while studying the course. Also, it shows that you have not spent the 200 hours that you claim on the portal. In fact, based on the data above, I am quite confident that you have not even spent 100 hours since you have just logged in "66 times" since you completed your purchase.


Ilia, do you still think that your feedback is based on “objective facts”? Do you still see that there can be “no gaps” in your preparation despite the data above? Please understand that merely purchasing the course does not lead to improvement, you do need to study the course diligently.

Do you think you have been diligent? I don’t mind a negative review based on facts. However, I don’t see a reason for the same here since you have not completed the course. Every claim that you mentioned does not stand up to the facts.

Students who study our course diligently improve tremendously. We would not be in a position (1000+ reviews) in which we are had that not been the case. Please see a few such success stories below:

http://gmatclub.com/forum/450-670-in-3-months-impact-of-last-3-weeks-219803.html
http://gmatclub.com/forum/debrief-550-to-710-2-years-6-times-163623.html
http://gmatclub.com/forum/keep-the-fire-alive-trek-to-760-from-610-first-mock-208020.html

2 Commented by iliavko on June 09, 2016
I love how fiercely you defend your course and I love even more the facts you use to do it.
Well, if you want to get into a CR battle...

I have no idea on how you count the hours I spent studying, but I guess your formula must have some major mistakes. Just because I didn't complete all the content, it doesn't mean that I studied 200-X hours, so I have no idea on how you made these calculations. Obviously these numbers benefit your position though ;)
Also you should have take into account that a student doesn't only "study" when he\she is looking at your specific website. I spent many hours double-checking your course information on forums and OG questions to get another perspective of the content.
Your claims about the nº of hours I studied are simply ridiculous.

-As you can probably see in your data, and you could have mentioned this interesting fact, is that I started by completing your quizzes and then gave up on them. More on that, I completed all of the SC course and I didn't do the quizzes because those are of very poor quality.
Same goes to other eGmat questions, I didn't do them because I don't trust the quality of their writing.
I prefer to spend my time attempting OG questions. Those are 100% indisputably correct.

On what goes to CR and RC I have no idea on how your magic formula gave you those percentages, but rest assured that I have seen all of the content of CR and some 80% of RC. I didn't complete the RC because I wasn't convinced by your philosophy to approach it. Honestly it doesn't say anything that the other prep companies don't day.

Your comment only proves that all these criteria you (and many other prep companies) use to defend your course against critics is like on of those "warranties" on a travel bag. "30 years money-back guarantee!*" (*except: drops, theft, misuse, improper cleaning, change of pressure, etc etc etc). So no way these can be met by anyone and you always get some facts to attack any criticism.

Lastly, about the position of eGmat on the rankings. Let me tell you that all the companies have the same 4.6-4.8 ranking, a fact that I find to be very strange. Everyone loved their prep? Or only those who got high scores speak up? What about all those who don't get their scores? I don't see their opinions here.. No wonder that you get all defensive and use all the data you can put your hands on when someone finally comes here to give a different perspective of your preparation.

Extra: I learned more about SC from the 2h30min free video by Veritas than in 100h of SC by eGmat. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w8YVymgVTcg check it out, you'll find it interesting.

3 Commented by dalalaldilaimi on June 16, 2016
Extremely unprofessional comment. I am someone who purchased egmat just today and your claims don't make me want to give up at all. In fact, I had a skype call with one of the team members for 2 hrs today answering all of my questions!! Time is valuable and time is money and Manas gave me his time before I even purchased anything!!! That just shows how much they care. Haters are going to hate and from the numbers that egmat provided in their response here, I can say you're just making up stuff. By the way, I've watched a free video on SC verbed and verbing I believe and I got it in a matter of minutes. Super efficient and well done course. Keep the great work egmat!

P.S. You seem like you got some personal issues with egmat, grow up and solve them in email exchange instead of blasting it off here. Very unprofessional and rude of you.
4 Commented by iliavko on June 16, 2016
Yeah yeah sure, I will be expecting more random happy customers to show up here to say how happy they are with the course and how my comment is wrong lol. Good thing this is a business school forum and people here know what comment trolls are and how the industry works :)

Just one more piece of evidence that this course is a joke.
5 Commented by dalalaldilaimi on June 16, 2016
Toooooo funny dude!!! I have zero association with egmat. I found out about them recently. Google my name, I co founded an environmental company. How's that related to egmat?! LOL! Such a loser. You're wasting my time. Bye.
6 Commented by iliavko on June 16, 2016
Bye!
7 Commented by egmat on June 18, 2016
Dear iliavako,

I have summarized your comments in this review and responded to three different parts. Please read the below:

Part 1
“ilavko’s Claim in original review” After some 2months and 200+ hours of Verbal preparation “with eGmat,” guess what I had? (Q44 V27).
“Rajat’s Response” You could not have spent 200+ hours “on the course” because a) you did not finish the courses and b) you have logged in just “66 times”
“ilavko’s counter” I studied 200 hours because spent many hours double-checking your course information on forums and OG questions to get another perspective of the content.
“Rajat’s final counter”So essentially you may have spent 200 hours studying from “all resources” but you definitely did not spend 200 hours “on the course” which is consistent with my claim based on your attempt data in the course.

Here is what’s more surprising to me:
1. You claim to have started with a V29, yet you found the concept quizzes difficult in SC. In my 5 years of running this business, I have not seen a single student make that statement about the concept quizzes. Note, we have served 15,800+ students.
2. You found the questions objectionable, yet you never wrote to me about the same. I have no record of receiving an email from you.
3. You did not choose to get a refund on the course. We have a 7 days no questions asked refund policy. Note, the data shows that you did not perform well in many of your concept quizzes during the first 7 days of your subscription. I wonder why you did not ask for a refund at that time.

“Part 2”
“ilavko’s Question”How do you calculate the number of hours spent?
“Rajat’s Response”
Number of hours = (Number of concept files) X (Time per concept file) + (Number of quizzes) X (Time per quiz.)

The formula above is how anyone would do the math. It’s not designed to be “favorable to e-GMAT”. Note, this method is outlined in detail in the study plan that is provided to you with your purchase receipt so that you can plan your studies.

“Part 3”
“ilavko’s Claim” Extra: I learned more about SC from the 2h30min free video by Veritas than in 100h of SC by eGmat.
“Rajat’s Response” How can you spend 100 hours on SC course when the course itself is no more than 40 hours (that too for a V17 student) and you did not even finish the course. Also, the nature of your comment demonstrates your seriousness while doing the course.

“Part 4”
“ilavko’s Statement”
I love how fiercely you defend your course and I love even more the facts you use to do it.
Well, if you want to get into a CR battle...
“Rajat’s Response” Yes, that’s what Critical reasoning is for – arriving at a conclusion based on facts. A good argument is one in which the conclusion is based on facts + sound logic. Every review/reviewer should follow this because a logical review benefits everyone.

We spend upwards of 1500 hours every month enhancing our courses. Over the years, the success of our students has demonstrated the value that our course provides, and I am very proud of the product that I and my team have built. Can you critique it? Absolutely!! But please do it based on factual data and not on unsubstantiated claims. That’s all I ask.
8 Commented by iliavko on June 18, 2016
9 Commented by iliavko on June 18, 2016
The fact that you keep playing the blame-the-student card, insist on telling me your conditions of refund and some formulas that I am suppose to assume to be universally correct really shows how sketchy your company is!

Omg can you just admit that your course can be considered to be useless? You can't can you?

You are repeating the same arguments again and again. About some money back guarantee that nobody can ever use.. How am I supposed to know if your course is of any use in 7 days? Study 24h with no sleep and do my official GMAT to see how I perform or something?

I never said I find the quizzes difficult or whatever you mean by that anyways. I said I found them to be of low quality, I didn't want to spend time solving them and I switched to OG questions.

Why am I supposed to mail you if I find your questions to be of bad quality? Why should I bother? I just move on and start solving other questions, this is what people do, they don't like a product they just find another one, no one will send you mails to discuss the writing of questions...

Perhaps your magic formula should take into account that people pause the videos, watch them again and do external research while studying, so obviously the study time will extend far beyond what your formula tells. Can you tell for how long I was logged in during my 66 logins btw? No? Inconvenient data for you? How does that fit into your magic formula?

Do you assume that people watch your 40h SC course in one go? No replays? No external search?

As I said and I say it again, your conditions are like one of those life-time warranties with conditions that can't be met by anyone in the real world. And I say again that this is a B-school forum and the users here are aware of these practices and I find it very important to give my opinion on what your course actually did to my preparation (wasted a lot of precious time)

Honestly I am sick and tiered of spending time answering your claims based on blaming me for not sticking to your formulas and terms. My friend, this is the real world, not an Excel spreadsheet, things don't always work as you plan on paper. Your course failed miserably and all you can tell me are these canned arguments about not following your plan 100%.

Look, give up and move on. Make a better course and hire some quality content writers. You have typos in the course all over the place for christ's sake..
10 Commented by egmat on June 18, 2016
"Your comment" The fact that you keep playing the blame-the-student card, insist on telling me your conditions of refund and some formulas that I am suppose to assume to be universally correct really shows how sketchy your company is!.

Rajat's Response: I am not playing blame the student card!! Just simply stating that the course cannot help you improve if you do less than 40 percent of the course.

"Quality of Questions"
Below is a guy who scored 780 including a V50. Below is a student who score a V50 - a bit higher than you did and unlike you he found the quality of questions to be quite good.

http://gmatclub.com/forum/lessons-i-learnt-while-on-my-journey-to-a-780-q49-v50-220528.html

Note, this guy was not an e-GMAT student. He just got an offer to try our product out because he filled out a survey conducted by GMAT Club. Yet he benefited from the questions enough that he felt the need to mention the same.

BTW - the conditions of refund are simple. If you don't like the course, just let us know within the first 7 days and we will refund your purchase. You logged in about 15 times during the first 7 days which is enough to know whether you like the course or not.

What is "Blame the student"?

I would have agreed to your "Blame the student" comment had you completed 80%+ of the course "properly" (yes properly) and then not improved. You cannot just attempt 40% of the course loosely and then play blame the course card. That's not fair.



GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By thedetermined 0 0
Verified Score:

650

Q45

V34

Improvement:

60 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online

When I started preparing for GMAT, I thought completing Official guide would be sufficient for getting a decent score. However I was proved wrong when I scored a meagre V28 on the GMAT. I have always felt confident in quant but being a non native, Verbal on GMAT has always been my Achilles heel. I was contemplating on taking up formal online coaching and that is when one of my friend directed me to e-gmat. I immediately enrolled into the Verbal Live course and it helped me immensely. I improved from V28 to V34 after I took e-gmat Verbal Live prep course. I have not yet got my desired score and would be writing the GMAT again. I am now using the e-gmat Verbal Live course as a refresher for my revisions and I hope that I can get within the periphery of my target score when I write the GMAT again.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
e-GMAT
May 16 | 2016
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By saraninder 0 0
Improvement:

N/A

Quant:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Quant Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Harsh Bhardwaj

As an engineer, I was quite confident about quant. But, later realised that it isn’t that simple.
e-GMAT provided a complete refresher of all the concepts along with the various different types of examples
The Quant course offered by eGMAT is very comprehensive and goes into detail on every top that is tested on GMAT Quant. The quizzes and the multitude of questions at the end of each topic are very helpful in understanding how the concepts are tested.

the instructors are very prompt if you address any query. The general quizzes, the test scores are very apt to the GMAT score and to understand your score level and the loop holes while attempting the tests
I would definitely recommend e-GMAT's to everyone

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
e-GMAT
May 16 | 2016
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By saraninder 0 0
Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Shraddha Jaiswal

e-GMAT's Verbal definitely the best verbal prep course I've taken. The analytical approach to verbal questions. e-GMAT's 3 step process is a must, and the videos sessions make it easier for you to learn and remember the concepts. It provides the complete coverage of questions.

The forum is also very useful, any questions are answered within a day and the explanation is very clear and easy to understand

For those of you who are weak in verbal, e-GMAT provides a logical approach which is easy to understand and remember.

I would definitely recommend e-GMAT's course to anyone who wants to ace GMAT verbal

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By alps0905 0 0
Improvement:

40 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Online
Location: Online

In my previous GMAT attempt, I scored high in quant but had a low score in the verbal section, which pulled my overall score down. I am retaking the exam this year and I have decided to take the help of e-Gmat (as recommended by a friend who score 760 overall)!
I must say that I am throughly impressed by e-GMAT's techniques and methods of attempting problems especially in the Sentence Correction part. The three step approach to solving a question - meaning analysis, error analysis and options analysis is a beautiful strategy that can help one solve any SC question with a decent accuracy. Not only this, the concept of takt time can be used to monitor one's performance and confidently skip some questions, and still get a high score. Having mastered my speed, I am currently looking to improve my accuracy. Yet another product 'Scholaranium' (a part of the Verbal Online Course) provides me with a good set of practice question and helps me to understand my areas of improvement. I would strongly recommend non-native English speakers to give e-GMAT a try!

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By sva2300 3 11
Self-reported Score:

730

Q50

V41

Improvement:

70 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Online
Location: Online

E-Gmat has one of the best verbal courses out there in the market. As a non native ( English ) this course helped me understand the intricate details in the language which helped me through out Sentence Correction.

The techniques through which they approach a given problem..( Yes i mean problem !!..Thats how one should attack every Verbal question in my opnion ) is very calculated and to the point. These techniques certainly help you to solve the question very quickly and save time. My timing improved by 6 full minutes.!!

A big thanks for their detailed videos, which can viewed again and again at your ease.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By nirav2610 3 0
Verified Score:

710

Q50

V37

Improvement:

160 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Online
Location: Online

Flashback to July 2015: I have just returned from the test center after a forgettable GMAT, one that has raised serious questions over my basic knowledge of the English Language.
I was determined to make amends and by a happy coincidence, I came across E-GMAT on a certain gmat-club forum. What struck me about them back then was the simple procedure they used to arrive at VA solutions regardless of the question/question-type.
As a result, I further attended a few webinars and eventually decided to enroll to e-gmat Verbal Online course.A few lessons in, I was able to see a change in my approach towards GMAT questions. With regular practise, I learnt to apply [Logical Diagram - Prethink - Evaluate Answer Choices] effectively to all verbal question types and this simple practice helped improve my accuracy in a major way.
The course for VOL is broken down into several chapters with a mix of videos and PDFs, all of which contributed to a healthy learning experience. What I most enjoyed during my preparation was the pre-quiz & post-quiz for every chapter. These exercises along with the solution analyses really help with one's self-assessment(They helped in my case atleast and I was able to set targets for myself).
I was particularly impressed with the CR & RC sections of the course, the level of the questions in the practice files of these sections was spot on with regard to GMAT and I believe solving these helped me overcome my fear of the GMAT environment.
However, it is worth mentioning that a lower average response time to queries would be preferable. They take about 2 days to respond to queries, as of now.
All this said, I would certainly recommend e-gmat verbal to anyone who's looking for a carefully structured course to help prepare for the GMAT.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
E-Gmat is the real deal
May 15 | 2016
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By rakeshanand77777 0 0
Verified Score:

650

Q49

V30

Improvement:

110 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Online
Location: Online

When i started preparing for GMAT, One of the major decision to be made was to select an online course which can help me in building my concepts and approach ,and understanding question types and unique ways to solve them. E-Gmat not only helped me get all the above but more. I took its Verbal online course and below is a brief review of my experience.

E-gmat has a unique approach to SC. It first builds your concept and afterwards help you apply them in various types of questions. One thing i can say for sure is the methodology is amazing and it helped me in improving my accuracy from 40% to 85%.

Moving on to CR, The most highlighting point will be the Pre-Thinking step. The introduction to various types of questions and concepts is really good. I got a hang of it quite quickly but its Scholaranium helped further enhance my ability to solve questions.

In RC Section of E-Gmat, It has divided the various Essay types such as Buisiness, Eonomics , Bio Science and etc. These Various types of essay helps you in getting acquainted to every type of essay question asked in GMAT.

All the above, The Scholaranium is the best i would say. All the questions give you ample much of practice and help you get best statistics.
I hope my review will help people in making a crucial decision.
Thanks E-Gmat

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By anisheld 0 0
Verified Score:

720

Q50

V38

Improvement:

80 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Online
Location: Online

I was actively looking for courses online for my verbal preparation. Since I have graduated from one of the top engineering colleges in India, I never faced issues with quant section. Without much efforts I was scoring in the range of 49 - 51. However my pain point was the verbal section. I did not have proper structure in place for verbal preparation. Also, I could never develop the confidence of reaching a point where I could say that I would score > 35 in the verbal section. In fact I was constantly scoring in the range of 26-30 in this section. I had exhausted all the study materials I had such as the Manhattan SC guide, Manhattan cr guide and some other materials which I found online. Such was my frustration level that I decided to put my preparation on hold as there was uncertainty of my score in the verbal section despite my sincere efforts. Then I stumbled upon eGMAT verbal online course on facebook. I realised that there were a bunch of people who were in the same boat as I was with strong quant skills but weak verbal skills, but with eGMAT's assistance had sailed through all the hurdles. I just took the decision of going ahead with this course. I think this step single handedly changed the course of my preparation.

Here are the positive points about the course. In case a student is facing trouble in the verbal section, try eGMAT for the following reasons.
1) Great quality content: The team has created online video courses for each and every important section thats important from GMAT prep perspective with very nice illustrations and top quality examples.
2) Online test platform : eGMAT provides its users with a tool called scholarium which is a very powerful platform to analyse ones performance/progress after one completes certain topics. Additionally it lets you set the topics you would specifically like to be tested on with attributes such as time, sub section, etc. Highly effective in my case. I used it extensively by filtering questions based on the topics I wasn't good at and started tracking my progress.
3) Expert's help: Whenever you are in doubt, you could write to them and you can expect a reply in just 2-3 days with concept clearing answers.
4) SC : The team provides a secret sauce particularly in this section. Honestly I started enjoying solving SC questions. I reached a very high accuracy rate for SC questions.
5) Study plan : The eGMAT team also provides its users with a study plan. This is also very effective as it defines your goals for the course of your preparation.
6) Very economical : The verbal online course is priced at a very reasonable rate compared to products offered by eGMAT's competitors.

Please register for eGMAT if you are struggling with verbal section. Haven't tried their quant but I can vouch for their verbal section. Trust me. I have seen ample materials online but none comes close to the quality which eGMAT provides.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]


e-GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
70 points
International Student Score Improvement
70 points
Verbal
97%
Quant
91%
Most Reviewed e-GMAT GMAT Instructors
Payal Tandon [155]
    
Rajat Sadana [151]
    
Shraddha Jaiswal [70]
    
Krishna Chaitanya [59]
    
Japinder Kaur [35]
    
Save Up To $450
Best e-GMAT Discounts
+$200 coupon code discount
+$250 bonus offer
Get e-GMAT Promo Code