e-GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [776]      Average Rating:       (4.7/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
 
e-GMAT Course Reviews
World's first prep course designed to help non-natives level the playing field and score higher on GMAT Verbal. e-GMAT's methods and strategies help non-natives improve 5+ points on GMAT Verbal.  Includes Basic & Advanced Concepts – 30+ hrs of audio visual content, Proprietary framework for non-natives, 24-hr Expert Personalized support, Largest Question Bank (200+) and GMAT Strategy Live Sessions (6 hrs). Get a great deal on e-GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Good course overall but not for Last minute spike in score ( 580 v 25:( )
August 14 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by membership
       By coolsrini1981 joined: August 5, 2006 | 4 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
Hi

Let me start with my GMAT score which was dismal 580 v 25.
Now, the reason why i am still rating eGMAT higher is because i felt that the concepts were properly and extensively captured in a simplistic manner. Only thing i would disagree is that one could increase the GMAT score simply within 2-3 weeks prior to taking the GMAT. This was actually a misconception based on which i subscribed for this course with 3 weeks to spare for my actual GMAT and the result is now proven. I actually bought just the SC course in April 2015 but not sure how much it helped since i dont know the breakdown of my SC score. My previous GMAT score was 620 so this was a drop for me unfortunately

Having said that, I would still say that eGMAT fares better than many of its competitors and anyone native/non-native should try it well in advance of taking actual GMAT though. Its Quant online course is underrated but more comprehensive, clear and useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
E-GMAT for quantitatively gifted users
August 22 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By Rajeev1981 joined: November 13, 2010 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
Review of E-GMAT

To be honest, compared to the approach taken by most non-native students, I had a different plan. When I first started preparing from the GMAT I decided to decode the test. If anyone even cursorily goes over the scoring matrix, he or she will realize that on GMAT the importance or the sensitivity of one’s quant score is less than the sensitivity of the verbal score. One’s overall GMAT percentile score will closely reflect one’s verbal percentile score. Scoring a 49/50 on quant will impact your score but not that much, but scoring a 37-40 will boost your score immensely. Therefore, I decided to start working on verbal first and spent 70 pct of my time preparing for verbal.
When I started with verbal I found two things: verbal really is a test of your logical and critical reasoning and the test makers want you to know the nuances of grammar usage. So I started looking for a training course which was taught these skills.
When I came across E-GMAT I found that it fit the bill perfectly.

In E-GMAT, the concepts are explained lucidly and numerous examples are provided. I thoroughly enjoyed the section tests. They did not focus on SC from a grammar point of view, rather they emphasized meaning first – that’s really important. Then, they provided numerous drills for each section of the test: parallel structure, comparisons, S-V agreement etc.. I have always believed in the adage – “practice makes a man perfect”. I also liked their quant classes, and they rightly focus on number properties. They remove a lot of the clutter and drill those concepts which will be tested. On test day, number properties will be tested heavily so one needs to master that if one hopes to do well. E-GMAT again comes up trumps on doing that.

Their unique method of delivering classes online makes it easy for students to study those classes even when they are working. Their support team responds almost instantly, which is a big plus. Rajat also provides support and inputs personally which tells me that he is totally involved in this and he loves to see his students succeed.

I really hate the term non-native, so I would much rather use the term “Quantitatively gifted”. For quantitatively gifted students, I would strongly recommend both the E-GMAT quant and verbal sections. Even though we assume that we know quant, the test’s orientation is different therefore, it makes a lot of sense to get direction from an expert. On the verbal side, by studying the E-GMAT courses, one can build a repertoire of skills and techniques so essential to success on the test.
Finally, trust Rajat’s inputs, he puts a lot of time researching the test content, the scoring pattern and his team so far has its eyes right on the money! I wish all students great success on the GMAT. For the quantitatively gifted students like me, believe in yourself - you can kill the verbal section and E-GMAT will show you how to do it.

For team E-GMAT: Keep it going guys I wish you all great success in the future as well.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Importance of process!!!
May 26 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by membership
       By Anonymous joined: May 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online |
Being a re-taker it was really difficult to re-start my preparation as earlier, I was very low in confidence while solving the verbal questions. So, I decided to join the verbal live course of e-gmat after attending one of the free webinars.
Honestly, all the sections of verbal were my weakness but SC being the weakest. Starting my preparation with SC I learned the 3-step process of solving the SC questions. So slowly but steadily my confidence boosted and I fearlessly started attacking even complex sentences. To understand the meaning first, then look for the errors and finally POE was really important to solve the SC questions. Key was to rigorously sticking to the PROCESS.
Then for CR, the process of pre-thinking really improved my accuracy in solving the CR especially assumption and evaluate type questions. It is really important to take out 15-20 secs for pre-thinking after understanding the argument before jumping to POE. Pre-thinking is very much important and essential to solve the CR questions. 15-20 secs saved around 45-60 secs of my time.
While solving the RC passages I learned the importance of active reading and paragraph wise understanding. This really boosted my confidence to solve the inference and main idea type questions.
Finally, the question bank of Scholaranium was like the icing on the cake. Over 600 numbers of different GMAT like questions along with different level were really important to know my accuracy and ability level. In Scholaranium, I could create my own verbal test to check my level and to know how much more time I should give to what section. I would really recommend all the GMAT takers to go for this particular course.!! All the best.. 
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT -- Good
January 10 | 2012

       By eastcoastrocks joined: July 1, 2011 | 3 | 8 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Shraddha Jaiswal
It was clear that I needed to focus on Verbal. I read somewhere on this forum about a divide and rule strategy suggested by egmat. It made sense. I registered for their course and attended their live session to understand their approach in more detail. I looked up my previous mock test scores and realized that I needed to improve the most on my SC, and then CR. RC needed some improvement but not as much as CR. I devoted the next 2 weeks to improve SC; read the MGMAT SC again for the first 5 days and then did the eGMAT SC course for the remaining. Gave MGMAT mock (#3) and score 36 on verbal (12/15 SC, 8/14 CR, 8/12 RC). Was happy with my progress. Devoted the next 5 days to complete the egmat SC course. Then spent the next 10 days on CR (Powerscore and eGMAT) . Gave the mock test on 18th August and scored 39 (12/14 SC, 11/14 CR, 9/12 RC). Was happy to see that I was progressing. Decided to concentrate on RC for the next 10 days. Re-did OG 12 and Verbal review, looked for explanations on questions that I was not sure of. Reviewed my mistakes in the mock test. This time I scored 42, with very few mistakes (5 or 6 incorrect). I still had a couple of weeks before my exam. I revised my mistakes on the mock, the egmat course, certain sections of the MGMAT SC guide, and did OG(only the toughest problems) once again. I also spent some time on number properties to further improve my quant.
Was this review helpful to you?
   
1 Commented by vomhorizon on December 18, 2012
I have finished around 50% of the SC course from E-GMAT and here are my views so far. As a stand alone product it is quite a good resource for the price ( especially when bundled with RC, IR, CR and grockit) however for those like me that have covered the SC guide books (MGMAT or PS/Veritas etc) their may not be much of a stimulation as far as new material, or tactics concerned..In fact to expect such a thing will be unwise as most of the text books do a good job at teaching Grammar that the GMAT covers and so does the E-Gmat instructor... I would have liked some more GMAT like questions..Maybe give 10-15 questions per section instead of the usual 4-6 .. If you are all ready scoring around the 75th percentile, and are good in SC then the E-GMAT will not help you much. I was in that range, and most of the topics were revision for me. I started off wit the diagnostic test and scored a 86%. I decided to go ahead and continue my paid subscription for it seemed like a great revision resource, and i hated going back to the SC book that i have all ready covered 2-3 times.. Along the way, i was able to pin point areas of weaknesses in SC, which i would not have been able to do unless i took multiple CAT's.... Overall i think the SC course is great to start of with (Starting SC prep ) and not a bad revision tool for those that are scoring 70+ percent in the diagnostic and have covered prep material once..For those that do need a major push in SC i would recomend going over the basic grammar books, as it is unlikely that the E-GMAT course will offer anything new. Overall, my rating would be 3 on 5..I would have liked more GMAT like practice questions for the price , or at least a practice question bank. I would also recomend their test makers to lay off fromthe WSJ and Mayan civilization articles as i would love to read about topics that are a bit more diverse (this is where the GMAT is super - at presenting topics in SC, CR and RC that are interesting to read )..
 
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
e-GMAT SC - Good and user-friendly
January 12 | 2012

       By chaitanyadawer joined: January 27, 2011 | 26 | 9 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
The thing about e-GMAT is that it is user friendly as both audio and visual aid the process of learning. You should enroll if are having trouble in SC. First, try the free version and then decide. Approximately, one - third of the course is free.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT -- Good, but has it shortcomings
January 12 | 2012

       By ghumanaman joined: June 25, 2011 | 20 | 9 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
a. Pros

i. Great for SC - It is an excellent resource for preparing for SC, especially for someone like me who was stuck at 33. The process explained in application files really works. The process is reinforced in all these files since all questions are solved using this method.

ii. Extremely Detailed - The course is very detailed, almost as detailed as MGMAT SC, but a lot more practical.

iii.Great for CR too - Even though I was pretty good with CR, this course help me improve the confidence and brought the next level of clarity. In fact it employs some extremely unique features in paradox and bold face concepts.

iv. Flexibility- I could access lessons anywhere and anytime. (But I missed seeing a live person here. Yes I did miss Jen here)

v. Easy to get questions answered - It is easy to post doubts in the forum and best thing is that we get responses pretty quick and that too from the course creators.

b. Cons

i. Does not offer complete GMAT course. It only offers SC and CR. It does not even cover complete verbal course since it does not have RC.

ii. Forums are not as convenient as BTG forum. But I did bring this up with them and they understood the shortcomings. Hopefully they will do something about it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
e-GMAT SC -- Try it, you won't be disappointed
January 12 | 2012

       By ftuzzo joined: October 6, 2010 | 20 | 15 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
I found out about this course reading other suggestions on the books on this forum. Those Egmat guys made a great job. SC looks like doing math. The way they break down the grammar rules tested on the gmat helped me to assimilate them in an easier and faster way. I would strongly recommended the SC course and for 50$ it is real deal. If I knew it before I would have save some time. Classes are short and the way they analyze your preparation helps you to focus on your SC weakness way better than any other course for SC. GIVE IT a TRY..Sure you will not be disappointed. Btw I am Italian and English is my second language.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT -- Really Awesome
January 12 | 2012

reviewer identity verified by post count
       By vinayrsm joined: April 14, 2011 | 199 | 21 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
SC course - Awesome +++ really Awesome. I only started this course from last week of Aug and could only do the concepts and exercises once and regret not being able to do them second time. This is worth every penny esp. for non-natives. [edit] CR course - I could not complete this course (as I purchased this part towards the end mainly to review concepts). I did have some additional learning while doing this course esp. Pre-thinking part!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
e-GMAT -- The course helped me immensely in all SC/CR/RC
January 12 | 2012

       By beatTheVerbal joined: August 2, 2011 | 7 | 4 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
A few months back I stumbled upon Aman’s testimonial where he mentioned e-GMAT for Verbal. I took the course based on his advice. The course helped me immensely in all SC/CR/RC. In SC, it changed my approach of solving SC... and I started concentrating in meaning first and then think of grammar. Just doing that made all the tools that I had learned from MGMAT immensely more useful. Another bonus that the course provided was a vast pool of questions. There were a lot of questions that you could not solve unless you understood the meaning (like those with multiple grammatically correct answer choices). Moreover, live sessions with Payal (the e-GMAT instructor, also active on BTG) were similar to live sessions with Ron where she would help you solve immensely difficult problems.

One more Aha moment that I had was that once you improve SC, it automatically impacts other sections positively, especially if you are following the right methods, kind of like knowledge of trigonometry and algebra helped me solve Integration problems in schools. The improvement in SC helped me do well in CR. As I started reading sentences for their meanings, I was able to infer choices better which helped me discern the correct choice from the wrong ones. Earlier, I was quite scared of the bold face question, but after going through the e-GMAT concept I solved every bold face problem correctly. Part of it was the more structured approach that the course gave but another part of it was also the fact that I was reading things better.

One under-rated area in CR is prethinking. Prethinking is very important to doing CR questions correctly. It is difficult initially but can be learned if you spend time on it. It really helped me improve my CR accuracy on difficult problems. This is one thing that I would recommend to all the non natives.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT -- I want to thank e-gmat for such brilliant materials
January 12 | 2012

       By nixfornit joined: March 30, 2010 | 18 | 8 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Krishna Chaitanya
I found some excellent reviews of e-gmat - the company I've never heard of. It specializes in SC and CR for not native speakers. The courses is just about 50$ each. So, I've decided to make a final attempt and try e-gmat.

I was really surprised to find A LOT OF new material about SC even after I've read SC MGMAT at least 3 times and thought that I knew everything about grammar. E-gmat was really helpful. They explain in detail not just rules but exact rules that are tested on GMAT and give very precise and comprehensive explanation of every question of OG 12. After the course I didn't have any questions that I could not understand in SC. I want to thank e-gmat for such a brilliant materials and especially the way they are presented.

On the day of exam I was relaxed and didn't hope to see any improvement. I have decided that this will be the last time I take exam, no matter what. How surprised I was to see 680 (q45 v38!!!). I think that the improvement in verbal part was possible only because of excellent materials of e-gmat. Unfortunately, I was not able to repeat my best score in quant - 47, that could give me 700 with 38 in verbal part, but I'm happy anyway.

I want to thank GMATCLUB for excellent website and math tests and e-gmat for their SC materials.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


e-GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
70 points
International Student Score Improvement
70 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
80%
Save $546
Best e-GMAT Discounts
+$296 coupon code discount
+$250 bonus offer
Get e-GMAT Promo Code