e-GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [338]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
 
e-GMAT Course Reviews
World's first prep course designed to help non-natives level the playing field and score higher on GMAT Verbal. e-GMAT's methods and strategies help non-natives improve 5+ points on GMAT Verbal.  Includes Basic & Advanced Concepts – 30+ hrs of audio visual content, Proprietary framework for non-natives, 24-hr Expert Personalized support, Largest Question Bank (200+) and GMAT Strategy Live Sessions (6 hrs). Get a great deal on e-GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
e-gmat SC is a GREAT!
March 18 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Samwong joined: September 12, 2010 | 209 | 16 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
One of the common factors that I read from other test takers, who scored over 700, were their ability to master the Sentence Correction. In order to be successful in SC, you have to not only solve the question correctly, but also solve it under a minute. By doing so, it will allow you to have more time to solve RC and CR questions. Thus, I have focused a considerable amount of time on SC.

Many people on the GC forum have recommended MGMAT SC and Aristotle SC, and so those are the books that I used to build my SC fundamentals. However, my OG SC accuracy was only about 70% after I have studied extensively through those two books. In addition, I was not able to solve SC questions in under a minute; most SC questions took me about 3-4 minutes to solve. Thus, I began to look for online courses that would help me improve SC.

Luckily, I found e-gmat SC. First, I signed up for their free-trial, and after I finished it, I decided to purchase the SC course. I love the way that the couse is stuctured. There are three levels in the course. In order to access the higher level contents, you have to take a quiz and get a certain amount of points. Many of the concepts are discussed in the MGMAT SC guide. However, it really help me understand those concepts when I HEAR and SEE them from an instructor. e-gamt's three-steps process really helps me understand how to approach SC systematically. My SC accuracy and speed has improved greatly.

There are some negatives about the courses. The instructor is an India-speaker. Thus, it does take time to get used to her accent. Also, there are some questions that are based on India culture, and so it could be difficult for non-India students to understand the meaning of the sentence. Finally, there are some questions that are not GMAT format, but they are still helpful because they reinforce the concepts.

Overall, I am very happy with the course, and I feel more confident about SC. Thanks e-gmat!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
NOT just for Non Natives - BEST SC weapon out there!
April 04 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By zueswoods joined: November 1, 2011 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
When I started the E-GMAT trial, within the first 20 minutes, I knew I just stumbled upon a goldmine.

I was struggling with verbal throughout my prep scoring around V32-33 and my only problem was SC. The first thing I did was by the MGMAT SC book (the bible) which in all honestly is a great book. It covers topics welll, and the examples are good (probably 8/10)... however it didnt work. The reason MGMAT didnt work was because its like reading a text book, they teach you all these fancy terminology which you dont really need....what you do need is HOW TO APPLY these techniques ... *enter* E-GMAT.

E-GMAT was great! Although I didn't do as well on my official gmat as planned my verbal score was 38 (my target).

However my quant score unfortunately killed me. I am a finance and economics major, and I got a little cocky about the quant.

The owners (or creators) of E-GMAT are wonderful. They are incredibly helpful and take a personal interest in their students. After my official GMAT I was really depressed, and NOT because of verbal, but because of Quant (something E-GMAT doesnt cover). And yet they were incredibly helpful, and managed to boost my confidence and get me going again!

I will go through E-GMAT again and I am confident my verbal next time will be around 40.

Bottom line:
THE BEST SC tool out there! It is NOT just for Non Natives, it is for EVERYONE trying to perfect SC.

5/5
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
e-gmat SC
July 08 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By avi123 joined: April 19, 2011 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
I have used the e-gmat SC extensively for months before my exam. The SC course does the most thorough job of explaining every topic you will find on the SC portion of the GMAT. The videos are very easy to understand and the product is a great way to truly master the fundamentals of gmat grammar.
I would recommend this product for anyone, beginner or advanced for mastery of SC. The methods used are cutting edge and the structure of the course is set up in a way to develop and grow to new levels.

Through e-gmat I was able to improve my verbal score from 33 to 41!

e-gmat is the future of gmat test prep and I look forward to seeing the company grow in the future.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Reading Comprehension Course
May 03 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By rohitsghosh joined: December 24, 2010 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
I would definitely recommend e-GMAT RC course for every GMAT aspirant especially non-natives. I have improved my accuracy from 50% to 80%. All the credit to e-GMAT RC course. One major difference in comparison to other courses is the way RC is taught in this program. The method is very scientific and easy to understand & apply. The audio and visual feature of the course is amazing and make the student to get involved in the course. In a way, the method helps you to recognize a pattern in GMAT RC's and subsequently helps you to increase your accuracy tremendously.

The course is complete value for money and is highly recommended for all those aiming to score more than 35 in Verbal in GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Worth every dime!
May 08 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By yogesh1984 joined: December 12, 2010 | 282 | 32 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
Good part- Quite good approach to solve the problem, quality of questions is pretty good, equal emphasis on removing all the wrong answers is interesting part & hooked me to the course, build up is nice, interface works quite well.

Not so good part- even though I did not had much chance to interact & ask questions, but on one occasion I was told that please do not ask question other than official one's or the their own. After my reply on that post, I feel they could sense the repercussion so no retort came..on other 1 or 2 occasions I had questions which I wrote to admin E-gmat but did not get reply neither I followed up because things were moving quite fast at my end and I had registered at almost end of the my study plan (@25th Mar). so I feel E-gmat may have little scope to improve on customer service- may be my case is just an exception but this is just my experience. Also couple of quiz questions can be safely retired as Q's based on Idioms are phased out by GMAC now.

In all I would assign 4/5 to this course.

Disclaimer- Generally, I am a miser at admiring. If you are signing up a course for a guarantee of +x points, please do not fool yourself. NO course (yeah I mean it) can do that for you, it's you who has to work on it, the course can ONLY help you so much ..best case as a catalyst.. Hope you find this review useful in your prep. If any specific Q, please shoot out via pm or otherwise, I 'll be happy to respond.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-gamt is the IDEAL and PERFECT course for anyone aims at 700+ score
May 17 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By amirdubai1982 joined: December 19, 2009 | 41 | 35 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 140 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
The e-gmat Live sessions and Live courses are worth every single cent spent. The course is designed to teach each topic in a wise and timed way which enables me to save lot in time and enhances my accuracy.

Live classes are so so so great with VERY Professional instructors who are amazing in Verbal especially, Payal and Rajat. These guys are awesome in SC, CR and RC. The SC live sessions, as well as the courses, are really perfect to give you a 700+ score while each topic is covered with high-tech and and easy-to-recall rules. Believe me you just simply can't find any better Verbal course(specially SC) other than e-gmat. In my opinion it is even much better than MGMAT SC Guide while this online course is 24/7/365 with you anywhere. All topics are covered with many OG examples solved by these Gurus at e-gmat. I've read many different Verbal books available in the market and this is the most complete and up-to-date source and at the same time the price does make sense compared to tutor and live sessions available within GMAT market.

I would highly recommend e-gmat to anybody who is very serious about doing well on the GMAT. A complete source of OG questions along with live 24 support is with you till your 700+!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
No more Achilles’ heel..
May 16 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 12, 2011 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
I have used the e-GMAT Reading Comprehension course and found it awesome.(No, seriously). My RC skills are as bad as one can imagine. My accuracy has scaled from 30% to 80%(as of today). Here are a few Pros and Cons(just one) of the course.

Pros:
a) User Friendly
b) Crisp presentation
c) Narrative method
d) Reasonable price
e) Perfect understanding of the subject
f) Periodic milestones
g) last and the best - Sure shot improvement

Cons:
Except for the Indianised feel to the course, I haven't found any.

If you are a non-native speaker and if you are struggling with RC, then e-GMAT RC Course is the One. I scored a dismal 670 with a V31 and am hoping to do great in my second attempt.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good and reliable Course,
June 18 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By jieugmatclub joined: July 3, 2009 | 21 | 3 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 60 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
e-Gmat course is something that a non-native should try if he/she is scoring low and is serious about improving the verbal score.

I started with the SC course and must say it was extremely useful. The course is detailed and it focus entirely on the fundamentals of SC and the concepts tested in GMAT.

After completing the course my accuracy rate increase to 90% my verbal score increased by 9 points. A word of caution, to see a substantial improvement on verbal score firstly, one need to have a good grasp of the fundamental and application of the concepts tested on GMAT and secondly one needs to be naturally good in comprehension and should be a good test taker. e-GMAT will help you on the first part, for the second part, one need to improve on his/her own.

Pros: 1. The course focuses on the core sentence structure and meaning of the sentences, which is essential to crack SC question.

2. Multimedia based tutorial. Very easy to comprehend and retain the concepts learnt.

3. Very handy to revise the concepts and it became very important resource for me to revise at the end of my study phase and revision is easy and quick. One can only refer to the summary files.

Cons:
1. The application crashed sometimes.

2. Could include more GMAT like question in the tutorial.

After finishing the course I also bought the OG Verbal Review Videos. It was extremely useful as it gives the step-by-step approach to crack the Official question. When ever I feel a little low about SC I just go through the video explanation of few question from this tutorial (OG Verbal Review Videos), and believe me it was a real confidence booster.

CR- course did not work for me though. Using e-GMAT method, I was taking more time to solve CR questions, but many have find it useful in this forum, I guess its more of a personal choice and to experiment different methods as to what works better for you. You can try the free tutorials and decide whether you want to take the course, many find it useful.

Overall, I think e-GMAT course is definitely a reliable verbal course especially for the non-natives and for those who are struggling with verbal score. I highly recommend it, and one can see a good point increment in verbal section of GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
The best course for Indians, helped me get to 750
June 27 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By kdas joined: December 13, 2011 | 22 | 12 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online |
e-GMAT Verbal live Prep is one of the most comprehensive verbal courses I have come across. I gave GMAT twice, the first time I used MGMAT SC books and Knewton course and scored 660. The sentence correction shocked me.

Once I started with the e-GMAT course I realized how much I did not know in Sentence correction even after having gone through MGMAT SC twice. It also covered way more material than the Knewton course. Also e-GMAT has a very strong emphasis on meaning and meaning change which is very useful in the real exam.

Similarly their RC course is a game changer. They have dedicated concepts on how to read a passage efficiently and respond to the answer choices. My RC accuracy improved to 80% after this course even for difficult passages. Previously, I got only 60% of the questions correct.

Their live sessions were a lot more intense than the Knewton live sessions. They covered more material and had more in-depth discussions. I would attribute 7-8 point improvement to this course. (You can see my debrief for more details)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Non-Natives: Verbal Prep is incomplete without E-gmat
August 16 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By vatsas joined: March 10, 2011 | 100 | 27 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
I give a majority of credit to E-gmat team for the leap in my verbal score - yes the verbal score jumped from 67%ile to 88%ile. I made multiple wrong choices in my GMAT journey but e-gmat was worth the money.

I had done exhaustive preparation for GMAT but knew that there were gaps. Even after going through the SC bible,MGMAT SC, I could not fill in those gaps. I took the exam and the fissures were exposed.I got 33 in Verbal.

When I restarted my prep I came across the e-gmat course. I tried it and I loved it. The course was different from it's competitors.
-The content was rich, well documented with examples.
-It had option of on demand and live classes unlike other courses.
-The course was delivered in audio-visual mode and was interactive.
- The course was divided in levels and the application files in conjunction with post quiz cemented the concepts beautifully.
- Lastly, it covered the nuances the other courses failed to cover such as Ing Modifier, As vs Like, Bold CR, etc.

To add to it Rajat was very helpful in pointing out some issues with my prep.

Overall, I would give E-gmat a rating of 11 out of 10. I hope that E-gmat keeps up its good work. Rajat, Payal and E-gmat team - E-gmat course is a job well done!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


e-GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
74 points
International Student Score Improvement
76 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
80%
Save $546
Best e-GMAT Discounts
+$296 coupon code discount
+$250 bonus offer
Get e-GMAT Promo Code