e-GMAT GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [212]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
 
e-GMAT Course Reviews
World's first prep course designed to help non-natives level the playing field and score higher on GMAT Verbal. e-GMAT's methods and strategies help non-natives improve 5+ points on GMAT Verbal.  Includes Basic & Advanced Concepts – 30+ hrs of audio visual content, Proprietary framework for non-natives, 24-hr Expert Personalized support, Largest Question Bank (200+) and GMAT Strategy Live Sessions (6 hrs). Get a great deal on e-GMAT courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
E-GMAT delivers the Knock-out to Verbal
September 16 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 27, 2011 | 16 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 60 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online |
The E-GMAT course has revolutionised the way Verbal is taught. It's detailed yet simple slides on SC,CR and RC make learning complex concepts in verbal a breeze. Moreover compared to other standard text books, the course saves a student significant time by ensuring a student is exam ready for optimum performance.

The course has a quiz at the beginning and at the end of each topic to enable students to better assess their level of improvement .The Verbal Live Complete Lectures conducted by Rajat and Payal over the weekends focuses on the finer aspects of verbal that help improve one's score.

I am thankful to E-GMAT for playing an important role in my GMAT score and I expect E-GMAT to become the success story of all GMAT test takers in the years ahead.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Not just for non-natives!
October 14 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 5, 2011 | 9 | 1 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online |
For people studying for the verbal part of the GMAT, especially those struggling in sentence correction.

I just want to provide some insight into the e-gmat course that I have been taking. So far, I’ve done a good portion of the Sentence Correction course. Sentence Correction just takes a while to learn, especially if you’re like me who is starting out in the 20’s. If you are using MGMAT SC, I would at least recommend when studying instead of doing one chapter and then the OG corresponding questions that you learn other chapters as well before doing OG questions. I was struggling a lot in the beginning with OG questions, especially with timing. My theory when you are starting out you can’t break down the sentence very well because you don’t know a whole lot. So I ended up missing a huge amount of questions as a lot of them still had errors that involved other topics. For this reason is why I prefer the format of e-gmat. It gives you a good bulk of lessons from Subject-verb agreement to verb tenses with lots of practice sentences before it sends you straight to doing official guide questions.

If you do decide to order the e-gmat course I would recommend getting the verbal live prep with it. Verbal live prep is a set of additional sessions that cover a deeper analysis of each section. This provides a more finishing touch on your knowledge gained from just running through the basic course, which still covers everything.

Overall, the gold is in the free articles and the live sessions. Those articles are amazing! Read every one of them. Once you go through these things it really helps a lot with your understanding. So, if you are still struggling with SC, e-gmat should help you out. Even after you have gone through e-gmat I’m sure you could be able to easily tackle MGMAT SC if you still desire.

Lastly, for weaknesses, there were some slides that had some errors in the sentence, but mostly they were spotted easily or someone in the forum brought it to their attention. I was able to get all my questions answered. So I'm happy.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
amazing GMAT prep course for Non Native speakers
October 15 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By gshrma joined: March 25, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online |
E-gmat is an amazing course for non natives. Since i have joined this course, I can already see a verbal score improvement of 100 points . Before joining E-gmat my verbal score was around 28 points. Since i have gone through the SC course and CR course, my ability to quickly arrive at the correct answer shot up.

In my last most recent GMAT prep tests, I got a verbal live score varying from 40 to 45 points.
And in 2 MGMAT tests , I got V40 and V42 scores.
I am touched with the concept of pre-thinking explained in the CR section. Verbal live classes are very good and they reinforce the concept in your mind. Core thing is to follow their application process and then try out those types of questions from official guides . Then you are bound to increase your scores :)

SC Course is quite amazing as well. SC can be completed in under a minute's time. Their unique approach of dividing the long sentences into shorter ones, verb-ing usage, meaning based aproach are all that make a true difference in your accuracy.

I am half way through their RC course, and really enjoyed the tips and techniques of reading an RC passage. The live approach of how to read and comprehend a paragraph is truly amazing.

Finally they offer a GMAT strategy live class session , and that is too good let me confess. There all general questions, such as - how to analyze your mock test scores and how to make a future game plan to overcome your weak areas - are discussed. I liked it very much .

Their customer service is great as well . I always got a reply for whatever technical problems i found in the course ( like i was not able to connect to their live classes using adobe acrobat software ) . I was contacted back within 24 hours of mailing them, and my problems were resolved to my satisfaction.

I can say this prep company is not after only making money, as is visible form their course prices and responses. They are here to seriously help out non natives and improve upon the approach to solve gmat questions.

All in all , i will rate this course 5 / 5 .

My gmat exam is in 3 weeks time now and i hope i will repeat my verbal success soon.
Thank you Payal and Rajat for creating this wonderful curriculum.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Simple ,Clear and Efficient
October 16 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By rvinodhini joined: August 5, 2011 | 22 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online |
On 01/01/2012 I decided to give my gmat this year(New year resolution !!!).

Started with the first step of hunting for materials.I did not feel the need for an online course then.
I brought all the MGMAT guides after searching through the forums.Got the books by the end of Jan and started studying for the exam.

I was not studying diligently cos of my hectic work schedule. I studied for 4 hours on weekends.The MGMAT guides were good but I was not able to push up verbal score beyond 32.

I realized that I needed some help in the verbal area apart from just learning from the books.
I was not spending enough time to study so I felt a proper online course would help me keep the pace.After searching thru the forums I zeroed in on the E-gmat course based on the reviews.Franky, I also did not want to burn a hole in my pocket.

I registered for the course in April.I must admit I was a bit skeptical initially but after attending my first online session I gave myself a pat.

Their approach for SC is by far the most effective and easiest I have ever seen.
Their pre-thinking approach for CR helped me to improve my timing.I was able to answer most of the CR questions a lot faster(40%) than before.
Initially their approach could seem a little time consuming,but once u get the hang of it u just keep going.

They clearly mention the pre-requisite concepts and articles that have to completed before attending an online session.I made sure to complete the pre-requisites mentioned and also a few OG questions before the session.This kind of helped me to understand the concepts better and also fine tune my approach.More than anything else the sessions gave me a structured approach and a clear schedule for my preparation.

Payal's RC sessions are really great.The way she brought SC into an RC session was really wonderful.
I am now constantly scoring around 38-40(A huge improvement for me !!!) in my mock tests.
I am planning to give my GMAT next month, and hope I reach my target score of 41 before that.

Overall I would say the course is clean-cut and a great value for money. Kudos to the team !!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
e-GMAT is great
October 17 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 20, 2011 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online |
If you are a non-native English speaker and want to score higher in verbal then you are at the right place. This is what I can say about e-GMAT.

My verbal is showing continuous improvement after joining e-GMAT. All of the e-GMAT courses especially verbal live prep is awesome. I have become a true fan of their live prep course as, I believe, this course is really for those who are aiming more than 40 in verbal.

SC: Given the fact that all non-native speakers struggle in SC, this course is a game changer and perfect starting point for verbal. After doing the course my accuracy has improved form 60% to around 85% for medium level questions and around 80% for tough questions. The best part about the SC live prep is the good course content and the emphasis they (Payal wouldn’t be happy here as there is no antecedent for this pronoun) give on understanding the meaning of the sentence first. Additionally, by attending the live prep, you get lot of knowledge from the questions other attendees in the class ask.

CR: What to say. The pre-thinking concept is just working excellent for me. Initially I struggled to get my pre-thinking working, sometimes it was taking even 5 minutes to pre-think but eventually practicing few questions, especially assumptions questions, made the life easier for me. Again the practice questions in the live prep classes are carefully chosen and clear lot of doubts I had. Also, as I said above, having other attendees in the live prep course give us an idea about how many different ways we can pre-think about a particular question type.

RC: There are literally hundreds of strategies flowing around on GMAT social network but I have found e-GMAT’s RC strategies taught in RC course and verbal live prep course best among the lot. It has really helped improve my reading in RC.

I would highly recommend e-GMAT verbal live prep!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Logic came to rescue (610 to 700)!!!
November 03 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By murali662 joined: October 16, 2012 | 3 | 3 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online |
I gave my first attempt back in Sep 2009. I scored 610(Q43, V31). I did not expect such a low score then. I had prepared for over 6 months with utmost sincerity. Such was the disaster that I did not even bother to analyze what went wrong.

One of my friends, though, advised me to retake the test after due preparation and to take the test only when I see an improvement in my preparations. That proved to be very true.

Now by the start of this year, I decided to give my second attempt and do things differently. Though there was a gap of nearly two years, my force to ace GMAT was no less. As a BITSian I knew it wouldn’t be too hard to score 46-50 in Quant. But as a non-native I needed better preparation in Verbal. Like Quant, Verbal can be aced with proper fundamentals, understanding and strategic attack. Below I have shared a few things that probably helped me in achieving 700(Q48, V37).

Fundamentals:

You might have heard this over and over again. Be strong in your fundamentals. This applies to both Quant and Verbal. For Quant, we have tons of reliable resources in the web: MGMAT Quant Strategy Guides, Kaplan GMAT Math Workbook and GMATClub WorkBook topics to name a few. I too relied on these resources to understand the nuances of certain GMAT format questions such as Work-Rate problems, Probability and Statistics problems and Inequalities problems. These are not complicated when you know what to look out for. For instance, you have to be so clear about the reasoning behind the work-rate question ‘A works for 12 hours to finish a job, B works for 14 hours to finish the same job and what would be the time taken to complete the same job when A & B works together’ that you can understand a complex question with jargons.

Similarly for Data Sufficiency questions, you should improve your reasoning to a stage where you can connect the dots between the questions that you practiced (during practice tests, GC forum questions, etc.) and the questions that come up on the test day. Of course none of the questions that you faced during your preparations is going to pop-up on your test day. But the logic will.

Is Verbal an up-hill task?

Yes and No. Yes because we either think that there is no one procedure to get the exact correct answer or that process of elimination is the ONLY way to get the ‘best’ answer. I strongly disagree here. There is a way to get to the exact answer (note not the best answer). That’s because GMAT has a pattern in framing the logic behind its questions. Note I said logic not the structure. Most of the resources out there teach you the structure of the GMAT questions: how to use advanced negation technique in an assumption-type CR questions or how to memorize the usual idioms or how to quickly read a four paragraph RC question. Believe me. This doesn’t work.

I said no because I used the e-GMAT Verbal Live product which showed me these logical procedures to answer the Verbal questions. I have to say here that I’m not part of the marketing team from e-GMAT. I am genuinely ‘just’ a customer of e-GMAT. I got to know them only through GMATClub.

Coming back to the logics, here are my thoughts for Verbal Question types:

Sentence Correction:
The GMAT SC questions from the Official Guide teach us certain important patterns. These patterns include but not limited to misplaced modifiers, logical parallel lists and many more. These cannot be answered in a mechanized manner. Because the answers might be grammatically correct but logically wrong. Only when the intended meaning of the sentence is clear, you can get to the correct answer. Again the OG teaches to eliminate the wrong choices because of very specific reasons. When this line of reasoning becomes intuitive the process of elimination becomes more logical and you get the ‘correct’ answer.

Critical Reasoning:
I learnt to better eliminate the incorrect answer choices through e-GMAT’s CR Course. I religiously followed the pre-thinking process as taught and improved in my timing to answer CR questions. Again here efficient elimination techniques come handy because GMAT throws in errors in a certain way which can be identified after thorough practice.

Reading Comprehension:
Though there is no one way to master this question type, the only proven way is to logically attack each RC question type. For that you need razor-sharp focus while reading the passage. When you focus on the structure and tone of the passage, the main crux will become evident. Per e-GMAT process, the passage summaries at various stages of reading the passage prove enough to answer the questions correctly. This helped me a lot as I was always struggling with RC.

On the Test Day:
Have fun! I mean, relax and look forward to enjoy the process. I tried to smile at various points to ease myself and to not think about what happened in the previous question. Of course this is not easy unless you practice it during the practice tests. I recommend taking MGMAT practice tests and review the questions to understand the source of errors. GMAT test will be lot easier after taking MGMAT tests. This might have a side-effect on you on the test day. That is, you might end up feeling that you screwed up the test. But actually you dint. That’s how I felt after each section. But I thought I ended up with a decent score. Thanks GMATClub, e-GMAT and MGMAT for helping me out in the process.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Very Good Course For Verbal
November 06 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 1, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online |
This is a great course for Verbal. I am not a native speaker but have a very strong grammar. However, I still struggled with GMAT's verbal section. The first time I took the Gmat I barely studied for it. The second time I registered for eGMAT because my verbal score was too low. You can't go wrong with this course. Take the full package if you struggle with verbal and also complement it with CR bible.

My only advice is that if you struggle with RC practice that (don't reply solely on the course material, sharpen your skimming abilities)

Perhaps practice the material more than once...


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent for non natives
November 07 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By himym joined: October 28, 2011 | 26 | 6 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online |
e-gmat has played a huge role in improving my verbal scores. Iam a non native speaker and verbal on the gmat has been quite challenging. The process is streamlined , intuitive and does indeed cater to the needs of a non native speaker. I have tried numerous other gmat courses and apart from e-gmat nothing has helped me so far. Payal has done a good job in explaining some of the challenging topics in verbal such as modifiers and meaning based questions. The reading strategies in RC have also helped me tremendously. I only wish they had more sessions on RC :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
E-gmat- a game changer for verbal
December 06 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By SOURH7WK joined: June 15, 2010 | 363 | 113 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
A truly Game Changer course in verbal for non-natives. After exhausting all available resources, I finally subscribed to this course. I saw a few reviews in GC forums and attended two free live class with Rajat on GMAT strategy & Pre-thinking. I was totally satisfied with the content & I knew I will definitely learn some new strategy to tackle my poor verbal score V23.

After taking the course I pulled up my verbal score to a respectable V40 (90%ile). I just turned my weakness into my strength now. My total score is 710 (Q49,V40)

As I progressed with the course I realized my shortfalls in concept as well as in attacking strategy. The Verbal live course is quite different from the verbal online course. I have clarified almost all queries on the spot during the class (that kind of luxury was there). The important thing that helped me most to improve on verbal is to understand the underlying thought process of the instructors while they approach/attach a particular question. For SC course Payal did a wonderful job there. In fact I asked her in one classroom to describe her thought process elaborately - how she approach a particular SC. And that key thing has changed my SC accuracy a lot.

Similarly Rajat's Strategy of pre-thinking is the key for CR. And not but the least- my weakest link RC in verbal has improved a lot after the course. My accuracy just went above 85% from 60-65% level. I always struggled with non-familiar topics in RC. At last Ron (one of e-gmat instructor) has rescued me from this big shortfall. After i completed the course I realized my improvements through Mocks & i was able to improve my timing on SC/CR/RC without sacrificing accuracy.

I am very happy with my decision to invest in e-gmat verbal live and doing so really rewarded me a 90%ile V score.

The concept files cover every single grammatical rules within the scope of GMAT. The practice questions, quizzes, assessment tests are very carefully crafted keeping the standards of Official GMAT questions.

A ton of thanks to e-gmat & group.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Online CR Course improved my accuracy to 85%+
December 01 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 12, 2011 | 59 | 7 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 60 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
I took the GMAT for the first time and scored a disapointing 19 in verbal. It was pretty clear that there was something seriously wrong in my preparations . So I decided to take some online course. I came across many courses but finally the non-native course e-GMAT attracted me. The CR course of e-GMAT completely changed my approach of attempting CR. No more guessing work remained. My speed and accuracy improved, although I was not able to to improve much from my second to third attempt. But one thing I realized that I could improve further by implementing the CR pre-thinking approach on each and every OG question. So that was the strategy I adopted to reach my target score for my future attempts.
I loved the way the approach of pre thinking has become a part of me.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


e-GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
75 points
International Student Score Improvement
78 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
80%
Save $546
Best e-GMAT Discounts
+$296 coupon code discount
+$250 bonus offer
Get e-GMAT Promo Code