e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep Reviews
    Number of reviews [482]
    Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
e-GMAT Course Reviews
World’s first prep course designed to help non-natives level the playing field and score higher on GMAT Verbal. e-GMAT’s methods and strategies help non-natives improve 5+ points on GMAT Verbal. Includes Basic & Advanced Concepts – 60+ hrs of audio visual content, Proprietary framework for non-natives, 24-hr Expert Personalized support, Largest Question Bank (2800+), 12 month Grockit Premium membership, 5 full length Grockit GMAT CATs, Advanced Analytics for tracking performance improvement, Sentence Correction Live Sessions (15 hrs), Critical Reasoning Live Sessions (15 hrs), Reading Comprehension Live Sessions (6 hrs) and GMAT Strategy Live Sessions (6 hrs).

GMAT Course Review
25 out of 26 people found the following review helpful
     By mahesh280887 3 7
Self-reported Score:

700

Q49

V36

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Rajat Sadana

I wrote my GMAT exam on 10th Nov 2011 and got 700 (Q-49 & V-36). I would like to thank each and every one of you who shared their GMAT experiences on this forum and helped people like me to achieve the dream score. This forum was very useful to me during my GMAT preparation and its even useful now in my applications. I would also like to thank Payal and Rajat of E-gmat team for helping me improve my verbal score from 27 to 36. The e-gmat course proved to be very effective in improving my verbal score.

Just 2 weeks before the test, i found few people recommending e-gmat for verbal on beatthegmat and gmatclub forums. I registered for SC course of E-GMAT. I completed the concepts in 5 days time and then worked on advanced questions and UGE files. The advantage in E-GMAT is that the course starts with basic level and moves to advanced level once you gain proficiency in the basic level. The topics are classified accordingly to the level of difficulty. Another major advantage that i found useful was that audio visual files in the e-gmat course give you a clear picture of the concept and the concept directly sits in your mind whereas in MGMAT strategy guides, all the areas are on the same level and the concepts are not supported by enough examples as most of the examples seem to be pretty easy and not actual GMAT like questions. I strictly followed the e-gmat process for getting maximum results out of the course.

Use the following method to gain effective results:
1. Review a concept
2. Practice few OG questions related to the concept
3. Review your mistakes and make a error log (Preparing an error log is a time taking activity but its worth the effort)
4. Review the concept in which you made mistakes
5. Practice more problems in the areas that you made mistakes in
6. Once you are confident, move on to the next concept
7. Repeat steps 2 to 5

Within 3 days, i was able to observe a drastic change in my way of approach to SC questions. As GMAT SC questions now deal with meaning issues, we have to get a clear idea on what the sentence conveys before approaching the problem and the e-gmat approach for solving SC problems does just this.
1. Understand the meaning of the sentence
2. Identify the errors in the original sentence
3. Eliminate answer choices

Using this approach, i was able to solve most of the SC questions within a minute. I used the excess time for solving CR and RC passages. For CR, i referred powerscore CR bible but it was not that useful though. i referred to few concepts in CR bible, few in MGMAT CR strategy guide and i also enrolled for e-gmat CR course. Though i could not review all the concept files in e-gmat CR course, it helped me a lot in eliminating wrong answer choices and identifying the correct answers.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
16 out of 17 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By Anonymous 3 6
Self-reported Score:

760

Q51

V41

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Shraddha Jaiswal

I signed up e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep in June 2013. The main reason that I chose it was because of very positive reviews. "Best course for non-native speakers", "Huge improvement in verbal scores" etc. These advertisements and reviews really attracted my attention. I'm a non-native English speaker and I want to improve my verbal score. So I decided to buy the course. Having tried the course, taken the GMAT and later tried another source (MGMAT Verbal Prep Set), I feel I have to offer another side of story amid so many positive reviews here. Let's talk about the Pros and Cons:

Pros:
1. Provides a very well structured study plan with concepts and quizzes for each section. (This may be useful for anyone who lacks discipline)
2. Comes with free mock exams that can generate performance analytical reports. (However, the timer doesn't work well, leading to wrong timings of your response time)
3. The e-GMAT time was kind enough to extend my course when I couldn't finish it in time. (The login was valid for about 6 months and they extended it for 2 months)

Cons:
1. Repetition in both contents and methods. I completed the whole course and took notes diligently. At the end I found some similar notes appeared multiple times--some contents were repeated here and there. The few e-GMAT methods used to solve Verbal questions were heavily repeated.

2. Methods don't work. In theory they sound good. But after studying the course for 8 months, I found these methods very time consuming and mentally draining in practice. They just don't work well in mock/real GMAT exams.

3. The course is very inflexible. This inflexibility, coupled with the fact that the course is extremely content heavy, makes it very time consuming to finish the whole course. It took me 8 months to finish (I work full time). I can't control my pace. Some contents are easy for me and repeated too much. The repetition plus sheer volume of contents buries the important areas which I may be weak at. It feels as if you read a whole library of books within 8 months. At the end, your mind goes blank. Maybe you remember a little here and there but nothing stands out. ROI is just so low: you spent so much time reaping so little improvement in your verbal skills.

4. The online lectures are a COMPLETE waste of time (and money). This was very obvious. In a 2 hour lecture, the instructors would spend the first ~30 minutes advertising their course. Because there are many attendees, the instructor can sometimes spend half an hour just to explain one question and answer all the questions. I may have just one doubt on a question and managed to get a few minutes of the instructor's time to answer it. Often, I'm still confused after he/she answers it. Then the rest of the time was wasted on listening to him/her explaining things that I have already known. After 1 or 2 lectures, I decided to just watch the recording and found myself frequently fast-forward the videos. In a 2 hour lecture, maybe only 15 minutes was useful.

In mock exams, I could score between 690 and 730. After 6 months of running the e-GMAT marathon, my course was going to expire. e-GMAT team was kind enough to extend it by another 2 moths. I finally made my first attempt at GMAT and only scored 700 (Q50, V33, AWA 5.5, IR 8). It was a huge disappointment. e-GMAT team's kindness to extend my course may have only backfired: I felt I wasted another 2 months on a course with near zero ROI. I spent so much time (8 months) on e-GMAT yet I didn't feel my verbal improved at all.

After that I decided to try MGMAT Verbal Prep set. I had very good discipline and took just 1.5 months to finish the whole set. Took GMAT again and scored 760 (Q51, V41, AWA 6.0, IR 8). I was even surprised by myself that I could improve so much with MGMAT. I also have to credit MGMAT for its Quant. My quant was pretty solid and I didn't spend too much time on it. However, the "Advanced GMAT Quant" by MGMAT was really good on methods & tricks for the more difficult quant questions. That did help keep my quant score high.

So in summary I feel e-GMAT is a course that costs an enormous amount of time to complete and only gives you negative to marginal positive improvements on your verbal score.


Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [3]
1 Commented by 3274K on May 01, 2015
Thanks! Im a non-native speaker, have given GMAT twice, stuck in the 700-710 range (Q49, V34-38). I want to cross the 740+ barrier? I've already covered the MGMAT SC, CR and RC books. I was thinking of e-gmat now but am wary looking at your review. Any suggestions on what would work best to improve my verbal?
2 Commented by mmorshed on July 23, 2016
You are absolutely RIGHT!!! I'm also a VICTIM of E-Gmat marketing!!! After completion of the course I found this is mostly Unnecessarily heavy and full of sounds which really DOESN'T COUNT to do well in real GMAT.
E-Gmat tries to present their methods as MANTRA!! But truly speaking this Mantra Works well ONLY FOR SELECTIVE questions they present in that scope but in reality those methods don't work much.

The Free video lessons are quite nicely presented and guys get fooled of having gone through those free goodies!! It is far far far better to go through directly to OG questions other than wasting time on the online courses they offer. This can be surely said that if anyone spends his/her time on OG explanations/directly on OG questions other than spending lot of works on E-Gmat's courses he/she will be benefited both by saving time and by doing well in actual GMAT.

Other than focusing on core message E-GMAT focuses on their spectacular presentations and this is my gut feeling having gone through their courses.
3 Commented by egmat on August 03, 2016
There are a few posters who, over the course of 2+ years have expressed their dissatisfaction with the course. This is in stark contrast with the other 1000+ positive reviews on the forum. While I understand that these two posters (@anonymous and mmorshed) here were not able to score high enough, there is overwhelming data that proves the effectiveness of our courses. Please read below for the same:

==1100+ reviews and accounted for more than 50% of all reviews in last 6 months==

e-GMAT is the only prep company that has 1000+ reviews on GMAT Club. To ensure that the reviews are genuine and are provided by students who benefit from the course, GMAT Club changed its review policy in October 2015 and required that every review be verified by providing a verified score report or a variety of other means. Since then, e-GMAT students have accounted for more than 50% of all the reviews posted.

Just to reiterate, there have been more reviews and success stories posted for e-GMAT than for all the other GMAT Prep partners combined. Moreover, this change in review process had the least impact on the frequency of reviews posted for e-GMAT. Open the link below to see the stats.

Link: https://goo.gl/UG2RSV


==The best instructors (4 out of Top 5)==

At e-GMAT we are known for the consistency of our methods. We developed the 3-step meaning based approach in Sentence Correction, and devised a methodical approach for Critical Reasoning (Prethinking) and Reading Comprehension (Reading Strategies). We solve each and every question using these methods so it’s natural that you would see these methods repeated everywhere. Ninety-Nine percent of people love that the same method can be applied to solve every GMAT Question. This consistency/repetition is the reason why 4 out of top 5 rated instructors on GMAT Club are from e-GMAT. You can see more data in the links below:

http://gmatclub.com/reviews/highest-rated-gmat-instructors

https://e-gmat.com/about-faculty/

It seems that the original poster did not like this consistency. Also, I am surprised that the original poster (who posted anonymously) mentioned that we do marketing in our online sessions. There is zero marketing in the paid webinars, which constitute the majority of live sessions and are exclusive to Live Prep students. There is no point marketing in the paid webinars since everyone who attends the same is already a paid member. Only free webinars contain some marketing, which is limited to 12 minutes out of the 120-minute duration. I am actually surprised that the original poster, having claimed to have viewed the recordings, failed to note this distinction. One other thing that the original poster did not mention is that every online lecture is rated by students and that we constantly seek feedback to improve. We would not do the same had we not been serious about student’s success.


==The course can have a significant impact in as few as 25 days==

Take a look at these success stories below:

http://gmatclub.com/forum/450-670-in-3-months-impact-of-last-3-weeks-219803.html

http://gmatclub.com/forum/debrief-550-to-710-2-years-6-times-163623.html

http://gmatclub.com/forum/keep-the-fire-alive-trek-to-760-from-610-first-mock-208020.html

The above success stories are three of the many examples in which students have completed the course in 3 months or less. Now, can you take 8 months to complete the course? Yes, if you don’t take the time out to study.

In fact, we conduct a webinar called GMAT Score Booster Webinar in which we teach how to leverage data analytics and improve from a V28 to a V37 in 25 days.


==Course architecture renders immense flexibility==

The beauty of our course architecture is that you can study at your own pace and create your own curriculum based on your current ability. A majority of our concepts contain pre-assessment quizzes that allow you to evaluate whether you need to go through the concept or not. If you are able to complete the pre-assessment quiz with high accuracy, then we recommend that you skip the concept. Do books provide this granularity and flexibility – No. Do we force you to use this flexibility – No. Do students who use it, benefit – Absolutely!!

Bottom line – the platform is flexible enough to allow you to focus on areas that will result in score improvement.


==Understand that success on the test depends on factors other than the prep course that you take==

This is a very important point. Neither your success nor your failure is entirely attributable to the prep course you opt for. There are other factors, such as your overall preparation level, how you perform on the test day itself, etc. Just yesterday, I worked with one of our students who did not score as high on his test (scored 700) because he messed up the first two questions (in SC) on the actual exam. How did we figure this out - by reviewing his Enhanced Score Report. Now this student scored 750 in his GMAT Prep mocks and has a high ability score in Scholaranium – our quizzing platform. Should he be blaming us or for that matter GMAC and blame the mock tests as faulty? Something to think about.

Similarly, the two posters (@anonymous and mmorshed) completed the course. I am also quite certain that they would have done quite well on mocks. If so, then they should also consider other factors that could have led to your low score. @ mmorshed - assuming I am not mistaken, your course access expired 2+ months back. Also, I don’t have a record of you writing to us after Oct 2015. How were your scores on GMAT Prep?

@mmorshed - I want to ask you – before solely blaming the methods, did you look for other reasons that could have led to a bad score? Also, did you write to us with your Enhanced Score Report to do a diagnosis of your performance on the exam? Prior to the test, were your ability scores on Scholaranium in line with the score that you expected on the real GMAT?

Success, especially on a computer adaptive test such as GMAT, depends on a multitude of factors, and as such no course can guarantee success for every student. Having said that, with 1000+ reviews, and more success stories than there are for any other prep company there is good data to prove that our methods work really well and that e-GMAT has helped more GMAT Club members than any other course has.
GMAT Course Review
Ultimate Prep Software
August 17 | 2016
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By rc549625 0 0
Self-reported Score:

610

Q46

V28

Improvement:

120 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Shraddha Jaiswal

E-gmat Scholaranium is the best software to test your ability, gauge your progress and learn the concepts specially of moderate and hard level questions for all the topics.Their collection of questions is really good and the answer explanations are very elaborate and precise. Moreover the software gauges your ability and average response time(TAKT time) really well.According to me it is a MUST DO!!!!! I have tried several other prep companies but none is as good as this one both in terms of content and analysis. All the best to everyone taking the GMAT. Hope you will do well and E-gmat will play an important role in your journey.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
E-GMAT Verbal Live perp
August 03 | 2016
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By karan14 18 2
Self-reported Score:

660

Q49

V31

Improvement:

150 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Krishna Chaitanya

The e-gmat verbal live prep helps in enhancing the required skills for GMAT.Since I am a non native i find egamt very helpful.
The best product available in market so far.
The SC has always been my weakest point and i believe SC is very important for the 700+ score in GMAT. Luckily the egamt SC is totally technical and not much to memorize,just a good practice will help you a lot.
The CR is fabulous.I know i have improved a lot in CR with the help of instructors such as Krishna.
I believe non natives will surely find this course more than their expectations.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By Freshstart 6 2
Self-reported Score:

710

Q49

V38

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

I want to thank e-gmat for conceptualizing and designing such a useful course for people who struggle with GMAT verbal. This course has helped me quite a bit in improving my GMAT verbal score from 28 to 38, enabling me to score a respectful 710(Q49, V38) in GMAT.

I especially liked their SC modules which I think is worth every penny. By saying this, I don’t mean that there CR and RC modules are not effective. They are very effective as well, but as per my opinion improving your sores substantially in CR and RC requires a lot of practice along with following the e-gmat methodology, whereas one can improve very quickly on SC by following their methodology with comparatively less practice.

The flexibility of an online course that allows one to work at one’s own pace also works in favor of e-gmat verbal online as an offering. There live classes are also extremely helpful as it helps one experience the live implementation of the concepts one goes through in the video lessons.

In summary, I recommend this course specifically for those who are looking forward to a quick fix for their SC woes and generally for those GMAT aspirants who are looking forward to improve their score in all sections of verbal and are willing to put in a lot of effort in RC and CR sections.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By vsvkvsvk 1 0
Verified Score:

680

Q46

V37

Improvement:

60 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

I am an experienced manager ( Have a MBA from a Top School in India more than 10 years ago) working for a top MNC. I decided to give my GMAT, as I wanted to apply for PhD.

As a typical Indian with Engineering background, I am very strong in Quant. Got 48 in my first mock GMAT with GMATPrep. My verbal was a low 30.

I decided to use e-GMAT. While people tend to highlight its use for non-native speakers, I think it is something that will work for everyone. It puts a template on how to approach GMAT questions. For example for the Sentence Correction they have their 3 Step approach. These are very helpful. Their question bank (Scholaranium) is very good.

I gave my GMAT last week and got a 680. I was not happy with my score, but my Verbal was a good 37. My target is to push my Verbal to 40+ and I will be using the e-GMAT material and work harder.

I will recommend e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep to anyone considering study material for their GMAT. After a level it is more of your own preparation that matters more.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by post count
     By tronghieu1987 128 28
Self-reported Score:

760

Q50

V42

Improvement:

20 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

At first, I purchased only the SC course because I was very impressive with the trial content. I then upgraded to Verbal Online, mainly to get access to the Scholaranium, and finally upgraded to Verbal Live after not being able to get 700 after 2 tests. I used the course for my first 3 attempts, improving from 640 to 660 to 680. But I do not really attribute these improvements to this course. Here are my reviews for each component:

- SC: among the best courses about SC. If you cannot understand grammar “jargon” such as gerunds, preposition, adverb…, you will gain many benefits from SC course. The approach of eGMAT SC is meaning-based, which is very good for understanding why one choice is correct while others are incorrect. The negative side is that this approach is really time-consuming. I struggled to reduce the time per question to under 1m30s but not successfully, even after many practices. Finally, I combined this approach with the approach from other prep company and this worked, helping me so much in saving time for CR and RC.

- CR: nothing too special. The content is quite similar to what CR Bible has. You may find the content livelier than reading Bible book, but it did not work for me.

- RC: I did not learn much about RC. The content is a bit boring, and I kept using my own way which is to read The Economist and to take notes.

- Scholaranium: At first, I saw it very useful. There are a lot of analyses here, and they helped me understand where I need to improve. But the quality of questions is far away from official questions of GMAC. My scores in Scholaranium, especially in SC, were very good, but I could not did well in official questions and real exams. I think that the questions in Scholaranium were tailored to match to the contents in eGMAT’s course. My advice is to use its analytic tools to know the strengths and weaknesses, but to not work on these questions too much.

- Live workshops: They are somewhat useful to help learners understand the contents and clear confusions, but I think it is not worth paying much money to upgrade from Verbal Online to Verbal Live just in order to have these workshops.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
640 to 710 (V28 to V38)
July 28 | 2016
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By Sumit124431 22 0
Verified Score:

710

Q49

V38

Improvement:

70 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

I have always been bad when it comes to my command over English. (though, I still feel same). I was fortunate that I came to GMATClub and after reading various Debrief of club member sharing their GMAT journey and how e-gmat has helped them, I attended e-gmat webinar and I liked how Payal approached the questions, then there was no second thought and thus, I enrolled for GMAT prep. After going through the online interactive videos, I started feeling comfortable with GMAT Verbal, but there was still a lag, therefore after reading so many debriefs on Verbal Live Prep, I decided to enroll in Verbal Live. That very decision led to score 710 in real GMAT. Basically, Live classes helped me approach the problems and I replicated the same approach in every approached problem. Initially, time was my concern, but as I kept on following the e-gmat approach to tackle questions, I was able to finish the questions in time.
I have used e-gmat sources, GMAT OG Guides and GMAT club Maths Test.
I started using scholarnium which further boosted my confidence. The questions were very much similar to tried OG questions and I felt that many of them tested me in the same way that Official Guide questions did.
The way Scholarnium gave the statistics, it helped me target my weak area and hence further confidence to solve the problems.

I want to thank e-gmat and gmatclub for the score I had.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
Great Course
July 27 | 2016
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By rohitbansal1507 6 0
Verified Score:

680

Q51

V30

Improvement:

30 Points

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online

Loved every part of it. Amazing course specially for non-natives. Specially loved the structured approach of the whole course and testing at very step of the preparation.
SC: SC rules are very comprehensive. You can solve any official problem using the techniques taught. After going through a few time you can easily remember the rules. Grammatical jargaon has been kept away.
CR: Pre thinking is the key. Divided very equally and is great for practise and improving your overall accuracy.
RC: Good techniques specially for non-natives. Step by step each thing is very clearly taught and explained.
Overall I would give it a thumbs up. A five start course. You don;t need anything else once you take this course.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By aayush47 0 0
Verified Score:

670

Q49

V33

Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
This review is for: e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep
Location: Online
Taught by: Payal Tandon

Hi,

I gave gmat on 13-feb-2016 before joining the e-gmat verbal course. i scored 670. quant 49 verbal 33. In enhanced report my scores were:-
SC-41
RC:-38
CR:- 23
I had a very bad CR score.
The problems i faced withe CR is i used to take more time than required and wasn't able to fully understand the passage. So when i was confused in b/w two choices i had to make a wild guess.
But after joining e-gmat verbal prep I can see a considerable improvement in my CR skills. I'm able to understand the passage well thanks to LOGICAL STRUCTURE and also able to get the correct answer choice thanks to PRE-THINKING.
I have scheduled my exam for 14-Sept-2016 hope to score well this time.

Thanks,
Aayush Srivastava

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]


e-GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
70 points
International Student Score Improvement
71 points
Verbal
98%
Most Reviewed e-GMAT GMAT Instructors
Payal Tandon [142]
    
Rajat Sadana [131]
    
Shraddha Jaiswal [69]
    
Krishna Chaitanya [47]
    
Neeti Sohal [14]
    
Save Up To $450
Best e-GMAT Discounts
+$200 coupon code discount
+$250 bonus offer
Get e-GMAT Promo Code