e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep Reviews
    Number of reviews [143]      Average Rating:       (4.8/5)
e-GMAT Course Reviews
World’s first prep course designed to help non-natives level the playing field and score higher on GMAT Verbal. e-GMAT’s methods and strategies help non-natives improve 5+ points on GMAT Verbal. Includes Basic & Advanced Concepts – 60+ hrs of audio visual content, Proprietary framework for non-natives, 24-hr Expert Personalized support, Largest Question Bank (2800+), 12 month Grockit Premium membership, 5 full length Grockit GMAT CATs, Advanced Analytics for tracking performance improvement, Sentence Correction Live Sessions (15 hrs), Critical Reasoning Live Sessions (15 hrs), Reading Comprehension Live Sessions (6 hrs) and GMAT Strategy Live Sessions (6 hrs).

e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep course – A launch pad to score 700+ on the GMAT
August 23 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By avkamat joined: December 8, 2010 | 3 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:  Online | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
It is rightly said "Choice of the right coaching class is the most valuable gift that you can give to yourself" and e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep course, indeed, is the most valuable gift a GMAT aspirant, especially the one who is struggling with the verbal section, can give to himself / herself.

Well, I stumbled upon e-GMAT.com while I was exploring gmatclub.com. The positive reviews about e-GMAT left me with no option, but to join e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep course. To begin with, I still ensured the course offerings by subscribing to e-GMAT free trial in SC, CR & RC section covering videos, articles and live online session. The free trial experience was exactly the same as it was mentioned in the reviews that I had already read. I immediately subscribed to the Verbal Live Prep course. To my surprise, the course not only included SC, CR and RC section, but also included Integrated Reasoning (IR) section which is extremely organized as well like SC, CR and RC section.

Sentence Correction (SC)
-----------------------------------
The SC course inculcates in you a logical procedure/process to approach SC questions by using three-step process. The emphasis on spending majority of time on understanding the sentence meaning followed by the error analysis makes the last step of eliminating the wrong answer choices a cake walk. Therefore, meaning first approach is crucial especially when you are solving 700+ level questions. Trust me; you will immediately start seeing positive results using the e-GMAT's three-step process to crack SC questions.

Critical Reasoning (CR)
-------------------------------
The CR course inculcates in you a logical procedure/process to approach the CR questions by using pre-thinking technique. To begin with, the explanations to the key terms, which build the CR argument, such as Premise, Conclusion, Counter-Premise, Intermediate-Conclusion help in clear understanding of the complex CR arguments. Furthermore, creating logical structures & pre-thinking helps in quickly eliminating the wrong answer choices.

Reading Comprehension (RC)
----------------------------------------
The RC course inculcates in you a logical procedure/process to approach the RC questions by using reading strategies concepts. The course is perfectly organized covering explanations to all the types of RC questions that one encounters on the GMAT such as Main Point, Inference, etc.

Overall the Verbal Live Prep is unique and one-of-a-kind course with following key advantages:
- Extremely organized course curriculum for SC, CR & RC section including study plan, practice questions & its explanations
- High quality videos with detailed explanations
- Live sessions to interact with faculty/experts & see how they approach 700+ level problems using e-GMAT process
- Interactive forums to discuss queries
- 247 email support from the e-GMAT team

I highly recommend Verbal Live Prep course to all GMAT aspirants who are looking to improve accuracy and timing in verbal section.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent course to improve your Verbal accuracy
August 22 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By coolparthi joined: November 10, 2013 | 12 | 6 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:  Online |
I can not emphasize more about this course and the instructors: Payal and Rajat are awesome! After joining this live course, my SC accuracy increased from 70% to 90%. E-gmat strategy for pre-thinking is equally good (Pre think at least one assumption before jumping on to the answer choices). CR accuracy increased from 65% to 80%. This course streamlined my process of answering SC/CR questions; I started emphasizing on the meaning of the sentence for SC and on the argument structure/pre thinking after joining the verbal live course. Verbal live course is on the tougher side and emphasizes more on the harder questions.

Strengths:
• Covers key areas in sentence correction for the GMAT
• Re-enforces the lesson with quizzes
• Can use at your own pace
• Different levels to complete before moving to next one

I recommend e-gmat course for non-natives.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
effective course for GMAT verbal
August 22 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Babar28 joined: November 11, 2013 | 8 | 7 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:  Online | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Since i am a Non-native, verbal portion of GMAT was a riddle for me. Also, my work routine did not allow me to devote full time to GMAT studies. As a result, GMAT preparation was a challenge for me. However, i found E-GMAT on internet. I subscribed to the course and found the lessons very effective. While i was in the middle of VLive course, i solved a gmat test and saw an improvement of 6 points (FROM 21 TO 28). All the concepts in E-GMAT videos are very well explained. Even the minute concepts of SC are very well addressed. I salute the E-GMAT team for designing such a wonderful Verbal course. It is because of E-GMAT that i scored 34 points in verbal in actual GMAT.

Thankyou E-GMAT.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent product !!!!
August 21 | 2014

0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By adgaonkar joined: September 14, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:  Online | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Am a non-native speaker. When I decided to take my GMAT, I enrolled myself at GMATClub. I then started reviewing the courses on GC as well as on websites of courses. I have also started the trial subscriptions of almost all leading courses. Along with my trial experience and review on GC, I have decided to enroll for e-Gmat. Stil,l for second opinion, I asked one of my friends for his suggestion of good online learning tool. He said that blindly go for e-gmat.

That's how I joined the e-gmat's verbal online prep course. Its concept are very systematically organized and are followed by quizzes. Considering my good experience of learning with verbal online prep. I have upgraded my package to another wonderful course VERBAL-LIVEPREP.
Verbal liveprep in combination with verbal online gives a perfect blend of self-study and classroom experience. LivePrep sessions are conveniently arranged on weekends and are very interactive. These sessions are gives us an idea of depth of our preparation and areas of improvement. We also come to know our level of preparation relative to other batchmates. Price, when compared to other preps is also a plus-point for this course.

One more good thing about e-gmat is their support team, whenever I had a query, I received response to my mail promptly and needless to say positively !

Thus, I recommend Verbal liveprep course to all GMAT takers.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
e-Gmat - The Best
August 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By saurabhgoel joined: May 31, 2010 | 97 | 21 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:  Online | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
e-Gmat is the best course that I found for my Verbal preparation. This course really understand the need of a GMAT aspirant.
In my previous GMAT attempt, in last two weeks I purchased SC online course and found good difference of more than 4 points in my GMAT results.
But because of exam pressure I screwed my Quant section and scored very low 0f 620. I knew I can do better than this both in Verbal and Quant and impressed by SC course I purchased VERBAL Live prep which includes CR, SC , RC etc.

The best which I liked in e-Gmat approach is there approach to solve the questions. The 3 Step process for SC and Pre-thinking concept has given a big boost towards my accuracy. Especially for RC,where my accuracy level was around 50% , I am now solving with more than 80% accuracy.

Also, the e-gmat concept of dealing with Mocks is also very userful. TAKT time concept and on what basis to skip questions is very helpful. I realized GMAT is not only about solving questions but attending GMAT test with a strategy. I can easily notice atleast a 30 points improvements by changing my test strategy of skipping questions.

I can personally recommend e-Gmat to everyone as the best investment in GMAT preparation.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Best Verbal Course. Period.
August 15 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By rohitsaxena00 joined: September 14, 2012 | 2 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:  Online | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
The E-Gmat Verbal Live Prep Course is the best course one can enroll into for their GMAT Verbal prep needs.

Extremely Comprehensive SC, CR, RC & IR - The course material is extremely comprehensive. I don't think there is any topic in any of the above areas that has been left untouched. SC & CR generally have well defined topics within them and those of course have been covered extensively, but I was personally amazed with their RC since that's one area where one always wonders what needs to be really 'studied' other than practice. But wait until you go through their RC course and you'll know there's so much more to learn in RC.

Focus on Processes - They have a well defined process for SC, CR & RC too. The SC & CR are flagship courses anyways so I don't think I need to say anything about them other than the fact that their SC course with their 3 step meaning focused approach not just unique but also extremely accurate and reliable to solve SC questions. And Pre-thinking on CR works like a beauty no matter what the difficulty level of the question is without cluttering your head with the wrong options.

Helpful Faculty & Support Team - Rajat, Payal, Shraddha, Chiranjeev, Krishna and others are the people who make e-GMAT what it is today. They are all full time dedicated instructors who have great knowledge of their respective subjects, some of whom have cleared the Indian CAT too with 99.99% scores. They are extremely helpful and responsive over email unlike some other prep companies' instructors.

Support Staff - The support staff is also extremely helpful whenever one has any technical issues with the course/platform etc. They offered me extension at very nice rates so that I could complete my prep without having to worry too much about course expiries.

Although I'm yet to give my GMAT but to give you a pointer I have improved my GMATPrep mock scores from 34 to 39-40 range.

All in all, I think its the best course for anyone for their GMAT Verbal Prep needs.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Nice work - E-gmat
August 08 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By prrrai joined: October 24, 2011 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:  Online | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I am yet to give GMAT, however I can tell you about my experience. My GMAT journey started 3 months ago, when I was reading different reviews on gmatclub to find out which course material will suit my needs and current skill level. I was searching for things that can take concepts from scratch. I started with Sentence Correction Grail 3rd edition, which was a good place to start. Non-native speakers have a tendency to learn bad habits over the years. These habits range from poor understanding for sentence structure to giving less importance to meaning of the sentence. In golf, we talk about muscle memory and repeating a sequence many time to make that move a second nature. Similarly, unlearning wrong habits also requires equal efforts. I joined Verbal Live Prep as its trial session resonated with my preparation approach, which was to focus on sentence structure and meaning. Verbal Live Prep is a pretty straight forward structure - we have concepts along with practice application file and we have live sessions. Live sessions are pretty effective, solving question with a teacher helps in understanding concepts and problem solving skills. Understanding meaning of the sentence helped me improve my accuracy in senctence correction section. Prethinking is a good approach in CR and in long run saves time as well. In my case gains made in SC and CR helped me in RC; I developed better understanding of the passages. I am very satisfied with the content and the way it is presented. Audio-video presentation of concepts makes it less tiring. Concepts and question range from easy to moderate to difficult. This gradation makes learning swift and less dauting. I would highly recommend Verbal Live Prep.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great course for non-natives
August 08 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By akhil911 joined: August 11, 2011 | 120 | 27 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:  Online | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I started preparing Gmat around 9 months back and i struggled a lot initially with the verbal section. I took the verbal live prep after going through the free sessions of Payal and Rajat and i have to say that i made a good investment in e-gmat.
The course is especially useful for non-natives like me who struggle to understand the minute details that the gmat tests. The audio visual sessions are very nicely structured so that one can learn in a step by step approach , building fundamentals on the way. The live session of Rajat , Payal , Shraddha , Chiranjeev and Neeti were very useful in reinforcing the concepts.
Even the response of the team on the questions posted on the forum is very good.
I feel much more confident now after the course and hope to do well in the GMAT that i am taking in a few days time.
I am hugely indebted to the e-gmat team for the improvement that i have seen in my verbal score and i hope to do well on the exam as well.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
The Three step process in SC rocks
August 07 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By satishv80 joined: August 3, 2013 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:  Online | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
When I started preparing for my GMAT exam I planned to register for an online coaching especially on Verbal. I gathered the list of some reputed online courses and was unable to decide the one and went through all the reviews available in the GMAT club and I was pretty impressed on the e-GMAT verbal online course reviews and opted for the e-GMAT online course. I found that all the topics are planned very well and covered from basics to the in depth with examples. I liked the 3 step error analysis in sentence correction questions and it helped me a lot in solving such questions. I strongly recommend that e-GMAT are worth every penny spent on it.

Thank you.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Low or negative ROI in improving Verbal score
August 05 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 12, 2013 | 1 | 6 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:  Online | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I signed up e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep in June 2013. The main reason that I chose it was because of very positive reviews. "Best course for non-native speakers", "Huge improvement in verbal scores" etc. These advertisements and reviews really attracted my attention. I'm a non-native English speaker and I want to improve my verbal score. So I decided to buy the course. Having tried the course, taken the GMAT and later tried another source (MGMAT Verbal Prep Set), I feel I have to offer another side of story amid so many positive reviews here. Let's talk about the Pros and Cons:

Pros:
1. Provides a very well structured study plan with concepts and quizzes for each section. (This may be useful for anyone who lacks discipline)
2. Comes with free mock exams that can generate performance analytical reports. (However, the timer doesn't work well, leading to wrong timings of your response time)
3. The e-GMAT time was kind enough to extend my course when I couldn't finish it in time. (The login was valid for about 6 months and they extended it for 2 months)

Cons:
1. Repetition in both contents and methods. I completed the whole course and took notes diligently. At the end I found some similar notes appeared multiple times--some contents were repeated here and there. The few e-GMAT methods used to solve Verbal questions were heavily repeated.

2. Methods don't work. In theory they sound good. But after studying the course for 8 months, I found these methods very time consuming and mentally draining in practice. They just don't work well in mock/real GMAT exams.

3. The course is very inflexible. This inflexibility, coupled with the fact that the course is extremely content heavy, makes it very time consuming to finish the whole course. It took me 8 months to finish (I work full time). I can't control my pace. Some contents are easy for me and repeated too much. The repetition plus sheer volume of contents buries the important areas which I may be weak at. It feels as if you read a whole library of books within 8 months. At the end, your mind goes blank. Maybe you remember a little here and there but nothing stands out. ROI is just so low: you spent so much time reaping so little improvement in your verbal skills.

4. The online lectures are a COMPLETE waste of time (and money). This was very obvious. In a 2 hour lecture, the instructors would spend the first ~30 minutes advertising their course. Because there are many attendees, the instructor can sometimes spend half an hour just to explain one question and answer all the questions. I may have just one doubt on a question and managed to get a few minutes of the instructor's time to answer it. Often, I'm still confused after he/she answers it. Then the rest of the time was wasted on listening to him/her explaining things that I have already known. After 1 or 2 lectures, I decided to just watch the recording and found myself frequently fast-forward the videos. In a 2 hour lecture, maybe only 15 minutes was useful.

In mock exams, I could score between 690 and 730. After 6 months of running the e-GMAT marathon, my course was going to expire. e-GMAT team was kind enough to extend it by another 2 moths. I finally made my first attempt at GMAT and only scored 700 (Q50, V33, AWA 5.5, IR 8). It was a huge disappointment. e-GMAT team's kindness to extend my course may have only backfired: I felt I wasted another 2 months on a course with near zero ROI. I spent so much time (8 months) on e-GMAT yet I didn't feel my verbal improved at all.

After that I decided to try MGMAT Verbal Prep set. I had very good discipline and took just 1.5 months to finish the whole set. Took GMAT again and scored 760 (Q51, V41, AWA 6.0, IR 8). I was even surprised by myself that I could improve so much with MGMAT. I also have to credit MGMAT for its Quant. My quant was pretty solid and I didn't spend too much time on it. However, the "Advanced GMAT Quant" by MGMAT was really good on methods & tricks for the more difficult quant questions. That did help keep my quant score high.

So in summary I feel e-GMAT is a course that costs an enormous amount of time to complete and only gives you negative to marginal positive improvements on your verbal score.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on e-GMAT Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


e-GMAT Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
76 points
International Student Score Improvement
81 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
80%
Best e-GMAT GMAT Instructors
e-GMAT Team [USA]
    
Save $546
Best e-GMAT Discounts
+$296 coupon code discount
+$250 bonus offer
Get e-GMAT Promo Code