Economist GMAT Tutor GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [151]      Average Rating:       (4.5/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
 
The Economist GMAT Tutor Course 
Reviews
GMAT prep on your terms: No schedules, no classes and no commute  
  • The course that’s as unique as you are: Focus on your target areas with adaptive online learning   
  • Prepare for the whole test: Unparalleled real-world lessons include all four GMAT sections   
  • Chat 1-on-1 with real tutors: Expert tutors are available via e-mail, phone and video chat
  • Learn on your time: 24/7 online access enables you to study whenever and wherever you want
Get a great deal on The Economist GMAT Tutor courses with GMAT Club

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
August 29 | 2013

8 out of 8 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By dlehrner joined: May 19, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online |
I decided to finally stop talking about applying to business school and actually do it. The only problem with my decision was the application was due in two months. I immediately went to Amazon and purchased the Official GMAT study guide which is inarguably a great resource. I then found the Veritas Prep videos on the iPad that really helped me understand thinking like the test maker. Unfortanately, thinking like the test maker didn't translate into beating the test maker as my first score was much lower than I anticpated. I think I let my poor performance on the IR section affect me during the Quant and Verbal sections but, regardless, I needed to retake the test in one month and increase my score at least 50 points. At that time I found great reviews and a free trial for the Economist's GMAT Tutor. I bit on the free trial and after being impressed with the teaching style of the online course I purchased the one year subscription. I did not have enough time to complete the entire course but in the 40 hours I was able to get through approximately 40% of the material and raised my GMAT score by 100 points. Overall I was impressed with the layout and teaching style and have recommended it to several other co-workers considering going to B-School next year.

While nothing is perfect, I really only had a few small complaints regarding the Economist GMAT Tutor. The first is more an issue with my lack of time as I did not have time to get to some of the sections that I knew I needed more time with, like Geometry and Combinatorics. I also wanted to review the exponents section a few days before the test but you are unable to select specific topics. I also had two technical issues, the first on my work computer where I am unable to login via IE because of a "no transport" error. However, it is a work computer so who knows what restrictions are causing the issue but Firefox worked without a problem. I also tried to use the course on a first generation iPad and some of the scientific notation fonts would not render which made learning the Quant sections impossible but selecting Verbal only was still available while I was mobile.

The constant interaction required with this course is guaranteed to keep you involved in the learning and forces you to learn the material.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
60 point increase in 3 weeks!
September 26 | 2013

7 out of 7 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By taniasteyn joined: September 26, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 60 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online |
I cannot say enough about how great this tool was for my quant prep. But before I delve into that, let me just say now that I didn't do any of the verbal prep. My verbal score was already in the 45 - 46 range and I didn't feel I needed improvement there.

I had been casually studying for the GMAT since about mid-June focusing only on Quant. After 5 practice tests I saw 0 increase in my score (I scored 40 three times and 41 twice). I finally realized I needed help in this section, but personal tutors were too expensive and the other courses offered (through Kaplan etc.) would not let me go at my own pace/focus only on quant. So I finally signed up for the one week free trial. After a week, I was already seeing results, so I signed up for the full package. I only had 2 weeks left until test day, and in the end I managed to do about 65% of the quant material. I ended up writing the test 3 weeks after starting with the Economist and, after not sleeping the night before, I managed to get a 760, with a 49 in quant.

It was a great tool that allowed me to study on my own schedule (you can set lesson times as short as 5 minutes) and, with the mobile app, it was even more flexible. I loved the interface and the artificial intelligence which tailored the program to your needs. I also made use of the essay feedback option, and it was certainly very useful to have an actual person review my essay and give me written feedback!

The only con I could possibly think of is that you don't have access to "later" material earlier in the course. For example, I wanted to review the IR material, but couldn't get to it without completing the math sections that came before it. But if you have more time than I did, I'm sure you'll have time to be able to complete 100% of the material and this shouldn't be a problem!

I cannot recommend this program highly enough. It's a great way to learn (I find it a happy medium between a class and self guided study with books) and the team at the Economist is very responsive and helpful!

Sign up for the free trial! I invested about 10 hours in that first week and got a really good sense of how useful it would be for me. You have nothing to lose.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
GMAT Economist Tutor doesn't honor money back guarantee
March 30 | 2014

6 out of 11 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By hej joined: February 12, 2013 | 4 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online |
Money back guarantee
My biggest concern. I completed every one of the requirements to comply with the conditions of the score guarantee, which was explicitly acknowledged by customer service. Yet I didn’t get the full amount that I was entitled to and even after contacting the customer service several times over the course of two months they just ignored my emails and requests. I am currently looking for the appropriate customer rights agency to raise a formal complaint.

Progress charts
Be careful here! They are tricky. You have a decent progress until about 75% of the program, where you run out of new materials and enter into question-answering mode. Your progress flatlines and you need an enormous amount of time to get to 90% completion, which is a criteria for the money back guarantee. So your early progress is absolutely misleading in terms of the required time to complete the course.

"Intelligent" application
Definitely the best feature of the program. It does a good job explaining new concepts and making you practice them. However, it does not learn at all – I had to complete dozens of practice questions in areas that I was already good at and didn’t get any questions on areas that I really needed the improvement on. Also, by focusing on the quantity, the quality of the questions suffered – there were obvious patterns that I had to recognize and learn once.

1-to-1 sessions
Waste of time. My tutors failed to show up at the Skype sessions two times and when they did, they wanted to get rid of me as quickly as possible. They were slow and insisted on explaining to me everything that I already knew and asked them to skip.

Ask-a-tutor
Completely useless. I found that 9 out of 10 responses are not helpful at all in understanding anything.

Reading comprehension
I don’t understand why this question type is totally messed up in the application. Instead of the GMAT format where you have one piece of text and a couple of related questions, this program insists on presenting you with one question per text. In the practice tests it totally messes up your time management.

IR section
That’s a joke.

Practice tests
They are not bad at all, but have the same problems as the rest of the program (messed up reading comprehension questions, no IR section, repetitive questions).

Essay correction
I failed to get a decent score from these guys, and I got 5.5 on the GMAT. Enough said.

UPDATE:
After having posted this and a similar review on another forum, I was contacted by someone from the team. I was informed that a temporary issue in their system caused delays in properly processing payments for the money back guarantee. Elizabeth, the person taking on my case, has made it “her personal goal” to help me out and she was indeed very helpful and kind. I believe the issue with the repayments is now cleared and hopefully new students won’t have to worry about anything similar. I still don’t like the fact that my multiple emails had been entirely ignored before I posted on a public forum, but I was impressed with and thankful for the help I got after that. I think this service needs more Elizabeths.
Was this review helpful to you?
   
[1]
Excellent and life compatible.
September 09 | 2013

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By chandankumar505 joined: March 31, 2011 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online |
I found this course excellent and really compatible with my lifestyle because it allowed me to learn at really weird hours. I was doing it an hour before work and two hours after work for just over two months and thanks to this course I am ready to rock on exam day.

The course is really really great, it adapts to your level of learning and keeps going back to the subjects you are weaker at. As a test-taker that is aiming for a top score, the GMAT Tutor study program has exceeded all my expectations, and has thus far prepared me well to reach a score well beyond 700.


Moreover this course is available for Rs 14500 for Indian students (Premium Prep) !!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent choice for foreigners
September 27 | 2013

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By jorgepalo joined: September 27, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online |
Since I live outside of the US, It is hard to find a good course for the GMAT (there are just a few prep courses for the GRE). I chose the GMAT Tutor because I have some affinity for the way The Economist explains things in a simple but effective manner that helps me polish my techniques and teaches me a bunch of new ones. I am happy I bought it. The only thing I have to do now is to invest more time in it.

I am improving really fast in the verbal part, as it also helps me improve my English proficiency, so it will save me time when I have to take the TOEFL.

About the numerical and algebraic part: It's been harder as I am learning techniques I didn't use ever before. The application teaches you the adequate techniques and helps you with tips all the time. Moreover, you can always ask a personal tutor who will answer you in a few hours most of the time.

I recommend this Course, especially if you are living outside of the US, your mother language is not English and if it is your first approach to this type of exam.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good course for any level of prep
October 06 | 2013

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By vidhyaiyer joined: July 24, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online |
I started out with the free trial of the Economist GMAT tutor initially after my first attempt at the GMAT(680), Using it for the 7-day period, I found it extremely comprehensive, versatile and easy to use. Starting from the very basics, it builds up your fundamentals in a very structured manner.

Verbal:

As someone who has always had a bit of a hard time with grammar rules, I found the formulaic reinforcement of stop signs and subsequent practice with questions to reinforce the learning sessions has been very helpful.

Quant:

The techniques used for teaching the basics in quants are quite helpful as well. Mostly because of how the data is arranged and the question becomes easier to understand and analyze.


Other useful features:

The 'how much time do you think you took' feature is quite nifty. It helps us analyze our internal clock and how much time we think we're spending on questions. I found it particularly useful for me.

Overall:
I'd say of all the resources I have tried out for GMAT Prep., I've found the Economist GMAT tutor to be the most comprehensive one. The simulation tests are a pretty accurate measure of your skill. The ability to ask questions and write to instructors about doubts has been quite helpful as well. I've even gotten some good feedback on my essays for the AWA section. The best part for me has been working with tutors on Skype sessions for the weaker sections of my preparation, it has been very helpful.

I definitely recommend taking up this tool to prep for the GMAT. Just the economist tutor and the Official GMAT Prep guide and Application have been sufficient for my prep so far.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
GMAT Tutor
October 17 | 2013

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Kelsa031 joined: October 17, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online |
I started using the GMAT Tutor about 2 months ago and have really been impressed with how much I have learned from it all being an online program. It makes sure to explain each step and then test you on that step. Whenever you choose a wrong answer it doesn't just tell you its wrong it gives a detailed explanation of why that answer choice you chose was wrong and an explanation on the topic to help you choose the next answer choice correctly. Even when you choose the correct answer choice it gives you a breakdown on both the verbal and quantitative section of how that comes to be the right answer.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Economist GMAT Tutor
November 29 | 2013

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By arnab1979 joined: November 11, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online |
I enrolled myself in the Economist GMAT Tutor specially to improve my verbal score. Being a non native english speaker I needed a course that will start from the basic and take me to advanced level and Economist GMAT Tutor exactly did that. I am so thankful to it for this.

Its very interactive and guides you to pick the correct answers. There are numerous innovative training process in Economist GMAT Tutor like

1. Prompts to provide the reason when selected a wrong answer.
2. Develops a sense of time on how much we take for solving a problem
3. Clearly explains every options why its wrong or why its correct.
4. Forces us to think and then answer and not just guess the answer.
5. In quant section it solves every problem providing a guide as to how to do it
6. In quant the section of POE (estimating) an answer is particularly well made.
7. The support from the tutors when asked a question is really prompt, and well answered
8. With an AI based interactive judment it slowly raises the level of questions when I started answering the correct questions. It really helped.

With all these I am happy to have enrolled in this and particularly impressed with the verbal section and would highly recommend it to any one looking to improve verbal score. The quant section is equally good but for me the verbal section stands out.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Economist GMAT Tutor Online
December 02 | 2013

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By cosimoviolati joined: December 2, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online |
I am very happy with GMAT Tutor so far. I highly recommend it to anyone who wishes to learn the gmat tricks. The best part is probably how the program works: it walks you through every necessary steps and won't stop until you get it. I also think their IOS app is awesome, I can just start practicing whenever and wherever I want using my iPad or iPhone.

For those who hesitate between online and real classes I would say go for this. You can meet with tutors via Skype and they were actually more useful than I originally thought.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Fantastic Course!
December 09 | 2013

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 9, 2013 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online |
The Economist GMAT Tutor is fantastic! To begin with, the content is rich. I've spent approximately 22 hours studying so far, and already feel that I could face the GMAT tomorrow with a large increase in my score. The lessons are easy to follow along with, and will give you more detailed examples/help or less, depending on how well you do on practice problems.

I also really like that the program will sprinkle in review problems from other sections you've learned, so that you continue to keep your skills sharp. Two great features that I've yet to use so far are The Economist GMAT Tutor's option to schedule a live tutoring session as well as a review of an essay you've written.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Economist GMAT Tutor Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
83 points
International Student Score Improvement
88 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
80%
Save $369
Best GMAT Discounts
+10% coupon code discount
+$250 bonus + $25 giftcard
Get The Economist GMAT Tutor Promo Code