Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep Reviews
    Number of reviews [104]      Average Rating:       (4.5/5)
 
The Economist GMAT Tutor Course 
Reviews
GMAT prep on your terms: No schedules, no classes and no commute  
The course that’s as unique as you are: Focus on your target areas with adaptive online learning   Prepare for the whole test: Unparalleled real-world lessons include all four GMAT sections   Chat 1-on-1 with real tutors: Expert tutors are available via e-mail, phone and video chat
Learn on your time: 24/7 online access enables you to study whenever and wherever you want
Get a great deal on The Economist GMAT Tutor courses with GMAT Club

A solid course
April 06 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By RoryJP joined: September 17, 2012 | 1 | 1 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
I'm likely somewhat unique in that I went through most of the Economist Gmat Tutor syllabus twice - once when it was MasterGMAT and once again recently.

The Web Application
I really like the web application. It is intuitive. The UI is clean. However, I would recommend they change the review section. I found it a pain to navigate.

Quant
The quant content is very robust. If you learn best by practicing a lot and by doing a lot of questions then Economist GMAT would be a very good bet. They present you with many (thousands) questions of varying difficulty. The methods they teach are for the most part very solid. My Quant skills improved a great deal because of this course.

Verbal
On my second time around I didn't use as much as the verbal section as the first time. While very thorough I found their SC methods a bit weak. This may be because the practice SC questions are unlike official GMAT questions. When I came to apply the SC methods to OG GMAT questions they just didn't click for me.
The RC and CR content is good and the practice questions I found comparable to the GMAT.

Relative to some other courses the course is quite expensive. I think it is worth the money but the rolling monthly $90 fee when you have finished the three months is excessive. This is especially the case when your customers are all likely busy people who may not be able to complete their prep in the initial three months.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Real-time feedback; move at your own pace
April 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
I find sitting through multi-hour live sessions very unproductive. I either want the information faster or really want to stop and focus on something. Economist GMAT tutor allows you to go as fast as you'd like. It also offers real-time feedback with each question you answer. Gone are the days of having to flip to the back of the book.

Because everything is done online, it's also easy to track progress. There is a score forecaster as well. Overall this function seems slightly inaccurate (always seems to give a 90 - 100 point range) but it is motivating to see your progression toward your target.

Still, it is not a perfect platform. I wish that it spiraled a bit more. I feel like I haven't seen a geometry question in a few weeks and wonder if I remember them. I haven't made a ton of use of the ask-a-tutor function, but they seem a bit condescending at times.

Overall, I would highly recommend this for the self-motivated crowd.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Absolutely Excellent!
March 18 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 18, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
As an Economist reader I was drawn by the credibility of the name and the ability to do a free trial. I had a lot of friends offering books of various sorts, but I really didn't know where to start and having a brand I could trust was how I got started.

I was not disappointed. The course was extremely thorough, giving me complete confidence that every matter would be covered and that recent changes and added sections in the exam would be addressed.

The course is built to allow you to meet an objective - a high GMAT score. Everything in it is thoroughly researched and presented to teach you how the exam might trick you, common mistakes and common fool-proof answer checks. My exam methodology I took during my School days was clearly not the right one to take into this test, and the Economist Tutor was instrumental in changing it into a more effective GMAT-focussed method.

I also submitted essays for the AWA section for marking on three occasions and my score went up each time as I practiced and responded to feedback. Again, had I approached this section without some crucial bits of advice from the Economist GMAT tutor I would have been in a far different situation.

Unfortunately I did not leave myself enough time to complete the whole course, and I think that perhaps my score reflects this. As a means to an ends though, it has got me exactly where I want to be, to my Business School of 1st preference and I really don't think I would be here without it!

Very satisfied.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Interactive tool
March 18 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 6, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
Helpful tool --- quick study on the go thanks to iphone and ipad apps. You can select the time you want to spend on your study session which makes it easier to study / do 10 min questions here and there on your commute or at work. I found it helpful for Math as it helped solidify types of questions I had problems with. You can ask the tutor should you not understand the explanation -- this is very useful. It would be good, however, if one had the option to choose which topics you wanted to practice (say for instance, you are taking the exam in 2 weeks instead of 3 months and you wanted to focus on xyz topics). Also, it would be nice if one could redo certain questions already completed successfully. It would be useful to have that as an option that wouldn't mess with your study plan. For verbal, it was very rudimentary -- it would have been nice if one could have skipped ahead especially if one was under time constraints, i.e. instead of starting on level 0, start midway on level 50. I would purchase this course again for Math, but wouldn't rely on this for verbal. Perhaps in the future one could enter what score/percentile to help the program determine how easy the questions should be ---- no point in wasting time doing boring verbal questions that anyone can answer if you don't have time to work your way through the entire material until the program allows you to work on the more difficult/challenging section.

But as I said, I would sign-up for this course again as the math section was invaluable and help solidify many concepts and approaches. It also made studying fun and more interactive.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Best course available
March 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By betancurj joined: March 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
I've never been a great student or smart person. When I started studying for GMAT I bought a couple of books and the official guide. After 2 weeks I finished the first with no success and a mediocre score. The second, to be honest, had a competitive level, so I decided to look for another way to prepare. After reading a lot of reviews I ended up signing for the Economist GMAT. I've been using it for almost 4 weeks and I can really see the improvement and positive differences between the studying methods. I haven't taken any tests but I'm sure I have a significant improvement. Absolutely recommend.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Gets the job done!
March 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By leoroc joined: December 12, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
This Economist GMAT Tutor is an excellent course for those who like flexibility and a complete, adaptative format that helps you hone in your skills. I studied using this course for three months, not as regularly as I wished, and still managed to get a higher score than I had anticipated. I had studied on my own using another text book and had taken the GMAT a couple of months earlier without too much success. With the Economist GMAT tutor I increased my score by 150 points. I highly recommend it. It gets the job done without wasting your time. The tutors are very reponsive and clear in their explanations. This is by far the best tools I have found in preparing for the GMAT.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
GMAT Tutor review
February 21 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 7, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
I have completed 85% of the GMAT tutor course. The quant section was great and helped me to reach 49, 81 percentile and I have completed 90% of quant the section.
However, the verbal section was not great enough for a non-native speaker. I completed about 80% of that section and scored 24, 34 percentile only.
My total score was 610 and the GMAT Tutor forecast was 600-650. My last exam was 2 years before this. I did not do anything for GMAT during those 2 years other than 12 weeks using GMAT Tutor before the exam.
I recommend the course for its quant section but not for the verbal section.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Decent course
February 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By akpkjun joined: February 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
I think this is a very decent course. It teaches concepts very well. It claims to adapt according to your learning and present you with more practice on weaker areas. Without boring you I will summarize my experience.

Pros:
1. Very good stable website. No speed issues. Very clean interface.
2. Good walk-through concepts.
3. You get a one-week free trial so that will give you good idea if course works for you.

Cons:
1. Terrible "talk to tutor" program. First of all, it takes a while to make an appointment. Appointments available in the middle of night for me (pacific time zone).
2. I don't think tutors were helpful at all. They came unprepared. It was a waste of time that I took only two classes.
3. I didn't like the fact that you do not have an option to choose the topic to practice questions. I think they have some "choose your topic" but it is very limited and didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Economist GMAT Tutor
January 21 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By fredbear joined: January 21, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 140 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
I received a score of 610 after using GMAT Tutor from the Economist. I only completed 30% of their course. Most of the course beginning focuses on fundamentals that can be applied to many of the most common question types.

Initially I began to prep on my own, but I didn't have a very good workflow. More time spent studying does not necessarily equate to success. You need 1.) overall strategy and 2.) techniques to shortcut success for various problem types. Economist Tutor accomplishes these things.

I decided to purchase GMAT Tutor from Economist to utilize during my winter break (I am a current student). Over a 3.5 week period I studied 6-8 hours a day using their tool. The sessions go in order and gradually things are revealed to you in an order that crawls first, then walks, then walks some more, then runs. I never felt lost and could see their reasoning of the order of lessons when looking back on my experience.

Their system is very well designed and a was a truly good find for me. The strategy session I scheduled via 1-on-1 via skype was a big help. Very good suggestions. Overall the GMAT Tutor team from the Economist was personable, professional, and extremely knowledgable. Very helpful indeed.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Disappointed but might work for some
January 20 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By jgriffin055 joined: November 17, 2013 | 2 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
Overall, I could not recommend this GMAT course. The adaptive format and accessibility are nice and this is about where the positives stop for me.

After completing more than 75% of the course over 100+ hours of studying, I took the real test and was quite disappointed with my score to say the least. While I felt prepared and was scoring in the 600s on the OG tests, I do not hold this program solely accountable.

Some of my frustrations include the inability to select specific lessons, the "tutor" sessions, the score forecast, and the IR preparation. First, as many people have said before, it is not possible to select a certain problem area you are struggling with for review. There isn't even a search feature to go through the small summary tidbits the program does have. Searching for topics is annoying. I gave up and just came to the forums for supplemental info. Another program feature that I found useless was the score forecaster. After completing 75% of the program and completing all 3 simulation tests, my score forecast had a range of 90 points. 90 points on the GMAT is huge and provides no value. Third, the program never introduced me to the IR content. I feel its ridiculous that after 75% of the course this was not discussed.

One of the major disappointments for me was the one-on-on tutoring sessions. 3 of my 4 sessions were USELESS. And I mean completely useless. I spent the 50 minutes watching the tutors solve problems. After asking questions the tutors responded with minutes of "ummmmmm, uhhhhh, hmmmmmm". When an answer was given and I continued to ask questions, sometimes they were answered, other times they weren't. On a specific topic I asked a few follow questions on the tutor said, "I have explained it perfectly. I don't know why you don't understand and I can't do it any other way". Thank you for being helpful and hard working!! The last straw for me was when one of the tutors answered my question by telling me to look in the online forums for the answers. This is unacceptable and a joke. I hope that I just had bad experiences.

These are just some of my negative feelings about the course. Some people have found it helpful and the ability to use the course anywhere is a plus. However, I would recommend using a different course as I am.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Economist GMAT Tutor Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
83 points
International Student Score Improvement
93 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
80%
Save $369
Best GMAT Discounts
+10% coupon code discount
+$250 bonus + $25 giftcard
Get The Economist GMAT Tutor Promo Code