Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep Reviews
    Number of reviews [134]      Average Rating:       (4.5/5)
 
The Economist GMAT Tutor Course 
Reviews
GMAT prep on your terms: No schedules, no classes and no commute  
  • The course that’s as unique as you are: Focus on your target areas with adaptive online learning   
  • Prepare for the whole test: Unparalleled real-world lessons include all four GMAT sections   
  • Chat 1-on-1 with real tutors: Expert tutors are available via e-mail, phone and video chat
  • Learn on your time: 24/7 online access enables you to study whenever and wherever you want
Get a great deal on The Economist GMAT Tutor courses with GMAT Club

Great software - 100 point increase!
July 06 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By Anonymous joined: July 6, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
Economist GMAT Tutor was invaluable in my GMAT preparation. I used this software exclusively and over a 3 month period got my score from 620 in my first prac test to 720 in my first GMAT exam. My verbal was already high, so I found it particularly useful for my quant learning. Really appreciated being able to work at my own pace, and access to tutors through ask-a-tutor and scheduled sessions meant I was never stuck on something I couldn't understand. The software recognised what areas I struggled with and focused on those areas in revision. Would definitely recommend the Economist GMAT tutor!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Loved the app!
June 01 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by membership
       By DiananaH joined: March 26, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
I'm a fan of the app portion of this in particular -- especially b/c it let me study on the train and in 10-15 minute sections at a time on days when I didn't have a full hour or so to study. Having taken other GMAT courses/read through other GMAT books, this one really does take a different approach and gets you to think about the problems differently/more creatively, which I loved.

I focused mostly on the math section since that's where I needed the improvement.

Sadly, ultimately, it didn't help me correct my timing problems, so I didn't get as much out of the techniques in terms of a score increase!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
imperfect
May 28 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By Ruhrob joined: May 14, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
I bought the three months Economist GMAT Tutor as I wanted to learn as much as possible in the short time I had to prepare for the test: 3 weeks. I completed around 60% of the program, working only with the course and not with the official guids. After around 70-75 hours of studying (including tests), I finished with a score of 690.

What is good about the Economist course:

+ it's very flexible as you can time the sessions individually and take 5 to 60 minutes at once

+ the simulation tests gave a pretty good impression of my progress. The latest one, two days before the actual test, predicted a 680 score, which is just 10 away from my real score
+ despite all the annoying things about the course (see below), I learned alot. I like the way the content is presented and overall, the tips are pretty useful. The GMAT is all about knowing what the GMAC wants to see, this program will tell you

What I did not like about the program:

- the shortest plan for the program is 3 months. I liked the trial version, so I went for the GMAT Tutor even though I just had 3 weeks to learn and couldn't finish the course. Personally, I think it is a little cheeky to make people pay for such a long time in any case
- you cannot choose a particular lesson yourself. I found this pretty annoying in the end when I ran out of time and wanted to pick specific topics that weren't included in the course yet and where I knew I needed improvement. Consequently, I was forced to look up (google) topics elsewhere online. If you don't have the time to take the entire course, that is a real contra.
- the mobile phone app of the program is a nice idea but needs improvement. When my internet wasn't very stable (in the train etc.), the app kept switching from offline to online mode and then mixed up verbal and quant parts all the time. I preferred to learn the verbal part with the app because you don't need to take notes here, but with the mixing up that was pretty useless.

- There are only 3 simulation tests. Paying 500€ for a course, I think it is just ridiculous to limit the number of tests to three. Why would you do this?
- The email communication, including the ask-a-tutor feature, did not work well. I did not get an answer to all of my questions within 24 hours, sometimes it was near 48 hours for them to respond. To give another example: The evening before my GMAT test, after I had already completed the 3 sim tests and 60% of the course, I received the email that I had now finished more than 30% and that I could have a go for the sim tests. The program claims it is so personalized, in this case it failed.

Overall: I think it is a good choice if you have the time to finish the entire course. Still, I think it needs improvement and lastly, looking at the price, I am not really satisfied. For me, that was a real investment and if I spend so much money, I expect a perfect product. The course did not always meet my expectations.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT Economist
April 29 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By franjg joined: November 1, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
Hi,

I studied around a total of 100hs for verbal and 105 for math during 3.5 months with the Economist and reached 90% of the course.

I got an impresive improvement in the Verbal Section. The Economist teaches you how to do a systematic approach to this section that reduces your mistakes and increases your awareness to eliminate wrong answer choices. However, I found that SC and RC were much better than CR in the course.

For the Math section I didn't improve as much as I was expecting on my score. But it has an interesting approach that teaches you how to think problems faster with a strategy to "ball-park" or guess if necessary.

For AWA the course gives you usefull templates to use and the tutors helps you with their corrections. And last, for IR you don't have so much material to do. But I don't think IR is as important for the GMAT score right now as the other sections.

The practice tests are realistic and helps you improve very much, but they don't have AWA and IR section. I recommend to use other sources of AWA and IR before taking this tests so you can more precisely resemble the test conditions.

Good luck.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Good course but requires additional content
April 28 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By Anonymous joined: February 14, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
I used the Economist GMAT prep software and thought it did an excellent job at teaching overall strategy to approach the sections / question types and giving explanations to each question. The explanations for each question are worth their weight in gold in terms of helping increase learning speed.

The course is weighted more towards logic and logical reasoning; so I found it useful to use the MGMAT materials as well in order to get more exposure to tougher calculation questions. Deducting one star for the need to use other materials and other CATs that are less logic focused.

Overall I scored 750 on the real GMAT (Q47, V47).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very helpful, not very flexible
April 20 | 2015

       By kmaxx98 joined: December 8, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
My review of the Economist Course is mixed. On one hand, it certainly helped me to achieve a score much higher than I had expected and prepared me for the exam. On the other hand, the course is very rigid and inflexible. I am sure that I could have scored even higher should I have been able to focus on areas of weakness (which is essentially impossible with the format provided).

I scored a 710, and I understand that is nothing to complain about. However, I only scored a 5 on Integrated Reasoning and the course provided essentially zero preparation for this facet of the exam. It also has zero flexibility in choosing which types of practice questions to tackle.

My advise, shop other programs which might be more comprehensive. I am glad I chose to take the course, but I wish I had given more expensive courses a shot at my money first.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Very Satisfied
March 19 | 2015

       By ayellis joined: August 10, 2014 | 13 | 7 | native speaker
Improvement: 160 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
Thus far I have been very happy with the Economist GMAT course. I paid $500 and have thus far been using it for several weeks - I am around 45% complete with the quantitative section and 35% done with verbal. I am very solid with my verbal knowledge, and have been happy with the focus thus far on the quantitative work. My only small complaint is that while its adaptive technology is touted upon purchase, there is little evidence of it actually being put in use. Is the adaptiveness actual or in name only? I'd like to see more information on that. Overall I have been happy with the content and with the communications I have been receiving. I have yet to take the GMAT, but am hoping this will be the key to a good performance the first time around. Highly recommended for those who have an on-the-go lifestyle, can afford it, and believe they'd benefit from a course that does the work for them (at least supposedly!).

UPDATE: After taking the official GMAT, I ended up with a 160 point improvement from my first practice test to the actual GMAT, going from 550 to 710. I was shooting for 720 - though I guess I was happy with anything over 700, and really I should be thankful to have made it as far as I did. There were some things emphasized by The Economist that were not included in the GMAT at all, but overall I feel like it was well worth the money and my time was used wisely. I was also featured on their blog - so check out more of my thoughts, as edited by them, here: https://gmat.economist.com/blog/student-stories/how-andrew-conquered-gmat-full-time-job


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great tool but very long
February 20 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: May 20, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
The program is great for studying for the GMAT. I used it to focus mostly on verbal and not on the quant section. Although the software was very useful, it felt as if there was too much study material and repetition wasn't necessary. I also couldn't choose the areas I would have wanted to study. For example I would have wanted the option of reviewing the math concepts and just doing a lot of questions rather than doing a concept then tons of questions. Over all, I would recommend the software for anyone that is trying to study especially someone who has a lot of time on their hands. I also really enjoyed their score tracking so you have an idea of where you would be when you take the actual exam.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Economist GMAT Tutor Review
February 15 | 2015

       By kc33 joined: February 15, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
I have not completed the entire course or taken the GMAT, but the Economist Tutor has helped me stay focused. I have tried self directed study before and it has not worked very well. This Economist GMAT Tutor prep keeps things fresh and seems to provide a clear direction that I am confident in. I also thinks it saves time since the content is provided in a linear way so you don't have to spend the time deciding on what to study. I am happy with the product so far. Lastly, the customer service I have received has been pretty good.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Help
January 09 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: January 9, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
The GMAT Economist Tutor is the best application for that I've used for preparation for my second GMAT exam. I am an engineering student that is preparing trying to get into an 3+2 MBA Program. Although I love business, I haven't had the need to take many business courses so it is helpful to get the transition from the engineering mindset to the more business or GMAT mindset.

I really like how the application works to anticipate what you need and suggests lessons for you. The questions and content does get more difficult the better you do, just like the actual exam. It does more then just quiz but actually teach strategy to the questions and how to go about the test. But it also teaches you content so you know what is actually going on. So you understand the verbal questions or the math pieces.

The GMAT Economist Tutor also provides an online version but also an iPad version so I can pretty much take it wherever. The application also allows for practice exams, tutor advice, and even an essay that can be scored. So it really covers a lot of the bases. But it still takes a lot of time and effort that you have to put in. It is an expensive test prep program, but worth it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Economist GMAT Tutor Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
85 points
International Student Score Improvement
91 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
80%
Save $369
Best GMAT Discounts
+10% coupon code discount
+$250 bonus + $25 giftcard
Get The Economist GMAT Tutor Promo Code