Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep Reviews
    Number of reviews [115]      Average Rating:       (4.5/5)
 
The Economist GMAT Tutor Course 
Reviews
GMAT prep on your terms: No schedules, no classes and no commute  
  • The course that’s as unique as you are: Focus on your target areas with adaptive online learning   
  • Prepare for the whole test: Unparalleled real-world lessons include all four GMAT sections   
  • Chat 1-on-1 with real tutors: Expert tutors are available via e-mail, phone and video chat
  • Learn on your time: 24/7 online access enables you to study whenever and wherever you want
Get a great deal on The Economist GMAT Tutor courses with GMAT Club

Excellent Program For Achieving 700+ Scores
July 22 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Isaac
After an initial diagnostic with the GMAT Prep software, I scored a 680 (Q47/V35). I went ahead and purchased the usual prep materials - OG, Manhattan Guides, and went through just about all of it. Unfortunately, my scores did not improve much, fluctuating in the 670-700 range. At this point I had less than three weeks before the actual test. I purchased the Economist GMAT Tutor program to see what it could do. It has a ton of material, and forces you to methodically start with fundamentals, which was especially helpful for the Verbal section. The software comes with free essay scoring and skype sessions with instructors, which were also quite helpful. I scored 720 and 740 on the simulation tests in the week before, and ended up with a 720 (Q47/V42) on the actual GMAT. I highly recommend this software for students looking for a structured program that can guarantee large jumps in scores.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Still underway!
July 21 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By nitin6305 joined: November 9, 2012 | 65 | 30 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Isaac
I took the Complete prep of the Economist GMAT Tutor around 10-11 days back and have completed somewhere around 40% of the material. This reveiw is based on the experience with the program until now.
Verbal:
1. RC - I didn't find the strategy for RC suitable for me and thus I have reverted back to age old strategy of reading the entire passage.
2. SC - The work order used is pretty good as until I can visualize application of work order in every question that has appreared until now.
3. CR - Not much has appeared under CR until now, but it is pretty much satisfactory.

Quant:
This section needs special appreciation as the way Quant has been taught is pretty good and is very logical. The level of questions is also pretty good and is getting better with every session.

I have asked around 10 doubts until now in Ask the Tutor and have received prompt and detailed replies. I haven't booked a skype session with any tutor until now, so cannot comment on the same.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep
July 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 26, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
Using the Economist GMAT Tutor I was able to improve my GMAT score from a 570 to a 690. I strongly recommend that anyone interested in writing the GMAT sign up for the one week free trial offered by Economist GMAT. This will help you determine if the program will work for your learning style. I found the program to be very thorough yet concise - it focuses on the areas most likely to be tested by the GMAT. The program was able to pinpoint my weaknesses and help me learn from my mistakes by continously providing me with questions on difficult topics until I was able to perfectly grasp the topics. Take the trial...you've got nothing to lose!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
The course is good. But can be improved.
July 01 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Digvijay01 joined: October 26, 2013 | 22 | 18 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
So late in Oct last year, I decided to enroll in a course to streamline my GMAT prep. I researched a bit and after trying Eco-Gmat's free trial for 2-3 days, I decided to enroll in their course.

I liked their system and other support that they provide. In the end, I couldn't get the results I was aspiring for , but I can't blame that on this course. I did improved in mocks, but failed to deliver in real time.

Nevertheless, I am providing brief review of each section of the course that might help other people to evaluate this course.

Essays: The template and the tips provided were awesome. My course had option of submitting 4 essays and getting feedback on them. I received good feedback from the instructors. I scored 5 and 5.5 on real tests using same template and tips.

QA: Quant was pretty good. It helped me review all topics and provided good tips to tackle certain kind of Qs in shortest of time. The approach to DS was awesome. It helped me attack DS Qs with Max accuracy.

VA: Verbal section is pretty decent. Their processes are quite good. One need to internalize the processes and other ways of tackling certain Qs to get maximum results. Their RC section helped me a lot. Their approach to the passage and Qs is simple and intuitive and is focused on getting max result in min. time. Only drawback was one has to read an RC passage again and again to answer Qs which pop-out randomly. It sometimes gets irritating.

SimTests: Simtests were alright. They share a lot of Qs pool with the course you attempt. As I attempted these after completing 70-80% , I couldn't get much out of these. Also, they only contain QA and VA section and no IR or Essay sections. These tests should be taken as more of practice tests and not mocks.

Support and Interface: Interface was pretty nice. I liked its interactive nature. Also, they have a feature where you can ask a Qs for some practice problem or a concept and tutors will get back to you in 24 hours. I got my doubts cleared on time. Only drawbacks are--you can't skip and focus on your weak areas, you don't have Qs bank, you can't review a concept in its entirety although summaries are available.

All in all, its still a good course and can be bought if someone is starting out. Also, non-natives might not benefit much from VA section of this. So, reiterating the my title--The course is good, but can be improved.

Hope this helps. Kindly let me know if you have any Qs.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent Program...Easily the best I have seen
June 22 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By smduncan joined: June 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
After taking the gmat once and achieving a mid-600 score after studying various hard copy books, I decided to go in a different route. I spoke with my admissions consultant and she suggested the Economist GMAT Tutor. I am taking the test again next month so I have a month to complete the 100+ hour course and less than halfway through I can wholeheartedly tell you that it is worth every penny. I am much more confident with my verbal and quant, and am able to study on my own time via the ipad app which works perfectly for people that travel often like myself. Highly recommended, will touch base again with my results in a few weeks! Thanks Economist GMAT tutor!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Economist GMAT Tutor Review
June 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Aaron Lin
This course is in my opinion the best "on the go" GMAT reference and it has a very user friendly approach and understandable text. Sample questions appear to have the requisite level of difficulty and the explanations are generally clear.

Not everyything is perfect. For the quantitative section, the program appears to rely too much on plugging in / POE techniques, at the expense of explaining algebraic / equation based approaches. However, the explanations remain sound for those of us that would refer to use a more traditional mathematical approach.

Also, the verbal section seems tedious in some areas and it can be difficult to do one or two reading comprehension questions in isolation.

The Ipad program seems to work well, but the effectiveness of the program without an internet connection is a bit unpredictable. It seems like the program can store some data for offline use, but sometimes this fails. Some increased transparency on this would be helpful. Also, everyone once in a while the text of a question can be "glitchy" (word missing!); this is very annoying and I have had this happen three times. This distracts a lot from the experience. The program also purports to work on iphone but it seems like the text would be WAY too small to make this practical. Also, there is no way to increase the text size in the Ipad program, which can be tedious for a longer study session.

I would not recommend this as a standalone program but this program is fantastic for a fresh look at the key skills and techniques required for a respectable score.

For my prep, I have been using some Manhattan GMAT books and took a live Kaplan course, but the Economist GMAT really has helped a lot in bringing everything together.

Another thing I really like is that the program is recursive -- it loops back to past concepts periodically to confirm you still remember. That is great for those of us that work fulltime and therefore need to split the studying up into chunks.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Gmat Economist Tutor
May 27 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 27, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
This software has worked as good as I expected. Having limited time to study between work and personal life, having this software allows me to study in short or long periods of time wherever I am. I´ve been studying for a week and have improved in both quant and verbal. Before paying for this program I considered buying Manhattan books, but this program works according to your level so it can adapt easily to your current level. So far, this interactive method has worked well for me. Another thing I like was the option to Ask-a-tutor which make it more personal and rewarding in case you have difficulties in any question.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A fantactic program for a GMAT re-taker
May 12 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By twehner joined: February 22, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 60 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
When I started the Economist program, it was 2-3 months after I had taken my first GMAT. For that first test, I studied my way through the Manhattan book series at my own pace and did some of the OG practice problems. I felt like I didn’t achieve my full potential that time around, since my GMAC practice tests were in the 730 ballpark, but my actual test came out a 690.

I started the Economist prep trial software in January out of curiosity, at that point, not entirely intent on re-taking the test at any given time. However, I was drawn into the platform of the program, which combines adaptive teaching (to what extent, I’m not sure) with progress tracking and score prediction. The fact that the program offered a score increase guarantee of 50 points (with conditions, of course) in a certain period of time (in this case, 3 months) felt like the right kind of commitment I needed – finite time-wise with a very specific goal. After the one-week trial period, in which I appeared to have completed around 10% of the program, I decided to go all the way.

I purchased the program in February and got started with a practice exam (my program included 3 of them). I scored 710 on that exam, meaning, I could base my score improvement on that first score (assuming I met the other conditions, one of which is to complete 90% of the course) – 760 guaranteed? Awesome.

Over the next two months, I spent 5-7 hours per week going through the lessons and practice problems. At times it was annoying to have to click through topics I already knew, but the interspersion of practice problems with new topics is a great feature of the program and constantly keeps you practicing and refreshing your knowledge of previously taught topics.

I felt like the verbal section was particularly strong in the program. It teaches really solid rules for sentence correction (I think this made the biggest difference for me) and guidelines for reading comprehension that helped me save a lot of time. When feeding me verbal practice questions, it seemed to give me mostly SC problems, which I suppose mimics the composition of the real test, but it would have been nice, after I had answered 20 consecutive SC questions correctly (no exaggeration) that it would have given me some critical reasoning or reading comprehension questions. Anyhow, I breezed my way through the bulk of the verbal section in the first two months, spending 1/2 to 2/3 of the time that I spent on quant. I noticed my verbal score on the practice tests (I did official and Manhattan practice tests on the side) making marked improvements, from 38-40 to 42-44. At the end of two months, I had finished all of the lessons in the verbal section (between 70-75% completion, as the program tracks it), leaving only practice problems.

Throughout the program, I had mixed feelings about the way quant is taught. As a detail-oriented person, I was a little annoyed that they were teaching ballparking as a fundamental skill. However, this approach is actually very helpful in brushing off seemingly insurmountable problems without over-dedicating. I learned some new approaches to solving quant problems (both problem solving and data sufficiency) that I think were especially helpful. There were not any remarkable ways of re-learning the fundamental math behind the problems, but the repetitive drilling of practice questions helped a lot to get formulas memorized. While this program may not be as strong as others in teaching test-takers to correctly answer the super-difficult quant questions, I thought it did a good job overall in preparing me for the quant section as a whole, considering all the questions, strategy and timing. At the end of the first two months, I had only finished around half of the quant part of the program, despite having spent significantly more time on it.

Throughout the first two months, I used 3 of the 4 tutoring sessions included in the program. The session basically consists of a 45-minute Skype conversation with a tutor to review an area of your choice. I chose the areas that had been weak in practice tests. While we were not able to cover many questions in that time, as compared with the GMAT practice problems, I found it helpful to discuss in detail the elements of the problems and to learn new strategies for dealing with questions. I don’t consider the tutoring sessions to be a crucial part of the program, but it’s definitely a nice bonus to have.

At the start of my third and final month of the program, I took some time to assess what I needed to do to get where I wanted to go. I had a goal of 760 (within the program, anyway) and needed to complete approximately 40% of the quant and 15% of the verbal in order to meet the 90% threshold for The Economist’s score guarantee. I did notice that progress beyond a certain point (somewhere in the 60-70% range) becomes significantly more difficult to achieve. At some points, I would work diligently for an hour, only to get less than one percent progress. I think this has to do with concept mastery, which makes sense. If I hadn’t mastered the concepts, I should only be able to progress so far. Anyway, it is important to note that progress within this program is not linearly correlated with time spent. I spent 35-40 hours on practice sessions (not including practice tests, of which I took about 8 during the same time period) in the third month, and did not come close to the 90% milestone. However, my practice test results were promising – I had scored in the 740-750 range on the last two Economist tests and a 760 on one official (practice) test. I figured I’d go ahead with my early-May GMAT (my prep program ended in April) and see how it goes, with no score guarantee.

I submitted one practice AWA for review and comment (I still don’t think I’ve received any feedback on it, three weeks later). The program supposedly includes 3 AWA reviews, but I didn’t make use of it to any significant degree. I wrote a few AWAs as part of the practice tests I did leading up to the real test, so felt sufficiently prepared.

I did not come across any integrated reasoning sections as part of the GMAT practice prep. I think there is a short section at the end of the quant lessons (which I did not reach). Anyhow, I didn’t worry too much about it, as I had aced IR on my first GMAT.

So, I went in to take my test on May 3, with a reasonable level of confidence. I had meditated the night before and went for a short run a couple hours before test time. I may not have finished the prep program, but I had a solid foundation and was in the right state of mind. I managed to breeze through the essay (and even have time to review – not normal for me). I felt good about my performance on IR, and although I didn’t finish, I wanted to stay focused on the “important” parts. Quant went as smoothly as it could have. For the more conventional problems, I could quickly pull out the needed weapon (their use fresh in my memory from all the drills and practice tests), strike the problem down, and proceed to the next; for the more exotic quant beasts, I was able to gauge within a reasonable amount of time whether I was worthy of the foe or should take a cheap shot and flee (and live to see another day). I think this this ability to assess quant problems before getting knee-deep in them was what I gained most from the program. For the verbal section, it was more like the last few miles of a marathon than a series of battles. In my first GMAT, I faced mental exhaustion in the verbal section, unable to focus after spending so much energy previously. This time, not so – I managed to pace myself through to the end, finishing in the last 10 seconds. With the solid verbal practice that I gained from The Economist’s program, the challenge was just to stay calm and focused.

Half dreading and half elated about what my result could be, I took the maximum amount of time during the survey questions. The result came up, and it was a 750 (49Q 44V). Phew. I’ll take it.

While I didn’t achieve the 760 that I wasn’t guaranteed by The Economist, I am in every way satisfied with my results (minus the drop in IR score, small matter) and I found it a great way to achieve real results in a set amount of time. It is also far more flexible and cost effective than receiving tutoring from a human. That isn’t to say that personal tutoring isn’t valuable, but for the cost of the program, the amount of information and practice I got is phenomenal.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent product
May 04 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 1, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
I did the 7-day trial and I used just two out of the seven days. At the beginning the way the course was showed seemed very odd, but as I spent one more hour on it I immediately made the purchase. Now I know that I did the best choice. The course is very intuitive and easy to keep you on track. You don't feel lost, because you just have to follow the course. They made a very good mix between practice and lessons. As a non-native speaker I feel that I am improving a lot, specially on Sentence Correction.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great if you have limited time for study
April 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Vizy joined: March 30, 2014 | 4 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
My profile: non-native, didn't any math in a long time.
It took me 2.5 months to complete 92% of the course. So there is a lot of material and a good question bank especially for math. Math questions were very alike original stuff with theory covering everything from the bottom. With adaptive system quant was great, I think I started with less than 40 in the quant and now I hit 50 on average.
Verbal didn't felt that good for me. There is a good pack of theory, especially for SC. I didn't actually finish verbal part and didn't get my hands on harder questions but original thing felt way harder. Questions definitely hammer basics into you but it probably wasn't enough for my level.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Economist GMAT Tutor Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
83 points
International Student Score Improvement
93 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
80%
Best Economist GMAT Tutor GMAT Instructors
Aaron Lin [USA]
    
Isaac [USA]
    
Save $369
Best GMAT Discounts
+10% coupon code discount
+$250 bonus + $25 giftcard
Get The Economist GMAT Tutor Promo Code