Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep Reviews
    Number of reviews [119]      Average Rating:       (4.5/5)
 
The Economist GMAT Tutor Course 
Reviews
GMAT prep on your terms: No schedules, no classes and no commute  
  • The course that’s as unique as you are: Focus on your target areas with adaptive online learning   
  • Prepare for the whole test: Unparalleled real-world lessons include all four GMAT sections   
  • Chat 1-on-1 with real tutors: Expert tutors are available via e-mail, phone and video chat
  • Learn on your time: 24/7 online access enables you to study whenever and wherever you want
Get a great deal on The Economist GMAT Tutor courses with GMAT Club

Very Satisfied
September 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ayellis joined: August 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
Thus far I have been very happy with the Economist GMAT course. I paid $500 and have thus far been using it for several weeks - I am around 45% complete with the quantitative section and 35% done with verbal. I am very solid with my verbal knowledge, and have been happy with the focus thus far on the quantitative work. My only small complaint is that while its adaptive technology is touted upon purchase, there is little evidence of it actually being put in use. Is the adaptiveness actual or in name only? I'd like to see more information on that. Overall I have been happy with the content and with the communications I have been receiving. I have yet to take the GMAT, but am hoping this will be the key to a good performance the first time around. Highly recommended for those who have an on-the-go lifestyle, can afford it, and believe they'd benefit from a course that does the work for them (at least supposedly!).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent
September 15 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By clemk joined: September 15, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Isaac
Excellent preparation. I don't like the videos because sometimes I think they are toos low and I get bored, sometimes too quick and I need to hear it again; here I can really go as fast or slow as I need, even just stop practicing if something else needs addressing, and it doesn't go on without me.

Plus the methods and explanations are great. I would like to have such an assistant for everything I want to learn !!

I did not yet take the real GMAT. I learn so much though that I am positive that I will improve my score.
Plus learning is pleasurable, which makes it so much easier.
I recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Economist GMAT Prep Highly Effective
September 12 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 12, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
I found the GMAT course to be very effective and accurate in predicting my score. I learned and retained much of the information and loved the computer adaptive approach to the course. At first, I was hesitant in choosing a fully online course but realized it was very convenient to use the app on the go. The lessons are very well presented and the practice exams predicted my real score with 100% accuracy. The tutors were knowledgeable and responded almost immediately to any concerns or questions I had. It is a great course to both review material and learn new material. I highly recommend this course.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
I increased 80 points because of this course
August 22 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By carlobou joined: August 22, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
I took one of the exams from the GMAT Prep Software before I started the program and scored 640 (I don't remember my quant score but I got a 32V and 6/8 in IR). After 9 CAT exams and 2 months training with the The Economist GMAT app I achieved 720 on my actual GMAT (49Q, 38V, 8/8 IR, 5.0/6 AWA). The app helped a lot with my Verbal skills, I even got a 42V on my CAT exams but had fever on the day of the exam and could barely finish it on the test day. I would also recommend the program for your essay (AWA) training. Whenever you submit an essay you'll a really harsh review as feedback but don't feel let down because I got a 3.0-3.5, 4.0-4.5 and even 2.5-3.0 and on my test I got 5.0. The essay reviews may not be realistic on the way they evaluate you but the way they teach how to write the AWA is pretty easy and intuitive. I did not use the app for my IR training, I didn't train for that but the Math training is pretty straight-forward and it's even more difficult than what you'll actually find on your test. Don't over-train yourself with other programs. I definitely recommend you this program. I took because I had not much choices living in Peru (South America for those who don't know it) and helped me a lot!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent Program For Achieving 700+ Scores
July 22 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Isaac
After an initial diagnostic with the GMAT Prep software, I scored a 680 (Q47/V35). I went ahead and purchased the usual prep materials - OG, Manhattan Guides, and went through just about all of it. Unfortunately, my scores did not improve much, fluctuating in the 670-700 range. At this point I had less than three weeks before the actual test. I purchased the Economist GMAT Tutor program to see what it could do. It has a ton of material, and forces you to methodically start with fundamentals, which was especially helpful for the Verbal section. The software comes with free essay scoring and skype sessions with instructors, which were also quite helpful. I scored 720 and 740 on the simulation tests in the week before, and ended up with a 720 (Q47/V42) on the actual GMAT. I highly recommend this software for students looking for a structured program that can guarantee large jumps in scores.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Still underway!
July 21 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By nitin6305 joined: November 9, 2012 | 109 | 43 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Isaac
I took the Complete prep of the Economist GMAT Tutor around 10-11 days back and have completed somewhere around 40% of the material. This reveiw is based on the experience with the program until now.
Verbal:
1. RC - I didn't find the strategy for RC suitable for me and thus I have reverted back to age old strategy of reading the entire passage.
2. SC - The work order used is pretty good as until I can visualize application of work order in every question that has appreared until now.
3. CR - Not much has appeared under CR until now, but it is pretty much satisfactory.

Quant:
This section needs special appreciation as the way Quant has been taught is pretty good and is very logical. The level of questions is also pretty good and is getting better with every session.

I have asked around 10 doubts until now in Ask the Tutor and have received prompt and detailed replies. I haven't booked a skype session with any tutor until now, so cannot comment on the same.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep
July 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 26, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
Using the Economist GMAT Tutor I was able to improve my GMAT score from a 570 to a 690. I strongly recommend that anyone interested in writing the GMAT sign up for the one week free trial offered by Economist GMAT. This will help you determine if the program will work for your learning style. I found the program to be very thorough yet concise - it focuses on the areas most likely to be tested by the GMAT. The program was able to pinpoint my weaknesses and help me learn from my mistakes by continously providing me with questions on difficult topics until I was able to perfectly grasp the topics. Take the trial...you've got nothing to lose!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
The course is good. But can be improved.
July 01 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Digvijay01 joined: October 26, 2013 | 22 | 19 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
So late in Oct last year, I decided to enroll in a course to streamline my GMAT prep. I researched a bit and after trying Eco-Gmat's free trial for 2-3 days, I decided to enroll in their course.

I liked their system and other support that they provide. In the end, I couldn't get the results I was aspiring for , but I can't blame that on this course. I did improved in mocks, but failed to deliver in real time.

Nevertheless, I am providing brief review of each section of the course that might help other people to evaluate this course.

Essays: The template and the tips provided were awesome. My course had option of submitting 4 essays and getting feedback on them. I received good feedback from the instructors. I scored 5 and 5.5 on real tests using same template and tips.

QA: Quant was pretty good. It helped me review all topics and provided good tips to tackle certain kind of Qs in shortest of time. The approach to DS was awesome. It helped me attack DS Qs with Max accuracy.

VA: Verbal section is pretty decent. Their processes are quite good. One need to internalize the processes and other ways of tackling certain Qs to get maximum results. Their RC section helped me a lot. Their approach to the passage and Qs is simple and intuitive and is focused on getting max result in min. time. Only drawback was one has to read an RC passage again and again to answer Qs which pop-out randomly. It sometimes gets irritating.

SimTests: Simtests were alright. They share a lot of Qs pool with the course you attempt. As I attempted these after completing 70-80% , I couldn't get much out of these. Also, they only contain QA and VA section and no IR or Essay sections. These tests should be taken as more of practice tests and not mocks.

Support and Interface: Interface was pretty nice. I liked its interactive nature. Also, they have a feature where you can ask a Qs for some practice problem or a concept and tutors will get back to you in 24 hours. I got my doubts cleared on time. Only drawbacks are--you can't skip and focus on your weak areas, you don't have Qs bank, you can't review a concept in its entirety although summaries are available.

All in all, its still a good course and can be bought if someone is starting out. Also, non-natives might not benefit much from VA section of this. So, reiterating the my title--The course is good, but can be improved.

Hope this helps. Kindly let me know if you have any Qs.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent Program...Easily the best I have seen
June 22 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By smduncan joined: June 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
After taking the gmat once and achieving a mid-600 score after studying various hard copy books, I decided to go in a different route. I spoke with my admissions consultant and she suggested the Economist GMAT Tutor. I am taking the test again next month so I have a month to complete the 100+ hour course and less than halfway through I can wholeheartedly tell you that it is worth every penny. I am much more confident with my verbal and quant, and am able to study on my own time via the ipad app which works perfectly for people that travel often like myself. Highly recommended, will touch base again with my results in a few weeks! Thanks Economist GMAT tutor!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Economist GMAT Tutor Review
June 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Aaron Lin
This course is in my opinion the best "on the go" GMAT reference and it has a very user friendly approach and understandable text. Sample questions appear to have the requisite level of difficulty and the explanations are generally clear.

Not everyything is perfect. For the quantitative section, the program appears to rely too much on plugging in / POE techniques, at the expense of explaining algebraic / equation based approaches. However, the explanations remain sound for those of us that would refer to use a more traditional mathematical approach.

Also, the verbal section seems tedious in some areas and it can be difficult to do one or two reading comprehension questions in isolation.

The Ipad program seems to work well, but the effectiveness of the program without an internet connection is a bit unpredictable. It seems like the program can store some data for offline use, but sometimes this fails. Some increased transparency on this would be helpful. Also, everyone once in a while the text of a question can be "glitchy" (word missing!); this is very annoying and I have had this happen three times. This distracts a lot from the experience. The program also purports to work on iphone but it seems like the text would be WAY too small to make this practical. Also, there is no way to increase the text size in the Ipad program, which can be tedious for a longer study session.

I would not recommend this as a standalone program but this program is fantastic for a fresh look at the key skills and techniques required for a respectable score.

For my prep, I have been using some Manhattan GMAT books and took a live Kaplan course, but the Economist GMAT really has helped a lot in bringing everything together.

Another thing I really like is that the program is recursive -- it loops back to past concepts periodically to confirm you still remember. That is great for those of us that work fulltime and therefore need to split the studying up into chunks.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Economist GMAT Tutor Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
83 points
International Student Score Improvement
92 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
80%
Best Economist GMAT Tutor GMAT Instructors
Aaron Lin [USA]
    
Isaac [USA]
    
Save $369
Best GMAT Discounts
+10% coupon code discount
+$250 bonus + $25 giftcard
Get The Economist GMAT Tutor Promo Code