Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep Reviews
    Number of reviews [129]      Average Rating:       (4.5/5)
 
The Economist GMAT Tutor Course 
Reviews
GMAT prep on your terms: No schedules, no classes and no commute  
  • The course that’s as unique as you are: Focus on your target areas with adaptive online learning   
  • Prepare for the whole test: Unparalleled real-world lessons include all four GMAT sections   
  • Chat 1-on-1 with real tutors: Expert tutors are available via e-mail, phone and video chat
  • Learn on your time: 24/7 online access enables you to study whenever and wherever you want
Get a great deal on The Economist GMAT Tutor courses with GMAT Club

Very helpful, not very flexible
April 20 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By kmaxx98 joined: December 8, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
My review of the Economist Course is mixed. On one hand, it certainly helped me to achieve a score much higher than I had expected and prepared me for the exam. On the other hand, the course is very rigid and inflexible. I am sure that I could have scored even higher should I have been able to focus on areas of weakness (which is essentially impossible with the format provided).

I scored a 710, and I understand that is nothing to complain about. However, I only scored a 5 on Integrated Reasoning and the course provided essentially zero preparation for this facet of the exam. It also has zero flexibility in choosing which types of practice questions to tackle.

My advise, shop other programs which might be more comprehensive. I am glad I chose to take the course, but I wish I had given more expensive courses a shot at my money first.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very Satisfied
March 19 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By ayellis joined: August 10, 2014 | 9 | 6 | native speaker
Improvement: 160 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
Thus far I have been very happy with the Economist GMAT course. I paid $500 and have thus far been using it for several weeks - I am around 45% complete with the quantitative section and 35% done with verbal. I am very solid with my verbal knowledge, and have been happy with the focus thus far on the quantitative work. My only small complaint is that while its adaptive technology is touted upon purchase, there is little evidence of it actually being put in use. Is the adaptiveness actual or in name only? I'd like to see more information on that. Overall I have been happy with the content and with the communications I have been receiving. I have yet to take the GMAT, but am hoping this will be the key to a good performance the first time around. Highly recommended for those who have an on-the-go lifestyle, can afford it, and believe they'd benefit from a course that does the work for them (at least supposedly!).

UPDATE: After taking the official GMAT, I ended up with a 160 point improvement from my first practice test to the actual GMAT, going from 550 to 710. I was shooting for 720 - though I guess I was happy with anything over 700, and really I should be thankful to have made it as far as I did. There were some things emphasized by The Economist that were not included in the GMAT at all, but overall I feel like it was well worth the money and my time was used wisely. I was also featured on their blog - so check out more of my thoughts, as edited by them, here: https://gmat.economist.com/blog/student-stories/how-andrew-conquered-gmat-full-time-job


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great tool but very long
February 20 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 20, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
The program is great for studying for the GMAT. I used it to focus mostly on verbal and not on the quant section. Although the software was very useful, it felt as if there was too much study material and repetition wasn't necessary. I also couldn't choose the areas I would have wanted to study. For example I would have wanted the option of reviewing the math concepts and just doing a lot of questions rather than doing a concept then tons of questions. Over all, I would recommend the software for anyone that is trying to study especially someone who has a lot of time on their hands. I also really enjoyed their score tracking so you have an idea of where you would be when you take the actual exam.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Economist GMAT Tutor Review
February 15 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By kc33 joined: February 15, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
I have not completed the entire course or taken the GMAT, but the Economist Tutor has helped me stay focused. I have tried self directed study before and it has not worked very well. This Economist GMAT Tutor prep keeps things fresh and seems to provide a clear direction that I am confident in. I also thinks it saves time since the content is provided in a linear way so you don't have to spend the time deciding on what to study. I am happy with the product so far. Lastly, the customer service I have received has been pretty good.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great Help
January 09 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 9, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
The GMAT Economist Tutor is the best application for that I've used for preparation for my second GMAT exam. I am an engineering student that is preparing trying to get into an 3+2 MBA Program. Although I love business, I haven't had the need to take many business courses so it is helpful to get the transition from the engineering mindset to the more business or GMAT mindset.

I really like how the application works to anticipate what you need and suggests lessons for you. The questions and content does get more difficult the better you do, just like the actual exam. It does more then just quiz but actually teach strategy to the questions and how to go about the test. But it also teaches you content so you know what is actually going on. So you understand the verbal questions or the math pieces.

The GMAT Economist Tutor also provides an online version but also an iPad version so I can pretty much take it wherever. The application also allows for practice exams, tutor advice, and even an essay that can be scored. So it really covers a lot of the bases. But it still takes a lot of time and effort that you have to put in. It is an expensive test prep program, but worth it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very good prep
December 06 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By clemence joined: November 12, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
I already rated the Economist GMAT tutor in an earlier review that you can find back. I come back to add my score. It is an very good prep altogether, easy to use even if you are available at unpredictable times. For quant, it is an excellent base for someone who hasn't done maths for a very long time. I used some Manhattan GMAT material at the end, but not enough, and I did not improve very much in quant, I'd recommend to take this course as a good base because everything is very well explained and you can get in touch easily with the team, but to really ace the quant keep a good 3-4 weeks at the end to work with more advanced courses.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Adaptive online course provides review of math and verbal fundamentals and tailored prep questions
November 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 30, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
The Economist GMAT Tutor is a web-based course that includes a review of math and verbal fundamentals as well as preparation questions and lessons that adapt to the skill level of the student. For instance, if you easily understand the sentence correction lessons, you'll receive fewer of those questions after answering previous ones correctly, quickly, and with confidence. The opposite also applies.

The course also allows submission of written essays, which are graded and returned with feedback to allow improvement of your writing technique. There are also simulation tests that accurately reflect the GMAT structure and content, and which the course uses to provide feedback regarding your grade on the actual exam.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Take the economist but you should also try other programs
November 14 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By philippeviel joined: November 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
Hi everybody,
First a little introduction about my self: I did a bachelor at the rotterdam school of management IBA. I always have been ok with math, however I'm not an native speaker (I come from france).
I studied the gmat with the economist for one month, about two hours during week day and 6 hours during weekends (I was also working).

I took the gmat and I got 640. I was a bit surprised and disappointed because I had for my three online test with the economist 620 then 670 and finally 690. I was electing more than 710.
The problem is that I scored low one verbal. Prehaps because I was over confident about that part as with the economist my scored improved a lot (from 28 to 38). I think I was used to the way the economist asked the questions, or maybe I was to not enough concentrated on the real gmat (stress ect)
However I would strongly recommend the economist: It is intuitive, it give a lot of tips. You should take more than one month to prepare the gmat, if you want to score above 700. I think in three months if you only do that, 6h a day it should be more than enough!
The IR was quit easy for me (I got 7), I did not really prepare, I think what you learn in quant is the same as in IR.
I do not have my aaa grade yet.
Good luck
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Fantastic course
November 07 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 7, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
The Economist GMAT Tutor is a great study tool and the best in terms of quality:price ratio. Cannot recommend it enough!
The Economist GMAT Tutor is a great study tool and the best in terms of quality:price ratio. Cannot recommend it enough!
The Economist GMAT Tutor is a great study tool and the best in terms of quality:price ratio. Cannot recommend it enough!
The Economist GMAT Tutor is a great study tool and the best in terms of quality:price ratio. Cannot recommend it enough!
The Economist GMAT Tutor is a great study tool and the best in terms of quality:price ratio. Cannot recommend it enough!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great product
October 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
Excellent preparation. I don't like the videos because sometimes I think they are toos low and I get bored, sometimes too quick and I need to hear it again; here I can really go as fast or slow as I need, even just stop practicing if something else needs addressing, and it doesn't go on without me.

Plus the methods and explanations are great. I would like to have such an assistant for everything I want to learn !!

I did not pass the real GMAT yet but I firmly believe this preparation will improve my score. I really recommend it to anyone interested
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Economist GMAT Tutor Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
84 points
International Student Score Improvement
90 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
80%
Save $369
Best GMAT Discounts
+10% coupon code discount
+$250 bonus + $25 giftcard
Get The Economist GMAT Tutor Promo Code