Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep Reviews
    Number of reviews [124]      Average Rating:       (4.5/5)
 
The Economist GMAT Tutor Course 
Reviews
GMAT prep on your terms: No schedules, no classes and no commute  
  • The course that’s as unique as you are: Focus on your target areas with adaptive online learning   
  • Prepare for the whole test: Unparalleled real-world lessons include all four GMAT sections   
  • Chat 1-on-1 with real tutors: Expert tutors are available via e-mail, phone and video chat
  • Learn on your time: 24/7 online access enables you to study whenever and wherever you want
Get a great deal on The Economist GMAT Tutor courses with GMAT Club

Very good prep
December 06 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By clemence joined: November 12, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Isaac
I already rated the Economist GMAT tutor in an earlier review that you can find back. I come back to add my score. It is an very good prep altogether, easy to use even if you are available at unpredictable times. For quant, it is an excellent base for someone who hasn't done maths for a very long time. I used some Manhattan GMAT material at the end, but not enough, and I did not improve very much in quant, I'd recommend to take this course as a good base because everything is very well explained and you can get in touch easily with the team, but to really ace the quant keep a good 3-4 weeks at the end to work with more advanced courses.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Adaptive online course provides review of math and verbal fundamentals and tailored prep questions
November 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 30, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
The Economist GMAT Tutor is a web-based course that includes a review of math and verbal fundamentals as well as preparation questions and lessons that adapt to the skill level of the student. For instance, if you easily understand the sentence correction lessons, you'll receive fewer of those questions after answering previous ones correctly, quickly, and with confidence. The opposite also applies.

The course also allows submission of written essays, which are graded and returned with feedback to allow improvement of your writing technique. There are also simulation tests that accurately reflect the GMAT structure and content, and which the course uses to provide feedback regarding your grade on the actual exam.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Take the economist but you should also try other programs
November 14 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By philippeviel joined: November 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Aaron Lin
Hi everybody,
First a little introduction about my self: I did a bachelor at the rotterdam school of management IBA. I always have been ok with math, however I'm not an native speaker (I come from france).
I studied the gmat with the economist for one month, about two hours during week day and 6 hours during weekends (I was also working).

I took the gmat and I got 640. I was a bit surprised and disappointed because I had for my three online test with the economist 620 then 670 and finally 690. I was electing more than 710.
The problem is that I scored low one verbal. Prehaps because I was over confident about that part as with the economist my scored improved a lot (from 28 to 38). I think I was used to the way the economist asked the questions, or maybe I was to not enough concentrated on the real gmat (stress ect)
However I would strongly recommend the economist: It is intuitive, it give a lot of tips. You should take more than one month to prepare the gmat, if you want to score above 700. I think in three months if you only do that, 6h a day it should be more than enough!
The IR was quit easy for me (I got 7), I did not really prepare, I think what you learn in quant is the same as in IR.
I do not have my aaa grade yet.
Good luck
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Fantastic course
November 07 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 7, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
The Economist GMAT Tutor is a great study tool and the best in terms of quality:price ratio. Cannot recommend it enough!
The Economist GMAT Tutor is a great study tool and the best in terms of quality:price ratio. Cannot recommend it enough!
The Economist GMAT Tutor is a great study tool and the best in terms of quality:price ratio. Cannot recommend it enough!
The Economist GMAT Tutor is a great study tool and the best in terms of quality:price ratio. Cannot recommend it enough!
The Economist GMAT Tutor is a great study tool and the best in terms of quality:price ratio. Cannot recommend it enough!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great product
October 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
Excellent preparation. I don't like the videos because sometimes I think they are toos low and I get bored, sometimes too quick and I need to hear it again; here I can really go as fast or slow as I need, even just stop practicing if something else needs addressing, and it doesn't go on without me.

Plus the methods and explanations are great. I would like to have such an assistant for everything I want to learn !!

I did not pass the real GMAT yet but I firmly believe this preparation will improve my score. I really recommend it to anyone interested
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very Satisfied
September 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ayellis joined: August 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
Thus far I have been very happy with the Economist GMAT course. I paid $500 and have thus far been using it for several weeks - I am around 45% complete with the quantitative section and 35% done with verbal. I am very solid with my verbal knowledge, and have been happy with the focus thus far on the quantitative work. My only small complaint is that while its adaptive technology is touted upon purchase, there is little evidence of it actually being put in use. Is the adaptiveness actual or in name only? I'd like to see more information on that. Overall I have been happy with the content and with the communications I have been receiving. I have yet to take the GMAT, but am hoping this will be the key to a good performance the first time around. Highly recommended for those who have an on-the-go lifestyle, can afford it, and believe they'd benefit from a course that does the work for them (at least supposedly!).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Excellent
September 15 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By clemk joined: September 15, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Isaac
Excellent preparation. I don't like the videos because sometimes I think they are toos low and I get bored, sometimes too quick and I need to hear it again; here I can really go as fast or slow as I need, even just stop practicing if something else needs addressing, and it doesn't go on without me.

Plus the methods and explanations are great. I would like to have such an assistant for everything I want to learn !!

I did not yet take the real GMAT. I learn so much though that I am positive that I will improve my score.
Plus learning is pleasurable, which makes it so much easier.
I recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Economist GMAT Prep Highly Effective
September 12 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 12, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
I found the GMAT course to be very effective and accurate in predicting my score. I learned and retained much of the information and loved the computer adaptive approach to the course. At first, I was hesitant in choosing a fully online course but realized it was very convenient to use the app on the go. The lessons are very well presented and the practice exams predicted my real score with 100% accuracy. The tutors were knowledgeable and responded almost immediately to any concerns or questions I had. It is a great course to both review material and learn new material. I highly recommend this course.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
I increased 80 points because of this course
August 22 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By carlobou joined: August 22, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online |
I took one of the exams from the GMAT Prep Software before I started the program and scored 640 (I don't remember my quant score but I got a 32V and 6/8 in IR). After 9 CAT exams and 2 months training with the The Economist GMAT app I achieved 720 on my actual GMAT (49Q, 38V, 8/8 IR, 5.0/6 AWA). The app helped a lot with my Verbal skills, I even got a 42V on my CAT exams but had fever on the day of the exam and could barely finish it on the test day. I would also recommend the program for your essay (AWA) training. Whenever you submit an essay you'll a really harsh review as feedback but don't feel let down because I got a 3.0-3.5, 4.0-4.5 and even 2.5-3.0 and on my test I got 5.0. The essay reviews may not be realistic on the way they evaluate you but the way they teach how to write the AWA is pretty easy and intuitive. I did not use the app for my IR training, I didn't train for that but the Math training is pretty straight-forward and it's even more difficult than what you'll actually find on your test. Don't over-train yourself with other programs. I definitely recommend you this program. I took because I had not much choices living in Peru (South America for those who don't know it) and helped me a lot!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Program For Achieving 700+ Scores
July 22 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Isaac
After an initial diagnostic with the GMAT Prep software, I scored a 680 (Q47/V35). I went ahead and purchased the usual prep materials - OG, Manhattan Guides, and went through just about all of it. Unfortunately, my scores did not improve much, fluctuating in the 670-700 range. At this point I had less than three weeks before the actual test. I purchased the Economist GMAT Tutor program to see what it could do. It has a ton of material, and forces you to methodically start with fundamentals, which was especially helpful for the Verbal section. The software comes with free essay scoring and skype sessions with instructors, which were also quite helpful. I scored 720 and 740 on the simulation tests in the week before, and ended up with a 720 (Q47/V42) on the actual GMAT. I highly recommend this software for students looking for a structured program that can guarantee large jumps in scores.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on The Economist
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Economist GMAT Tutor Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
82 points
International Student Score Improvement
90 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
80%
Best Economist GMAT Tutor GMAT Instructors
Aaron Lin [USA]
    
Isaac [USA]
    
Save $369
Best GMAT Discounts
+10% coupon code discount
+$250 bonus + $25 giftcard
Get The Economist GMAT Tutor Promo Code