GMAT Pill GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [116]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
 
GMAT Pill discount code
The GMAT Pill Method is like having your own private tutor online - but for a fraction of the cost. You'll learn how to think efficiently so you can quickly narrow down your answer choices and arrive at the correct one - sometimes without even reading the entire answer choice. 

Includes  the Practice Pill Platform - an interactive online question bank (800+) with GMAT Pill video explanations and community discussion, a complete mobile solution for your on-the-go GMAT prep needs (iPhone+ Android+ iPad), core course frameworks for all SC, CR, RC, DS, PS, and yes--even IR, 24/7 Email Support, full length computer adaptive practice test (CAT) with performance and time analytics, & OG13 Online Tracker.  Browse special deals available on GMAT Pill...

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Thank you soo much Zeke!!
March 21 | 2012

7 out of 7 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By alexisbrentwood24 joined: March 21, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online |
I cannot thank Zeke enough!

I had my exam yesterday and I came out with 710! I did not think this would ever be possible because I was studying GMAT for almost an entire year.

Completely cleared up my confusion regarding all the verb tenses.

Every other material I used - OG/Kaplan/MGMAT - made it really hard for me to understand all the verb tenses. I still don't know what subjunctive is. Or what this phrase or that phrase is.

But I am able to pick the right answer without knowing all that stuff. And my score shows it!

But with GMAT Pill, somehow I got it. Maybe it's taught so that dumb people like me can actually understand things in a way that others can't. It could be because I got more and more used to the material, but one thing's for sure: I'm super glad I signed up.

I was trolling around various forums and reading other reviews. Everybody said good things about GMAT Pill. I figured there's GOT to be some negatives.

Well, there are. Let me point them out first:
- The interface is not super clean. They could probably hire some UI designers and make the site look really pretty. If you tend to judge things by their physical outward appearance, this is a point to note.

-You need a reliable internet connection. This was not a problem for me, but I would imagine people who plan to study at the local starbucks where the internet might be shaky - you should probably just stay at home and use your home internet--or even your work computer.

But there were so many more pros:

- sooo much easier to understand than all the MGMAT/Kaplan books I was using. Also much better than reading through all the forum threads in terms of time efficiency.

- most videos viewable on iPad on the go. This was helpful as I was commuting on the train. With WiFi access, I was able to watch the videos in the morning and on the way back home. I say "most videos" because the remaining ones you need to use a real computer to watch the videos.

- Zeke boils down all the SC questions into core frameworks. With the right mindset, you can actually kind of guess what you're being tested on if you can identify the sentence structure/framework upfront. This helped a lot. Coming into each question, I had a plan of attack. Before, I would just stare at it and just kind of haphazardly go about it without getting anywhere. But now I have an attack strategy.

--Lots more that I probably can't think about right now.

Anyway, I hope this review is helpful. I normally don't take my time to do this, but I really do feel Zeke has done a really good job and wanted to help him back for helping me.

I would consider coming back to GMATPill for essay editing help. I don't need it right now, but perhaps in a few months.

Good luck, everyone!
Was this review helpful to you?
   
[2]
Thanking GMAT Pill for my 770 (48Q/48V) - (Official Score Report included)
July 21 | 2012

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By jamesplumb832 joined: July 21, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online |
Around a month ago I scored 770 (48/48) with 6.0 AWA and 8 IR.

To do this I used only the GMAT Pill and the official guide (I also have the Kaplan 800 book, but that’s been used mostly as a door stop).

I didn't believe the other story of someone else getting 780 with GMAT Pill, but now I do.

I was brought up and live in London, so whilst I am a native English speaker, I’ve never done any US style standardised testing.

I can thoroughly recommend the GMAT Pill, for someone coming to the GMAT for the first time, it was able to cut through all the confusion, complications and stress that one gets when faced with a vast body of new material (Is it only me that was daunted by the size of the OG when it arrives via Amazon?) instead cutting it down into manageable chunks that can be remembered and then rolled out again on test day.

At first I was a little hesitant, not sure whether to splash out the big bucks on a known name, but the “freebie” bits of the website were enough to see that the videos were clear and I also really liked the personal service – all the videos are by Zeke and he answers all the questions. I’m really glad I made this choice.

You can also see my emails to Zeke as well as my Youtube video testimonial here:

http://www.gmatpill.com/gmat-prep-about-the-gmat/official-gmat-score-report-congrats-james-london-gmat-770-48q-48v-awa-6060-ir-88/


Was this review helpful to you?
   
[4]
Get a Special Discount
on GMAT Pill Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Terrific program and quite a bargain!!
January 25 | 2012

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 25, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online |
I have used many GMAT study guides and I think the GMAT Pill is the best out of all of them. I really liked how the program targets specific question types in both the verbal and math section. I was able to follow the guide question by question and learn the strategy to solving it quickly. When I took the actual GMAT, a lot of those strategies were really helpful. I ended up scoring a 750! When I first took practice tests I scored around 600. So this definitely helped me a lot! I would recommend this to anyone who want to improve their score significantly.

I can't say anyone else who uses the program will get a 700+, but for the amount of time I spent to improve my score this was the most efficient way to tackle the test. I would watch the videos a couple of hours a night and for the most part I didn't have any trouble learning it. The explanations are very straightforward and most importantly it is very easy to go back and forth just in case you get lost. The program breaks each question down into separate videos and this really helped reinforce the strategies. I guess the only suggestion is that if they put a name to the strategy for each question that they go over it would be even easier to remember.

All in all, a terrific program and quite a bargain!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Simple, but effective - scored 780 (Q51, V46) - (Official Score Report Included)
January 26 | 2012

4 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By MrFong joined: January 26, 2012 | 16 | 10 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online |
Little bit about me:

Final year university student, American but studying overseas. Terribly rusty math AND English skills after so many years out of high school; as an Accounting/Finance major, you don't really practise the things which get tested on the GMAT. Hell, I'd even forgotten things like basic geometry, or how best to tackle Venn diagrams. So... I decided that I needed a little help.

Preparation:

I'd considered other GMAT prep options, but found them unsuitable, whether due to poor(er) reviews, high cost, or simple lack of availability of information. After examining a few different GMAT prep program options, I eventually settled on GMAT Pill. Kaplan appears to be slightly poorer reviewed, and Manhattan's more expensive, so GMAT Pill it was.

It's been years since I actually had to use much of the math that the GMAT tests, or think about the intricacies of English, my practice test scores were at about 700 before I tried out this course. What I found was that the GMAT Pill core frameworks ran through concepts in a manner that was simple enough to grasp, and specifically targeted at the types of questions that I eventually found myself facing on the actual GMAT. The practice questions were also structured very similarly to the real deal, which obviously helped prepare me for the exam.

Everything being available online and in video format was also a plus. The always-available online video format made it easy to study whenever and wherever I wanted to, provided I had my phone or tablet with me. At home, on the subway, or even sitting by the pool. Don't underestimate the importance of a convenient studying resource that doesn't weigh several pounds; it'll make it much easier to keep studying consistently and allow you to take quick "study breaks" in between bouts of whatever it is you usually do.

I first started on the material about three to four weeks before my GMAT, and studied fairly inconsistently over the next few weeks. On the whole, I believe I put in about 10-20 hours of time fully concentrating on the material, and possibly another 10-20 or so leaving the videos running while I did other things that weren't overly taxing on my mental resources - television, video games, laundry, and such. It might not seem like a whole lot of time, but that's part of my point entirely; the program ran through things in such a simple way that it wasn't difficult to understand the concepts. So again... pretty impressed.

It seems to me that the GMAT really is all about studying, test-taking techniques and preparation. I'm honestly just very impressed that it helped me score so well, as I wasn't expecting any more than about 740 as a hard upper limit. If any of this helps any of you guys out, it'd be fantastic. The GMAT Pill proved very effective for me, and I'd recommend it to anyone who's looking to do well on the GMAT.

For a more thorough explanation of my experience, see this post. For my video testimonial, click here.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on GMAT Pill Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
GMAT Pill helps me to get into Wharton!
May 07 | 2012

4 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 9, 2011 | 37 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online |
I would like to take this opportunity to thank GMAT Pill for helping me getting into Wharton. I learned about GMAT Pill when I was looking for good strategies to improve my reading comprehension section. GMAT Pill absolutely teaches you the best RC strategy among all of the coureses out there. I was able to accurately answer the majority of questions within a very short period of time using GMAT Pill's RC strategy. With a looming GMAT deadline coming, I was able to significantly improve my GMAT score from 640 to 690 in less than 2 weeks and got into Wharton with this score. I have tried multiple GMAT courses, including Manhattan GMAT, Kaplan, Knewton, etc. GMAT Pill definitely stands out, teaches you through an efficient way of thinking and giving you an opportunity to significantly improve your GMAT score in a limited amount of time. I highly recommened GMAT Pill to anyone who is seriously considering getting into a top business schools. I believe this is the course that offers the best value at the best price!
Was this review helpful to you?
   
[2]
Not as promised
June 01 | 2012

4 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By mukundakumar joined: April 9, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online |
After considering several other online courses, I decided on GMATPill. It was decent - I learnt some basic tricks in SC. Zeke has some useful RC techniques. Besides those two, I didn't find the rest of the material very useful. If you are looking to score 690+, I wouldn't recommend this course.

There were student discussions about some of the tough questions but they were not well-organized. Hence, I had to look through all the comments and it was inefficient.

Importantly, the 50 point money-back guarantee comes with a lot of conditions. In fact, I had used their material extensively for my preparation but they mentioned I did not meet their refund eligibility requirements.
Was this review helpful to you?
   
[2]
Get a Special Discount
on GMAT Pill Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Best in my opinion!
November 08 | 2012

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By raghupara joined: October 16, 2011 | 135 | 12 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online |
Hi all,

I was doomed with a 570, then got a 620 twice and was left absolutely helpless. I was in constant touch with Zeke throughout my journey from 570 to the second time I got 620. But the craziest part is that, I was simply asking what to do in general, and never signed up for GMAT Pill services. The number of mail exchanges was close to 40+ and I was still only mailing about the strategy, finally left with confusion to pick that right prep company - ultimately choosing none of them and ending up so badly. It's all so natural that I tend to think too much of myself, a sense of overconfidence. I had this habit of doing over-engineering of a solution, esp in CR and trying to beat the bush instead of employing a structured, logical style.

After I got the second 620, I mailed Zeke again saying I desperately need this 50+ money back, but again I'm confused here. There are two companies that offer this - Knewton & GMAT Pill. I had no clue about both of them. But since I had been chatting with Zeke for a while, I decided to ask this directly. I was told that Knewton does go through a comprehensive syllabus, and employ a fancy technology in teaching. But, as far as I'm concerned, it was not the syllabus that I was lacking, but just the strategic approach. I knew I have to get that psychological thing to stretch out and read boring passages at the end and go through that test approach systematically. So, I decided it was GMAT Pill. Meanwhile, I saw this ad. - e-gmat - For non-natives. This kinda pulled me and I was going nowhere in the midst of so many confusion. I had to validate and pick my gut decision. I thought e-gmat again was going to teach me language reasoning or whatever, but I always reckoned I knew it. Also, the word non-natives didn't kinda excite me since I've been a good reader all my life and I thought nativity may not have that big a role in reasoning patterns in a language. (just my opinion, rather a differentiation at that level didn’t seem enticing to me).

So, I moved on with GMAT Pill. Got a 710. Not that great of course, but remember I was too low in confidence with my history of scores and I just managed to get it out of my way.

I just didn't learn any new grammar rule or math formula, It Was Just The Approach.........

Thanks Zeke.

Best,
Raghupara


Was this review helpful to you?
   
[1]
Great Flexible Course
January 25 | 2012

3 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By mygrapefruit joined: January 25, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online |
Coming from someone who took the big name prep programs (you know what the two big ones are!) in high school for the SAT and having my parents fork over a ridiculous amount of money at the time, i have to say the $140 or so bucks I spent on the GMAT Pill was worth every penny! So glad it wasn't a scam or anything. I got the sentence correction and critical reasoning pills, waiting for the quant sections.

They use a really neat way of teaching that makes it a lot easier to understand than if i were to actually hire a tutor.

Ease of Use: Logging into the member site was easy enough. The videos loaded within 2 seconds. One of the pages wasn't loading at first, but then I hit the refresh button on my browser and it loaded fine. The video resolution is also very clear - much better than what you see on youtube.

Access to Help: I emailed a few times to Zeke and he was very responsive--answering within 6 hrs each time, though I'm sure response time depends on the timing of your email. If you send an email at 3am, I'm sure they wouldn't respond right away.

Effectiveness: Very effective. The visual diagrams are really clean and clear. And the narration is not formal or uptight at all. In fact, it's very casual...great for an average person like me.

My initial hesitations: I was a little hesitant just because I never heard of them and didn't have friends who used their program. They had some really good preview videos on their site. I would say their signup page is a little sales-like which I'm not a huge fan of, but I can also understand why they have to be somewhat aggressive in selling when the big guys have a bigger name but not as good of a service.

I've been applying the "thought processes" to OG questions and it's a lot easier now. I think I see things that I didn't see before. We'll see how my score goes. Feeling hopeful at least!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on GMAT Pill Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
WOW!!! It's the key you need to GMAT enlightenment!!!!
March 12 | 2012

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By kavitar3383 joined: March 12, 2012 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  GMAT Pill CR | Location:   Online |
I bought both the verbal and quantitative GMAT "pills" a little under a month ago but started with the critical reasoning (CR) pill today. Although I have read through all of the Manhattan GMAT books (8 books in the series hence my delay in starting the GMAT Pill), it still seemed that I was falling short on all sections of the GMAT (as per diagnostic test results)... and couldn't understand why. After going through the videos and quizzes for the CR pill, I was stunned... and dumbfounded... somehow, I internalized all the information Zeke taught... and did extremely well on the CR portion of the Diagnostic test in the OG as well as correctly answered the first 10 questions from the CR chapter... WOW!!! I never thought I would ever fully understand this portion of the GMAT... but Zeke's methods for CR has broken this barrier for me.... So far, the CR pill was EXTREMELY effective and I want to thank Zeke for creating this!!! Zeke's method of teaching this portion of the GMAT is EXCEPTIONAL and FAR BETTER than any GMAT trick/strategy guide out there. I can't wait to move on to Sentence Correction pill to see how well I do.... the GMATpill is really the light in the dark confusion that is the GMAT!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
How GMAT SC Pill Blew My Mind?
April 24 | 2012

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By brendanbrosnan joined: August 11, 2011 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  GMAT Pill SC | Location:   Online |
I recently finished The GMAT SC Pill, and would like to share a few things about it here for all to see. Excuse me if this gets a bit emotional but I must say it’s about time someone stood up (Zeke Lee) and simplified the GMAT prep process, started to use simple language, and made easy to remember methodology for attacking the GMAT, especially sentence correction.

The unique study method Zeke has created is ever so important in SC because SC could drive the best of us crazy with the almost countless idioms, expressions, and grammar rules in English. He has come up with a method that is both visual and auditory and I am yet to come across something to match it in my GMAT journey so far.

My experience so far in preparing for GMAT began as a GMAT instructor for Kaplan, and apart from a few basic strategies that I learned there, I can say my score had remained in the 600s. I also studied MGMAT and felt an immediate improvement after going through their guides too but still feel they lack the psychologically stimulating edge that The GMAT Pill provides.

Let me describe how it felt to move from Kaplan to The GMAT Pill for the first time...(This may sound a bit far out there but bear with me:)) It feels like when a person moves from Jakarta to Bali! Trust me, the difference is huge. Your GMAT Pill for Sentence Correction is awesome. Moving from Kaplan's online course to the GMAT SC Pill was an awakening!

Here are just a few of the things I have learned from The GMAT SC Pill:

1.I learned to remember X&Y consistency, and watch for keywords such as “and”. As soon as I see “and” in a sentence now, I immediately focus on whats on the left and what’s on the right to make sure they are consistent.

2.I learned a cool concept that Zeke calls “Laundry Lists and Long Sentences”. By this I mean lists of items, be they nouns, adjectives, phrases etc. The important thing with “laundry lists” is that they are following a parallel structure.

3.I learned to deal with verb tenses better than I used to. One of the most enlightening things in the SC Pill was the lesson on past tense. Zeke showed that if the sentence starts in the past tense, then it’s most likely that if there were other actions in the past tense after that event then the tense to use would be past simple. If the writer wants to emphasize a past before another past then you use the past perfect (had +verb-ed)

4.I learned to use the visual concept of Apples and Oranges, when facing comparison issues, and this helped me greatly in an area that I was kind of less confident about before taking The GMAT SC Pill

In addition to these benefits, I got a feeling of confidence from Zeke’s tutorials that I had not received elsewhere. I guess it’s because Zeke has a very common sense approach to the GMAT, and I think none more so than on sentence correction. He truly believes and proves that anyone can master sentence correction in this cool product. If I had only gotten my hands on this sooner...

Regards and thanks Zeke

Brendan Brosnan
Was this review helpful to you?
   
[2]
Get a Special Discount
on GMAT Pill Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


GMAT Pill Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
97 points
International Student Score Improvement
91 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $483
on GMAT Pill Courses
+$233 bonus
+$250 discount
Get GMAT Pill Promo Code