GMAT Pill GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [116]      Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
 
GMAT Pill discount code
The GMAT Pill Method is like having your own private tutor online - but for a fraction of the cost. You'll learn how to think efficiently so you can quickly narrow down your answer choices and arrive at the correct one - sometimes without even reading the entire answer choice. 

Includes  the Practice Pill Platform - an interactive online question bank (800+) with GMAT Pill video explanations and community discussion, a complete mobile solution for your on-the-go GMAT prep needs (iPhone+ Android+ iPad), core course frameworks for all SC, CR, RC, DS, PS, and yes--even IR, 24/7 Email Support, full length computer adaptive practice test (CAT) with performance and time analytics, & OG13 Online Tracker.  Browse special deals available on GMAT Pill...

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Progressive Technique not Old School
February 08 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By jesslyn52k joined: February 8, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 40 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online |
At first I was skeptical about GMAT Pill. I searched around to see what was out there in the market. I decided since I prefer to do things the old fashion way I would go with Princeton Review. Thinking that it was the right fit for me, but I was wrong. I took their classes, bought all the books and studied around the clock. Even though testing was so painful and very boring and my mind had wandered from time to time. I thought Princeton would help me combat this. They sure didn't. Not until I had to switch my technique of learning.

After getting very low scores several times I was desperate. So I turned to GMat Pill. I am a pretty stubborn person when it comes to changing my ways but I had to change if I ever wanted to get a better score. Usually taking tests is like pulling teeth or taking bad medicine. But ever since I switched to GMAT Pill it increased my appetite to want to learn,challenge, and question myself instead of just following along. Their platform has a very down to earth tone and so simple and easy to follow along. It's like a light just turned on and everything clicked. I never understood the English language ex. verbs, past tense, grammar and sentence structure. Zeke Lee has explained it in a way that I totally understand now. He has open the path and I can feel that I have the potential of succeeding in a an effective and productive way.

I regretted taking the old fashion route. It's time to be progressive and not waste my precious time. The value of the package is a great value as well which was the cherry on top for me.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Half baked, insufficient course material
February 13 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By pankil joined: September 17, 2012 | 4 | 7 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online |
I purchase all pills on May 25 2012. I started using pills seriously in Sep 2012. Prior to that I completed Manhattan GMAT Books, which by the way are also not sufficient. When I started taking mock tests in November 2012 I realized that I was not able to score > 600 ever. This was evident in my actual GMAT score also. This was my first GMAT so cannot provide %age improvement.

During my studies I faced lot of technical difficulties as Question links will not work or videos will not work. After informing support, they would start working but other questions would continue to not work. This was true for RC, DS sections which seemed to be least browsed sections. I believe product was not tested properly before making it available to general public.

Videos on their own are very informative but there is no information on how to apply those techniques on questions.

Personally I felt that GMATPill is for people who are conceptually very strong and need different approach. I do not think this course is sufficient as standalone material. I would not recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on GMAT Pill Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Great supplement, as an investment banker, I recommend it
March 27 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By tstrogov85 joined: December 18, 2012 | 6 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 90 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online |
I have to thank Zeke and the team for a good job on their videos. As an investment banker, the resources that GMATPill provided helped me do well on the exam given the time constraints I have as a banker. I was able to fit in some video tutoring during the workday. I wouldn't even call it tutoring as I'm pretty capable myself and like to self-study. It's just that understanding the explanations and what makes something really right vs really wrong is a level of depth that I can't get simply by doing 1000s of practice questions.

I made use of the mobile app - there really was no need to download and store the videos on my phone. Simply not enough space. Viewing them and then going through the videos in wifi zone were good enough for me to make progress. I used it conveniently to browse through practice questions on my commute.

Anyway, I improved a lot especially DS - I had trouble understanding this question type and the videos really solidified it for me. Verbal was good too - some interesting strategies that helped for RC, SC frameworks, and CR table-top was something new for me. Big improvement from my first practice test - i literally freaked out when I first saw my mock test score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Test Prep Resources
March 30 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By lanestell79 joined: March 30, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online |
After taking Gmat Exam, I scored very low. Unsatisfied, I retook the exam and put in more time and effort studying. When I received my second scores they slightly improved but I was still not happy with the score that I have received. I was very frustrated with the resources that I have been using. I researched online, visited numerous forums such as Gmat Club to see what other methods and approaches to taking the exam. I came across many quality reviews about Gmat Pill. I instantly went to their website. I took a look at their free sample videos and guides and immediately everything clicked in my head from RC to Quant.

Retaking the exam for the third time, I saw results and drastic improvements in all areas. The methods and processes the Zeke teaches actually works. I was floored and am very grateful for what Zeke has done and brought to the community. He is my GMat Whisper.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on GMAT Pill Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Good quality videos
March 31 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By celinechen800 joined: February 14, 2013 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 140 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online |
I first learned about GMATPill while googling around. I was stuck on some questions and came across some of their explanations which I found helpful. I decided to do my research and came across some resources including MGMAT and Kaplan. I did get my hands on the MGMAT books but I found some of them to be really dense. I started off with them but after some practice tests, I still did not see my score go up.

I decided to sign up for the GMATPill online course. It really helped me a lot on RC. I remember from the days of SAT - I just had a tough time with reading comprehension and this time I'd have to deal with it again. The reading strategy really helped, I wished I had it back when I took the SATs. It really saved me a lot of time and I'm proud to say I think my ability to read -- a life skillset -- has improved tremendously. These are the skills I wished I had but schools just never taught this. Schools gave you a big fat textbook and expected you to get every detail. Reading Comprehension on the GMAT is the opposite - usually focused on the main idea, and not any specific detail in the passage. So the reading approaches can be quite different.

There's a really extensive probability/combinatorics section in the quant pills. I found them really educational. Granted there aren't THAT many combinatoric questions - maybe just 1 or 2 for those in the 700-range. But it gave me a lot more comfort knowing how to solve these types of problems -- when I did see them on the exam I didn't freak out and that's what matters. There are so many types of combination questions I had no idea. The videos cover a wide range and that really helped me going into the exam.

I found the Brutal DS videos the most helpful - as the topics are different from PS. They are mostly focused on inequalities and divisibility...whereas PS has a lot of number properties. The approach was very structured and that helped prevent me from panicking when I came across tough DS questions. As long as I followed the approach, I'd end up with the answer. So thanks a lot to Zeke and the team for creating good quality videos here.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Best Purchase for High Quality Study Material
April 07 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Twoodiez88 joined: April 7, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online |
I wanted a change in my lifestyle and to be happy again seeking self fulfillment and challenges. While thinking for a while, I realized that switching career was the best opportunity for me. I immediately started to research how to go upon switching careers and many people on the forums recommended to take the GMat Exam.

Being so overwhelmed by how many study companies there were I really had to take the time and read what other people said about each company. Ultimately, I choose Gmat Pill. Reason why I choose it was because of the price but also that it was a very effective way of learning. Time was of the essence for me because I was working full time and coming home being very tired I wanted something that did not consume my whole life. I wanted maximum output and I got it.

I was very impressed how Zeke has shaped and formulated his thought process. The videos really helped me zero in on the solutions and cut out the fluff. Again Thank You Zeke!! You are an amazing teacher.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on GMAT Pill Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Best Online Prep out there
May 01 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 1, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online |
The GMATPill course is incredible. It has completely changed the way I look at the GMAT. I want to thank them for simplifying the concepts and presenting them so well.

I wasn't specifically looking for a tutor but after I did horribly on my practice tests, I decided to seek help. I really didn't want to take the GMAT again - only once and get it done with. The reviews were very positive - I was specifically attracted to the mobile app feature and simplification aspect. Making my job of studying easier is well worth the money. By the time I get home I really don't want to study even more - it gets me even more tired.

GMATPill simplified things for me. I had no idea the questions were so easy after applying the frameworks. Specifically the new CR Assumption frameworks were extremely helpful. Now when I see an "argument depends" question, I know exactly what to jump to.

Doing questions on the Practice Pill Platform was very helpful. I'm glad I found this resource online - well organized support here really saves me time searching and searching for help elsewhere online. I can't recommend GMATPill enough - thanks to Zeke!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Wow! SC is incredible...RC even more so..
May 06 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By fieffbyn joined: May 6, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 140 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online |
I never write reviews but GMAT Pill totally deserves one from me.

There were so many good things about GMAT Pill - let me go through them.

1) SC - Lots of good tricks and concepts that helped me reduce my time spent on each question. I never knew you could answer so many questions correctly and CONFIDENTLY without even reading the entire sentence. This was a huge eye-opener for me because I now "see" things the way Zeke does.

Things like "Cut the Fluff" - red flag words "being" - to do vs doing - these are all important concepts that when combined together are really powerful in terms of attacking SC questions. Highly recommend.

2) CR - GMAT Pill has some of the most detailed visual diagrams for "Helps Explain" and "Assumption" questions. I also saw some recently released upgrades to "Strengths/Weakens" questions that dive into a great level of detail - each question fitting into frameworks.

For example, the assumptions fit into 1 of 7 assumption frameworks. After identifying what kind of assumption a CR question was testing, it was easy for me to know what to look for.

This is the idea of "pre-thinking" or knowing the tentative answer even BEFORE looking at the answer choices.

3 RC) I've never seen a legitimate RC course until now. I have the MGMAT book for RC, but really it's ridiculous to read a book about how to read. It is just isn't possible.

GMAT Pill actually SHOWED me what to read and what NOT to read. As one of the student testimonials said - this is more important than you think. I would agree with the student. I think his name was Vishal?

4) PS &DS- I thought it was really personal to see GMAT Pill actually do the math questions with hand-drawn calculations. Initially each question is a white screen, but you actually see in real-time the pen drawing out diagrams and number calculations as if a teacher were writing on a chalkboard.

I thought this was really helpful for me. I don't think I've seen this style of teaching elsewhere - so kudos to GMAT Pill.

5) IR - was great too - I didn't spend too much time on this because it wasn't my priority, but from what I see, I thought it was very clean.

6) I absolutely LOVED the iPad app. I was studying in the shower! Note: you do need an iPad holder and a shelf to make this useful.

But the iPad app loads each video VERY quickly. And you can navigate between each section super fast. It's also easy to rewind and forward.

You can also participate in discussions with each question on the iPad. For someone like myself who likes to study some GMAT on my bed before I go to sleep - this is an awesome tool you should definitely check out.

The iPhone is great too - though its smaller screen makes the videos a bit smaller. The good thing about the iPhone app is that they have extra mini-drill questions. These mini-drill questions are easy to do on-the-go. I could be standing in line to a bar or club or in the elevator at work and go through a few questions. Very convenient and useful.

Signing up for GMAT Pill is one of the best things I've ever done.

I've already sent in my testimonial to Zeke - so you might seem on the site somewhere! And yes, I did ace the GMAT - just prefer not to have my score report displayed anywhere.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on GMAT Pill Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
650 to 720: GMAT Pill Saved My Life - And got me into 97th percentile on Verbal!
May 07 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By bjones9401 joined: May 7, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online |
On November 17 I got a 650 - decent, but not good enough for the schools I wanted - Columbia, NYU, UCLA...

Application deadlines were tight and I needed to improve quickly. I immediately looked around and heard so many good things about GMAT Pill - I just had to try it. And I'm so glad I did!

Because on December 20, (you have to schedule your exam at least 1 month after your previous take) I broke 700 with a 720. Interestingly, my verbal went all the way up to the 97th percentile to V44.

My quant improved as well. I was pretty bad at first with Q39 (48th percentile) - which is the main reason for my retake. This time I went from Q39 to Q45. Considering I am pretty bad with math - this is a monstrous move up for me.

I could not have made that leap from 650 to 720 without GMAT Pill - so I really have to take a moment to show my thanks.

Some insights:

* I was already decent with verbal - but somehow the GMAT Pill videos put me on steroids. It just made me that much quicker and confident.

* The concepts, frameworks, and practice questions were organized and easy to access. There were PDf downloads for each section and some included some really impressive lessons. These handouts were helpful for review purposes.

Even after studying the MGMAT SC book - I learned a ton of little tidbits that were actually more useful for exam purposes. GMAT Pill really focuses on only the most important elements, rather than drowning you out with all kinds of fancy details that don't matter in the end.

* RC Pill pointed out some really revolutionary ways of reading passages efficiently. I was already decent before, but RC Pill really did it for me. I'd say this is the part that was probably most responsible for my push up to 97th percentile verbal.

* They don't just teach you rules or concepts.

GMAT Pill is really good at SHOWING - and not just telling. I thought this made all the difference in the world.

As Zeke says - it's all about the "thought process" - this is where audio/visual stimulation beats boring books.

* I have to say the Practice Pill Platform is a world-class platform. It's basically a separate part of the site that contains hundreds and hundreds of questions all categorized by how many other people got it right/wrong, what your response was, and all those stats.

And it was just exciting to see all kinds of other students there - you can see which users chose which answers for a particular question. There are people from India, Thailand, Jamaica, US, etc - it's crazy.

Each question appears just as it would on the actual exam - except you can click "show answer" to see the GMAT Pill video explanation. And you can also post your question below it. You can also see what other student questions are and what previous responses to those questions are. So in that way, you can learn from other people's mistakes.

* I was amazed by the clarity of the quant instruction. They covered every little detail from all kinds of number sequences, exponents, and even OG video explanations. All of these concepts are organized and subdivided in the PS Pill page.

* Zeke did math on the screen almost as if he were my private tutor - just online. It was very helpful to see what exactly Zeke would write down on a scratch pad - as he does the math. This helps me understand what I need to write down and what I need to or do not need to calculate. This is exactly what I needed for quant.

* I did find the iPad app to be immensely useful as it made the learning experience that much more enjoyable! So be sure to make use of it. I didn't hear much about it before - so thought it's worth pointing out.

I'm proud to be a student of this whole online learning revolution and I do have to say GMAT Pill is the best I've seen or heard about.

Stick to the Stanford guy - GMAT Pill is the way to go!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Study Course
May 15 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 15, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online |
This Combo Package is a great deal. What I like most about the courses is it offers and provides structural plan for taking the exam. The methodology that Zeke Lee applies to the exam helped me visualize how to break down the questions into parts. The in depth explanations to each of the correct and incorrect answers help further my understanding of each question posed. I also liked the way that they put a timer on each question page to simulate the really experience of test taking. It helps me manage my time more wisely and efficiently. I would highly recommend the combo course to friends and family.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on GMAT Pill Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


GMAT Pill Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
97 points
International Student Score Improvement
91 points
Verbal
100%
Quant
100%
Save $483
on GMAT Pill Courses
+$233 bonus
+$250 discount
Get GMAT Pill Promo Code