GMAT Pill GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [132]
    Average Rating:       (4.9/5)
Courses
Find by:  
GMAT Pill RC [1]
    
GMAT Pill CR [1]
    
GMAT Pill DS [1]
    
GMAT Pill Quant Combo Pill Package (PS & DS) [1]
    
GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course [121]
    
GMAT Pill SC [4]
    
GMAT Pill Verbal Pill Combo (SC, CR, RC) [3]
    
 
GMAT Pill discount code
The GMAT Pill Method is like having your own private tutor online - but for a fraction of the cost. You'll learn how to think efficiently so you can quickly narrow down your answer choices and arrive at the correct one - sometimes without even reading the entire answer choice. 

Includes  the Practice Pill Platform - an interactive online question bank (800+) with GMAT Pill video explanations and community discussion, a complete mobile solution for your on-the-go GMAT prep needs (iPhone+ Android+ iPad), core course frameworks for all SC, CR, RC, DS, PS, and yes--even IR, 24/7 Email Support, full length computer adaptive practice test (CAT) with performance and time analytics, & OG13 Online Tracker.  Browse special deals available on GMAT Pill...

REAL REVIEWS
YOU CAN TRUST

We read, verify and individually confirm each review

How we verify reviews

Step 1

Purshase Verification

We verify that the reviewer was a client by comparing the email address they provide with the company's database.

Step 2

Identity Verification

We verify the reviewer's identity through one of the following:

Official GMAT Score Report

GMAT Club Membership Term

School E-mail Address

(Admissions consulting only)

Step 3

We manually process all reviews, and if a review does not meet any of the prior criteria, the review will not be posted.

Step 4

We pay $20 for each GMAT Course and Admission Consultan review only if we are certain it is a real review. If we cannot verify it, we won't issue a giftcard for it and we won't publish it.

We recommend that you only rely on the verified reviews in whatever decisions you make.

GMAT Course Review
THE pill for GMAT
September 18 | 2012
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by membership
     By Anonymous 0 0
Improvement:

40 Points

Verbal:     
Quant:     
This review is for: GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course
Location: Online

I got 680 (Q48/V35) in a previous attempt. I had referred to MGMAT and Veritas Prep books. The methods in their books did not work well enough for me. I could not understand why I was consistently scoring 30-35 in verbal (I am a non-native speaker). After the test I thought of taking an online course.

I looked at sample videos by GMAT Pill and was hooked. Immediately I signed up for the full course using GMAT Club discount link.

I took the test today and scored 720 (49Q/40V).

Following is my pill-by-pill feedback:

Overall Experience:
============
Zeke has a very compassionate voice and a wonderful way of breaking down problems into understandable bits.

Verbal General:
=========
Zeke teaches you not only how to pick correct answers, but also how to read the questions. You won't find any prep company teaching you the RIGHT way of reading a question. I used to run out of time in Verbal. With Zeke's method of cutting out the fluff, you save a lot of time and you can't go wrong.

The best part of this course is instant feedback. It is recommended that you pause the video and solve the examples yourself before watching rest of the video. Have you ever found that you could narrow down to 2 answer choices, but always picked the wrong one??? Happened with me all the time. While watching GMAT Pill verbal videos, if you attempt the question before watching the solution, you will find out the gaps in your thinking process, chinks in your armor, and will be able to fix them with practice. You need to know where you are going wrong before you can fix the issue. This is where I benefited a lot from GMAT Pill.


SC Pill:
=====
Since SC is the most improvable portion of GMAT Verbal, I decided to begin with SC Pill. This pill has over 5 hours of videos broken down into 10 frameworks, 17 600-level questions and 18 700-level questions. The approach of GMAT Pill to SC is unlike all the other prep companies. Zeke distills the entire theory of SC in 10 easy-to-understand frameworks. I watched each framework video at least 3-4 times. Learn the frameworks well and there won't be any SC question that cannot be solved by applying one of those frameworks. The 600 and 700-level questions are well explained. The most important take-away from watching Zeke solve the question in front of you, on the screen, is the entire Thought Process.


CR Pill:
=====
This was the 2nd pill I took. This pill has over 5 hours of videos broken down into frameworks, flashcards, 14 600-level questions and 15 700-level questions. The frameworks and flashcards make you understand the approach towards solving a CR question without tedious methods like writing down on scratch pad and what not. I found methods of MGMAT and Veritas Prep tedious and boring. With GMAT Pill method, you will take active interest in the CR questions.


RC Pill:
=====
This is a monster. 23 passages covered in 11 hours! Now RC is the most difficult skill to master in verbal. I believe my level didn't improve much by reading strategy guides on RC. What made an impact was the 'Connect the Dots' framework. Watch the RC Pill framework video, and you will never read any passage the old way again. Its incredible how much precious time you can save on the GMAT by following Zeke's method. No more jotting down points on scratch pad. Seriously, do u really need to read the entire passage? On top of that, do you really need to write down brief outline of each para?? The answer is an emphatic NO. Has it ever happened to you that you read an entire passage only to find that all the questions could be answered from the 1st or 2nd para? Do you get frustrated over the time that you wasted reading the entire passage and jotting down points mindlessly, when you could have better utilized the time - and not have to guess on the next question because you were running out of time??? Follow Zeke's advice and you will surely improve.


Quant General:
==========
I had already scored 48 in quant and did not have any inclination to study quant further. This was because I was studying math after 10 years and was fed up of the high-school approach in prep company books. You don't need to remember a gazillion formulas and percentages and shortcuts and everything in between. I improved in quant by 1 point: nothing spectacular, but consider this - I did not touch quant till last week or so, after my fist exam in May. I was afraid I would loose out on quant but that didn't happen.


PS Pill:
======
Everything you need to know about PS covered in 5 hours of videos. Even here, pay attention to how Zeke solves problems using plain simple logic rather than using complex formulas. It was a breath of fresh air. I did not even refer my old notes from MGMAT and Veritas books (I had plenty of them - almost 150 pages). You are not getting scored for steps you take in solving quant problems. Answer is what matter. On the GMAT I solved most questions without having to write complex calculation steps.

DS Pill:
=====
This pill has over 5 hours of videos broken down into frameworks, flashcards, 12 600-level questions and 19 700-level questions. The frameworks are useful for PS too. The pill changed the way I approached a few type of DS problems. I was confident of solving tricky DS problems after watching these videos.


Final Thoughts:
==========
I am glad that I found GMAT Pill, that too at a great discount here. You can't study a computer based test using books alone. No other course will tell improve your thinking process as much as GMAT Pill. I hope this course will put all the scum prep companies out of business.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
730 Q50 V38
September 06 | 2012
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By reagan 10 0
Improvement:

60 Points

Verbal:     
Quant:     
This review is for: GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course
Location: Online

Hi, my name is Reagan and I live in Singapore.
I took the GMAT in OCT 2011 and scored a 670. The materials I used were MGMAT books and the official guide. It was a pretty stressful period because GMAT is really tough as my high school math was really rusty.

So I chanced upon Zeke Lee’s GMATPILL online course and read the reviews. I was amazed, why isn’t there a single negative review on the course? On the one hand, I was desperate to not have to pick up the MGMAT study guides again. On the other hand, I was skeptical about GMATPILL! In the end, I took the leap of faith and the rest was history! I am glad I made that decision!

I started off with the verbal section.
Sentence correction pill -- Zeke really does a good job in teaching you the basics. The videos were concise and clear and it covered the majority of the types of questions which will appear on the GMAT. After I learnt the frameworks, I decided to apply the frameworks on the questions. At first I would think, which framework should I apply to a particular question and so on, then slowly, it became second nature to me! I was like reading an SC question and ‘Ah! X&Y consistency!’. It’s a pretty awesome feeling.

Reading Comprehension Pill – When I used the MGMAT strategy guide for Reading comprehension, I thought that their methods were robust for me. But hell no, because in the exam, we really don’t have ANY time to write down details about each paragraph! Especially when we have to deal with Critical Reasoning questions too. Zeke taught me the most efficient way to tackle RC. Even I myself was shocked at the results of it! I wrote ZERO stuff on all 4 passages in the recent GMAT exam. Zeke cracks the RC component in 2 steps; he teaches us ‘how to read an RC passage’ followed by ‘how to answer the questions’. This may sound like it’s all no-brainer but under the time pressure, we need a robust method to help us tackle the RC questions, and Zeke’s methods, are 100% robust!

Critical Reasoning Pill - At first, the CR pill wasn’t upgraded and I was having problems understanding the way I should approach the CR questions. Coincidentally, Zeke was working on the CR upgrades. When he was done with it, he posted it and contacted me immediately. The upgraded is one word- AWESOME. He does it in ways that are so much simpler; you don’t even have to think so much at all! In the end, answering CR questions became really fun especially when attempting assumption and boldfaced type questions (You will know what I mean when you try these!). The hurdle in CR then became how adept I am at applying Zeke’s table-top frameworks.

The Quant Pills-
To be fair to everyone on the internet, I think the Quant pills are decent. However, compared to the Verbal Pills, the Quant pills paled in comparison. However, Zeke has proven to his customers that he will always exceed expectations with his new upgrades and I think he’s going to do it again as he just told me that there would be an upgrade on the quantitative section.

The upgrades would only be out in mid-sept and it was too late for me because my exam is scheduled this week. In the end, I took up GMATQUANTUM- www.gmatquantum.com. GMATQUANTUM is like the ‘VERBAL PILL’ FOR GMAT. Simple, concise and succinct.

For those interested, Dabral- the tutor has free videos for the public which are really awesome. The course is not cheap of course and it focuses only on the Quant section. But to me, the money spend on GMATQuantum was well worth it. In his GMAT course, he teaches all the relevant concepts to GMAT. I am so glad I took up the course too because it really helped me in securing that Q50.

In conclusion, for people who do not have much time to prepare for GMAT, I would advice taking the GMATPILL-verbal section + GMATQUANTUM. I wish I had knew earlier and that is why I want to tell fellow readers NOW.

For people who have at least one and a half months, I would say, go ahead and purchase the entire GMATPILL package because Zeke delivers his goods and I am sure that his upcoming Quantitative upgrade will shine too.

That is all I have now, good luck to future GMAT takers.


Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [4]
1 Commented by taknevmar on September 11, 2012   Edited on September 11, 2012
Hi Reagan,

Thanks for the info.
I think you have to correct few mistakes written above:
"I took the GMAT in OCT 2012 and scored a 670"---I think it should be OCT 2011

Then in unofficial report attached:it is shown that gmat score is 720 [Q:49 v:42]

But the heading itself of this post is "730 Q50 V38" and you mentioned that you have scored 50 in quant which is not true as per the report.

This leaves users to doubt the credibility of the review and the product as well.
2 Commented by bb on September 11, 2012   Edited on September 11, 2012
Looks like part of the issue was our fault for attaching the wrong score report (the review was submitted without the score report and then the user sent in a score report and we have accidentally attached the wrong one).

Sorry!
3 Commented by reagan on November 06, 2012
4 Commented by reagan on November 06, 2012
Haha! I am glad BB cleared that up!
GMAT Course Review
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By elyseliu 0 0
Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
Quant:     
This review is for: GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course
Location: Online

I highly recommand GMAT pill for all you guys/girls out there!

After taking the pill, I got 730(Q:50, V:39) in my first gmat test (I don't see myself doing it again).
For an ESL like me, sentence correction was a great problem for me. After I took the sentence correction pill, I have improved dramatically. The method taught in the SC pill is perfect for cracking this kind of problem. I think it is a must have for all the gmat test takers, especially the ESLs.

Considering its price, gmat pill is definitely is the best choice for those who have limited budget but still want to get a high score.


Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By jamesplumb832 0 0
Improvement:

120 Points

Verbal:     
Quant:     
This review is for: GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course
Location: Online

Around a month ago I scored 770 (48/48) with 6.0 AWA and 8 IR.

To do this I used only the GMAT Pill and the official guide (I also have the Kaplan 800 book, but that’s been used mostly as a door stop).

I didn't believe the other story of someone else getting 780 with GMAT Pill, but now I do.

I was brought up and live in London, so whilst I am a native English speaker, I’ve never done any US style standardised testing.

I can thoroughly recommend the GMAT Pill, for someone coming to the GMAT for the first time, it was able to cut through all the confusion, complications and stress that one gets when faced with a vast body of new material (Is it only me that was daunted by the size of the OG when it arrives via Amazon?) instead cutting it down into manageable chunks that can be remembered and then rolled out again on test day.

At first I was a little hesitant, not sure whether to splash out the big bucks on a known name, but the “freebie” bits of the website were enough to see that the videos were clear and I also really liked the personal service – all the videos are by Zeke and he answers all the questions. I’m really glad I made this choice.

You can also see my emails to Zeke as well as my Youtube video testimonial here:

http://www.gmatpill.com/gmat-prep-about-the-gmat/official-gmat-score-report-congrats-james-london-gmat-770-48q-48v-awa-6060-ir-88/


Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [4]
1 Commented by peto23 on July 25, 2012
I want to take this course, does it only teach test taking strategy or does it teach you the material as well?
2 Commented by jamesplumb832 on July 28, 2012
Hi peto23,

The course covers both fundamentals and strategy, though a bigger emphasis on strategy. I'd say if you don't know the difference between 3^7 versus 7^3, you should probably get additional help.

For SC, the teachings are quite easy to understand.
3 Commented by GMATPill on May 06, 2013
Just a note that James has joined GMAT Pill staff for some time now and has already helped many students learn the GMAT Pill method.

Only GMAT Pill hires former students who actually understand our approach. We think this says a lot about James and GMAT Pill students.
4 Commented by lbnyc13 on November 18, 2014
Hi - thanks for the note. I've seen comments about SC sections only, can you discuss other Verbal and Quant sections and your experience?
GMAT Course Review
Definitely worth it.
May 16 | 2012
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by post count
     By Anonymous 2018 1230
Improvement:

60 Points

Verbal:     
Quant:     
This review is for: GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course
Location: Online

Compared to other programs I paid $1500 for - this one was cheaper AND better. I wish I knew about it earlier.

Sure the other programs have more face-to-face interaction but I actually found this method to be a lot more efficient and effective.

GMAT Pill has probably the only good reading comprehension resource on the market. I've used to get lost in reading passages - now, I am able to get 80% correct - and even get some questions correct that I don't even totally understand.

Thank you GMAT Pill. I just wish I knew about it earlier so I didn't have to waste $1500 elsewhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
4 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by post count
     By Anonymous 36 3
Improvement:

50 Points

Verbal:     
Quant:     
This review is for: GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course
Location: Online

I would like to take this opportunity to thank GMAT Pill for helping me getting into Wharton. I learned about GMAT Pill when I was looking for good strategies to improve my reading comprehension section. GMAT Pill absolutely teaches you the best RC strategy among all of the coureses out there. I was able to accurately answer the majority of questions within a very short period of time using GMAT Pill's RC strategy. With a looming GMAT deadline coming, I was able to significantly improve my GMAT score from 640 to 690 in less than 2 weeks and got into Wharton with this score. I have tried multiple GMAT courses, including Manhattan GMAT, Kaplan, Knewton, etc. GMAT Pill definitely stands out, teaches you through an efficient way of thinking and giving you an opportunity to significantly improve your GMAT score in a limited amount of time. I highly recommened GMAT Pill to anyone who is seriously considering getting into a top business schools. I believe this is the course that offers the best value at the best price!

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [2]
1 Commented by 61chad on May 11, 2012
I thought you had to wait 30 days to take the GMAT. This person stated that he improved his score by 50 in 2 weeks.

My intent is not to sharp shoot, I just want to see if I am missing something.
2 Commented by GMATPill on July 25, 2012
Hi 61chad,

This student only took the GMAT once. The "improvement" is relative to a practice test she took after studying on her own.

She signed up for GMAT Pill less than 2 weeks before her actual exam and made the improvement she describes above.

You can read more about this student's experience here along with a screenshot of her email to GMAT Pill.

http://www.gmatpill.com/gmat-prep-about-the-gmat/degmat-story-9-wharton-gmat-690engmat-story-9-wharton-gmat-690zhgmat-story-9-wharton-gmat-690/
GMAT Course Review
Decent Study tool
March 17 | 2012
reviewer identity verified by post count
     By Anonymous 132 64
Improvement:

20 Points

Verbal:     
Quant:     
This review is for: GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course
Location: Online

I found the GMAT Pill strategy sessions quite helpful. A few Pros and Cons

Pros
a) Its helps to increase your verbal score. (esp in RC)

b) SC and CR videos are also quite well made

c) It has a fantastic method to solve RC problems.

Cons
a) Given the price i paid for the GMAT Pill i think the amount of practice material is quite limited. Zeke could have included some more practice material and it would have been great.

Overall i think its a great support tool to help you with just with one sub section of the exam (i.e. RC) but otherwise its strictly ok.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [1]
1 Commented by GMATPill on December 19, 2012
To address your concern about limited practice material (dated early 2012), GMATPill launched the Practice Pill Platform (dated mid-2012) shortly after your comment, with more than 800+ additional questions, with discussion, video explanations, and a tracker to log which questions you got right vs wrong. Hundreds of students rely on this practice pill platform to get some good gmat practice done.

You can check it out here: www.gmatpill.com/gmat-practice-test/

GMAT Course Review
4 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
     By MrFong 16 11
Self-reported Score:

780

Q51

V46

Improvement:

80 Points

Verbal:     
Quant:     
This review is for: GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course
Location: Online

Little bit about me:

Final year university student, American but studying overseas. Terribly rusty math AND English skills after so many years out of high school; as an Accounting/Finance major, you don't really practise the things which get tested on the GMAT. Hell, I'd even forgotten things like basic geometry, or how best to tackle Venn diagrams. So... I decided that I needed a little help.

Preparation:

I'd considered other GMAT prep options, but found them unsuitable, whether due to poor(er) reviews, high cost, or simple lack of availability of information. After examining a few different GMAT prep program options, I eventually settled on GMAT Pill. Kaplan appears to be slightly poorer reviewed, and Manhattan's more expensive, so GMAT Pill it was.

It's been years since I actually had to use much of the math that the GMAT tests, or think about the intricacies of English, my practice test scores were at about 700 before I tried out this course. What I found was that the GMAT Pill core frameworks ran through concepts in a manner that was simple enough to grasp, and specifically targeted at the types of questions that I eventually found myself facing on the actual GMAT. The practice questions were also structured very similarly to the real deal, which obviously helped prepare me for the exam.

Everything being available online and in video format was also a plus. The always-available online video format made it easy to study whenever and wherever I wanted to, provided I had my phone or tablet with me. At home, on the subway, or even sitting by the pool. Don't underestimate the importance of a convenient studying resource that doesn't weigh several pounds; it'll make it much easier to keep studying consistently and allow you to take quick "study breaks" in between bouts of whatever it is you usually do.

I first started on the material about three to four weeks before my GMAT, and studied fairly inconsistently over the next few weeks. On the whole, I believe I put in about 10-20 hours of time fully concentrating on the material, and possibly another 10-20 or so leaving the videos running while I did other things that weren't overly taxing on my mental resources - television, video games, laundry, and such. It might not seem like a whole lot of time, but that's part of my point entirely; the program ran through things in such a simple way that it wasn't difficult to understand the concepts. So again... pretty impressed.

It seems to me that the GMAT really is all about studying, test-taking techniques and preparation. I'm honestly just very impressed that it helped me score so well, as I wasn't expecting any more than about 740 as a hard upper limit. If any of this helps any of you guys out, it'd be fantastic. The GMAT Pill proved very effective for me, and I'd recommend it to anyone who's looking to do well on the GMAT.

For a more thorough explanation of my experience, see this post. For my video testimonial, click here.


Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by post count
     By meatdumpling 44 10
Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
Quant:     
This review is for: GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course
Location: Online

yea..it's pretty solid - especially the verbal course. I heard lots of good stories before I took it and now I see why. The focus is on thought process.

I think the Reading Comprehension is unique since most other programs don't teach it that way. The SC was definitely helpful. The quant is also good too--just not AS awesome as the verbal pills. Just look at their website - they have a lot of free teaser videos.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]
GMAT Course Review
reviewer identity verified by post count
     By menacel 196 19
Improvement:

N/A

Verbal:     
Quant:     
This review is for: GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course
Location: Online

I bought the whole package for a pretty good discount.

I would say the SC is really good.
CR and RC are good if you just don't know what to do. It takes you through Zeke's thought process...which I have never been good at. So I thought that was well worth it

However, I would hold off on the quant.

Was this review helpful to you?
   
Comments [0]



81 Older and Non-Verified Reviews for GMAT Pill
GMAT Pill Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
96 points
International Student Score Improvement
87 points
Verbal
97%
Quant
96%
Most Reviewed GMAT Pill GMAT Instructors
Zeke Lee [1]
    
Save $483
on GMAT Pill Courses
+$233 bonus
+$250 discount
Get GMAT Pill Promo Code