Anthony Ritz

GMAT Instructor


    
Number of reviews [30]


Company: Veritas Prep
Packages: Veritas Prep Full Course   Veritas Prep Private Tutoring   Veritas Prep Weekend Course  
Locations: Bethesda, MD   Vienna, VA   DC Area, DC   Washington, DC  

Anthony is a full-time tutor with over eleven years of experience. He holds degrees in physics and applied mathematics from Georgia Tech and a law degree from Georgetown, and his test scores include a 99th percentile GMAT score (790), a 99th percentile LSAT score (176), a perfect score on the SAT (1600/1600), perfect scores on three SAT II exams (800/800), and perfect scores of 5 on numerous AP exams.


Anthony Ritz's Reviews
Amazing
April 23 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By JohnnyKipling joined: April 23, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  DC Area, USA | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
Anthony was amazing. He is an incredible instructor and I think the he truly cared about my improvement. My first two GMAT scores were 660 and 680. I was really hoping to get over 700 so I decided to take a class and tutoring with him. I recently took the GMAT and achieved a 710 and I truly believe it of Anthony. I would absolutely recommend him to anyone who is interested in taking a GMAT class. He does a great job leading class discussions and does a great job explain concepts in multiple ways so that everyone can understand challenging or difficult problems.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Worth every penny
March 24 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By tiger316 joined: March 24, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:  Washington, USA | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
I signed up for the course based off a co-workers recommendation that Veritas was the best. I must say that i was not disappointed. The course was not cheap but for what you get I think it was very reasonable, the online resources, books and 6 hours of live instruction a week is a lot of material.

The combination of the material and instructor (Anthony) was what made this such a helpful course. By the end of the six weeks, you will know the fundamentals of the test makers logic and why the test is setup like it is. Anthony did a great job of keeping things focused on the true concepts that need to be understood and taught us how to leverage what we know. This is not a list of "tricks" or equations to memorized - this course gets to the core of the test and that makes the difference.

I studied on my own first and after months my practice test was up 30 points. The two months with Veritas I was up another 60 points on the practice tests so it clearly works. My official score was only 10 points below my last two practices so I think you can be confident that if you are getting scores through Veritas neat your goal then you are ready to take the exam.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Anthony was a great teacher
March 10 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 10, 2015 | 5 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  DC Area, USA | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
I took the GMAT course with Anthony 1.5 times. The first time I was unable to complete the course due to extenuating circumstances, but I had such a great experience with Anthony's teaching style that I made sure to look for his name when signing up for the (free) retake.

Anthony is extremely knowledgeable about math and it makes the course more interesting because we were able to ask 'what if' type questions which he always had a response for. He was able to make material which is typically boring at least tolerable. He also provides one-on-one hints while doing practice problems during class, which were helpful in remembering common traps in the questions.

Finally, Anthony offers his personal contact information and availability for help with problems during and after the class. He gave me advice on the timeline for studying after course and helped me with solutions for problems on the official GMAC practice tests when I couldn't figure it out. I would strong recommend taking the course with Anthony.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Comprehensive GMAT Review Course
March 10 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 1, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Washington, USA | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
I highly recommend the full course for GMAT prep. I took to after-work in person courses, then went through each of the online videos/homeworks in the two weeks after class and before my exam. Both covered verbal and quant extensively and offer seven practice test, which is a big bonus. There is also a great retake policy - any student can retake the course once to boost scores. I recommend using all of the practice tests before taking the actual test and scheduling 2-3 weeks after class ends and before your exam to fully review the materials and practice test taking performance before taking the real thing.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Excellent!
January 04 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 4, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Washington, USA | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
This was a fantastic approach to studying for the GMAT. I tried studying for the GMAT on my own, but once I signed up for the class the instructor taught me a lot that I couldn't learn on my own. Veritas does a very good job at preparing their students on as many levels as possible. I would recommend this course to anyone wanting to improve their GMAT score. My instructor really helped me on the quant section by showing me a lot of very easy work-arounds and quick shortcuts that I haven't seen in any of the books. I was also very impressed with all the online tools and resources that Veritas Prep offers to every student.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Quality instructor, quality course
January 03 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By wilwos joined: January 3, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  DC Area, USA | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
Though my GMAT score was extremely poor, I am rating the course as well as Anthony very high. Anthony is a great instructor who shows a vested interest in his students. Rather than simply going through the book, Anthony seeks to provide additional value. He offers different way to solve problems than are shown in the book. With that you see multiple methods to solve the same problem. I like to think of this as having an adjustable wrench. My course was slated to last three hours per meeting, but there was once or twice out of our twelve meetings where the class ended on time. Anthony took many questions from students and was never in a hurry to leave class even when it ended closer to 1030pm than 10pm.

If you have the means and the drive to do well on the GMAT, a course with Anthony is a sound investment. My score on test day was just a bad day and I probably took the exam later than I should have. My score is not representative of my success in the class. My baseline score was a 590 and on a practice exam 1 week after the class I scored a 700.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Can't Go Wrong with Anthony Ritz and Veritas
December 31 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By dbrianbunch joined: December 31, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:  DC Area, USA | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
Anthony Ritz was a fantastic instructor. Somehow he managed to hold my attention through six all-day courses, relaying tons of strategies and techniques for answering GMAT questions. He truly cares about every student in his classes and is endlessly patient. I actually started to look forward to classes after one or two sessions. He was also non-judgmental, which was important to me, since my practice test score was pretty low - particularly in the quantitative section. Instead of dismissing my needs, he seemed to be more patient and spend more time on quantitative material. I could not have asked for a better instructor.

Results: I improved my score by 70 points and received perfect scores on the verbal and essay portions of the GMAT.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Awesome Experience!
December 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By WatsonFH joined: January 14, 2013 | 3 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Washington, USA | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
Actually awesome might be an understatement. The instructor, Anthony, was very intelligent and passionate about about his craft. Before taking the course I researched him and chose him specifically because of his reviews. He's got an off sense of humor but that's what makes the class fun and interesting. Not only would I recommend him but I'd love him to be one of my professors.

Also, Veritas just put up some terrific new practice tests. They feel very similar to the official test questions and are quite challenging.

I recommend Veritas Prep to everyone who aims to get a high score on GMAT!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Can't be Beat
December 15 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By rdbsailor81 joined: December 15, 2014 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  DC Area, USA | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
Veritas Prep gets it all right - Customer Service, Prep Material, and Instructors.

Customer Service - you have to call to enroll in a class. I was annoyed at first. But then I got it. It's the first step to a very positive, customer-oriented experience. They WANT to care about you. And you get a real person who will walk you through everything. It couldn't have been a more pleasant experience. You get assigned a personal representative and he or she will be there for you with ANY questions during the class and even after if needed.

Prep Material - hands down the best out there. The closest in my opinion is Manhattan GMAT which I used for self-study before enrolling in Veritas. Veritas is much more user-friendly (print and online) and is broken down better into specific learning modules.

Instructors - brilliant and caring. I assumed my instructor, Anthony Ritz, would be qualified (In fact, he literally is brilliant). But more than that, Anthony cares. And I choose the present verb tense on purpose. It was apparent from the very first class that Anthony is committed to helping his students excel on the GMAT. Is he a bit quirky? Yes! But that's half the fun of the class. (Veritas seems to have a thing company-wide for 90's cultural references. Anthony is no exception.) For a six-week class that could be very dry and boring without the right leadership, Anthony delivered the perfect mix of teaching and fun. But the relationship isn't over. I can still email him. He wants to know when each of his students take the GMAT and how we do. He STILL cares. It's not over just because class is over.

Veritas has fulfilled it's end of the bargain above and beyond expectations. I have much more studying to do, but the end result of re-taking the GMAT is on me - I can imagine no better prep than what has been given me.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Perfect Experience!
December 14 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:  Washington, USA | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
They know their job very well and VeritasPrep is one of the bests in GMAT! Their materials are perfectly organized. They send you 12 books before the course starts and each book includes a skiil builder, lesson and homework part. You can find questions from every level of difficulty in the books and you can also find the explanations of the solutions for questions.

Our teacher,Anthony Ritz, was a perfect guy. He puts all his effort to do his best. He doesn't skip any parts and he explains every tiny detail of the questions. After he explains a topic, he gives at least 1 or 2 questions about the topic to strengthen our knowledge. He is always very helpful and tries to deal with everyone in the class.

I recommend Veritas Prep to everyone who aims to get a high score on GMAT!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.