Anthony Ritz

GMAT Instructor


    
Number of reviews [33]


Company: Veritas Prep
Packages: Veritas Prep Weekend Course   Veritas Prep Full Course   Veritas Prep Private Tutoring  
Locations: Bethesda, MD   Vienna, VA   DC Area, DC   Washington, DC  

Anthony is a full-time tutor with over eleven years of experience. He holds degrees in physics and applied mathematics from Georgia Tech and a law degree from Georgetown, and his test scores include a 99th percentile GMAT score (790), a 99th percentile LSAT score (176), a perfect score on the SAT (1600/1600), perfect scores on three SAT II exams (800/800), and perfect scores of 5 on numerous AP exams.


Anthony Ritz's Reviews
Veritas Highly Recommended!
August 13 | 2015

       By gulisha joined: August 13, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Washington, USA | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
I took the full course with Veritas in June-July 2015 in Washington, DC. Our class instructor was Anthony Ritz. Anthony was excellent. I really enjoyed every class that he taught. He makes complex concepts easy to understand and apply, makes studying fun and the overall class experience enjoyable. As a lawyer (a partner in a law firm), I appreciate his unique combination of law and math majors for a GMAT instructor. I believe that adds tremendous value as he understands well and can teach effectively both quant and verbal sections. I would highly recommend him. I also must say that the study books and online materials provided by Veritas were quite helpful, and you can use the online materials for a year after the completion of the course, which is great!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Amazing
August 08 | 2015

       By omarons joined: June 23, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Washington, USA | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
First and foremost, Anthony Ritz was Great! He the perfect kind of tutor you would need to help you study for the GMAT.

The GMAT courses are a dry and boring course, but Anthony made it enjoyable and fun.
I am a non native speaker, yet with expertise, I was able to advance from 50% on the verbal section to an 89%. This exceeded my expectation.
The quant section was similarly perfect. With tricks and good techniques here and there, i was able to home in on most of the quant skills and tackle the quant section

The Gmat with veritas prep as a whole was very helpful as well, however i would have liked more exercise in the Sentence correction as well as the Reading comprehension.

Though great for native speakers, the sentence correction book was not enough for me, and so i had to purchase another book from a competitor which did help me get the extra push.

Similarly, the reading comprehension was lacking. Although veritas does provide great pointers to tackle reading comprehension passages, i felt that it lacked some pointers that other companies provided, for example beware of extreme language.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Serious Teacher for a Serious Exam
August 03 | 2015

       By wilwos joined: January 3, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Washington, USA | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
I took the Veritas Prep full course with Anthony Ritz. Anthony is a fantastic teacher who focuses on providing added value that the books and online aids cannot. He does a marvelous job going through the why, how, and meaning of each question which is important since GMAT is not an exam where you can just memorize questions or question types. I also had some private tutoring with Anthony and if you need it I suggest signing up with him. He's been a tutor for some time now and knows how to find your problem areas, drill them, and lead you to get more questions right. A serious teacher for a serious exam indeed.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Amazing
April 23 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
       By JohnnyKipling joined: April 23, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  DC Area, USA | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
Anthony was amazing. He is an incredible instructor and I think the he truly cared about my improvement. My first two GMAT scores were 660 and 680. I was really hoping to get over 700 so I decided to take a class and tutoring with him. I recently took the GMAT and achieved a 710 and I truly believe it of Anthony. I would absolutely recommend him to anyone who is interested in taking a GMAT class. He does a great job leading class discussions and does a great job explain concepts in multiple ways so that everyone can understand challenging or difficult problems.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Worth every penny
March 24 | 2015

       By tiger316 joined: March 24, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:  Washington, USA | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
I signed up for the course based off a co-workers recommendation that Veritas was the best. I must say that i was not disappointed. The course was not cheap but for what you get I think it was very reasonable, the online resources, books and 6 hours of live instruction a week is a lot of material.

The combination of the material and instructor (Anthony) was what made this such a helpful course. By the end of the six weeks, you will know the fundamentals of the test makers logic and why the test is setup like it is. Anthony did a great job of keeping things focused on the true concepts that need to be understood and taught us how to leverage what we know. This is not a list of "tricks" or equations to memorized - this course gets to the core of the test and that makes the difference.

I studied on my own first and after months my practice test was up 30 points. The two months with Veritas I was up another 60 points on the practice tests so it clearly works. My official score was only 10 points below my last two practices so I think you can be confident that if you are getting scores through Veritas neat your goal then you are ready to take the exam.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Anthony was a great teacher
March 10 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: March 10, 2015 | 5 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  DC Area, USA | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
I took the GMAT course with Anthony 1.5 times. The first time I was unable to complete the course due to extenuating circumstances, but I had such a great experience with Anthony's teaching style that I made sure to look for his name when signing up for the (free) retake.

Anthony is extremely knowledgeable about math and it makes the course more interesting because we were able to ask 'what if' type questions which he always had a response for. He was able to make material which is typically boring at least tolerable. He also provides one-on-one hints while doing practice problems during class, which were helpful in remembering common traps in the questions.

Finally, Anthony offers his personal contact information and availability for help with problems during and after the class. He gave me advice on the timeline for studying after course and helped me with solutions for problems on the official GMAC practice tests when I couldn't figure it out. I would strong recommend taking the course with Anthony.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Comprehensive GMAT Review Course
March 10 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: March 1, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Washington, USA | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
I highly recommend the full course for GMAT prep. I took to after-work in person courses, then went through each of the online videos/homeworks in the two weeks after class and before my exam. Both covered verbal and quant extensively and offer seven practice test, which is a big bonus. There is also a great retake policy - any student can retake the course once to boost scores. I recommend using all of the practice tests before taking the actual test and scheduling 2-3 weeks after class ends and before your exam to fully review the materials and practice test taking performance before taking the real thing.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Excellent!
January 04 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By Anonymous joined: January 4, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Washington, USA | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
This was a fantastic approach to studying for the GMAT. I tried studying for the GMAT on my own, but once I signed up for the class the instructor taught me a lot that I couldn't learn on my own. Veritas does a very good job at preparing their students on as many levels as possible. I would recommend this course to anyone wanting to improve their GMAT score. My instructor really helped me on the quant section by showing me a lot of very easy work-arounds and quick shortcuts that I haven't seen in any of the books. I was also very impressed with all the online tools and resources that Veritas Prep offers to every student.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Quality instructor, quality course
January 03 | 2015

       By wilwos joined: January 3, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  DC Area, USA | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
Though my GMAT score was extremely poor, I am rating the course as well as Anthony very high. Anthony is a great instructor who shows a vested interest in his students. Rather than simply going through the book, Anthony seeks to provide additional value. He offers different way to solve problems than are shown in the book. With that you see multiple methods to solve the same problem. I like to think of this as having an adjustable wrench. My course was slated to last three hours per meeting, but there was once or twice out of our twelve meetings where the class ended on time. Anthony took many questions from students and was never in a hurry to leave class even when it ended closer to 1030pm than 10pm.

If you have the means and the drive to do well on the GMAT, a course with Anthony is a sound investment. My score on test day was just a bad day and I probably took the exam later than I should have. My score is not representative of my success in the class. My baseline score was a 590 and on a practice exam 1 week after the class I scored a 700.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Can't Go Wrong with Anthony Ritz and Veritas
December 31 | 2014

       By dbrianbunch joined: December 31, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:  DC Area, USA | Taught by:  Anthony Ritz
Anthony Ritz was a fantastic instructor. Somehow he managed to hold my attention through six all-day courses, relaying tons of strategies and techniques for answering GMAT questions. He truly cares about every student in his classes and is endlessly patient. I actually started to look forward to classes after one or two sessions. He was also non-judgmental, which was important to me, since my practice test score was pretty low - particularly in the quantitative section. Instead of dismissing my needs, he seemed to be more patient and spend more time on quantitative material. I could not have asked for a better instructor.

Results: I improved my score by 70 points and received perfect scores on the verbal and essay portions of the GMAT.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.