Bill Chonis's Instructor Reviews
Number of reviews [9]
Stacy Blackman Consulting Review
June 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Bill Chonis
Bill Chionis with Stacy Blackman Consulting was a rock star. I was skeptical if I would be a fit for a top program. I did not have stellar grades as an undergraduate and did not have the work background of a typical executive MBA applicant. I was also extremely hesitant on hiring a consultant. Would they really provide any value?

Bill quickly displaced all of my concerns. It was clear from our first conversation that he knew what he was doing and his easy-going manner would be a great fit for me. He helped me discover and express the strengths that I did possess. He provided great advice on how to approach the differing essays and was extremely patient throughout the process. Most importantly, I always sensed he believed in me.

The interview prep was spot on. Bill anticipated the questions I’d be asked and had me thoroughly prepared.

The entire experience was fantastic. I ultimately only applied to Kellogg and was accepted. I am confident this would not have been the case without the encouragement and advice I received from Bill.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Add clarity to your application process
May 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Bill Chonis
I had the pleasure of working with Bill Chionis (@SBC).
After my initial consultation with him I could connect with him well and felt very comfortable working with him through out the process.
He clarified the overall strategy and helped me focus on my key strengths. Bill was awesome with essay feedbacks/edits. Always responded with in a day or two.

Although I did not make it to the school of my choice I still got an admit for the second option.

Overall I would highly recommend Bill (or SBC) to any one considering a consultant for taking the stress out of the whole process and to keep you focused and provide clarity in each step.

Thanks Bill for your support and it was fun to work with you!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Haas bound - Thanks to Bill Chonis
April 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 2, 2013 | 8 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Bill Chonis
I spoke to consultants from every major admissions company and I was not very sure if they really understood my goals and how helpful they would be. The first time I spoke to Bill, I was completely blown away. Right from the very first call it was very clear that Bill really understood my short and long-term goals and how they aligned with my background. He was also very knowledgeable about my target programs, class ratios and how someone from an overly represented demographic needs to differentiate himself without asking me to keep taking GMAT till I can get 760.

During my initial call when I discussed my target schools with Bill, he recommended that instead of applying to all 4 schools I should focus on the two of the top 10 schools which I was really excited about and given my background, GPA and GMAT he was very hopeful that I would get into one of them. With that advise I only purchased a two-school package instead of 4. I was not as certain that I would get into one of those two schools but Bill proved to be right as I got admitted to my top target school Haas.

Not only did Bill help me come up with application strategy but we went over 5 iterations of essays for first school which really ended up being 15 essays. He even spent time to review my final application before I submitted it. When it came time for my interview he gave me enough time till I felt that I was ready for it. He first spent an hour with me to go over how I should prepare and approach the interview and then he gave me two mock interviews.

Overall I am very glad that I worked with Bill and he truly is a guide. During the admissions process I learned things from Bill that would be helpful to me through out my professional life.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great experience with great results.
February 06 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Dmitriy joined: June 27, 2013 | 27 | 15 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Bill Chonis
I just want to give many thanks to Bill. I think he is an amazing consultant and he does his job super professionally. It is really hard to underestimate his participation in my success. I got two out of two! Chicago Booth EMBA and LBS-Columbia GEMBA program have accepted me. I hesitated before getting a consulting service and was not sure of its worth for EMBA. I tried six different firms and consultants but he seemed the best. It was one of the best choices in my life. His guideline changed my view not only on the application process but really helped me to develop my personal mid- and long-term strategy. His answers were always efficient and came very quickly. During the interviews, I felt very confident as adcoms asked exactly the same questions that we discussed. I just gave them a very impressive story of my life that he helped me to create. I will strongly recommend him to anyone who may be looking for a top program.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

SBC review
January 08 | 2014

0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 2, 2012 | 0 | |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Only my safety schools
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Bill Chonis
I was unsure about applying for MBA admissions as I had been rejected by my top choices in the earlier year. One of my friends suggested that I try the ‘Free Consultation’ from Stacy Blackman and I set up an introductory call with Bill Chionis. He really boosted my confidence and made me believe that I had a chance at getting admitted this year.

I took the comprehensive package for 3 schools and an hourly package for the 4th school. Throughout my interaction with him, Bill was very professional and always very prompt in his edits and responses. When I had an issue with one of my recommenders Bill went out of his way to help me resolve it. I truly believe that his inputs on my essays and the resume made them much stronger. He gave me some great tips for the interviews which I believe would be useful even in the future. Though I didn’t get an admit from the 2 top schools of my choice I got admission offers from my backup options--both top 15 schools. The MBA application process is very stressful and I think having someone help you through the process can be a big plus.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

SB: the smartest decision ever
January 06 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 23, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Bill Chonis
A very good friend of mine (SB clients, admitted to 3 top US B-schools) strongly suggested me to use SB professional consulting, to increase the chances to achieve my objective of being admitted to a top B-school, since I had some clear disadvantages compare to the typical top school candidate.

After talking with several consultants at SB, I found Bill Chionis to be the best choice for me. I immediately liked his positive attitude, his pragmatic way of thinking and his clear approach to the challenges.

I opted for a comprehensive service (all-in) and Bill supported me from essays to interview.

The support was outstanding.

Great tips in selecting the best topics and situations for the essays, responsive and precise feedback, always available.

The "Flight Test phase" was also important: a SB team of experts (NOT including your consultant) reviewed the application simulating they were the admission committee of the school. Great feedback there, to fine tune the presentation even more.

Interview prep went similarly: again great tips, precise feedback, anticipation of possible bad situations and how to get out of them, and so on.
The approach that Bill had stressed many times during the prep time was crystal clear, independently of my level of stress ... and that has made a huge difference.

I believe the quality of the support that Stacy Blackman gave me is as high as it can go, thanks to the passion the Bill puts in his job and to the long experience in the field, that allows him to master any possible situation.

Thank you SB for helping me to open the door of the school of my dream.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Bill@StacyBlackman
December 23 | 2013

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 9, 2011 | 35 | 10 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Bill Chonis
I would like to take this opportunity to thank Bill@StacyBlackman for all his advice and guidance he provided during the application process which was invaluable and instrumental to my Kellogg’s admission.

I intuitively felt the connection right after the free consultation. Bill was in fact the deciding factor for me to go with Stacy Blackman Consulting (SBC). Bill was honest with me. As mentioned by one of the previous applicants I couldn’t agree more -- “Bill was indeed a saint”. Bill not only was calm but also made me feel relaxed especially when I was getting ahead of myself.

Bill's approach towards the application process was methodical, thorough, prudent and he was extremely patient. Bill was very prompt responding to all my emails irrespective of the time, day or the week. Besides being prompt, his responses were very clear. The most important thing for me was he believed in me.Without any doubt Bill is invaluable asset SBC can have.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Highly Recommend Stacey Blackman!!
January 18 | 2013

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By schokhany joined: August 8, 2012 | 6 | 5 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Bill Chonis
I wanted to share my thoughts on Stacy Blackman

I engaged Stacy Blackman early this year for 1 school comprehensive package. My consultant was Bill.

I was amazed how Bill helped me shape my Essays. We must have gone though at least 6-8 rounds of editing for each essay until it perfect. His interview prep was awesome, in fact the Ad-com asked me a a lot of questions which he had prepped me for.

I applied to Cornell and NYU Stern in October'12, and got accepted at both the Schools.

Although I have 16+ years of work experience, I wouldn't have secured an admission without Bill's help.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

This is an investment, not a cost
May 02 | 2012

7 out of 7 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 23, 2011 | 2 | 7 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Bill Chonis
I initially inquired about an admissions consulting service because I wasn't sure how to approach my essays and there was concern about my undergraduate GPA.

After my free consultation with Bill Chonis of Stacy Blackman, I decided to work with Bill on an hourly basis. We clicked right off the bat, and yes, chemistry is extremely important for someone to have with his/her consultant. I found Bill to be extremely professional, insightful, and because of the application deadlines I had to meet, very timely and responsive throughout the whole process.

Bill had the patience of saint with me in regards to writing my essays as it took awhile for me to find my “voice.”(I never thought that Bill was trying to get more hours out of me since I was on an hourly rate. And Yes, I am a very cynical person. For the five hours I was charged from Stacy Blackman, I probably worked with Bill 6.5-7 hrs.)

On a side note, Stacy Blackman does have some great tips on a PDF that you can send to your recommenders. I would get my hands on this.

Before hiring Bill, I read many reviews on GMATCLUB of the various consulting services and although the majority of the reviews are positive for most of the consulting companies, you’ll always find a few negative ones in the bunch. I think most of the individuals who wrote the negative reviews are the ones who didn’t get into their school of choice. Keep in mind, these consultants aren’t miracle workers. Some just give you the best chance of getting into your school of choice. However, I do believe that a great admissions consultant manages the expectations of his or her client.

I am giving a five star review of Bill Chonis of Stacy Blackman Consulting. I have no idea how the other consultants are over at Stacy Blackman, but I assure you that Bill is an excellent admissions consultant. My advice is to make sure you click with your admission’s consultant before moving forward and at least talk to two different consultants before making a decision.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.