Bill (SBC)


    
Number of reviews [14]


Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting
Packages: Comprehensive Service   Hourly Services  
Bill (SBC)'s Reviews
Kellogg EMBA Admit. Thank you, Bill and SBC!!
February 09 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 9, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Bill (SBC)
Just wanted to drop a note about what a fabulous experience it was working with SBC during my successful application for Kellogg Executive MBA program. Getting into Kellogg is a dream come true for me, and it simply wouldn't have happened without my consultant's support. I highly recommend them to anyone applying to Kellogg due to their intimate knowledge about the school, especially the Kellogg Executive MBA program. I was hesitant to engage an admissions consulting firm, as I did not see many testimonials for Executive MBA programs. My consultants lay my doubts to rest as they were very familiar with what it takes to build a solid application for experienced managers like myself. My ideas of how to answer the ten or so Kellogg essays were very different from what they suggested. Their explanation on how to answer these essays from the ad-com point of view was eye-opening for me and worth the cost of engaging them. I am certain that if I had written the essay questions without their assistance, I would not have been able to make a strong case for my candidacy.Not only did they work tirelessly to help me achieve my objective (my edited essays were always reviewed and returned with candid feedback within hours after sending them), they also drove me hard to self-reflect during the long discovery and essay-writing process. Although I did not like that upon my consultants' insistence I had to discard and rewrite an entire 1,000 word essay (I thought it was pretty good!), I trusted their judgement. They expertly guided me to highlight my strengths (work-experience) and to address the weak areas (low-GPA) of my candidacy and at the end of the day, that made the difference.

Thank you for offering such a valuable service. I look forward to a life changing experience at Kellogg.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Thanks to Stacy and Bill
February 08 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 8, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Bill (SBC)
At first, I was very apprehensive about approaching admission consulting firms as most of my friends and colleagues also advised me not to. However, when I heard about Stacy Blackman from one of the Booth students, whom I met in one of the networking event, I signed up for free consultation to give it a shot. I was impressed by the tips and techniques that Sarah Tsai had to offer. After going through my profile, my resume, and where I am at my professional career and application process, she mentioned how Stacy Blackman could add value. She paired me with Bill Chionis. Bill is a great guy, very helpful, and, most importantly, candid with his opinion and thoughts. He and I discussed in lengths about my background, and the reason I wanted to pursue the MBA program. Unlike any other Admission Consulting firm, Stacy Blackman and their consultant act as a true partner in your MBA journey. Bill worked with me on my essays and the stories that I wanted to tell AdCom to best present my candidature. He also helped with my resume and even interview preparation. I give Bill and team of Stacy Blackman 5 stars without a doubt. Yes, their services are expensive but you certainly get the best return on your investment.

Thanks Stacy Blackman for helping me to get through the very competitive Haas application process and to eventually come out as winner!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Extremely Happy
January 21 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 19, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Bill (SBC)
I had an excellent experience with Stacy Blackman Consulting. I worked with Bill and he knew exactly what I needed to do to present myself in the best possible light. Unlike other consultants I interviewed who said I didn't have the pedigree, the GPA, or the GMAT. Bill believed in me and encouraged me to set my bar high and let the cards fall where they may. In the end I was admitted to every school I applied to, including Wharton (my first choice).

It is easy for a consultant to take an ‘A’ candidate and make them an ‘A+’ candidate, but it takes someone with real talent to take a ‘B’ candidate and show the Adcom why they are really an ‘A+’. My experience interviewing with consultants was that they tended to be ‘A’ candidates themselves, and were not sure how someone could win without impeccable credentials. In contrast, Bill believed in me as a person and was able to use that belief to help me take my career and candidacy to the next level.

You can't go wrong with Bill and the SBC team.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Extremely Helpful And Professional
December 28 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 28, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Bill (SBC)
My conversations with Bill Chonis gave me the confidence to apply to a school I previously wasn't sure if I should even bother applying to; turns out I got accepted by that tap tier school despite a very weak 2.90 undergrad GPA. Bill provided insights into the application process, patient guidance in helping me shape my strategy, and expert coaching on focusing my message.

Other information on my candidacy: 720GMAT, engineering background, working for a small unknown firm in the unglamorous manufacturing industry, international from south east asia. I'm very sure Bill had a huge impact on me getting into the school of my dreams!

Stacy Blackman is a well functioning organization, which leverages up-to-date online tools to facilitate their Admissions Consulting services.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Low GMAT and Accepted!
November 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Bill (SBC)
White Caucasian Male
GMAT: 610
Undergrad: A western state college
School of Choice: Ross Business School


As many do, I researched and researched all the consultants and weighed the costs of paying someone to help me through this tedious process of applying to b-school. After narrowing down to Aringo, MBA Mission, and Stacy Blackman, I ended on Stacy. This was no mistake and am ever so grateful for Bill Chionis and his
expertise in helping me. As I interviewed all of the consultants, the one thing that stood out to me about SB is the fact that they were direct with me. I spoke with Esther Magna and told her my GMAT score, she simply stated, "we can't help you get into a top tier full time program". Ha, I had taken the GMAT 3 times and knew my score was weak, but had 5 years work experience and a lot of extra curricular activities. I knew I wouldn't make it into a top 10 school full time, so because of my weak GMAT score, I strategically went with a top school that offered a Weekend program. This way I knew my chance was better.
Why I liked SB was that there was no BS, she was direct, no trying to just make a sale, and set proper expectations. Comparing to another consultant who I won't name, they told me, sure we can help you get into a top tier school regardless of GMAT score, although nice to hear, it's unrealistic. SB is realistic and helped me work with what score I had.
After deciding on SB, I was paired with Bill. He was and is always prompt in returning emails, most of the time same day unless it was for an essay review. Again, Bill was direct, realistic and helped me map out in words what I wanted to say in the essay. He was an excellent coach when it came to the interview prep. I probably spent 3 hours or more with him between 2 or 3 session to prep for my interview.
The experience was great, and the day I received the call from Ross, made this long trek of applying to b-school all worth while. I highly recommend SB, and would highly suggest the comprehensive package. If you have a low GMAT score, they can't work miracles, but can set you proper expectations. Very pleased!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Stacy Blackman Consulting Review
June 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Bill (SBC)
Bill Chionis with Stacy Blackman Consulting was a rock star. I was skeptical if I would be a fit for a top program. I did not have stellar grades as an undergraduate and did not have the work background of a typical executive MBA applicant. I was also extremely hesitant on hiring a consultant. Would they really provide any value?

Bill quickly displaced all of my concerns. It was clear from our first conversation that he knew what he was doing and his easy-going manner would be a great fit for me. He helped me discover and express the strengths that I did possess. He provided great advice on how to approach the differing essays and was extremely patient throughout the process. Most importantly, I always sensed he believed in me.

The interview prep was spot on. Bill anticipated the questions I’d be asked and had me thoroughly prepared.

The entire experience was fantastic. I ultimately only applied to Kellogg and was accepted. I am confident this would not have been the case without the encouragement and advice I received from Bill.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Add clarity to your application process
May 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Bill (SBC)
I had the pleasure of working with Bill Chionis (@SBC).
After my initial consultation with him I could connect with him well and felt very comfortable working with him through out the process.
He clarified the overall strategy and helped me focus on my key strengths. Bill was awesome with essay feedbacks/edits. Always responded with in a day or two.

Although I did not make it to the school of my choice I still got an admit for the second option.

Overall I would highly recommend Bill (or SBC) to any one considering a consultant for taking the stress out of the whole process and to keep you focused and provide clarity in each step.

Thanks Bill for your support and it was fun to work with you!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Haas bound - Thanks to Bill Chonis
April 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 2, 2013 | 8 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Bill (SBC)
I spoke to consultants from every major admissions company and I was not very sure if they really understood my goals and how helpful they would be. The first time I spoke to Bill, I was completely blown away. Right from the very first call it was very clear that Bill really understood my short and long-term goals and how they aligned with my background. He was also very knowledgeable about my target programs, class ratios and how someone from an overly represented demographic needs to differentiate himself without asking me to keep taking GMAT till I can get 760.

During my initial call when I discussed my target schools with Bill, he recommended that instead of applying to all 4 schools I should focus on the two of the top 10 schools which I was really excited about and given my background, GPA and GMAT he was very hopeful that I would get into one of them. With that advise I only purchased a two-school package instead of 4. I was not as certain that I would get into one of those two schools but Bill proved to be right as I got admitted to my top target school Haas.

Not only did Bill help me come up with application strategy but we went over 5 iterations of essays for first school which really ended up being 15 essays. He even spent time to review my final application before I submitted it. When it came time for my interview he gave me enough time till I felt that I was ready for it. He first spent an hour with me to go over how I should prepare and approach the interview and then he gave me two mock interviews.

Overall I am very glad that I worked with Bill and he truly is a guide. During the admissions process I learned things from Bill that would be helpful to me through out my professional life.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great experience with great results.
February 06 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Dmitriy joined: June 27, 2013 | 27 | 26 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Bill (SBC)
I just want to give many thanks to Bill. I think he is an amazing consultant and he does his job super professionally. It is really hard to underestimate his participation in my success. I got two out of two! Chicago Booth EMBA and LBS-Columbia GEMBA program have accepted me. I hesitated before getting a consulting service and was not sure of its worth for EMBA. I tried six different firms and consultants but he seemed the best. It was one of the best choices in my life. His guideline changed my view not only on the application process but really helped me to develop my personal mid- and long-term strategy. His answers were always efficient and came very quickly. During the interviews, I felt very confident as adcoms asked exactly the same questions that we discussed. I just gave them a very impressive story of my life that he helped me to create. I will strongly recommend him to anyone who may be looking for a top program.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

SBC review
January 08 | 2014

0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 2, 2012 | 0 | |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Only my safety schools
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Bill (SBC)
I was unsure about applying for MBA admissions as I had been rejected by my top choices in the earlier year. One of my friends suggested that I try the ‘Free Consultation’ from Stacy Blackman and I set up an introductory call with Bill Chionis. He really boosted my confidence and made me believe that I had a chance at getting admitted this year.

I took the comprehensive package for 3 schools and an hourly package for the 4th school. Throughout my interaction with him, Bill was very professional and always very prompt in his edits and responses. When I had an issue with one of my recommenders Bill went out of his way to help me resolve it. I truly believe that his inputs on my essays and the resume made them much stronger. He gave me some great tips for the interviews which I believe would be useful even in the future. Though I didn’t get an admit from the 2 top schools of my choice I got admission offers from my backup options--both top 15 schools. The MBA application process is very stressful and I think having someone help you through the process can be a big plus.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.