Bill (SBC)


    
Number of reviews [17]


Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting
Packages: Comprehensive Service   Hourly Services  
Bill (SBC)'s Reviews
Stacy Blackman consultants
April 14 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 25, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Bill (SBC)
Hi all,
I was a little skeptical initially about signing up for a consulting service and I tried to do the application process on my own. Later on I realized that the process was taking a lot of time and I was not confident that my application can stand out in the crowd.
I set up a free consultation with Bill Chionis of stacy blackman. After the initial talk , I came to know how I should redraft my resume to highlight my strengths. Then I set up hourly services to go over the essay topics and application process. Bill was very patient, professional and extremely supportive. He guided me to bring the best out of me to the application. My general advice to all future applicants is to go for a consultant. The consultant is very well experienced in this process and he can elevate your essays to the next level and provide you with realistic feedback. I noticed every time I got my essays reviewed that I am able to project myself better.
One more point is when you work all alone, you may not be aware of what others are doing and how much is the competition in terms of ideas and personal strengths. A consultant like Bill can always point out the comparative weakness and strengths in your profile and identify the ways to compensate for your weakness.
A consultant may not be able to land you in harward if you are a dumb ass but he can polish your profile, highlight your strengths, smoother out your dark areas and may unexpectedly bring out previously ignored aspects of your personality into the game. All these will help you to stand out and give you a better chance to your dream schools. I got admitted to all my dream schools and Bill has helped me in all aspects I mentioned above and I will give a five star rating to him and strongly recommend him to any future candidate.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

3 for 3: Accepted by Wharton, Kellogg, and Haas
April 07 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 2, 2012 | 0 | |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Bill (SBC)
Without reservation, I give my highest recommendation to Stacy Blackman Consulting and, particularly, my consultant Bill Chionis. I signed up for the "all-in" package, and although SBC was one of the more expensive consulting companies I considered, I ultimately chose SBC because of the fact that their consultants work full-time on MBA admissions, offer unlimited contact, and put their clients' application materials through a pre-application "flight test" with a former admissions committee member.

After having worked with Bill for the past 4 months, I can enthusiastically say it was well worth the money I spent. Bill helped me in numerous ways, but I'll specifically list the areas in which he provided the most value to me personally:

• Identifying Strengths: I have a somewhat atypical background for someone seeking an MBA. Prior to signing up with SBC, I had doubts about whether top programs would be interested in someone with my skill set. After a couple of phone calls, however, Bill was able to identify a number of strengths that would interest the admissions committees and make my application stand out. Some of the strengths he focused on were ones that I never would have thought to highlight in my application.

• Solidifying Career Goals/Telling My Story: I had a handful of ideas for why I wanted to pursue an MBA, but Bill was able to probe my interests in a way that allowed me to more fully develop my ideas. He also helped me tie my background to these ideas so that I could tell my personal story in a very compelling fashion.

• Identifying Realistic Target Schools: Initially, my knowledge of the differences among business schools did not extend much beyond the rankings and various snippets I had found online. Bill was able to provide me with perspective on each school's strengths, weaknesses and unique culture. Then, based on my background, personality, and goals, Bill identified the schools he thought would be the best for me. There is no way I could have gotten all this information through my own research. Only someone with years of experience in the industry can provide this type of intelligence.

• Time Management: I have a demanding job and made the choice to apply to programs roughly two and a half months ahead of the application deadlines. Despite the tight time constraints, Bill put together a schedule that kept my stress level to a minimum throughout the process and kept me on track to submit my applications well ahead of the deadlines.

• Essay Direction: This may be the area in which Bill's help was the most valuable for me. For each essay, Bill was able to give me specific direction as to the type of response each school was looking for. While I consider myself to be a capable writer, most of the questions are open-ended enough that it is difficult to discern what the admissions committees truly want to know. Additionally, even though some schools have similar questions, Bill knew the unique pieces that each school was looking for. Had I answered these essays on my own, I probably would have re-engineered the same material for each school and simply changed the school references. Finally, I had concerns about how to deal with certain weaknesses in my background. Bill advised me on how to thoughtfully and intelligently address those areas in my application.

• Interview Prep: Bill walked me through the full range of questions to expect for my interviews. Then, after I prepared answers for all of the questions, we did a mock interview over the phone and he provided feedback for each of my answers. I went into the interviews feeling very confident and was prepared to answer everything the interviewers asked me—including a few curveball questions.

• Deciding Between Programs: I was fortunate to be accepted by all three programs that I applied to. Bill did such a good job in directing me toward programs that fit me that I had a really hard time deciding which school to choose. Having worked closely with him over the last few months, Bill was able to help me filter everything down to determine the program that would give me the best chance to meet my personal and career objectives.

BOTTOM LINE: Bill was an incredible resource to me throughout the application process. He saved me an enormous amount of time and stress. I was able to focus on the important aspects of my applications and avoid a lot of wasted time spent researching online and asking for opinions from others. To anyone looking for an MBA admissions consultant with proven results, I highly recommend SBC and Bill Chionis.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

I couldn't have done it without Bill
April 01 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 13, 2015 | 2 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Bill (SBC)
Bill was absolutely amazing. I purchased the hourly service (6 hours in total), and now I wish I worked with him for full service and for a longer time period – and that’s after getting into all the schools to which I applied. I was not the strongest candidate (gmat and gpa wise) but he was able to guide me through these challenges incredibly.

Bill tells you everything straight - which is what you need to hear. If you can't make realistic goals, then you probably shouldn't be applying to b-school. He worked on every data point and focused on what each school looked for in their applicants. This was crucial for the essays / interviews – displaying how you’re unique and how this uniqueness will benefit the school and how the school will help in nourishing your unique abilities.

Bill, to me, was very easy to get along with and also very available to all my questions/concerns. You will have to work hard, but he makes you work hard on the things that matter, so you don’t waste time with dead-ends or items the schools will not care about. I got into every school I applied to (3 U.S. News top 25’s) and definitely could not have done that without his guidance.

I am very glad to have worked with Bill. He was a definite stress reliever and believed in me more than I believed in myself.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Kellogg EMBA Admit. Thank you, Bill and SBC!!
February 09 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 9, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Bill (SBC)
Just wanted to drop a note about what a fabulous experience it was working with SBC during my successful application for Kellogg Executive MBA program. Getting into Kellogg is a dream come true for me, and it simply wouldn't have happened without my consultant's support. I highly recommend them to anyone applying to Kellogg due to their intimate knowledge about the school, especially the Kellogg Executive MBA program. I was hesitant to engage an admissions consulting firm, as I did not see many testimonials for Executive MBA programs. My consultants lay my doubts to rest as they were very familiar with what it takes to build a solid application for experienced managers like myself. My ideas of how to answer the ten or so Kellogg essays were very different from what they suggested. Their explanation on how to answer these essays from the ad-com point of view was eye-opening for me and worth the cost of engaging them. I am certain that if I had written the essay questions without their assistance, I would not have been able to make a strong case for my candidacy.Not only did they work tirelessly to help me achieve my objective (my edited essays were always reviewed and returned with candid feedback within hours after sending them), they also drove me hard to self-reflect during the long discovery and essay-writing process. Although I did not like that upon my consultants' insistence I had to discard and rewrite an entire 1,000 word essay (I thought it was pretty good!), I trusted their judgement. They expertly guided me to highlight my strengths (work-experience) and to address the weak areas (low-GPA) of my candidacy and at the end of the day, that made the difference.

Thank you for offering such a valuable service. I look forward to a life changing experience at Kellogg.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Thanks to Stacy and Bill
February 08 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 8, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Bill (SBC)
At first, I was very apprehensive about approaching admission consulting firms as most of my friends and colleagues also advised me not to. However, when I heard about Stacy Blackman from one of the Booth students, whom I met in one of the networking event, I signed up for free consultation to give it a shot. I was impressed by the tips and techniques that Sarah Tsai had to offer. After going through my profile, my resume, and where I am at my professional career and application process, she mentioned how Stacy Blackman could add value. She paired me with Bill Chionis. Bill is a great guy, very helpful, and, most importantly, candid with his opinion and thoughts. He and I discussed in lengths about my background, and the reason I wanted to pursue the MBA program. Unlike any other Admission Consulting firm, Stacy Blackman and their consultant act as a true partner in your MBA journey. Bill worked with me on my essays and the stories that I wanted to tell AdCom to best present my candidature. He also helped with my resume and even interview preparation. I give Bill and team of Stacy Blackman 5 stars without a doubt. Yes, their services are expensive but you certainly get the best return on your investment.

Thanks Stacy Blackman for helping me to get through the very competitive Haas application process and to eventually come out as winner!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Extremely Happy
January 21 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 19, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Bill (SBC)
I had an excellent experience with Stacy Blackman Consulting. I worked with Bill and he knew exactly what I needed to do to present myself in the best possible light. Unlike other consultants I interviewed who said I didn't have the pedigree, the GPA, or the GMAT. Bill believed in me and encouraged me to set my bar high and let the cards fall where they may. In the end I was admitted to every school I applied to, including Wharton (my first choice).

It is easy for a consultant to take an ‘A’ candidate and make them an ‘A+’ candidate, but it takes someone with real talent to take a ‘B’ candidate and show the Adcom why they are really an ‘A+’. My experience interviewing with consultants was that they tended to be ‘A’ candidates themselves, and were not sure how someone could win without impeccable credentials. In contrast, Bill believed in me as a person and was able to use that belief to help me take my career and candidacy to the next level.

You can't go wrong with Bill and the SBC team.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Extremely Helpful And Professional
December 28 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 28, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Bill (SBC)
My conversations with Bill Chonis gave me the confidence to apply to a school I previously wasn't sure if I should even bother applying to; turns out I got accepted by that tap tier school despite a very weak 2.90 undergrad GPA. Bill provided insights into the application process, patient guidance in helping me shape my strategy, and expert coaching on focusing my message.

Other information on my candidacy: 720GMAT, engineering background, working for a small unknown firm in the unglamorous manufacturing industry, international from south east asia. I'm very sure Bill had a huge impact on me getting into the school of my dreams!

Stacy Blackman is a well functioning organization, which leverages up-to-date online tools to facilitate their Admissions Consulting services.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Low GMAT and Accepted!
November 04 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Bill (SBC)
White Caucasian Male
GMAT: 610
Undergrad: A western state college
School of Choice: Ross Business School


As many do, I researched and researched all the consultants and weighed the costs of paying someone to help me through this tedious process of applying to b-school. After narrowing down to Aringo, MBA Mission, and Stacy Blackman, I ended on Stacy. This was no mistake and am ever so grateful for Bill Chionis and his
expertise in helping me. As I interviewed all of the consultants, the one thing that stood out to me about SB is the fact that they were direct with me. I spoke with Esther Magna and told her my GMAT score, she simply stated, "we can't help you get into a top tier full time program". Ha, I had taken the GMAT 3 times and knew my score was weak, but had 5 years work experience and a lot of extra curricular activities. I knew I wouldn't make it into a top 10 school full time, so because of my weak GMAT score, I strategically went with a top school that offered a Weekend program. This way I knew my chance was better.
Why I liked SB was that there was no BS, she was direct, no trying to just make a sale, and set proper expectations. Comparing to another consultant who I won't name, they told me, sure we can help you get into a top tier school regardless of GMAT score, although nice to hear, it's unrealistic. SB is realistic and helped me work with what score I had.
After deciding on SB, I was paired with Bill. He was and is always prompt in returning emails, most of the time same day unless it was for an essay review. Again, Bill was direct, realistic and helped me map out in words what I wanted to say in the essay. He was an excellent coach when it came to the interview prep. I probably spent 3 hours or more with him between 2 or 3 session to prep for my interview.
The experience was great, and the day I received the call from Ross, made this long trek of applying to b-school all worth while. I highly recommend SB, and would highly suggest the comprehensive package. If you have a low GMAT score, they can't work miracles, but can set you proper expectations. Very pleased!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Stacy Blackman Consulting Review
June 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Bill (SBC)
Bill Chionis with Stacy Blackman Consulting was a rock star. I was skeptical if I would be a fit for a top program. I did not have stellar grades as an undergraduate and did not have the work background of a typical executive MBA applicant. I was also extremely hesitant on hiring a consultant. Would they really provide any value?

Bill quickly displaced all of my concerns. It was clear from our first conversation that he knew what he was doing and his easy-going manner would be a great fit for me. He helped me discover and express the strengths that I did possess. He provided great advice on how to approach the differing essays and was extremely patient throughout the process. Most importantly, I always sensed he believed in me.

The interview prep was spot on. Bill anticipated the questions I’d be asked and had me thoroughly prepared.

The entire experience was fantastic. I ultimately only applied to Kellogg and was accepted. I am confident this would not have been the case without the encouragement and advice I received from Bill.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Add clarity to your application process
May 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 3, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Bill (SBC)
I had the pleasure of working with Bill Chionis (@SBC).
After my initial consultation with him I could connect with him well and felt very comfortable working with him through out the process.
He clarified the overall strategy and helped me focus on my key strengths. Bill was awesome with essay feedbacks/edits. Always responded with in a day or two.

Although I did not make it to the school of my choice I still got an admit for the second option.

Overall I would highly recommend Bill (or SBC) to any one considering a consultant for taking the stress out of the whole process and to keep you focused and provide clarity in each step.

Thanks Bill for your support and it was fun to work with you!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.