Brian Galvin's Instructor Reviews
Number of reviews [9]
Veritas Online Prep
August 26 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By WaterFlowsUp joined: June 4, 2013 | 339 | 167 |
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Brian Galvin
Hi ,

I enrolled myself for Veritas prep nline course almost an year back. The web interface is hihly organized and the problem sets are available both on the internet and in printed form. The skill builder lessons build up the base in short span of time. The Quants portion is very detailed and very thorough. There are few trap questions that will open your eyes and teach you what to expect from the test makers.
Verbal course is a equally appreciable. Each and every topic of SC has been covered with a detailed insight on the rules.
RC is extremely good. Their techniques are sound and flaw-proof.
CR is could have been better. They userd lot of LSAT question and i don't prefer that idea of theirs. i would say CR could have been better.

The bouqet of goodness continues with 10 CATs and few other added benefits.
Overall the course is totally worth the money. This course along with official guides can guide any1 to 700+ score.

Thanks
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Course, Good Teacher
March 18 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By johnck222 joined: March 18, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 160 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Los Angeles, USA | Taught by:  Brian Galvin
The course was amazingly helpful, especially with all the additional support the Veritas company provides. The text books provide great insight to compliment the class lessons. The online open class hours are a great way to get additional help on specific problems. The class follows a very logical course which makes it easy to understand principles and to study. All the practice tests provided many opportunities to test the skills I had gained as the course went along. It was a great experience, and every week I saw my test scores improve drastically. The ENTIRE Veritas team is genuinely helpful and wants you to succeed. All of the resources are available for 1 year after taking the course, which allows for extra studying after the course ends.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Excellent Course
February 17 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By s4sehgal joined: February 17, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Brian Galvin
Repairing for the GMAT exam, I was lost where to start until I was pointed to Veritas preparation through google search. Although I am from technical background, but was totally rusty with high school maths skills . On top of that, the verbal section made no sense to me when I looked up official GMAT study guide.

Luckily surfing internet on how to prepare for GMAT in a short time, I ended up on Veritas GMAT introduction class. From the very first sentence Brian (the course instructor) made a lot of sense behind the GMAT methodology and how to approach the test logically.

After going through the Veritas on demand course, I can recommend it to anybody who has limited time and resources to prepare for the test. The course content is excellent. It is divided between Quantitative, Verbal, Analytical and Integrated as expected on real test. Each section is sub divided into major components and is complemented with skill builder sections, reviews and section quiz. Most importantly, I really admire the way Veritas instructors explains the logic behind the questions and aid with useful tips to approach the questions strategically and in timely manner.

All in all, I am one satisfied client and am sure there are thousands other like me. One useful tip though: Make sure you practise the GMAT simulated exams before appearing in real one. I lacked this component but will do better on my next try.


Good Luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

A Fantastic Product
February 06 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 6, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 40 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Brian Galvin
Veritas Prep's on demand product helped me significantly increase my score in the GMAT. The lead instructor, Brian Galvin, did a fantastic job of helping me build my skills in all areas. However, Brian Galvin's biggest contribution is the depth of knowledge he imparts on test-taking strategies. As a seasoned veteran of the GMAT, Brian helped me develop strategies that enabled me to look at every GMAT problem, no matter the level of difficulty, and swiftly attack it. Brian helps students get over the "intimidation hump" on GMAT problems. Initially, I would freeze up when I saw very tough problems. However, after taking the course, I developed an approach to getting started on problems that I really did not know how to solve. Brian taught me to dive into what I did know about a problem, and then build from there.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Veritas Review
January 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 7, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Brian Galvin
The course had a lot of practice problems but not enough tactics or tips in the book to help you save time. I learned how to do the problems in class and still needed to figure out quick methods to solve the problems under 2 minutes. I found such helpful hints online or in different books that I used to study such as Kaplan and Princeton Review. I scored about 150 points higher on ALL the practice exams than on the real exam. So I might have to retake the course or get my money back (at least they offer this option)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

An Excellent Course! Big Picture Context plus the Specifics to Success
January 04 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Brian Galvin
The GMAT is it's own world.

Having used other prep companies and materials, I still was missing the point. Veritas Prep gave me the context I needed in order to put the GMAT in its place. The clarity of thinking the on demand teacher showcases is very impressive and more important useful.

Just below the the general thinking, lurks the dreaded specifics... This course made what can be overwhelming manageable but again more importantly holistic and totality of the material was not lost.

GMAT prep is a mature industry and it's hard to see innovation where things appear to look the same. But I can tell you that Veritas Prep go to work everyday thinking how they can do their work better and in turn make our scores higher.

All this coupled with a winning company approach learning by doing makes me give this course nothing but the highest marks.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Helped me score a 760
December 11 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 15, 2013 | 8 | 5 |
Improvement: 120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Brian Galvin
My experience with Veritas' on demand course was extremely positive. I ended up scoring a 760 (V-44, Q-49, AWA-5.5) on the actual exam - a 120 point improvement from my initial diagnostic practice test!

I found that the question types, difficulty, and scores-predicting on the new Veritas practice tests to be virtually identical to what I encountered on test day.

One minor complaint I have is that the pre-recorded on demand lessons did not really provide any addition information/content from what is in the book lessons, so I personally did not end up watching all the videos, because it was much quicker and easier for me to just work through the lesson in my book on my own.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

veritas prep on demand.
December 05 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By prateekbhatt joined: June 28, 2011 | 894 | 155 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Brian Galvin
I have completed veritas prep on demand and i am really impressed by this course.

Things that i liked about this course...

1- True track- Its a place where you can ask doubts and get reply from the instructors, i have posted a lot of silly doubts and got reply each time.

2- Course structure- Like the way they have mixed and matched quant and verbal, this way no section can become rusty.

3- Home work- I am a fan of veritas home work sectin questions, they are really close to official questions

4- 1 AWA section is graded for free.

5- Brian is a genius, i really admire the way he teaches.

6- Mocks- 15 mocks(10 veritas+ 5 800score.com) you dont need any other mock, they are deadly accurate.

7- High quality videos.

8- Comfort of studying at your own pace.

Overall full on value for money course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Top Notch Course
May 23 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By draysh joined: April 3, 2012 | 0 | | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Weekend Course | Location:  Gardena, USA | Taught by:  Brian Galvin
I signed up for a weekend class with Veritas with the thought that I only needed something to force me to get me started with my studying. Long story short, I was very wrong. Veritas helped me see that there is so much more to doing well on the test than simply practice and some conceptual knowledge. I was fairing somewhat decently with GMAT practice questions prior to the course but I was not confident that I was at that desired 700 level ability, and the explanations in the practice book I had purchased (ahem, Princeton Review) were just not cutting it.

In regard to the class itself, I can say nothing but good things. The four 9-hour day weekend course was quick but highly informative. It did take a little mental stamina to keep focused for that much time at once, but it was definitely rewarding. Brian, the instructor, was a real pro and it was easy to see that he really cared about the quality and usefulness of the class. The materials he passed out were very structured and succinct. Everything he went over had a purpose, so you really get value in the time you invest. Most importantly, the course doesn't just serve as a quick fix for lack of self-study as I had originally thought. Rather, it re-teaches you how to approach the exam by helping you be more efficient and think in a manner that avoids all the pitfalls the GMAT likes to throw at you. I have taken several practice exams already and am consistently scoring in the 700 range. I know that Veritas played a huge part in that.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.