David Newland

GMAT Instructor


    
Number of reviews [16]


Company: Veritas Prep
Packages: Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online   Veritas Prep Private Tutoring   Veritas Prep Full Course  
Locations: Online   Boston (Fin District), MA   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY  

David has been teaching and tutoring as a part of the Veritas Prep team since 2006. He loves to find the most efficient way to do things - especially GMAT problems! This undoubtedly helped him to score above the 99th percentile on both the GMAT and the LSAT. After graduating from the University of Michigan Law School with his Juris Doctorate, David worked for the National Park Service living on a wilderness island and writing environmental compliance documents. 


Now living in Vermont and working in Boston, David teaches and tutors the GMAT and the LSAT full-time. David is a true GMAT expert, having taught dozens of GMAT courses and written extensively on the subject. His techniques have helped hundreds of students maximize their scores, and were instrumental in the creation of Veritas Prep’s Essentials Course curriculum. David was named Worldwide GMAT Instructor of the Year in 2008.

David Newland's Reviews
Worth Every Penny!
December 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Kamyar1127 joined: December 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  David Newland
I just completed the Veritas Full Course Live Online Course with David Newland. He did an excellent job at explaining the material in the books provided by Veritas Prep. Each book did a great job at covering all aspects of the subject at hand, for example Algebra, Geometry, Word Problems, and Reading Comprehension. Classes consisted of reviewing major core skills, going over Veritas lessons, and even practicing problems. From sentence correction to coordinate geometry, David was able to teach and review topics in a way that was easy to understand and fun to practice. Job well done. Thanks a lot David!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Course
September 01 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By jsritenour joined: July 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  David Newland
Thought the course was great and have recommended it to friends. I didn't take a practice GMAT until about six weeks in, so I have no idea where I would have tested without the course, but I ended up scoring a 750 on the actual exam. No way I could have done that without Veritas Prep.

The classes were truly enjoyable, David was very entertaining and for the most part kept everyone moving along. The skillbuider sections in the beginning of the lesson books really helped with this as well, as it allowed everyone to have a basic level of knowledge on the subject. This prevented us from wasting too much class time going over the real simple stuff.

David has obviously been teaching the GMAT for a long time and knows what mistakes and traps everyone falls for. It was great learning from his experience.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Veritas Prep is a Must!!
March 05 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By ookpala joined: March 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  David Newland
I previously took the GMAT after taking the cheapest online review course that I could find. I can honestly say that I didn’t know what I was doing when I initially sat for it. Veritas Prep was a great investment. The online course was very interactive and our instructor, David Newland, was entertaining. His teaching style was very easy to comprehend, and he really prepared me for the exam. I just finished the course a few days ago and I am currently preparing to take the exam in two weeks. I know I will get a decent score thanks to this awesome teacher.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Excellent, thorough course for all levels
March 04 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By fielder89 joined: March 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  David Newland
I really enjoyed David's Live Online course. David did an excellent job of sticking to the lesson plans, and made sure that each class as productive for all. David was keen to feedback and questions, and was able to adjust the delivery and explanations to problems as they arose.

David's instruction, combined with the content on Veritas website and in the lesson books have provided a well-grounded and thorough foundation for every component of the exam. When I complete the Skillbuilders before class, I felt prepared to attack the material presented, and find success on the homework.

I have yet to take the exam, but I feel much more prepared now than I did prior to the Live Online course. I'd highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great GMAT prep course!
January 21 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 2, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  David Newland
Veritas Prep is a great GMAT prep course! I took the online class and enjoyed being able to take the course from wherever I was located. The instructor was fantastic and used his experience from taking the GMAT in the class and offered additional help that wasn't in the study prep materials. The materials they provide are extremely helpful but it was all the extra material you receive that makes it so much better. I'm re-taking the GMAT and really needed Veritas to help increase my score and improve my GMAT test taking strategy. So thank you Veritas for all the help and tips/strategies.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

a good course
December 09 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 25, 2012 | 1 | 5 |
Improvement: -70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  David Newland
In general Veritas is a good course but I have attended 3 gmat courses and I can say that there is better ones in the market. My online course teacher is very friendly but the online course follows the book content one to one so it is not necessary. If you want to take advantage of Veritas I suggest taking on-demand lesson. It gives you everything you can take from online lesson plus in a much more good harmony. Veritas is a leader course in this area but it is for more basic concepts and if you target 600s. I thank all the Veritas family for putting effort on me and afterwards giving me some admission help.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Yey Veritas!!
September 19 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By kelly77 joined: September 19, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  David Newland
I had previously taken a GMAT course with Kaplan, yet I felt like even though they provided tools and information it was still so impersonal and generalized, I also felt overwhelmed with all their resources and not having direction on how to approach them or even where to start. I decided to start my GMAT studies again but this time I was advised to use Veitas. After doing some research on this company I decided to give it a try. I enrolled to the full course Live online with teacher David Newland. From the start David was engaging, funny, and approachable, I love the way he gave us his own solving strategies along with the book strategies, he also provided us with his own written articles on various subjects of the GMAt test. I can say that, thanks to David, I was really excited to start and continue my preparation since his classes never felt like he was just reading and teaching from the book. I also loved the way the books were written, most times I felt that the language and the approach they used were very personalized, as if I had actually gotten a written personal tip from someone who took the GMAT, the book speaks to you and feels like it is a concerned friend giving you a good tip. I really loved that since I felt the Kaplan books were standardized. All in all, this online course was very different from what I had experienced and their online tools are superb, such as homework check up and solution explanation. The skillbuilder is really helpful, and the fact that you have access for 1 year is probably one of the best things. I concluded my class and I will be going back to review the course at my own pace. I’m really glad I decided to go with Veritas because it is personalized and honest when it comes to GMAT facts, yet it does not bore you with their standardized language. They keep it personalized by integrating familiar language and examples.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great course! Be prepared to take the time to make the most of it...
June 25 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 23, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  David Newland
Overall, I am very happy with the the Veritas Prep online course. The course helped me with the Quant section, especially, since there are more concrete applications/ learning tools for Quant than for the Verbal section.

There are a ton of valuable resources, ranging from the live courses to the numerous homework problems, 12 in-depth books, quizzes for each topic, practice tests, videos of previous courses, David Newland's website with great articles (DVGCC.com) etc. It's great having explanations for all questions, both in practice problems and practice tests, so that anyone can really learn from mistakes.

My score went up by more than 100 points when I took the official GMAT post-course. I believe I could improve the score even more if I choose to take it again, but my score is within range of what I was hoping for. It's important that whoever chooses to take this course is ready to put in the time to take advantage of all these resources (just attending the classes will not magically improve your score). The more time you give yourself to study (12 weeks seems ideal; the 6 weeks I had were crunched), the more you can pace your studies without having to detract from other things in life. I have no idea how the Veritas course compares to other programs out there, but I do recommend the Veritas prep course for anyone willing to put in the time (and financial investment) to improve one's score.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Awesome Product
February 13 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By taylormagrath joined: February 13, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  New York (Midtown Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  David Newland
Veritas was excellent at helping me prepare for the GMAT. I found myself very easily internalizing the strategies the instructors taught and applying them on the test itself. It got to the point that I would analyze the questions and answers in the same style (and, occasionally, the same voice) as my instructors. The Veritas books are exceptionally good at distilling down the core concepts, and providing plenty of practice material to become a true master of each style of question. The instructors are also incredibly personable and make a point of making themselves available as resources both during the course and after.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Pretty Great, Not Fantastic
January 09 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 9, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  David Newland
The course goes over a lot of great tips to decode many of the GMAT tricks. It's also a great way to review everything that will be covered and give a well-rounded approach. The instructor David was great at keeping the class engaged. The problem is that with 3 hour lesson, probably about 2 hours is actual learning. With "dumb" questions from other students and random stories, I felt like time was wasted. Devoting 6 hours a week after work, plus all the homework and skillbuilder lessons was extremely time consuming. If an hour could have been cut out, it would have been great.

I found myself missing the regularly scheduled classes just so I could watch later and fast forward through the chatting and over-explaining. That being said, I would highly recommend my instructor. He was extremely knowledgeable and highly motivating.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.