David Newland

GMAT Instructor


    
Number of reviews [24]


Company: Veritas Prep
Packages: Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online   Veritas Prep Private Tutoring   Veritas Prep Full Course  
Locations: Online   Boston (Fin District), MA   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY   Hong Kong  

David has been teaching and tutoring as a part of the Veritas Prep team since 2006. He loves to find the most efficient way to do things - especially GMAT problems! This undoubtedly helped him to score above the 99th percentile on both the GMAT and the LSAT. After graduating from the University of Michigan Law School with his Juris Doctorate, David worked for the National Park Service living on a wilderness island and writing environmental compliance documents. 


Now living in Vermont and working in Boston, David teaches and tutors the GMAT and the LSAT full-time. David is a true GMAT expert, having taught dozens of GMAT courses and written extensively on the subject. His techniques have helped hundreds of students maximize their scores, and were instrumental in the creation of Veritas Prep’s Essentials Course curriculum. David was named Worldwide GMAT Instructor of the Year in 2008.

David Newland's Reviews
Not great
August 17 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By hartnavy joined: July 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  David Newland
I felt that the time was not used well. Some sessions were more valuable than others, but we very rarely got through all of the material. There was a lot of time spent with introductions and logistics with getting a video feed and asking questions. I think that I would have gotten just as much out of a recorded lesson. The instructor was not receptive in email contact. The first time I reached out it took a week to get a response and the second time I did not receive a response at all. Money is better spent in other programs.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Best Tutor, Best Course!
May 08 | 2015

       By wyhandrea joined: May 8, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  Hong Kong | Taught by:  David Newland
I had online lessons (approx. 1.5 hours each session, twice a week) with David Newland, via Veritas Prep Private GMAT Tutoring Online, over a period of four months. I was hovering around 690-710 in my practice tests, and ended up scoring a 730 on test day.

The course was very convenient and flexible, and David was always accommodating in scheduling lessons. Before I signed up, I was hesitant about online classes, and the concept of having a faceless tutor. However, it turned out to be the best arrangement possible since I could have my lessons at night, in my PJs, in the comfort of my own room.

David Newland is an absolutely amazing tutor. He manages to make lessons fun, and I can't believe I'm admitting this, but I actually looked forward to each of our lessons together. David was with me every step of the way--he even gave me a pep talk the night before test day, and was answering all my panicky last minute questions via email up till the moment I walked into the test center.

I couldn't have achieved my 730 without David Newland, and the Veritas online prep course. Thank you again David!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Its all up to you
February 19 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By ladysilee3 joined: February 19, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  David Newland
This course is a lot of work! Not only do you have class but you also have pre class work and homework. All three take at least 3 hours each so prepare yourself to be busy. It is all extremely helpful. Nothing was a waste of time. I was nervous to do on online class but the instructor David Newland made everything much more enjoyable. At times you feel like you really are in the classroom with him. He is serious but will make you laugh and really tries to make sure you understand what he goes over. I would highly recommend him. Veritas will help your score as long as you do the work.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Veritas Prep Online Course -- You Get What You Pay For
February 12 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By Anonymous joined: July 12, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  David Newland
Veritas Prep, in general and in detail, has figured out the GMAT. Much like medical students in their first year work with cadavers in their education of the human body, Veritas Prep has sectioned out each part of the exam, dissected it, studied it's most integral parts and determined the best approaches and systematic principles to overcome hurdles to learning.

As a student, the confidence of the instructors is calming and paves the way to a relaxed learning environment. The energy and positive demeanor of my instructor (David Newland) kept each of the 12 3-hr sessions on target with a measured tempo. There were no luls in teaching. There was no looking at the clock to see when class would be over. If you want to learn, if you want to grow, then I highly recommend Veritas Prep and David Newland.

The material is dense, but so is the exam. There is no escaping that. However, David cuts through that with a sense of humility and nerdy humor combined with a solid respect for great movie comedies. When you need to get serious, it's time to get serious and dissect a problem and figure out why the answer was A or B, etc. But when you need to laugh it off, and at some point in the 36hours you will, it's nice to know that you can take a breather.

You get what you pay for and I must add that you get what you put into it. Show up to class prepared and you will breeze through the standard questions and give yourself a puncher's chance as you navigate high percentile level questions. The key, as David points out, is to learn from your mistakes.

I'd pay it all over again, but don't worry because Veritas Prep let's you repeat the course free of charge! Take Veritas Prep and enjoy making a positive and influential change in your life.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

An efficient way to study for the GMAT
February 12 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: February 12, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  David Newland
I was a bit apprehensive about spending money to study for the GMAT, but I'm glad I did! Taking the course, especially online, was super-efficient for my full-time work schedule. They really help you to focus your attention on the areas that are tested and the areas that you need to brush up on. I improved my practice scores by over 100 points from pre-course to post-course. David Newland was a really great instructor. He kept things light, but more importantly, he really helped me to think about the test in a way so that I feel more confident and even a little bit excited about studying and taking the test. I'm so glad that I took the class! It's definitely worth the cost and the time!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great experience with Veritas Prep
February 12 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: February 12, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  David Newland
I recently completed the Live Online course with Dave as my instructor and Chris Speck as my TA. As a college senior, I'm only a few years out from high school math and though that this would be a great time to knock out the GMAT. Taking this course helped me stay on task and keep up with the work. I had a built in schedule, an arranged date I couldn't cancel on. I feel that the course is valuable in that I learned lots of skills and strategies. I already was strong in quant and verbal heading into the course (scoring a 680 on my practice tests before taking the course) but Veritas has really helped me navigate the challenging questions. I've been able to understand what the test takers are truly asking and how to find the appropriate answer. Some of the other individuals in my class were at least 10 years out from college and I believe that the course was more valuable to them as a refresher on math skills. I needed it more for the strategy.

Great retake policy for Veritas - if you don't feel comfortable or ready for the exam, you can retake the course any time within the year. This is what separated Manhattan from Veritas for me.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

A simple course that sets you up for success.
January 12 | 2015

       By wcaboose joined: January 12, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  David Newland
I tried studying for the GMAT myself. I did horribly. In the first class alone, I saw HUGE things that I could do differently the next time I took the test. The teacher was simple and easy to understand, and the Veritas material is built so perfectly. I was able to rebuild math and grammar skills that I hadn't used in ages, and then assimilate what I'd learned into my preparations. The Veritas method is key - you learn to see the strategy behind the questions, instead of just the problem in front of you. Hands down, take this class.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Excellent Program
December 23 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By Anonymous joined: December 23, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  David Newland
Veritas Prep is a challenging, but excellent curriculum. It moves fast, so you have to keep pace. If you don't have a good foundation of quantitative or verbal skills you will struggle.

The practice questions online are great, and the computer adaptive practice exams that you receive with the course are an essential piece to improving your score.

When comparing I wondered if I should go for the live online class or just the on-demand version with pre-recorded classes. My advice is to go for the live version. The interaction with the instructor and moderator add a lot of value that you don't want to miss.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Worth Every Penny!
December 11 | 2014

       By Kamyar1127 joined: December 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  David Newland
I just completed the Veritas Full Course Live Online Course with David Newland. He did an excellent job at explaining the material in the books provided by Veritas Prep. Each book did a great job at covering all aspects of the subject at hand, for example Algebra, Geometry, Word Problems, and Reading Comprehension. Classes consisted of reviewing major core skills, going over Veritas lessons, and even practicing problems. From sentence correction to coordinate geometry, David was able to teach and review topics in a way that was easy to understand and fun to practice. Job well done. Thanks a lot David!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Course
September 01 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
       By jsritenour joined: July 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  David Newland
Thought the course was great and have recommended it to friends. I didn't take a practice GMAT until about six weeks in, so I have no idea where I would have tested without the course, but I ended up scoring a 750 on the actual exam. No way I could have done that without Veritas Prep.

The classes were truly enjoyable, David was very entertaining and for the most part kept everyone moving along. The skillbuider sections in the beginning of the lesson books really helped with this as well, as it allowed everyone to have a basic level of knowledge on the subject. This prevented us from wasting too much class time going over the real simple stuff.

David has obviously been teaching the GMAT for a long time and knows what mistakes and traps everyone falls for. It was great learning from his experience.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.