Jonathan Schneider's Instructor Reviews
Number of reviews [14]
Jon Schneider & Manhattan GMAT: A+!
March 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Shoot2Skor joined: March 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
Jon was a terrific instructor and the Manhattan GMAT platform was extremely helpful in my test preparation! The online, time practice tests are a great resource to get as many reps as you need.

Consider pros/cons of small/large classes. Popular class times are good, but large classes can move slowly due to student questions of varying levels.

Overall, it was a terrific experience. Very nurturing environment and Jon gave terrific guidance along the way. I missed several classes and was able to make them up at other times at my convenience. Finally, the set of preparation books were comprehensive and, together with the course syllabus, provided a structured test preparation schedule.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Course, Great Teacher!
August 19 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By jdilman joined: March 12, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I thought the course was awesome. The books were great, even if you don't remember anything from high school. The roadmap book also gives a ton of great general advice for the whole prep process. The web site had a ton of great tools besides just practice tests and anytime I had a question about a specific resource, I called the office, and it seemed like there was always someone there to help.

I think it's definitely important to do a lot of the recommended readings if you want to get the most out of the class. I found that the people I spoke to who didn't do the homework were more likely to seem a bit lost or confused. But, if you walk in prepared, you know what your weaknesses are and how you want to improve, you can ask better questions.

I must say that our teacher, Jonathan Schneider, was the best. He always explained everything very clearly and made it all easy to understand. He was even extremely helpful and patient outside of the classroom. Obviously you can't expect the teachers to be able to go over specific questions in their free time, but I must have emailed him at least 15 different general study questions and he always answered in a friendly manner within about 24 hours. I kept thinking, "How am I not annoying him yet?"

I took the test about a month after the class and didn't do as well as I'd like to have. I felt like I had an off day and definitely could've prepared better considering I'd been pretty busy at work. I signed up to take the test again in another month and emailed my teacher for a few more tips along the way. He really advised me through the whole process. On attempt 2, I did 50 points better than the first time and 10 points better than my best practice test. All in all I was very happy with my 730 and glad I didn't have to study any more. so yeah, I thought the course was worth it.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Manhattan GMAT was a great prep experience!
August 18 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By cgiugale joined: August 18, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
My score improved 80 points with Manhattan GMAT! My instructor, Jonathan Schneider, was clear and thoughtful during every instruction. He spent extra time before, during, and after class helping me with specific questions I had and was always able to give me concrete, actionable take-aways so that what I learned for one problem I was able to easily apply to other problems. I never felt like I was wasting time during class. Jonathan struck the perfect balance between allowing us enough time to figure out problems on our own, giving us direct instruction and tips, and providing us with multiple ways to think about a problem. In this way concepts were always sticky and problems were memorable. The class gave me the necessary tools and strategies to study efficiently and effectively on my own. The homework was organized, purposeful, and manageable. The online explanations and extra resources were also great. I highly and unreservedly recommend this course and instructor!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Manhattan GMAT is Phenomenal!!!!
August 12 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 12, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
The GMAT was the one thing that was hanging over my head and I had a limited amount of time to study and get it over with in time for first round application due dates which are all approaching in the next 2 months. On top of that, I've never been a fan of standardized tests. I'm not a natural test-taker, and I'm one of those people who has to prepare/study a lot for these things.

I moved to New York on May 4th and then started the course on May 6th. I ended up having to travel a lot in June for work, so I missed 2 classes. I spent all of June trying to catch up/stay on track with the coursework. Balancing work, travel, and preparing for the GMAT was rough, but Manhattan GMAT really makes things easier - specifically because of their high quality content, strategy guides, and instructors.

Manhattan GMAT sets its self apart:

1) Strong quantitative preparation - strategy guides are extensive and detailed.

2) Very thorough verbal - strategy guides re-teach grammar that I don't ever remember learning - very very helpful.

2) Foundations of Math and Verbal books: although it was a pain to start from the very beginning and go through these textbook-like guides, this was a really important part of my preparation. These guides were essential in my journey to a achieving a high score.

3) The course keeps you on track - the teachers are very engaging. Jonathan Schneider is an especially gifted instructor. He has great study techniques that he shared with us in the end. He also has a knack for articulating strategies for both math and verbal - he is an extremely talented and smart teacher who really takes a strong interest in his students. He makes the possibility of a high GMAT score very achievable for everyone who is willing to put in the study hours and work.

4) In my opinion, if you can get through the whole syllabus, and stay intellectually honest with yourself in terms of really reading all the strategy guides/doing the problem sets/practicing/completing practice tests etc - I think Manhattan GMAT over prepares you for the test!

5) The online CAT exams were crucial. Manhattan GMAT really recreates the test experience. They also provide post-practice test metrics and stats that help you figure out where to focus your preparation. You can evaluate your strengths and weak areas in a clear and efficient way. The tests are hard, and really push you to work hard to surpass your previous scores! Between my first couple practice tests and the actual test, I improved my score by 140 points (which I truly thought was impossible before).

With Manhattan GMAT's help, I was able to score in the 99th percentile range for verbal - which greatly boosted my score. I am above a 700 - which is what I originally set out to achieve.

I COULD NOT HAVE DONE THIS WITHOUT MANHATTAN GMAT.

Enough said.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Manhattan GMAT - Fantastic Course & Instructor!
April 10 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By apagoulatos joined: April 10, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
The best thing I did in preparing for the GMAT was to take the Manhattan GMAT 9 week prep course. The curriculum was outstanding and paced all of the material well. The strategies and tactics outlined by the study guides, class exercises and instructor were extremely helpful.

Jonathan Schneider was my instructor. Jonathan was not only knowledgeable about all of the topics but also taught them in such a way that made the concepts and theories easy to grasp. When a certain concept was not clicking for a student, Jonathan was able to creatively present the material in a different way to ensure the student grasped the concept. Jonathan was also extremely personable and approachable. Furthermore, Jonathan's teaching style is such that he not only is able to teach the material well, but teaches his students how to best continue to study after the completion of the course. In my opinion, it is that skill that will ultimately determine a student's success on the GMAT. I could not have scored my goal score without Jonathan's instruction. I would highly recommend him as an instructor!

Take the class! You won't regret it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

MGMAT Review
February 07 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By mquinn18 joined: February 7, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
Prior to taking the GMAT I was unsure if I should sign up for a course to help me prepare, thinking that I would be able to do well just by studying on my own. After hearing the opinions of some of my friends, however, it became clear that the best course of action would be to enroll in a prep course and that Manhattan GMAT was the most highly recommended.

After taking the 9-week course I cannot agree enough. The course helps you prepare for all sections of the test and every possible topic you could see. This was helpful, but the biggest thing for me was that the course provides you with a syllabus that outlines a study plan for you, telling you where to find certain problems in the books and which topics to study when. This, along with the great instructor and course plan, was a huge contributor to getting a 700+ score.

After taking the course I will definitely recommend it to anyone who plans on taking the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Excellent instructor and materials - highly recommend Manhattan GMAT
February 05 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By rsears1983 joined: February 5, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 160 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
I would highly recommend Manhattan GMAT because of the high quality instruction and materials.

I took the 9-week Manhattan GMAT in-person class in Manhattan, and my instructor was Jonathan Schneider. I was extremely impressed by Jonathan as an instructor, and I would recommend Manhattan GMAT because I would advise other students to take his class. Jonathan was enjoyable and engaging in class, and he clearly had a mastery of the material and cared about student success. I felt extremely lucky that I had such an effective teacher, and even though Manhattan GMAT came well reviewed, Jonathan exceeded my expectations as a teacher. Jonathan was responsive via email, was willing to meet with students before and after class, and even let me tag along with him during his lunch break right before my test to talk me through a difficult subject matter I had missed in class.

The materials were also excellent. It had been 10 full years since I had done any serious math, and my quant score increased by 20 percentiles.

My only complaint is admittedly selfish - I wish we could have spent even more time on the quantitative section. I walked in significantly stronger on the verbal section, however, the techniques taught in the class helped me a great deal even with the verbal section. I got a 700 overall score on the test, but that was largely on my verbal skills being even better than my math skills. I was glad that my verbal score increased significantly as well, but I wish there could be even more of the math materials taught in the class. That said, the course was excellent, and I was very satisfied with my experience.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Fantastic Experience
November 15 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By llapin joined: November 15, 2012 | 13 | 3 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I decided to enroll in Manhattan GMAT after reading positive online reviews when I was doing course research, and I'm so glad I did. The instructors are dynamic, approachable, and somehow manage to make GMAT material interesting. You can tell that they have a real passion for the subject matter, which helps to inspire enthusiasm among the students even when they're fighting feelings of stress and discouragement.

I also appreciate how easy the process of taking make-up classes was, because it's very unlikely that someone can attend the same 3-hour class 9 weeks in a row without having some sort of conflict.

I definitely recommend MGMAT to anyone willing to put in the time and effort to stay on top of the material.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Excellent course for serious GMAT aspirants
September 20 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By tprakash joined: September 11, 2012 | 0 | | non-native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I took my diagnostic in June and scored a 600. I was ambitious about a good score, and I had to do it in about 2 months amidst a very heavy workload. I needed a good coach and that's when I enrolled in the Manhattan GMAT 9 session course.

First of all, this is a very detailed and demanding course. From the first look at its curriculum it was pretty clear to me that this company knew the art and science of turning a novice into a master on this exam. The material is exhaustive and intuitive - it really captures the naunces of the varied thought processes that different people follow while solving a problem, and then tells you how to hone your unique way of thinking. I found that particularly helpful as most people have a particular style of doing things, and some approaches resonate with that style while some don’t.

The classroom course does not take the traditional theory-to-questions approach. Mind it that you would be expected to do the formal studying yourself. The classroom sessions explore the theoretical aspects of the course mainly through carefully chosen questions that well-exemplify the concepts involved.
Personally, I liked this approach as concepts are presented and learned un-detached from the contexts and situations where they'll be applied to, and are thus easier to remember.

The course is ultimately about honing your intuitions to razor-sharpness and set you up with a viable plan on how you're going to attempt your exam. The best thing - there's always a plenty of help available around for whatever you might need it.

My instructor was not only a master of the subject but also very involved with my success. He gave me some very good advice with some unique problems that was keeping my score low in the exam while I was coming out with flying colours while attempting practice problems. I finally took the exam on 8th of September and scored a 730.

I would highly recommended score for anyone seeking to score a 700+. And lastly, there's a lot of free stuff that'll come along with the any course - classroom or self study. They conduct a lot of free sessions, not just on GMAT but the whole application process. It's expensive, but totally worth the money!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

I took Mgmat and veritas and I recommend Manhattan wholeheartedly
July 30 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 30, 2012 | 0 | | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
If you're on the fence about taking a course, here are a few reasons why I would take the Mgmat course:

1. Manhattan GMAT's course offers you a comprehensive review of all topics on the test so you know you've seen a little bit of everything and are covering your bases.

2. Even if you're good at self study, the course is worth it. I am the type of person that sets aside time, but taking the course really helped me focus three solid hours at a faster pace that I normally would by myself. The class pushes you and offers you an insight into how other students analyze a problem. This helps you learn multiple techniques to solve the problems faster.

3. Mgmat teachers are incredible. Jonathan Schneider was my instructor and he was great at explaining problems in various ways and telling us which ones to prioritize since they came up less frequently on the GMAT. He takes the GMAT various times throughout the year so can also comment on variations on the problem that he has seen. Importantly, I emailed him several times after the course was done and he sent me long emails with tips around how to work on my timing and study strategy. He also reviewed my practice exam results and told me what topics to focus on and which ones not to work on any longer. This extra support is valuable and what you pay for. Also, Jonathan was great because he was able to insert a lot of humor and connect GMAT problems with real world problems which really helped me remember the content.

4. If you already took the course once, taking it again only costs $300. Do it. I took the course twice (first time was two years ago so I needed a refresher) and got a lot out of the second time. Its the same material, but with a deeper understanding of the test, you can really master the basic material.

5. If I had to compare Mgmat to Vertas, I think the material is largely the same, but in my situation, I found that the GMAT instructor was more comprehensive, used the time more wisely, and was more entertaining. With Vertias, I felt as though there were some topics that weren't covered and that we sometimes spent too much time on solving practice problems instead of teaching important content. A good mix of both is what I was looking for.

Overall, I achieved a 710, 44 V / 44Q / 6 AWA and my first practice test score after taking the course was probably closer to a 600.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.