Jonathan Schneider


    
Number of reviews [19]


Company: Manhattan GMAT
Packages: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course  
Locations: New York (Lower Manhattan), NY   New York (Manhattan), NY   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY  
Jonathan Schneider's Reviews
Worth It
October 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
I took Manhattan GMAT because I'd heard primarily through word of mouth that it is the best GMAT course out there, and I was definitely satisfied with both the course and my resulting GMAT score (740). The course was laid out very well, and I felt like I always knew exactly how and what to study. There was more material to work with and study than I could process, which I thought was a good thing. I was fortunate enough to achieve my target score on my first attempt, and I honestly do not think I would have been able to do that without the structure and the materials that came along with the Manhattan GMAT Course. Also, Jonathan was a great instructor. He was very insightful and had an answer to every question asked throughout the 9 week course. Most importantly, he was very engaging and approachable. I would definitely recommend this course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Course to Add Structure to Studying
October 13 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
I decided to take the GMAT pretty late in the game, so I figured I needed a course to keep my attention focused. Manhattan was highly recommended and I have to agree.

I started at a 590 on my first practice, I and got a 700 on my first real exam. The key for me was just diving into the types of problems I was missing and learning everything I could about those topics in particular. This is generally how we were taught to study.

I wish I had done a better job of keeping up with the homework and structure set by the course, as I think it definitely helps to learn the same things at home as in class


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Highly Recommend the Course
October 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
Manhattan GMAT is the company to sign up with if you're aiming for a 700+ score. I signed up for the in-person class option and had Jonathan as an instructor (who I would highly recommend). The course does a fantastic job keeping you on pace and provides many insightful pointers to help maximize your likelihood of success on test day (many of which you won't find using just the books). Jonathan in particular did a great job helping keep the class engaged with what most would consider pretty dry subject matter. The practice tests are also extremely helpful given the structure of the test will be new for most. I definitely felt like it was worth the cost and that it had a positive impact on my score (scored 740).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Jonathan Schneider is the best GMAT instructor you can have
October 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 9, 2014 | 2 | 6 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 160 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I took the 9-week class on Wednesday nights which Jonathan Schneider taught. The entire class felt like they clicked with him right away. He is the kind of instructor who gets it. He doesn't go too slow or too fast. He just teaches at a perfect pace.

In my study group of 3, we started with 550-600 in our diagnostic test. Throughout the class, we all made progress and got around 650. All three of us kept getting 630-670 until the end of the class.

Jonathan recommended we took our tests 3-4 weeks after the end of the class, which we did. As expected, we got 660-680. Unsatisfied with those scores, we kept working, and signed up for the test a month later. All three of us had full-time jobs so that was a big commitment. We sent our breakdown and practice test assessments to Jonathan who gave each of us a detailed path to success. I believe this is really where he added a ton of value. He specifically told us what to work on and what not to work on. This made our lives a lot easier. A week later, 2 of us got our first 700+ on a practice, the third one got a 690.

We kept going, refining our weak spots, and finally took our tests 7-8 weeks after the end of the class. We got 710, 720 and 730 respectively, which we were happy with.

The takeaway is Jonathan is an extremely competent in-class instructor who spends time answering questions after hours (almost 24/7) and will be as good as it gets in class. But most importantly, he will spend the time to sit down and reflect on a study plan and give you a detailed strategy as to what you need to tackle to get a great score.

The three of us took the test twice, but we all felt like we would have gotten an even better score had we taken it a third time. It was just a matter of time until we got a 750+.

Jonathan set us up so we would succeed slowly but surely. We didn’t see it for weeks (and some nights we felt pretty desperate) but in the end it all worked out, and this is all thanks to him. Then again, it happened to the three of us, and the only two things we had in common were busy lives and Jonathan Schneider. It’s no coincidence. Jonathan Schneider is the man.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Manhattan GMAT Review
July 14 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ericweiss17 joined: July 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
I enrolled in the 10 week evening prep course knowing that I would find it nearly impossible to dedicate the time required to do well on the GMAT without some kind of driving force. Manhattan GMAT was the perfect solution. Our teacher, Jonathan Schneider, was knowledgeable, approachable and incredibly engaging. The in-course syllabus set the groundwork for success, and the post-course practice delivered the results I needed. Overall, my score increased 120 points from the diagnostic

Manhattan GMAT properly stresses the most important and most difficult aspects of the exam without neglecting the "little things" than can mean the difference between a 690 and 700. The practice exams are also great, and, while harder than the actual test (in my opinion), allow you to get a feel for what test day will feel like


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Jon Schneider & Manhattan GMAT: A+!
March 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Shoot2Skor joined: March 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
Jon was a terrific instructor and the Manhattan GMAT platform was extremely helpful in my test preparation! The online, time practice tests are a great resource to get as many reps as you need.

Consider pros/cons of small/large classes. Popular class times are good, but large classes can move slowly due to student questions of varying levels.

Overall, it was a terrific experience. Very nurturing environment and Jon gave terrific guidance along the way. I missed several classes and was able to make them up at other times at my convenience. Finally, the set of preparation books were comprehensive and, together with the course syllabus, provided a structured test preparation schedule.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Course, Great Teacher!
August 19 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By jdilman joined: March 12, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I thought the course was awesome. The books were great, even if you don't remember anything from high school. The roadmap book also gives a ton of great general advice for the whole prep process. The web site had a ton of great tools besides just practice tests and anytime I had a question about a specific resource, I called the office, and it seemed like there was always someone there to help.

I think it's definitely important to do a lot of the recommended readings if you want to get the most out of the class. I found that the people I spoke to who didn't do the homework were more likely to seem a bit lost or confused. But, if you walk in prepared, you know what your weaknesses are and how you want to improve, you can ask better questions.

I must say that our teacher, Jonathan Schneider, was the best. He always explained everything very clearly and made it all easy to understand. He was even extremely helpful and patient outside of the classroom. Obviously you can't expect the teachers to be able to go over specific questions in their free time, but I must have emailed him at least 15 different general study questions and he always answered in a friendly manner within about 24 hours. I kept thinking, "How am I not annoying him yet?"

I took the test about a month after the class and didn't do as well as I'd like to have. I felt like I had an off day and definitely could've prepared better considering I'd been pretty busy at work. I signed up to take the test again in another month and emailed my teacher for a few more tips along the way. He really advised me through the whole process. On attempt 2, I did 50 points better than the first time and 10 points better than my best practice test. All in all I was very happy with my 730 and glad I didn't have to study any more. so yeah, I thought the course was worth it.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Manhattan GMAT was a great prep experience!
August 18 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By cgiugale joined: August 18, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
My score improved 80 points with Manhattan GMAT! My instructor, Jonathan Schneider, was clear and thoughtful during every instruction. He spent extra time before, during, and after class helping me with specific questions I had and was always able to give me concrete, actionable take-aways so that what I learned for one problem I was able to easily apply to other problems. I never felt like I was wasting time during class. Jonathan struck the perfect balance between allowing us enough time to figure out problems on our own, giving us direct instruction and tips, and providing us with multiple ways to think about a problem. In this way concepts were always sticky and problems were memorable. The class gave me the necessary tools and strategies to study efficiently and effectively on my own. The homework was organized, purposeful, and manageable. The online explanations and extra resources were also great. I highly and unreservedly recommend this course and instructor!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Manhattan GMAT is Phenomenal!!!!
August 12 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 12, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
The GMAT was the one thing that was hanging over my head and I had a limited amount of time to study and get it over with in time for first round application due dates which are all approaching in the next 2 months. On top of that, I've never been a fan of standardized tests. I'm not a natural test-taker, and I'm one of those people who has to prepare/study a lot for these things.

I moved to New York on May 4th and then started the course on May 6th. I ended up having to travel a lot in June for work, so I missed 2 classes. I spent all of June trying to catch up/stay on track with the coursework. Balancing work, travel, and preparing for the GMAT was rough, but Manhattan GMAT really makes things easier - specifically because of their high quality content, strategy guides, and instructors.

Manhattan GMAT sets its self apart:

1) Strong quantitative preparation - strategy guides are extensive and detailed.

2) Very thorough verbal - strategy guides re-teach grammar that I don't ever remember learning - very very helpful.

2) Foundations of Math and Verbal books: although it was a pain to start from the very beginning and go through these textbook-like guides, this was a really important part of my preparation. These guides were essential in my journey to a achieving a high score.

3) The course keeps you on track - the teachers are very engaging. Jonathan Schneider is an especially gifted instructor. He has great study techniques that he shared with us in the end. He also has a knack for articulating strategies for both math and verbal - he is an extremely talented and smart teacher who really takes a strong interest in his students. He makes the possibility of a high GMAT score very achievable for everyone who is willing to put in the study hours and work.

4) In my opinion, if you can get through the whole syllabus, and stay intellectually honest with yourself in terms of really reading all the strategy guides/doing the problem sets/practicing/completing practice tests etc - I think Manhattan GMAT over prepares you for the test!

5) The online CAT exams were crucial. Manhattan GMAT really recreates the test experience. They also provide post-practice test metrics and stats that help you figure out where to focus your preparation. You can evaluate your strengths and weak areas in a clear and efficient way. The tests are hard, and really push you to work hard to surpass your previous scores! Between my first couple practice tests and the actual test, I improved my score by 140 points (which I truly thought was impossible before).

With Manhattan GMAT's help, I was able to score in the 99th percentile range for verbal - which greatly boosted my score. I am above a 700 - which is what I originally set out to achieve.

I COULD NOT HAVE DONE THIS WITHOUT MANHATTAN GMAT.

Enough said.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Manhattan GMAT - Fantastic Course & Instructor!
April 10 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By apagoulatos joined: April 10, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
The best thing I did in preparing for the GMAT was to take the Manhattan GMAT 9 week prep course. The curriculum was outstanding and paced all of the material well. The strategies and tactics outlined by the study guides, class exercises and instructor were extremely helpful.

Jonathan Schneider was my instructor. Jonathan was not only knowledgeable about all of the topics but also taught them in such a way that made the concepts and theories easy to grasp. When a certain concept was not clicking for a student, Jonathan was able to creatively present the material in a different way to ensure the student grasped the concept. Jonathan was also extremely personable and approachable. Furthermore, Jonathan's teaching style is such that he not only is able to teach the material well, but teaches his students how to best continue to study after the completion of the course. In my opinion, it is that skill that will ultimately determine a student's success on the GMAT. I could not have scored my goal score without Jonathan's instruction. I would highly recommend him as an instructor!

Take the class! You won't regret it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.