Jonathan Schneider

Manager of Instructor Development


    
Number of reviews [22]


Company: Manhattan Prep GMAT
Packages: Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course  
Locations: New York (Lower Manhattan), NY   New York (Manhattan), NY   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY  
Jonathan has taught the ins and outs of the GMAT to over 1,000 MBA applicants. He regularly receives emails from students saying that they achieved a 700+ score and were admitted to their first-choice school.

Jonathan first took the GMAT in 2007, scoring a 780. He joined Manhattan Prep later that year. Since then, he has regularly taught both the 9-week class and the Boot Camp, tutored private students, written company curriculum (both Quant and Verbal), and generally been involved with every aspect of the company's work with students. In 2010, he began to train new Instructors, a role that allowed him to "teach the teacher." He now serves as the Manager of Instructor Development, screening Instructor candidates and training them to become the best possible classroom teachers. Jonathan came from a liberal arts background, earning honors for a creative writing thesis in Spanish at Amherst College, a thesis that he illustrated with his hand-pulled expressionist woodcuts. Jonathan aims to make his classes a laboratory for learning, where students learn not just the content of the GMAT but how to think critically about all aspects of the exam. As a student in Jonathan's class, expect to be both challenged and supported as you push yourself to think better, faster. Outside of his role at Manhattan Prep, Jonathan still maintains an art studio. His other loves include literature, baseball, and world travel. 

Jonathan Schneider's Reviews
Manhattan Prep is the way to go
July 27 | 2015

       By jchoudh joined: January 11, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
Jonathan Schneider is truly an amazing teacher. The 9-week 3-hour course helped me overcome so many of my fears of the GMAT. I took the GMAT once and received a 710 - quite a bump from my first practice score of 580.

Jonathan was always helpful in analyzing my strengths and weaknesses and in teaching the material. I loved how the class not only taught content but also frameworks/methodologies for thinking through the test.

From the class alone, my weaknesses in Data Sufficiency and Word Problems were very quickly strengthened. I ended up getting a 51 in Data Sufficiency (via the comprehensive score report) - which was much better than my expectations. In verbal, I was able to close the gap on my weaknesses in Sentence Correction through the class & follow on work.

This class in addition to the Manhattan Prep material is second to none. Jonathan has I highly recommended it to any serious GMAT taker
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Excellent Prep
March 11 | 2015

       By enjayyy joined: March 11, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
I completed the 9-course prep class and then studied independently for 3 months. I needed the prep course because as I am still in college I didn't exactly understand what the GMAT was testing. If you're someone who needs structure or needs a study partner, its highly recommendable to take the course, otherwise I 100% recommend purchasing the books. I know I wouldn't of scored a 700 on my GMAT without them. I recommend learning the ins and outs of every one of their workbooks including the foundations. After you thoroughly understand the concepts, go through the official GMAT review books testing yourself with time constraints and referencing the Manhattan GMAT review books while reviewing problems. Everyday make sure to allocate time to not only quant but all aspects of the verbal because the verbal is something where practice makes perfect since its not as conceptual. For quant make sure to recognize where you can use the Manhattan GMAT shortcuts because they will save you a lot of time on game day.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Manhattan GMAT Review
December 21 | 2014

       By Anonymous joined: December 21, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
Manhattan GMAT is excellent for those seeking a comprehensive course that will push your score to its full potential. My first practice test was disastrous. Manhattan GMAT's classes helped me to shake out all of the dusty old cobwebs known as jr. high math and implement strategic test taking techniques / easy tricks to earn extra points. As a result, my score improved over 200 points (760 on actual exam).

I knew I wanted to be in the over 700 club, an ambitious goal given my first practice test. My teacher was not only knowledgeable, but an encouraging. It takes an enormous amount of work, patience, and stamina, but with Manhattan GMAT's help it is definitely possible!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Worth It
October 13 | 2014

       By Anonymous joined: October 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
I took Manhattan GMAT because I'd heard primarily through word of mouth that it is the best GMAT course out there, and I was definitely satisfied with both the course and my resulting GMAT score (740). The course was laid out very well, and I felt like I always knew exactly how and what to study. There was more material to work with and study than I could process, which I thought was a good thing. I was fortunate enough to achieve my target score on my first attempt, and I honestly do not think I would have been able to do that without the structure and the materials that came along with the Manhattan GMAT Course. Also, Jonathan was a great instructor. He was very insightful and had an answer to every question asked throughout the 9 week course. Most importantly, he was very engaging and approachable. I would definitely recommend this course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Course to Add Structure to Studying
October 13 | 2014

       By Anonymous joined: October 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
I decided to take the GMAT pretty late in the game, so I figured I needed a course to keep my attention focused. Manhattan was highly recommended and I have to agree.

I started at a 590 on my first practice, I and got a 700 on my first real exam. The key for me was just diving into the types of problems I was missing and learning everything I could about those topics in particular. This is generally how we were taught to study.

I wish I had done a better job of keeping up with the homework and structure set by the course, as I think it definitely helps to learn the same things at home as in class


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Highly Recommend the Course
October 11 | 2014

       By Anonymous joined: October 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
Manhattan GMAT is the company to sign up with if you're aiming for a 700+ score. I signed up for the in-person class option and had Jonathan as an instructor (who I would highly recommend). The course does a fantastic job keeping you on pace and provides many insightful pointers to help maximize your likelihood of success on test day (many of which you won't find using just the books). Jonathan in particular did a great job helping keep the class engaged with what most would consider pretty dry subject matter. The practice tests are also extremely helpful given the structure of the test will be new for most. I definitely felt like it was worth the cost and that it had a positive impact on my score (scored 740).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Jonathan Schneider is the best GMAT instructor you can have
October 09 | 2014

       By Anonymous joined: October 9, 2014 | 2 | 6 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 160 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I took the 9-week class on Wednesday nights which Jonathan Schneider taught. The entire class felt like they clicked with him right away. He is the kind of instructor who gets it. He doesn't go too slow or too fast. He just teaches at a perfect pace.

In my study group of 3, we started with 550-600 in our diagnostic test. Throughout the class, we all made progress and got around 650. All three of us kept getting 630-670 until the end of the class.

Jonathan recommended we took our tests 3-4 weeks after the end of the class, which we did. As expected, we got 660-680. Unsatisfied with those scores, we kept working, and signed up for the test a month later. All three of us had full-time jobs so that was a big commitment. We sent our breakdown and practice test assessments to Jonathan who gave each of us a detailed path to success. I believe this is really where he added a ton of value. He specifically told us what to work on and what not to work on. This made our lives a lot easier. A week later, 2 of us got our first 700+ on a practice, the third one got a 690.

We kept going, refining our weak spots, and finally took our tests 7-8 weeks after the end of the class. We got 710, 720 and 730 respectively, which we were happy with.

The takeaway is Jonathan is an extremely competent in-class instructor who spends time answering questions after hours (almost 24/7) and will be as good as it gets in class. But most importantly, he will spend the time to sit down and reflect on a study plan and give you a detailed strategy as to what you need to tackle to get a great score.

The three of us took the test twice, but we all felt like we would have gotten an even better score had we taken it a third time. It was just a matter of time until we got a 750+.

Jonathan set us up so we would succeed slowly but surely. We didn’t see it for weeks (and some nights we felt pretty desperate) but in the end it all worked out, and this is all thanks to him. Then again, it happened to the three of us, and the only two things we had in common were busy lives and Jonathan Schneider. It’s no coincidence. Jonathan Schneider is the man.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Manhattan GMAT Review
July 14 | 2014

       By ericweiss17 joined: July 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
I enrolled in the 10 week evening prep course knowing that I would find it nearly impossible to dedicate the time required to do well on the GMAT without some kind of driving force. Manhattan GMAT was the perfect solution. Our teacher, Jonathan Schneider, was knowledgeable, approachable and incredibly engaging. The in-course syllabus set the groundwork for success, and the post-course practice delivered the results I needed. Overall, my score increased 120 points from the diagnostic

Manhattan GMAT properly stresses the most important and most difficult aspects of the exam without neglecting the "little things" than can mean the difference between a 690 and 700. The practice exams are also great, and, while harder than the actual test (in my opinion), allow you to get a feel for what test day will feel like


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Jon Schneider & Manhattan GMAT: A+!
March 11 | 2014

       By Shoot2Skor joined: March 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Manhattan GMAT 9-Session Prep Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Jonathan Schneider
Jon was a terrific instructor and the Manhattan GMAT platform was extremely helpful in my test preparation! The online, time practice tests are a great resource to get as many reps as you need.

Consider pros/cons of small/large classes. Popular class times are good, but large classes can move slowly due to student questions of varying levels.

Overall, it was a terrific experience. Very nurturing environment and Jon gave terrific guidance along the way. I missed several classes and was able to make them up at other times at my convenience. Finally, the set of preparation books were comprehensive and, together with the course syllabus, provided a structured test preparation schedule.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Course, Great Teacher!
August 19 | 2013

       By jdilman joined: March 12, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
I thought the course was awesome. The books were great, even if you don't remember anything from high school. The roadmap book also gives a ton of great general advice for the whole prep process. The web site had a ton of great tools besides just practice tests and anytime I had a question about a specific resource, I called the office, and it seemed like there was always someone there to help.

I think it's definitely important to do a lot of the recommended readings if you want to get the most out of the class. I found that the people I spoke to who didn't do the homework were more likely to seem a bit lost or confused. But, if you walk in prepared, you know what your weaknesses are and how you want to improve, you can ask better questions.

I must say that our teacher, Jonathan Schneider, was the best. He always explained everything very clearly and made it all easy to understand. He was even extremely helpful and patient outside of the classroom. Obviously you can't expect the teachers to be able to go over specific questions in their free time, but I must have emailed him at least 15 different general study questions and he always answered in a friendly manner within about 24 hours. I kept thinking, "How am I not annoying him yet?"

I took the test about a month after the class and didn't do as well as I'd like to have. I felt like I had an off day and definitely could've prepared better considering I'd been pretty busy at work. I signed up to take the test again in another month and emailed my teacher for a few more tips along the way. He really advised me through the whole process. On attempt 2, I did 50 points better than the first time and 10 points better than my best practice test. All in all I was very happy with my 730 and glad I didn't have to study any more. so yeah, I thought the course was worth it.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.