Kevin Richardson's Instructor Reviews
Number of reviews [10]
Great course
January 28 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By vthakk6 joined: January 28, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Chicago-Financial District, USA | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
Veritas Prep was a great course but you will need a lot of practice at home on your own.

The instructor was very helpful.

Studying for the GMAT is intense, but the order and depth of the materials broke down the concepts into digestible segments. You could all but feel the building blocks stacking as you worked through the books. The syllabus was also a godsend. I thrive on structure and deadlines--free-form studying is not for me. The detailed syllabus kept me on task and progressing logically for months.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great overview of what you need to know, and some valuable tips and tricks to up your score.
December 17 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 17, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Chicago-Wacker, USA | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
Great overview of what you will need to know for the course. The instructor was very knowledgeable of GMAT content and had a very engaging teaching style. I suggest taking the 2 day a week course vs the 1 day a week. There is too much content to fit it into 1 class period per week.

Not only do you get to go over the entirety of the GMAT course work, you also have access to multiple practice tests, online support, and office hours. They also offer you the ability to take the course again if you do not feel confident, free of charge. By far the best value for your money.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Course
October 22 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Chicago-N. LaSalle, USA | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
Overall it was a great course. I hadn't done much studying going in, but left feeling confident. The instructor was great. Went to Stanford for his BA and MBA then worked at Apple. Not only was he extraordinarily intelligent but had a knack for communicating. He didn't get caught up in the weeds of the GMAT and really focused on the macro issues people had. He pulled everyone aside for a one-on-one coaching lesson to talk about their strengths and weaknesses. He always kept the lectures moving at a swift speed and if a student struggled with a topic he would see them after class. He also seemed passionate about what he was doing, which was refreshing. Great course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Best course out there
October 21 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 21, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: -170 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Chicago-Wacker, USA | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
I took the 6 week full course with Kevin.

As long as you keep up with the homework and class material you will definitely see a 150-200 point score improvement. They teach you the techniques you will require to answer each question correctly and within the given time.

The math techniques that they teach you are very helpful in answering questions.

Don't look at the price for this course it will be the best investment you will make in your life. I took the MGMAT course before but that did not help as much as the Veritas Prep course.

Oh and you can retake the course within one year without paying anything extra.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Class
October 18 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 18, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Chicago-Wacker, USA | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
This was an excellent class. The instructor Kevin did a great job breaking down the material in many different ways. This class started with the absolute basics of arithmatic and verbal so regardless of the level the student is, the class will cover everything you need to know. This was helpful to me because I am so far removed from all schooling. Kevin, the instructor, was very accommodating of everyone's academic level but challenged students at the same time. If you do the homework and come to the class prepared with questions about what you are struggling with, there is no reason not to do well on the GMAT with this instructor. Kevin keeps the class attention very easily and relates the material to real world situations which creates and easy understanding. He gives plenty of instruction on how to take the test and strategies on taking the test that will be very useful.

Kevin will point out what he thinks your strengths and weaknesses are. There is not much substance here and is mostly basing it off of your profession. If English is your second language, he will most likely tell you that you will be great at math even if you struggle with it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Experince
February 09 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 8, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Chicago-Wacker, USA | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
After taking the full day class on Saturdays in Evanston, I would highly recommend Kevin Richardson of Veritas Prep.

Veritas has a lot to offer. They offer many practice problems of every type of question you may encounter on the actual test, 15 full practice exams, a live help line each evening and a great classroom experience. Kevin was great, he spent a tremendous amount of time going over the important material in class and making sure each individual received the attention he or she deserved. Kevin has the ability to explain a concept at many different levels. He can connect with the individual shooting for a 760 just as well as the individual shooting for a 600. He helped me improve my understanding of the GMAT tremendously. I now understand how to approach the test and how to do well on the exam. Because of his ability to clearly articulate the material I was able to improve my score.

If you are preparing for the GMAT I would highly recommend you take the Veritas Prep course with Kevin.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Very helpful 6 week class for quick cramming
January 15 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 14, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Chicago-Wacker, USA | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
As I was on a short deadline to take the GMAT and apply to schools, I chose Veritas Prep because it had a 6 week course that met twice a week for 3 hours per session rather than the 12 week course that most prep companies offer.

I was impressed with the breadth and depth we covered during those 6 weeks. Our instructor, Kevin Richardson, was very good at managing and catering to the varying degrees of understanding from the ~25 students in the class. Specific to me, he provided key shortcuts to use on more difficult problems which I previously would have wasted time solving completely. Additionally, Kevin also had a great, natural sense of areas where specific people would struggle and would point out hints to people individually.

To get the most out of the 6 week class, my advice would be to make sure you keep up with the homework and really follow the guidelines on the Veritas Prep website. Do the homework before class to make sure you get the most out of the homework review and so that you can be prepared with questions specific to you. Also, take advantage of the online help Veritas Prep provides and the 15 practice exams they offer. I only got through 5 of them due to the short time frame I had, but found them incredibly helpful in my preparation since they include explanations of why each problem is answered in a certain way.

All in, I thought this class was excellent and tremendously assisted in my short preparation for the exam. Additionally, their career services staff were also helpful and willing to assist in any way possible. Everyone was very attentive, making it an overall excellent experience.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

the bomb
May 18 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By derpaderp60 joined: May 18, 2012 | 0 | |
Improvement: 70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  Chicago-Wacker, USA | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
Well to begin with veritas sends you quite a few books which should be enough to keep you inundated for a while but once you get started with a private tutor they really help you sift through the most important parts but most importantly they really help you find tips and tricks that will help you with the test quite well.

The overall quality of the program with the tutor was hands down the best tutoring available. This is because the relationship you can forge with the tutor in person is very important at least for me to really connect the dots in learning the material and internalizing it and you also have the benefit of learning at your own pace which I think everyone can benefit from.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

120 Points in One Month! Thank You Veritas Tutoring!
May 14 | 2012

1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By wwjdtogil joined: May 14, 2012 | 0 | |
Improvement: 120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  Chicago-Financial District, USA | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
I recommend the tutoring service of Veritas Prep. I had Kevin Richardson as my tutor. With his help, I raised my GMAT score by 120 points within a month! I took the regular Veritas course about 1.5 years ago, but did not take the GMAT right after the course. After 1.5 years, my skills became rusty, and that resulted in a disappointing score. Kevin helped me by analyzing my skill-set and pointing out my fortes and my weaknesses.

He then customized his teaching methods per my needs and built up my confidence along the way. After being burned by the low score, it was important to have Kevin providing me with tips for each section and helping me to regain my confidence. His teaching is easy to understand and right to the point. For anyone considering a GMAT tutoring service, I would definitely recommend Kevin.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Veritas Prep Review
March 23 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By rodgelodge joined: March 23, 2012 | 0 | |
Improvement: 130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
I chose the Veritas Prep online course. I would have liked to have taken the course in person but as it was not offered in my city I opted for the online course. Let me start out by saying that the course was extremely comprehensive. So much so that I wish I had scheduled the GMAT for a few weeks after the completion of the course just to ensure I could fully review everything presented. Alas I had applications deadlines approaching and took the test the week that I finished the course.
Even without extra study time after the course I still went in feeling extremely confident and was able to hit my target GMAT score. Veritas really helped me bone up on my math skills, which is the area that I was most concerned about. The materials that they provided for the course are excellent and I plan to keep them around in case I need to brush up on any of the quantitative material in the future.
Overall the entire course was a great learning experience and I know that I would not have been able to do as well as I did on the GMAT without it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.