Kevin Richardson's Instructor Reviews
Number of reviews [14]
Veritas Prep - The best GMAT Review Course
November 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 19, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Chicago-Wacker, USA | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
The first time I took this class, i finished and life got in the way and I was unable to attempt the test. Second time around I was lucky enough to get Kevin again and he was just as good. He goes out of his way to explain things in many different ways to satisfy everyone's learning curves. He is perhaps one of the brightest people I have ever encountered. He is also fair and genuinely cares about his students. I cannot think of a teacher that would be better than him.

As for the course, the books are very good and the class was small enough so you don't get lost in the masses. There is a section to review before class and them homework afterwards. They have simple answers in the back of the book and then detailed answers online. You can track your progress online which really keeps you motivated to get through it all. I like how the homework questions in the book are all 80th percentile and above.

There are many practice tests online and if you have a question, Veritas is very fast in replying. I agree that the price of the course is steep but in talking to friends that took the GMAT without a course, I believe it's definitely worth the cost.

I would recommend Veritas Prep and specifically Kevin Richardson to anyone that wanted to score well on the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Well Worth the Money
November 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 29, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Chicago-Wacker, USA | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
Having taken a SAT course at Kaplan before, I was hoping that the experience would not be the same where the teacher went by the book and painstakingly went through every problem. I was pleasantly surprised by Kevin Richardson's style of teaching as well as the content.

Kevin engages his audience very well by memorizing every student's name very quickly and also their strengths/weaknesses - he will pick on your weaknesses until you 'get' it, which is nervewracking for some, but since you are dropping several hundreds of dollars into the course, it forces you to not only pay attention but also improve your weakness. Kevin, unlike other Veritas Prep instructors (I took substitute classes because I couldn't attend every one of Kevin's classes), explains everything in terms of real-life work context and makes it very understanding. For example, in the strategy of guessing and skipping a question if you simply have no idea how to do it after a minute, he relates it to cutting off an underperforming arm in a company - you simply need to get rid of it and decisively.

Overall, the content of Veritas Prep does a good job in preparing you in how to tackle some of the traps set up by the GMAT, but like others, feel that Manhattan GMAT does a better job in preparing you for the actual content as far as the Quant side goes. The strategies in how to tackle both sections, however, are very valid and have helped me out greatly. I would highly recommend this course to prospective customers.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Take it to the next level
August 08 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 22, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Chicago-Wacker, USA | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
I signed up for Veritas because I wanted to seriously increase my GMAT score. I was only interested in attending one of the top MBA programs in the nation so I needed to perform extremely well on the GMAT. Veritas provides structure, in the form of classes held two times a week. It also creates accountability in terms of attendance, performance in class, and homework.

All attendees for Veritas were the top of the class that were interested in attending one of the top MBA programs. The course instructor knows this and focuses on preparing you not only for GMAT but for how the application of these skills in the test are essential for your business career.

Veritas provides you with multiple resources to enhance your GMAT studying and fully prepares you to sit for the test. With the full in-person course you are provided with 12 books that are complete with an introductory section, lesson, homework, and explanations to the answers. These 12 books focus on 12 different subjects that will help you prepare for the GMAT. The course grows during the 7 or so weeks that it takes place. Beginning with the basics to help you refresh some skills that you may have forgotten or don't use on a daily basis. After you are fresh with these building blocks you are then prepared to solve what makes up the major portions of the test. During this middle period is where you can control your score and you breakdown each section by question type. The instructor helps explain every and all types of questions making it easy to understand how to increase your effectiveness. After hitting the meat of the test you are presented with the 90th percentile questions of each section. Based on your strengths, this is where your performance can put you over the 700+ mark. The instructor guides you through these final sessions and helps students who are stronger in these areas. For those that are not as strong in these areas it is encouraged that you focus on the meat of your weaker subjects before trying to conquer the more difficult sections of the test.

The in class sessions are extremely valuable not only as a way to go over questions and answers but to understand how to approach every type of question that you will be presented on the GMAT. The instructor will interact with all students and get to know you individually. He will make it a point to call on you for subjects that you need the most work on. They make it clear that it is important to score well on your strong subjects and to improve your score on your weaker areas. This type of focus is the difference between self study and Veritas. Veritas helps you understand the breakdown of these questions and how to see them as your stronger subject type. A verbal question can be explained or formatted as a quantitative and vice versa. This analytical breakdown of the test helps students take control and see it from the view of the test writer. Understanding what the test writer is trying to test puts the student in a position to succeed.

To go along with the in class experience you are also provided "Class On Demand" sessions which are video overviews of each live class. Problems sets from each book are also provided online with the solutions and their explanations. Veritas also provides a large set of practice tests. These test are built into your online schedule that Veritas provides but will also be guided by your instructor. Your instructor will suggest when and how to take these practice tests as well as how each type of practice test can be measured in relation to the actual GMAT. Other resources include homework help through a online live waiting room as well as help through email.

Veritas prepares you for every aspect of the GMAT and truly prepares you to succeed in the business world. Veritas takes you to the next level and is a great resource for anyone looking to maximize their business career potential.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Veritas Prep Full Course Overview
May 18 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 18, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Chicago-Wacker, USA | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
I took the 6 week Veritas Full Course for preparing for the GMAT. Overall I found the course very helpful. Our instructor Kevin was very knowledgeable regarding the exam and it was evident that he wanted us to succeed. I felt that there was a good balance between the math and verbal portions and the overall the study outline was manageable (considering that I work full-time). Kevin seemed to quickly realize each student's strengths and weaknesses (math vs. verbal) and adjust to those when asking questions, making suggestions, etc. I haven't taken the exam yet, but feel confident that this course steered me in the right direction.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great course
January 28 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By vthakk6 joined: January 28, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Chicago-Financial District, USA | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
Veritas Prep was a great course but you will need a lot of practice at home on your own.

The instructor was very helpful.

Studying for the GMAT is intense, but the order and depth of the materials broke down the concepts into digestible segments. You could all but feel the building blocks stacking as you worked through the books. The syllabus was also a godsend. I thrive on structure and deadlines--free-form studying is not for me. The detailed syllabus kept me on task and progressing logically for months.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great overview of what you need to know, and some valuable tips and tricks to up your score.
December 17 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 17, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Chicago-Wacker, USA | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
Great overview of what you will need to know for the course. The instructor was very knowledgeable of GMAT content and had a very engaging teaching style. I suggest taking the 2 day a week course vs the 1 day a week. There is too much content to fit it into 1 class period per week.

Not only do you get to go over the entirety of the GMAT course work, you also have access to multiple practice tests, online support, and office hours. They also offer you the ability to take the course again if you do not feel confident, free of charge. By far the best value for your money.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Course
October 22 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Chicago-N. LaSalle, USA | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
Overall it was a great course. I hadn't done much studying going in, but left feeling confident. The instructor was great. Went to Stanford for his BA and MBA then worked at Apple. Not only was he extraordinarily intelligent but had a knack for communicating. He didn't get caught up in the weeds of the GMAT and really focused on the macro issues people had. He pulled everyone aside for a one-on-one coaching lesson to talk about their strengths and weaknesses. He always kept the lectures moving at a swift speed and if a student struggled with a topic he would see them after class. He also seemed passionate about what he was doing, which was refreshing. Great course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Best course out there
October 21 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 21, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: -170 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Chicago-Wacker, USA | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
I took the 6 week full course with Kevin.

As long as you keep up with the homework and class material you will definitely see a 150-200 point score improvement. They teach you the techniques you will require to answer each question correctly and within the given time.

The math techniques that they teach you are very helpful in answering questions.

Don't look at the price for this course it will be the best investment you will make in your life. I took the MGMAT course before but that did not help as much as the Veritas Prep course.

Oh and you can retake the course within one year without paying anything extra.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Class
October 18 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 18, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Chicago-Wacker, USA | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
This was an excellent class. The instructor Kevin did a great job breaking down the material in many different ways. This class started with the absolute basics of arithmatic and verbal so regardless of the level the student is, the class will cover everything you need to know. This was helpful to me because I am so far removed from all schooling. Kevin, the instructor, was very accommodating of everyone's academic level but challenged students at the same time. If you do the homework and come to the class prepared with questions about what you are struggling with, there is no reason not to do well on the GMAT with this instructor. Kevin keeps the class attention very easily and relates the material to real world situations which creates and easy understanding. He gives plenty of instruction on how to take the test and strategies on taking the test that will be very useful.

Kevin will point out what he thinks your strengths and weaknesses are. There is not much substance here and is mostly basing it off of your profession. If English is your second language, he will most likely tell you that you will be great at math even if you struggle with it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Experince
February 09 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 8, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 10 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Chicago-Wacker, USA | Taught by:  Kevin Richardson
After taking the full day class on Saturdays in Evanston, I would highly recommend Kevin Richardson of Veritas Prep.

Veritas has a lot to offer. They offer many practice problems of every type of question you may encounter on the actual test, 15 full practice exams, a live help line each evening and a great classroom experience. Kevin was great, he spent a tremendous amount of time going over the important material in class and making sure each individual received the attention he or she deserved. Kevin has the ability to explain a concept at many different levels. He can connect with the individual shooting for a 760 just as well as the individual shooting for a 600. He helped me improve my understanding of the GMAT tremendously. I now understand how to approach the test and how to do well on the exam. Because of his ability to clearly articulate the material I was able to improve my score.

If you are preparing for the GMAT I would highly recommend you take the Veritas Prep course with Kevin.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.