Lainie Cogan's Instructor Reviews
Number of reviews [7]
From Aringo to HBS!
July 24 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By delta3 joined: July 24, 2014 | 3 | 1 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Lainie Cogan
I contacted Aringo to work on my applications for 2014 (class of 2016). I really enjoyed the personal treatment I got from everyone at Aringo, from the CEO, my consultant and the operations team. Right from the first contact you make they give you professional advice about how to proceed at every stage. After the initial orientation you get assigned to a specific consultant and begin the process of writing your application. My consultant was excellent and gave me very valuable advice and answers along the way, which resulted in my admission to HBS MBA! I'm grateful for the great experience I've gone through with Aringo and would recommend them to anyone who asks.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Admitted to INSEAD
February 26 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 7, 2013 | 1 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Aringo School Packages   Consultant:  Lainie Cogan
Before I contacted Aringo I was already sure about my first choice school (INSEAD), so I looked into the number of successful applications they had for INSEAD and contacted them. They replied immediately, which was an important factor that made me choose Aringo. Especially because I was only two months from the round 2 deadline and I had just started the online application. My TOEFL was pending and I wanted to retake the GMAT. In addition, I was unsure about what documents I would need from my university and how I would get them since I was living far from my home country.

I was stressed and in a hurry and Lainie and the Aringo team managed to work on time with quality during the entire process.

Finnaly, I have been accepted into INSEAD and I am sure that without Lainie’s criticism and perfectionism it would’ve been really hard to achieve my dream, if not impossible.

Thank you Aringo!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

ad-MIT-ted!!
January 15 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By atlantic82 joined: January 15, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Lainie Cogan
I started the application process with Aringo with some doubts. I didn't know where it would lead me to, if it's necessary and I even need admission consulting or can I make it on my own.
The day when we submitted my applications as a day of relief and satisfaction, and I'm saying "we" since working so closely with Lainie made this our process.
Lainie's honesty and dedication made all the difference, and in retrospect I have no doubt that all the hard work we did was necessary and contributed to the final result – admission to MIT.
I want to thank Lainie and the entire Aringo staff!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

IN-SEAD
December 12 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By quantum202 joined: December 12, 2013 | 1 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Lainie Cogan
If I had to go through the application process on my own, I have no doubt that the result would not have been as good – admission to INSEAD! Even though English is my native language, the first drafts of my essays were not even close to the goal.

Lainie accompanied me throughout the entire process, from school selection, through thinking on the essay topics and search of interesting stories to write about, eliminating irrelevant topics, rephrasing and rephrasing again. I wanted to work all the time and constantly improve my essays, and Lainie was always ready to help and meet my perfectionist needs, and sometimes tell me when the changes I've been working on for hours are worthless…

At the end of the process, I feel that the essays I submitted, even for the school that didn't accept me, reflected who I am at the best possible way. The process was long and hard, but at the end I reached my goal and also earned a lesson in writing essays and resumes, a lesson I will definitely use in the future.

Ever since I first contacted Aringo, the entire Aringo team supported me and made me feel they really care about me and my success. The put me in touch with the right people when I had questions, helped me get feedback from alumni of the schools I applied to, and helped my get prepared for my interviews.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Kudos to Aringo!
August 19 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By desert2 joined: August 19, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Lainie Cogan
I would like to thank Aringo for being by my side throughout the application process until the point I secured a position with a B-school of my choice. As an international client and a first-time applicant I had a lot to learn about the tricks of the trade and Aringo's customized and relentless coaching is the only reason why I am where I am today. I highly recommend Aringo Consulting and my personal consultant in particular. The money was worth it to be admitted to a top MBA program. If you have any questions about my experience with Aringo feel free to PM me.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Accepted to Chicago and Stanford!!
June 08 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By spectrum joined: June 7, 2012 | 0 | |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Lainie Cogan
When I sought to realize my dream to study at one of the top universities in the world, I decided to go through the process with the most professional support I could get, in order to achieve the maximum from my background and data.

Today, when I face a dream decision - Chicago with a full scholarship versus Stanford, I know that a great part of it is thanks to my Aringo consultant who escorted me through the entire process: the dedication, professionalism, availability, and ability “to get into my head” in order to translate my experience into the best application possible.

I have no doubt that in such a competitive environment, when the demand for top programs sees new heights each year, it is of utmost importance to seek help with experienced consulting services in order to maximize chances for success. I feel that Aringo helped me convert what up till a few months ago seemed only a dream to a tangible reality.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Review for Aringo
May 03 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By catsloverSingapore joined: May 3, 2012 | 0 | |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Lainie Cogan
I worked with Aringo for Round 2 for 2012 intake. I got admitted to INSEAD and waitlisted by Wharton and Stanford.
General review for Aringo:
Aringo is very structured. I had my main consultant to work with me for my essays and had a specialist to run a test drive for INSEAD. Also, they have a round table discussion on my career goal essay to help me to validate the details as it is not a typical post-MBA career goal.
One thing I especially like Aringo is that they are very flexible and respect my choices. Unlike other consulting companies I contacted, who tried very hard to convince me to sign up or even only offered the full school package, Aringo allowed me to sign up for 3, 7 or 10 hours package to have some experience first before deciding on further investment. I think it is great.
Comments on my consultant:
My consultant Lainie is a very experienced consultant, she knows what the questions are really asking for and she is very professional and effective with essay editing as well. She finished editing all my INSEAD essays for 4-5 rounds within 15 work hours and additional 3 to 5 hours for subsequent schools. The total cost for three schools was even less than the comprehensive package for 1 school.
In addition, she was very responsive to my emails and she usually replied within 24 hours. If she needed more time on editing my essays, she would tell me the expected date of retuning my essays. The maximum I waited was 3 working days. This way also helped me to plan my own time for other essays as well.
My personal view of selecting MBA consultant is that: I am still taking the main responsibility for my essays and my consultant is there to help me with the grammars, structures and make sure I answer to the question. My consultant Lainie never wrote a single sentence for me. When she found my sentences or expressions were not appropriate, she asked me questions to clarify. I used to write long sentences and explain simple thing in a complicated way. When Lainie helped me to reduce the words, she used my own words and structure to summarize. Besides, when she found me did not reflect enough or did not answer to the question, she asked me questions that inspired me to think more. She NEVER wrote any learning or reflections based on my stories. I believe it is very important to keep my own voice, my own view and my own style.
I had a great fun working with Lainie and also improved my essay writing skills as well.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.