Liza Weale

Senior Consultant


    
Number of reviews [37]


Company: mbaMission
Packages: * School Packages   Hourly Services   Profile Preparation Coaching  
After leaving a career in private sector technology, Liza Weale headed to MIT Sloan for her MBA. Among other activities there, she coached her classmates on cover letters and resumes as the teaching assistant for first-year communications. After graduating, Liza began a new career in management consulting with Bain & Company, where she worked with clients in education, health care and consumer products, while in her free time guiding her associate consultants through the MBA admissions process. She also served on the “Bain-MIT Sloan” recruiting team to help attract, coach and hire MIT Sloan first and second years. She later joined Scholastic as director of product marketing for its fledgling math programs, which she grew by five times in two years, all the while advising junior colleagues and acquaintances on their business school applications. Wanting to further her marketing expertise, Liza then became executive director of Kaplan Test Prep’s GMAT and GRE business lines, not only owning the programs’ strategic decisions but also heading up all marketing and curriculum development efforts. Although she is well known at Kaplan for her work rewriting and editing customer-facing brochures, Web sites, textbooks, speeches, scripts, newsletters and emails, her true passion lies in helping people “market” themselves in their MBA applications. Liza volunteers with the MIT Sloan Alumni Club and serves as an officer for the alumni in her class.

Source: http://www.mbamission.com/about/?display=team&name=liza-weale


Liza Weale's Reviews
Liza is amazing!
June 23 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 1, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Liza Weale
Let me put it out there: I would not have been as successful in my applications without the help of Liza.

Liza's passion, enthusiasm, hard work, drive for perfection, uncanny ability to push her clients to think outside the box, organizational skills, and insistence on having the candidates' voices heard throughout the application process are unmatched.

The application process was long, hectic and overwhelming for me. In a period of 5 months, I had to go about my professional work, choose and apply to 5 MBA programs, study and take the GMAT (I eventually sat for the exam twice), write around 20 essays, choose my recommenders, re-write my CV, fill out entire applications, each with its own set of short questions, and prep for the interview process.

Given my needs, I purchased the five school start-to-finish package. It allowed me to work with Liza through every step of the process and to develop an extremely friendly relationship with her.

With Liza by my side, I was able to successfully overcome my challenges. From the onset, she instigated a brainstorming session and set out a well detailed plan with daily and weekly objectives. She made sure to keep me on schedule and was readily available whenever I needed her. Indeed, she particularly stood out from other consultants when she worked on some of her holidays to help me wrap up my applications. Her feedback was impeccable, straight to the point and thoughtful. She also pushed me to discover myself and to express myself in the clearest possible way.

I'm pumped up and excited to start my MBA soon and I take this opportunity to thank you Liza for helping me get accepted to one of my dream schools.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Highly Recommend Liza Weale
June 06 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 17, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Liza Weale
Per recommendations from current MBA students, I decided to look into hiring a consultant. I had an non-traditional background and really needed help translating my job experience into "bschool language." Additionally, I needed to combat a low GMAT score. I spoke with consultants at Stacy Blackman and Admissionado, but I was really impressed with Liza's credentials and energy. After our 30-minute phone consult, I immediately connected with her and knew we would work well together. I'm happy to report that she lived up to every expectation and more.

I initially signed up for a 2-school package (Tuck & BC), but ended up adding a third (Johnson) later on. Once we started working together, I knew I had made the right decision. Liza is so personable that is was easy to open up to her. She quickly grasped who I was as a person and how to position my strengths and address my weaknesses. She helped me clearly communicate my story and encouraged me to write about things I thought were unimportant. Not only were her edits and recommendations on point, but they were genuine as she truly believed in my application. This resulted in a highly competitive application that highlighted my uniqueness as a candidate.

In every interaction I had with Liza, she went above and beyond. She always responded with thoughtful and insightful ideas to all of my emails and questions (and I had many!). My application process lasted much longer than most and Liza remained a dedicated supporter every step of the way. She helped connect me with a GMAT tutor, prepped me for interviews, developed a wait list strategy, gave me advice on scholarships, and talked me through which program I should choose.

I applied to 6 schools and ended up getting into 5 and was wait listed at one (Tuck), which was pretty amazing considering my low GMAT score. I attribute this success to Liza and her advice in crafting my essays, resume, short answers to reflect the best version of myself. I have since recommended Liza to three of my friends (one of them being my husband).

I highly recommend using Liza if you are considering a MBA consultant. She is extremely creative, insightful, experienced and knows how to successfully maneuver the MBA application process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Highly recommend Liza--amazing MBA admissions consultant!
June 03 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 31, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Liza Weale
I enjoyed working with Liza tremendously and would highly recommend her to anyone who's looking for MBA admissions consulting services. In my initial phone consultation, I was impressed with her professionalism and insights. I had spoken with a number of firms before, but her candid response and assessment is what sold me on a comprehensive package with MBAmission. Her work ultimately exceeded my expectation, and working with Liza felt more like working with a trusted partner. I'm happy to say that the investment is well worth it as I will be attending a top school in the fall.

What I appreciated the most throughout this process were Liza's insights and enthusiasm. She really knew the admissions landscape for top programs well and was able to help refine my story by encouraging me to think about the various aspects of my candidacy. You would not find in Liza someone who was eager to agree with you, but her approach was not prescriptive or pedantic either. She took the time to get to know me and analyze my story before sharing her feedback, and that made a big difference in how I eventually presented my application. Because of her efforts, we didn't have to go through too many drafts for the essays and our communications were productive and to-the-point.

A big part of working with a consultant lies in trust--trusting someone to learn the details of your story and to help you brainstorm ways to tell that story with their expertise. With Liza I believe her enthusiastic support definitely made the experience much easier and less stressful. I got the sense that my success in this process really mattered to her, and that shared partnership strengthened our work together (and saved a lot of time).

If you prefer a more structured approach to the MBA application process and benefit from consulting services, I recommend working with Liza if she's available. Her experience and support made a great impact on my application and contributed to my success in this process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Good, but not worth the money for the full-package
June 01 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By dtse86 joined: February 3, 2014 | 505 | 168 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Profile Preparation Coaching   Consultant:  Liza Weale
I decided to use an admissions consultant because I knew that with my low undergraduate GPA, it'd be difficult to get into my desired schools.

I chose to go with Liza after an initial 30 minute consultation. I was extremely impressed with her insight and with her advice, I decided to change my application strategy.

I bought a one school complete package although I knew I was going to apply to several. My plan was to utilize the important aspects of the first application on the later ones.

For the most part, she laid out the process with me and met the expectations and promises with regards to turn around times.

In the beginning, I found her insights and points very good in regards to what the admissions selection committee may think and how to address certain aspects of my application. However when it came to her comments/edits on my essays, I found them lacking in substance. Most of her essay reviews seemed more focused on meeting word limits rather than making sure the essay gave the intended impact and conveyed my message. In later essays for other schools, I found myself more critical than her and suggestions from friends and family more helpful.

She did also help with my resume and prepping my recommenders. Both of my recommenders come from non-MBA backgrounds and so I strongly believe the materials she gave me to prep them helped. However, a lot of the advice for both prepping recommenders and writing good resumes are easily found online here at GMATClub or on other admissions consultants' blogs.

Ultimately, I was rejected from the school I purchased the package for, but was admitted into 2 others and waitlisted at one. It's hard to tell how much Liza contributed to those successes however I do think she helped in some part. Whether or not I would've gotten into those schools without an admissions consultant is tough to say, but I do think much of the support and help she provided could have been gotten at a much cheaper cost to me.

Looking back, I wished that I had hired her hourly for the resume writing and recommender prep, but used a specific essay reviewing company (like Essay Snark) for the essay reviews. In the end, I'm not upset that I had used her services, however I do think I spent too much money and that for me, it wasn't worth it.

Liza's a wonderful person and extremely intelligent, however for me, who already put a lot of time researching and being critical on my own application, her value was wasted and lost.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Made for a More Confident Application
May 22 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 22, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Liza Weale
From the initial consulting phase to the end product, I really enjoyed working with my consultant, Liza. I used the service primarily for essay feedback and resume review. Using the service gave me the confidence I needed to make sure I did everything I could in order to get into an MBA school as my GMAT score wasn't as high as I would have liked it to be. Liza was great at providing feedback to my work to make sure I highlighted the right touchpoints in the right way. I'd highly recommend the service if you're looking for that boost to make sure you did everything you could when applying. Thanks, Liza!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Thank you mbaMission!
May 17 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 11, 2014 | 40 | 10 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Liza Weale
I rarely write reviews but after working together with Liza Weale from mbaMission for more than 6 months, it was such a pleasant experience that I can't help but feel obligated to write one.

A little background about myself: I have a hybrid (IT & Management mix) consulting background in an okay consulting firm (obviously not MBB). My undergraduate was just okay - decent GPA from a public school but also a community college transfer student. Furthermore, I had limited extracurricular and leadership activities. Thankfully, at least I had an average GMAT for M7 schools. As you can see, I'm pretty much an average Joe professional and doesn't exactly exude "pedigree".

After a few years of working, I wanted to apply for MBA to move to a top consulting firm but I wasn't sure whether I could make it to the top schools. I had a free consultation with Liza out of curiosity and told her my background and goals. I asked her whether I could make it to M7 schools, knowing she'd probably tell me to aim lower but to my surprise, she actually said I had a fighting chance!

Liza was incredibly helpful in identifying my strengths and weaknesses during the initial call, which gave me assurance that she knows what she's doing. I decided to get the 4 school packages, which was a bit pricy, but I knew that if got into just one out of those four, I'd easily multiply my investment!

Since I was applying to four top schools, the application process itself was incredibly challenging and stressful, but Liza was very helpful in setting up timelines and milestones to organize and help alleviate the stress and burden. Furthermore, she was really flexible in rescheduling calls or modifying milestones to accommodate for times when work was crushing me. I also greatly appreciated her encouragement and direct constructive criticisms during the busiest periods - I knew that she really cares about her clients and wants us to be successful!

To me, Liza's greatest strength was her ability to identify strengths in my background (that I wasn't even aware of!) and make sure that they are reflected well in my essays. There were several occasions when I wasn't sure what to write about and she helped me brainstorm to come up with these brilliant ideas! A note of caution though: she will decimate and revamp your essay, which was for the good of course, but sometimes it was a bit frustrating since I spent hours working on it!

Even though I somewhat expected it, when the rejections started rolling in, I started to panic. I was incredibly stressed and nervous that all this hard work and money would go down the drain. Thankfully, Liza helped me calm down and keep focus. When I finally got that elusive interview, she immediately helped me prep and gave me incredible tips to make sure that I was ready for it. I made sure to follow her advice and hoped for the best.

Long story short, I was accepted to one of the top schools with my average Joe background and I definitely attribute my success to Liza's help!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Liza Weale Review
May 04 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By RFA0905 joined: May 4, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Waitlisted
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Liza Weale
Liza was a great partner throughout the application process and went well beyond what I expected. From the beginning I had a good idea of the schools I wanted to apply and she helped me design a solid strategy to tackle them and think about some safe alternatives.

As you go through the application process you try to get everything right, from the stories you tell, to the way you tell them, to how you fill the application form. And Liza was there to help me every step of the way.

When I was waitlisted Liza helped me regain my confidence and continue to fight for a place.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Liza Weale Review
April 20 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 20, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Liza Weale
I worked with Liza on an hourly basis because I was not sure how many schools I wanted to apply to. My applications would not have reached their full potential with Liza’s help. Simply put, Liza’s services are well worth the price. She not only helped me with the applications directly but also consulted on which schools to apply to. Without Liza’s help I would not have known of Cornell’s strengths in the finance space. I could not have asked for a more creative, compassionate, and responsive consultant. Without Liza, I would still be stuck in my current role with no future in sight. Now, I am on my way to a successful MBA career. Working with Liza has been a pleasure.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Highly recommend Liza
April 18 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By throwaway311 joined: November 25, 2013 | 39 | 12 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Liza Weale
Liza was an extremely helpful consultant who helped me tremendously through every step of the b-school app process. From the very beginning, she played an instrumental role guiding me towards schools best-suited for my career objectives and personal interests.

I cannot imagine crafting my story without her help. My background was non-traditional, but as I'm sure as every applicant can attest to, it's difficult to summarize your accomplishments and goals in a concise, thoughtful manner.

She reviewed each draft (of which there were probably too many) and provided excellent insight that really helped me strategically frame my background to position me as a strong candidate.

Her feedback, returned very quickly, and obvious compassion she exhibits to her clients makes the b-school process a little less daunting. She went above and beyond and continues to answer my most mundane questions post-acceptance, despite my running out of paid hours.

Liza truly cares about each of her clients, and I highly recommend her for anyone considering a consultant.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Highly Recommend Liza Weale! Greatly Exceeded Expectations!
April 15 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By egand1988 joined: April 15, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Liza Weale
Simply put, Liza’s input improved the quality of my applications and interview prep to a point it would not have reached if I only relied on my friends/family and myself.

I worked with Liza on an hourly basis since I decided to engage a consultant late in the application process. I was skeptical of the value of a consultant given the support I had from both alumni and family. However, even on the short 30 minute intro call, it was clear that Liza brought a professional lens I needed. As a former management consultant herself, she could relate to the story I was trying to tell and suggested straightforward ways to improve my reasoning behind ‘why an MBA’ to make it resonate with schools. Throughout our engagement (email back and forths on apps, essays, and a couple mock interview sessions), I found her feedback to be tactical, easy to implement, and she always made it clear how her suggested edits could improve my application. The feedback was also prompt and she made it feel like we were a team that had the same priorities.

In addition to the nuts and bolts of the application, working with Liza gave me the confidence I needed throughout the process. She made me feel more prepared, which was a difficult task given the amount of constructive feedback she gave :). In the end, I got into my first choice school and I don’t think that would have happened without her support.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.