Liza Weale

Senior Consultant


    
Number of reviews [24]


Company: mbaMission
Packages: * School Packages   Hourly Services  
After leaving a career in private sector technology, Liza Weale headed to MIT Sloan for her MBA. Among other activities there, she coached her classmates on cover letters and resumes as the teaching assistant for first-year communications. After graduating, Liza began a new career in management consulting with Bain & Company, where she worked with clients in education, health care and consumer products, while in her free time guiding her associate consultants through the MBA admissions process. She also served on the “Bain-MIT Sloan” recruiting team to help attract, coach and hire MIT Sloan first and second years. She later joined Scholastic as director of product marketing for its fledgling math programs, which she grew by five times in two years, all the while advising junior colleagues and acquaintances on their business school applications. Wanting to further her marketing expertise, Liza then became executive director of Kaplan Test Prep’s GMAT and GRE business lines, not only owning the programs’ strategic decisions but also heading up all marketing and curriculum development efforts. Although she is well known at Kaplan for her work rewriting and editing customer-facing brochures, Web sites, textbooks, speeches, scripts, newsletters and emails, her true passion lies in helping people “market” themselves in their MBA applications. Liza volunteers with the MIT Sloan Alumni Club and serves as an officer for the alumni in her class.

Liza Weale's Reviews
Huge thanks to Liza!
January 26 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 19, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Liza Weale
At first, I was highly skeptical about hiring a consultant because I wondered whether I would be able to get into my top choice schools without the hefty cost of hiring a consultant. Though I will never know if I could have done it on my own, since I ultimately did decide to work with mbaMission, I do not regret my decision at all!

I first spoke with Liza back in July to get a sense of a) what a consultant would be able to provide and b) what it would be like to work with Liza specifically. Though I spoke with other firms and other consultants as well, I fell in love with the concept of working with Liza right away!

During the next few weeks, Liza helped me with putting together my essays, my resume and my recommendation packets for my recommenders. She provided great insight and guidance on whether to take my story and always pushed me when she thought I had more to say or share (even when I did not know I had more!). Not only was she able to provide very tactical feedback on sentence structure, vocabulary choice, etc., she also provided big-picture thoughts (e.g., why did you choose this example? Is there something more here?). Most importantly though, Liza was at my corner, cheering me on at every single step of the way. It meant a lot to me that she cared so much about how my case would be presented to the admissions committee. Although I had other people read parts of my application, she was the only one who saw every aspect of my application (and the only one I trusted doing so, especially since some of these essays can get very personal). As my trusted advisor, she knew how all the pieces would fit together and whether or not the “true” me was coming through. Through the process, Liza became not only a mentor but a friend and without her emotional support, I do not know if I could have finished all my apps in time.

One of my proudest moments of 2014 was being to email Liza and tell her that I got into one of my top choices. I highly recommend at least looking into working with Liza—she is not only extremely smart, but also very caring and supportive.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Liza the Great!
January 23 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 23, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Liza Weale
I scheduled my free thirty minute consultation with Liza because of the testimonials I read online about both Liza and MBA Mission. I had no intentions, at the time, of signing up for the consulting service, but thought it would be a great half hour review of my resume and story; however, after only a few minutes into the call, it was clear that Liza was an expert – her knowledge, her insight, and her ability to jump right into business thoroughly impressed me.

I knew where I wanted to apply and the areas in which I needed help in, and thus, I opted for the hourly option. Liza took the time to get to know me through a background assessment, ensuring I highlighted my best attributes for the applications. In her feedback, Liza was honest and comprehensive, but what impressed me the most was her genuine passion and commitment to me. Liza encouraged me to find myself and be true to who I am. Her ability to remember things I said during our calls, or minute details she would bring to life, helped truly show my voice in my application.

As I was just about finished with my essays for two of the three schools I was applying to, I changed my plan of action and decided there was only one school for me. Liza was supportive and agreed it was my best fit. When I shared the good news about my acceptance, Liza’s congratulatory note made my day. Liza built a positive and sincere relationship with me, and from the other reviews I read before engaging, it is evident she does this with all of her clients.

There is no doubt in my mind that Liza is an excellent partner for Business School applicants, and I highly recommend her.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

LIZA WEALE is simply AMAZING!! The BEST Consultant/Friend/Cheerleader EVER!!
January 22 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 18, 2013 | 44 | 27 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Liza Weale
I first spoke to Jessica Shklar (30-min free evaluation call) and fell in love with her and MBAmission. The moment I hung up I knew I won't choose any other company (I had already spoken with 5-6 other consultants and no one came even close). A few days later, I was bummed to discover that Jessica was already fully booked for R1 (we were still in May!) and forwarded me to Liza Weale as she thought she would be a good fit for me. And GOD I was lucky! Liza was AMAZING throughout the whole process.

I worked with Liza on a 3-school package. At first, my plan was to apply to 4 schools, but I then added 3 additional schools (which I had put aside for R2) when I found out there was a lot of overlap with what I already had prepared with Liza. YES, you can apply to 7 schools in 1 round (although you REALLY need to put a huge effort) and YES, you might be able to share between apps when you have 3 complete applications and some spare time).

Long story short, Liza did an incredible job of preparing me during the next 5 months from writing a summary about myself to deciding what school to matriculate at. No matter what I say about Liza, it won’t be anything compared to what she had to offer. But I’ll try. Liza was ALWAYS there to help, she is understanding, supportive (whenever I felt down), she never makes you feel rushed, she gives you all the time you need, she never broke the 2-day turnaround deadline and she truly puts her ALL to help you. She genuinely LOVES helping others! Just after I finished the first 2-hour call with her (after she had ONLY read the summary about me), she already saw things in me that I couldn’t see myself. I literally hung up the phone with her and told my wife “Sh*t, I should’ve recorded that!).

Now, during the whole process, Liza won’t stop amazing you! Whether in choosing your target schools, drafting your essays, polishing and re-re-polishing your Resume, giving crucial advice to your recommenders, Liza was immensely helpful. I had a 700 GMAT and a GPA that’s on the average of most of the top 20 schools. But thanks to Liza, with such strong apps, I felt I had boosted my chances by at least 70%. I was admitted to 4 schools (my top choice included and with $), waitlisted in 1 and denied in 2 (both were long shots by far).

So, whatever your case, trust me, it’s worth the investment. Go for it! Go for MBAmission! And if you could, go for Liza Weale!!

I just have one last advice. While selecting your schools, your consultant will do his/her best to make you pick the right choice(s). However, always go back and do your homework, dissect the program, learn as much as you can about the community, the city, etc. before deciding on where to apply. In my case, Liza felt that I would be a good fit at a certain school, I started working on the app but after it was too late, I discovered I made the wrong choice. This is not to say that it was Liza’s fault. Only I am to blame for the decision. So, take some time to choose the programs you want to apply to, and don’t think this time is a waste, it’s totally worth it (even if it took a month!). That’s why you need to start as early as possible. So, STOP READING MORE REVIEWS, STOP WASTING PRECIOUS TIME, go ahead and start this great journey with MBAmission.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Easy decision - HIRE LIZA!
January 11 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 15, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Liza Weale
Liza is incredibly talented. She is everything you could want from a consultant, and was instrumental into getting me into both Sloan and Tuck. I don't have enough good things to say about Liza, but if you are considering a consultant, you should definitely hire her.

A little background on myself - this was not my first time applying. Last year, I applied to Sloan, Tuck, Wharton, and Kellogg. I was waitlisted to three of those schools, and ultimately rejected from all of them.

I decided this next time around to hire a consultant, and Liza was the perfect fit. I had spoken to a number of consultants just to get a sense of their backgrounds and to see if there would be a fit, and I could tell that Liza was perfect for me. Having gone to Sloan and having been at Bain as a consultant, I knew she had the experience of actually having been through what I was going through, not just the experience of helping past kids get into good schools.
She does not bullshit around. She does not tell you what you want to hear - she tells you exactly what you need to know to improve your essays, or resume, or to guide you through your interview. She navigated me through what was an incredibly demanding time, giving me the appropriate guidance and direction when necessary. She kept me on task when deadlines approached, and gave me a schedule to adhere to. She went out of her way on multiple occasions to get me things back in time (even before she was obligated to) so that I could work on them over the weekend. I felt like one of my interviews didn't go so well, and we completely recalibrated how I prepared and that was so critical to me doing well for the second school.

While her services (and those from similar companies) are not cheap, I feel like if getting into a top school is a seriously goal of yours, hiring Liza is 100% worth it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Liza Weale - Thank You!
December 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 30, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Liza Weale
The decision to work with an MBA Consultant is undeniably a tough one – is the significant sum of money worth the benefits? Are these so called benefits quantifiable? Is there any guarantee of success? The answers to most of these questions probably fall into the grey “maybe” area for most of us. Therefore, those of us that do decide to work with MBA consultants hope that we have picked the right consulting firm to skew the probability of success in our favor (because – hell, I don’t care if it increases my probability of getting admitted into my dream school by only 5%.. that 5% could mean the difference between getting in and getting rejected!) After having gone through the process over the last year, I can (with some degree of confidence) state that choosing an MBA consultant is so much more than that – it really matters who the consultant you’re working with is, and not which consulting firm they are affiliated to. The right consultant can take that uncertain “maybe” and turn it into a definitive ROI. And that’s where Liza Weale comes in.

In my mind, there are 5 qualities that make a good MBA consultant:
1) Knows the school
2) Provides a different perspective/angle
3) Can market you as an asset
4) Is an excellent wordsmith
5) Actually cares about you/goes out of their way to ensure your success

1) Knows the school: Right off the bat I knew that I wanted to work with Liza for my MIT Sloan app because of her extensive experience with the school. Liza really knows how the Sloan adcom thinks and was able to craft my essays to match their expectations. This was a significant benefit, as the Sloan adcom is very different from other schools and students often make the mistake of using generic essays that focus on all the wrong things from Sloan’s perspective. If MIT Sloan is your first choice – do everything you can to work with Liza!

2) Provides a different perspective/angle: I feel that this is very important in bringing out the versatile facets of your application and personality. I would much rather work with someone who has the ability to provide a different angle to my story than someone who thinks/behaves like me. During my initial 30-minute free call with Liza (when I was still uncertain on who I wanted to work with), I was immediately struck by Liza’s ability to provide not one but many different perspectives on my accomplishments and milestones. In those 30 minutes Liza almost completely changed the way my Resume looked – for the better! I knew then that Liza was the person I wanted to work with for this journey.

3) Can market you as an asset: This is a vital skill for any MBA consultant. They are literally helping you sell yourself to MBA schools. A marketer at heart and by profession, Liza is really able to help you put the best “you” forward in your essays.

4) Is an excellent wordsmith: 10-15 iterations per essay. That is literally the number of iterations Liza had me go through before we concluded that the essays were perfect. During those iterations my essays were transformed from incoherent (and lengthy) ramblings into succinct pieces of art (lol I don’t really think they are pieces of art but you get the point). Liza has a knack of removing that one badly-worded phrase in your essay that you’re stuck on and replacing it with something awesome.

5) Actually cares about you/goes out of their way to ensure your success: This. I had contacted Liza really late in the game for R1 application submission and she was already overloaded with clients by then. However, Liza always kept me on schedule, was always available for a quick counseling session, and was very responsive with her emails. All in all I never felt that she was neglecting me or was only in it for the money – she actually cares about your application and is as apprehensive as you are when the decision time is due!

I recommend Liza Weale unreservedly as the MBA consultant to work with – because she gets results and helped me get admitted into my first choice school – MIT Sloan!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

mbaMission - Liza Weale
October 30 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 30, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Liza Weale
Liza was my consultant for a "Start to Finish" package - I only applied to one school and Liza was instrumental in helping me get in. She helped me formulate my ideas and put them together in an organized and succinct manner. She always responded to my emails quickly and rapidly addressed and alleviated any concerns that I had. She was able to to combine her professionalism and experience with a personal touch. I can honestly say that if it weren't for Liza I would have had a much more difficult time putting my application together. Liza carries my unreserved recommendation.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Thank you Liza and MBA Mission!
June 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Liza Weale
I decided to apply for an MBA a little late in the game (round 3) due to extenuating work circumstances which made things a little tricky. After reading reviews for different services and consultants, I selected Liza from MBA Mission as she had a number of accepted students to the program I was interested in. After the free consultation call I knew I had made the right choice. Liza was kind and understanding but also assertive and made sure to efficiently communicate her advice showing she respected the fact that we were on the clock. I went though several rounds of essay and resume edits for two applications with Liza and the results were night and day. Her edits and comments enabled me to step outside of my story and really portray it in a way that was conducive to the admissions committees' point of view. She is succinct, articulate, and very insightful and I have no doubt she was a driving force enabling me to attend one of my top two (and only two) schools that I applied to.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Highly recommend Liza Weale at mbaMission
April 08 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 4, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Liza Weale
The only justice I can do for the incredible service I received from Liza Weale over our eight months working together is to write this review and let others know how great she is and how worthwhile it is to hire her.

I was introduced to mbaMission via Manhattan GMAT (which I also highly recommend), so decided to check them out with their free 30 minute consultation. Based on her bio on the website, I decided to meet Liza Weale (in person, which I recommend) to judge for myself whether the lofty price tag seemed worth it. During our brief initial meeting I was instantly impressed by her ability to identify what I wanted and needed out of our process working together and walked away challenged with how to tell my story successfully.

I initially purchased the two school start-to-finish package, which was a great decision. It allowed me to work with Liza through every step of the process – from school selection to brainstorming; essay writing to resume drafting; and even through the interview process. I highly recommend the complete package because it allows you to develop a relationship and working style with your consultant, while not being worried about the cost through every essay draft and phone call. I also used Liza on an hourly basis for a third school, which was sufficient because we were able to build off the work we had done for the two school package.

Working with Liza was worth every penny (and it was a lot of pennies). She provided me with all of the “must-haves” of an admissions consultant, including: keeping me on a schedule, being readily available and reliable and proof reading my work to 100% grammatical correctness. In addition, mbaMission's general process and how Liza guided me through it was critical to my success in the process. First, they provide strong overall process and school specific guides to get you started up the seemingly unsurmountable mountain of work that is applying to business school. Second, from my experience with Liza and reading through the bios on the website, mbaMission really does hire extremely qualified people who are impressive from both an academic and professional standpoint. This provides credibility to their insight and recommendations. Also, I found it extremely useful to get an unbiased reaction to my application from a credible source that you cannot get from friends, coworkers or family. Third, the process is structured and offers a critical brainstorming and self-assessment framework to lay the foundation for a strong application. I found this part of the process to be the most critical in discovering for myself what I want to do and how I communicate that to others, both for the business school application process as well as in the future. Finally, mbaMission really does work as a team and Liza was able to share insights from other clients and consultants on a variety of important topics from essay question strategy to interview focus.

However, most important were Liza’s personal attributes, style and hard work that lead me to recommend her so strongly. Liza was a pleasure to work with as she is both a good listener as well as an idea and thought partner and genuinely personally invested in your success. She helped me through every step of the process to craft a consistent and convincing story that I could be proud to submit and confident I put my best foot forward. Best of all, Liza is just a generally nice and cool person. I can’t wait to grab a cup of coffee with her and continue our great working relationship on a personal basis. Specifically though, the top three reasons I enjoyed working with Liza and would recommend working with her are:
1) She guides you in the right direction, while still allowing your point of view and voice to shine through
• I’ve heard that other consultants will “rip you a new one” and completely change your ideas and direction. However, Liza was very constructive with me – focusing on my cool, unique attributes and not a cookie cutter application format
• By helping you to come to the conclusions yourself you can develop the most conviction behind your application and create something really genuine
2) She spends the time to get to know you and your story so she can genuinely help you brainstorm and discover your best ideas
• There were many instances where Liza would recall an experience I told her about that was worth highlighting or an angle of an experience that wasn’t as obvious to me being someone who lived it. Her attention to detail, hard work and dedication in this aspect were vital to me
3) All of her edits / revisions are timely, thoughtful, analytical and never just a check the box / check for grammar exercise (no superficial editing)
• One of my biggest writing weaknesses is being precise and knowing where I can cut. She provided a huge value add to me here by giving me concrete opinions and suggestions while still allowing my full store to come through

In the end, I was admitted to HBS and Wharton so I really couldn’t have hoped for a better result! Overall, I highly recommend working with a consultant to make sure you put your best foot forward in your application. I was extremely happy with mbaMission and Liza Weale specifically, and would recommend her to anyone serious about applying to a top MBA program.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

LIZA WEALE - thank you, with your help I got into Wharton and HBS!
March 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 29, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Liza Weale
***LIZA WEALE is the most EFFECTIVE and EFFICIENT collaborator I have ever worked with!!!***
*SHE WILL HELP YOU CRAFT YOUR BEST PACKAGE POSSIBLE!*

I’m a 10 year veteran with a below 700 GMAT. I knew I would need to craft my best package possible in order to be competitive for R2 submissions. I applied to Kellogg (D), Wharton (A), and HBS (M). I began working on my applications around July and had already written my essays and resume by the time I approached Liza in October.

Even though I had engaged peers and alumni from all three schools to provide feedback on my essays and resume, I still felt uneasy with the feedback I received. My peers knew me well and had a military background – I felt I needed to engage someone with a keen eye and a different background. That’s when I reached out to MBAmission.

I got lucky by picking Liza Weale – after reading her background, she seemed like someone I would want to work with, a decision I don’t regret. She was able to relate to me, teach me new skills, keep me positive, and above all – provide an honest estimate of her services.

Liza Weale is a military brat (an endearing word to those that grew up traveling the country and world, base to base), so she had the perfect mix between knowing enough about the military to understand some context – but not enough to read past jargon. It was this balance that allowed her to provide hard hitting insight into my stories. If something made no sense – she’d give it to me straight. It really forced me to reflect on my stories in a way I could not have done on my own. This paid dividends when I interviewed at HBS. She is also extremely sharp and succinct. I had fears working over the phone – having done many teleconferences, I know what a waste of time they can turn out to be, but she was able to make every minute count. One phone call in my mind equated to 50 emails (be prepared to take copious notes when you call her!) Working with her opened my eyes to the caliber of professionals that I would potentially work with after earning an MBA. She was EXACTLY the kind of person I was seeking.

Liza Weale played the role of teacher. Regardless of the outcome of my application – I knew I was walking away from this experience a better writer. She opened my eyes to the “Show don’t Tell” technique of writing. This skill set has translated into my profession and has helped me teach others write better too.

Liza Weale played the role of a support network. Few of my friends could understand the stress I felt or odds I was up against. There were times when I doubted my own package – knowing that I was outside the median in almost every category tracked. She was always positive, over email and the phone – even when providing tough feedback. Her positive attitude never wavered and it helped crush any doubt that began to creep into my head.

Above all – Liza Weale is honest. I was willing to pay for the much more expensive deluxe service package. But after she had a chance to review my brainstorming document, essays, and resume, she recommended the hourly rate – recognizing I would not need hours and hours of her assistance. I do give myself credit – I had to play my part too – I was receptive to her insights and did the hard work of crafting and re-crafting my essays. She was acted as a rudder – providing steering direction toward my goals.

***COUNT YOURSELF LUCKY IF LIZAWEALE HAS AVAILABILTY TO HELP YOU!***
I am giving her name to all my friends who decide to pursue an MBA as well
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Liza and MBA Mission - Keys to my success
March 26 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 4, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Liza Weale
My admission would absolutely not have been possible without Liza. Liza was not simply a consultant that plugged in when needed, but a thought partner that worked with me every step of the way. Her holistic approach helped me create an application that encompassed my most pertinent professional and personal experiences and allowed me to tell my story.

Beginning with a brainstorming session, Liza asked the probing questions necessary to get a true sense of who I was and what I had to offer. This in turn lay the foundation for our work moving forward. With every school’s application, Liza would draw pieces from our initial brainstorm that she felt best addressed the objectives of each application question. Once we began diving into the outlining and drafting stages of the essays, Liza provided very detailed notes as well as high-level feedback to guide my thinking. One of the main advantages of working with Liza and MBA Mission in general was that this feedback was not always a product of one person’s thinking, but rather the community of consultants at the company. If we came across an obstacle during the writing process, Liza would reach out to colleagues who had experienced a similar situation with a client of their own. It was never a matter of providing a quick-fix, but rather conducting the due-diligence to arrive at the most appropriate solution. Liza’s working style turned out to be very beneficial as well, as she would continuously urge me to push back on her suggestions rather than accepting them verbatim. This in turn created a dialogue that helped me craft a better strategy for tackling the questions at hand and ultimately a clearer story.

Liza’s assistance went beyond the multiple essay drafts though. She worked closely with my recommenders to help create letters that highlighted traits deemed most important by my target schools. She helped me build a resume that showcased my leadership abilities rather than a compilation of projects I had been involved with. She conducted mock interviews via Skype and helped me prepare in a fashion that allowed me to respond confidently using my own words and ideas rather than spouting a set of rehearsed responses. She even reviewed my short answer responses to make sure that I was taking full advantage of the application’s real estate. And she did all of this while managing a timeline to make sure that I met each school’s application deadline.

In short, Liza and MBA Mission were one of the best investments I’ve ever made and I would highly recommend the service and Liza in particular to anyone who is serious about receiving that coveted letter from the school of their choice.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.