Liza Weale

Senior Consultant


    
Number of reviews [34]


Company: mbaMission
Packages: * School Packages   Hourly Services   Profile Preparation Coaching  
After leaving a career in private sector technology, Liza Weale headed to MIT Sloan for her MBA. Among other activities there, she coached her classmates on cover letters and resumes as the teaching assistant for first-year communications. After graduating, Liza began a new career in management consulting with Bain & Company, where she worked with clients in education, health care and consumer products, while in her free time guiding her associate consultants through the MBA admissions process. She also served on the “Bain-MIT Sloan” recruiting team to help attract, coach and hire MIT Sloan first and second years. She later joined Scholastic as director of product marketing for its fledgling math programs, which she grew by five times in two years, all the while advising junior colleagues and acquaintances on their business school applications. Wanting to further her marketing expertise, Liza then became executive director of Kaplan Test Prep’s GMAT and GRE business lines, not only owning the programs’ strategic decisions but also heading up all marketing and curriculum development efforts. Although she is well known at Kaplan for her work rewriting and editing customer-facing brochures, Web sites, textbooks, speeches, scripts, newsletters and emails, her true passion lies in helping people “market” themselves in their MBA applications. Liza volunteers with the MIT Sloan Alumni Club and serves as an officer for the alumni in her class.

Source: http://www.mbamission.com/about/?display=team&name=liza-weale


Liza Weale's Reviews
Good, but not worth the money for the full-package
May 28 | 2015

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By dtse86 joined: February 3, 2014 | 479 | 162 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Profile Preparation Coaching   Consultant:  Liza Weale
I decided to use an admissions consultant because I knew that with my low undergraduate GPA, it'd be difficult to get into my desired schools.

I chose to go with Liza after an initial 30 minute consultation. I was extremely impressed with her insight and with her advice, I decided to change my application strategy.

I bought a one school complete package although I knew I was going to apply to several. My plan was to utilize the important aspects of the first application on the later ones.

For the most part, she laid out the process with me and met the expectations and promises with regards to turn around times.

In the beginning, I found her insights and points very good in regards to what the admissions selection committee may think and how to address certain aspects of my application. However when it came to her comments/edits on my essays, I found them lacking in substance. Most of her essay reviews seemed more focused on meeting word limits rather than making sure the essay gave the intended impact and conveyed my message. In later essays for other schools, I found myself more critical than her and suggestions from friends and family more helpful.

She did also help with my resume and prepping my recommenders. Both of my recommenders come from non-MBA backgrounds and so I strongly believe the materials she gave me to prep them helped. However, a lot of the advice for both prepping recommenders and writing good resumes are easily found online here at GMATClub or on other admissions consultants' blogs.

Ultimately, I was rejected from the school I purchased the package for, but was admitted into 2 others and waitlisted at one. It's hard to tell how much Liza contributed to those successes however I do think she helped in some part. Whether or not I would've gotten into those schools without an admissions consultant is tough to say, but I do think much of the support and help she provided could have been gotten at a much cheaper cost to me.

Looking back, I wished that I had hired her hourly for the resume writing and recommender prep, but used a specific essay reviewing company (like Essay Snark) for the essay reviews. In the end, I'm not upset that I had used her services, however I do think I spent too much money and that for me, it wasn't worth it.

Liza's a wonderful person and extremely intelligent, however for me, who already put a lot of time researching and being critical on my own application, her value was wasted and lost.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Made for a More Confident Application
May 22 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 22, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Liza Weale
From the initial consulting phase to the end product, I really enjoyed working with my consultant, Liza. I used the service primarily for essay feedback and resume review. Using the service gave me the confidence I needed to make sure I did everything I could in order to get into an MBA school as my GMAT score wasn't as high as I would have liked it to be. Liza was great at providing feedback to my work to make sure I highlighted the right touchpoints in the right way. I'd highly recommend the service if you're looking for that boost to make sure you did everything you could when applying. Thanks, Liza!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Thank you mbaMission!
May 17 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 11, 2014 | 40 | 10 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Liza Weale
I rarely write reviews but after working together with Liza Weale from mbaMission for more than 6 months, it was such a pleasant experience that I can't help but feel obligated to write one.

A little background about myself: I have a hybrid (IT & Management mix) consulting background in an okay consulting firm (obviously not MBB). My undergraduate was just okay - decent GPA from a public school but also a community college transfer student. Furthermore, I had limited extracurricular and leadership activities. Thankfully, at least I had an average GMAT for M7 schools. As you can see, I'm pretty much an average Joe professional and doesn't exactly exude "pedigree".

After a few years of working, I wanted to apply for MBA to move to a top consulting firm but I wasn't sure whether I could make it to the top schools. I had a free consultation with Liza out of curiosity and told her my background and goals. I asked her whether I could make it to M7 schools, knowing she'd probably tell me to aim lower but to my surprise, she actually said I had a fighting chance!

Liza was incredibly helpful in identifying my strengths and weaknesses during the initial call, which gave me assurance that she knows what she's doing. I decided to get the 4 school packages, which was a bit pricy, but I knew that if got into just one out of those four, I'd easily multiply my investment!

Since I was applying to four top schools, the application process itself was incredibly challenging and stressful, but Liza was very helpful in setting up timelines and milestones to organize and help alleviate the stress and burden. Furthermore, she was really flexible in rescheduling calls or modifying milestones to accommodate for times when work was crushing me. I also greatly appreciated her encouragement and direct constructive criticisms during the busiest periods - I knew that she really cares about her clients and wants us to be successful!

To me, Liza's greatest strength was her ability to identify strengths in my background (that I wasn't even aware of!) and make sure that they are reflected well in my essays. There were several occasions when I wasn't sure what to write about and she helped me brainstorm to come up with these brilliant ideas! A note of caution though: she will decimate and revamp your essay, which was for the good of course, but sometimes it was a bit frustrating since I spent hours working on it!

Even though I somewhat expected it, when the rejections started rolling in, I started to panic. I was incredibly stressed and nervous that all this hard work and money would go down the drain. Thankfully, Liza helped me calm down and keep focus. When I finally got that elusive interview, she immediately helped me prep and gave me incredible tips to make sure that I was ready for it. I made sure to follow her advice and hoped for the best.

Long story short, I was accepted to one of the top schools with my average Joe background and I definitely attribute my success to Liza's help!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Liza Weale Review
May 04 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By RFA0905 joined: May 4, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Waitlisted
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Liza Weale
Liza was a great partner throughout the application process and went well beyond what I expected. From the beginning I had a good idea of the schools I wanted to apply and she helped me design a solid strategy to tackle them and think about some safe alternatives.

As you go through the application process you try to get everything right, from the stories you tell, to the way you tell them, to how you fill the application form. And Liza was there to help me every step of the way.

When I was waitlisted Liza helped me regain my confidence and continue to fight for a place.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Liza Weale Review
April 20 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 20, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Liza Weale
I worked with Liza on an hourly basis because I was not sure how many schools I wanted to apply to. My applications would not have reached their full potential with Liza’s help. Simply put, Liza’s services are well worth the price. She not only helped me with the applications directly but also consulted on which schools to apply to. Without Liza’s help I would not have known of Cornell’s strengths in the finance space. I could not have asked for a more creative, compassionate, and responsive consultant. Without Liza, I would still be stuck in my current role with no future in sight. Now, I am on my way to a successful MBA career. Working with Liza has been a pleasure.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Highly recommend Liza
April 18 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By throwaway311 joined: November 25, 2013 | 39 | 12 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Liza Weale
Liza was an extremely helpful consultant who helped me tremendously through every step of the b-school app process. From the very beginning, she played an instrumental role guiding me towards schools best-suited for my career objectives and personal interests.

I cannot imagine crafting my story without her help. My background was non-traditional, but as I'm sure as every applicant can attest to, it's difficult to summarize your accomplishments and goals in a concise, thoughtful manner.

She reviewed each draft (of which there were probably too many) and provided excellent insight that really helped me strategically frame my background to position me as a strong candidate.

Her feedback, returned very quickly, and obvious compassion she exhibits to her clients makes the b-school process a little less daunting. She went above and beyond and continues to answer my most mundane questions post-acceptance, despite my running out of paid hours.

Liza truly cares about each of her clients, and I highly recommend her for anyone considering a consultant.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Highly Recommend Liza Weale! Greatly Exceeded Expectations!
April 15 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By egand1988 joined: April 15, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Liza Weale
Simply put, Liza’s input improved the quality of my applications and interview prep to a point it would not have reached if I only relied on my friends/family and myself.

I worked with Liza on an hourly basis since I decided to engage a consultant late in the application process. I was skeptical of the value of a consultant given the support I had from both alumni and family. However, even on the short 30 minute intro call, it was clear that Liza brought a professional lens I needed. As a former management consultant herself, she could relate to the story I was trying to tell and suggested straightforward ways to improve my reasoning behind ‘why an MBA’ to make it resonate with schools. Throughout our engagement (email back and forths on apps, essays, and a couple mock interview sessions), I found her feedback to be tactical, easy to implement, and she always made it clear how her suggested edits could improve my application. The feedback was also prompt and she made it feel like we were a team that had the same priorities.

In addition to the nuts and bolts of the application, working with Liza gave me the confidence I needed throughout the process. She made me feel more prepared, which was a difficult task given the amount of constructive feedback she gave :). In the end, I got into my first choice school and I don’t think that would have happened without her support.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Highly Recommend Liza Weale!
April 02 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 15, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Liza Weale
I had known for a while that I wanted to apply to business school – specifically, to some of the most competitive programs out there. Since the application process seemed so daunting, I decided early on to use a consultant. A friend and mentor of mine introduced me to mbaMission, and I had a 30 minute consultation with Jeremy Shinewald. Jeremy paired me up with Liza Weale, describing her as an “excellent consultant” and someone who is “very personally invested, taking each client deeply personally”. After nearly a year of working with Liza, I wholeheartedly agree.

From the moment I met Liza, I could tell that she was truly passionate about her work and took the application process very seriously. She was enthusiastic and energetic, and I was excited to begin the process together. Our first task was brainstorming – helping me to rack my brain for stories, anecdotes, experiences, etc. that I might turn into my essays. Liza helped me to craft my story, stringing together my experiences in a way that painted a true picture of who I was as a professional and as an individual. I was immediately impressed and felt much more at ease.

Liza was incredibly helpful in editing and tweaking my essays (as well as helping me with the short answers, preparing me for interviews, etc). Her comments and edits weren’t just “word smithing” – she gave thoughtful feedback with concrete suggestions for how to improve the idea/flow. She knew my “story” so well that she often suggested adding anecdotes to strengthen my essay that I hadn’t even thought about! On some of my essays, we went through 20+ iterations – and she worked just as hard on the last iteration as she did on the first.

But, it was much more than essay help. Trust me – the process can be stressful, defeating and tricky. Liza was my therapist, confidant, and strategist all in one! She ALWAYS made herself available to answer to my questions (and calm my fears) – and I had a lot of them!

Liza always went above and beyond to streamline my story and really push me to put forth top-notch applications. Perhaps my favorite part about working with Liza was how proactive she was – she didn’t wait for me to ask a question or raise a concern, but instead continuously brought things to my attention that I should consider. For example, she didn’t hesitate to suggest a re-write of my essay (taking a completely different direction), even if it meant more work for her. And often, I would get emails to the effect of “I was thinking more about XYZ, and even though my gut reaction was to do X, I think we might want to consider doing Y. Here’s why…” Liza’s dedication to her role was infectious and second to none. I felt as though she was working just as hard as I was, and really took my applications as seriously as I did. While I’m sure she had a number of clients, I always felt like I was getting her undivided, personal attention.

I owe a great deal of my success in the B-school process to Liza. I got into my dream school (HBS)! I’ve already recommended her to my friends and co-workers. If you’re serious about business school, don’t hesitate to work with mbaMission – and more specifically with Liza! It’s definitely worth the investment.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Strongly recommended!
March 30 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 8, 2014 | 2 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Liza Weale
I had many friends who applied to MBA programs a year before I did, and most of them used a consultant. However, not a single one wanted to recommend their consultant to me as they did not find their consultants to be helpful or worth the cost. Eventually, I looked into mbamission and was matched up with Liza. I’ll be attending HBS next fall, and I’m really not sure if I could have gotten to this point without all of Liza’s help.
I purchased a 3 school start-to-finish package. It was worth the cost – it took over a year from first speaking to Liza to receiving the final decision from the 3rd school, and Liza was there to give guidance at every step of the way. The unlimited assistance was very valuable. Liza played a key role in everything from brainstorming my initial essay topics to helping fill out the short answers to preparing for the interviews. I had many questions along the way and Liza answered each question quickly and thoughtfully.
There are many reasons why I STRONGLY recommend Liza. Here are a few of them:
- Liza makes your essays better. Sounds obvious but most of my friends wouldn’t say that about their consultants. It’s not hard to tell someone what you don’t like about their essays or why you don’t think they’re good. I had several colleagues apply at the same time as I did and I saw the types of comments that they received from their consultants – no concrete ideas, no specific suggestions on how to improve the essays, just high level thoughts and a few grammar changes. Liza puts thought into every single sentence in your essay. Through the brainstorming, Liza got to know me so well that she was able to think of experiences from my past that I could reflect upon in specific places in the essays. She pushed me to make each essay the best it can be through 10+ iterations per essay.
- Liza is thinking about your applications even when you’re not. There were numerous times when I got emails from Liza with ideas even when the essays were in my court. I doubt there are many consultants out there that do that.
- Liza was always prompt in getting her comments back to me. Mbamission has a 2 day policy, and in a year of working with Liza, she was never late. Not once. As someone who works long hours, I can’t stress enough how helpful it was to know exactly when you would receive Liza’s thoughts. Liza also went above and beyond the hours she had to work. She was willing to have calls on weekends when work wouldn’t allow me to have weekday calls. She was willing to review my HBS post-interview reflection on a Saturday, because I interviewed on a Friday. None of my colleagues had consultants who were willing to do the same.
I got into my dream school and I couldn’t be happier. I highly recommend working with Liza if you’re serious about the MBA application process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Among the best out there
February 05 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Tryingreallyhard joined: July 28, 2013 | 4 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  * School Packages   Consultant:  Liza Weale
The first time I applied, I got dinged from 5 schools - no interview invites. Next year, I worked hard to figure out what went wrong and also decided to purchase a 4 school package with mbaMission.

I spent around a month just to figure out which consultant I wanted to work with and finally chose Liza Weale. I made this decision because when I spoke to her during the 30 minute free consultation, I was impressed by the fact that she could give inputs on how to improve specific points on my resume/ application (unlike some other consultants, from other firms, who would simply point out what's wrong but couldn't tell me clearly how to do it right). For instance, a consultant from another firm, after looking at my rejected application, told me that I had to take on a significant leadership role in my company within the next 2-3 months to actually have a chance at the schools I was targeting. Another said that my resume was typical of how others from my country would generally make it, it wasn't "American enough" - she couldn't tell me though how to make it more American. So, after all my research, I chose Liza because of her straightforwardness and ability to present achievements in the most impactful manner (that is, primarily, what the role of an admissions consultant is, I believe).

One thing that was certain from the very beginning, Liza was very professional. Not once did she fail to meet her turnaround deadline and this was done without compromising on the quality – I remember sending her 6-7 documents for review on a particular weekend and she was able to revert back on all of them by Tuesday!! Additionally, she was also kind enough to incorporate my requests for a faster turnaround than usual on a couple of occasions.

Coming to the work part, she initially helped me decide which schools to apply to - I eventually got in to a school that she had encouraged me to consider. During essay reviews, Liza always pointed out areas of improvement and gave me a direction to think, she never told me exactly what to write – which is a good thing because it made me feel that it was still all my work and Liza was there to guide me. Of course, we got stuck several times, especially on how to portray a past endeavor of mine where I hadn’t completely succeeded but which was a major talking point on my application. Liza helped me craft it in a way that demonstrated its impact and showed my failure as a learning step. Getting it right took 3-4 attempts but when I finally did receive my invite (call), I was told that my work on this endeavor was one of the factors they decide to offer me admission.

Another thing that I liked was that Liza would regularly encourage me push back on her suggestions and was mindful of how I felt about what I was writing. Almost every review of her was accompanied with some words of encouragement which is very important in such a grueling process (especially when you are a re-applicant).

While I had chosen only a 4 school package, I was also applying to other schools on my own and Liza often answered some questions related to those schools – which gave me a feeling that she also genuinely wanted me to get into a good school and that working with me was more than just a commitment that she had to fulfill.

I got accepted to one of the top 5 schools and got an interview invite from another (which I couldn’t convert). Additionally, I also have an interview invite from another school that I had applied to on my own. Considering what happened last year, I am so glad I made the right choice this year. I would strongly recommend Liza to anyone looking for guidance on their application.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.