Margaret


    
Number of reviews [28]


Company: Stacy Blackman Consulting
Packages: Comprehensive Service   Hourly Services   Hourly Services  
Margaret's Reviews
Would recommend to anyone
March 17 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 17, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Margaret
I had a very positive experience with Stacy Blackman, and Margaret particularly. I did the hourly service and Margaret was extremely sensitive with my time and used it efficiently and with care. I liked that most of our communications were via email so we could respond to each other quickly.

The greatest strength in my opinion was helping you craft your own story. Margaret really listened to my experiences and helped me pull out relevant stories that would be compelling to admissions. One of my biggest concerns going into the consulting process was that my essays wouldn't sound "like me." That is the exact opposite of my experience here -- my essays were the best versions of my experiences and views, in my own voice. This was never compromised.

Margaret also assisted tremendously with prioritization. She told me when to move on from an essays that were 95% of the way there in order to spend time on essays that needed more work. This was helpful when coming up against deadlines, while working at a full-time job, as we all do.
Margaret was ruthless when managing her and my time - it was incredibly helpful!

I didn't notice a particular weakness, but my advice would be to take an inventory of where you think you might need the most help. I was very sensitive to the financial investment here, so I wanted to focus on the areas where I thought they could make the most impact. For example, I didn't have Margaret help too much with recommendations. I edited these myself and I'm very comfortable with how these turned out. This will differ with everyone, I'm sure, but worth thinking about where the consultant can add the most value for you.

Overall, highly recommend! They gave me a lot of confidence throughout the process that I was on the right track. I absolutely think they made a difference in my applications.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

SBC was a true partner
February 10 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 10, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Margaret
In short, I was very happy that I chose to hire Stacy and team. My consultant was absolutely great. Her biggest assistance was in helping me craft my essay topics and frame my stories in a more compelling way. We'd do this by sending drafts back and forth via email, first revising the big-picture" then working on the specific wordings and grammar. Between our initial phone discussions and reading my essays, Margaret got to know me quite well so she knew what kind of personal questions to ask and suggestions to make. I believe that we were up to version 15 for some of the essays, but by the end I had full confidence that my essays were as best as they could be. Margaret also gave me a mock interview over the phone before each of my real interviews and double checked my data sheets and resume before I submitted everything. Her turn around time was no more than 24 hours for essay revisions, but normally much shorter if I just had a quick question. Margaret would sometimes check with Stacy and others on tricky aspects or judgment calls on my application. The best thing about Stacy Blackman consulting is that it is truly a consulting relationship where I felt that they were my partners and they really wanted me to succeed.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Haas Admit, Thank you SBC!
February 09 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 9, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Margaret
I found that b-school applications were very much about selling myself, which is something that didn't come comfortably to me at all. Margaret helped me discover aspects about me that I previously thought were mundane, taught me to talk them up, and turned them into selling points. She also turned my marginally-readable essays into literary genius! The whole applications process was extremely demanding and just as a professional athlete has a coach and agent, having Margaret in these roles kept me motivated through this arduous process, which was critical for me in getting my best application in.The Stacy Blackman service is expensive. I found that it's absolutely worth the money because my results speak volumes. With my undergrad GPA well under 3.0, I didn't even have dreams of Haas, but with your focused gameplan, I made it in! Stacy's stats don't lie. Her clients make it in to where they want to go!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Four admits thanks to SBC and Margaret!
February 08 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 8, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Margaret
I have been waiting ever since last year when I first saw Stacy Blackman's testimonial page to write the following: I have been accepted to all four of my schools!!! There is absolutely no way that this ever could have happened without the help of Stacy Blackman Consulting. When I started the process, I would have been thrilled to have been accepted to just one of my schools: UVA, UCLA, Duke or Georgetown and it was only after I started working with SBC that it dawned on me that I might actually have my pick, because my applications were looking far better than I ever imagined they would. My consultant, Margaret, guided me through every step of the application process from selecting my schools to sharpening up my resume to crafting my essays and I will be forever grateful for her help. Her insights into the essay questions were critical. She didn't write a single word of my essays, but she did help me think about the essay questions and how I could best tackle them, given my academic and professional experiences, in a way that I could never have done without her. Having gone through the process on my own a couple of years ago, I can unequivocally state that hiring Stacy Blackman Consulting is one of the smartest things I have ever done. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Advice
February 08 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 8, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Margaret
Stacy Blackman Consulting is a legit consulting service. The process would have been a lot more stressful without the great advice I received. The people I worked with at SBC gave me great advice. Before I began the application process, I had no idea where I fit in the candidate pool. Margaret and Esther at Stacy Blackman Consulting guided me in the right direction and helped advise me to make the right choices strategically to maximize my chances of getting into my top choice schools. I ended up doing extremely well overall. There are a lot of pretenders out there, but Stacy Blackman Consulting is the real deal!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

HBS Admit, Early Career, Thanks to Margaret and SBC!
February 06 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 6, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Margaret
I still can't believe that I was accepted to HBS straight out of undergrad, without any entrepreneurship experience and without being a Rhodes Scholar. Margaret- I am absolutely certain I could NEVER have done it without your insight and guidance. Thank you so much. I was looking at the first drafts of my essays, and they were laughable! They had so much unnecessary content and were so bland. Your feedback really forced me to make my essays far more insightful and concentrated, even though I often had to rewrite a lot of material after receiving your comments. Sometimes I would try to postpone opening my email because I knew a lot of hard work would follow as soon as I received your feedback! But all the hard work really paid off. You were always very prompt and available, both via email and the phone. I always received your feedback the day I sent you my essays, resume, or data form. With your help, each part of my application reinforced the others to present a very authentic picture of me. I knew getting in to HBS straight out of undergrad would be very difficult. I was realistic about the strong possibility I would not get in simply because of that. Even if I had been rejected, I would have used your consulting again as a reapplicant that's how much I felt your guidance strengthened my application. We worked really well together.This really is a dream come true, and I could never have done it without your help!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Tough Love Worked, HBS Admit
February 04 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 4, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Margaret
I have an oddball background that is very atypical, and I am self
employed which presented issues with recommendations. My consultant at SBC was not troubled by any of my issues and knew exactly how to handle all of it. She gave great direction, boosted my confidence and saved me from sleepless nights trying to figure out what to do. I really respected Margaret, and the way she managed my applications with a lot of care as well as firm direction. Now that I am b-school bound I can say I feel like I made a friend in this process, as well as learned a lot about myself. It was a valuable journey that is ending with me at
Harvard Business School. I am grateful for the guidance that I received, and I highly recommend Stacy Blackman Consulting. It's a great company with a stellar group of people.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

SBC and Margaret: Really Great Investment
February 03 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 3, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Margaret
It was terrific working on my b-school apps with SBC and I am going to my first choice program so I am quite happy with my results. My consultant, Margaret, was awesome. She was unbelievably patient, never made me feel like any request was too much and simply gave great advice. She was calm, organized and together we put together a couple of really strong applications that I absolutely know I could not have created on my own. My biggest concern going in - would working with a consultant dilute my voice? Absolutely not. She guided me to bringing out my voice, not disguising it. I also found the SBC guides to be really helpful and used them as resources throughout. Great tips, samples, really clear guidance.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

SBC and Margaret brought me a Life Changing Opportunity
January 30 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 30, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Margaret
The application process was a very expensive one for me with the prep courses, GMAT materials, tutors, etc., but the best decision I ever made was deciding to work with Stacy Blackman and with Margaret Strother in particular. In a process that requires you to uncover your personal weaknesses, goals, strengths, and dreams, Margaret was incredibly easy to talk to and knew exactly what to do with the information that I was telling her, which was incredibly important because I had no idea what to do with it. There were bumps in the road, and weaknesses that we had to address, but Margaret helped me to develop a strategy that made my strengths as strong as possible. With her help, I was accepted to the Fuqua School of Business at Duke University, my first choice school. In our last meeting, we talked about this being a "life-changing opportunity", and I'm certain that it's one that I never would have had without Margaret's help.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Experience of the team is unparalleled
January 26 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 26, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Margaret
Honestly, after working with Stacy Blackman Consulting for the past months, I cannot in a million years imagine going it alone. I am so thankful that I had in Margaret an expert partner, who helped me and had my back at every turn. When I think about the most valuable aspects of my experience, there are really two that stand out: Number 1) Guidance in marketing myself. What I learned from Margaret was that I was trying to recite the details of my background like a resume, rather than telling my story in a more strategic way. So I would say "I told job A then job B, then decided to go to school" instead of explaining who what how and why! She grilled me and grilled me and got me to answer real questions about myself that went far beyond just what I did. It completely altered the way I viewed my applications. Number 2) Review layers. I had several sets of eyes on each one of my applications. Margaret guided the entire show but we always had other weighing in at different times and that was really valuable. Capturing different perspectives and opinions in a very organized way was awesome. I am very happy that I hired Margaret at Stacy Blackman and had the support of their expertise behind me. They have been in the biz longer than anyone and I do think that says a lot.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.