Margaret Strother's Instructor Reviews
Number of reviews [12]
Margaret at SBC
March 25 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 11, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Margaret Strother
B-school apps can be challenging, frustrating, scary, and overwhelming. At the end of the day, it really helps to have a professional by your side to guide your thought process as you think about the topics for your essays, and the overall strategy for each school. I worked with Margaret at SBC, and can say from the bottom of my heart that she did a great job in steering me in the right direction. While I didn't get into my first choice school, I ended up in a top-20 school with a FULL FELLOWSHIP, which means my entire tuition was paid for (I didn't apply for any fellowships, but was rather selected based on my application, which was a ridiculously nice surprise). As I look back, I remember second guessing the essay topics for the B-school. It seemed they were too cheesy, too personal. Margaret didnt let me stray and reassured me in every revision of the essays. I can honestly say that without Margaret I would not have written these essays and who knows whether I would have gotten the same result. If I had to do anything differently, I would have been a bit more creative and brave with the topics I chose for other B-schools. At the end of the day, SBC and Margaret were there for me to guide my own options, they could only work with what they had. SBC won't make up ideas for you, won't write the application for you, so you really have to be determined to stand out and show the school who you really are with how you write your application. SBC will however guide your thinking as you write the essays, focus the topic on important factors that we tend to skip over but the admissions committee really care about, and help you understand which topic, in which manner makes your application the strongest. Thank you Margaret and thank you SBC!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Margaret Strother at Stacy Blackman
March 23 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 21, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Margaret Strother
The MBA admissions process was more stressful and time consuming than I could ever have imagined but I was extremely fortunate to work with Margaret Strother at Stacy Blackman. Margaret exceeded all expectations I had from an admissions consultant. She took a great deal of time initially to understand my background and help me to come up with a way to explain my experience in a way that would be attractive to business schools. She then had a clear strategy for structuring, planning and then writing each essay. I was absolutely delighted with all the essays I submitted. I had my parents read through them too and they were very impressed!

Margaret's assistance went far beyond my essays, however. She kept a check on every aspect of my application - who my referees were, what they were saying, how many alumni I had spoken to for each school, how many events I was attending and what I was saying at these events. Margaret was fantastic to work with and didn't stand for any nonsense - at one point she didn't like the sound of one of my referees and was absolutely adamant that I go out and fine another!

I feel very lucky to have worked with Margaret. Not only did I get into my first choice school, but I also feel I learnt a huge amount about myself throughout the application process. Margaret taught me a great deal about selling myself, my strengths and weaknesses, and what I needed to get out of an MBA. She helped me to refine my post-MBA targets and I feel better equipped to achieve those targets having worked with Margaret. I never expected that, in addition to my successful applications. Margaret is also a real pleasure to work with and I miss our Skype calls!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Margaret Strother
March 16 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Margaret Strother
Margaret offered me exactly the kind of tips and advice I needed when applying to B schools. She was encouraging and supportive, but also realistic and pragmatic. She helped me identify programs that I was best suited for, which would add the most value to my post MBA goals.

European schools tend to have more essay-intensive applications and Margaret's copywriting background was very beneficial during the essay writing process. She worked with me to identify the most relevant details for each essay and present them in a manner that had the greatest impact.

I highly recommend Margaret's service for the MBA application process.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Thank you SBC - Great experience
March 10 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 1, 2012 | 12 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Margaret Strother
I worked with Stacy Blackman Consulting in 2013. My Consultant was Margaret Strother and I really enjoyed working with her over a span of five months. I was specifically interested in top European schools (only applied to Kellogg in US) and at first wasn't too sure about working with a consultant from North America. I was proven wrong over and over again by Margaret's depth of knowledge and SBC's overall support during some very tense moments of my life. Margaret and I worked closely to come up with stories that felt great to me and also positioned me as a unique candidate for my target schools. She was frank in her approach and extremely diligent in her reviews; I wrote and rewrote my essays upwards of 12 times in some instances. I was extremely impressed by Margaret's (and SBC) integrity in the whole process. It was made clear from the initial meeting that they weren't going to paint a nice but untrue story or do my work for me. While I didn't have "holes" in my application, I was considered an older candidate; Margaret was very clear on the limitations that my age might bring to my candidacy and overall application(s). However, she fully supported me all the way with even the smallest things on my applications, interviews, etc. that hadn't crossed my wildest imagination before! I was admitted to all three schools I applied to and eventually accepted the offer from IMD as it was my school of choice.
Overall, my experience in working with Stacy Blackman Consulting has been great and would not hesitate to recommend them to any interested candidate.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Stacy Blackman Review
February 18 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 4, 2010 | 4 | |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Margaret Strother
I am an international applicant, an older candidate and a re-applicant. Though I had a decent academic profile and GMAT score, I was unable to secure admission in my initial attempts. I was desperate and had decided that this was going to be my last attempt at Full time programs.
I decided to look for a consultant, and decipher what it was I was doing wrong. After contacting a few firms, I liked SB for their prompt and detailed response. I also had a talk with Margaret, who was my primary consultant, and felt happy to work with her. She is encouraging and straight-forward. I also liked the fact that SB and Margaret have been working in this field for a number of years, so there was some history there. I had a clear idea of the schools that I wanted to apply to, in light of my interests and age and we started from there.
I had some basic ideas for the essays which we used, but our discussions really helped emphasize the human side of my stories. We also worked on my resume, and I think we went up to 8 or 9 drafts, before it got b-school ready. All of this was really helpful, because I was able to portray a complete picture of myself.
Working with her also ensured that I was completing everything way before the deadlines. This gave me sufficient time for school research and filling out the actual electronic application, things I had neglected previously. Overall, I was very happy with the quality of my applications, and was also quite prepared for my school visits and interviews.
Of the 4 schools I applied to, I got into 2, including my top choice. I will be joining an M7 program this year, and am very happy with the outcome.
Ultimately, a consultant cannot help you gain experience. You have to do it yourself, and depending upon your candidate profile, be realistic about where you should apply. But if you have done that properly, Margaret and SB can definitely ensure that your candidacy is highlighted in the best possible manner and make sure that all parts of your application package are perfectly developed so that your application is in the best shape it can be. My only regret, I should have worked with them earlier.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Thank you Stacy Blackman and especially Margaret Strother
February 03 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 6, 2013 | 3 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Margaret Strother
I want to thank Margaret for her help with my applications. She is extremely talented in her writing and was able to help me come up with really strong story lines and topics for my essays. I found that the way she would make me think critically on each essay was helpful for me to understand what the adcom wanted. She also guided me on how to differ my answers school to school, even when the question was very similar. I received interviews from every school that I applied to and I'm happy to announce that I will be attending my school of choice! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Huge praise for Margaret and SBC
August 22 | 2013

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Margaret Strother
Overwhelmed. That's how I felt when I started to plan my B school path. I had so many stories I wanted to convey and just didn't know how to assemble them together within the minimal words within the essays. So, I figured I would get some free advice with an initial 30-minute consult. Well, 3 days later I signed up for a 4-school comp with Stacy Blackman. I had NO idea how much I didn't know until that free consult with Julie. It was humbling and empowering because I realized that other applicants were benefiting from a partner and I deserved that edge, too. Margaret was my main partner throughout the 8-month relationship and she was incredible. She views the candidacy as a strategy that includes far more than the resume, rec letters, and essays. She coached me on everything, including interfacing with the school representatives during campus visits and additional work I needed (an online writing course, leadership in my community service). I feel like I worked hard during the application process and came away with not only admissions but also greater clarity on my own purpose! Margaret was my lead and I also had Caryn sharing her feedback on my first app. Caryn had been in AdComm before so her perspective refined my applications nicely. I had to choose between MIT and Haas and chose Sloan. I recommend SB's services wholeheartedly and without reservation.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Waste of Money
June 11 | 2013

3 out of 7 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 3, 2010 | 41 | 7 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Comprehensive Service   Consultant:  Margaret Strother
I think this was the biggest waste of my money. My consultant did not even remember what she spoke with me during our first meeting. After discussing the the schools we were going to apply to which suited my profile, she came back and gave me a totally different story on how i should apply to lower ranked schools. All this was very funny to me as prior to paying the fee I was given a totally different story on how my profile was great for a top 10 school and have a great chance of getting in however later I was given an entirely different picture.

Though my consultant was good and had some decent points it was nothing what one cannot do by himself. i would strongly recommend to work harder yourself and talk to students directly to make your application strong. This was the biggest waste of my money and how I regret it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

4/4 with Aringo
August 09 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By spencer45 joined: August 9, 2012 | 0 | |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - got into all
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Margaret Strother
Over the course of the process I discovered that the perfect combination of uncompromising professionalism, flexibility, and real personal attention is actually the secret of Aringo’s success.

In our shared work I always felt that all the knowledge and resources of the company are allocated to one single purpose - to help me achieve my goals. The personal touch made all the difference, they "caught me” every time I almost gave up on myself and caused me to get the best out of every small detail.

The results did not disappoint (4 out of 4: Stanford, Tuck, MIT, and Cornell including scholarships at some) and every time a school called me to tell me I was accepted, I hurried to update the “partners.” I would advise anyone who wants to increase their chances of being accepted at the longed - for school to utilize their unique experience.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Worked with Aringo, accepted to INSEAD
June 13 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By cowboy joined: June 12, 2012 | 15 | |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Hourly Services   Consultant:  Margaret Strother
As one who tried to get accepted in the past alone and failed regardless of excellent basic data, I saw with my own eyes how the application I built with your help is more focused and emphasizes my strong points.

Your preparation improved my interviewing ability in a wonderful way. And most importantly, all along the way you demonstrated support, encouragement, and faith.

There is no replacement for your strategic understanding of the process, the smart advice, and the constant support. You were there all along the way, at every hour and under tremendous time pressure.

The investment in Aringo paid off big - I was accepted to the only school to which I applied.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.