Mark Robinson

GMAT Instructor


    
Number of reviews [24]


Company: Veritas Prep
Packages: Veritas Prep Weekend Course   Veritas Prep Full Course   Veritas Prep Private Tutoring  
Locations: Houston, TX  

Mark is committed to leaving the world a better place than he found it.  By day he’s an environmental consultant; as the founder of Houston-based Momentum Bay Associates. he spends his days helping businesses go green profitably and educating all kinds of organizations on their ability to not only decrease their carbon footprints but also increase their positive impact on the world.  By night he’s among the most-tenured GMAT instructors in the world, having taught for Veritas Prep since 2002, when he picked up GMAT instruction as a way to earn money for an engagement ring.  Since that point his “love life” has grown to include loving the process of helping students master the GMAT and succeed in the MBA application process and beyond (not only that, but the engagement ring has led to more teaching opportunities for Mark and his wife, who now have three kids to mentor in the arts of math and grammar).

Having taught more than a thousand GMAT students in his Veritas Prep career, Mark still prides himself on treating each student like his first and only pupil, attacking practice test analysis and fundamental skill development with the same enthusiasm he has since his first classroom assignment in 2005. So whether it’s students studying geometry or companies investing in geothermal energy, Mark will spend the next decade (or more) making the world a better place, one project at a time.


Mark Robinson's Reviews
Excellent Course - Highly Recommend!
August 06 | 2015

       By jlawson21 joined: August 6, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Houston, USA | Taught by:  Mark Robinson
A friend of mine recommended the Veritas Prep course. At the beginning of the course, the instructor (Mark Alan Robinson) said the average increased score was 130 points. He focused on the most important topics of the GMAT and showed that he wanted each student to get the best possible score on the test so we could get into our business schools of choice. He even offered a bonus class outside of the core curriculum to field any questions, free of charge. After completing the course, I was extremely pleased with my score (increased 140 points!). I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to master the GMAT and if you’re in the Houston area, choose Mark Alan Robinson.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Veritas Mark Robinson
August 06 | 2015

       By WillyHendo joined: August 6, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: -100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Houston, USA | Taught by:  Mark Robinson
I took the In-Class Course with Mark Robinson from May-June 2015. Mark was an excellent instructor and taught me to think outside the box. He was always readily available and eager to answer any questions I had. I highly recommend his class to anyone in the future. I am not a math-savvy personal and he taught me how anything can be turned into a math problem, which thus helped me simplify difficult gmat questions. There were times where I got overwhelmed with some of the tricks but Mark was happy to stay afterward to help me understand them better. I finished the course feeling very confident about the test. Much more confident than I felt prior to the course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great course!
July 31 | 2015

       By loribivens joined: July 31, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Houston, USA | Taught by:  Mark Robinson
If you’re reading this review right now, you might be in a similar spot to where I was in April 2015. After 6 years of working professionally, I finally decided to take the plunge and try to get into B-school. I was overwhelmed, anxious, and quite frankly, a little terrified. I researched many GMAT prep courses and felt like Veritas Prep was the best fit for me – and it definitely did not disappoint! The material was tough and it did require you hold yourself accountable by doing homework outside of class. But while we were in class, our instructor (Mark Robinson) was awesome! Mark has a way of keeping you engaged after a long day at work and the 6 weeks seemed to fly by. I saw continuous improvement in my score week over week and by the end of the class it was up ~150 points. I also did 6 hours of private tutoring with Mark, which were extremely effective. I’m proud to say that I was accepted into the Rice MBA Professional program (Class of 2017) and it starts next week. The overwhelmed, anxious, and terrified feeling is rearing its head again – but it seemed to pay off last time!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Solid class - definitely worth it
February 02 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: February 2, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Houston, USA | Taught by:  Mark Robinson
Mark Robinson was a great GMAT prep instructor. He took his time to make sure all his students' questions were answered and everyone knew what they were doing. He truly cared about the success of his students, and he cared about everyone in general. He gave unique insight into the GMAT, revealing information that you would only get while enrolled in a course like Veritas. The course gave me a lot more confidence about the GMAT than I had going in. The way in which the course is taught really makes the whole process of taking the GMAT easier. If anyone takes the course in Houston they will really learn a lot from Mark.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Pleasant experience
January 05 | 2015

       By zbuschlen joined: January 5, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Houston, USA | Taught by:  Mark Robinson
Mark was a very good teacher and knew what he was talking about, even though sometimes he talked up his own political views a little too much. Raised my score over 100 points. Homework didn't seem forced and helped quite a bit. Gave very good tricks for both the quant and verbal section. I'd say the course was worth the money even if it seems steep at first. $1000 is nothing if you can get into the MBA program of your choosing. If the class that I took, Houston Full Course, is in any way indicative of the way other Veritas Prep classes go I would highly recommend it over any other test prep program out there.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Mark Alan Robinson
December 31 | 2014

       By tproto joined: December 31, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 170 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Houston, USA | Taught by:  Mark Robinson
when i first signed up for the veritas GMAT prep course, i felt slightly apprehensive. This was mot likely due to the fact that fpr the majority of my academic career I rarely relied on tutoring to accomplish my goals. Even when i did meet with tutors, I usually met with them privately, rather than in a group setting.

however, my worries were quickly put to rest when I met Mark. He moved the class along at a steady pace, but still managed to give me the attention i required. This is why I have recommended at least 3 people to take his class with Veritas (and i've heard similar positive feedback from them
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Houston Full Course Review, Instructor: Mark Alan Robinson
December 30 | 2014

       By maximillyuan joined: July 13, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Houston, USA | Taught by:  Mark Robinson
To be fair each instructor approaches the class differently, but I can without hesitation say that the Veritas Prep Class I took (taught by Mark Alan Robinson) was worth every single penny that I invested. Not only did the instructor present the information in easy to digest pieces, but he brought tremendous enthusiasm and energy to the evening class. I got a tremendous amount out of the class and know that it has improved my scores by 150 points through the practice tests that are available. If the class that I took, Houston Full Course, is in any way indicative of the way other Veritas Prep classes go I would highly recommend it over any other test prep program out there. Top notch teachers who are always willing to give it their all and go the extra step if needed. Seriously....don't hesitate and take the leap to a brighter career by starting here.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Highly Structured Classroom Program
December 30 | 2014

       By garober joined: December 30, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Houston, USA | Taught by:  Mark Robinson
The full course Veritas GMAT Prep was a very good experience for me. I learn and prepare best having a strongly structured program and having a plan on how to study with homework, pre-work and a Practice Test plan. The structure helped me to stay on track with my studying and get the most out of the classroom time. As with all classroom courses, the different learning speeds and levels of the students was a little frustrating, but preferable for me to a purely virtual experience. The instructor Mark is enthusiastic and excited to see his students succeed. He takes it seriously and so should you if you want to reach your full potential.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Veritas prep / Mark Robinson
December 26 | 2014

       By amort24 joined: March 8, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Houston, USA | Taught by:  Mark Robinson
Veritas prep offered tremendous training material in addition to a great teacher in Mark Robinson. VP and Mark helped me achieve the GMAT score I was looking for and ultimately acceptance to my top B school. Mark did a great job focusing on core areas of the GMAT , making sure the class had the basic concepts down before moving on to new material. He also offered up personal tips a student would have access to without attending the class. The class was well facilitated , which is important when covering so many different topics. Hats off to Mark Robinson and Veritas Prep.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Reaching your GMAT goals effectively
September 05 | 2014

       By mcfarland338 joined: June 20, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  Houston, USA | Taught by:  Mark Robinson
Mark Robinson did a very good job of instructing me how to take the GMAT. We not only went over problem solving strategies, but also how to critically examine what the question is asking. This has been the most invaluable piece of the tutoring, as I have seen significant improvements in my score by using this method. He also is able to use real world examples when breaking down a lot of the processes, which makes it easy for anyone to understand. Lastly, he is very flexible with scheduling, and works hard to keep progress moving forward on testing habits and scores.

I highly recommend Mark to anyone that wants to really achieve their GMAT goals, and to do so as efficiently as possible.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.