Matt Douglas


    
Number of reviews [9]


Company: Veritas Prep
Packages: Veritas Prep Full Course   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online   Veritas Prep Private Tutoring  
Locations: Online   Anaheim, CA   Pasadena, CA   San Diego, CA   San Francisco, CA  
Matt, who was Veritas Prep’s 2010 Worldwide Instructor of the Year, is one of the most experienced GMAT prep instructors in the industry, having taught classes up and down the West Coast from San Diego to Vancouver, and having traveled as far as Hong Kong and Dubai to teach. Perhaps most of all, he enjoys hosting Veritas Prep’s Live Online GMAT Office Hours, allowing him to answer specific student questions and provide individualized feedback. He now makes himself available to GMAT students around the world with his free live online G-Matt Mondays events, which run every Monday at 7 PM Eastern.

Matt Douglas's Reviews
MATT DOUGLAS, helped me so much!
July 27 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 17, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  San Francisco, USA | Taught by:  Matt Douglas
I took Veritas in person classes in LA and then decided to commit to their homework help tutoring function online because I was struggling with a few quant topics. Veritas has several tutors that do office hours but my favorite, by far, is Matt Douglas. I have never met him in person but he is amazing. The dedication and positivity on his end has been so appreciated. Studying for the GMAT can seem frustrating sometimes, and I often feel burnt out after 3+ months of daily study commitment, but Matt makes it simple. He walks though all questions with the same enthusiasm and has a great sense of humor. He makes sure that every student understands how to approach their error before moving on. He is there every night when you need him. I love him! Thanks for all you do Matt :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Excellent Foundation
June 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 3, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  San Francisco, USA | Taught by:  Matt Douglas
Excellent math foundation! My instructor was knowledgeable and interesting when it came to math. He always took the time to teach the fundamentals through various problems not in the book. The lessons were helpful in challenging the class while taking the time to explain or re-explain concepts if necessary. I believe that the most beneficial aspect of the class was the deep analysis of every homework problem and math fundamentals. The class component was very helpful as well. I was fortunate to have a great teacher and I definitely learned a lot from the class sessions. If you are serious about boosting your score and getting into the schools you want, I highly recommend taking the Veritas GMAT prep course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Course with Positive Instructor
May 05 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 5, 2013 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  San Francisco, USA | Taught by:  Matt Douglas
I took the GMAT prep course in SF and thought it was great. Veritas Prep breaks down every aspect of the GMAT into 13 books. I took the time and read through all of them to prepare for my exam. Do all of the practice questions and the homework. All of the lessons are online in case you need to review something, and I was also able to e-mail my instructor. Matt Douglas was also top notch, he explained things in ways that you could understand them and was engaging enough to make the 3 hours at night go by with relative ease.

Unfortunately, my exam didn't go so well. I was really busy at work and bombed the test. Thankfully, I am going back to the Veritas classes and am going to take the test again.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Referral rebate from Veritas
November 04 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By TheLDSHammer joined: June 14, 2012 | 0 | | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Pasadena, USA | Taught by:  Matt Douglas
I really enjoyed the class. Matt Douglas is a fantastic teacher. Veritas is very helpful because you can take the class twice during a year. The books are great. Jenny in the office is insanely helpful. I had to go to Utah halfway during the class and she was really helpful getting my needs met. Matt is insanely smart. I learned a lot from him. The class size was small and I got lots of attention.

The online material is pretty good and they have lots of online stuff that is helpful. Veritas books are very indepth. Veritas has online and on the phone support that you can contact.

Matt reads history of math books for fun and he had lots of great little tips and tricks. Veritas is the most expensive system out of all of them but I think it's well worth it.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Worth the money - especially good prep for math section
October 23 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By JCCH joined: October 23, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  San Francisco, USA | Taught by:  Matt Douglas
Excellent choice for for someone 2 -3 months away from exam time. I felt that the course brought together some great elements, here are the highlights:

1. Loved that the course was held in an office building in the financial district after hours. It was really convenient to go from work to class twice a week. I only missed one class (and you can have the option to make it up online or by attending another instructor's class) which is largely due to the location - no excuses

2. Great set of prep books - there are 12 in all and you bring one for each class. Nice system, and there are tons of practice questions by topic in each book. I thought that the skill builder and lesson sections were written pretty well too - easy to follow for individual study

3. Great instructor. Matt was particularly effective at teaching the math sections. I have much more confidence in algebra, geometry, and statistics questions than before the course. Would recommend Matt without reservation to anyone - he is truly and expert on the subject matter as well as a really effective teacher and approachable guy.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Best of the Best!!!
July 06 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By AliS619 joined: July 6, 2012 | 0 | |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Matt Douglas
Veritas Prep has blown me away! They were hands down the best option for my GMAT prep. I researched so many other prep courses, and even went to a couple Kaplan live classes to see what they had to offer. Veritas was the best. Everyone I interacted with online or via the phone was professional, courteous, and very helpful.

Matt Douglas is the King of Prep courses! If you want to take a Prep course, take it with Matt! He knows his stuff and he keeps it interesting. He genuinely cares and wants you to do well. Its rare to find people that do it for more than a paycheck. Matt does it because he wants you to do well, he wants to help you succeed.

The books and question sets were great, the books all being split up into one book per class was very helpful, and the iPhone/iPad app was the cherry on top. If you are looking to take a Prep class, go to Veritas. You will not be disappointed! Veritas is great, you can do a retake of the class for free, which I am going to do very soon just to hone in and perfect my skills before I take the test. Thank you Veritas!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Top-notch methodology and second to none instructor!
March 03 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By RDRamirez joined: March 3, 2012 | 7 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  San Diego, USA | Taught by:  Matt Douglas
Veritas Prep systematically prepares you for every aspect of the GMAT through their work books, online course materials and instructional method. Matt Douglas, who taught the San Diego class was an enthusiastic and very knowledgable instructor. I highly recommend this course for anyone who is serious about beating the GMAT. Veritas was critical in enabling me to improve my score from a 680 to a 710.

The only negative aspect of the class is the location. The class is held in a conference room of the La Jolla Marriott and has a small board. However, the instructor does a great job of making the most of the space and it did not detract from the overall experience.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Awesome instruction!
February 29 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 29, 2012 | 0 | | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  San Diego, USA | Taught by:  Matt Douglas
I would recommend this instructor and Veritas Prep to anyone studying for the GMAT! The instructor really knew his stuff, never read off from the pages and presenting content and examples in an engaging way. The instructor selected a variety of samples that were discussed as class. He was very helpful by providing us with resource recommendations for some of the more difficult parts of the exam. Overall created a non-intimidating atmosphere where everyone participated in the class and provided some great insight to the psychology of questions and the test. The structure of the program and of the class were on point.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

GMAT Prep Helps, But You Have To Put In Due Diligence For Results
February 09 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 29, 2011 | 154 | 7 | native speaker
Improvement: 130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Anaheim, USA | Taught by:  Matt Douglas
i really liked that they offer a free course retake, which i counted on and ended up doing. you can choose to do your retake as a full course (like i did) or for people with less time, do the intensive weekend crash course (a popular choice). veritas offers the most in-class hours and practice exams than any other prep company (17). be aware that the practice exams they offer aren’t all theirs–2 of them are the free ones you can get directly from the gmac; 5 are from 800score, which you can also purchase from them; and only the remaining 10 are veritas…that’s still a lot though.

they also have a ton of great resources like diagnostic tests, online lectures (helpful if you miss a class), etc…and i personally think they have some of the better looking materials/branding (not that that’s important to your score in the least). i’m not sure if they’re still doing this, but since veritas offers admissions consulting services as well, you could also enroll in their one-day consulting seminar where you meet with some of their consultants, learn admissions strategies, and can ask questions. when i went last year, i heard they were thinking of discontinuing that because they said it was cutting into the consulting business.

by enrolling in the course, you have access to all those resources and get a complete set of books. there are 15 books and you go through 13 of them in-class. each book alternates between quant/verbal and the class structure also follows this format. the 2 books that aren’t gone through in class are both quant–book 0: math essentials and book 14: advanced word problems & quant review.

in my 2 classes i had 2 different teachers and i really liked my first teacher matt douglas. he’s so goofy and dorky and just made the class kind of fun. so if you’re in the san diego area, try to get him. i’m not sure how the other instructors differ, but between him and my other teacher mia mciver, matt spent most of the class going through problems from the book whereas mia had a slower pace and tried to spend a lot of time teaching the concepts.

i wanted to take a class to keep myself accountable. these classes are not cheap…at all. some of them offer free trials where you can sit in on a class on the first day and decide from there whether to enroll. i know both veritas and manhattan gmat do that. when i retook my veritas course, one guy was doing the trial and asked me for my input on whether he should fork out the dough and enroll. i told him then, and i’m telling you all now–the classes will not do anything for you unless you put in your due diligence. even though i told him this, toward the end of the class, he lamented that he thought his score would dramatically improve. there are plenty of people who self-study and do very well on their own…a prep course is definitely not needed. if you are self-disciplined and studious, i would say you don’t need to take a class. and even if you’re like me, you still need to self-study. like i said in my previous post, the average top bschool student put in an average of 100 hours on the gmat…that’s a lot of studying.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.