Payal Tandon's Instructor Reviews
Number of reviews [7]
Muat have
February 06 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By bapun11 joined: March 21, 2012 | 1 | |
Improvement: 70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
I took the e-GMAT on line course. This is a great course every non native should have. I improved a lot in verbal by using this course. Their three-step process to solving sentence correction questions is very unique. it first makes you learn the meaning then grammar. My accuracy reaches up to 80% in official guide questions. The total package for verbal online is very lucrative. In CR I took time but ASSUMPTION live session is amazing to build core skills. As a whole this course is awesome.
In RC particularly, steps on how to answer inference question are very helpful. I also recommend verbal workshops.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

A must have for non-natives attempting an 80+ %ile
November 06 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By rhtnr joined: June 29, 2013 | 18 | 25 |
Improvement: 70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
Intro: I'm an entrepreneur based out of India and I am applying to the Top 5 US programs. My aim was to get a 700+ score.

I scored a 730 (Q50, V39) on the GMAT recently (Oct 09 2013) and I can't thank the e-GMAT course enough.

I had started my preparation a little late for R1 and first decided to go for a quick fire preparation method and chose the GMAT pill but saw absolutely no improvement in my performance (from GMAT Prep 1 to GMAT Prep 2) and that's when I started looking for alternate verbal programs . I specifically needed a Verbal program because I'd scored V29 in my GMATPrep.

After reading the great reviews of e-GMAT on GMAT Club, I enrolled for the Sentence Correction Course on e-GMAT.
I must say, in less than 4 days , I noticed a difference in my accuracy while attempting the OG '13 questions.

After finishing just 2 levels of the Sentence Correction, my Verbal scores jumped by around 5 points and I was extremely pleased as the number of SC mistakes per mock test dropped from 8 per test to less than 4 per test.

With the improvement I saw in SC, I quickly upgraded to the LIVE Course (I got a top up for $99 as it was the end of the month special).

The CR course really helped get my thought process right and fixed my CR basics problem. I had fortunately analyzed that I made 70% of my mistakes in the Weaken and Inference CR questions and I dedicated my CR preparation to these particular modules.

Another advantage with the CR approach of e-GMAT is that it REALLY helps you think through the AWA part of the GMAT as well and I was fortunate to score a 6.0

(I didn't bother with the RC as I'm a firm believer than RC can't improve overnight.)

The Integrated Reasoning section of e-GMAT is extremely detailed and covers a large number of problems of varied types but I would personally advise you to use it only if you specifically have issues with a particular type of problem. Otherwise, the GMAT prep questions are more than enough (I scored an 8).

Also, the e-GMAT Customer support is great and they are very quick to respond to emails and clarifications.

I suggest you use the course (watch the videos and attempt the pre and post tests) to get your basics right and practice from the Official Guide.

Overall, I would highly recommend the e-GMAT course to EVERY non-native . It's a great investment for a high Verbal score and I am sure you can easily have an 8+ point improvement in Verbal using their course.

Thanks
Rohit..
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

V36 - e-GMAT - The messiah for Sentence Correction
September 22 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By vivek1303 joined: February 6, 2013 | 24 | 5 |
Improvement: 70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
I Started the preparations in mid May 2013 and completed OG in 2 weeks. I was mighty impressed with CR as the questions were not only good but also interesting, with every question giving a beautiful insight on its own. Quant was easy and verbal was selectively good (around 80% of the time). I bought an e-GMAT verbal live prep course in the last week of May.

While I was scanning for more information about GMAT on GMATClub forums in the months of April, I came across e-GMAT. I subscribed to one of their posts and this led me to accept the invitation for one of their free sessions. Since I couldn’t join the session I was pleasantly surprised to get a recording of their session the very next day. I went through the recording at my own ease and thought of joining e-GMAT. The reason why I ultimately chose e-GMAT over other courses was their relatively lower price and their innovative promotion as being the best course for non-natives.

The content is good and neatly organized. They are truly the messiahs for SC. The sessions with Shradha and Payal are just too good. And the best part - shoot a doubt and you get responded in less than 24 hours. The ‘Meaning’ approach in SC is as good as it can get. The approach helps you save a lot of precious time and energy.

The CR and RC sections are equally good but just that they are more helpful to improve accuracy than time. However, the exam demands saving precious time and that is something that the candidate needs to improve on his/her own. Practice can be a better tool here.

The ready summary with pdf for each chapter is a great tool to revise quickly. I used to read those pdfs when I was at work and thus kept in touch with the SC concepts which I was likely to forget otherwise. I took my GMAT and scored a sweet 720 (Q51V36).

An added advantage with e-GMAT course is that you get 800score and Grockit access free of cost. 800score tests are easy but they expect higher accuracy of you. The quant is of the same level as GMAT but Verbal is easy. The Grockit tests are nearest to the real GMAT. Initially, I hated them but by the end of my preperation I had changed my opinion of them. The Quant is a notch higher than the real thing and the verbal is a notch lower but still they are as close as you can get. Though their scoring is wrong and even a few of their questions are marked wrongly - which can be frustrating at times, they are a good practice because they give you the same feel of urgency that the GMAT delivers. Their user interface is very poor and they should change it immediately. The way the test answers are displayed without any time analysis doesn’t help a candidate’s cause.

Overall, I have recommended e-GMAT to a lot of my friends who are preparing for GMAT. The stepping stone is the free strategy session, after that its e-GMAT all the way.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Verbal Live Prep
June 04 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 17, 2010 | 0 | |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
Verbal Live prep is a good platform where you get to revise all your basics, which you have learned in e-GMAT courses. Also lot of focus is on basics. It really helps to understand the importance of basics and why we should focus more on it. It really helped me to look at SC problems from a different perspective. Initially it took time to follow the process but once you practice few questions, the time reduces drastically. Also following the e GMAT 3 step process really improves the accuracy. I strongly recommend people to join the course as its a small investment, provided you are really serious about your GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

E-gmat- a game changer for verbal
December 06 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By SOURH7WK joined: June 15, 2010 | 363 | 113 |
Improvement: 130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
A truly Game Changer course in verbal for non-natives. After exhausting all available resources, I finally subscribed to this course. I saw a few reviews in GC forums and attended two free live class with Rajat on GMAT strategy & Pre-thinking. I was totally satisfied with the content & I knew I will definitely learn some new strategy to tackle my poor verbal score V23.

After taking the course I pulled up my verbal score to a respectable V40 (90%ile). I just turned my weakness into my strength now. My total score is 710 (Q49,V40)

As I progressed with the course I realized my shortfalls in concept as well as in attacking strategy. The Verbal live course is quite different from the verbal online course. I have clarified almost all queries on the spot during the class (that kind of luxury was there). The important thing that helped me most to improve on verbal is to understand the underlying thought process of the instructors while they approach/attach a particular question. For SC course Payal did a wonderful job there. In fact I asked her in one classroom to describe her thought process elaborately - how she approach a particular SC. And that key thing has changed my SC accuracy a lot.

Similarly Rajat's Strategy of pre-thinking is the key for CR. And not but the least- my weakest link RC in verbal has improved a lot after the course. My accuracy just went above 85% from 60-65% level. I always struggled with non-familiar topics in RC. At last Ron (one of e-gmat instructor) has rescued me from this big shortfall. After i completed the course I realized my improvements through Mocks & i was able to improve my timing on SC/CR/RC without sacrificing accuracy.

I am very happy with my decision to invest in e-gmat verbal live and doing so really rewarded me a 90%ile V score.

The concept files cover every single grammatical rules within the scope of GMAT. The practice questions, quizzes, assessment tests are very carefully crafted keeping the standards of Official GMAT questions.

A ton of thanks to e-gmat & group.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

e-gamt is the IDEAL and PERFECT course for anyone aims at 700+ score
May 17 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By amirdubai1982 joined: December 19, 2009 | 41 | 27 |
Improvement: 140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
The e-gmat Live sessions and Live courses are worth every single cent spent. The course is designed to teach each topic in a wise and timed way which enables me to save lot in time and enhances my accuracy.

Live classes are so so so great with VERY Professional instructors who are amazing in Verbal especially, Payal and Rajat. These guys are awesome in SC, CR and RC. The SC live sessions, as well as the courses, are really perfect to give you a 700+ score while each topic is covered with high-tech and and easy-to-recall rules. Believe me you just simply can't find any better Verbal course(specially SC) other than e-gmat. In my opinion it is even much better than MGMAT SC Guide while this online course is 24/7/365 with you anywhere. All topics are covered with many OG examples solved by these Gurus at e-gmat. I've read many different Verbal books available in the market and this is the most complete and up-to-date source and at the same time the price does make sense compared to tutor and live sessions available within GMAT market.

I would highly recommend e-gmat to anybody who is very serious about doing well on the GMAT. A complete source of OG questions along with live 24 support is with you till your 700+!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

GMAT CR Logic Demystified
April 21 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By ankurmgr joined: March 20, 2011 | 18 | 13 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
I was really not able to completely grasp the logic behind the CR Questions. I had already referred few other recommended sources but they really did not help me in improving my CR accuracy rate significantly.It was then that I came across e-gmat course. I found many reviews for e-gmat's SC course but there was virtually none for e-gmat CR course.The most important thing about e-gmat is that: they claim their course is designed for non-natives. This fact drew my attention. I finally took the e-gmat CR course. The interface is very clean; topics are well arranged. The interface tracks your progress. The explanation to each question is explained very methodologically. I really appreciate their efforts in building this excellent platform.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.