Ravi Sreerama

GMAT Instructor


    
Number of reviews [193]


Company: Veritas Prep
Packages: Veritas Prep Weekend Course Live Online   Veritas Prep Full Course   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online   Veritas Prep Weekend Course   Veritas Prep Private Tutoring  
Locations: Online   Pasadena, CA   Santa Maria, CA   Baton Rouge, LA   Boston (Back Bay), MA   London   Los Angeles, CA  

Ravi holds the distinction of being the single highest-rated GMAT instructor in the world on GMAT Club. The holder of degrees from UC-Berkeley (BS), USC (JD), and UCLA (MBA) he is revered for his “99th percentile or bust” teaching philosophy and beloved for the notable catchphrases that guide students through challenging test-day problems. Ravi blends a challenging classroom environment with personalized attention. An avid basketball player, Ravi has traded the borrowed mantle “the Wizard of Westwood” for the broader reach of “the Oracle of Online” in the GMAT space, now teaching students around the world with his tough-but-fair GMAT approach.

Source: http://www.veritasprep.com/gmat/ravi-sreerama/


Ravi Sreerama's Reviews
Ravi is the MAN
March 02 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 2, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I wanted to leave a review (not something I normally do) simply because Ravi is the man. He is a great instructor - engaging, funny, smart, clever, etc. - and deserves the recognition.

I would recommend Ravi to any prospective GMAT prep course student. If you want to improve your test taking abilities, he will assuredly be able to help.

The Veritas Prep course is well encompassing as well. It has great study material, lots of practice problems, and challenging practice tests.

Still, I have to mention that without Ravi's help it would not have been complete. He knows his material and has been teaching the course long enough to be in the position to give great advice.

10/10
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

GMAT Prep online
March 02 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By BSMSUFL17 joined: January 21, 2013 | 5 | 0 |
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I have struggled with the Verbal section of the GMAT for a while now, but Ravi has helped me understand how to tackle those problems in a structured way. My scores on the Quant section also improved because Ravi showed us how to save time by avoiding computation and dumbing things down.

Ravi is just an amazing instructor who knows how to teach the class to help you get to the next level. He is very straightforward and honest which are qualities that I was looking for in a instructor. I would recommend anyone to take the class with Ravi if you really want to see an improvement on your scores.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Ravi's the man!
February 23 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By tcolem89 joined: February 23, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I just finished the Veritas course online with Ravi and am very satisfied with my experience. Ravi is one of the most fun instructors I've ever had, he makes a 3 hour session enjoyable after a long workday. He also provides his own knowledge, tips, and expertise to complement the strategies included in the Veritas books, making the live course worthwhile instead of just doing the on demand courses. Vertias support was also very easy to work with, because I travel frequently for work, I had to miss many classes but the Veritas support team was quickly able to get me course recordings or anything I needed, even if they hadn't even been posted yet! I would recommend Ravi and Veritas to anyone thinking of doing a GMAT prep course, the materials as well as live instruction can't be beat!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Feeling confident thanks to Ravi Sreerama and Veritas Prep
February 20 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By hick32 joined: February 20, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
After taking the live on demand course with Ravi Sreerama at Veritas Preps, I feel very confident and that I have the tools necessary to excel on the GMAT. Ravi is an out of this world instructor, who does an excellent job of explaining the concepts and strategies behind attacking each and every question type on the GMAT. I would recommend Ravi's course to anyone at all, but especially to people who want 700 and above scores. Prior to finding Veritas, I had considered going to a live on site class, but after doing a math refresher at a local university, I realized that Veritas would definitely be the way to go. The Veritas course is very flexible and the setup they use does not allow students to hold each other back by taking up the instructor's time individually.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Awesome tutoring experience with Ravi Sreerama from Veritas Prep
February 18 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Armi joined: February 18, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I haven't really taken any standardized tests and was at a loss on how to begin working on the GMAT (I'm from New Zealand and we don't really have such tests). After searching through a number of reviews on GMAT forums I found so many great ones on Ravi Sreerama and as a result decided I should go for it. The cost was initially a bit prohibitive and I wasn't sure if I could be satisfied with an online only class but boy am I glad I did the course. I'd take an online course with Ravi over a face to face course somewhere else. He's that good!

The Veritas prep course materials are excellent but Ravi's teaching style is clearly the reason many join his class. I certainly am very happy I did. I learned a great deal and have improved in my test taking immensely.

I highly recommend taking Ravi's class - you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Probably the BEST prep course I have EVER taken...
February 16 | 2015

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By rajbajbone joined: February 16, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
First, I must say that I was hesitant before taking this course. I thought I was one of those "must attend a face to face classroom in order to pay attention and succeed" type of people. After realizing that this just wasn't feasible (full-time day job, married with a new born kid etc), I went ahead and signed up for the Live Online course with Ravi that happened every Saturday and Sunday from 11-2 (EST). Course was 6 weeks (2 classes each weekend). VERY doable and VERY flexible for me.

As someone who was very rusty, especially with my Quant skills, this course set me straight. Ravi is EXTREMELY helpful to all students, willing to discuss and explain things offline/through office hours/email as well. A true teacher (who by the way has taken both the LSAT and GMAT and done very well on them). He just understands what the GMAT is about, expects ALOT from you (so bring your A game and don't slack), and is able to convey all of this without wasting any time. Might I also add that the "assistant" David Ingbur added a great touch to the classroom chat and made things that much more interesting.

I would HIGHLY recommend this course and HIGHLY recommend Ravi as the instructor. 100% exceeded my expectations and with so many courses out there, it's refreshing to have had this experience. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

A great class and awesome instructor
February 08 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By choii87 joined: February 8, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I had been very stubborn for a long time trying to study for GMAT by myself. Then I realized that doing well in GMAT is really about knowing the shortcuts and having the ability to think like the test maker. After reading the reviews of various test prep companies, I decided to go with Veritas Prep. Ravi is a great instructor; he is very attentive and wants to make sure that everyone in class understands the material and key takeaways. He answered all the questions I asked via online chat during the class. Because the class is very fast paced, you will need to do some pre-course work before the class. Overall, I would highly recommend Ravi and Veritas Prep for anyone planning to take the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Review Course and Instructor
February 06 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By sandeepsingh3325 joined: February 6, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Los Angeles, USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I decided to take Ravi's GMAT prep course through Veritas after reading great reviews online. I had many courses to chose from and I felt that this was the best one more me. The course was twice a week and we covered all the material necessary in the short amount of time. I want to give Ravi full credit for this course. He made efficient use of the class time and made sure that all topics were covered clearly. Even though I reviewed the material prior to coming into class, I felt that just hearing the strategies from Ravi (which differed sometimes from the book) was vital to my success. Overall, he was very energized during the course (which was at night). If you're studying for the GMAT, then you should definitely consider Veritas and Ravi.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Veritas is excellent, Ravi is the best
January 12 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By efg015 joined: January 12, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Los Angeles, USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I would highly recommend Veritas Prep to anyone considering a full GMAT prep class. The customer service team was very helpful, responsive, and easy to work with. I was able to sample the first class of the course before paying for the course, and customer service made sure I had all the materials I needed to be prepared for that first class which was very appreciated. They also made sure to follow up throughout the course to make sure everything was going well.

I think the best part of Veritas is that along with the in-person class, you are given access to an online student account for 1 full year. The student account includes quizzes, problem sets, homework problem solutions, 7 full practice tests, and full videos for every lesson of the class to review. In addition, all the books were available for download to tablets/mobile devices through the online account. There was also access to comprehensive top MBA Programs guides. I took advantage of all these resources, and the experience wouldn't have been the same without them.

What made my class stand out the most, however, was my instructor RAVI. Ravi is among the best teachers I have ever had, and his true and deep understanding of the GMAT makes him an invaluable resource when preparing for this exam. Ravi was also able to control and lead the class of about 20 students while still giving a certain amount of personal attention to every student - I definitely did not have this caliber of a teacher in my Kaplan SAT prep class. His control of the class, and easy to understand and apply GMAT tricks made each 3 hour session fly by. I was nervous about signing up for a 7PM-10PM class twice a week after work, but I was amazed to find that solely due to Ravi's teaching style the class flew by, and I nearly always felt at the end of the class that I could continue learning/practicing for another hour at least. I cannot say enough good things about Ravi. He made me feel so much more confident about a test I was fearful of, and on test day his words "do it right, do it once" resonated as I went through every single problem and successfully got a score I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Strategic thinking
January 11 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 29, 2014 | 14 | 1 |
Improvement: 90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I undertook the full Veritas online course last from August to Sept last year. It was my first try at GMAT so I had very little knowledge about the test content. I found its course books very clear, especially the Quant materials. The verbal books gave a good overview of verbal test strategies, invaluable for test takers.

My online course experience was much better than expected. Before I committed to/paid the course I called the company to check what the online learning experience would be like - I was told that the course would be very collaborative. When I joined my first class the following week, it became clear that I was indeed in for a very collaborative/practical experience.

Ravi Sreerama was my online lecturer - he was extremely knowledgeable about all GMAT content. I was impressed by the way he ensured each student was following the content ok. For example, I was struggling with a few subjects thus couldn't answer some of the practice questions during class - Ravi noticing this messaged me to see how he could help. I am also extremely (x2) impressed by Chris Speck, Ravi's TA. I had a lot of questions in and out of class and Chris always managed to respond quickly with clear explanations (thanks very much and appreciate your patience Chris).

Please note: I took my 1st GMAT in Dec 2014 and I am actually going to retake it again because I'm not happy with my score. This has nothing to do with Veritas however - I've been out of school for over a decade and need to spend more time to practice more questions. Another thing I learned is that it's often not about one course being better than another course - as a student each of us need find a course (more courses) that best suite our own learning style. For example, I started with Veritas I found is fantastic in teaching strategic thinking - you need this if you are aiming for 700+. However, I knew I needed more foundational and practical guidance thus I also enrolled with GMAT Pill which I feel is very strong at showing me practical skills. It all comes down to practice. It is true when Ravi and Chris both said pacing is the most important thing with GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.