Ravi Sreerama


    
Number of reviews [175]


Company: Veritas Prep
Packages: Veritas Prep Weekend Course Live Online   Veritas Prep Full Course   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online   Veritas Prep Weekend Course   Veritas Prep Private Tutoring  
Locations: Online   Pasadena, CA   Santa Maria, CA   Baton Rouge, LA   Boston (Back Bay), MA   London   Los Angeles, CA  
Ravi Sreerama's Reviews
Great Course, Great Instructor!
December 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By elledee joined: December 15, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Los Angeles, USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
After I took the GMAT and realized I needed guided improvement, I did some research and decided that Veritas's course with instructor, Ravi Sreerama, would be the best choice. Now finished with the course, I must say that my expectations were matched, if not surpassed.
Being extremely smart, yet knowing how to adapt his explanations to our levels, Ravi taught us the "ins and outs" of the GMAT in a wholesome, simplistic manner. Most importantly, he emphasized how we should leverage answer choices - many times demonstrating how the answers could be found within a minute just through thinking like the test maker. Applying these techniques to practice questions in class and at home, I was happy to see how effective they were in choosing the correct answer. In addition, Ravi encouraged us to go beyond our comfort levels in order to prepare us for the time rigors of test day. For example, he stressed doing mental math whenever possible and solving algebraic equations with only one step. And his constant encouragement that we all have the capability to score in the 99th percentile also helped my confidence level.
Although I have not yet retaken the actual GMAT, my score has jumped 100 points on my most recent practice test. Even at work, my boss noticed that I was processing tasks more quickly than usual and I answered that my stronger work performance had to do with the class I was taking. So, based on my experience, I would HIGHLY recommend the Veritas course with Ravi to people looking to invest in their GMAT scores and future careers.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great!
December 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Los Angeles, USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
The Veritas books and also the online account are extremely helpful. The practice tests seem to be pretty accurate concerning score and there are plenty of them online. It's great that you can access the online questions and tests for a year. I also liked the online office hours every day (also Sunday!!).

Ravi Sreerama is the perfect teacher. He always made sure we understood everything. We were about 20 people in class and after us saying our name just once he knew all of us by name, which made this experience even more personal. I can definitely recommend Veritas and especially Ravi to anybody!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Course, Better Instructor!
December 15 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By SnapperTams joined: December 15, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Los Angeles, USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Veritas Prep's arsenal of tools was so vast that I still haven't been able to explore them all! As a future JD/MBA student who took the LSAT first, I've had my fair share of standardized test prep. Veritas has a well structured program: 12 classes, 12 books, with each containing pre-class homework, the class lesson itself, and finally post-class homework. One of my favorite online features allows all students to login and receive detailed homework help for all problems from all lessons.
While Veritas was great, I want to ensure that it does not overshadow our instructor, Ravi. He made great efforts to ensure that we each received the time and attention we required, which is not always easy to do with a class that had over 15 students. He is energetic and truly passionate about teaching. He often joked around with us in class, but also had a stern presence about him that encouraged us to focus on limiting silly errors. He embraces mistakes, believing that every time a mistake is made it presents an opportunity for us to learn from it and thus never make that same mistake again on homework problems, practice tests, and ultimately on test day. He stresses the importance of pacing on this test and teaches little tricks that help students stay focused on the test while always being aware of timing. Ravi has already played a huge role in my progress as a GMAT test taker, and I will be able to credit much of my success on the test to his tireless efforts!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

760 GMAT score! Thanks Ravi and Chris!
December 15 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 17, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I took the 6 week online Veritas course in Aug- Sept 2014. It was intense- in addition to the 6 hours of classes every week, I typically spent 5-6 preparing for the class and doing HW. I say this not to scare you, but to set expectations. This time was definitely well-spent as I ended up with a 99 percentile score of 760 (Q50, V44). The Veritas books, problem sets and practice tests you get with this course are solid and comprehensive. I only took the free GMATPrep tests, outside of the Veritas material.

Ravi did a great job shuffling the class order, making it easier for students to follow along. I was really impressed by how accessible Ravi and Chris were during and after class. When I bombed one of the practice tests 2 weeks before my GMAT, Ravi and Chris were both swift and effective in calming me down and helping me focus on my preparations.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Excellent
December 11 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By rsanchez12 joined: December 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Ravi Sreerama is great, it is obvious that he really enjoys teaching and that makes makes a difference. He was really clear on his explanations, and his advices have been really helpful on understanding the material.
The skillbuiders is a really good tool as you go to class prepared and then the homework provides the practice needed. I was really convenient to have the classes online, the instructor was always on top of the questions being asked and gave one on one help. I think is a really good deal that you can repeat the course if you need to and all of the classes are recorded.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Veritas Prep GMAT Course - Teacher Ravi Sreerama
December 06 | 2014

3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By lovDr8 joined: December 6, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Los Angeles, USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
First of all I want to say that this was my second time taking a GMAT course, the first one I wasn't satisfied at all with so I decided to switch companies and choose Veritas due to their amazing reviews online. I have to say, this course was 100 times better than my previous one and couldn't have better prepared me for this test. Everything from the Skillbuilders to online HW help to practice tests were great, and in abundance. Secondly, I wanted to say that I probably had the best teacher in Ravi Sreerama. He actually made you want to come to class and learn the different methods/approaches to the GMAT. Not only was he a genius, but he really understood how to relate problems to his students. I would 100% recommend him if you are looking to take a Veritas prep course.

Don't leave too many reviews usually but definitely think that both Ravi and Veritas deserved one for this.

-Oren
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Awesome course and instructor!!!
December 02 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I cannot imagine tackling the GMAT without the help of this course. Veritas Prep offers so many skill builders, lessons, and problem sets fully covering everything you might need to know for the GMAT. The us of all the practice tests made me comfortable with the exam and timing and helped relieve test day anxiety. Ravi Sreerama is the best instructor and managed to make a three hour online class interesting and exciting. He is so enthusiastic and creates easily understandable explanations and examples. I highly recommend this course to anyone preparing for the GMAT! Thank you Veritas and Ravi!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Highly recommend!
November 25 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 21, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I highly recommend studying with Veritas for GMAT prep. When material is introduced for the first time, a Skillbuilder lesson and quiz are required to complete prior to class time. This is an asset because it ensures class time is not wasted reviewing basic concepts or skills, but can instead be spent learning/practicing specific test-taking strategies.

Ravi was a phenomenal instructor. As someone that works full time at a demanding job, I greatly appreciated Ravi's teaching style - both straightforward and engaging. He pushes everyone to be their best regardless of the experience or abilities they stepped into class with that day - no nonsense, so keep your foot on the gas pedal.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Ravi Sreerama
November 23 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By baismm1 joined: November 23, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Ravi Sreerama is the instructor that can get you into the 700 score range. The Veritas Prep materials provide a nice foundation but Ravi has great insights that will give you the extra edge. I was 10 years out of college with no previous GMAT prep when I took his class and I found juggling the lessons with a full-time job very challenging. It is important to note that there is a lot of individual study time required to successfully absorb all the material. I would advise the average student to have at least 3 hours of available time each day to devote to studying.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Online Class
November 19 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Snakes2690 joined: November 19, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Found Veritas Prep and the instructor Ravi to be really great. The course really allowed me to understand how these questions are created and how they are made difficult. In addition to refreshing your math & verbal skills, the lessons allow you to understand more of how the testmaker makes these questions difficult and how to break down each question to make it easier. The homework questions also were very helpful and the explanations for math showed the work, which is helpful since the GMAT Official Guide really does not show the work to come to the answer. My score has increased 70 points from initial baseline exam, and I am hoping to do better as I continue to study. You have to really study a lot, but the rewards for the math coming together are worth it
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.