Ravi Sreerama

GMAT Instructor


    
Number of reviews [225]


Company: Veritas Prep
Packages: Veritas Prep Weekend Course Live Online   Veritas Prep Full Course   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online   Veritas Prep Weekend Course   Veritas Prep Private Tutoring   Veritas Prep Immersion Course  
Locations: Online   Pasadena, CA   San Francisco, CA   Santa Maria, CA   Baton Rouge, LA   Boston (Back Bay), MA   London   Los Angeles, CA  

Ravi holds the distinction of being the single highest-rated GMAT instructor in the world on GMAT Club. The holder of degrees from UC-Berkeley (BS), USC (JD), and UCLA (MBA) he is revered for his “99th percentile or bust” teaching philosophy and beloved for the notable catchphrases that guide students through challenging test-day problems. Ravi blends a challenging classroom environment with personalized attention. An avid basketball player, Ravi has traded the borrowed mantle “the Wizard of Westwood” for the broader reach of “the Oracle of Online” in the GMAT space, now teaching students around the world with his tough-but-fair GMAT approach.

Source: http://www.veritasprep.com/gmat/ravi-sreerama/


Ravi Sreerama's Reviews
Great class!
July 18 | 2015

       By zelda2018 joined: July 18, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Weekend Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I took the 6-week Live Online Weekend course from Veritas Prep with Ravi earlier this Summer. I was looking around for GMAT prep classes in Dubai & attended a few free in-class sessions by different companies, but I was not impressed enough to continue and/or venture out in the heat at 115F.

As luck would have it, I found the Veritas webpage & checked out a few sample videos of instructors. I was sold on the 30 sec snippet of Ravi's video & enrolled for his class that started in less than 48 hours! Ravi's classes were fun & engaging. I loved his enthusiasm & style of teaching. He was an amazing instructor who kept me engaged throughout the class: 8pm-11pm Dubai time after a long day of work on Sunday would not have been easy, but he made it! He is not afraid to push his students to do their best & that is something I really admired about him.

The Live Online classroom format worked out so beautifully. It was perfect & comfortable & I didn't have to venture outdoors! I highly recommend this prep course taught by Ravi for anyone aiming to get a great GMAT score. I will be taking the GMAT in a couple of days & I'm (strangely) excited to see how I will perform.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Best instructor ever!
July 16 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By ishanie joined: July 15, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I took the Live online course. While I must admit that I was apprehensive about an online course, Ravi's teaching style totally blew me away! There was one day that I couldn't attend one of Ravi's live sessions, and signed up for a make up session in another instructor's course. I don't mean to throw anyone under the bus, but I could see the difference in what sets Ravi apart! His classes are so engaging that you almost forget that you're actually sitting through a 3 hour long session! All in all, I would definitely recommend this course by Veritas - and try to get into Ravi's session!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Veritas A+
July 14 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By jayjones25 joined: June 1, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Before I took this class I was struggling to find a solid approach to best attack the GMAT. Part of my problem was finding the right materials. I wont say that the other materials I bought were a waste, but I did not use them much after I started using the Veritas study materials.

Materials I bought were Kaplan (just a book), Princeton (just a book), Official GMAT (will actually use these questions for practice), and the entire Manhattan Series (only used sentence correction because I am terrible at that but if you want something really basic to start out with and get your feet wet I would get both the manhattan foundation books, even though all of this was covered in Veritas skillbuilders).

Veritas Prep breaks the class into 3 sections.
Skillbuilders - teach you the essential skills for the GMAT
Class - Teaches you specific strategies
Problems - Lets you practice both of them

The skillbuilders were videos and made it 1000x easier for me to stay focus and actually enjoy learning the skills. The actual class was great because my instructor Ravi made it enjoyable to learn strategies and them apply them and kept me on track. The were so many practice problems and I feel I will have enough practice by the time I sit for my test (gave myself a month for extra help after the class).

Overall this class was a blast and kept me on track and taught me enough to succeed on this exam! I would really recommend Veritas Prep as your study course and esp take it with Ravi if his time slots match up well with yours. It is a very fast paced course so prepare to give it your all!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

RAVI SREERAMA-Amazing Gmat Instructor
July 13 | 2015

       By rxkaur4 joined: November 18, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I started my gmat journey with self-study material, thinking I could tackle the exam with a few review books. Man, I was wrong! After seeing my pitiful score and my self-esteem down the drain, I started researching alternative ways to increase my score. I came across reviews for Ravi Sreerama's class and I thought I give it try. I had no where to go but up from here. Ravi is an amazing instructor, he will simplify(or as Ravi calls dumb it down) the concepts for you. He will help you develop a strategy, which I believe is the key to achieving a high score on the exam. I loved the support I received during class from Ravi, helping me understand the difference between the sucker answer and correct the answer. I HIGHLY recommend Ravi Sreerama's class and Veritas Prep material.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Online Classroom Experience - You won't regret it!
July 11 | 2015

       By hpatel8 joined: July 27, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
At first, I was very hesitant to spend so much money and also sign up to an online class. I am a person like to interact and communicate within a classroom environment. After going through a lot of reviews of the GMAT prep classes, I finally chose Veritas the Live-Online class with Ravi. Two words to describe my experience: “No Regrets!”

Ravi has a lot of tips, tricks and strategies on how to approach the GMAT problems and get them right within the 2-minutes time frame. These tips and strategies are also very helpful in getting a higher score.

At the end of the class, you might look at the answer choices of a problem, and say “that’s a garbage answer!” or “Hmmm…looks like trying to trap me with the sucker choice!” or simply look at a problem and say to yourself, “How do I dumb it down.”
He is passionate about teaching as his students success becomes his own success.

Ravi is also very knowledgeable about the GMAT and how it might try to trick you on a lot of problems. If you have the chance to take an online class with Veritas, take it with Ravi. In the three hours, you will not be bored and you will LEARN A LOT! He keeps his class actively engaged that you won’t even feel like it’s an online class.

By the way, Veritas Prep also offers a lot of homework problems (practically anything you will see on the GMAT), 12 practice problems and "Homework Help". Homework help allows you to ask questions regarding the problems you might be having trouble with. Overall a great experience so far with Veritas and with Ravi's online-Live Classroom.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Material Presented by an even better teacher
July 01 | 2015

       By jbewley87@yahoo.com joined: July 1, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I was hesitant to enroll for an online course for my GMAT prep, but after reading reviews about Ravi I decided it was worth a shot. The reviews are not wrong, Ravi is incredible. He kept the course engaging, showed not only how to solve problems types, but why solving the problems a specific way is beneficial. It would be easy for a 3 hour course to drag, but Ravi kept the course moving and light hearted enough that the 3 hours flew by each night.

If you are looking to take Veritas online course, I cannot recommend Ravi enough. I feel much more confident in taking the GMAT because of him.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

GMAT Made EASY!
June 27 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
reviewer identity verified by score report
       By mtensley joined: June 22, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Ravi made understanding the GMAT EASY! I've taken several courses before through several different companies and Ravi was the only instructor to get me over the hump. He is passionate about his students and their success and it's evident in every single class. Not only does he make the material easy to comprehend, he also makes it so that you understand what you're doing wrong and what you're doing right - both of which are equally important. If you have the chance, take a course with Ravi. He will help you get the score that you want! You won't regret it!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Mind Blowing
June 27 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: June 27, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Immersion Course | Location:  San Francisco, USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
There are several factors that make a course, a good one. In this case the instructor and the study materials achieved the goal. From the start of the course I learned new things. How to attack a problem, where should I expend my energy and concentration, how to identify incorrect answers, are few of the numerous topics learned. Ravi pushed me to keep on the top of my game. I would recommend the immersion course for people who are looking to change the way they see the test. Although is a test of how you think, instead of what you know, students will learn a lot in order to have the necessary tools to solve every type of problem during the test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great tutor
June 26 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: June 26, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Immersion Course | Location:  San Francisco, USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I took a full week immersion course with Ravi Sreerama. He was great and pushed all of the class during the entire week while also being very human, approachable and motivating.

I was a bit dubious at first as the course videos are decent but could be improved, but the classes with Ravi mad the investment worth it.

Overall Veritas is a bit unintuitive in terms of UX, but pretty good when it comes to getting you to a higher GMAT score. I am happy with the time and money I spent and will recommend them (especially Ravi) to friends who look into doing an MBA.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great online experience!
June 25 | 2015

       By Bill Rasoul joined: June 25, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I have taken many prep courses in the past and Ravi is one of the best instructors I've had. The overall Veritas curriculum is relatively easy to follow and does a great job of breaking down the methodology behind tackling GMAT questions. Ravi only enhances this experience by not only clarifying a lot of these points, but also bringing his own techniques to the classroom. He is responsive and gives attention to every single student, provided you take advantage of his time. I'm not going to lie, this class is very rigorous and you MUST stay on top of the material to get everything out of it. If you do, it is an experience well worth the money. Not only does it help on the GMAT, but it provides insight into tackling problems in general.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.