Ravi Sreerama

GMAT Instructor


    
Number of reviews [207]


Company: Veritas Prep
Packages: Veritas Prep Weekend Course Live Online   Veritas Prep Full Course   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online   Veritas Prep Weekend Course   Veritas Prep Private Tutoring  
Locations: Online   Pasadena, CA   Santa Maria, CA   Baton Rouge, LA   Boston (Back Bay), MA   London   Los Angeles, CA  

Ravi holds the distinction of being the single highest-rated GMAT instructor in the world on GMAT Club. The holder of degrees from UC-Berkeley (BS), USC (JD), and UCLA (MBA) he is revered for his “99th percentile or bust” teaching philosophy and beloved for the notable catchphrases that guide students through challenging test-day problems. Ravi blends a challenging classroom environment with personalized attention. An avid basketball player, Ravi has traded the borrowed mantle “the Wizard of Westwood” for the broader reach of “the Oracle of Online” in the GMAT space, now teaching students around the world with his tough-but-fair GMAT approach.

Source: http://www.veritasprep.com/gmat/ravi-sreerama/


Ravi Sreerama's Reviews
Coach Ravi and Veritas for the Win!
April 25 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Masterdrey joined: July 31, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
After taking the GMAT for the first time and being discouraged with the outcome. I knew that if I was going to put in the time and effort I should use a top prep program. After doing some research on the available programs I was overwhelmed with all the different prep course program offerings. Consequently, I narrowed my search down based on how I would prefer to prepare for the test. Specifically, I wanted a weekend only online course.
However, even with such a narrow criteria I still had to choose from a select few programs. I decided to go with Veritas because it was consistently ranked as one of the top prep programs on various sites that I searched on. Furthermore, I specifically chose Ravi as my instructor because he was the top rated instructor on the GMATClub forums.
After taking the course, I can confirm that Ravi is indeed an excellent teacher. He has great charisma and keeps you focused through the 3 hour long lectures. However, most importantly Ravi consistently discussed critical areas of study, while emphasizing that GMAT is a logic test and showing how logic is key in all problems of the exam.
Overall, I felt that the course was taught at a good pace and I was consistently challenged. In fact, I was frustrated more than a few times after incorrectly answering certain problems on topics discussed in class. Nonetheless Ravi’s and Varitas’s approach of dissecting problems helped me learn from my mistakes and ultimately get a 700+ score on test day. THANKS COACH RAVI!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Veritas with Ravi is the way to go!
April 17 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 17, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Veritas is extremely well-organized when it comes to GMAT prep. I was a little hesitant taking the GMAT prep course online... I thought the teacher wouldn't have time or care about my individual growth and commitment because the course was online and the class size was too large... However, Ravi knocked it out of the park. He was invested in my growth and development throughout the 6 weeks... He was constantly pushing me to make myself better. He tells it how it is and I love that... nothing is achieved without someone driving you and Ravi was truly inspirational. The GMAT is a battle against the testmakers and I wouldn't want to go into battle without Ravi!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great course, great instructor
April 17 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By jennicad joined: April 17, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I originally thought I would just watch youtube videos, complete online questions and take practice exams to study for the GMAT. However, I decided to sign up for the Veritas course and I'm really happy I did. The course has a set schedule with 3 hours per class which forces you to commit and focus. In the classes, not only do you learn content, but you also learn important strategies to outsmart the test. I also had a great instructor, Ravi, who pushed us to tackle difficult questions and eliminate stupid mistakes. He gave me the skills and confidence I needed to, as Ravi says, "crush" the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Money well spent!
April 17 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By tinatlam joined: April 17, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Prior to signing up, I was thinking to myself, "Why on earth is this course $1650?" After doing some additional research online about that the course entails, I came to a conclusion that it is a worthy investment. I then contemplated further on whether or not, I should sign up for the guided help or maybe I can just tackle this myself. I mean come on, I must have known a study tactic or two to have survived college exams and graduated with a decent GPA, that or someone made a huge error in admin. After I thought long and hard on what, at the time, seemed like a Jeopardy question, I signed up for the course with Ravi. Best decision I have made in that month, honest. You should have been there for all the lousy calls that I made in the month of February, it was bad, thank god it was only 28 days. Ravi, if you are reading this, how about adding to your resume, author of "GMAT for the dumbest of dummy"? You might as well, since the course was so straight forward that I anyone and their mother can understand it. I am not much of a quant person, but I survived, and got most of the material down first hand. He spent time articulating and "dummy down" the overall question and explaining things in layman's terms so people who speaks English can have a chance of getting the question right. He also went time covering strategies for each section and filtering out the "sucker answer" so you wont be trapped when you are faced with those type of questions. Mind you, I have diagnosed myself with selective ADHD with things that are not fun, and let be real, a 3 hrs online course is not fun. Even with this personal hurdle, I was able to sit still, stay focused, and not watching the clock tick because Ravi mastered a way to breeze through the course and retain his audience's attention by making the course interactive. Isn't that an oxymoron, an interactive online course? But he did, so if you, my fellow selective ADHD friend, is still deciding whether or not you should take the course and whom you should the course with, TAKE IT WITH RAVI SREERAMA!! By signing up for the course you also get a year's access to on demand videos of lessons and skill builders, test prep books (12 books, 1 per lesson), homework problems, online solution forums, live homework chatrooms, practice tests, and countless of other very useful and very helpful resources. If you break down the math, its only about $91 hr and $275 a class, but after the 6 weeks, you still have access to videos of the recorded live lessons, instructors office hours and all the online materials and more.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

GMAT review
April 15 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 15, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Ravi Sreerama was a great teacher and took the time to make sure all students were on top of the course and ensured no body was lagging behind. He explained everything in a simple manner. His TA's were very helpful and approachable.

Th course offers tutoring online which is good. Also, there are videos on topics which are also very good.

You can take the course 2 times which is good so you can compare both teachers and their teaching styles.

My first teacher Ethan went through the concepts really quickly and didn't care to explain it and always showed off how smart he was.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Ravi is an amazing teacher!
March 31 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 29, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I was very hesitant to register for this live, online course at first because of the cost; but I'm so glad I went for it. The course is very well structured and you have several ways to get help from instructors. I've been out of school for about 5 years and English is not my first language, so I needed a lot of help. Ravi is honestly the best teacher I've ever had. He was so great at teaching, and he speaks very clearly! He teaches his students how to think more critically/logically and how to solve problems faster and efficiently, which exactly what you need to know. He made difficult problems look so easy! He is always very engaging in every class. With his class, we also had two other instructors in each session to interact with if you have any questions while Ravi is on camera. They're very professional, smart, and friendly. I highly recommend Ravi. I think he also does private tutoring. I'm very happy with my Veritas experience, and I feel a lot more confident about taking my GMAT test now.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Veritas and Ravi is all you need for GMAT prep !
March 27 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 1, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Veritas as everyone posted, is, without a doubt the best course designed for GMAT. The course is divided into 3 categories .Firstly, skill builders, takes back to your school and refreshes your basics.This is essential to start with. Secondly,homework problems, which not only covers various kinds of problems but makes your foundation strong. Thirdly, mock tests, which is another essential tool to measure your knowledge. Good number of questions to practice with a fairly good standard. Of all, I like the most is the pacing. They make every effort to adapt yourself to the time, which is the MOST critical tool one needs to learn.Overall the course is 5/5.
Ravi, was my instructor and I completely agree with everyone in this Group. He is not only knowledgeable and skillful but he has this great attitude to influence others with his passion . He pushes a lot to get to that extra mile. He teaches clever strategies that makes you think smart. He is truly a great instructor ! Highly recommend him !
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Ravi Sreerama and Veritas Testprep methodology awesome
March 27 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By suryaabs joined: March 27, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Hi all,

I wanted to write this review heartfelt as I was extremely happy and thrilled with the Veritas course prep and especially with my instructor Ravi Sreerama. First of all, their course content is extremely good. You have umpteen resources available on the online account (once u register) to work with starting from basics to advanced content, techniques, think-like-testmaker strategies etc. The course structure is very well laid out and the problem sets and practice tests are extremely beneficial tools for success.
Talking about Ravi, I really loved every minute of his class. I cant say more how delighted and awakened i'm after his classes. It was an absolute eye-opener in terms of various tips, strategies and simply his way of running the class. He's extremely knowledgeable, knows every bit of the GMAT test content, concepts, strategies and more importantly his unique and fool-proof approach to any type of question. Just by following his strategies and techniques, I have started making great progress in test preparation, cutting down my careless mistakes etc.
I simply urge every aspiring candidate to consider Ravi and Veritas for your Testprep and i'm confident you will feel as thrilled and excited as I'm.

Thanks,
Aravindh
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Veritas Online Course with best instructor Ravi
March 27 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By tqissa joined: October 29, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I started selfstuding for GMAT as this has always been my preferred course of study all my life but with long working hours and the GMAT style I need something to put me on track as I did not feel much progress on my own and am glad that I made the commitment to join on Veritas Online Course with Ravi Sreerama which really motivates to do your best and explains concepts in ways you never thought so joining his class got be back on track after getting frustrated/lost for a while with self study. Also I never imagined that an online class can be that interactive I think vertitas has done a great job with the interface that they setup. But the course days passes quickly so you need to make sure you have enough time to complete all the pre-lesson prep (skill builder) and post which is the quiz's or you will get overwhelmed.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Taking your score to another level!
March 24 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By itsmedavidv joined: June 1, 2014 | 37 | 3 |
Improvement: 120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
The Good:
This course is designed for those GMAT takers ready to take their 600 scores and reach new levels! What I enjoyed about the course is that Ravi got to know each of the students. Even though it was an online class, he and Megan took the time to remember key details about each one of the students and kept up with us on our weak areas. This course keeps you on pace and provides a good structure to ensure you study when you have to and time off when you need it. Ravi doesn't fluff things up. He is to the point and isn't there to waste time, but, at the same time does not come off as rude or uncaring.

The Not So Good:
It's online. You have to attend the class if you are not disciplined to watch the video afterward. I wish I had known what level I should've been prior to attending the course. The practice tests are also good but lack in the analysis I thought I would get.

The Bottom Line:

If you are looking to improve your score, by any level, take this course. They have an abundance of online resources. I already took my test but still access the site to continue my studies.

Make sure you get Ravi!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.