Ravi Sreerama

GMAT Instructor


    
Number of reviews [186]


Company: Veritas Prep
Packages: Veritas Prep Weekend Course Live Online   Veritas Prep Full Course   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online   Veritas Prep Weekend Course   Veritas Prep Private Tutoring  
Locations: Online   Pasadena, CA   Santa Maria, CA   Baton Rouge, LA   Boston (Back Bay), MA   London   Los Angeles, CA  

Ravi holds the distinction of being the single highest-rated GMAT instructor in the world on GMAT Club. The holder of degrees from UC-Berkeley (BS), USC (JD), and UCLA (MBA) he is revered for his “99th percentile or bust” teaching philosophy and beloved for the notable catchphrases that guide students through challenging test-day problems. Ravi blends a challenging classroom environment with personalized attention. An avid basketball player, Ravi has traded the borrowed mantle “the Wizard of Westwood” for the broader reach of “the Oracle of Online” in the GMAT space, now teaching students around the world with his tough-but-fair GMAT approach.


Ravi Sreerama's Reviews
Veritas is excellent, Ravi is the best
January 12 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By efg015 joined: January 12, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Los Angeles, USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I would highly recommend Veritas Prep to anyone considering a full GMAT prep class. The customer service team was very helpful, responsive, and easy to work with. I was able to sample the first class of the course before paying for the course, and customer service made sure I had all the materials I needed to be prepared for that first class which was very appreciated. They also made sure to follow up throughout the course to make sure everything was going well.

I think the best part of Veritas is that along with the in-person class, you are given access to an online student account for 1 full year. The student account includes quizzes, problem sets, homework problem solutions, 7 full practice tests, and full videos for every lesson of the class to review. In addition, all the books were available for download to tablets/mobile devices through the online account. There was also access to comprehensive top MBA Programs guides. I took advantage of all these resources, and the experience wouldn't have been the same without them.

What made my class stand out the most, however, was my instructor RAVI. Ravi is among the best teachers I have ever had, and his true and deep understanding of the GMAT makes him an invaluable resource when preparing for this exam. Ravi was also able to control and lead the class of about 20 students while still giving a certain amount of personal attention to every student - I definitely did not have this caliber of a teacher in my Kaplan SAT prep class. His control of the class, and easy to understand and apply GMAT tricks made each 3 hour session fly by. I was nervous about signing up for a 7PM-10PM class twice a week after work, but I was amazed to find that solely due to Ravi's teaching style the class flew by, and I nearly always felt at the end of the class that I could continue learning/practicing for another hour at least. I cannot say enough good things about Ravi. He made me feel so much more confident about a test I was fearful of, and on test day his words "do it right, do it once" resonated as I went through every single problem and successfully got a score I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Strategic thinking
January 11 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 29, 2014 | 13 | 1 |
Improvement: 90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I undertook the full Veritas online course last from August to Sept last year. It was my first try at GMAT so I had very little knowledge about the test content. I found its course books very clear, especially the Quant materials. The verbal books gave a good overview of verbal test strategies, invaluable for test takers.

My online course experience was much better than expected. Before I committed to/paid the course I called the company to check what the online learning experience would be like - I was told that the course would be very collaborative. When I joined my first class the following week, it became clear that I was indeed in for a very collaborative/practical experience.

Ravi Sreerama was my online lecturer - he was extremely knowledgeable about all GMAT content. I was impressed by the way he ensured each student was following the content ok. For example, I was struggling with a few subjects thus couldn't answer some of the practice questions during class - Ravi noticing this messaged me to see how he could help. I am also extremely (x2) impressed by Chris Speck, Ravi's TA. I had a lot of questions in and out of class and Chris always managed to respond quickly with clear explanations (thanks very much and appreciate your patience Chris).

Please note: I took my 1st GMAT in Dec 2014 and I am actually going to retake it again because I'm not happy with my score. This has nothing to do with Veritas however - I've been out of school for over a decade and need to spend more time to practice more questions. Another thing I learned is that it's often not about one course being better than another course - as a student each of us need find a course (more courses) that best suite our own learning style. For example, I started with Veritas I found is fantastic in teaching strategic thinking - you need this if you are aiming for 700+. However, I knew I needed more foundational and practical guidance thus I also enrolled with GMAT Pill which I feel is very strong at showing me practical skills. It all comes down to practice. It is true when Ravi and Chris both said pacing is the most important thing with GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Best GMAT Instructor: Ravi Sreerama (Veritas Prep)
January 10 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 10, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
To put it simply, Ravi Sreerama is the absolute best! I had the pleasure of enrolling in one of his live online six week GMAT prep courses with Veritas Prep. The curriculum is intense, rigorous, and very well-organized for those who are serious about their GMAT studies. Ravi is an incredibly skilled, talented, and highly intelligent instructor who possesses a rare and unique ability to relate to each and every one of his students. His educational and professional background is a significant asset (he holds both JD and MBA degrees in addition to real world work experience) and he draws upon this expertise to break down tough, abstract content into simple, digestible morsels of information. One of the things I appreciated most was Ravi's candid and multifaceted approach to teaching content. He is in no way one-dimensional. A sign of a great teacher is one who can articulate concepts in more than one way and tailor explanations for the audience being addressed. Ravi's commitment and drive to help others succeed is demonstrated through and through. For example, he manages to teach a three hour lesson while making himself accessible for individual dialogue. He juggles personal messages with his students and shares insightful, relevant content with the class. People like Ravi are few and far between. If you want a remarkable and genuine instructor who will provide you with the tools to be successful and challenge you to best yourself, Ravi is your guy. I can't recommend him highly enough.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Knowledgeable professor that really breaks down test subject matter
January 06 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By rswifter joined: January 6, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Ravi isn't interested in having you memorize facts or small tidbits of information. He wants to change to way you think and approach problems. This course shows you how to spend less time on each problem by recognizing patterns and understanding how the test maker thinks. By understanding this you are able to dramatically improve your performance in all aspects of the GMAT and the online resources available through the course let you spend extra time on your own to prepare. By the time the test came around I felt confident and can say the results showed. This course breaks the test into 12 subjects and the environment is very conducive to learning. Ravi's polls and questions throughout the course help keep you engaged and give you better insight on where to focus your study efforts. He is always good about responding to private chats throughout and occasionally will reach out on his own to see if you need any additional help. Great teaching style!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great course!
January 05 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By eclair70 joined: January 5, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Ravi is a great instructor and outstanding presenter. He is certainly invested in his students and their success in the class. Ravi engaged participants during each class session and encouraged people to reach out with questions and concerns. Additionally, Ravi checked in individually with his students throughout the duration of the course to ensure that progress was being made. I would recommend this course to others seeking to take the GMAT. Upon contacting Veritas Prep, the sales department automatically, recommended Ravi as the best instructor. I definitely benefitted from the course instruction, materials, homework help, and additional GMAT materials online.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

760 GMAT score! Thanks Ravi and Chris!
January 04 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 17, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I took the 6 week online Veritas course in Aug- Sept 2014. It was intense- in addition to the 6 hours of classes every week, I typically spent 5-6 preparing for the class and doing HW. I say this not to scare you, but to set expectations. This time was definitely well-spent as I ended up with a 99 percentile score of 760 (Q50, V44). The Veritas books, problem sets and practice tests you get with this course are solid and comprehensive. I only took the free GMATPrep tests, outside of the Veritas material.

Ravi did a great job shuffling the class order, making it easier for students to follow along. I was really impressed by how accessible Ravi and Chris were during and after class. When I bombed one of the practice tests 2 weeks before my GMAT, Ravi and Chris were both swift and effective in calming me down and helping me focus on my preparations.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Course
December 31 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 31, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Los Angeles, USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
The Vertias program was great. It was A LOT of information to go through, but Ravi made it manageable and gave some great test taking advice throughout the program. The GMAT test makers make this test to trick you, but Ravi does an amazing job at pointing out the common ways they do this and shows you time saving methods to get around them. Some that differ from even the book. I was really nervous about the quant section. I haven't touched math in almost 16 years, but Ravi shows you ways of doing the problem without having to do crazy math, to a point I felt like I could actually handle this section. You obviously have to put in the time to re-learn the basics, but Ravi's technique demystifies the GMATs and leaves you well armed for success. He is also am amazing coach and is always willing to answer your questions. If you have the opportunity to work with Ravi on getting ready for this exam - do it!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Fantastic Instructor
December 29 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 29, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I spent a lot of time researching the GMAT prep course options available online and decided to go with Veritas Prep. I could not have asked for a better course or Instructor. Veritas Prep subscribers have numerous tools available to them at their convenience and my Instructor, Ravi Sreerama, was both knowledgeable and helpful. He responded to my questions outside of class in a prompt manner and kept our classes engaging. This course and Ravi are definitely worth the price. I'd recommend this course to individuals who are looking for quality content and convenience. I feel very prepared to take the GMAT and could not have done as well on my own.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Surpassed my expectations
December 26 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By toez89 joined: December 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I hadn't really taken any standardized test before (not even the SAT because I am Canadian) so I was kind of lost on how to prepare for standardized tests. I started with books alone and self-study but found I was not really able to gauge my ability and was therefore not able to hone in on my weaknesses. I was initially hesitant to drop more than $1000 on a course because lets be real, its a lot of money, but the course surpassed my expectations and in the grand scheme of things its worth it and easy to justify.

Both Veritas and Ravi take test preparation to a whole new level. The veritas website provides more resources than you could ever use. There are homework questions on each subject tested and there are real computer adaptive tests that simulate test day, increase your confidence and hone in on your weaknesses. I had follow up questions on some of the homework and online tests and the instructors got back to me in less than 24 hours with great answers.

Those resources were great but Ravi is the real reason I would recommend Veritas. He provides the tough love that many of us need to do well on this course. His belief is that anyone can get 99th percentile on this test so he pushes you to achieve that level of mastery. You find out as prepare that test taking strategies are extremely important once you have mastered the material and Ravi coaches you through all of them. Also, its hard to beat hard to beat an instructor that is better qualified on paper. I believe he holds an MBA, a JD and a 99th percentile on the test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Veritas Prep is Great!!
December 26 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By mrkhanna joined: December 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Los Angeles, USA | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Ravi is absolutely brilliant! I did not take the GMAT before starting the course and I am glad I didn't. The way of thinking is much different than conventional tests and Ravi did a great job at teaching those concepts. I would recommend him specifically, so do yourself a favor and take this course.

The Verbal and Math sections he covers are extremely helpful, but be sure to do the skill builders before each lesson. I am excited to study more and take the Gmat in the near future with the vital test taking tools that Ravi has taught me.

Good luck everyone!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.