Ravi Sreerama

GMAT Instructor


    
Number of reviews [238]


Company: Veritas Prep
Packages: Veritas Prep Weekend Course   Veritas Prep Weekend Course Live Online   Veritas Prep Full Course   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online   Veritas Prep Private Tutoring   Veritas Prep Immersion Course  
Locations: Online   Pasadena, CA   San Francisco, CA   Santa Maria, CA   Baton Rouge, LA   Boston (Back Bay), MA   London   Los Angeles, CA  

Ravi holds the distinction of being the single highest-rated GMAT instructor in the world on GMAT Club. The holder of degrees from UC-Berkeley (BS), USC (JD), and UCLA (MBA) he is revered for his “99th percentile or bust” teaching philosophy and beloved for the notable catchphrases that guide students through challenging test-day problems. Ravi blends a challenging classroom environment with personalized attention. An avid basketball player, Ravi has traded the borrowed mantle “the Wizard of Westwood” for the broader reach of “the Oracle of Online” in the GMAT space, now teaching students around the world with his tough-but-fair GMAT approach.

Source: http://www.veritasprep.com/gmat/ravi-sreerama/


Ravi Sreerama's Reviews
Well rounded, engaging class.
August 31 | 2015

       By mhomer0824 joined: June 2, 2015 | 1 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I was hesitant to take an online course. I was concerned about the effectiveness and the ability of the class to focus on individual student concerns. With that being said, Veritas Prep has MASTERED online teaching.

The platform is very unique. The teacher is live during the entire course time and there is a chat room with all the other students in it. There is a moderator in the chat room that you can type questions too and she works in conjunction with the teacher. The teacher can also see everything you're chatting and will even throw in comments and answer questions (he just says them out loud, instead of typing them.) It really DOES feel like you're in a real time classroom.

On top of it, all classes, including chats, are recorded and you are given access to them for 1 year. This is GREAT for someone like me! My course ran from 8 p.m. - 11 p.m. because I'm on the east coast and I work too early to stay up that late every class day. I would typically sit through the first two hours and then watch the last hour the next day. This was very helpful to me.

The pre-class quizzes made sure you did your prep work. The homework was for your benefits! They definitely provide as much structure as possible, for those who aren't as self motivated as others. Between the pre-class quizzes, the class, and the homework, you definitely have the tools to do well.

Onto my teacher, Ravi. Oh Ravi, I will always remember your laugh at our classes corny jokes. Ravi is intelligent and entertaining, exactly what you need with this type of material! He was able to answer questions in great detail, without stumbling or making up BS answers. He engaged the class by reading the chat room content while teaching (how does he do that?!) and had anecdotes and jokes for us to keep the class moving. I choose him after reading on the forums that he's the best, and I'm really glad I did. He is an excellent teacher and I felt comfortable asking him questions and getting honest feedback.

Thank you for such a great experience Veritas! I'm taking my GMAT soon and I'm excited to see the results.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Smart Test Taking
August 26 | 2015

       By turleyde joined: August 28, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Weekend Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Ravi Sreerama is an absolute rock star!!

Before taking Ravi's online Veritas Prep Live Online course, I was a volatile test taker and my scores reflected that. He changed how I approached questions and forced me to think logically rather than aimlessly stumble through equations till I came to a solution. He also gave me the confidence to use logic and not panic if I saw a question format that seemed foreign. I would highly recommend this course (and especially Ravi) to anyone looking to take the GMAT.

PS. For an online class is was really interactive (using instant msg) and fun!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Smart, Engaged and Helpful!
August 26 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By shah.saachi joined: August 26, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Ravi was a fantastic teacher. He was engaged throughout the 6 week course and made every effort to answer each question. Ravi knows his strategies very well and his explanations were easy to understand. I was a bit skeptical about taking an online course, but Ravi was very receptive and engaging. There is also an additional instructor in the class to answer questions. My worry was that questions would not get answered due to the scale of the class, but that was not a issue at all! Ravi would message people individually when we saw it fit. Highly recommend him and Veritas!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Veritas is great! Ravi is the best!
August 26 | 2015

       By stewstinson joined: August 26, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I was definitely cautious of an online prep course as I have never used something like it before. However, I signed up and boy was I impressed. The features and ease of use of the website was great, not to mention that you get to sit on your couch but still feel like you are in a class room. For those that are less likely to participate in a live class, like me, I definitely participated more and got more out of it because of the ability to chat directly with the professor or TA. Veritas provides all the books for supplemental study; furthermore, tons of tests and practice questions/answers/video answers, etc. Ravi was great. Super informative and friendly but will drive you to a better score with tough questions and answers. Definitely recommend Veritas and Ravi!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Class!
August 25 | 2015

       By rbrady joined: August 25, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
The class that I took with Ravi Sreerama as my teacher really did a great job in preparing me for the GMAT. There were plenty of great tips and pointers throughout the lesson that I am sure will help me at test time. The class was also well thought out, with an in depth look in 12 separate 3 hour sections. Although this may sound like it could be boring, Ravi managed to keep the class interesting and entertaining for everyone through engagement with the students. He also did a great job juggling answering questions along with keeping up the fast pace that we needed to maintain. I would definitely recommend this class to anyone looking to take the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Worth it
August 24 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By ximenawagner joined: August 14, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I took the Gmat 2 months ago but unfortunately my score was not enough for the business school that I want. Veritas has a very good retake policy so I decided to retake the online Gmat class with Ravi Sreerama (Veritas Prep). I strongly recommend this course and of course Ravi. The course helped me a lot to remember some topics and improve my skills. Ravi was really clear with explanations. What I liked most about Ravi is that he not only explained the content but also gave us some tricks to do quant problems faster.

I do not know my score yet as I am planning to take the Gmat in a moth, however, I am pretty confident that I will improve my score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Secrets/Strategies to BEATING the GMAT!
August 23 | 2015

       By mschristineto joined: August 23, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I took the live online course with Veritas and they helped me get through the parts where I was struggling with prior to getting help. What I valued the most was how the instructor (Ravi Sreerama) made our class fun and informative.

This guy knows his stuff and he makes the GMAT look easy, but he's also good with dumbing down the info. I definitely felt the course is worth the money and the help they provide is useful, ESPECIALLY if you are studying ALONE!!!

I highly recommend Ravi and Veritas as they have other resources available. Get help before you take the GMAT with people who are professionals at beating the GMAT....
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

If you are serious about the GMAT...
August 22 | 2015

       By mendenhb joined: August 22, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
The course is very organized, and teaches you meaningful techniques for taking the GMAT. What set this course above and beyond for me was my teacher - Ravi Sreerama. Ravi is not afraid to hold people accountable for their mistakes (especially repeated ones), and does so in good nature. He truly has a passion for his job, which is easy to see. Most importantly, he wants to see his students crush the exam. Combining these qualities with his obvious knowledge for the test. I would say it's a no brainer that you should take a prep course with this guy.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Straight up and very effective course
August 22 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by score report
       By aadosani joined: August 22, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
Ravi was the man. He knew his stuff cold and made sure that each of his students did as well. He wouldn't sugar coat anything if you did something wrong but would make sure to point out mistakes so you can learn from this. His teaching style, especially in the quant section, was extremely helpful for me. Would HIGHLY recommend taking one of his classes for GMAT prep. The live online is definitely the way to go if you can't attend in person as I used the on-demand course previously and regretted it big time. Veritas was kind enough to take that into consideration when pricing my live online course. Tl;dr - Take the live online course with Ravi!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Excellent online interactive classes with RAVI
August 21 | 2015

       By ubajgain joined: August 21, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 200 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
We all can get any amount of material to study from so many sources available. No matter what the quality of the material is, what truly matters is the instructor's ability to improve your skills. At Veritas Prep I got exactly that from RAVI SREERAMA. His ability to keep me motivated in a brutally 3 hours long class was outstanding. Even though there were 25 to 30 students in an online class, Ravi gave so much of personal attention and kept me motivated. The class is very tempting to participate and this makes the class very interactive.

Also, the online student account is well structured with videos both for skillbuilding and lesson videos, problems and even analysis of practice test results.

I was banging my head on the wall for my poor GMAT performance but now my GMAT scores are improving and most importantly given the present trend, with practice, i firmly believe that i can make it to the 99% percentiler.

Choose Ravi and open the doors to the business school of your choice!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.