Rob Stringham's Instructor Reviews
Number of reviews [12]
You gain confidence, one class at a time
August 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ndube joined: February 6, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  New York (Midtown Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
Before Veritas I did not study to understand the structure of the test nor how to attack each section. After taking the course with Rob and studied the provided material, I was able to reduce my anxiety of setting a test date.

Veritas dives deeper into each section; teaching you how to recognize the relationships of tested subjects/themes and how to notice when those subjects are being tested. The provided material is designed to teach you the building blocks of each tested subject and how to think and execute the material you've learned.

After taking Rob's M/W evening class, I would highly recommend attending a live session. You are giving yourself more access to vital information and how to "crack the code". Rob's unique style of teaching is rare and more importantly he shows you how to develop your cognitive thinking and rely on more than just formulas. He also doesn't try to conform a student, he understands that every person has their own way of learning and retaining information.

He also has great stories!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Veritas Prep Full Course
May 22 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 25, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  New York (Midtown Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
I highly enjoyed my in-person full course Veritas Prep GMAT course with Rob. He was very enthusiastic and truly cared about how everyone in the class did on the GMAT. He even was willing to meet with me and discuss any issues outside of class hours. During class we would go over any problems I had issues with which helped when facing similar problems in the future. The in-person class also forced me to come prepared which helped me stick to my study goals and enable me to take my test at the peak of my test taking ability. I would highly recommend taking the in-person Veritas Prep GMAT class.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Loved My GMAT Course!
February 25 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By lsciuto joined: February 25, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  New York (Midtown Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
This is going to sound really dorky, but honestly, the Veritas GMAT class with Rob Stringham was so good that I looked forward to going to class every Tuesday and Thursday (three hours each, six hours/week total).

First of all, Rob is a fantastic teacher! He has really good energy, he's funny, and, since he's been teaching the GMAT for 10+ years, he is an expert GMAT teacher. Not only does Rob know how to solve any and every problem, but he also takes a very holistic approach to the GMAT. He discusses stress management strategies, study techniques, ways to practice timing, positive reinforcement tactics, and more. From what I've heard, it's unique to have a GMAT teacher such as Rob who's both engaging AND knowledgeable.

Second, the Veritas materials worked really well for me. I would say they're "good" materials, but that might not be true for everyone. For me, however, they're easy to understand and digest, and the practice problems are well-written.

Finally, while I haven't taken the GMAT yet, I have noticed significant improvement in my practice test scores. While practice test scores are not necessarily an accurate predictor of how one will do on the GMAT, they're certainly an important tool to use in preparing for the GMAT, and continuing to improve my practice scores has been great for maintaining motivation.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this course as a GMAT prep option, and I would highly recommend Rob as a teacher.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Awesome course - recommend it fully
November 25 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 25, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  New York (Midtown Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
I took the full course at the Grand Hyatt in NYC. Tuesdays and Thursdays from 7-10pm with Rob Stringham.

I couldn't recommend the course higher. Not only was the program catered to the students, but Rob made each course very personal and walked us through the details on the questions types and how to attack each. He was very effective also in helping us to understand the GMAT from the inside out - how they looked at different sections, what things to focus on for base knowledge, how to pace yourself properly, how to score (i.e. don't try to get everyone question right), among other things.

I thoroughly enjoyed my classmates, the discussions we had, and the teaching.

I also really liked the online program that was provided. Whenever I wanted more explanation on something, I could always go online and get in depth info. There was never a lack of information, which I think is important in a test that is so broad.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Unbeatable Preparation
September 21 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 21, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  New York (Midtown Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
Initially, I was reluctant to take a prep course because I did not think the value was worth $1500. After taking my first practice test and getting a 650, though, I decided to entertain the idea. Veritas offered me the opportunity to visit the first class of their course for free and I came away very impressed with the instructor (Rob Stringham) and the course prep materials. I decided to make the investment and saw my practice scores rise to a peak of 740 before ultimately getting a 750 on the actual test, a score that would not have been possible without Rob and Veritas. Rob not only did an outstanding job of teaching the course material but he also excelled in preparing me mentally for the test, giving me the right mindset for preparing for and approaching the test. I could not speak more highly of my experience with Rob and Veritas. Though $1500 is still a lot, I never could have imagined getting a 750 without that investment.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Learn how to problem solve, not just take a test!
August 22 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  New York (Midtown Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
Veritas Prep provides very professional resources to its students in order to make for a successful transition from an average test taker to a successful one.

Rob did a good job in emphasizing the need to learn how to solve and approach the problems. He taught us not to just "eliminate answers to make an educated guess." I feel that this is different from many other test prep centers that simply show you how to "take a test." Rob truly seems to care for his students and wants them to do well. He goes above and beyond in giving extra time to his students. Rob did well in enforcing his main points throughout the course so that we wouldn't forget them.

Overall, I was pleased with the prep course. The course did feel slow at times but it was necessary to accommodate everyone in the class. Good work, Veritas Prep.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Good Course
January 19 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 19, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 160 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  New York (Midtown Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
Having been out of college for 8 years when I decided I needed go back to school, I needed a lot of refreshing to get ready for the GMAT. The Veritas books are great. You get a book for each class section so you don't have to lug one giant book around. The class location is really convenient and the rooms were very nice. Rob was a great instructor, my only complaint is that, being somewhat of a brainiac, he could get sidetracked from the task at hand when his mind would take him in another direction.

I was very weak in quant having not done the material in years and the course got me to the 40th percentile on the test. Thankfully I found the verbal material extremely helpful and scored in the 97th percentile there.

IF you are going to take this class, or any class for that matter, you need to do ALL of the work assigned. It's simply not worth paying so much money for the class if you are not going to put the work in. I did put the work in and was happy with the results.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Worth the 8 weekends of your Summer
October 22 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By AdamMidkiff joined: October 22, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  New York (Midtown Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
Rob did a fantastic job helping the students to get into the mindset of the test maker. The key takeaway from the course was to "think like the test maker." Being conscious about this really helped me understand what the GMAC is looking for in successful GMAT test takers.

Rob also showed genuine interest in each of the students and actually caring about how we would do on the exam.

The books that Veritas put together are worth the price on their own, however, having the in person class really helped to solidify concepts that could be somewhat ambiguous just reading out of a text book.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great teachers, including top MBA schools graduates
May 14 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By epigram joined: November 4, 2011 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
I will highly recommend Veritasprep GMAT course that I have just completed. Our teacher was Columbia MBA graduate Rob Stringham. He is very knowledgeable, professional and helpful. He would stay with us for 2-3 hours after the end of the class to answer our questions and do the problems together that we asked him about. Not at all like those teachers that behave like they know it all and you’ll never get even close to their level of understanding the topic.


He has a very personal approach to every student. If you are suffering from anxiety passing the exam he will recommend the ways to work with this issue, good literature to read on this topic and some tricks that will help you to reduce the level of anxiety about the test.


Pros:
-Online tools that include the recording of every GMAT topic and the correlating problem solving
- Great teachers, including top MBA schools graduates
- Teachers do not watch the clock. They are very helpful and friendly
-Very friendly and helpful people at the clients’ department. Mark offered me a discount for the course when he saw that I took private tutor lessons with Veritas Prep some time ago. He also proposed a bonus time with tutor if somebody of my friends will enroll with Veritas. Very client oriented company!
- Great location, Grand Hayatt in Manhattan


Cons:
-Expensive, but you can repeat the course free of charge in case if you need it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

WELL WORTH THE INVESTMENT!!!
May 06 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 6, 2012 | 0 | | native speaker
Improvement: 170 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  New York (Midtown Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
Choosing to take the VERITAS Prep GMAT Course was totally the right decision! I cannot say enough positive about the VERITAS Prep ADVANTAGE! By taking their GMAT course I feel much more empowered to do well than I could have thought imaginable!

The decision actually began by reading this fabulous book called, "Your MBA Game Plan," by Omari Bouknight and Scott Shrum who, as per their book, are also directors for VERTIAS Prep! … and the experience with VERITAS continued improving from there.

The course materials are fantastic! They are clearly written for all to understand and touch on the elementary topics needed for the test plus the ins and outs of navigating through the exam experience. The online practice and diagnostic tests help to refine your skills and get the timing down to an art form! The supplementary “On Demand Lessons” are very easy to follow and are interactive modules that adapt to your learning speed. Put simply, VERITAS arms you with all the tools needed and then some. In addition if you have questions while using their on-line system, support is right there to assist!

And to top the experience off the instructor, Rob Stringham, was PHENOMENAL!!!! He interactively stayed connected with each student, no matter what their skill level, and brought the whole class together to improve each student’s ability to do well on the exam! He accomplished this with an unbelievable amount of energy and focus throughout the entire seven week class! I was really in awe of his teaching style! Rob was very knowledgeable, approachable, down to earth, and amenable to give whatever assistance you felt you may need to conquer this exam!

I repeat VERITAS Prep is WELL WORTH THE INVESTMENT!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.