Rob Stringham


    
Number of reviews [16]


Company: Veritas Prep
Packages: Veritas Prep Full Course   Veritas Prep Private Tutoring  
Locations: New York (Manhattan), NY   New York (Midtown Manhattan), NY  
Rob Stringham's Reviews
Rob is a great teacher and Veritas' materials are solid
December 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 11, 2013 | 1 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  New York (Midtown Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
Rob is such a great guy - beyond being brilliant and a graduate of one of the best business schools around, he is down-to-earth and genuinely cares about his students' success. On the last day of class we all decided to get lunch together during the one-hour break - the restaurant was slow to process our order and we ended up getting back to class 40 minutes late! Rob stayed an extra hour to make sure we covered all of the material and left knowing what we need to do to perform well on the exam.

Overall, highly recommend this course, instructor, and service!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great class
November 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By orenkidanian joined: November 19, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  New York (Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
I learned a lot from the GMAT instructor in both verbal and in Quantitative Just wish the class wasn't as big as 25 students sometimes. I wish the class was 2 months long but learned things that I never would have learned on my own. very insightful information and highly recommend it. The instructor also did a great job answering all questions that an student had in class too. He was also available through email for additional questions we had. Even thought it was a huge class, I feel that I still got individual attention when I needed it. The instructor gives great pointers to each individual should work on, if you ask him for the help.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Solid Refresher for those who haven't been in school for a while.
September 23 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Vigilante joined: September 23, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  New York (Midtown Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
Rob Stringham is a fantastic teacher. He has a huge amount of enthusiasm for the material which really makes a difference when it comes to learning new content. Rob made the content fun and engaging.

I haven't been in school for 6 years, and it was definitely difficult getting back in to the academic mindset. I knew I had a ton of work to catch up on and a slew of topics I needed to refresh or even relearn. When I first started looking at GMAT content, I had forgotten things like how to multiply fractions or find a percent increase. Obviously, I had a lot of learning to do.

The Veritas prep course gave a good foundation of knowledge on all of the areas of the GMAT. The set of books were well put together and had a really wide selection of homework problems to tackle. A real highlight of the course for me was the ability to go online through Veritas' web site, track my progress, do questions, and tackle content and practice tests.

I would say that the Veritas practice tests seemed a bit easier than the official GMAT and official practice CATs.

Scores:
430 - GMAT Practice CAT - First attempt at anything GMAT related.
1 month of self study
540 - GMAT Practice CAT2
Veritas prep 6 week course
680 - Veritas Practice Test 1
690 - Veritas Practice Test 2
690 - Veritas Practice Test 3
690 - Veritas Practice Test 4
620 - GMAT Practice CAT3
600 - GMAT Official

For the official GMAT, I definitely froze up on some really easy questions, super easy, and I just couldn't think of how to do the problems. (Simple work-rate problems)

I have rescheduled for next month and plan on getting a 650+
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Fantastic teacher
August 26 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 26, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Private Tutoring | Location:  New York (Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
Rob was a tremendous teacher who made the material enjoyable, which was not what I expected going into this process. His relaxing demeanor made it easy to related to the challenging material and concentrate on the important areas for me individually to focus on.

Math was always a strong suit but he enabled me to expand on my core competencies to become a student capable of higher scores on thr quant section.

Verbal was an area of weakness where we concentrated on core concepts to apply to the different areas. It was extremely helpful and I would recommend rob to anyone interested in taking the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

You gain confidence, one class at a time
August 05 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ndube joined: February 6, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  New York (Midtown Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
Before Veritas I did not study to understand the structure of the test nor how to attack each section. After taking the course with Rob and studied the provided material, I was able to reduce my anxiety of setting a test date.

Veritas dives deeper into each section; teaching you how to recognize the relationships of tested subjects/themes and how to notice when those subjects are being tested. The provided material is designed to teach you the building blocks of each tested subject and how to think and execute the material you've learned.

After taking Rob's M/W evening class, I would highly recommend attending a live session. You are giving yourself more access to vital information and how to "crack the code". Rob's unique style of teaching is rare and more importantly he shows you how to develop your cognitive thinking and rely on more than just formulas. He also doesn't try to conform a student, he understands that every person has their own way of learning and retaining information.

He also has great stories!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Veritas Prep Full Course
May 22 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 25, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  New York (Midtown Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
I highly enjoyed my in-person full course Veritas Prep GMAT course with Rob. He was very enthusiastic and truly cared about how everyone in the class did on the GMAT. He even was willing to meet with me and discuss any issues outside of class hours. During class we would go over any problems I had issues with which helped when facing similar problems in the future. The in-person class also forced me to come prepared which helped me stick to my study goals and enable me to take my test at the peak of my test taking ability. I would highly recommend taking the in-person Veritas Prep GMAT class.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Loved My GMAT Course!
February 25 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By lsciuto joined: February 25, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  New York (Midtown Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
This is going to sound really dorky, but honestly, the Veritas GMAT class with Rob Stringham was so good that I looked forward to going to class every Tuesday and Thursday (three hours each, six hours/week total).

First of all, Rob is a fantastic teacher! He has really good energy, he's funny, and, since he's been teaching the GMAT for 10+ years, he is an expert GMAT teacher. Not only does Rob know how to solve any and every problem, but he also takes a very holistic approach to the GMAT. He discusses stress management strategies, study techniques, ways to practice timing, positive reinforcement tactics, and more. From what I've heard, it's unique to have a GMAT teacher such as Rob who's both engaging AND knowledgeable.

Second, the Veritas materials worked really well for me. I would say they're "good" materials, but that might not be true for everyone. For me, however, they're easy to understand and digest, and the practice problems are well-written.

Finally, while I haven't taken the GMAT yet, I have noticed significant improvement in my practice test scores. While practice test scores are not necessarily an accurate predictor of how one will do on the GMAT, they're certainly an important tool to use in preparing for the GMAT, and continuing to improve my practice scores has been great for maintaining motivation.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this course as a GMAT prep option, and I would highly recommend Rob as a teacher.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Awesome course - recommend it fully
November 25 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 25, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  New York (Midtown Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
I took the full course at the Grand Hyatt in NYC. Tuesdays and Thursdays from 7-10pm with Rob Stringham.

I couldn't recommend the course higher. Not only was the program catered to the students, but Rob made each course very personal and walked us through the details on the questions types and how to attack each. He was very effective also in helping us to understand the GMAT from the inside out - how they looked at different sections, what things to focus on for base knowledge, how to pace yourself properly, how to score (i.e. don't try to get everyone question right), among other things.

I thoroughly enjoyed my classmates, the discussions we had, and the teaching.

I also really liked the online program that was provided. Whenever I wanted more explanation on something, I could always go online and get in depth info. There was never a lack of information, which I think is important in a test that is so broad.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Unbeatable Preparation
September 21 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 21, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  New York (Midtown Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
Initially, I was reluctant to take a prep course because I did not think the value was worth $1500. After taking my first practice test and getting a 650, though, I decided to entertain the idea. Veritas offered me the opportunity to visit the first class of their course for free and I came away very impressed with the instructor (Rob Stringham) and the course prep materials. I decided to make the investment and saw my practice scores rise to a peak of 740 before ultimately getting a 750 on the actual test, a score that would not have been possible without Rob and Veritas. Rob not only did an outstanding job of teaching the course material but he also excelled in preparing me mentally for the test, giving me the right mindset for preparing for and approaching the test. I could not speak more highly of my experience with Rob and Veritas. Though $1500 is still a lot, I never could have imagined getting a 750 without that investment.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Learn how to problem solve, not just take a test!
August 22 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  New York (Midtown Manhattan), USA | Taught by:  Rob Stringham
Veritas Prep provides very professional resources to its students in order to make for a successful transition from an average test taker to a successful one.

Rob did a good job in emphasizing the need to learn how to solve and approach the problems. He taught us not to just "eliminate answers to make an educated guess." I feel that this is different from many other test prep centers that simply show you how to "take a test." Rob truly seems to care for his students and wants them to do well. He goes above and beyond in giving extra time to his students. Rob did well in enforcing his main points throughout the course so that we wouldn't forget them.

Overall, I was pleased with the prep course. The course did feel slow at times but it was necessary to accommodate everyone in the class. Good work, Veritas Prep.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.