Travis Morgan

Director of Admissions Consulting


    
Number of reviews [10]


Company: Veritas Prep
Packages: Veritas Prep Full Course   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online  
Locations: Online   Los Angeles, CA  
After receiving his MBA with Distinction from the Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University, Travis relocated to Southern California and joined the Veritas Prep team as one of the few to serve as both a GMAT Instructor and an MBA Admissions Consultant. While receiving top reviews from every client as a Veritas Prep Head Consultant, Travis also managed to win the 2011 Worldwide GMAT Instructor of the Year award and was invited to join our team full time. A professional journalist and award-winning writer and public speaker, Travis originally started advising clients years ago as a volunteer employment specialist for LDS Employment Services in his hometown of Seattle. Having served on the Kellogg Diversity & Inclusion Council and interviewed countless candidates for its Admissions Committee, he brings an insider’s perspective, a contagious passion and years of experience to the Veritas Prep team.

Travis Morgan's Reviews
Great Prep Course!
August 06 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 6, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Travis Morgan
I had Travis Morgan as my live online prep course instructor. He was awesome, patient, and positive. He really broke down each section by giving a set of tools to tackle the GMAT question types. In addition, he provided strategy tips to answer those daunting tougher questions. I really enjoyed this prep course because not only was it engaging, but it was also organized so that I could focus on the specific sections that I had the hardest time understanding. Overall, I highly recommend this course, and I am confident that with a little bit more studying, I will be extremely prepared for the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Best Investment of Time and Money I have Ever Made
July 25 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By BigFudge joined: July 25, 2014 | 1 | 0 |
Improvement: 130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:  Online | Taught by:  Travis Morgan
I am about a year removed from undergrad and I decided that going back to school made a ton of sense. So the GMAT was my next logical step as I wanted to get an MBA. In Undergrad I worked really hard, but was never your 4.0 student. I was intimidated by the GMAT and was expecting a 640-660 score (which I still think is really solid), but I digress. I have been absolutely blown AWAY by so many aspects of this course. I have loved my instructor and TA. Any time I need an answer on something I get it, and if it is in reasonable business hours it is same day. There are a variety of different study helps for different skill levels and different types of learners. The learning became fun and almost addictive as I saw my practice test scores go up every week. The feedback from the tests was great as well and I always knew exactly which "dragon" i should slay next improving and balancing my scores.
Another thing I ought to add is that I am absolutely dirt cheap and this course was worth every penny to me. I work 50+ hours a week and wasn't sure how I would fit all of this in, but the class and materials really maximize study efficiency and results.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Veritas Prep Full Course - Travis Morgan
November 28 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 28, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Los Angeles, USA | Taught by:  Travis Morgan
I read a lot of of reviews online about different GMAT courses and it came down to 2. Veritas and Manhattan. I decided to go with Veritas, and I am so glad I did. Travis was my instructor and the one quality I enjoyed most was his excitement and energy he brought to class. The classes were from 7-10pm so given we were all exhausted from a full work day, but he was full of energy which kept us in tune with the class.

In terms of material, he taught us all the necessary strategies to tackle any sort of problem, they were great. Practice makes perfect, so don't think that by just taking the course you would be fine to take the test. You have to study and do all the HW assignments etc..

By taking the full course you have access to alot of resources. Too much to type right now haha, but check it out online, you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

GMAT prep course, round 1
October 17 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 17, 2013 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Los Angeles, USA | Taught by:  Travis Morgan
Where to begin...
There is a lot of material to cover in just 6 weeks and that's quite possibly a huge understatement. In terms of the strategy of Veritas Prep, I think their approach and method is awesome. Travis did a wonderful job of being engaging and giving some life & excitement to what might normally be painful material to re-visit. I think it's most important to note that these courses focus strictly on testing strategy and how to attack the GMAT given what's known about the way they ask questions and try to fool you. The course is in no way a refresher course for math that you haven't done for 8 years (ahem, right here, yours truly!). My verbal strategy improvement was awesome. Unfortunately for every increase I saw in verbal, I saw, and am still seeing, a decrease in quant. It sucks....
I don't blame this on the course, obviously, but the quant sections have a lot of material to cover and no matter how well you learn the strategies of the test, make sure you are working on the skill builders (in the books provided) to brush up on your math and whatever else you may be rusty on.

I really really enjoyed taking this class and think I am going to have another go at it. I am not quite where I want to be with my score and I can't seem to beat the score I got on the GMAT practice exams from when I began the course. It's been a few months and I've been studying on my own, and I'm just not to the point where I'm ready to take the REAL test. I plan to brush up once more with the Vertias Prep strategies, once I feel I am where I need to be with my additional skills, and then attack the GMAT to the best of my ability.

The Vertias Prep website and resources are awesome. They are available to you up to a year after you take the course and everything on the site is very helpful. There are lots of problems to work through, practice exams, etc. It really adds to the value of what you're getting for the price of taking this course.
The books are helpful as well, but more so in conjunction with the class and your own note taking.

I haven't taken any other courses, so I can't speak for them and their strengths or weaknesses. However, I can say that I feel the money spent on Vertias Prep was well spent and I hope that I can see a boost in my score to solidify this notion even further!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Veritas Full Course in Santa Monica
July 31 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 31, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Los Angeles, USA | Taught by:  Travis Morgan
I was a bit hesitant to take a GMAT class instead of getting a random tutor. Veritas has a VERY strong curriculum, polite staff, and teachers who care. Most of the time, my teacher was Travis. Probably one of the most engaging and thoughtful teachers I have ever had. He'd come early, and stay as late as anyone needed, sometimes even until around 11pm.

We also had another teacher named Brian for some of the quant days - one of the best quant guys around.

The homework was thorough, amount of practice exams more than enough, and their online portal is extremely resourceful. I actually respect the GMAT as a test because of Veritas - that's something.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Veritas Prep - Well Worth the $
January 02 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By slumperino joined: November 27, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Los Angeles, USA | Taught by:  Travis Morgan
I took the Veritas Prep course and I stongly suggest you do the same. I've always done well on standardized tests, but have never taken a test like the gmat which really focuses on logical reasoning and problem solving strategies. Veritas Prep provided a great platform for exactly that - it provides concise strategies for approaching the various problem types and allows you to quickly recognize the question type and the appropriate approach to solving the problem in a reasonable amount of time. This is instrumental to performing well on the GMAT.

My instructor, Travis Morgan, was great and kept the class engaged and on point. I performed well on the test and felt very comfortable given the resources made available to me through Veritas Prep. The practice tests were good though scores seemed on the low side (the official GMAC practice tests are always the best). The lessons were great. Veritas has a great team who is sincerely dedicated to the success of their students.

Great program! Thanks Veritas!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

raised my score by 100 points!
December 11 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 11, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Los Angeles, USA | Taught by:  Travis Morgan
I highly recommended Veritas Prep. I took the Kaplan course previously and it cannot even compare to the structure and the kind of material that Veritas offers. Their online portal is very helpful and offers videos, numerous practice exams, drills and quizzes for each subject.

If you decide to sign up, request Travis Morgan as your instructor. He's very enthusiastic about teaching the material and has a lot of helpful pointers. He also ensures you are understanding the matter as the class progresses.

The practice exams that Veritas offer are a lot harder than the GMAC ones, which could be a good thing in helping you prepare for the actual GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Veritas Prep (VP) Fall 2012 - Santa Monica
December 10 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By qzhou joined: December 10, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Los Angeles, USA | Taught by:  Travis Morgan
I took the Full Course with Travis Morgan at the Santa Monica location Oct - Nov 2012 (6 weeks total).

Going into the class, I had no previous GMAT instructions, took one diagnostics test, and was a year out of college, and 2-3 years out of my last quant-heavy course. I needed help with quant.

So my course review will be divided into the following sections:
1. Quant
2. Verbal
3. Instructor

Quant - I needed a refresher on some basic math concepts like exponents and properties of integers. VP asks you to review these concepts prior to each quant class by going through their Skills-Builder section on your own. I thought it was a helpful review of things I have not thought about for a long time. The instructor then teaches some of those concepts through practice problems in class, but mostly, our time in class focused on thinking about the problems critically and learning how to do math without doing math. I thought the pace of the class was average.

Verbal - the most helpful part was the critical reasoning part where VP gives you a guideline how to tackle some specific question types. I was already scoring pretty high on verbal so the most important takeaway for me was just the techniques and shortcuts.

Instructor - Travis was great - energetic, knowledgeable, patient, and good at explaining the concepts. I would definitely try to take it with him if you can. BUT all VP instructors should be great because VP has a strict hiring policy.

I would definitely recommend VP!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Class and Instructor! Well worth the time and money
November 30 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By lmcken joined: November 30, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 0 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Los Angeles, USA | Taught by:  Travis Morgan
I haven't taken the GMAT, and this will be my first time taking it, so I will come back and let you know how I did ;) However, I am thoroughly pleased with the class. It's intense - very fast paced - but that made it even more important to stay caught up, thus forcing you to study more and harder.

I took this class in Santa Monica, and it was M/W nights for 6 weeks. My instructor was Travis Morgan and he was simply amazing! 3 hours of class directly after a full work day is a tough time frame for me to productive, but Travis made it easy to be engaged. He taught each concept very thoroughly, took the time to go through any questions and made sure we all understood and was always available by email or otherwise to help out further with any skillbuilder/homework questions. He was hilarious and entertaining, which helped out quite a bit.
There were a number of classes in the area available within similar timeframes, and you were more than welcome to jump around as needed. Also available is a number of online resources, including online lectures in case you missed any - which I needed to use a few times.

It was an extremely helpful class, and I recommend the Veritas Prep Course, and more specifically Travis, to anyone who might be interested.

I plan on taking the GMAT by the end of January, so I will report back on my improvement from the pre-class practice test!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Fantastic Course!
November 29 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By cseibert joined: November 29, 2012 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Veritas Prep Full Course | Location:  Los Angeles, USA | Taught by:  Travis Morgan
If you are looking for a GMAT prep course, look no further! Veritas prep was extremely helpful. From the moment I signed up the guys at Veritas made everything very convenient. They overnighted my books to me because I signed up last minute and made themselves available for questions at any time. They understand that most of us are very busy with work and were flexible with attending classes on different nights.

My instructor, Travis Morgan, was phenomenal. He was able to teach difficult concepts in simple ways so that everyone could understand. Veritas dissects the GMAT so that you know exactly what to expect and gives many helpful hints so that you know how to think like the test makers. The books that come with the course actually explain short cuts to doing the problems and walk you through step-by-step.

Seriously everyone in my class was very happy with the course and felt that it was well worth the money. Veritas also allows you to repeat the course free of charge for the first year after your class!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.