Tyler Cormney's Instructor Reviews
Number of reviews [23]
Tyler Cormney - the best of the very best!
March 03 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 13, 2012 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
Tyler Cormney, the co-founder of MBA Prep School, is absolutely amazing, the best of the very best! No words can really describe how thrilled I am about our work together and the awesome results, but I will do my best. Not only did I get into the school of my dreams (and others I applied to), but also learned a lot about myself and what future life- and career choices I should pursue.

Coming from a finance background, and with some considerable weaknesses in profile, I knew I was up for an intense competition but wanted to get into a top program (think Harvard/Stanford/Wharton). Given my age and professional category, I didn’t want to leave anything to chance or have a single regret. For this, I needed THE best MBA admissions consultant, who would work as hard as I would and help me create absolutely rock-star applications. You have to have full confidence in your admissions consultant and in entrusting your fate in this process in her- or his hands. You can’t compromise on quality here – the process is just so competitive. You need someone who is as invested as you are in your success.

I first came across Tyler Cormney, and MBA Prep School while doing a thorough diligence and speaking to several consultants. His application philosophy, and the organized and comprehensive MBA Prep School application process, appealed to me a lot. Most of the consultants out there looked good on paper, and sounded encouraging. However, among all of them, Tyler really stood out by his unique background in both business (incl. Harvard Business School MBA) and creative writing training. Excellent track record and reviews written by his former clients, and a great impression from our introductory conversation (where he shared valuable insights and we connected on an interpersonal level), ultimately convinced me to embark on my “MBA application journey” with him. I signed on for a multi-school comprehensive package. This was the single best decision I made in the MBA application process!

As said, I had (very) high expectations, which Tyler instantly started exceeding. We spent weeks doing an extremely organized and comprehensive review of my background (in line with MBA Prep School methodology) and designing application strategy, which produced stunning material for the “real fun” later – essays, application forms, supporting recommenders, and interviews. Right away, I saw that I made a great choice. Tyler was extraordinarily responsive (still don’t know how he manages to turn stuff around and answer emails so quickly and so thoroughly!). He drew exactly the right information from me – often stuff I would not have considered important, but through his creative and experienced eyes, he saw how the dots connected into something powerful. From an “ocean” of content, step by step, week after week, we described the real “me” at my very best. It was completely personalized – nothing “cookie cutter” or “fitting into a template.” He got to know me inside out, remembered everything, pointed to connections and themes I didn’t see myself, and in the end I knew what my “story” had to be.

It quickly turned out Tyler is not (just) an “MBA admissions consultant,” or advisor. Tyler became way more than this – a confidante, a strategist, and really a friend. He was there to help on anything, and no matter what – incl. GMAT strategy and answering my last-minute frenetic emails at light’s speed. Already at that stage the Skype calls we had and emails we exchanged counted probably in hundreds, and their content could fill a new thick novel or memoir on MBA applications. Tyler keeps you on track with timing and process, sends emails reminding of upcoming deadlines, and I can’t even count how many times he “rescued” me by squeezing rush (and voluminous) work in his schedule to save. Whenever I needed something extra, he was there to help by making personal sacrifices and squeezing work into my mad schedule and deadlines. In fact, he over delivers both on timing and on quality. Working with him, you’re fully confident you’re with the best pilot and on a seat in the “private jet.” And I really, really admire his superhuman patience, kindness, and authentic friendliness!

What happened once we started work on the actual applications was simply a masterpiece. I had read reviews from excited clients about Tyler’s creative writing knowledge, and what I experienced first-hand was way greater than I had even expected. Having survived MANY revisions of outlines and “first drafts” (again – immense kudos to his incredible patience; you can tell by reading this review that I like to say it all...), we started producing applications, which evolved from decent in my first draft to extraordinary (after Tyler’s editorial suggestions and our countless Skype discussions). Whenever I thought my work was already great, and felt satisfied, Tyler proved it could be taken to the “next level.” When I opened a file coming back from him, I couldn’t help but say “woooow.” We never stopped until it was all perfect. And this applies to absolutely all items of my MBA application – essays, data forms, resume, guidance for my recommenders’, and absolutely every, tiniest detail. Upon submission, my applications were holistic, school-specific (Tyler knows the nuanced differences between schools) and presented an authentic 3-dimensional picture that I felt very proud of. At the interview stage, his help was just as fantastic, and the preparation equally brilliant. The call(s) from AdCom saying I was accepted are the ultimate proof!

It’s not only the quality Tyler guarantees, and the outstanding output which results from working with him, that makes him so special. It’s also the attitude, and the 1000% dedication in client’s success, like it was his own. It is my biggest pleasure to wholeheartedly recommend Tyler Cormney and want to say with total confidence that however gruelling the MBA application process might be, embarking on it with him makes it a completely different experience – to the point you can even enjoy it (I’m not joking). I’m heading to the business school of my many-year-long dreams, filled with joy and knowing it is due to TYLER that it happened.

THANK YOU TYLER, you are the best!!

- Top-3 MBA, class of 2016
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Tyler Cormney
February 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 2, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I think Tyler really excels in many areas. The first thing is that he believes in you and can see a compelling story in everyone. While I was researching admissions consultants, I spoke to other consultants who quickly put me in a box and told me which schools were reach, match, and safety, based on taking my resume at face value. In contrast, Tyler saw the potential and stories hidden in my resume and pushed me to stretch myself. His faith in me and ability to look deeper was what convinced me to go with him, despite a higher sticker price than some competing shops.

Tyler is truly what I would call a coach or guide. He has interesting, creative ideas, but he really pushes you to develop your own. He is never prescriptive, and he strongly believes in presenting an authentic view of you. Don't sign up if you are just hoping to have someone tell you what to say. The essays that result after working with Tyler are rich and polished, but also to-the-point. Most importantly, they will be your own, with your unique voice and story.

Lastly, Tyler has a knack for making you feel like you are his only client. He remembers so much, and is very good at accommodating your schedule and needs. He will do what it takes to get the job done, and holds himself to a very high standard.

In the end, I was interviewed at a school that other consultants told me was out of my league, and accepted to two Top 10 schools that other consultants said were "reaches." I give Tyler my highest recommendation, and know that I absolutely made the right choice by choosing him.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Review for Tyler Cormney
January 23 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 23, 2014 | 1 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
The business school application process can be daunting, including the process of choosing a consultant! Tyler stood out to me because of his extensive experience and more importantly RESULTS. Tyler came highly recommended by friends who were successful as a result of his help. During my initial consultation, I appreciated that Tyler was realistic about my candidacy. I felt like he saw possible pitfalls and solutions that other consultants missed.

I was not disappointed. In regards to my essays, Tyler was able to help me pick apart major events in my life and narrow in on an interesting theme, which I believe helped me stand out from the pack. Not only did he provide great advice on the application, but he also provided a much-needed push when I started to get worn-out. I felt like he was personally invested in helping me get into my dream school, Harvard Business School! Make an investment in Tyler. You will have the peace of mind of knowing that you are putting your best foot forward with your applications.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Tyler is worth it!
January 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By mik789 joined: December 10, 2013 | 3 | 1 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I come from a fairly traditional/over-represented background (2 years of banking, 3 years of private equity) and I was concerned about my chances of being accepted into HBS or Stanford. After interviewing 7 different admissions consultants, I selected Tyler for a couple reasons: (1) some of my close friends had used him in the past and had nothing but great things to say [and had also gotten accepted], and (2) I felt like Tyler would be someone that could help me create a unique, personal narrative unlike some other consultants who like to squeeze all their clients into a pre-determined mold.

Regarding point 2, I would say that Tyler has exceeded my already high expectations. Tyler guided me through a step-by-step process to bring out my most relevant / interesting / unique stories and helped me craft them into powerful narratives in my essays. He is disciplined, responsive, and in particular, his attentiveness almost made me feel like I was his only client.

If you come from an over-represented background and care about crafting a unique story that still represents who you really are, PICK TYLER!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Tyler is the BEST!
October 26 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 26, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I decided to choose Tyler to help me through the admissions process after reading multiple great reviews. I have to say that I have not been disappointed. I had a special case as I recently returned from abroad and went through a very difficult job change. I knew that I wanted to go for an MBA but it was very difficult for me to come up with a coherent and convincing story behind my application. Tyler was very patient, he worked with me tirelessly through the details of my education, career choices and life story. After we started working on my applications Tyler never accepted my essays until they were the absolute best that I could write. I also feel proud that I wrote all of them myself unlike some of my friends who used consultants to write theirs. It was a difficult process but at the end I felt great about the end product and it help me land again on solid feet in my career. I purchased Tyler's 6-school package, I applied to five, and I got admitted to Insead, Oxford Said, and Columbia. I have just been invited to Cornell to interview but as Columbia was my top choice I decided to withdraw my application from Booth and Cornell. Tyler never accepts 90% he will push you to your very limit but also make sure you deliver your very best. He is very patient and will do everything to help you along the way. I feel lucky that I chose Tyler to help me. He made a significant difference for me. Thank you Tyler.
I am starting Columbia in a few months. I can't be more excited!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Extraordinary consultant!
October 22 | 2013

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 15, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
With little more than three weeks to apply to my three dream schools (Kellogg, Tuck, Yale SOM), I had very little room for error and no time to waste.

Insert: Tyler Cormney.

After a speed dating rotation (i.e. free 30-minute trials) with the most highly recommended MBA consultants available, I signed with Ty believing he could provide something I just could not get working on my own. I could not have been more right!

Ty is an extraordinary coach. From the moment I signed on, I felt that he was as invested in my success as I was. With such a tight deadline, it was invaluable to have a counselor whose feedback I trusted wholeheartedly. Ty’s advice is the product of having worked with hundreds of applicants, and I felt the value of it through every step of the application process.

As a “career switcher” into brand management, I specifically appreciated Tyler’s guidance in crafting a detailed career goals plan. He helped me identify my transferrable skills, coached me through informational interviews with professionals at various levels of their marketing careers, and even put me in touch with his own contacts!

In three short weeks, Tyler motivated me through his entire process of approaching MBA applications. When I finally pressed “SUBMIT”, I was confident that I had put the best “me” forward in my applications and I would have no regrets regardless of outcome.

As Ty has often reminded me, “It’s not where you begin, it’s where you finish.” In hindsight, I know exactly how different my application would have been with and without Tyler’s help. I feel so blessed to have made the choice I did to work with Tyler Cormney.


- Kellogg, Class of 2015 (with scholarship); admitted to Tuck and Yale SOM
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Great Experience - Highly Recommended
June 19 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 19, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I used Tyler Cormney this past year and only have the best things to say. As a someone reapplying for the second time, I knew the process well and just needed a knowledgeable external party who could take a look at my essays and general application. Tyler gave specific and actionable feedback with a very short turnaround. Initially I was hesitant to use a consultant given the costs but it was well worth it.

Tyler was responsive, friendly, professional, and most importantly, he genuinely cared about seeing me admitted. His feedback helped to tighten up my stories and improve the flow of my overall application. He also raised some bigger questions that I could later go back to and resolve myself. Overall, it was a huge value add and I would recommend him to anyone (at any stage of the MBA admissions process). I am thrilled to be heading to Stanford in the fall - thanks Tyler!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

MBA Prep School Tyler Cormney
April 19 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 20, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I engaged Tyler Cormney after a friend told me how instrumental Tyler was in his successful application to Stanford GSB. As a military applicant seeking to change career paths, I began the intensive application process with no working knowledge of the business world, and no concrete career goals. With Tyler’s coaching and the resources he created for MBA Prep School, I was able to break up the MBA application process into manageable parts and to establish clear deadlines and a personal work plan.

I appreciated the organized approach, which ensured each aspect of my application received my best effort, and over time I created a cohesive story for the adcoms. This seems basic, but it’s actually an incredibly difficult task when you’re juggling multiple business school applications.

Tyler worked with me through numerous video chat consults and used the step-by-step MBA Prep School plan to gradually bring my career goals into focus. By the time I was ready to draft my essays, I had a career path in mind that I was genuinely excited about. More importantly, I could articulate what I wanted to do, why it was important to me, and how an MBA was necessary to my achieving these career goals.

Tyler's personal character and commitment to my success showed during the essay drafting process. He always told me when an essay topic wasn't working, and advised that we start from scratch. He even helped me to power through when I was feeling a bit burnt out with the writing process. In short, Tyler accepted nothing less than my very best, even though it put him on the hook for many more revisions. Tyler won’t let up until you’ve done it right!

After being invited to interview by Wharton and waitlisted by Harvard, I was accepted and offered a $20K scholarship to the top-ranked MBA program that I will be attending this Fall. Tyler helped me present my very best self in each of my applications, and I doubt I would have received a valuable scholarship from a top 20 program without him. As such, I can confidently say that Tyler added value to my applications far in excess of what it cost to hire him. This process, though challenging and even painful at times, enabled me to discover my true career goals and develop an actionable plan to achieve them. I highly recommend Tyler to others, especially non-traditional and fellow military MBA applicants like myself!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Tyler Cormney Review
April 09 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 22, 2012 | 0 | |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I truly do not believe that I would have received an acceptance letter to HBS without Tyler Cormney’s guidance. The toughest part of the application was putting together quality essays that hit on all the points I wanted to make while addressing the fit qualities that the schools deemed to be most important. I would have had no clue how to pick stories to tell in my essays or understand fit qualities of top-tier programs without Tyler’s support. Tyler was very helpful and knowledgeable about every step along the path to putting together a top-notch application. He was always available to answer any question, no matter how specific it was to my application, or general it was to each program. Tyler was genuinely interested in my success, which could be felt during our conversations and his devotion to the nitty-gritty aspects of my application.

The MBA Prep School videos that Tyler created for the benefit of his clients were all-inclusive, and allowed for much richer discussions when Tyler and I had one of our live meetings. I would absolutely recommend Tyler Cormney and MBA Prep School if you are serious about applying to a top-tier business school and believe, as I did, that you need help standing out in this incredibly ferocious competition.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Highly Recommend Tyler Cormney at MBAPrepSchool
March 21 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 21, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Admissions Consulting   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
Working with Tyler was truly an exceptional experience and with his help, I was accepted into Harvard Business School! I expected top-notch service and was not disappointed from the pre to post-application process.

One of the things that exceeded my expectations was Tyler’s creativity and skill in helping me craft my essays. He was able to break down my essays and suggest ways to restructure them until the same story emerged in the best light possible. He was never satisfied with something that was “good enough”. In addition, Tyler was able to step back and look at my overall package to ensure the messaging remained true to me and consistent.

Another advantage of working with Tyler was having access to The MBA Prep School’s videos, e-book, and tools. These resources not only explained what to expect from each part of the application process, but also how to approach it and what action steps to take to stand out to the admissions committee. MBA Prep School’s website provided practical tips to approach recommenders, how to research schools, and what pitfalls to avoid. The supplemental exercises and worksheets allowed for an incredible self-discovery process, which helped me articulate who I am and my motivations. By having these tools at my disposal, I felt that it gave me both an edge and self-assurance as I went through the application process.

Overall, Tyler was both professional and knowledgeable, making this stressful application process as smooth as possible. Tyler customizes his services to you and your needs, not just another template-type consulting process. He helped me transform from a strong candidate into a compelling one. Just as he told me when we first started, he was not just my consultant, but a guide, coach, career counselor, and cheerleader – and that held true. I couldn’t have done this without him!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.