Tyler Cormney

MBA Admissions Consultant


    
Number of reviews [36]


Company: MBAPrepSchool
Packages: Comprehensive School Package   MBA Prep School Digital  
Tyler is an experienced MBA admissions consultant and is a co-founder of MBA Prep School. You can get a detailed profile evaluation by completing this form.

He started his admissions consulting career in 2006 with one of the leading firms in the field and has coached over 100 MBA applicants.He is the co-author of How to Apply for an MBA, the essential guide to earning an acceptance letter from the world’s best business schools. He has also authored a “how-to” guide on admissions consulting used extensively by top admissions coaches and has published five guides on MBA essay strategies.

In addition to helping his clients prepare for success in the MBA admissions process, Tyler has worked as an independent strategy consultant for clients ranging from high-tech start-ups to Fortune 500 market leaders. He was a manager in Strategic Planning and Business Development at PeopleSoft, and started his career as a consultant in Arthur Andersen’s Business Consulting Services group, working in the US, Europe, Asia, Australia, and the Middle East.

Tyler holds a Harvard MBA, a Master’s in Professional Writing from the University of Southern California, and a Bachelor’s Degree in Honors Business from the University of Texas at Austin.


Tyler Cormney's Reviews
Helped me reach my goals!
July 01 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by school email address
       By Anonymous joined: June 13, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I begin my MBA this fall at the right school for me, and I have Tyler Cormney and Claudia Ruegg to thank for helping to get me there. What mattered most was maintaining my voice throughout the application, not becoming a cookie cutter applicant lost in the stack. I achieved that. Tyler and Claudia excel at digging deep to discover, build upon, and project your unique voice. I cannot say enough positive words about my experience working with them.

I contacted Tyler on the recommendation of a friend attending a top five B-School who had also used his services. Feeling that my application was weak, I had just made a frustrated decision to pull back my Round 1 submission. I knew working with Tyler and Claudia was the right move after our first conversation. Tyler laid out a straightforward path to meet Round 2 deadlines that covered every aspect of the application. I specifically liked his use of Asana as a collaboration tool. His Harvard MBA and Claudia’s Stanford MBA provided two unique perspectives. Tyler’s creative writing education helped tremendously in telling my story. Both Tyler and Claudia excelled at helping me identify strengths and link experiences to desired qualities. Claudia in particular made me feel as though I was talking to a longtime friend, allowing me to open up. The final product was a much higher quality than I could have produced myself.

Tyler and Claudia have no doubt helped me get closer to my goals. If you have any desire to strengthen your application, I urge you to give Tyler a call. You will certainly not regret it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Master Strategist
June 02 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: May 27, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
In light of my average GPA and a below-median GMAT score, my expectations were not high that I would be accepted into a top business school. Just to have a chance of acceptance, I needed an expert like Tyler Cormney who could help me craft my strengths, top accomplishments, and best leadership stories into a cohesive and compelling application. Tyler helped me sharpen my career goals, worked with me on the best essay strategy, advised me on how to get incredible results from my recommenders, and coached me through a mock interview. I say with complete confidence that if it hadn't been for Tyler, then I would have not been given a full scholarship to a top 5 ranked business school!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

A fantastic experience and a great investment
March 26 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: December 17, 2014 | 2 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I worked with Tyler Cormney on four separate school applications to top-5 programs. I was admitted into two schools, both of which offered scholarships, and I have no doubt that Tyler's understanding of the nuances of business school admissions was what earned me those scholarships. For starters, I consider Tyler's services one of the greatest investments I have ever made.

However, I gained much more from working with Tyler than admission and scholarship money. Tyler is exceptionally sharp, and one of his most valuable abilities is to piece together experiences that you share with him to paint a complete picture. He is so good at doing this that I can almost guarantee that you will learn something about yourself by working with Tyler that you didn't know before. Maybe you hadn't connected the dots, maybe you hadn't thought about your own experiences from someone else's perspective, or maybe you had forgotten things. Tyler helped me perform a performance review of my life, and I emerged much more knowledgeable about who I am and what I am good at. This is the real goldmine that will help take me where I want to go. Admittance is only the beginning.

I have already recommended Tyler to several friends, and I urge everyone to consider hiring Tyler. The service could pay for itself many times over, and you will emerge from the experience more knowledgeable about yourself.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Me + Tyler Cormney = HBS Bound!
March 23 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: March 11, 2014 | 4 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
Where do I even begin? Let's start here: I'm going to HBS in the fall and Tyler Cormney played an integral role in making that dream happen. He is professional, personable and, as they might say in Boston, wicked smaht. It's possible my experiences with Boston thus far have been limited to my HBS interview and watching Good Will Hunting, but I digress.

Tyler is uniquely qualified within the admissions consulting world because he has both a Harvard MBA and a Master's in Professional Writing from USC. This means he has the business acumen to understand your experience and recognize which parts of your background are truly differentiating factors, and the writing chops to craft your story and make your essays really sing.

I was initially torn on whether or not to even hire an admissions consultant for my application process. The service seemed to be overpriced, and many of the consultants I screened before Tyler did nothing to convince me otherwise. Once I got on the phone with Tyler, my opinion changed completely. Based only on a small handful of biographical questions, Tyler was able to connect several seemingly disparate parts of my background and tie them all together into a coherent and powerful story. This type of brilliance became commonplace over the six months Tyler and I worked together.

Tyler is also remarkably patient and calm - two qualities that come in especially handy when dealing with nervous business school applicants. After submitting the applications for my top two schools, I was completely buried at work and had to put the rest of my applications on hold. I eventually found myself in the unenviable position of needing to put together an entire application, from scratch, in less than two weeks. When I got back in touch with Tyler, he told me not to worry and sent me a few ideas he had been working on while I had been away. I spent the next several days trying to execute on the themes we had discussed, but just couldn't get the application materials where we wanted them. At this point, we had less than a week before the deadline. It would have been so, so easy for Tyler to either a) throw up his hands and say the materials were good enough, or b) push that application back to round 2. Instead, he buckled down with me, shortened his turnaround times for new drafts, and helped me polish the materials all the way up until the application deadline. I was accepted to this top 5 program as well.

I honestly can't recommend Tyler Cormney enough. He is the best investment I have ever made, and I consider him a good friend.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Outstanding admission consulting
March 22 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: October 2, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I was referred to Tyler Cormney from a friend, and am grateful for his recommendation. I could not have selected a better admissions consultant on my own. Tyler combines a structured framework and invaluable insights throughout the entire process. Most importantly, Tyler helped me to build a personal brand, one that I could articulate both on paper and in my interviews.

Through Tyler, I developed skills that not only allowed me to get in to a top-10 business school, but abilities that I can rely on when interviewing for the competitive internships and full-time positions that I will seek as a part of my program.

Tyler Cormney is well worth your investment, one that will likely pay off immediately. I received multiple merit scholarships, and gained admission to my first choice school.

Don't wait to hire Tyler, I was one of his last clients to sign up and would certainly have regretted missing the opportunity to work with him. I plan to personally refer him to any applicants I know in the future.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Tyler Cormney and Faisal Khan - Dynamic Duo
March 21 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: December 4, 2013 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
Tyler Cormney and Faisal Khan helped me create the perfect application package. I got into my dream school (Top 5 B-School). They pointed out strengths in my background, which I was not even aware of and guided me to focus on writing about the perfect stories for my essays. Their initial data gathering process is instrumental in making sure your application stands out in a pool of other qualified individuals. They will push you to get the best out of you.

I have an engineering background and they were mindful of ensuring that technical/industry jargon was translated into something that a lay person would understand.

The mock interview conducted as part of the process was very close to the real thing. Tyler made sure that I was articulating my strengths clearly and I used the questions to my advantage.

I highly recommend MBAPrepSchool and specifically Tyler Cormney and Faisal Khan!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Tyler Cormney – A Must Hire!
March 09 | 2015

reviewer identity verified by membership
       By Anonymous joined: June 4, 2012 | 0 | |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
Over the past year, Tyler has been more than just a MBA consultant. He has been a friend, mentor, and life coach and I absolutely could not have navigated the daunting application process without his help. Tyler has a unique approach that pushes applicants to discover their strengths and areas of improvement and he was absolutely instrumental every step of the way. From building my brand, to developing my career goals, to ultimately crafting my application story, Tyler never stopped pushing me to reach beyond my limits.

For busy professionals, hiring Tyler is a no-brainer. I could always count on him to turn around drafts quickly and thoroughly and he was extremely accommodating around my crazy work schedule.

I highly recommend Tyler. He is the reason I was accepted into Harvard Business School and awarded a full merit scholarship at Chicago Booth and I can honestly say I wouldn't be here today if it weren't for his help and guidance. Do yourself a favor and make the investment today.

- HBS Class of 2017
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

MBA Prep School and Tyler Cormney = Significant ROI
March 03 | 2015

       By Anonymous joined: March 3, 2015 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Some, but not all
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
Summary: Hire MBA Prep School and Tyler Cormney for personalized professional execution and a significant ROI.

Detail: I came across MBA Prep School and Tyler Cormney after reading Tyler's (and MBA Prep School co-founder Chris Aitken's) book "How to Apply for an MBA." In the least, I recommend buying the book and following the process. However, I also strongly suggest purchasing the services of MBA Prep School. Once you read the book, you will have a strong process/framework in mind, but by purchasing the services, you are able to focus purely on execution. Also, having Tyler's / MBA Prep School's personalized feedback on your hard work is crucial in taking your application to the next level.

On an individual level, Tyler is an extremely great coach. He puts in a ton of hours in order to stay on the customized schedules of his clients and to help them achieve perfect execution. His approach is direct and honest. He will help you sit down, self-reflect, and peel back the onion on your life and career experiences, and then help you highlight the most pertinent ones. That's the key to a good application. Most importantly, everything is always genuinely you; he just helps you make your application top-tier.

I strongly recommend MBA Prep School and I strongly recommend working with Tyler Cormney.

Results: I got into three of the four schools to which I applied. Two of those are ranked in the top 12. I received invitations to interview at all four. In addition to that, I earned significant scholarships (including one full-ride) at my schools. Paying a few thousand dollars to get over 15x back in scholarship is what Tyler and MBA Prep School can help you achieve, not just getting admitted.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

Highly Recommended!!
December 19 | 2014

       By Anonymous joined: December 19, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  MBA Prep School Digital   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
I found MBA Prep School to be an excellent resource and thought it was well worth the monthly fee. I stumbled on the website/service through a series of positive reviews about their one on one consulting service and decided to give it a try. Although I would have liked to take advantage of individual consulting, I found using the videos to be the next best thing. They were completely practical, to the point, and they told me exactly how to approach the process so that I could generate the best application that represents me. I was really impressed by how well they de-constructed the process and explained what schools are really looking for in an actionable format - they cut through the “we want to get to know you” statements that ad coms put out and explained what they really are looking for. The examples that are given in the videos are extremely useful because they made the concepts concrete and demonstrated what a really, really good example would sound like in terms of tone and level of sophistication. Every example was so impressive and it challenged me to come up with the best possible way to present my own story.

I also made use of the various templates and example documents as models. The template resume was extremely useful. I wound up using exactly that format and just plugged my information into it. It really helped as I was trying to boil down a 7-page CV into a one page MBA resume.

In the end I was accepted to my fist choice business school (Wharton). It was 100% worth the monthly fee (and I subscribed for 3 months).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.

TYLER IS THE BEST. You will NOT regret it.
August 05 | 2014

       By Anonymous joined: August 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 |
The reviewer was admit to the schools that they applied to:  Yes - school of my dreams
This review is for:  Comprehensive School Package   Consultant:  Tyler Cormney
You think you can do it without a consultant. You think, ah that's expensive, I'll just do it myself. Well... bad idea.

The extra money you spend on Tyler's help, which will ultimately help you get into your dream school, is a drop in the bucket considering all the costs associated with b-school.

Tyler is a mix between an editing guru and a psychologist. He helps you narrow down what you want to do in life and mold all of your experiences into a compelling story. His customized schedule is perfect for someone, like me, who is working full time and trying to get all different aspects of the application not just done on time, but executed professionally.

I cannot recommend Tyler enough and hope everyone will use his expertise to show their best self to the admissions committee.

BTW - I got into my top two schools CBS & Sloan.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.