Kaplan GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [17]      Average Rating:       (3.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
    
 
Kaplan Promo Code
Kaplan's most popular option offers targeted and focused prep designed for students who need to balance a complete course with their busy lifestyles. For students who want complete prep in a concentrated amount of time. Nine in-person classroom sessions paired with extensive out-of-class instructional resources and practice. Get a great deal too! Get a single best price on Kaplan Courses

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Kaplan -- Capable Instructor is the Key
January 11 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By ks2009 joined: January 20, 2009 | 4 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GMAT Advanced Online Course | Location:   Online |
I began my quest to attend a top 5 business school as a 08 New Year Resolution. I started without much information on the GMAT, resulting in 2 months of on and off studying with a Princeton Review book. From the get go I knew my challenge would be math and had to start with the basics (i.e. FOIL, exponents, etc). Knowing my P Review book was as unhelpful as my irregular study habits, I enrolled in a Kaplan Course on 4/20.

GMAT Kaplan Course April: Weekly Sunday
During the first class, I felt lost since my classmates were all strong in math. Moreover, I left overwhelmed with the pre class and home work. I tried to plow through everything just to check the boxes even though I knew I was not learning. Realizing I would not be able to finish the class due to an international work assignment, I stopped studying and checked the boxes, to ensure I could retake the class using the higher score guarantee.

Bottom line: check all the boxes so you can retake the class with the higher score guarantee

GMAT Course July: Weekly Sunday
Having attended classes previously, I felt more confident about retaking the class and actually learning content. I made a conscious decision to make the GMAT my number one priority (see body, soul). Again I was in a class with strong math students and felt overwhelmed. It did not help that my teacher was new and started her part time MBA while working full time and teaching for Kaplan. While she was nice, the teacher often rushed through the lessons without providing thorough explanations. There were also logistics issues, resulting in two missed classes. After completing the class, I was no where near scoring a 700 as my CAT scores ranged from 520 to 580. Providing a real world testing example, the Ultimate practice test was the best part of the course.

Bottom line: report any issues you have about your teacher / logistics to ensure you are getting your moneys worth

GMAT Course October: Weekly Saturday (Math Intensive)
Scoring in the 500s, I realized I desperately needed to understand basic math to improve. I retook the class for the 3rd time using the Alumni Discount ($300) + the added cost of 3 math intensive classes. This time the teacher was strong and I finally understood the material. Having taken the CATs before inflated my scores: ranging from 620 to 660.

Bottom line: having a capable instructor is the most important aspect of the course
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A Good Course but i could not benefit
September 29 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By anaik100 joined: February 10, 2008 | 91 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GMAT Advanced Online Course | Location:   Online |
Kaplan has prepared a well researched nice course "GMAT Advanced - Anywhere". I found the IR section especially helpful. Well researched with lot of examples.

I scored less on IR despite my strong confidence majorly due to silly mistakes.

One advise to people who have already given GMAT is that analyze your weakness before booking any course

Pros
1. IR section is good and well researched
2. Get a feel of actual test center before giving the exam
3. lot of practice questions and 9 CATS

Cons
1. Some question explanations are not good. I researched on Google and found better explanations.


There are lot of people who have improved their score using Kaplan. But i was not among them. Overall a good course for people whose basics are strong and can handle the exam pressure/time well.


Was this review helpful to you?
   
[1]
Get a Special Discount
on Kaplan Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
A disaster from a 620 to a 540
November 27 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 7, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GMAT Advantage On Demand Course | Location:   Online |
With almost zero preparation two years ago i attempted the GMAT just to experience the test atmosphere and the questions, obviously, i got busted with a 470. Did not care much as it wasn't my immediate goal and started working and was busy for 2 years.

Now, I felt its the right time for me to get an MBA. So, with a preparation of a month and a half I scored a 620. However, i realized my weakness is verbal and just a month a half i scored way better than the first time. My target and determination rose to 700 and now i signed up for the kaplan GMAT Advantage On demand Course.

I was intimidated yet excited by the course as it was designed to be tough. I consistently scored 600- 620 in kaplan practice tests.

But actual test i scored a 540. I do not recommend this course as it is not very comprehensive and answer all your questions. verbal was overly strategized and its strategy to first read the question is a complete disaster.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Amazing course!
July 18 | 2012

1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By willigetmylifeback joined: November 7, 2010 | 186 | 13 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GMAT Advantage Online Course | Location:   Online |
I am into the 3rd week of the course and I can see the improvement on my quizzes.

Course comes will lots of online study material and few books to study offline. I liked the books issued by the Kaplan with course. Kaplan Smart Reports are too good to improve your weakness and practice according to one's needs.

Online classes are engaging and teachers assist you in all possible ways. At customer care, I can say, they really care. I get my questions solved within less than 8hours!

There is a question bank, which I am loving, of more than 1200 questions to practice. Hope to see desired score on test day with Kaplan practice tools.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Kaplan Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Really Disappointed with the Results
February 27 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By ko38 joined: February 27, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GMAT Advantage Online Course | Location:   Online |
I took my first practice test 6 weeks before my test day and got a 490. I did the homework and took the CATs each week, but it quickly became apparent I wouldn't be able to finish all the homework and the CATs with my work schedule. You really need a solid three months. The week before the test I scored a 600 and felt good about where I was. (I didn't invest hardly any time in the IR because my school told me they didn't use it, so I was getting 2's and 3's on that) Test day came and I followed all the advice and applied what I had learned confidently and calmly. You can imagine my surprise when my score appeared...a 470 (20 points lower than my diagnostic 6 weeks before and 130 points lower than my score just the week before, my IR score ended up being a 6, again with minimal effort). I took another practice test the next week and scored a 560. I still (somehow) got into my dream school, so I'm not retaking the course, but I wish I had finished all the homework and tests just so I could get my money back. I would pick a different company in retrospect...something wasn't right with Kaplan's scoring or methods...for me anyways!

As far as the classes go, I felt like the material was either way too simplistic or way too far above me. I would go from wanting to speed the instructor through a topic I already mastered, to wanting him to slow down so I could process it. I was able to take away a lot of good information especially from the quantitative section, but you sure wouldn't know it from my final scores.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan has great practice tests
February 27 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By gej2013 joined: August 27, 2013 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GMAT Advantage Online Course | Location:   Online |
This was my first test prep resource. I just bought the Kaplan GMAT Premier 2012-13 book and logged into the website. I thought I could just study on my own and do very well. I tried to memorize all the shortcuts as well as the information in the books.

Unfortunately,that is completely the wrong way to go about it.

Luckily there are several quizzes and CAT test online. I took all 7 quizzes, IR practice sets, and online essays. These were invaluable in understanding how the format of the test worked. I really capitalized on these tests on my second go round.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Kaplan Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
I would not select Kaplan again
December 22 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By tigersnark joined: December 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GMAT Advantage Online Course | Location:   Online |
Though the book was thorough enough, the online aspects of the course seemed particularly lacking. For no apparent reason, some of the online components would not load on my home computer. I contacted Kaplan's customer service about the problem and received no response. Despite this setback, I still managed to do well on my GMAT but Kaplan had little to do with it.

The book does provide very detailed explanations of all of the question types but the number of practice problems provided, both in the book and online, were not sufficient. I sought out free practice problems from other online services and found these products to be more useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very useful practice CATs
May 07 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By shubhamp joined: May 7, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GMAT Advantage On Demand Course | Location:   Online |
I found the 9 practice CATs you get as part of this course very useful. Helped me get better at timing, and also improved my confidence.
You also get to take one of the CATs at a Pearson testing center. I found this quite useful as well - helped me alleviate test-day jitters.
I did find that the verbal section of the Kaplan tests harder than what I actually saw on the GMAT.
When I started the course, I took my first practice test and scored a 640. Towards the end, I was scoring around 700. On the actual GMAT, I scored 760.
As long as you're able to self-study effectively, the on-demand course is quite good.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Kaplan Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
GMAT Advantage - On Demand
July 20 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 20, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 190 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GMAT Advantage On Demand Course | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Justin Doff
I could not be happier with my results from the Kaplan GMAT Advantage prep class. When I took my first CAT, I scored a 510. I knew I need a lot of help to get my score up. I took the GMAT Advantage class on demand and found the classes and the structure to be very helpful in achieving my goals. I especially liked how responsive the instructors were when I e-mailed in questions.

The resource I utilized most from the course was the question bank. I found it extremely helpful because I was able to specify the topics and the difficulty levels I wanted to cover. Additionally, there were various courses on demand that I used as a refresher throughout the course. Those were especially helpful for the quant section.

One thing that set my experience apart was the test day prep. I was able to take a CAT at the actual test center, which was great in calming my nerves about the logistics of test day. I ultimately went from a 510 on my first CAT to a 700 on test day.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Kaplan Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
38 points
International Student Score Improvement
35 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
80%
Save $400
on Kaplan Courses
+Up to $150 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Kaplan Promo Code