Kaplan GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [17]      Average Rating:       (3.8/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
    
    
    
    
 
Kaplan Promo Code
Kaplan's most popular option offers targeted and focused prep designed for students who need to balance a complete course with their busy lifestyles. For students who want complete prep in a concentrated amount of time. Nine in-person classroom sessions paired with extensive out-of-class instructional resources and practice. Get a great deal too! Get a single best price on Kaplan Courses

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
GMAT Advantage - On Demand
July 20 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 20, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: 190 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GMAT Advantage On Demand Course | Location:   Online | Taught by:  Justin Doff
I could not be happier with my results from the Kaplan GMAT Advantage prep class. When I took my first CAT, I scored a 510. I knew I need a lot of help to get my score up. I took the GMAT Advantage class on demand and found the classes and the structure to be very helpful in achieving my goals. I especially liked how responsive the instructors were when I e-mailed in questions.

The resource I utilized most from the course was the question bank. I found it extremely helpful because I was able to specify the topics and the difficulty levels I wanted to cover. Additionally, there were various courses on demand that I used as a refresher throughout the course. Those were especially helpful for the quant section.

One thing that set my experience apart was the test day prep. I was able to take a CAT at the actual test center, which was great in calming my nerves about the logistics of test day. I ultimately went from a 510 on my first CAT to a 700 on test day.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Very useful practice CATs
May 07 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By shubhamp joined: May 7, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GMAT Advantage On Demand Course | Location:   Online |
I found the 9 practice CATs you get as part of this course very useful. Helped me get better at timing, and also improved my confidence.
You also get to take one of the CATs at a Pearson testing center. I found this quite useful as well - helped me alleviate test-day jitters.
I did find that the verbal section of the Kaplan tests harder than what I actually saw on the GMAT.
When I started the course, I took my first practice test and scored a 640. Towards the end, I was scoring around 700. On the actual GMAT, I scored 760.
As long as you're able to self-study effectively, the on-demand course is quite good.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Kaplan Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Reasonable improvement
March 02 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 21, 2013 | 364 | 195 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GMAT Private Tutoring | Location:   London, United Kingdom |
I took the package with the live class, online class and private tuition.

Good thing about Kaplan is if we sign up the private tuition package, we can attend live classes and live online classes as many times as we want to.
It also includes the recorded classes, online Quiz Banks and 9 CATs. We can reset CATs once and still get higher score guarantee offer. (50 point)

My overall review to the Kaplan course is the quality of live class depends on the tutor. They have excellent tutor when I attended (maybe still there).
He has 800score and what he taught us was phenomenal. Luckily, my tutor was him and my basic concept of GMAT developed from his approach to GMAT.

In terms of my GMAT score, it did improved, but not as much as I expected. I found the Kaplan SC and RC questions are not exactly same style as the actual GMAT. If I knew about it, I would have improved more.
I hope this review helps your choice for the Prep-school.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Kaplan has great practice tests
February 27 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By gej2013 joined: August 27, 2013 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GMAT Advantage Online Course | Location:   Online |
This was my first test prep resource. I just bought the Kaplan GMAT Premier 2012-13 book and logged into the website. I thought I could just study on my own and do very well. I tried to memorize all the shortcuts as well as the information in the books.

Unfortunately,that is completely the wrong way to go about it.

Luckily there are several quizzes and CAT test online. I took all 7 quizzes, IR practice sets, and online essays. These were invaluable in understanding how the format of the test worked. I really capitalized on these tests on my second go round.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Kaplan Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
I would not select Kaplan again
December 22 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By tigersnark joined: December 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GMAT Advantage Online Course | Location:   Online |
Though the book was thorough enough, the online aspects of the course seemed particularly lacking. For no apparent reason, some of the online components would not load on my home computer. I contacted Kaplan's customer service about the problem and received no response. Despite this setback, I still managed to do well on my GMAT but Kaplan had little to do with it.

The book does provide very detailed explanations of all of the question types but the number of practice problems provided, both in the book and online, were not sufficient. I sought out free practice problems from other online services and found these products to be more useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Not too helpful
November 27 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 8, 2012 | 11 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GMAT Advantage Course | Location:   Philadelphia, PA USA |
I first enrolled in Kaplan’s Advantage On Site in November 2012. I attended the six on site classes and there are two or four additional online classes that you could take. Due to some personal issues, I had to delay my studies and I called Kaplan to freeze my account. Fast forward to July 2013, I restarted my studying and the Kaplan course (I was able to retake all the classes I had attended), as well as the online material. Though the instructor was engaging and had a positive attitude, I felt that the course itself was too generalized and one-size-fit-all. I was not able to pinpoint what areas I needed to work on and in the end, I took the GMAT in Oct 2013 and got a disappointing 590. (Though my CATs ranged from 600 to 670).

One of the most beneficial features of the Kaplan course, though, is that you can schedule to take your practice CATs at the actual Pearson center. Although I did not do very well on the actual GMAT, being able to take the CAT at the testing center took much of the worries and uneasiness away. I took the CATs three times at the Pearson center before I gave the actual exam. That experience had definitely been helpful.

I will be retaking the GMAT but will probably use a different source of study materials.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Kaplan Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
DON't RECOMEND
October 16 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By sasawa363 joined: October 16, 2013 | 2 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GMAT Advantage Course | Location:   Los Angeles, CA USA |
I paid $1,450 for this Kaplan GMAT Preparation, attended all classes, read books, did Practice sets, but at the exam day I got a horrible score. I never could have expected such a lower score after KAPLAN CATS.
The money back guarantee option is a scam, they found 100 excuses to not give the money back. Talked to representatives and supervisors-no result, going to file small claim case in a court!
My scores at CAT's were 150 points more than on the actual test!
Don't waste your money.
This program does not work, they will not pay you your money back.
Get online practice but not at KAPLAN.
Good Luck!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good course but not for those aiming over 690
April 29 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 18, 2012 | 48 | 25 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GMAT Private Tutoring | Location:   London, United Kingdom | Taught by:  Marianna Parker
Overall you get what you expect from Kaplan. They know what they are doing when it comes to tutoring and their online facility is excellent. Generally Kaplan is very professional and very quick and flexible. The staff understand that most of us have very busy schedules and try to make it as easy as possible.

However, the issue I had with them was the fact that the course was a bit unstructured. My instructor was brilliant but at times I would ask her why are we got answer "A" and the answer would be "it is my GMAT instinct"; of course we would sit down and try and find a proof of the concept, but I just felt that for the amount of money I was paying a more structured syllabus would have been great.

My tutor was a maths guru, however when it came to language she was amazing with CR an RC but on the other hand although she could answer all the SC questions correct, sometimes she couldn't explain why. This would have to do with the fact that she was an american, so the sentences would sound right, but nevertheless i was still left scratching my head.

That being said she made me get my RC and CR scores up, and I was virtually flawless; but then again my main weakness was SC and just ended up using Manhattans SC book.

Overall it is a great tutoring company, but I give them 3 stars as foe the price they charge I expected more.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Kaplan Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Really Disappointed with the Results
February 27 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By ko38 joined: February 27, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GMAT Advantage Online Course | Location:   Online |
I took my first practice test 6 weeks before my test day and got a 490. I did the homework and took the CATs each week, but it quickly became apparent I wouldn't be able to finish all the homework and the CATs with my work schedule. You really need a solid three months. The week before the test I scored a 600 and felt good about where I was. (I didn't invest hardly any time in the IR because my school told me they didn't use it, so I was getting 2's and 3's on that) Test day came and I followed all the advice and applied what I had learned confidently and calmly. You can imagine my surprise when my score appeared...a 470 (20 points lower than my diagnostic 6 weeks before and 130 points lower than my score just the week before, my IR score ended up being a 6, again with minimal effort). I took another practice test the next week and scored a 560. I still (somehow) got into my dream school, so I'm not retaking the course, but I wish I had finished all the homework and tests just so I could get my money back. I would pick a different company in retrospect...something wasn't right with Kaplan's scoring or methods...for me anyways!

As far as the classes go, I felt like the material was either way too simplistic or way too far above me. I would go from wanting to speed the instructor through a topic I already mastered, to wanting him to slow down so I could process it. I was able to take away a lot of good information especially from the quantitative section, but you sure wouldn't know it from my final scores.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A disaster from a 620 to a 540
November 27 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 7, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Kaplan GMAT Advantage On Demand Course | Location:   Online |
With almost zero preparation two years ago i attempted the GMAT just to experience the test atmosphere and the questions, obviously, i got busted with a 470. Did not care much as it wasn't my immediate goal and started working and was busy for 2 years.

Now, I felt its the right time for me to get an MBA. So, with a preparation of a month and a half I scored a 620. However, i realized my weakness is verbal and just a month a half i scored way better than the first time. My target and determination rose to 700 and now i signed up for the kaplan GMAT Advantage On demand Course.

I was intimidated yet excited by the course as it was designed to be tough. I consistently scored 600- 620 in kaplan practice tests.

But actual test i scored a 540. I do not recommend this course as it is not very comprehensive and answer all your questions. verbal was overly strategized and its strategy to first read the question is a complete disaster.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Kaplan Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Kaplan Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
38 points
International Student Score Improvement
35 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
80%
Save $400
on Kaplan Courses
+Up to $150 discount
+$250 bonus
Get Kaplan Promo Code