Knewton GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [29]      Average Rating:       (4.2/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
 
Knewton Discount
Only Knewton’s GMAT prep classes give you access to more than 3,400 GMAT practice questions, all online—so you can practice wherever, whenever. Our system tracks your performance at the atomic level across 1,000+ different GMAT concepts and strategies, and then personalizes the course for you. It’s the most powerful adaptive learning system in the world. Complete prep includes a fully searchable reference section with explanations, videos, related concepts, and tips for 700+ scorers. What a book wishes it could be. Save $350 on Knewton today

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Good review
January 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By vikram4689 joined: June 30, 2011 | 275 | 18 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Knewton Complete Prep | Location:   Online |
Good course, covers most verbal well but to get to good 700++, this won't suffice. however, this is the case will all courses. so all in all, good one. i wanted to gain firm grasp on verbal and this was a good cusion for same. i learned and applied same principals to learn advanced concepts. Math is fine . i did not care much about it because math is fine for me from starting. you need to see what you need. in fact, you may count on this course for almost all your prep. but remember if you need very good score then you need to add much effort for same.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
What have you got to lose?
January 20 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By RyanCJW joined: June 8, 2012 | 107 | 28 | native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Knewton Complete Prep | Location:   Online |
Knewton saved me.

I don't have the $1000+ to put out for a program that may or may not increase my score as much as Knewton promised to. The cost of Knewton's program and that guarantee talked me into using them.

I took my first GMAT in February and got a 550 (30Q 36V). I needed a 650. So, I bought some books and eventually signed up for Knewton. I followed all of the courses, did all of the work and all of the tests but even at the end I wasn't seeing much of an improvement - that is until I took the GMATPrep tests and saw my scores from them being 620 and 660.

Once I got to the test center, I had no idea what to expect as my Knewton scores topped out at around 610 but my GMATPrep scores went up to 660. I ended up getting a 660 (41Q 40V).

I love Knewton. The way this course was delivered was perfect for me. It took a lot of work but there was so much content that you really could figure out how to do just about anything. My quantitative score went up from 30 to 41, I think that in itself is a testament to how effective Knewton is. I also really enjoyed the instructors, they made the course very enjoyable.

I could not recommend Knewton enough. With that guarantee and the price, how could you not at least try it?


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Knewton Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Mehh
October 06 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 7, 2011 | 74 | 21 | native speaker
Improvement: 60 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Knewton Complete Prep | Location:   Online |
What attracted me to singing up with Knewton was their money back guarantee of a 50+ pt. increase. Plus, there were a LOT of reviews for this course.

Now, I really have a love/hate relationship with Knewton. Prior to taking the course, I had already studied all the MGMAT strategy guides and completed all the problems in the OG 12. So for the more experienced, I don't think their classes really taught me anything particularly new when approaching problems, that I didn't already know from either the books or GMAT forums. What I think helped the most was all the homework and extra practice sets. It just keeps everything fresh in your mind.

I do, however, have a bone to pick with the CATs... Knewton prides itself of building exams very similar to the real thing, having hired a team of people that had worked on the official GMAT test. My question is.. HOW long ago?? Because my exam scores were REALLY weird. I once got a 48 in Quant for getting 3 questions wrong. The 9th, 21st, and 27th questions. IDK it just looks weird when compared to other exams where I've gotten like 8 wrong spread throughout the test and ended up with the same score. Anywho, I scored pretty low on all the CAT exams, the majority UNDER my first official score (660). And this basically show down my self esteem... I was already prepared to hire a tutor because I knew I wouldn't do well on my scheduled exam. It really put me down. When I went to take the GMAT Prep, I scored a 710, which was the only thread of hope I had for scoring as high in the real thing.

In addition, a handful of their quant questions don't load currently... instead of equations, you get some weird ass symbols. And at first I thought it was a weird symbol question, but it was impossible to decipher and I realized it was just either a bug or someone didnt write the code in correctly. This happened twice on the CAT exams as well.

The Reasoning section which went over the IR section was helpful- made me more comfortable about it. I didn't even look at the Essay part, b/c I had gotten a 6 on my previous exam using a template.

In the end, I increased my score by 60pts. And although I'm doubtful if this is entirely attributed to Knewton alone, it was at least partially. And that enough is worth it.

I would def recommend this to people JUST starting out on their GMAT escapades, or someone that's completely lost. But a more advanced class would be recommended for someone that already has a good handle on the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
An Awesome Course by Knewton
September 09 | 2012

       By vix joined: August 15, 2011 | 189 | 23 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Knewton Complete Prep | Location:   Online |
Knewton's course, in the true sense was an awesome course. It was just that I got really busy in July mid to Aug mid and that affected my score drastically.

Even though I did not see the guaranteed increase in my score, I still strongly recommend this course. Do it not for the sake of the increase in 50 points, but for the sake of gaining grounds for GMAT prep.

Actually, I felt that you do not need any other course if you begin with this course. It has everything to teach you, concepts and also well-placed exercises.
The course is very well setup and takes on pace slowly. There are a total of 13 Lessons which a person has to go through. There is a related pre-test to evaluate your stand before you proceed to Video instructions. The Video instructors are calm and they explain things in much details. If you are patient enough, you will see yourself grasping stuff. After the videos, the concepts are tested in quizzes. Each of the lessons has a concepts such as Algebra and Sentence Correction (one from Quant and one from Verbal). Besides the core concepts (necessary to complete for money-back guarantee), there are several other exercises to do, if someone wants to practice more. You will see mid term tests also. Each quiz gives you a true feedback and brilliant explanations. The full length tests are spread across the 13 lessons.

There is a section which gives a solid feedback on how you are progressing, topic wise. If you are not satisfied by the answers given you can jump to forums for quick reply. Also, if you find forgetting a concept, you can directly click on the link given with your wrong answer.

In my humble opinion, this course was really nice, and I would advice all to take it.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Knewton Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Worked for me!
September 07 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 18, 2012 | 81 | 39 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Knewton Complete Prep | Location:   Online |
Overall, I was pleased with the course as I improved my score 50 points (as promised). The content was relevant and easy to navigate.

My Quant scores on their practice tests were much lower than what I received on the actual GMATs I took...and I've heard this feedback from other users....I think their system intentionally scores this section lower to make good on their guarantee. Verbal seemed pretty accurate.

Below you will find a detailed timeline of my GMAT experience.

Best of luck!

---

January 15, 2012: Took an official practice test and got a 690 (49Q, 34V)

Jan-Apr: Self-studied. Since I'm a native speaker, I felt as if Verbal was a major opportunity for me, so I focused on that section.

April 28, 2012: Took the official GMAT and got a 680 (49Q, 34V, 6.0 AWA). Tried to schedule a retake before they implemented the new IR section, but no dates were available...

Apr-Jun: Decided to take the Knewton course because of their 50 pt. improvement. guarantee. Spent about 6 weeks to complete the course.

June 16, 2012: Took the official GMAT again and got a 730 (48Q, 42V, 6.0 AWA, 6 IR)


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
710 (49Q 37V) to 750 (50Q 44V)
August 22 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 24, 2009 | 107 | 19 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Knewton Complete Prep | Location:   Online |
I took the Knewton online course after my first attempt at the GMAT. The course materials and instructional videos really taught me how to tackle the verbal part of the GMAT, as evidenced by the 7 point jump in my raw score.

The quant part was ok, but the questions were not as rigorous as I had hoped. I would say that the quant questions are of 650 level difficulty. ManhattanGMAT is better for quant preparation. Still, you can't argue with a quant score of 50. As far as homework is concerned, I would say that I did about 4-6 hours a week, and still managed to finish the course in about 9 weeks.

Overall, as you can see from my score improvement, I would definitely recommend Knewton to others! One thing I would add is that you only have 4 months of online access for Knewton once you sign up.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Knewton Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Knewton Overall great
July 06 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By msinhagmat joined: January 1, 2012 | 7 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Knewton Premium Live | Location:   Online |
I started knewton course on february mid. The course is dividen into 13 sessions. Its has three sections into each of its sessions. Each session comes with video lesson, Preassessment, homework, extra homework.

This course helps to build concept well. It has a lot of question and the live session are also on convenient time as per IST. I attended lot of sessions. The discussion during live session flows well. It's score is little skewed on tests but i improved a lot on GMAT for V29 to V38.I was already too good in Quant so didn't give much time there. I realy liked the course but i would suggest to take this course within 3 months and attempt the test. Delay would flush off the thing.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great money back guarantee, but questions simply were not up to par
July 06 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 2, 2011 | 15 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Knewton Complete Prep | Location:   Online |
Having taken another prep course as well as the actual test before signingup for Knewton, I had a pretty good idea what GMAT questions should look like.

Unforunately, the Knewton questions really didn't represent what is ultimately on the test. Many of the questions are very basic, but what bothered me most was that the structure of the questions, the way they were posed, was nowehere near consistent with the actual test. The money back guarantee is great, and completely no hassle, so it might be worth taking a shot to boost your score significantly, but I found having to go through the course more of a hassle than anything else. About 2 classes in I realized that I would much rather be focusing in on my actual weaknesses than having to go through the entire Knewton course to qualify for the money bck guarantee.

In short, this might be a good course if you have no exposure to the GMAT, but if you have any sense of your abilities and what your weaknesses might be, I would highly suggest going another route. There's much better out there.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Knewton Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Knewton Rocks!
May 27 | 2012

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 29, 2007 | 15 | 11 | native speaker
Improvement: 70 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Knewton Complete Prep | Location:   Online |
I was very bad at quant and was having difficulty learning it on my own. I signed up for the Knewton course so that I could have a real instructor and real classes. I usually reviewed the lessons on my own time, which is another great feature of this course. I could work ahead if I needed to or skip a week if I was too busy. I did not use any of the verbal because I was fairly good at it already. The first time I took the test I made a 630 and raised my score to 700. Thanks Knewton!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Knewton Review
May 17 | 2012

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By stinali57 joined: November 2, 2011 | 8 | 29 | native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Knewton Complete Prep | Location:   Online |
In general the course was helpful. The videos were informative but I really did not like the practice tests. Reviewing the practice tests were a pain. The layout was really annoying and I did not feel that the math helped at all. I actually did worse in math because everything was so basic. I did like the verbal though. Although it did not cover everything I definetly improved. Another thing I did not like was how they measured your progress. It was just bar graphs but it did not really show how you could improve. Also, the concept queue is not user friendly. Everything was jammed together.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Knewton Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community


Knewton Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
68 points
International Student Score Improvement
75 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
80%
Save $350
on Knewton Courses
+$250 bonus offer
+$150 discount
Get Knewton Promo Code