Knewton GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [29]      Average Rating:       (4.2/5)
Courses
Find by:  
    
    
 
Knewton Discount
Only Knewton’s GMAT prep classes give you access to more than 3,400 GMAT practice questions, all online—so you can practice wherever, whenever. Our system tracks your performance at the atomic level across 1,000+ different GMAT concepts and strategies, and then personalizes the course for you. It’s the most powerful adaptive learning system in the world. Complete prep includes a fully searchable reference section with explanations, videos, related concepts, and tips for 700+ scorers. What a book wishes it could be. Save $350 on Knewton today

  Reviews
Sort by:   date of publication  most helpful
Good foundation and interactive sessions
March 23 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By saxenashobhit joined: July 20, 2010 | 272 | 36 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Knewton Complete Prep | Location:   Online |
Before joining knewton I had done self study using Manhattan and GMATprep books. I was active on gmatclub forums. But I must say that habit of critically looking at sentence correction or CR came after using thought process of instructors on knewton. The material on knewton is extensive and helps make a good base. I definately gained confidence after completing the course. I used to enjoy attending live office sessions. It gives interactivity and many a times helped me improve my thought process. Its easier to say B is correct and tough to explain to another person why other choices are wrong.

Although my points increased from 690 to 710 alone, I recommend knewton to my friends. The only lacking feature was trying to pratice more on my weak areas. I would have loved to see that knewton offers more practice questions to help me master a topic (i have seen similar concept in Master gmat's trial version)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Impressed
April 18 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By rpm07 joined: February 13, 2011 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 120 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Knewton Complete Prep | Location:   Online |
My first two misguided GMAT attempts resulted in rather pathetic scores of 500 and 540(Q40, V24). I finally realized that I had to strengthen my concepts if I had to improve my score significantly. That’s when I decided to take the Knewton on-demand course, attracted by the 50 point increase or money back deal.
It helped boost my overall score by 120 points to a 660 (Q46, V35). I was thoroughly impressed by the Quant, CR and RC sections of the course and the strategy tips and explanations helped me a lot.

Pros:
1) Concepts:- Lucid yet complete explanation of all concepts related to the test.
2) Faculty:- Excellent.
3) Format:- Easy to use interface.
4) Study material:- Excellent notes and explanations.
5) Practice tests: Fairly accurate.

Cons:
1) Practice exercises not up to the mark. Too many questions with similar patterns. Difficulty level low-moderate.
2) SC explanations and structure were not as good as on the other sections.
PS. - Not very sure about response time for clarification of queries as I had not tried it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Knewton Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Knewton's 50 points guarantee
April 26 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 20, 2011 | 18 | 13 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 20 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Knewton Premium Live | Location:   Online |
I was consistently scoring around the 720. I came across the 50 point guarantee scheme that Knewton offers. I was pretty excited about this course. The instructors Dave, Jessie, Rich, Jen are really good. I liked the verbal part of the course. The questions very much resemble with the GMAT type. Knewton also offers 6 practice CATS including the diagnostic. However, I did not like the scoring algorithm. I mean that making 3 mistakes in quants would land me up at Q46. The only thing that I did not like about Knewton course is the CAT algorithm that they use in their CATS. Else, the course is nice. It did give me a 20 point increase. And yes, they gave my money back. This part is great. They mean what they say. They did not ask me a single question.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Knewton Overall great
July 06 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By msinhagmat joined: January 1, 2012 | 7 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 110 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Knewton Premium Live | Location:   Online |
I started knewton course on february mid. The course is dividen into 13 sessions. Its has three sections into each of its sessions. Each session comes with video lesson, Preassessment, homework, extra homework.

This course helps to build concept well. It has a lot of question and the live session are also on convenient time as per IST. I attended lot of sessions. The discussion during live session flows well. It's score is little skewed on tests but i improved a lot on GMAT for V29 to V38.I was already too good in Quant so didn't give much time there. I realy liked the course but i would suggest to take this course within 3 months and attempt the test. Delay would flush off the thing.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Knewton Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
710 (49Q 37V) to 750 (50Q 44V)
August 22 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 24, 2009 | 107 | 19 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Knewton Complete Prep | Location:   Online |
I took the Knewton online course after my first attempt at the GMAT. The course materials and instructional videos really taught me how to tackle the verbal part of the GMAT, as evidenced by the 7 point jump in my raw score.

The quant part was ok, but the questions were not as rigorous as I had hoped. I would say that the quant questions are of 650 level difficulty. ManhattanGMAT is better for quant preparation. Still, you can't argue with a quant score of 50. As far as homework is concerned, I would say that I did about 4-6 hours a week, and still managed to finish the course in about 9 weeks.

Overall, as you can see from my score improvement, I would definitely recommend Knewton to others! One thing I would add is that you only have 4 months of online access for Knewton once you sign up.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Worked for me!
September 07 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 18, 2012 | 81 | 39 | native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Knewton Complete Prep | Location:   Online |
Overall, I was pleased with the course as I improved my score 50 points (as promised). The content was relevant and easy to navigate.

My Quant scores on their practice tests were much lower than what I received on the actual GMATs I took...and I've heard this feedback from other users....I think their system intentionally scores this section lower to make good on their guarantee. Verbal seemed pretty accurate.

Below you will find a detailed timeline of my GMAT experience.

Best of luck!

---

January 15, 2012: Took an official practice test and got a 690 (49Q, 34V)

Jan-Apr: Self-studied. Since I'm a native speaker, I felt as if Verbal was a major opportunity for me, so I focused on that section.

April 28, 2012: Took the official GMAT and got a 680 (49Q, 34V, 6.0 AWA). Tried to schedule a retake before they implemented the new IR section, but no dates were available...

Apr-Jun: Decided to take the Knewton course because of their 50 pt. improvement. guarantee. Spent about 6 weeks to complete the course.

June 16, 2012: Took the official GMAT again and got a 730 (48Q, 42V, 6.0 AWA, 6 IR)


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Knewton Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
An Awesome Course by Knewton
September 09 | 2012

       By vix joined: August 15, 2011 | 189 | 23 | non-native speaker
Improvement: N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Knewton Complete Prep | Location:   Online |
Knewton's course, in the true sense was an awesome course. It was just that I got really busy in July mid to Aug mid and that affected my score drastically.

Even though I did not see the guaranteed increase in my score, I still strongly recommend this course. Do it not for the sake of the increase in 50 points, but for the sake of gaining grounds for GMAT prep.

Actually, I felt that you do not need any other course if you begin with this course. It has everything to teach you, concepts and also well-placed exercises.
The course is very well setup and takes on pace slowly. There are a total of 13 Lessons which a person has to go through. There is a related pre-test to evaluate your stand before you proceed to Video instructions. The Video instructors are calm and they explain things in much details. If you are patient enough, you will see yourself grasping stuff. After the videos, the concepts are tested in quizzes. Each of the lessons has a concepts such as Algebra and Sentence Correction (one from Quant and one from Verbal). Besides the core concepts (necessary to complete for money-back guarantee), there are several other exercises to do, if someone wants to practice more. You will see mid term tests also. Each quiz gives you a true feedback and brilliant explanations. The full length tests are spread across the 13 lessons.

There is a section which gives a solid feedback on how you are progressing, topic wise. If you are not satisfied by the answers given you can jump to forums for quick reply. Also, if you find forgetting a concept, you can directly click on the link given with your wrong answer.

In my humble opinion, this course was really nice, and I would advice all to take it.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Mehh
October 06 | 2012

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 7, 2011 | 74 | 21 | native speaker
Improvement: 60 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Knewton Complete Prep | Location:   Online |
What attracted me to singing up with Knewton was their money back guarantee of a 50+ pt. increase. Plus, there were a LOT of reviews for this course.

Now, I really have a love/hate relationship with Knewton. Prior to taking the course, I had already studied all the MGMAT strategy guides and completed all the problems in the OG 12. So for the more experienced, I don't think their classes really taught me anything particularly new when approaching problems, that I didn't already know from either the books or GMAT forums. What I think helped the most was all the homework and extra practice sets. It just keeps everything fresh in your mind.

I do, however, have a bone to pick with the CATs... Knewton prides itself of building exams very similar to the real thing, having hired a team of people that had worked on the official GMAT test. My question is.. HOW long ago?? Because my exam scores were REALLY weird. I once got a 48 in Quant for getting 3 questions wrong. The 9th, 21st, and 27th questions. IDK it just looks weird when compared to other exams where I've gotten like 8 wrong spread throughout the test and ended up with the same score. Anywho, I scored pretty low on all the CAT exams, the majority UNDER my first official score (660). And this basically show down my self esteem... I was already prepared to hire a tutor because I knew I wouldn't do well on my scheduled exam. It really put me down. When I went to take the GMAT Prep, I scored a 710, which was the only thread of hope I had for scoring as high in the real thing.

In addition, a handful of their quant questions don't load currently... instead of equations, you get some weird ass symbols. And at first I thought it was a weird symbol question, but it was impossible to decipher and I realized it was just either a bug or someone didnt write the code in correctly. This happened twice on the CAT exams as well.

The Reasoning section which went over the IR section was helpful- made me more comfortable about it. I didn't even look at the Essay part, b/c I had gotten a 6 on my previous exam using a template.

In the end, I increased my score by 60pts. And although I'm doubtful if this is entirely attributed to Knewton alone, it was at least partially. And that enough is worth it.

I would def recommend this to people JUST starting out on their GMAT escapades, or someone that's completely lost. But a more advanced class would be recommended for someone that already has a good handle on the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Get a Special Discount
on Knewton Courses
Learn more
Exclusively provided for the GMAT Club Community
Good review
January 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By vikram4689 joined: June 30, 2011 | 275 | 18 | non-native speaker
Improvement: 50 Points |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:  Knewton Complete Prep | Location:   Online |
Good course, covers most verbal well but to get to good 700++, this won't suffice. however, this is the case will all courses. so all in all, good one. i wanted to gain firm grasp on verbal and this was a good cusion for same. i learned and applied same principals to learn advanced concepts. Math is fine . i did not care much about it because math is fine for me from starting. you need to see what you need. in fact, you may count on this course for almost all your prep. but remember if you need very good score then you need to add much effort for same.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.


Knewton Course Rankings
Overall Score Improvement
68 points
International Student Score Improvement
75 points
Verbal
80%
Quant
80%
Save $350
on Knewton Courses
+$250 bonus offer
+$150 discount
Get Knewton Promo Code