Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1088]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
re: egmat review
December 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: January 20, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I just want to thank e-gmat team for the wonderful work they are doing by providing such a easy approach to sentence correction.The approach or the egamt process helped me to gain 80 % accuracy in sentence correction . Their course structure is simple and easy to use even for a non native speaker of English language .quizzes after each lesson did a fabulous job in making a sound foundation of that concept.i would recommend all gmat aspirants for egmat course.I really want to thank all the e-gmat team for making the gmat sentence correction part so easy for me.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT hit me hard....but there is hope!!
December 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By tessyoncom joined: March 4, 2011 | 16 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I took the GMAT exam last week and did not do well, I had a woeful score of 530. I came back same day and took the last practice exam I had left to be double sure something is not wrong. My last GMAT official score was 540. How can I have up to a year of preparation and still score below my first score? Anyway, I took the last practice test again and score 650! So what went wrong?

I sat down and reflected on what I must have and perhaps still doing wrong. I realized I have underrated the exam twice. I over guessed and did not follow all the instructions I go on the e-GMAT course I took. Perhaps let me emphasize this, GMAT is a very challenging exam is you do not do all the right things. The e-GMAT course is indeed the best for non-natives like me. My verbal on the real exam was 29 but on the same day in the GMATPrep second test, my verbal score was 36! It was then that I was able to realize that in the real exam, I did not follow all the rules I learnt on the Verbal Life Prep I enrolled for on e-GMAT and I got burnt. I would not blame e-GMAT. It is probably one of the best courses you can take out there. I can say this because I had paid for the Economist course, Magoosh and other not too popular online courses.

However, the only down side with e-GMAT is that the life sessions are too long for busy people to cope with. A session is typically about one hour an half long and not everyone has got the block of time for an interactive session.

Nevertheless, I and going back to the drawing board to take the exam again. I know I can do better than my score. I have re-enrolled for the GMAT exam again and I am sure this time, I should get a fantastic score. I should be able to give more reviews on my success when it eventually comes. I do know that at certain height there are no clouds, if you still have clouds in your life, then you have not soared high enough. This applies to the GMAT too.

Finally, my single advice is that you should take the exam seriously. If you are a non-native like me, religiously follow the e-GMAT videos and you’ll be alright.

Thanks
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Best Resource available for Verbal!!
December 15 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Sai1002 joined: May 15, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I have decided to enroll for egmat after attending their CR session-Prethinking. It really helped me in understanding the approach for solving CR questions. I took their verbal online course. I really feel like this is the best resource available out for verbal. The course is very structured and helped me a lot in understating the concepts of SC and CR. The egmat team has done a wonderful job in formatting the course according to modules and end of module quizzes. The quizzes helped a lot in reinforcing the concepts learnt in the module.It was totally worth the money spent and i highly recommend it!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
760 GMAT score! Thanks Ravi and Chris!
December 15 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 17, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I took the 6 week online Veritas course in Aug- Sept 2014. It was intense- in addition to the 6 hours of classes every week, I typically spent 5-6 preparing for the class and doing HW. I say this not to scare you, but to set expectations. This time was definitely well-spent as I ended up with a 99 percentile score of 760 (Q50, V44). The Veritas books, problem sets and practice tests you get with this course are solid and comprehensive. I only took the free GMATPrep tests, outside of the Veritas material.

Ravi did a great job shuffling the class order, making it easier for students to follow along. I was really impressed by how accessible Ravi and Chris were during and after class. When I bombed one of the practice tests 2 weeks before my GMAT, Ravi and Chris were both swift and effective in calming me down and helping me focus on my preparations.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Magoosh GMAT Prep (Premium Subscription)
December 15 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By danayerace joined: July 22, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
You can use this link to sign up yourself and I'll get a referral bonus!
--> http://gmat.magoosh.com/invite/U7SHSD

I tried the free trial of Magoosh when I joined the GMAT Club in preparation of my upcoming GMAT exam. I found the videos extremely helpful, short and sweet, each one about 10 minutes in length. The lessons are laid out very logically and the flow is easy to follow. Quizzes are at the ends of the groups of lessons and are a great way to gauge how much information you are absorbing. I particularly like the ability to take notes in each of the lessons, practice lots of varied questions, complete flash cards (great app for your phone is available), and log onto Magoosh from anywhere and it is all saved. I'd recommend using this software to help review major topics, practice questions and get 2 more practice exams.

Also, Magoosh is great with asking for feedback and responding to it. I was having some trouble and emailed them, got a response back on a Sunday!

You can use this link to sign up yourself and I'll get a referral bonus!
--> http://gmat.magoosh.com/invite/U7SHSD

Hope this was helpful :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A good course for Non-native English speakers
December 15 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By amitshri15 joined: March 10, 2014 | 37 | 28 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I was using MGMAT SC and CR guide but unable to see improvement in my verbal score beyond 28.
I've gone through the material again and again but I couldn't improve.

I realized that there is some serious gap between my understanding and the course material I am using.
Then I found e-GMAT through GMAT Club.I attended some free session by Rajat and decided to subscribe for e-GMAT verbal Online course.

Course is nicely designed and very helpful for non-native English speakers like me.
e-GMAT helped me to clear my concepts and to build solid foundation.It also helped me to build
process to solve any question, which was missing from my preparation.

e-GMAT's step by step process helps to solve questions quickly with accuracy.
Breaking argument and prethinking helped a lot to solve CR questions.

Guessing what should come next and keep oneself engaged while reading RC passage helps a lot in understanding and solving RC passages.
e-GMAT's process to solve questions looks cumbersome and time consuming at the beginning but after some practice (i.e. following it properly for 30-40 questions) it becomes inherent and one can see improvement in understanding the question and solving it within 2 min.

Overall I would recommend this course for non native English speakers.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Value for money!
December 15 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By mehtajay93 joined: July 17, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I signed up for Magoosh after reading about it on this very website. For 99 dollars, I got access to all the videos and practice questions. Going by the rate, this deal was a steal!

Coming to the content, I think Magoosh's practice questions are perfect. They reflect the actual GMAT exam content.

The Quant videos are bang on. They've managed to cover almost everything. The videos are short, minimal in nature and very easy to understand.

Their Verbal videos are great too, but I feel they should work more on the Critical Reasoning section. It is one of the most difficult parts of the GMAT, and students could do a lot more with explanations of that topic.

In addition to all this, their blog is a treat for all GMAT students. Study Plans, book reviews, tips and tricks. You name it, and they have it.

All in all, a great product. Be rest assured, I'm going to be recommending this to anyone I come across who needs help with preparation for the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Magoosh App
December 14 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Magoosh's materials are really detailed and well explained with a lot of practice questions. It helped me a lot to understand the various elements in the verbal section and revise my concepts on the maths section. I would recommend some more IR questions and some more full length practice tests as well. I'm completely satisfied with magoosh course and I'm looking forward to make it to the 700's! Best of luck Magooshers!

Cons:
-Could focus more on strategy
-Although the SC aspect of verbal is strong, CR and RC could be enhanced (although everything you NEED to know is covered)
-IR is covered in the same way as CR and RC, but it could be more comprehensive
-No AWA practice essays

Thanks a lot Magoosh!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Magoosh helped me go to the next level
December 14 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 21, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
After taking the GMAT in September and studying off of the Manhattan GMAT books and the OG guides, I was disappointed with the progress I had made and the score I received.

I'm still a pretty good self-learn and self-starter, so I knew an in person class wasn't necessary. After seeing reviews here about Magoosh, and the deal they had for their Premium package, I decided to invest.

The lessons are well paced and informative. There were times I'd simply read the text transcript instead of the watching the entire video for concepts that I was more comfortable with.

I would say the biggest benefit for me was lessons on test strategy. Understanding why I was missing verbal questions, in particular, was exceptionally helpful in creating my test day strategy.

I didn't complete all of the questions for either verbal or math, but the lessons themselves and the practice test (along with the 6 Manhattan GMAT practice tests) helped hone my strengths and weaknesses.

I essentially ignored the IR this time around after scoring an 8 previously, so while that final score was below my expectations, how I performed on Verbal & Math more than made up for it.

From a 650 to a 730. Couldn't have asked for anything more. Thanks, Magoosh!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Videos which cover all the topics needed for GMAT preparation
December 14 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By chauhr joined: June 15, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
The Videos at Magoosh specially on the Sentence Correction are excellent. All the topics are explained in detail and organised in a very easy to understand manner.

The topics align well with the way GMAC prepares the test as well as the GMAT official guide.

The videos on RC and CR are good too but are less impressive when compared to the ones in SC.

Practice questions are well designed and help one with good analytics to understand ones weak areas.

The Quant videos are great too specially the ones on Combinations and Probability. The course has been very informative and I recommend the course to any one who wants to prepare for the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings