Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [892]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Veritas Prep Online -- Ravi
August 27 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I was brand new to the world of GMAT when deciding to take a course, either with Manhattan or Veritas. After some debating of looking at the pros/cons of the two online, I went with Veritas and am glad I did. The course curriculum is structured well, and while it's a lot to complete in a short amount of time, Ravi was great at keeping the flow of the class moving and making sure students were keeping up and not being left behind. I personally liked his 99% attitude most; he was truly striving to get students to achieve high results, not just 'get by' which was appreciated. His teaching style was great, and he was accessible to talk with and ask questions if need be.
The only thing I wasn't too keen on was the online program and interface that Veritas uses for the course, but that's nothing to take away from Ravi's great class leadership or the curriculum overall. Would highly recommend both the course and instructor.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Absolutely Satisfied with the Optimus Prep On-Demand Course
August 27 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By gmatch32 joined: August 27, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
At first I was hesitant that the absence of a live instructor would make the learning process more difficult. However, I was quickly proven wrong. Optimus Prep On-Demand includes a range of different learning materials to help you through the course content via your preferred learning style. The vow factor is the adaptive nature of the course. The format of the course design and practice is almost like that of a game. You get credits for achievements such as a cup award icon for answering 25 DS or 50 SC questions, or moving to level 2 in the course. You also get constant motivation in form of live feeds of your peers who are completing certain feats in the course. If you don’t have a study group, this takes care of the loneliness that a test taker often faces in the absence of a support group.

Each lesson was clear and understandable, even though it challenged me greatly on some of the practice problems! However, the exposure to difficult questions and thinking will excel anyone's score due to the fact that the Test Makers try to trick you. The On-Demand course also had everyday laid out for me so I always knew what was next. The adaptive nature of the tests is really great and helped keep my level up. Without question, when I found myself having time I could sit down and know exactly what I needed to accomplish. For a busy person who wasn't sure if I could attend a class 4 hours away from my home, the On Demand course was the right choice for me. I will be taking the GMAT test for the first time after this course, and with all the tips and exposure I have learned so far, I am expecting big things from me!

After going through the Optimus On-Demand course, I can recommend it to anybody who has limited time and resources to prepare for the test. The course content is excellent. It is divided between Quantitative, Verbal, Analytical and Integrated as expected on real test. Each section is sub divided into major components and is complemented with skill builder sections, reviews and section quiz. Most importantly, I really admire the way Optimus instructors explains the logic behind the questions and aid with useful tips to approach the questions strategically and in timely manner. The people at Optimus have re-engineered their site such that it allows you to build as many own customized GMAT practice tests as you wish (you can also practice only certain GMAT concepts in these practice tests), 9 full GMAT practice tests, 5500 questions with explanations and the course is so intelligently designed it gives you instructions and recommendations how to proceed and which areas to study again. This helps shed light on intricacies and highlights the necessary skills for success on GMAT. After going through the Optimus On- Demand course, I can recommend it to anybody who has limited time and resources to prepare for the test. All in all, I am one satisfied client and am sure there are thousands other like me.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
e-GMAT- Thanks for building my confidence
August 27 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 7, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I bought Verbal Online course last year after readiing e-gmat course advertisement on gmatclub forum. It's really helped me to understand the concept from scratch and to build a platform to start my preparation.
I would like to give you better idea about my gradual improvement by describing my situation before and after buying e-gmat course.
Before e-gmat course, I was not able to find out the intricate mistakes in SC problems and to analyze the sentence throughly. In a nutshell, I have no idea of how to proceed to solve the problem. But after e-gmat, I start to understand the SC problems to get the errors in first reading of sentences.
I ,now, know that basic concepts to crack GMAT are few clicks away.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Just Great! Optimus Prep On Demand Course!
August 26 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 24, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I would highly recommend taking Optimus GMAT to prepare for the test. My experience with Optimus has been nothing but positive. I chose to take the online course with, the course provided excellent study materials, ranging from in-depth study guides/videos, an online bank of question analysis, and online generator. The quality of the instructors cannot be beaten - their enthusiastic attitude was very encouraging, and they shared useful tips and strategies that made studying much easier and also kind of fun! Overall, this was an excellent guide to getting the score you want.

I would imagine that the course is great for people who need to brush up on basic math skills and are weaker in verbal and need to learn certain tricks and tips to bring up their verbal scores. Personally, I have a fairly strong command of math principles, but struggled to apply them appropriately to questions in a 2 minute time frame. I also have very strong verbal skills. Consequently, taking a survey course (and thinking that would get me the score I wanted), was a complete waste of time. If you're very strong in math or verbal, I would highly recommend self-directed study rather than wasting your time covering topics that are already a strength for you.

The course is adaptive and recognizes your knowledge level by the amount of correct answers you give. You can build as many own customized GMAT practice tests as you wish (you can also practice only certain GMAT concepts in these practice tests), 9 full GMAT practice tests, 5000+ questions with explanations, the course gives you instructions and recommendations on how to proceed and which areas to study again. The Test generator provides you with multiple parameters to create your test with such as timed/untimed, adaptive/non-adaptive, section type, difficulty level etc. These parameters, if used intelligently, can vastly enhance your test taking skills as you will realize that taking the GMAT consists of two parts: the content awareness and the strategy of test taking. Two people with similar command over the content will score differently if their focus on strategy is different.

If you elect to study on your own, I would highly recommend the Optimus GMAT materials. The study guides are very helpful, and the online CAT tests are great (and you have 5 or 6 of them to practice on). With a strict schedule and homework each week, I liked the structure and it motivated me to take the test and stay committed to the exam. I highly recommend the course, especially the live online version.

On top of the videos and reading the manuals, I spent at 12-15 hours a week on practice questions. To get the most of the class, you need to complete practice questions and track your progress. The analytics the course offers really helped me understand the areas where I was weak, and focus my attention for my attempt.

I compared several courses before making my investment, and I am very happy of my choice in going with Optimus.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Veritas Online Prep
August 26 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By WaterFlowsUp joined: June 4, 2013 | 334 | 147 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Brian Galvin
Hi ,

I enrolled myself for Veritas prep nline course almost an year back. The web interface is hihly organized and the problem sets are available both on the internet and in printed form. The skill builder lessons build up the base in short span of time. The Quants portion is very detailed and very thorough. There are few trap questions that will open your eyes and teach you what to expect from the test makers.
Verbal course is a equally appreciable. Each and every topic of SC has been covered with a detailed insight on the rules.
RC is extremely good. Their techniques are sound and flaw-proof.
CR is could have been better. They userd lot of LSAT question and i don't prefer that idea of theirs. i would say CR could have been better.

The bouqet of goodness continues with 10 CATs and few other added benefits.
Overall the course is totally worth the money. This course along with official guides can guide any1 to 700+ score.

Thanks
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Ravi will dissect the GMAT for you
August 25 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By janabon27 joined: August 25, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I have been studying on my own for a couple months. I purchased many Gmat books from Mahattan, Princeton, Kaplan, and of course the Official Guide, but I realized that I was getting stuck and I was not seeing an improvement anymore, so I decided to do my research and I started looking for Gmat prep courses and I found Veritas to be the best for me, but before committing to Veritas, I attended free demo classes from other companies, which I found their teaching methodology a little harder to understand. This made my decision a lot easier.
I took the course with Ravi based on his reviews, in order to succeed and get the most out of the course you have to give 100%, you have to read the material before class and do your homework, (if you have the time, you might want to take advantage and take the quizzes on the veritas website) Otherwise, you will be lost and Ravi made this very clear since the beginning. He will dissect the Gmat for you but if you don’t come prepare to class, you will struggle. He engages during class, he will send you a private chat to give you feedback and soon, he will realize about your strengths and weaknesses. He will try to help you as much as he can; he is always willing to help you because he wants his students to succeed. After the course, you will have to continue to study on your own, but now it is easier because I know how to tackle hard questions. If you want to take a GMAT prep course, I highly suggest you take it with Ravi.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Perfect GMAT Prep Course!
August 25 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By clkell36 joined: April 22, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Steve Odabashian
The Veritas Prep Live Online Course was the perfect combination of convenience and challenge that I have been striving to obtain. My specific class only had at most four students and at times only two so that almost one on one attention was very attainable with this course. Not only was the teacher great at explaining problems he also made sure we would understood them by getting our consent. He also stayed later for a bit after class just in case we had any questions. I really felt as though he cared and always gave his honest opinion and feedback. The way they mix up the classes are great too because one class will be dedicated to quant while the next class will be dedicated to verbal. The way that they transcend from one to another really builds upon what you've learned from the previous class and makes perfect sense.

The tools that are also provided on the website are such a great help and provide the perfect practice problems with detailed solutions that always help me to understand how to solve any specific problems. The best part is that if you still don't understand the problem you are able to email homework help and they always email you back within a reasonable amount of time with the best explanations. You are given year to have full access to the website and Im am sad to say that my year will be up in about three months. I would recommend this program to anyone who needs help in quant, verbal, or both!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent On-Demand Prep Course
August 25 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 25, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I'm very satisfied with my Optimus prep experience. I decided on the on-demand video format because I live in a city that does not offer the in-person classes, and I'm so happy I went with it. The course is very well structured and extremely organized, and really builds upon your knowledge in a logical manner. I've always been apprehensive about online courses, feeling that I'd get the most bang for my buck if I was physically in a classroom. I found the instructors I spoke with were very caring and helpful, and on many occasions the instructors wouldn't hesitate to spend an extra few minutes past the half hour time slot to finish up a problem I had trouble with whenever I needed to touch base with them.
The Optimus materials are just excellent. I had written the GMAT once prior to this course and received a score of 620, which I was unhappy with. I had previously tried out one prep book from another company, and when I started with the Optimus videos, I was completely amazed by how detailed and coherent the information was. The Number Properties and Sentence Correction videos, in particular, were very impressive. All of the videos really offered many unique and effective strategies, such as back solving and number picking, I had never previously heard well of, and really seemed to touch upon everything. I was amazed at how easily digestible the information was presented.

What I also loved about the course is the adaptive feature and that it recognizes the competency level by the amount of correct answers. One can build as many own customized GMAT practice tests as you wish, you can also practice only certain GMAT concepts in these practice tests, 9 full GMAT practice tests, over 5000 questions with explanations, the course gives you instructions and recommendations how to proceed and which areas to study again. The various test generator functions are a great value add for practicing strategy for the real test. I felt that the practice exams were on par with level of difficulty of the actual exam, so that was excellent preparation. I chose to use the detailed study organizer excel, so each day had scheduled reading that I could choose to stay on top of. I felt my heart pound as I saw my unofficial score at the Pearson testing center... 760 99th Percentile. Thank you Optimus prep for bringing a big smile to my face. Big leap from my earlier score. I had many friends recommend various GMAT prep classes, but in the end decided to do Optimus prep GMAT. I could not have been more pleased with my choice. The videos were fantastic and feedback (analytics) was beneficial. I exceeded my target score by 30 points and have Optimus GMAT to thank. Without the on-demand prep, I would not have been able to score as well as I did. I highly recommend the Optimus GMAT program to anyone interested in taking a prep course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Magoosh review
August 24 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 10, 2013 | 5 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I had already used Magoosh for my GRE Prep and was very satisfied with the product scope so I decided to use it for my GMAT Prep again.

I come from Germany and I am confident about my quant skills so the Verbal section was of special importance to me.

The video lectures were extremely helpful and supported me in adjusting my feeling for English grammar to the GMAT standards. I improved a lot and scored frequently high on the mock exams.

Unfortunately, I was not able to convey these to the full extent to the real exam and scored 39. Still I am satisfied with the score which I achieved with the great Magoosh lessons.

Thank you guys!


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep course – A launch pad to score 700+ on the GMAT
August 23 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By avkamat joined: December 8, 2010 | 3 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
It is rightly said "Choice of the right coaching class is the most valuable gift that you can give to yourself" and e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep course, indeed, is the most valuable gift a GMAT aspirant, especially the one who is struggling with the verbal section, can give to himself / herself.

Well, I stumbled upon e-GMAT.com while I was exploring gmatclub.com. The positive reviews about e-GMAT left me with no option, but to join e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep course. To begin with, I still ensured the course offerings by subscribing to e-GMAT free trial in SC, CR & RC section covering videos, articles and live online session. The free trial experience was exactly the same as it was mentioned in the reviews that I had already read. I immediately subscribed to the Verbal Live Prep course. To my surprise, the course not only included SC, CR and RC section, but also included Integrated Reasoning (IR) section which is extremely organized as well like SC, CR and RC section.

Sentence Correction (SC)
-----------------------------------
The SC course inculcates in you a logical procedure/process to approach SC questions by using three-step process. The emphasis on spending majority of time on understanding the sentence meaning followed by the error analysis makes the last step of eliminating the wrong answer choices a cake walk. Therefore, meaning first approach is crucial especially when you are solving 700+ level questions. Trust me; you will immediately start seeing positive results using the e-GMAT's three-step process to crack SC questions.

Critical Reasoning (CR)
-------------------------------
The CR course inculcates in you a logical procedure/process to approach the CR questions by using pre-thinking technique. To begin with, the explanations to the key terms, which build the CR argument, such as Premise, Conclusion, Counter-Premise, Intermediate-Conclusion help in clear understanding of the complex CR arguments. Furthermore, creating logical structures & pre-thinking helps in quickly eliminating the wrong answer choices.

Reading Comprehension (RC)
----------------------------------------
The RC course inculcates in you a logical procedure/process to approach the RC questions by using reading strategies concepts. The course is perfectly organized covering explanations to all the types of RC questions that one encounters on the GMAT such as Main Point, Inference, etc.

Overall the Verbal Live Prep is unique and one-of-a-kind course with following key advantages:
- Extremely organized course curriculum for SC, CR & RC section including study plan, practice questions & its explanations
- High quality videos with detailed explanations
- Live sessions to interact with faculty/experts & see how they approach 700+ level problems using e-GMAT process
- Interactive forums to discuss queries
- 247 email support from the e-GMAT team

I highly recommend Verbal Live Prep course to all GMAT aspirants who are looking to improve accuracy and timing in verbal section.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings