Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1097]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Verbal improvement from V25 to V35
December 19 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Infinitive joined: November 30, 2013 | 12 | 4 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Hi All,

I gave my first GMAT in Nov 2013 and scored 600 with Q47 and V25.

The books that I used were MGMAT SC and CR apart from OG13. A quick search would show you that most use MGAMT SC books and have scored amazing in verbal, so even I studied from these books for SC, as SC was my weakest part, being a non-native English speaker.
I did understand the contents in the book but was still somehow making a lot of mistakes and for most of the time I couldn't figure out why a wrong option is wrong in OG. Google would bring me here and I discovered this great site and later eventually after a dismal 600, e-gmat!
I saw bb recommending some user to have a look at e-gmat for verbal and thought well among the various courses if he is recommending this to someone I should also give it a try.
I enrolled for Verbal Live-prep, got a discount, and found a new way of learning.

The course is organized into separate segments as per the topics and it goes into the detail of every topic. You get a pre and post assessment quiz after each section so that you can check your mastery on these topics, the thing missing in books. I would suggest you to make notes also of the content and the error log.

The workshops and live sessions actually tells you why a choice is wrong if it is wrong and the discussion that takes place in these classes are amazing. These live sessions are the single thing worth the money. While browsing the forums you get 1000 rules why an ans is right or wrong, some of these rules are misleading or incomplete, but a tutor in these live sessions clears many doubts while discussing why a option is wrong and to what extent you can apply a rule. You would understand this if you have read MGMAT SC book as in this book you will find exceptions for many rules and even exceptions to exceptions! However these books are amazing if you can study on your own, nevertheless, I found e-gmat courses to be well worth the cost.
I gave two free mock tests: Kaplan and Veritas and scored 720 in each with Q50 and V~37 in Nov 2014. I also gave GMAT prep and scored 740 with Q50 and V40. I will appear for gmat in a while and will post my experience here on gmatclub.
I would suggest if you are struggling with SC, you can definitely check e-gmat.
For CR: one funda only - Prethink.
RC - well, solve SC within 90 sec and CR in less that 2 min will give you ample time to tackle each RC with around 7-8 min each.

Good luck.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Magoosh has been splendid
December 18 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Silverification joined: June 11, 2011 | 4 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I am writing this review for Magoosh. Have been using it to get myself on track in Verbal. The difficulty rating with the explanations provided is really amazing. Their 'Very Hard' questions need definitely eye for detail and helps you develop that instinct to answer the tough GMAT questions. The timer and customizable practice quizzes helps one develop accuracy with speed. Admist all the work and loss of questions, I definitely look to Magoosh to keep me engaged and on track in Verbal and Quant sections. Nonetheless, having said all the cherry stuff, I do believe that Magoosh can make the Quant section a bit tougher. I have tried other company's questions for Maths and they seemed more tougher and tuned to Gmatprep practices tests. Nevertheless, this is certainly a must have for all GMAT takers.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
GMAT hit me hard....but there is hope!!
December 18 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By tessyoncom joined: March 4, 2011 | 16 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  |
I took the GMAT exam last week and did not do well, I had a woeful score of 530. I came back same day and took the last practice exam I had left to be double sure something is not wrong. My last GMAT official score was 540. How can I have up to a year of preparation and still score below my first score? Anyway, I took the last practice test again and scored 650! So what went wrong?

I sat down and reflected on what I must have and perhaps still doing wrong. I realized I had underrated the exam twice. I over guessed and did not follow all the instructions I got on the e-GMAT course I took. Perhaps let me emphasize this, GMAT is a very challenging exam if you do not do all the right things. The e-GMAT course is indeed the best for non-natives like me. My verbal on the real exam was 29 but on the same day in the GMATPrep second test, my verbal score was 36! It was then that I was able to realize that in the real exam, I did not follow all the rules I learnt on the Verbal Life Prep I enrolled for on e-GMAT and I got burnt. I would not blame e-GMAT. It is probably one of the best courses you can take out there. I can say this because I had paid for the Economist course, Magoosh and other not too popular online courses.

However, the only down side with e-GMAT is that the life sessions are too long for busy people to cope with. A session is typically about one hour an half long and not everyone has got that block of time for an interactive session.

Nevertheless, I and going back to the drawing board to take the exam again. I know I can do better than my score. I have re-enrolled for the GMAT exam again and I am sure this time, I should get a fantastic score. I should be able to give more reviews on my success when it eventually comes. I do know that at certain height there are no clouds, if you still have clouds in your life, then you have not soared high enough. This applies to the GMAT too.

Finally, my single advice is that you should take the exam seriously. If you are a non-native like me, religiously follow the e-GMAT videos and you’ll be alright.

Thanks
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent - Please read
December 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By amanthapar joined: October 24, 2013 | 8 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  40 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
This is an excellent course for Math - clear, easy to understand videos that will help anyone in the 500 or 600 level.

Verbal has a great section of videos as well.

Their strong point is Quant and the question bank is one of the best I have seen. For $99 this is a great value for money. Do yourself a favor - don't spend $1000 on gmat courses. This is actually a great companion to the MGMAT books. See their study plans. You can get a good gmat score (700+) if you study hard.

The question bank for verbal is okay - use it to master fundamental s then move on to official questions.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great Course, Loved the Videos
December 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By nate9213 joined: January 8, 2014 | 0 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I don't think you can beat this course, especially for the price! My package came with both the Verbal and Quant.

My top 2 favorite things are:

1) Video lessons: I was able to speed up, skip, and replay lessons. The videos were quick and to the point (MGMAT videos are extremely long and winded) and greatly helped in my preparation.

2) Question bank: I love that Magoosh has their own set of questions (all web based) and that the questions provide instant feedback. Each question has a video answer, which are amazing!

I personally used Magoosh as my main form of study and used MGMAT as a supplement. I had ~30 days to study and Magoosh was great for that timeframe.

I would highly recommend Magoosh to anyone, especially for those who are just starting out and even more so for those who do not do well just learning by reading a book. It is probably not best for those looking to score a 720+.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent...!!!!!!!!
December 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: April 14, 2012 | 5 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  60 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Being a non native native speaker of English posed me lot of problems in Verbal. I took eGMAT's help in Sentence Correction and my score increased by 60 points. I wold definitely recommend it for the non natives. The advantage in E-GMAT is that the course starts with basic level and moves to advanced level once you gain proficiency in the basic level. IThese are the few things that I really liked about eGMAt like it Covers key areas in sentence correction for the GMAT, Re-enforced the lesson with quizzes, you can use at your own pace, different levels to complete before moving to next one. I'm already seeing an improvement in my verbal accuracy. Thanks a Ton !!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Very helpful for my test preparation
December 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By salieri joined: April 12, 2014 | 8 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
Magoosh was very helpful for my GMAT preparation. I have yet to give the official test but I have already experienced a significant score increase. Starting out with a 450 before my preparation, I achieved a 110 score increase so far and I am not planning on stopping yet. I have been following the 3-month schedule for beginners and I can particularly recommend the daily consumption of the lesson videos that give you an in-depth view on the theory necessary for the different quant and verbal sections.
Magoosh also comes with countless practice exercises with answer explanations for every single exercise.
I found the quant difficulty level to be comparable to the quant section of the GMATPrep test. The Sentence Correction exercises however seemed a little easier.
Keeping this in mind, Magoosh is an invaluable method for boosting your GMAT score for an unbeatable price.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
GMAT Verbal Improvement
December 17 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By govind440 joined: August 9, 2009 | 15 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  20 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
The video lessons are helpful specially for sentence correction. examples are similar to GMAT ones so exposure is always useful. I improved my timing whenever i compared with others.
I can create my own notes for the video so i can go back any time i want. Magoosh also has an app so it helped too.

Magoosh is playing an important role in my GMAT preparation, so I would recommend this course. I did not use quant app much yet since i am good at quant, however i heard that quant is also useful. For non native speakers, it is really useful and it is not that expensive also.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Good exercises, but not enough for a good score
December 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 16, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online  |
I found that there where a lot of good exercises, however i found them easier than the real test.
I has having better grades in the practice exams that in the real GMAT
I liked the way they explained, however when going to the question bank it does not provide me with an exam with the problems i want to put, it has to go on order instead of combining the different sections.
I liked the way they explained and the skill test where a good way for us to find mistakes.
The skill builder was a bit boring, however it did help to get all our theory in place before starting the exams or courses of each section
It was a way of reviewing what we learned in high school.
Sometimes the video quality was not the best and sometimes it just freezes, but other tham that is was great
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Amazing Course
December 16 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By gfrazer911 joined: October 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I love the instructional videos, you have the ability to break down and critique any of your weaknesses through their customization tab. However, the real beauty of this course is you can go at your own pace. It is studying made fun. I have never taken a course that was so intuitive and helpful. The other aspect that I love about this course is the team that is there to help you with any clarifying questions. They respond quickly and they are not short with their responses. They take the time to explain to you when you are confused. Thanks Guys!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings