Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [922]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Excellent
September 15 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By clemk joined: September 15, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Isaac
Excellent preparation. I don't like the videos because sometimes I think they are toos low and I get bored, sometimes too quick and I need to hear it again; here I can really go as fast or slow as I need, even just stop practicing if something else needs addressing, and it doesn't go on without me.

Plus the methods and explanations are great. I would like to have such an assistant for everything I want to learn !!

I did not yet take the real GMAT. I learn so much though that I am positive that I will improve my score.
Plus learning is pleasurable, which makes it so much easier.
I recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great review prep
September 14 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 14, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online  |
I have been using The Economist GMAT Tutor for a couple of weeks and already love it. The class is self-paced, which is great for me as I have a full-time job and never know when they'll need me to work overtime. I recommend using the free week trial. After my trial was finished, I waited a few days and they sent me an email that gives you 15% off...

The progress bar is great. They show you a "predicted" score based on how much of the course you have completed and how well you scored on your practice tests. They give you 5 full practice tests as well, which ends up being 6 if you take the free simulation test during the trial.

One tip - they use your simulation test (if you take it within the trial period) to determine the score they guarantee for you. Take the simulation test at the end of the trial period so you can get the highest guaranteed score possible.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Economist GMAT Prep Highly Effective
September 12 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 12, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I found the GMAT course to be very effective and accurate in predicting my score. I learned and retained much of the information and loved the computer adaptive approach to the course. At first, I was hesitant in choosing a fully online course but realized it was very convenient to use the app on the go. The lessons are very well presented and the practice exams predicted my real score with 100% accuracy. The tutors were knowledgeable and responded almost immediately to any concerns or questions I had. It is a great course to both review material and learn new material. I highly recommend this course.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Excellent Prep Course
September 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By sophiamia joined: September 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I had only a few weeks left for the actual GMAT and my verbal was stuck at 32-33 even after months of studying, though quant was going decent at 48. Also, though I did pretty neat in the practice problems, during full length tests I was suffering from repeatability issues. I realized that most of the times the main killer of my verbal score was RC. Sometimes my accuracy was as low as 50%.

I was going crazy about which materials to follow. I had already tried other courses such as Kaplan, MGMAT for RC and found them a bit unsuitable for my style of study. Since I am not a voracious reader, I had always struggled to comprehend a long or unfamiliar passage. I tried Aristotle RC and was extremely demotivated with my speed as well as accuracy as evidenced by the result of the tests in these materials. I used to think that with my convent education and a BTech would see me through but the test told me otherwise. At this time, all I could hope for was to get close to 700. Giving up was not something I was ready for, though a lot of people told me that I should focus on my career and current job, and I could get better returns.

So I reluctantly decided that I should buy a prep course some of the established companies. But after I saw the prices, I decided to look elsewhere. I saw that many people were recommending Optimus. I came across Optimus, through some posts in GMAT Club, quite late in my preparation cycle. I had completed OG and a few other materials like Aristotle and improved my accuracy to 75% in verbal but that was not sufficient.

Optimus has an extremely pragmatic approach of discarding wrong options, a technique that helped me to improve my score. Equipped with rigorous preparation through OG and Optimus and other resources I attempted GMAT again and I scored 740, 750 & 730 in the last 3 mock tests I tried. Concepts were explained like teaching kids at elementary level, so they are hard coded in your memory. Their approach to tackle questions was really strong, if practiced religiously you will overcome timing issues. Their approach digs the question really deep and there is a very little room left for errors.

One of the best things about the course is the focus on tests after learning the basics. The question generators have a lot of useful settings such as timed and non-timed, adaptive, and other forms of testing. Their question bank is humungous, nearly 6000 questions.
I am using this course since last month and I can surely tell you that it is the one of the best course for non-natives for improving the Verbal score. Course starts from the very basic and goes to the higher level, covering all the important topics of tested on the real GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Excellent!
September 11 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I was brand-new to all things GMAT when deciding to take a course to help my study plan for taking the exam. After some extensive research online, I had narrowed it down to Manhattan and Veritas, but after talking to a representative from Veritas on the phone, my decision was quickly and easily made. Lucky for me, I called at the right time as a course with Ravi was just about to start soon; the representative assured me he's one of the more popular instructors, and after taking his course I could see why. While there is naturally alot of material to cover in a short amount of time in each class session, he goes about it at a good speed for someone of any level to understand. What I personally liked most was his insistence on getting students to score in the 99% ... he wants students to REALLY achieve, not just get by on the test which I appreciated. He offered up many tips and tricks, and helps you look at problems in ways you probably wouldn't have just by doing it on your own. All in all, I'm glad I took a Veritas course...and am especially glad it was with Ravi. Any quick search online will show his name coming up repeatedly as one of, if not the, best instructor for online Veritas courses, and after completing the course with him I can easily see why!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great, quality course
September 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ras1212 joined: September 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  40 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  brandon Pierpont
It is a safe bet to guarantee that this course will raise your score a significant amount. But as with everything, it goes down to how you treat it. Pay attention and ask questions in the lesson, utilize the supplemental material online, and take your time through the lesson books and you will definitely be in good standing to get a high score on the GMAT. The instructor was great, friendly, and helpful. I was very impressed with the quality that the lesson books had and with how thorough they were. The convenience of having it be an online class also is nice. There are no gimmicks to the online structure, it works well.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Magoosh GMAT Prep (Premium Subscription)
September 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By danayerace joined: July 22, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I tried the free trial of Magoosh when I joined the GMAT Club in preparation of my upcoming GMAT exam. I found the videos extremely helpful, short and sweet, each one about 10 minutes in length. The lessons are laid out very logically and the flow is easy to follow. Quizzes are at the ends of the groups of lessons and are a great way to gauge how much information you are absorbing. I particularly like the ability to take notes in each of the lessons, practice lots of varied questions, complete flash cards (great app for your phone is available), and log onto Magoosh from anywhere and it is all saved. I'd recommend using this software to help review major topics, practice questions and get 2 more practice exams.

You can even use this link to sign up yourself and I'll get a referral bonus!
--> http://gmat.magoosh.com/invite/U7SHSD

Hope this was helpful :)
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Awesome GMAT course. Great materials. Great self-prep software!
September 10 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By mimimimi joined: September 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I wrote my GMAT exam in August and got 700. I would like to thank each and every one of you who shared their GMAT experiences on this forum and helped people like me to achieve the dream score. This forum has been very useful to me during my GMAT preparation and its even useful now in my applications. I would also like to thank Optimus on Demand team for helping me improve my verbal score from 27 to 36 and keep up with my Math scores, especially DS and probabilities.

I used OG and Powerscore, but my Verbal Scores wouldn’t budge beyond 32. It was clear to me in that I needed a change in strategy. I thought of taking a prep course but was not sure if it was worth it. I tried a big name that was highly recommended on this forum but that did not help either. Finally, I went to a few training centers to get detailed information on their courses and students. I felt Optimus was new and had a fresh approach to GMAT compared to the older prep companies who seemed to be strutting their old stuff. I started with their sentence correction on the On Demand course and though I struggled in the beginning, the tests showed that I was getting better.

I had thought that I knew all there was to know in SC, but after doing a few concepts, I realized that I was mistaken. I knew the concepts all right but I still had not learned how to apply them. For example, I had not realized the ways in which Verb-ing modifiers could be used till I went through the concept in the course. I then looked into MGMAT and I could find that the same thing was covered in MGMAT as well but somehow I did not understand it the same way. I felt the same as I went through Verb tenses and parallel structures etc. I felt that the Optimus on Demand course was a lot easier to comprehend than MGMAT. I found the CR course to be equally good. The prethinking approach is just awesome – makes CR questions very enjoyable. Their coverage on evaluate (I did get a few questions) is probably the most comprehensive that I have found in any book. The live sessions were excellent but they cover only the more challenging problems.
Personally, I feel that Optimus is more detailed in teaching both SC and CR. It teaches you the application, not just the rules. The RC content was also very helpful, and though I was good at math, I was not able to manage time earlier, but after practicing over thousands of questions in an adaptive environment, my confidence began to grow.

One other thing that I liked about their videos and the progress that others were making that I came to know on the live feeds was interactive. Overall, I would attribute my improvement from 32 to 36 to Optimus.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Crisp , Clear and Lucid just the thing you need
September 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By soumya029 joined: June 9, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I have been on and off GMAT prep for the last one year , starting and stopping in between and then picking up where I left . I agree not the best way to prep , however my go to resource for verbal prep has always been e-gmat's resource . I started off with a humble v36 and no matter how hard I tried my score never moved upwards.I might have slipped a couple of times my lowest being V34. I was about to throw the towel in , but luckily for me I came across e-gmat. Thanks to GMATclub in my yore days I used to lurk here to get the best strategy and plan my moves accordingly.

After prepping with e-gmat for a month my score moved upwards to the region of 38 first time in prep history. I knew at that instant that this will work for me.

I am a good V40 now and look forward to move it up a few notches in the next few months before the D-day.
Pros
+ Structured course content
+ Several exercise - I love the before and after exercises as they show a clear improvement after going through the course matter
+Best explanation on OG verbal questions there is!
+Clears the fundamentals concepts and so speed always follows.
+ Interactive / engaging course content , does not put you off as a normal printed matter would.
+scope of one on one discussion with the actual course developers .
Cons
+ Fairly new company
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Worth it
September 09 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: September 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online  |
The Veritas Prep On-Demand course gave me the ability to study at my own pace while offering high quality content.

While the videos and lessons were great, I found the practice questions and tests to be particularily useful in helping to prepare for the actual exam. I would recommend doing as many practice problems as possible and to have completed several full length practice tests before taking the real exam.

I was able to increase my score by 80 points, and would likely be able to increase it even more if I had had more time. I would definitely recommend Veritas Prep to anyone who is seeking to dramatically improve their GMAT score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings