Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [992]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Very good & professional GMAT on demand course.
August 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By elenatia joined: August 29, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
What really attracted me was honestly, the price. For $499, one could access 5000+ questions and detailed explanations covering Quantitative, Verbal, and I.R. which included 30 video lessons and 9 full GMAT simulations with formats ranging from PC, Mac, iPad and even iPhone. They guaranteed 50 points GMAT score improvement or full refund. They claimed that their system tracked and analyzed an individual’s performance at the lowest level, identifying one’s specific strengths and weaknesses and generating recommendations based on the performance. I took a feedback from some other people on GMAT Club who went for it, to validate such tall claims, was convinced by the feedback and I felt the quality was worth a try. I subscribed to the Optimus Prep GMAT on demand course and could not have been happier with it. As with all study programs, the extent to which your score improves is ultimately a function of the student’s effort and discipline. That being said, it is my opinion that if you work diligently with the Optimus Prep GMAT materials your scores will improve substantially. The study materials include all the information that one needs to score a 700+. I found the video instructors to be knowledgeable and professional. What I saw as especially helpful were the techniques Optimus Prep employed to approach different styles of problems. To be clear, you can learn to answer any GMAT problem if you master the Optimus Prep study material. Towards the end of my studying, however, I learned to more efficiently apply these techniques to the point where you could narrow your answer down to two possible choices, or even one, without even doing the problem. Essentially, it teaches you how the GMAT tries to trick you and makes you more aware of what trick answer choices look like. This dramatically improved my accuracy and timing issues. Compared to other online courses service Optimus Prep on demand holds a few considerable advantages. The online materials are way more comprehensive. In addition to 9 algorithmic adaptive practice tests, there were endless question banks, and exam generators with more than 5000 practice problems to reinforce the material that was covered in the videos. All in all I couldn’t be more pleased. After taking the course, I studied for another 5 weeks focusing on the techniques and earned a 700+ score. If you are in search of a product that will include everything from GMAT exam introduction all the way through advanced techniques for 700+ scores you want Optimus Prep on demand series.

Optimus Prep offers a wealth of options for you to learn and master all topics covered on the exam. From the extensive Optimus Prep strategy guides to the challenging CAT prep tests, students have access to a variety of different study tools to work on all topics tested on the GMAT. Based on my experience, I would confidently say that you will never get such value for money from any other established course in the market. I am on to the next step, and if I had to take the GMAT again, I would prefer to go with Optimus Prep on demand.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
My review about the On Demand Online Prep Course. Fantastic Program/Guide for self-preparation!
August 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By JuriB joined: August 29, 2014 | 2 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I can't say enough wonderful things about Optimus prep GMAT! I scored a 750 and was admitted to three Top 5 b-schools - none of which would have been possible without Optimus prep's excellent program. I would highly recommend Optimus prep to anyone heading down the b-school route.

During the on class room course I had taken earlier course, we were not reviewing the material, most of the time, we were just doing problems, they have a lot of resources to approach the problems and more interactive. I was aiming for 700+ and I found the level of the course was targeted more towards average GMAT scores, the explanations were slow and very detailed, I am a quick learner, and I was bored most of the time during the sessions.

Optimus prep's materials are the best; the online CATs alone are worth the fees. That said, you have to do the work on your own. Don't underestimate the amount of time and effort it takes to increase your score significantly. Everything you need is in Optimus prep's materials, but you are ultimately responsible for your own success.

Even if I had the materials, I wouldn’t have been able to put together the weekly lists of practice questions on my own. Optimus on demand tells you exactly how to fill those 15 hours a week spent studying. I wouldn’t say that the teaching is the strength of the course, and NOT because the web instructor great. They clearly have subject mastery and, more uniquely, are really personable and committed. They have a weird passion and enthusiasm for the GMAT, which is inspiring.

The web-based instruction is a very effective method of communication and instruction. Problem sets can be completed on your own time , additionally you can create your own exams by using the exam generator which has various parameters such as custom difficulty level, timing, section or knowledge area and you can also see what others are doing, which gives a sense of community .

The method of instruction focuses on "practicing" key concepts that are tested on the GMAT and learning the most time-efficient tips and tricks to solve these concepts, this is particularly helpful on the Data Sufficiency problems and Sentence Correction problems on the GMAT. Those two types of problems were my primary weaknesses when beginning the GMAT process, but Optimus prep GMAT helped me turn those weaknesses into strengths. Through consistent and disciplined practice of these problems, I was able to quickly recognize a concept and immediately decide which method to use in solving that particular problem.

Overall, Optimus prep GMAT is an enabler that will definitely help any MBA prospect set conditions for success on the GMAT. But at the end of the day, rolling up your sleeves and putting some good old fashioned elbow grease into studying the concepts that Optimus prep GMAT teaches you is still absolutely necessary to achieve the results that you want, but I would not be satisfied with my GMAT without taking the On Demand Online Prep Course.
I definitely think the course is worth the money and time investment. I've heard from many people that if you want the best in GMAT prep, then go with Optimus prep. If I had to pay the same price for a GMAT prep course, I would definitely choose Optimus prep all over again.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Awesome material + Awesome team = e-gmat
August 29 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 8, 2014 | 3 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Hello ppl,
I have joined the verbal live prep program around 4 months back but haven't been able to complete the relevant material due to some personal reasons and din't gave the gmat too but hopefully will give it by January end. I am writing this review to thank the e-gmat team for being helpful and sincerely try solving problems of their students. After I made the e-gmat team aware of my problems they spontaneously agreed to give me extension till my GMAT exam and I am extremely thankful for that. Furthermore, whatever amount of course I have competed so far is simply phenomenal and is easy to assimilate than books and all. The audio visual concept enhances the learning process and makes it easy to apply. In a nut shell, anyone willing to increase the verbal score and learning in a easy structured way then e-gmat is the place to go. Once gain heartiest thanks to the e-gmat and team for creating such a wonderful course and being helful.

Regards,
Vikas
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Verbal Live Prep - Excellent Verbal Course
August 28 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 17, 2010 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I started preparing for GMAT in 2010. I tried various classroom coaching but did not find that useful, so I decided to prepare on my own. After couple of months of preparation, I decided to appear for the GMAT with the aim of scoring 700+, but scored 640. I thought the low score was due to mental fatigue as I was scoring consistently above 700 in the practice test. So I appeared again after couple of months but landed up with the same score. After this attempt, I had lost my confidence and decided to take a break. In 2013, while going through the GMAT club website, I saw the e-gmat course, which was mostly for non-natives. I decided to appear for the free classes and the approach for the SC questions by Payal and Rajat made me realize as how we should attack the SC questions. Believe me the 3 step process for SC is the golden rule as it is not only helps to solve tough question but also makes your approach consistent for SC. The best thing that I learned in CR is the pre-thinking step. It took me time to understand the concept but once you sink in the concept it improves the accuracy in CR tremendously. As far as RC is concerned, the paragraph summary is key to solve most of the RC passage. So overall I feel that if someone is really interested to nail Verbal section of GMAT, e-gmat provides you the right guidance and approach to solve each type of question in the verbal section.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Veritas Prep Online -- Ravi
August 27 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 5, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I was brand new to the world of GMAT when deciding to take a course, either with Manhattan or Veritas. After some debating of looking at the pros/cons of the two online, I went with Veritas and am glad I did. The course curriculum is structured well, and while it's a lot to complete in a short amount of time, Ravi was great at keeping the flow of the class moving and making sure students were keeping up and not being left behind. I personally liked his 99% attitude most; he was truly striving to get students to achieve high results, not just 'get by' which was appreciated. His teaching style was great, and he was accessible to talk with and ask questions if need be.
The only thing I wasn't too keen on was the online program and interface that Veritas uses for the course, but that's nothing to take away from Ravi's great class leadership or the curriculum overall. Would highly recommend both the course and instructor.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Absolutely Satisfied with the Optimus Prep On-Demand Course
August 27 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By gmatch32 joined: August 27, 2014 | 1 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
At first I was hesitant that the absence of a live instructor would make the learning process more difficult. However, I was quickly proven wrong. Optimus Prep On-Demand includes a range of different learning materials to help you through the course content via your preferred learning style. The vow factor is the adaptive nature of the course. The format of the course design and practice is almost like that of a game. You get credits for achievements such as a cup award icon for answering 25 DS or 50 SC questions, or moving to level 2 in the course. You also get constant motivation in form of live feeds of your peers who are completing certain feats in the course. If you don’t have a study group, this takes care of the loneliness that a test taker often faces in the absence of a support group.

Each lesson was clear and understandable, even though it challenged me greatly on some of the practice problems! However, the exposure to difficult questions and thinking will excel anyone's score due to the fact that the Test Makers try to trick you. The On-Demand course also had everyday laid out for me so I always knew what was next. The adaptive nature of the tests is really great and helped keep my level up. Without question, when I found myself having time I could sit down and know exactly what I needed to accomplish. For a busy person who wasn't sure if I could attend a class 4 hours away from my home, the On Demand course was the right choice for me. I will be taking the GMAT test for the first time after this course, and with all the tips and exposure I have learned so far, I am expecting big things from me!

After going through the Optimus On-Demand course, I can recommend it to anybody who has limited time and resources to prepare for the test. The course content is excellent. It is divided between Quantitative, Verbal, Analytical and Integrated as expected on real test. Each section is sub divided into major components and is complemented with skill builder sections, reviews and section quiz. Most importantly, I really admire the way Optimus instructors explains the logic behind the questions and aid with useful tips to approach the questions strategically and in timely manner. The people at Optimus have re-engineered their site such that it allows you to build as many own customized GMAT practice tests as you wish (you can also practice only certain GMAT concepts in these practice tests), 9 full GMAT practice tests, 5500 questions with explanations and the course is so intelligently designed it gives you instructions and recommendations how to proceed and which areas to study again. This helps shed light on intricacies and highlights the necessary skills for success on GMAT. After going through the Optimus On- Demand course, I can recommend it to anybody who has limited time and resources to prepare for the test. All in all, I am one satisfied client and am sure there are thousands other like me.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
e-GMAT- Thanks for building my confidence
August 27 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 7, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I bought Verbal Online course last year after readiing e-gmat course advertisement on gmatclub forum. It's really helped me to understand the concept from scratch and to build a platform to start my preparation.
I would like to give you better idea about my gradual improvement by describing my situation before and after buying e-gmat course.
Before e-gmat course, I was not able to find out the intricate mistakes in SC problems and to analyze the sentence throughly. In a nutshell, I have no idea of how to proceed to solve the problem. But after e-gmat, I start to understand the SC problems to get the errors in first reading of sentences.
I ,now, know that basic concepts to crack GMAT are few clicks away.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Just Great! Optimus Prep On Demand Course!
August 26 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: August 24, 2014 | 3 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I would highly recommend taking Optimus GMAT to prepare for the test. My experience with Optimus has been nothing but positive. I chose to take the online course with, the course provided excellent study materials, ranging from in-depth study guides/videos, an online bank of question analysis, and online generator. The quality of the instructors cannot be beaten - their enthusiastic attitude was very encouraging, and they shared useful tips and strategies that made studying much easier and also kind of fun! Overall, this was an excellent guide to getting the score you want.

I would imagine that the course is great for people who need to brush up on basic math skills and are weaker in verbal and need to learn certain tricks and tips to bring up their verbal scores. Personally, I have a fairly strong command of math principles, but struggled to apply them appropriately to questions in a 2 minute time frame. I also have very strong verbal skills. Consequently, taking a survey course (and thinking that would get me the score I wanted), was a complete waste of time. If you're very strong in math or verbal, I would highly recommend self-directed study rather than wasting your time covering topics that are already a strength for you.

The course is adaptive and recognizes your knowledge level by the amount of correct answers you give. You can build as many own customized GMAT practice tests as you wish (you can also practice only certain GMAT concepts in these practice tests), 9 full GMAT practice tests, 5000+ questions with explanations, the course gives you instructions and recommendations on how to proceed and which areas to study again. The Test generator provides you with multiple parameters to create your test with such as timed/untimed, adaptive/non-adaptive, section type, difficulty level etc. These parameters, if used intelligently, can vastly enhance your test taking skills as you will realize that taking the GMAT consists of two parts: the content awareness and the strategy of test taking. Two people with similar command over the content will score differently if their focus on strategy is different.

If you elect to study on your own, I would highly recommend the Optimus GMAT materials. The study guides are very helpful, and the online CAT tests are great (and you have 5 or 6 of them to practice on). With a strict schedule and homework each week, I liked the structure and it motivated me to take the test and stay committed to the exam. I highly recommend the course, especially the live online version.

On top of the videos and reading the manuals, I spent at 12-15 hours a week on practice questions. To get the most of the class, you need to complete practice questions and track your progress. The analytics the course offers really helped me understand the areas where I was weak, and focus my attention for my attempt.

I compared several courses before making my investment, and I am very happy of my choice in going with Optimus.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Veritas Online Prep
August 26 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By WaterFlowsUp joined: June 4, 2013 | 339 | 167 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Brian Galvin
Hi ,

I enrolled myself for Veritas prep nline course almost an year back. The web interface is hihly organized and the problem sets are available both on the internet and in printed form. The skill builder lessons build up the base in short span of time. The Quants portion is very detailed and very thorough. There are few trap questions that will open your eyes and teach you what to expect from the test makers.
Verbal course is a equally appreciable. Each and every topic of SC has been covered with a detailed insight on the rules.
RC is extremely good. Their techniques are sound and flaw-proof.
CR is could have been better. They userd lot of LSAT question and i don't prefer that idea of theirs. i would say CR could have been better.

The bouqet of goodness continues with 10 CATs and few other added benefits.
Overall the course is totally worth the money. This course along with official guides can guide any1 to 700+ score.

Thanks
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Ravi will dissect the GMAT for you
August 25 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By janabon27 joined: August 25, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I have been studying on my own for a couple months. I purchased many Gmat books from Mahattan, Princeton, Kaplan, and of course the Official Guide, but I realized that I was getting stuck and I was not seeing an improvement anymore, so I decided to do my research and I started looking for Gmat prep courses and I found Veritas to be the best for me, but before committing to Veritas, I attended free demo classes from other companies, which I found their teaching methodology a little harder to understand. This made my decision a lot easier.
I took the course with Ravi based on his reviews, in order to succeed and get the most out of the course you have to give 100%, you have to read the material before class and do your homework, (if you have the time, you might want to take advantage and take the quizzes on the veritas website) Otherwise, you will be lost and Ravi made this very clear since the beginning. He will dissect the Gmat for you but if you don’t come prepare to class, you will struggle. He engages during class, he will send you a private chat to give you feedback and soon, he will realize about your strengths and weaknesses. He will try to help you as much as he can; he is always willing to help you because he wants his students to succeed. After the course, you will have to continue to study on your own, but now it is easier because I know how to tackle hard questions. If you want to take a GMAT prep course, I highly suggest you take it with Ravi.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings