Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [813]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Instrumental.
March 26 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 10, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  110 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
As anyone who has taken a GMAT prep course knows, the quality of your instructor can make a world of difference. Such was the case with my experience with Veritas Prep. Undoubtedly, the various companies who offer GMAT preparation courses all have a solid value proposition. However, what set the Veritas Prep course apart for me was not the breadth of the texts (which were very good, for the record), but rather the quality of my instructor, Ravi Sreerama.

To say that Ravi was instrumental in my preparation is an understatement. The GMAT, more than any other standardized test, is ultimately about strategy. Most people signing up for the GMAT already have the skill set to answer a majority of questions. It is the strategy which really sets apart a 500 level score from a 700 score. And the hope of better understanding that strategy is how I justified the cost of the course. Ravi's teaching style truly exceeded my expectations. Ravi has an ability to break down a question not only to find the right answer, but perhaps more importantly to understand why a question is worded the way it is, to identify the trap answers, and ultimately to demonstrate why you should have been able to save 20 seconds answering it.

I have been previously very disappointed by the quality of MOOC's and my biggest concern in signing up for Veritas prep was that I was only able to take an online version of the course with my work schedule. Looking back, I think I even had a better experience because I took the online version of the course - and again, I'm going to have to credit Ravi. One must remember in the classroom, they don't necessarily receive the personal attention of the instructor. In taking the online course with Ravi, I received constant feedback - even in my class of 25. As I mentioned above, his ability to illuminate patterns in my errors - always falling for trap answers in combinatorics problems for example or consistently spending too much time on geometry questions - really helped me guide my studying accordingly.

In short, the ROI from this course came down to the quality of instructor - and Ravi is the real deal.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT delivers what it commits to deliver
March 25 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By radhika88 joined: November 29, 2011 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
As I had consistently been a top scorer in English, both at school and university, I always thought that I had a good command over the language & was very confident. My confidence was clearly shaken when I took the GMAT for the first time and scored way below my expectations. Around the same time I heard about e-GMAT and how they focused only on Verbal for non-natives unlike most test prep companies. I attended a few trial sessions and loved the methodology that they employed to not only ensure that you learn the concepts fast but also to recall & use it when the time comes. I bought the Verbal Live Prep program and was offered access to a few other question pools too.
They are crisp & clear in communication and one can attend many sessions as they wish to, to get the concepts right. The faculty is available offline too and often just an email away. Most importantly they know and address the most common problems that all non-natives face while attacking Verbal.
Due to a hectic work commitment, I had to take a break in my preparation. When I told them about this, they offered to extend my program too.
If you are a non-native and wish to ace the Verbal, this is definitely the place to be in.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Practice makes Perfect
March 25 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By brucezamik13 joined: July 20, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Zeke Lee
Everything about this post is derived from the title. In all honesty, there aren't many of us that can bs the test and achieve a 700+. I originally scored a sub600 and vented my frustrations out on twitter. GMAT Pill tweeted me back encouraging to work harder with the same quote as the title. Alongside these words was a list of practice problems to try out. After breezing through the trial, I noticed that the format was quite enjoyable. The videos were very clear and instructive and the website was very easy to navigate through. After close to 4 months of hitting the books, I managed to raise my score up roughly 140 points. Progress is definitely a lot easier when you got a swell guy like Zeke to push you through it.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Review On Demand Course 60 hours
March 25 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By susuisus joined: March 25, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
Thank you to GMAT Club and Optimus Prep for this platform and their great help to master to GMAT. I had a very hard time with the GMAT and took it twice to get a very low score. I do not want to say how low it is because it is embarrassing. Then I realized that it is directly connected to the methods I used to study. First of all, I learned alone and just with the help of books. Although the books are informative and can be of value I think it is not the most efficient method to study. This was mirrored in my test results. I then tried Optimus Prep’s on demand course because of the score improvement guarantee. Since I had nothing to lose it was a risk-free prep method. The course was really great and a lot of stuff is presented. They really start from scratch and with each lesson you get more insights. The access codes fort he CAT tests give you the chance to see how good you are in applying the knowledge from the course.

I scored finally more than 100 points better than with my last test. Thank you very much for your support.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Veritas Prep on Demand is a must-have resource for anyone wanting to excel in the GMAT.
March 24 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 24, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online  |
Veritas Prep On Demand was an incredibly helpful resource in preparing to take the GMAT. At first I was hesitant that the absence of a live instructor would make the learning process more difficult. However, I was quickly proven wrong. Veritas Prep On Demand includes a range of different learning materials to help you through the course content via your preferred learning style. Further, the quality of the videos, and the presenters' humour, creates a fun environment from which you walk away with a thorough and deep-rooted understanding of both the content and challenges of the GMAT, and the tools to tackle even the hardest GMAT questions. Veritas Prep on Demand is a must-have resource for anyone wanting to excel in the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
On Demand Course! A lot of useful GMAT tricks and tips!
March 24 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 24, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I found this video course with all the covered material to be great! All question types were explained in great detail from three different tutors. Each teacher went over his or her special field and showed valuable concepts and tips and tricks.

This helped me to gain knowledge I did not have before. I read the official guide before starting the course but it was of little help. In my opinion you need someone who knows the GMAT in and out and is willing to share his knowledge with you. I did not have a private tutor due to the high price though and found a recorded comprehensive video course to be a great alternative.

The CAT codes were also really good and allowed me to practice questions and get familiar with the test environment. I did between the lessons some more self-studying with the help of other books and this community.

I really can say that it was very helpful on my journey to a great GMAT score!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great course for full-time, low on free time, workers.
March 23 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By ronyvexe joined: March 23, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online  |
I'm a full-time worker and really could not afford to spend tons of hours sitting in a classroom advancing at a pace that might not be right for me. The Economist GMAT Tutor allowed me to go at my own speed and quickly learn the ins and outs of GMAT exams.

I completed nearly 93% of the course so believe me I know the depths of it. It has tons of different examples and can really zero in on your weaknesses and make you improve.


Their exams debriefing and AWA reviews are good and help you gain valuable insights to advance from one to another. I tried other free samples but Economist really had the easiest and clearest explanations plus a very friendly team (never more than 48 hours until I got a response on a question.)

Their one-on-one sessions are also very good as the tutors gain complete insight to where you've been struggling and help you out with it.
My final scores, 710 - AWA 6/6, IR 7/8


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-GMAT sentence correction module
March 21 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By noworyz joined: March 21, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
Hi everyone,

Just would like to add my reviews about the e-GMAT verbal course.

I am non-native English speaker and thus had problems with the verbal section of GMAT. I bought the e-GMAT Sentence correction module and I have to say it made studying a lot easier and more organized.
The module is very well structured and has quite a lot of practice questions before and after the sections. The best part is their standardized approach towards solving GMAT problems. Through all the work books they have used that approach and automatically it becomes a part of your problem-solving approach in Sentence Correction.
My GMAT is still impending but I feel confident about sentence correction while studying through the e-GMAT coursework.
Definitely worth a try!!
All the best...
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
GMAT Self Study
March 20 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 19, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   MGMAT Guided Self Study | Location:   Online  |
The MGMAT foundational books and strategy guides are excellent resources for anyone who would like to go at their own pace and prefers to teach themselves the GMAT material.

Personally, I needed foundations books for both Math and English in order to be in a position to start the study guides. The OG Archer and MGMAT CATs are also excellent to review your strengths and weaknesses. One area I feel MGMAT could significantly improve is their website functionality. The ability to view right/wrong answers with explanations, in aggregate should be a basic function of the website. I've used other study programs for financial designations, that were well ahead of MGMAT's site. That said, their answer video explanations on the OG Archer are priceless and for the price, it's a steal.

I would recommend the self study, OG Archer, and CATs to any friend.

Good luck!

Jon
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
On-Demand Course Review
March 19 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By phileyoung2 joined: March 19, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online  |
This course gives you just about everything you would get from a live course. You get all the recorded videos and skillbuilder exercises to watch whenever you want. It fits in much better to my hectic schedule versus having to be available for a scheduled class time.

The course in general is extremely thorough and really focuses on teaching you how to think like the GMAT test makers. It really opened my eyes to the strategy that is required to do well on this test instead of just studying and memorizing content.

I would recommend any version of this course through Veritas Prep to those looking for a GMAT Prep course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings