Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [1322]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Great Work E-gmat team
January 12 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By WoundedTiger joined: April 25, 2012 | 734 | 400 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  70 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Payal Tandon
I came across E-gmat on Gmatclub forum in 2012 and joined the course considering my score in mid 20's.
I was not a believer in technology and preferred Face to Face interaction but E-gmat and other online platforms have changed that.
The SC course starts with very basic things in Grammar and then builds on that. Ultimately it leads you to the thing that matters most in success in SC and that is meaning over grammar. The course is ideally suited for anyone starting with SC or has found other courses bit too theoretical.

I did not use RC course to that extent as for me it was too make too many changes to the way I have studied. This course can be made bit more crispier

CR was again a refreshing change considering in those time or before that a lot more focus was on theory. The course is a good starting point again for any one new to CR.

I have been able to increase my score in mocks to mid-30's from MGMAT,Veritaspreps and GMAC tests. However, overall I have improved 4 points on verbal in actual exam but I think there are other factors at work and course is not at fault.

Some of the posts from e-gmat on GMATCLUB and appreciation those posts have received are strong testimony to great offering and value for money..

I have asked for at least 2 extensions on the course access and I have been give the same as per my request.

Some key things:
Stick to timeline of the course. No matter how busy you need to give the exam in max 6 months time depending upon where you start
Attend webinar and free sessions before you decide to join the course.
Any course is as good as you want it to be.If you demand you will get, If you work hard and be disciplined then you will get all the support you need from the team.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
excellent for verbal..
January 12 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By arunshankar111 joined: August 8, 2014 | 35 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
hello everyone,
finally i too joined the satisfactory members club of e-gmat.its course has been excellent.it covers top to bottom of sentence correction and provide an systematic approach for tackling any type of tough sentence correction questions.i swear guys you won't get disappointed once you joined this course.its has every thing bunched in a place under an reasonable price.when i started my preparation my accuracy level was below 50% but within a week my accuracy level raises tremendously.its quizzes at end of every chapter provides you an excellent ways to start using knacks you learned.its official questions explanations are simply super and its videos provided has an excellent voice clarity.i joined e-gmat just by seeing reviews in gmat club but know i am writing my reviews that says how excellent this course is.during my initial preparation with e-gmat I started my preparation in an mindset of getting an 25 in verbal now i know i deserve an better score its all because of this e-gmat. thank you e-gmat!!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great course!
January 12 | 2015

4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By caitlinwebster1 joined: January 12, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ethan Todras-Whitehill
I had initially taken the GMAT without taking a course and didn't get the score I needed for my program. Although I've yet to have re-written, I already feel like I've improved. Ethan was a great instructor - he had loads of enthusiasm and was very encouraging (something quite important for 3 hour classes on weekend mornings). I think my instructors thorough knowledge as well as the helpful study guides really helped my chances of improving my score on the GMAT. I benefited primarily from the Quant section. The Data Sufficiency class is great and will really make you re-think the way to approach the questions. Overall, I think the most helpful part of the class was learning how the GMAT tries to trick you and how to overcome those barriers. I highly recommend Ethan's course!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A simple course that sets you up for success.
January 12 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By wcaboose joined: January 12, 2015 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  David Newland
I tried studying for the GMAT myself. I did horribly. In the first class alone, I saw HUGE things that I could do differently the next time I took the test. The teacher was simple and easy to understand, and the Veritas material is built so perfectly. I was able to rebuild math and grammar skills that I hadn't used in ages, and then assimilate what I'd learned into my preparations. The Veritas method is key - you learn to see the strategy behind the questions, instead of just the problem in front of you. Hands down, take this class.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Optimus Prep's Quant Booster
January 12 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By tiffi2015 joined: January 12, 2015 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Quant Booster | Location:   Online  |
After having worked for nearly 6 years I was toying with the idea to earn an executive MBA degree from a great business school. I had joined a BPO soon after completing my graduation and reached a decent position in mid-level management role however at the same time I had started feeling stagnated and wanted to take up a challenge to transform me professionally and personally. Without wasting time I started to prepare for GMAT, I made a self-study schedule focused on improving my math and verbal skills along with reading a lot of books to help me improve my reading speed along with taking a series of practice tests. I was consistently able to score above 40 in simulation tests, a score which was relatively higher than that of quant section where I scored below 35. I started devoting additional time in preparing for the quant section but did not see any remarkable improvement and that is when I decided to take the On Demand GMAT Quant booster from Optimus. It was a true value for money and included 5,000 questions and detailed explanations covering all quantitative question types, Video lessons explaining all quantitative concepts, gave me unlimited opportunities to create and do as many customised adaptive GMAT quizzes as I wanted and this subsequently helped me practice hard ultimately helping me improve my scores to 45+. I could access the course features at any point of time on my smart phone or tablet and hence could manage my time most efficiently. I scored 720 on GMAT and it wouldn’t have been possible without the Optimus Quant booster.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
e-gmat SC course - AWESOME (got 5 points increase in Verbal. Still more to come)
January 12 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By gauravpandey joined: December 30, 2010 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  30 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  |
I started my preparation for GMAT almost 6 months back. As I have a maths background, I rarely faced any difficulty
with Quant part, however I was struggling with the Verbal part. I toiled really hard and found that on mocks I started
getting verbal scores in early 30s. This was no where acceptable for the score I was craving for. I realized that to
improve my overall score I need to improve on sentence correction. I went through different forums and saw awesome reviews on e-gmat verbal course. I am always little skeptical about online reviews, so I started going through the free material available on the web by e-gmat. I would say I was really impressed by the way payal dissects the SC. I quickly enrolled for the course. Before hand I tried different material available by different companies for GMAT, Including Manhattan SC GMAT, which I found is more theoretical. The e-gmat course is quite practical,which is based on building concepts with proper hands on. This way you are not learning the concepts by merely cramming it but these concepts are getting embedded in your mind. I am half way in the course and found a significant 5 points increase in my verbal score. I am quite sure till the time I will complete the course I will be in 40+ score (my desired score) in Verbal. Based on my experience, I highly recommend this course.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Strategic thinking
January 11 | 2015

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 29, 2014 | 13 | 1 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I undertook the full Veritas online course last from August to Sept last year. It was my first try at GMAT so I had very little knowledge about the test content. I found its course books very clear, especially the Quant materials. The verbal books gave a good overview of verbal test strategies, invaluable for test takers.

My online course experience was much better than expected. Before I committed to/paid the course I called the company to check what the online learning experience would be like - I was told that the course would be very collaborative. When I joined my first class the following week, it became clear that I was indeed in for a very collaborative/practical experience.

Ravi Sreerama was my online lecturer - he was extremely knowledgeable about all GMAT content. I was impressed by the way he ensured each student was following the content ok. For example, I was struggling with a few subjects thus couldn't answer some of the practice questions during class - Ravi noticing this messaged me to see how he could help. I am also extremely (x2) impressed by Chris Speck, Ravi's TA. I had a lot of questions in and out of class and Chris always managed to respond quickly with clear explanations (thanks very much and appreciate your patience Chris).

Please note: I took my 1st GMAT in Dec 2014 and I am actually going to retake it again because I'm not happy with my score. This has nothing to do with Veritas however - I've been out of school for over a decade and need to spend more time to practice more questions. Another thing I learned is that it's often not about one course being better than another course - as a student each of us need find a course (more courses) that best suite our own learning style. For example, I started with Veritas I found is fantastic in teaching strategic thinking - you need this if you are aiming for 700+. However, I knew I needed more foundational and practical guidance thus I also enrolled with GMAT Pill which I feel is very strong at showing me practical skills. It all comes down to practice. It is true when Ravi and Chris both said pacing is the most important thing with GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
E-gmat helped me improve verbal from 35 to 40
January 11 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 17, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  40 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Rajat Sadana
I am a non-native speaker. Before taking egmat course, i tried manhattan gmat. The SC session for MGMAT is highly rated, but somehow it didnt help me much. My SC was not improved aftering using the MGMAT SC. I read from gmat-club that egmat is really good for non-native speakers, so i started using egmat. At first, i only chose the verbal online courses. Later i found my verbal, especially SC and RC, greatly improved aftering takkng the course, so i added the verbal live prep package. E-gmat is really great for non-native speakers. My verbal improved from 35 to 40. Thanks to e-gmat!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
e-gmat : One stop for Verbal
January 11 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By solitaryreaper joined: September 23, 2013 | 59 | 18 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Shraddha Jaiswal
When I entered into the GMAT battlefield, I chose a local prep institute without doing any research. I am mentioning this because if you don't do proper research about the prep materials (before you begin studying for GMAT),you'll most certainly end up loosing precious time. I paid a good amount of money to a local prep institute only to realize that they know nothing about GMAT verbal section (lack of structured material, lack of professionalism..they teach you CR in 3 days- sounds funny right !).No wonder I had to abandon my GMAT preparation in the mid-way because verbal (especially SC) became a black-box to me.
After 8-9 months, I gathered the courage to start again. This time I did a lot of online research(forums like GMATclub etc.) because I knew that there is something different to GMAT verbal which we (non-natives) usually don't study in school. After a lot of recommendations , I chose e-gmat liveprep course. And believe me this was the best investment I did towards my ultimate goal - getting a great score in GMAT. I believe as non natives we need a comprehensive /one stop platform that can teach us the intricacies of verbal and that can also prepare us to perform consistently at the top level. The course is very comprehensive and teaches you everything as far GMAT verbal is concerned. I absolutely love the video lectures that are highly interactive.Once you start using e-gmat course , you'll never want to look to any other prep material/book.
- The SC section is class apart. Better than any prep material out there. Period ! SC used to be my weakest section in Verbal. Now it has become a strength. E-gmat has changed my perspective - I can confidently say that SC is the easiest section (in verbal) to ace.
- I think no prep material can teach you how to read. But again e-gmat follows a very structured approach for RC. And the lessons, mock quizzes and the workshops(part of e-gmat liveprep course) helped me tremendously in improving my accuracy and speed.
- CR section is equally good. The pre-thinking approach taught by e-gmat helps in improving speed as well as accuracy. I was able to solve CR problems from OG with an average accuracy of 80% after I finished the CR course.

But apart from the video lessons, what makes e-gmat quite unique is the quality of its live sessions(comes as a part of live-prep course). The concepts that you learn from video files are cemented in the live sessions. Moreover , the sessions are highly interactive. There are quality discussions in the sessions and you can learn a great deal from the experts (and fellow students). I can certainly vouch for the quality of live sessions.
The verbal workshops(again part of liveprep course) keep you on your toes. These are tough tests(sectional as well as complete tests) that are extremely helpful in gauging one's progress.
Internal Forums ( to clarify doubts)are very responsive.

With liveprep course one gets free access to GMATclub and 800score CATs. I am using these tests and believe me it's a great deal.

I can give 100 reasons to buy e-gmat course to nail the verbal section,but it's easy to decide after subscribing to its free trial(which I also did).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Good but not enough
January 11 | 2015

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 8, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  20 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online  |
I enjoyed the Economist GMAT Tutor Course, especially the online interaction of the program. The adaptability of the program is excellent, and it makes you work harder in tougher sections. Also, it completes all the topics for the GMAT and has plenty of practice questions for each section. However, at the end, when the program enters “Maintance Mode” I found myself redoing questions. Between verbal and quant, I think the Quant section is better, and more complete. While the Verbal section is good, it is easy to find a pattern in the Sentence Correction questions, and the difficulty level is low compared to the real GMAT. Also, for the Reading Comprehension Section you have the same passages over and over again with different questions, which makes it easier to try to guess the answer instead of rereading the passage. Overall, I thought the course was good with a huge questions bank, however it still needs some work to do and a lot to improve. Before taking the GMAT for the second time I thought I was going to improve at least 50 points, but I only improved 20.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings