Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [748]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
I would not select Kaplan again
December 22 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By tigersnark joined: December 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Kaplan GMAT Advantage Online Course | Location:   Online  |
Though the book was thorough enough, the online aspects of the course seemed particularly lacking. For no apparent reason, some of the online components would not load on my home computer. I contacted Kaplan's customer service about the problem and received no response. Despite this setback, I still managed to do well on my GMAT but Kaplan had little to do with it.

The book does provide very detailed explanations of all of the question types but the number of practice problems provided, both in the book and online, were not sufficient. I sought out free practice problems from other online services and found these products to be more useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A good guide with excellent support !
December 22 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By mahajanankit86 joined: December 12, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Magoosh Premium | Location:   Online  |
I have using magoosh for a month now and it is one of the best resources to learn I have come across.
The magoosh team is helpful with useful timely tips. They also reply back in time the next day and are very interactive.

The best part is the solution videos. So every time you commit a mistake you can check the video instantly knowing your mistake. The mobile version is good to revise concepts on the go. The score predictor is an excellent tool to gauge your performance and aim to improve it with every question you solve.

GMAT is still 3 months away for me. Hoping to work it out with Magoosh and achieve my desired score.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great GMAT prep course, though a bit pricey but worth every cent
December 22 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ravi Sreerama
I highly recommend this course.

I recently took the online course with Ravi Sreerama as the instructor he was always able to breakdown a seemingly difficult problem and make it look really easy. The schedules are also very flexible.
The materials are thorough, I just wished I would've taken the course before the first GMAT but I am taking the test in a few week and with all I have learned I am confident I will be impressed my own score. I now understand how to approach each aspect of the test and how to conquer it. I will update with my result after my exam.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Economist Gmat Tutor
December 21 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: November 29, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  150 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online  |
Hi there,
I would like to share my experience with GMAT Tutor, and I hope you’ll find this feedback helpful.

I found this program great and very helpful in my preparation. The program is user-friendly and flexible. You can schedule lessons whenever you want and work at your own pace. For example, I worked about 30 m during my lunch breaks at work and about 2 hours at home every evening, plus 7 hours on Week End. So it was the best fit for me given my pretty high working pace.

I found GMAT Tutor private sessions via Skype awesome. Sessions on strategy helped me lot, tutors give you a lot of tips on how to manage your time (it was a big issue for me) and on how to guess strategically (really great tips on math section). Tutors are very supportive and they give you a lot of confidence. For those who struggle with AWA: you can submit essays to a grading team.

The Quant section is set to help you to review all math fundamentals. This course covers in a great detail a lot of common types of math problems. To remember the most difficult problems, I created an error log and was reviewing it regularly. Verbal section was particularly great. I even found this section a bit harder that in real GMAT test. I learned common traps in SC and CR. The method for tackling the reading section was very helpful !!

I wish you good luck!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Superb starter for GMAT prep online
December 19 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By goverdhan joined: December 21, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I’m writing this review to thank the e-gmat team for their great effort. I chose e-GMAT at an early stage of preparation and I am glad I did so. When I have planned to prepare for gmat, I was just in dilemma which online course to choose but when I have gone through the free course videos I decide to go for e-gmat online courses for SC,CR,IR and RC.

What I like about the course is that it keeps things simple and there is no need to memorize rules. It was worth every penny.

I could feel the difference in my preparation, could feel the clarity coming in my mind. The 3-step process for SC is a sure shot way to get questions correct. The most important point which i would like to mention is that you guys made the difficult terms look so easy to understand (such as verb-ed modifiers, verb-ing modifiers, noun+noun modifiers etc). Once I got used to the format, it was very interesting to learn the essential concepts in SC, RC and CR sections of their course.

CR tutorials train to analyze the argument meticulously and consider various possible assumptions, thereby minimizing the chances of errors.

I never really understood why I was selecting a right answer. But after going through e-gmat sessions, I started to understand why right answer is right and wrong is wrong. The other attractive thing about e-gmat process is that it does not follow any shortcuts to arrive at right answers. The course rather follows an excellent systematic process. Answering questions using this process is truly enjoyable.

To sum up I owe a lot to e-GMAT and really happy to be part of the e-gmat community.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A humbling experience - Follow their approach!
December 19 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 18, 2013 | 1 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I should start off this review by mentioning that my GMAT experience (test day) was not the best. This is something I will save for my debrief, but in a few words, my verbal score was much lower than in my practice exams.

When I started studying for the GMAT I was scoring in the 27-28 range for verbal. While I have lived in the US for a few years, I am a nonnative English speaker, so I knew I needed a program that would help me improve my verbal score. That is what made me choose e-Gmat. I got the Verbal Live Prep package since they were offering a special discount that made it more attractive moneywise.

The program explains very well all the verbal components of the test and provides you with tons of practice problems in which to apply what you have learned. I particularly liked the sentence correction section. In fact, SC went from being my worst section to being my greatest strength, and I attribute this improvement to eGmat.

The videos also make the course a lot more interactive and engaging. I had MGMAT SC book, which is great, but a bit too technical for me and a bit tough to read if you’re not in the right mood to study. I also enjoyed and learned a lot from watching the live webinars.

Regarding the cons, there are two things that I would like to mention. First, it seems like there are differences between American and Indian English, and this is something that constantly distracted me while watching or working on various problems. The most notable difference is the fact that, many times, it seems like sentences lack words such as “a”, “an”, and “the.” While this might be just a minor thing to some people, it really bothered me at one point.

The second thing is that, at least during my preparation, many of the videos needed to be updated to correct general errors. Some of these errors are pointed out in the eGmat forums. An example is the formatting of some of the SC problems. Some of these problems only have certain parts of the sentence underlined, but still, some of the answers will change the entire sentence, regardless of whether the part that they are changing was underlined or not. Likewise, you will also find the opposite cases: a whole the sentence might be underlined, but the answer choices will consist of only a few words. In that sense, I believe that this does not make the e-Gmat experience very GMAT-like.

Nevertheless, I very much liked the course and I recommend it everybody, but particularly to non-English speakers. In about a month my verbal score was improving and eventually I started scoring consistently in the 34-35 range. Unfortunately, I got really nervous on the night before the test and couldn’t sleep well. On top of that, I was also very nervous during the test, and I believe all these factors contributed to me getting a low verbal score (31).

There’s also a very important point that I’d like to make. There was a point were I believed I didn’t need to follow the eGmat approach. I did not want to spend time learning and applying this approach because, in my mind, it was just a waste of time and I thought that, somehow, it would all make sense during the exam and the questions would be easier. BIG MISTAKE. I believe this arrogance is what got me stuck in the 34-35 range. Taking the GMAT was actually a very humbling experience, and I will renew my subscription to eGmat soon so that I can take the GMAT again. This time, however, I will follow their approach. I highly recommend that you also do this, otherwise, you will waste a lot of your time (like me), and not get very good results.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Working at my GMAT
December 19 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Modulus joined: September 22, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online  |
I was pretty pleased with the Economist's GMAT tutor for a number of reasons:

1) It made me commit to the GMAT. When using the textbooks, it was pretty slow going and difficult to be motivated. This course motivated me more.
2) I was able to get A LOT of math prep. My verbal was already pretty decent, but my math got better.
3) Lots of tests. Get's you in the zone to take a test.
4) Very good response rates. The staff are helpful.

I think that the course is not perfected yet. When I got to the last 85% of the course, I did not feel as though I was getting a lot of help, since I had already answered a lot of the questions. Overall, a good course for the motivation it provided and the support of the staff.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Veritas Exposes You To Everything You Need To Know To Succeed On The GMAT
December 19 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By gowings0 joined: September 11, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online  |
I took the Veritas On-Demand course in the three weeks between my summer internship and the start of my senior year of college. I wanted to get as much studying in as possible prior to the start of school because I knew I wouldn't have much time once classes started, and Veritas allowed me to cruise as fast as I needed to but still cover all the important concepts and tricks for the exam.

I loved the fact that I could follow along on with the lesson in the book, practice problems and have them explained to me in the lesson, and then test myself with the huge number of homework problems at the end of each chapter. I also enjoyed the fact that there were comprehensive solutions to each problem that I could easily check out in the event I didn't get a problem correct.

I also very much enjoyed the "office hours" that were held each night. These let me interact with a real human (via chat) and walk through any issues I was having just as I would in a brick-and-mortar classroom. Additionally, it allowed me to interact with other students and get a sense of what was giving them problems as to better prepare myself for the exam.

I took a practice exam (the official GMAT practice) before I began the course and scored a 620. Over the course of my 3 weeks of studying I took 4 practice exams (from Veritas) and scored in the mid-700's. On test day, I ended up with a 700 overall, 38 verbal, 48 quant, 6 AWA, and 8 IR.

My one criticism is that I think the homeworks could have been a bit more difficult. It was good to hone my quick thinking skills on easy quant problems, but I was a bit flustered on test day when I got to the upper range of the quant questions and wished I had some exposure to questions like that in my prep.

I would absolutely recommend this product to anyone looking to prepare for the GMAT. The instruction is very clear and deliberate and you are exposed to every concept that appears on the GMAT. The strategies are sound and the information provided is extremely helpful for the real test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Great for Kinesthetic Learners
December 19 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By mistymgiles joined: December 4, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I was devastated by my original score (640, Oct 2013). I know that this is a fine score for some programs, but I'm applying to PhD programs in a highly competitive field. I had used books to prepare, and I thought I had a good grasp, but books let you skip questions you don't like and gloss over things you don't understand!

Pros of Economist Tutor:
*Forces you to to the problems. You can't just BS your way through much of it. Yeah, you can do some BSing, just not a lot.
*Explains everything step-by-step. Unfortunately, you do have to get through to the right answer before you get a good explanation, but you can see why that was the wrong answer pretty easily.
*Progressively more difficult. While the topics get slightly harder as you go, the tutor links in previous lessons. It's hard to forget as you go.
*Good practice tests. These were hands-down the most accurate practice tests for me. Each time I took the GMAT, the Economist practice tests were within 10 points of my actual score. The GMAC practice tests were 70 points higher than my real score, and that is incredibly frustrating.

I did not get through the whole course. I didn't do any of the AWA or IR parts, and I didn't use ask-a-tutor. For the parts I got through, though, I was impressed. I'm a kinesthetic/aural learner, but I did pretty well with the bulk of the material being visual.

Economist tutor comes with a free trial. Try the free trial - which covers basics but gives a great impression of whether the style will match your own - and see how it works out. There are 15% off coupons offered all over, too, which helps with the cost. Your results will vary, but reviewing the basics and learning about patterns that you never noticed before should give you a pretty decent boost, especially for the timing issues in the quant section.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Worth every cent
December 18 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By maryc11290 joined: December 18, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  140 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   MGMAT Guided Self Study Plus | Location:   Online  |
Manhattan GMAT offers a fantastic array of resources, programming, instructors, and encouragement. After eight practice tests fluctuating in range from 600-690 (hoping for a 700 at least), I walked into the testing center with the confidence that I knew what to do because I was prepared. I scored a 740 (Q49/V42) with perfect scores in AWA and IR and I could not be more thrilled ... it's still sinking in, to be perfectly honest.

Not only did Manhattan GMAT provide the instruction and resources for me to succeed, but I genuinely felt that by test day, I had a strong strategy on how to take the test. I learned the way to be strategic about skipping questions and understand how the test writers wrote questions that seem horrendous at face value but can easily be solved within two minutes with the right skills.

Additionally, even though I prepared with a self-guided study, any time I interacted with the instructors, I knew that they truly cared about my success on the GMAT.

I couldn't have done it without the team at Manhattan GMAT. I will recommend Manhattan GMAT to anyone preparing for business school.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings