Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [937]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Worth for every GMAT aspirant wishing to excel in Verbal
June 15 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: February 12, 2013 | 6 | 2 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  20 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Hi

I enrolled in e-gmat course of Verbal Live Prep on one of my friend's advice and trust me that's one of the best things that happened to me.
Like regular Indian students, I have good Quant background and even on my first attempt of Gmat Prep mock exam , i got a quant of 49. Now the only thing that was haunting me was Verbal. Its been long that I read the Sentence Correction and grammatical rules and picking any book from market was also not a good idea since GMAT has laid some special rules in some scenarios which only major Course companies like E-Gmat can tell. The course is very beautifully divided into small sections and every section is a video recording . So it gives a complete feeling of studying and taking lessons in class room.
The approach they take for every question is consistent and makes you believe that the approach can be used to solve any question. The support system for answering the questions is pretty quick too. The live sessions are one of their most interesting thing.
Currently i have gone through SC and CR sections and I am very much satisfied with course and the investment is worth it. I would definitely recommend it to anyone aiming a good Verbal score above or around 40.

Regards
Gurinder
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
focused course
June 14 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By msp416 joined: May 21, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I would recommend E-gmat to students who speak English as their second language. The course material seems to be designed from the ground up to cover all the basics that would be required to achieve a good score in GMAT.
The provided course material is very rich in content and easy to understand. The instructors are pretty knowledgeable and help you with your queries. The online assignments available on e-GMAT are a great tool to monitor your own progress. The good thing about the course is that it also allows you to use a grockit for practice. I have personally seen a lot of improvement in my sentence correction abilities by using the e-GMAT method and techniques. Before taking this course I would directly jump on to the answers after reviewing the question for a while but now I am spending much more time analyzing the question for its meaning first by breaking it down into appropriate components.
I haven’t taken the GMAT yet as I have a few sections that I need to go over, but I am sure e-GMAThas made a tremendous difference in my preparation for the GMAT.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
On Demand Videos - GREAT GREAT GREAT!
June 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  130 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Optimus Prep On Demand Course | Location:   Online  |
I am an IT professional with a series of mind boggling tasks/ requests on my plate. I completed my Bachelors in Software Engineering about 8 years ago and since then I have been juggling with multiple projects in and out of my country. I always knew that completing my software engineering was not my ultimate academic goal and my objective was to aim at excellence. Although I did my PMP certification and quite a few six sigma certification courses in the interim, yet, the urge of doing something big and more meaningful left me craving for something more.

That something more to give me an edge in this era of cut throat competition, that something which was meant for classes and not for masses was to do a GMAT and enter one of the top ten business schools.

Taking this decision followed with a few rounds of self-assessment where I took a few simulation tests to see my current scale of performance on various sections of the GMAT tests.

As I expected, I discovered that while I was scored very well on quant, my performance on verbal section was quite miserable and that deterred me for a moment. Stronger was my urge to fix my career once and for all and I knew that this journey is going to be the toughest and will force me to quit many times, the temptation of which I had to resist. I was not ready to give up or let any hurdle get better of my will to crack the GMAT.

So I started to search for some organization to coach me on enhancing and elevating my verbal scores in turn. I discussed with friends and visited a few private coaching institutes, trading off my office work and time, which of course wasn’t a permanent fix. During my search on various forums on the net, I came across a list of ‘on demand courses’ and they looked quite economic in front of the other options that needed me to splurge out both time and money.

I signed up for Optimus Prep on demand courses especially for the verbal section and it just revolutionized my entire prep journey. Trust me, this was the one stop shop that I looked for, true value for money and time or, even better! The $299 price tag was very well justified by the value I received from the course.

The course content was in such a simple and comprehensive language that it straight away took off all my apprehensions and inhibitions, As measuring is step one to improvement, I was able to see my learning graph skew positively by giving multiple practice tests and getting customized feedback where ever I faltered.

The instructor’s immediate responsiveness, teaching by giving relevant examples, teaching a lot of best practices soon transformed my most feared subjects to the one that I had started enjoying.

I scored 750 in my GMAT and the 20% that contributed 80% to my success was my performance in the verbal section.
My best wishes to this wonderful organization that has the right ingredients to partner with thousands of us willing to write their success stories.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Best Online GMAT Prep course
June 11 | 2014

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: May 13, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Aaron Lin
Really happy with the course so far. Although have not been able to write GMAT yet due to work commitments, but pretty confident that I will score above 700. The best part about this course is that it is adaptive, you can learn each concept at your own pace and it won't move ahead unless you are perfect at it. It keeps giving you surprise questions on the topics that you may have mastered already. Lots of practice questions and mock tests available on the course. Won't have to study anything else. If need be, you can browse through OG 13. Goodluck!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Economist GMAT Tutor Review
June 11 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: June 11, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Aaron Lin
This course is in my opinion the best "on the go" GMAT reference and it has a very user friendly approach and understandable text. Sample questions appear to have the requisite level of difficulty and the explanations are generally clear.

Not everyything is perfect. For the quantitative section, the program appears to rely too much on plugging in / POE techniques, at the expense of explaining algebraic / equation based approaches. However, the explanations remain sound for those of us that would refer to use a more traditional mathematical approach.

Also, the verbal section seems tedious in some areas and it can be difficult to do one or two reading comprehension questions in isolation.

The Ipad program seems to work well, but the effectiveness of the program without an internet connection is a bit unpredictable. It seems like the program can store some data for offline use, but sometimes this fails. Some increased transparency on this would be helpful. Also, everyone once in a while the text of a question can be "glitchy" (word missing!); this is very annoying and I have had this happen three times. This distracts a lot from the experience. The program also purports to work on iphone but it seems like the text would be WAY too small to make this practical. Also, there is no way to increase the text size in the Ipad program, which can be tedious for a longer study session.

I would not recommend this as a standalone program but this program is fantastic for a fresh look at the key skills and techniques required for a respectable score.

For my prep, I have been using some Manhattan GMAT books and took a live Kaplan course, but the Economist GMAT really has helped a lot in bringing everything together.

Another thing I really like is that the program is recursive -- it loops back to past concepts periodically to confirm you still remember. That is great for those of us that work fulltime and therefore need to split the studying up into chunks.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great Boost for Verbal
June 09 | 2014

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: December 3, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  170 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
e-GMAT is an excellent source for Verbal. All the concepts tested on the GMAT exam are covered. The SC and CR are the best with explanations to simple as well as complex concept. This couse if done throughly will ensure that you atelast get 38 on Verbal. I really hope that the e-GMAT team also start with the QUANT section so that the students or the candidates do score well and the overall score shoots up to atleast 700. I will rcommend this course to everyone not just Non Native speakers since we cannot go wrong in the final exam. So All the Best everyone.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Best Verbal Resource for Non-native speakers
June 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By oasis217 joined: November 30, 2012 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
I am a non-native speaker of English. I started my preparation from Manhattan Guides. While the Quant Guides were extremely helpful, the Sentence Correction and Critical Reasoning were not taking me very far. My fears were confirmed when I got a miserly 26 in my Verbal Score.

After desperately wading through different resources Aristotle Prep, CR Bible, someone recommended me the e-Gmat course. Since I am a working professional with a very hectic schedule, the option was very attractive, but I was little skeptical having always been used to Classroom and book culture. E-Gmat Course was a refreshing surprise.

The thing that differentiates e-Gmat from other courses are

1) Starts you from the very basic level, which are the most Important, and ensures proper grounding through Application Files (very useful, real GMAT questions problem solving) and a great online Study Plan.

2) Takes you to the next level only after you have mastered the earlier levels through Level Qualifying Exercises

3) Very attractive audio-visual lectures with pre and post assessment quizzes

4) Online Verbal Sessions, especially the Verbal Workshop.

While I started from 26, I am currently getting a constant 34-35 in my CATs, I thank the E-Gmat Team for making such a valuable tool. I specially recommend this to working Professionals who have little time in their hectic schedule to fast forward their Preparation.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Start early
June 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By MWE joined: June 9, 2014 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep Full Course Live Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Ethan Todras-Whitehi
Start going through the Skillbuilders earlier than the classes start. The classes go so fast and I was struggling to finish the Skillbuilders and homework assigned before the next classes started. Because of the speed I wasn't retaining a lot and was just trying to get through the assignments; I ended up having to push out my test and go through the entire course again on my own so I felt like my time in class was wasted. But I love the online classes, I can pause to write notes, go back and review something the teacher said - all things you cant do when the class is live. You also need a good instructor; Ethan was great at keeping high energy in the class which you need as these courses are 3 hours long!!
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
A Great course to boost verbal score in a limited tie
June 09 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By purnima joined: November 20, 2009 | 21 | 3 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Online | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
Anyone aiming at a good score in GMAT verbal must go through the e-gmat course especially the sentence correction module.

I started preparing with the usual SC books and was able to reach a score of V 30 in mocks , I came across e-gmat course and enrolled and after going through the course material I really saw a great improvement in my verbal score. I took GMAT in may and scored 680 with a V 35 .

Plus points of the course:

1.Easy to assimilate video modules.
2.Course divided into smaller sections.
3.Extensive coverage of almost all topics covered in sc.
4.Prompt response my experts to any queries.
5. RC techniques taught are very useful too.

I would recommend e-gmat course to all students looking for score enhancement in verbal section.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Best way to prep up
June 08 | 2014

  [ What's this? ]
       By abdala joined: June 8, 2014 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Premium Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Aaron Lin
I decided to purchase this GMAT prep after a friend of mine used it to get into LSE. All I can say about it is that its the best decision I could've ever taken. Its adaptative technology allows me to plan accordingly to my schedule and work at my own pace picking up where I left off the day before. The only other thing I could say about this course is the fact that you NEED to take notes if you want to review material later ona as the summaries are quite short and general. Apart from that the couse feels very complete.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings