Online GMAT Course Reviews
    Number of reviews [738]      Average Rating:      
    Also: Online Course Reviews
Simply the best and here's why...
December 17 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By zeone31 joined: December 17, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I am going to provide you guys with a detailed review here so I hope it helps. Let me start by saying that I have tried several prep companies which include Knewton, PR, Gmat Pill and Economist GMAT. No one prep company is the best in every regard but overall nothing comes close to the Economist.

So, here's my advice. In order to really maximize your potential you will need the following:

1) Economist GMAT premium subscription- $470 w/ discount
2) Official Guide - $35
3) MGMAT Official Guide companion - $20
4) Knewton subsciption $349 w/ discount

Here's the approach you should take:

1) Complete the Economist GMAT course. Make sure you take the tutoring sessions on skype too. They were very helpful for me.
2) After completion, watch Knewton video lectures. They're excellent. Economist has no videos.
3) Complete the official guide. You can probably ignore the first 80 questions in quant and ds as they're too easy. Ignore the first 50 RC, CR and SC questions too. Of course, if you are really weak then do them all. Make sure you see the excellent answer explanations from MGMAT's OG companion. It'll help you a lot. The OG explanations are awful.
4) Take practice test. Switch it up. Do two knewton and two from the economist

This approach should be enough to get you a good score.

Pros of economist:
1) Adaptive - it'll hone in on your weakness and keep drilling you until you get it right.
2) Learning is excellent. The best way is to learn is by doing rather than watching videos. Videos help more to review concepts.
3) Skype sessions were very good.
4) Knowledgeable staff and great customer service
5) Questions are very well written and accurate
6) Excellent quant, sc and CR.

Weaknesses
1) Reading comprehension is awful. You do one question at a time and see the same passages again and again.
2) No real way to get detailed feedback on your strengths and weakness. It basically says that 50% of topics are your weaknesses and 50% strengths. They need a better statistical too, one that looks at areas you are most weak on that are over-weighted on the exam. For example, I don't care if I'm weak on solid geometry as maybe they'll be one question on it but if I'm weak on number properties of odds or even, I'm almost doomed for the exam.
3) No video lectures. They are not as important but it's nice to have them to review concepts.
4) Integrated reasoning is a joke. They really don't cover it in any real detail.

Overall, you'll do yourself a great service by getting the Economist GMAT. Nothing has helped my study more.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Great classes and very helpful instructors
December 15 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: July 8, 2013 | 0 | 5 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   MGMAT Live Online | Location:   Online  |
The strategy guides were great and the instructors were very helpful. The online classes provided the structure I needed to keep myself on schedule. Seb and Chris made the classes fun as well as a great learning experience!

I believe the study plan played a major role in my score.

The archives of Thursdays with Ron was a great resource. Ron get you to approach the problems with the right attitude.

I also took the advanced workshops. The workshops were very useful as they pushed me beyond my comfort level.

Overall, it is the best investment you can make if you are aiming to score above 700. I got a 750 (V 41, Q 50).
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
On Demand Success
December 15 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By jameswoodsiii joined: December 15, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  80 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online  |
The On-Demand was the best of all worlds way to study. The online lectures were thorough and clear, but allow you to learn at your own pace. You can replay sections that you need to hear a second time and can breeze through sections you feel comfortable. You are also able to watch them anytime, and having the cell app makes this truly convenient. I watched the videos while commuting to work on the metro, which really allowed me to maximize the time I could study while working within my already-busy schedule.

The practice questions are just like the questions on the actual test, so I felt prepared both in terms of content, strategy, and familaization with the exam. There are explanations with every practice question, which I found most valuable. The key isn't just getting the right answer, but understand why the correct answer is right and understanding the flaws or traps in the wrong answers.

I highly recommend the On Demand course to anyone, and especially someone with a busy schedule.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Solid All Across
December 12 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By andrewmerrow12 joined: July 20, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  90 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   GMAT Pill - 6 Pill Combo Course | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Zeke Lee
GMAT pill is a relatively solid product all across the board. Some companies have prep packages composed with a strong verbal section alongside a weak quant section, and vice versa. Rather than paying for two seperate products, I settled for one that was solid in both.

GMAT Pill offers over 100+ questions for every section of the exam, in addition to video and comment explanations. As the saying goes, practice makes perfect, and you'll definitely be able to have a lot of practice here. They also provide the same quality for the IR section, which is quite impressive due to its relative newness. All in all, this was a good buy.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Good Prep Program! Helped A Lot.
December 12 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By js62044 joined: December 12, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I kind of got a late start to my GMAT prep and wouldn't have done nearly as well if I hadn't signed up for this program. I started with the 7 day trial period and after I signed up for the Complete pricing level.

Since I was in such a rush and only had a little over a month before the exam, I only got through about a third of the program and probably would have done much better if I had completed the whole thing. I ended up getting a 650 overall on the GMAT but I have a very weak math background so my quant score pulled down my overall score. My verbal was 90th percentile. I improved over 100 points from my first practice tests in the program.

I found the practice tests in the program very helpful and the tutor sessions were great for addressing specific problem types that were giving me trouble.

The only thing I think that could be improved is the response time and length of responses to the ask a tutor questions. Some of them took a couple days for responses and some were only a couple sentences that didn't help much. But overall, this feature was useful and I did get some quality answers that helped me overcome some issues I was having with certain questions.

I think this program is a great tool to include in your GMAT prep plan and definitely recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
A surprisingly painless way to study
December 12 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By jwsyiek joined: December 12, 2013 | 0 | 0 | native speaker
Improvement:  50 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
After a multi-year love affair with my Economist print subscription, I recently had the chance to fall in love with their GMAT Test Prep software as well. And fall I did.

This online program is not only detailed and accessible, but it allows you to move at your own pace through the material. For me, it was a perfect way to ease back into standardized testing after being out in the workforce. I found the explanations that the site offers after each questions to be exceedingly helpful in my studies and noted a marked improvement from my first few practice tests.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Princeton Online
December 11 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: March 19, 2013 | 30 | 8 | native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Princeton Review GMAT Self Prep Kit | Location:   Online  |
The staff was nice on the phone with the sign up and they sent the books on time, but the quality of the course was not great. I mostly signed up because of a partner discount. Much of the quant was GRE overlap and some did not pertain to the GMAT really.

The online platform is hard to maneuver and I eventually went to another course book/set of guides to get me though my study. I would not recommend. Other course have better laid out lessons, the lessons are short and scattered and you need to have the books with you at all times to follow along. I didn’t like this, I thought that it was not user friendly and the content was not really reflective of the test.
Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Helped me score a 760
December 11 | 2013

1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  [ What's this? ]
       By Anonymous joined: October 15, 2013 | 8 | 5 | native speaker
Improvement:  120 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Veritas Prep On-Demand | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  Brian Galvin
My experience with Veritas' on demand course was extremely positive. I ended up scoring a 760 (V-44, Q-49, AWA-5.5) on the actual exam - a 120 point improvement from my initial diagnostic practice test!

I found that the question types, difficulty, and scores-predicting on the new Veritas practice tests to be virtually identical to what I encountered on test day.

One minor complaint I have is that the pre-recorded on demand lessons did not really provide any addition information/content from what is in the book lessons, so I personally did not end up watching all the videos, because it was much quicker and easier for me to just work through the lesson in my book on my own.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Awesome web tutor!
December 10 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By AdityaNarayana joined: May 6, 2013 | 0 | 0 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  N/A  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   Economist GMAT Tutor Complete Prep | Location:   Online  |
I enrolled for GMAT Tutor just 25 days before my official GMAT test. I knew that the time was really less to complete the course, I used my time judiciously covering the topics which I wanted to practice more.

As many students already know, GMAT tutor offers an online platform with the course material. The structure of the course is linear. That is, a student will have to complete or reach a certain level of proficiency to move to the subsequent topic.

I spent a considerable part of two weeks on GMAT Tutor. I found the course particularly useful for Sentence Correction in Verbal and Quick Calculations (Ball parking) in Quant.

Thank you GMAT Tutor.


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Verbal Live Prep Course (improved from V 27 to V 41)
December 10 | 2013

  [ What's this? ]
       By Gian joined: April 25, 2012 | 165 | 50 | non-native speaker
Improvement:  100 Points  |  Verbal:        |  Quant:      
This review is for:   e-GMAT Verbal Live Prep | Location:   Online  | Taught by:  e-GMAT Team
If you're a non-native, Verbal becomes your weak spot. What may have worked for X or Y may not work for you. So, decide early and register for a course. If you're in two minds, I'd recommend you give Verbal Live Prep course a shot (Take the free trial).

-> Once you've enrolled to the course, trust the process and apply it in mock tests so that you can apply easily in the real exam.

-> Develop a reading habit (30 mins everyday) without fail. Articles from Smithsonian, HBR, The Economist can be of great help.

-> Buy the GMAT Question Pack and GMAT Exam Pack without fail.

-> Verbal Workshops (SC/CR/RC) included in the course were INSTRUMENTAL in my improvement , helped spot strengths/weaknesses.

-> Consider the course as a short term investment that will reap huge benefits in future.

e-GMAT SC course

-> Tailor made course to improve one's efficiency from 70% to 90%. Plenty of questions that mimic the real exam questions.

-> Follow the e-GMAT 3-step process, analyze both the right and the wrong answers.

-> Once course is completed (including OG/OG Verbal Review), you'll start recognizing patters in Q's, thereby reducing average time per Q.

e-GMAT CR course

-> Pre-Thinking approach works not only in Assumption Q's, but also in Weaken/Strengthen/Inference Q's. It will help reduce the average time spent per Q and give the confidence to solve hard Q's.

-> The quality of practice q's included in the course are too GOOD.

e-GMAT RC course

-> How to Read Effectively ? The RC tutorials/lectures/workshops taught me how to deal effectively even with the weird passages.

-> Both accuracy and timing improved, and RC soon became my new strength.

Consider this is an un-biased opinion from an average Indian. If I can achieve my dream 700, so can you. GOOD LUCK :)

My deepest regards to the whole e-GMAT community (Rajat/Payal/Shraddha/Chiranjeev/others).

Needless to say, GMAT Club/team rocks !


Was this review helpful to you?
   

Be the first person to comment
on this review.
Save BIG MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Get the savings
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!


Share your thoughts with other customers:


Save BIG
MONEY
on GMAT Prep Courses via GMAT CLUB!
Save on Course Enrollment + Get Great Bonus Gifts!
Get the savings